DETAILED ACTION
This action is responsive to applicant’s initial filing of 5/23/2023. Claims 1-20 are pending and rejected.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
In claiming: “and in response to the vehicle reaching the amplitude of the detected anomaly“-(L18-19)), It is not apparent whether applicant is triggering upon the vehicle reaching the location of the anomaly or the measured amplitude of the anomaly reaching a threshold or something else?
Applicant should select one and clarify.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4 and 6 and 11-12, and 14-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Straschill (DE 102020007277), with citations per the machine translation, in view of Lim et al. (WO2016200008), with citations per the machine translation, wherein Straschill teaches:
(re: cl 1) A system for controlling an active stabilizer bar in a vehicle, the system comprising: a stabilizer bar (#8) associated with one or more wheels of the vehicle (#3; ¶39-controlling the chassis component of the vehicle);
the stabilizer bar configured to be controlled according to a plurality of stiffness modes (¶14-“ assistance system is designed and configured to influence the control of the vehicle component using the control signal”…” the parameter of the vehicle component can be a stiffness of the spring or stabilizer”),
and a control module in communication with the stabilizer bar, the control module configured to: control the stabilizer bar to operate according to a first stiffness mode of the plurality of stiffness modes (¶13- “Influencing the control of the vehicle component using the control signal can, for example, be achieved by the control signal being in the form of a target value of a parameter of the vehicle component” 14-wherein the parameter is the stiffness of the stabilizer bar);
detect an anomaly in a path of the vehicle (¶2-detect potholes);
and in response to detecting the anomaly (¶9-“ The control signal can contain information about the properties of the road surface, for example a value of the inclination angle or a value of the roughness of the road surface.’);
control the stabilizer bar to operate according to a second stiffness mode of the plurality of stiffness modes, the second stiffness mode being different than the first stiffness mode (¶14-“assistance system is designed and configured to influence the control of the vehicle component using the control signal, whereby the vehicle component influences the vehicle's behavior during lateral accelerations. For example, the vehicle component could be a stabilizer or a spring. In this case, the parameter of the vehicle component can be a stiffness control the stabilizer” -controlling the stiffness means at least 2 different stiffness modes).
Lim et al. teaches any elements Straschill lacks including:
each stiffness mode associated with a different amount of torque for the stabilizer bar (L202-207-“As described above, the semi-active stabilizer bar according to an embodiment of the present invention is configured such that the magnitude of the force formed between the first permanent magnet 132 and the second permanent magnet 133 according to the degree of twist of the stirrer bar. The direction and the direction of the stabilizer bars are automatically changed and the magnitude and direction of the torque applied to the stirrer bar are changed so that the stiffness of the stirrer bar is adjusted”).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains, for Straschill to each stiffness mode associated with a different amount of torque for the stabilizer bar as taught by Lim et al. as adjusting torque is the well-known approach to adjusting stabilizer bar stiffness and having plural magnitudes can optimize the stiffness to the road condition and vehicle dynamics as one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize.
Straschill further teaches:
(re: cl 2) wherein the anomaly in the path of the vehicle includes at least one of a pothole, a bump, and a curve (¶2-pothole detected).
(re: cl 3) further comprising a detection module in communication with the control module and configured to detect the anomaly in the path of the vehicle (¶113 -“sensor systems-“ other sensor systems, communication devices or databases” of the vehicle 3 in order to generate a comprehensive picture of the environment of the vehicle 3”).
(re: cl 4) wherein the detection module includes at least one of a radar sensor, a lidar sensor, an ultrasonic sensor, and a camera (¶6-lidar, radar ).
(re: cl 6) wherein the control module is configured to: determine a distance between the detected anomaly and the vehicle (¶ 55-58-uses signal transit time to measure distance between vehicle and road to detect anomalies; ¶49-can detect road surface anomalies-” have a height of a few centimeters, millimeters, micrometers or nanometers.”-measures distance between vehicle and road to detect irregularities in the surface);
and in response being less than or equal to a defined threshold (¶11-change in inclination angle of the change in local or microscopic road surface inclination and a transit time is a change in roughness or coefficient of friction; ¶16-two radiation beam sources provide plural perspectives to assess the roadway change at the receiver from the changes in time and angle)
control the stabilizer bar to operate according to the second stiffness mode of the plurality of stiffness modes (¶12-“ the assistance system is designed and configured to generate the control signal depending on the change in the local tilt angle over time or over a distance traveled by the vehicle.“; ¶14- the controlled device can be a stabilizer bar ).
