DETAILED ACTION
Applicant’s reply, filed 12 June 2026 in response to the non-final Office action mailed 12 March 2026, has been fully considered. As per Applicant’s filed claim amendments claims 8-14 and 16-19 are pending under examination, wherein: claims 10-14 and 16 have been amended, claims 8-9 and 17-19 are as originally filed, claim 15 has been cancelled, and claims 1-7 and 20 were withdrawn by previous restriction requirement.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 8-14 and 