Straschill teaches:
(re: cl 11) A method for controlling an active stabilizer bar (#8) associated with one or more wheels of a vehicle, the method comprising: controlling a stabilizer bar to operate according to a first stiffness mode of a plurality of stiffness modes (¶14-“ assistance system is designed and configured to influence the control of the vehicle component using the control signal”…” the parameter of the vehicle component can be a stiffness of the spring or stabilizer”),
detecting an anomaly in a path of the vehicle (¶2-detecting potholes);
and in response to detecting the anomaly (¶9-“ The control signal can contain information about the properties of the road surface, for example a value of the inclination angle or a value of the roughness of the road surface.’),
controlling the stabilizer bar to operate according to a second stiffness mode of the plurality of stiffness modes, the second stiffness mode being different than the first stiffness mode (¶14-“assistance system is designed and configured to influence the control of the vehicle component using the control signal, whereby the vehicle component influences the vehicle's behavior during lateral accelerations. For example, the vehicle component could be a stabilizer or a spring. In this case, the parameter of the vehicle component can be a stiffness control the stabilizer” - controlling the stiffness means at least 2 different stiffness modes).
Lim et al. teaches any elements Straschill lacks including:
each stiffness mode associated with a different amount of torque for the stabilizer bar (L202-207-“ As described above, the semi-active stabilizer bar according to an embodiment of the present invention is configured such that the magnitude of the force formed between the first permanent magnet 132 and the second permanent magnet 133 according to the degree of twist of the stirrer bar The direction and the direction of the stabilizer bars are automatically changed and the magnitude and direction of the torque applied to the stirrer bar are changed so that the stiffness of the stirrer bar is adjusted”).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains, for Straschill to each stiffness mode associated with a different amount of torque for the stabilizer bar as taught by Lim et al. as adjusting torque is the well-known approach to adjusting stabilizer bar stiffness and having plural magnitudes can optimize the stiffness to the road condition and vehicle dynamics as one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize.
Straschill further teaches:
(re: cl 12) wherein the anomaly in the path of the vehicle includes at least one of a pothole, a bump, and a curve (¶2-pothole detected).
(re: cl 14) wherein detecting the anomaly in the path of the vehicle includes detecting the anomaly with at least one of a radar sensor, a lidar sensor, an ultrasonic sensor, and a camera (¶6-lidar, radar ).
(re: cl 15) further comprising determining a distance between the detected anomaly and the vehicle (¶ 55-58-uses signal transit time to measure distance between vehicle and road to detect anomalies; ¶49-can detect road surface anomalies-”have a height of a few centimeters, millimeters, micrometers or nanometers.” measures distance between vehicle and road to detect irregularities in the surface),
wherein controlling the stabilizer bar to operate according to the second stiffness mode includes controlling the stabilizer bar to operate according to the second stiffness mode (¶12- “the assistance system is designed and configured to generate the control signal depending on the change in the local tilt angle over time or over a distance traveled by the vehicle.“; ¶14- the controlled device can be a stabilizer bar ),
in response to the distance being less than or equal to a defined threshold (¶11-change in inclination angle of the change in local or microscopic road surface inclination and a transit time is a change in roughness or coefficient of friction”…” ¶11 generates the control signal.”; ¶16-two radiation beam sources provide plural perspectives to assess the roadway change at the receiver from the changes in time and angle).
Claim(s) 5 and 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Straschill (DE 102020007277), with citations per the machine translation, in view of Lim et al. (WO2016200008), with citations per the machine translation, in further view of Boon et al. (US20230111977) wherein Straschill teaches the elements previously discussed and Boon et al. teaches what Straschill lacks of:
wherein the control module is configured to: receive a signal indicative of the anomaly from another control module external to the vehicle (¶79-“the road classification data may be based, at least in part, on information or data that is transmitted to the cloud-based network 846 by other vehicles after traveling over and/or encountering a particular stretch of road or road event.“; ¶85, #916 uploaded the road anomaly from the cloud);
and detect the anomaly in the path of the vehicle based on the received signal (¶85, #916 uploaded the road anomaly from the cloud; ¶80-”retrieve a road roughness classification from the cloud connection 840 “; ¶79-the road classification data may be based, at least in part, on information or data that is transmitted to the cloud-based network 846 by other vehicles after traveling over and/or encountering a particular stretch of road or road event.”).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains, for Straschill to receive a signal indicative of the anomaly from another control module external to the vehicle and detect the anomaly in the path of the vehicle based on the received signal to benefit from the road surface information previously experienced by preceding vehicles and adjust the stiffness if the road is outside the acceptable classification range as taught by Boon et al..
(re: cl 13) further comprising receiving a signal indicative of the anomaly from another control module external to the vehicle (¶79-“the road classification data may be based, at least in part, on information or data that is transmitted to the cloud-based network 846 by other vehicles after traveling over and/or encountering a particular stretch of road or road event.“; ¶85, #916 uploaded the road anomaly from the cloud),
wherein detecting the anomaly in the path of the vehicle includes detecting the anomaly based on the received signal (¶85, #916 uploaded the road anomaly from the cloud; ¶80-”retrieve a road roughness classification from the cloud connection 840 “; ¶79-“the road classification data may be based, at least in part, on information or data that is transmitted to the cloud-based network 846 by other vehicles after traveling over and/or encountering a particular stretch of road or road event.”).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains, for Straschill to receive a signal indicative of the anomaly from another control module external to the vehicle and detect the anomaly in the path of the vehicle based on the received signal to benefit from the road surface information previously experienced by preceding vehicles and adjust the stiffness if the road is outside the acceptable classification range as taught by Boon et al..
Claim(s) 7-9 and 16-18 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Straschill (DE 102020007277), with citations per the machine translation, in view of Lim et al. (WO2016200008), with citations per the machine translation, in further view of Baskin (US20210396279) wherein Straschill teaches the elements previously discussed and Straschill further teaches:
(re: cl 7) wherein: the control module is configured to determine an amplitude of the detected anomaly, and in response to the vehicle reaching the amplitude of the detected anomaly (¶97-determines the amplitude of the road anomaly),
control the chassis component under control to operate according to a third stiffness mode of the plurality of stiffness modes (¶100-can control the amplitude of the control signal to the vehicle actuator including an intermediate third state );
Baskin teaches any elements Straschill lacks including:
and wherein the third stiffness mode of the stabilizer bar chassis component is different than the second stiffness mode (¶110-“Each of the third, fourth, fifth, and sixth states of the clutch mechanism 120 is sometimes referred to as an intermediate state”).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains, for Straschill to have the third stiffness mode of the stabilizer bar different than the second stiffness mode as taught by Baskin to optimize vehicle control to match intermediate road and vehicle dynamic conditions as one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize.
Straschill further teaches:
(re: cl 8) wherein the anomaly in the path of the vehicle is a pothole (¶2-pothole detected).
Baskin teaches any elements Straschill lacks including:
and wherein the amount of torque associated with the second stiffness mode is greater than the amount torque associated with the third stiffness mode (¶110-“Each of the third, fourth, fifth, and sixth states of the clutch mechanism 120 is sometimes referred to as an intermediate state”).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains, for Straschill to have the third stiffness mode of the stabilizer bar is different than the second stiffness mode as taught by Baskin to optimize vehicle control to match intermediate road and vehicle dynamic conditions as one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize.
(re: cl 9) wherein the anomaly in the path is a bump (¶97-determines the amplitude of the road anomaly of which a bump would an abrupt change in amplitude of the vehicle-road distance ; ¶28-“ Changes in path length in the wavelength range can correspond to changes in the roughness of the road surface”),
Baskin teaches any elements Straschill lacks including:
and wherein the amount of torque associated with the second stiffness mode is less than the amount torque associated with the third stiffness mode of the vehicle (¶110-“Each of the third, fourth, fifth, and sixth states of the clutch mechanism 120 is sometimes referred to as an intermediate state”).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains, for Straschill to have the third stiffness mode of the stabilizer bar is different than the second stiffness mode as taught by Baskin to optimize vehicle control to match intermediate road and vehicle dynamic conditions as one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize.
Straschill further teaches:
(re: cl 16) further comprising: determining an amplitude of the detected anomaly;
and in response to the vehicle reaching the amplitude of the detected anomaly (¶97-determines the amplitude of the road anomaly; ¶100-can control the amplitude of the control signal to the vehicle actuator including an intermediate third state );
controlling the vehicle actuator to operate according to a third stiffness mode of the plurality of stiffness modes (¶100-can control the amplitude of the control signal to the vehicle actuator including an intermediate third state ).
Baskin teaches any elements Straschill lacks including:
the third stiffness mode of the stabilizer bar vehicle actuator being different than the second stiffness mode (¶110-“Each of the third, fourth, fifth, and sixth states of the clutch mechanism 120 is sometimes referred to as an intermediate state”).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains, for Straschill to have the third stiffness mode of the stabilizer bar is different than the second stiffness mode as taught by Baskin to optimize vehicle control to match intermediate road and vehicle dynamic conditions as one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize.
Straschill further teaches:
(re: cl 17) wherein the anomaly in the path of the vehicle is a pothole (¶2-detecting potholes).
Baskin teaches any elements Straschill lacks including:
and wherein the amount of torque associated with the second stiffness mode is greater than the amount torque associated with the third stiffness mode.
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains, for Straschill to have the third stiffness mode of the is different than the second stiffness mode as taught by Baskin to optimize vehicle control to match intermediate road and vehicle dynamic conditions as one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize.
Straschill further teaches:
(re: cl 18) wherein the anomaly in the path of the vehicle is a bump(¶97-determines the amplitude of the road anomaly of which a bump would an abrupt change in amplitude of the vehicle-road distance ; ¶28-“ Changes in path length in the wavelength range can correspond to changes in the roughness of the road surface”).
Baskin teaches any elements Straschill lacks including:
and wherein the amount of torque associated with the second stiffness mode is less than the amount torque associated with the third stiffness mode (¶110-“Each of the third, fourth, fifth, and sixth states of the clutch mechanism 120 is sometimes referred to as an intermediate state”).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains, for Straschill to have the third stiffness mode of the is different than the second stiffness mode as taught by Baskin to optimize vehicle control to match intermediate road and vehicle dynamic conditions as one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize.
Straschill teaches:
(re: cl 20) A system for controlling an active stabilizer bar in a vehicle, the system comprising: a stabilizer bar (#8) associated with one or more wheels of the vehicle (#3; ¶39-controlling the chassis component of the vehicle),
the stabilizer bar configured to be controlled according to a plurality of stiffness modes each stiffness mode associated with a different amount for the stabilizer bar (¶14-“ assistance system is designed and configured to influence the control of the vehicle component using the control signal”…” the parameter of the vehicle component can be a stiffness of the spring or stabilizer”),
and a control module in communication with the stabilizer bar, the control module configured to: control the stabilizer bar to operate according to a first stiffness mode of the plurality of stiffness modes (¶13-“. Influencing the control of the vehicle component using the control signal can, for example, be achieved by the control signal being in the form of a target value of a parameter of the vehicle component” ¶14-wherein the parameter is the stiffness of the stabilizer bar);
detect an anomaly in a path of the vehicle (¶2-detect potholes);
determine a distance between the detected anomaly and the vehicle (¶ 55-58-uses signal transit time to measure distance between vehicle and road to detect anomalies; ¶49-can detect road surface anomalies-”have a height of a few centimeters, millimeters, micrometers or nanometers.”-measures distance between vehicle and road to detect irregularities in the surface);
determine an amplitude of the detected anomaly (¶97-determines the amplitude of the road anomaly),
in response to the distance being less than or equal to a defined threshold (¶9-“ The control signal can contain information about the properties of the road surface, for example a value of the inclination angle or a value of the roughness of the road surface.’);
control the stabilizer bar to operate according to a second stiffness mode of the plurality of stiffness modes, the second stiffness mode being different than the first stiffness mode (¶14-“assistance system is designed and configured to influence the control of the vehicle component using the control signal, whereby the vehicle component influences the vehicle's behavior during lateral accelerations. For example, the vehicle component could be a stabilizer or a spring. In this case, the parameter of the vehicle component can be a stiffness control the stabilizer” -controlling the stiffness means at least 2 different stiffness modes);.
and in response to the vehicle reaching the amplitude of the detected anomaly (¶97-determines the amplitude of the road anomaly),
Lim et al. teaches any elements Straschill lacks including:
each stiffness mode associated with a different amount of torque for the stabilizer bar (L202-207-“ As described above, the semi-active stabilizer bar according to an embodiment of the present invention is configured such that the magnitude of the force formed between the first permanent magnet 132 and the second permanent magnet 133 according to the degree of twist of the stirrer bar The direction and the direction of the stabilizer bars are automatically changed and the magnitude and direction of the torque applied to the stirrer bar are changed so that the stiffness of the stirrer bar is adjusted”).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains, for Straschill to each stiffness mode associated with a different amount of torque for the stabilizer bar as taught by Lim et al. as adjusting torque is the well-known approach to adjusting stabilizer bar stiffness and having plural magnitudes can optimize the stiffness to the road condition and vehicle dynamics s as one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize.
Baskin teaches what Straschill lacks:
control the stabilizer bar to operate according to a third stiffness mode of the plurality of stiffness modes, the third stiffness mode being different than the second stiffness mode (¶110-“Each of the third, fourth, fifth, and sixth states of the clutch mechanism 120 is sometimes referred to as an intermediate state”).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains, for Straschill to have the third stiffness mode of the stabilizer bar is different than the second stiffness mode as taught by Baskin to optimize vehicle control to match intermediate road and vehicle dynamic conditions as one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize.
Claim(s) 10 and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Straschill (DE 102020007277), with citations per the machine translation, in view of Lim et al. (WO2016200008), with citations per the machine translation, in further view of Lee et al.
(US20190308611) wherein Straschill teaches the elements previously discussed and Straschill further teaches:
(re: cl 10) further comprising a steering wheel angle sensor in communication with the control module, the steering wheel angle sensor configured to detect movement of a steering wheel in the vehicle (¶110-111 steering angle measured ),
wherein: the control module is configured to receive a signal from the steering wheel angle sensor indicating movement of the steering wheel (¶110-111 measured steering angle sent to assistance device),
Lee et al. teaches any elements Straschill lacks including:
and detect the anomaly in the path of the vehicle based on the received signal from the steering wheel angle sensor (¶45-adjust stiffness during cornering; ¶12-determins vehicle turning based upon steering wheel angle exceeding a threshold; ¶19-updates roll stiffness premised upon ; ¶81-“when the absolute value of the steering angle is larger than the threshold steering angle”…” then it is determined that the vehicle is turning “);
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains, for Straschill to detect the anomaly in the path of the vehicle based on the received signal from the steering wheel angle sensor as detecting and controlling the stiffness premised upon steering angle can be stabilizing the posture of the vehicle (¶62) as taught by Lee et al..
Straschill further teaches:
(re: cl 19) further comprising receiving a signal from a steering wheel angle sensor indicating movement of a steering wheel in the vehicle (¶110-111 measured steering angle sent to assistance device).
Lee et al. teaches any elements Straschill lacks including:
wherein detecting the anomaly in the path of the vehicle includes detecting the anomaly based on the received signal from the steering wheel angle sensor (¶45-adjust stiffness during cornering; ¶12-determins vehicle turning based upon steering wheel angle exceeding a threshold; ¶19-updates roll stiffness premised upon ; ¶81-“when the absolute value of the steering angle is larger than the threshold steering angle”…” then it is determined that the vehicle is turning “);
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains, for Straschill to detect the anomaly in the path of the vehicle based on the received signal from the steering wheel angle sensor as detecting and controlling the stiffness premised upon steering angle can be stabilizing the posture of the vehicle (¶62) as taught by Lee et al..
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's
disclosure.
The examiner can normally be reached on Tuesday, Wednesday, or Thursday.
/M.E.B/Examiner, Art Unit 3655
/JACOB S. SCOTT/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3655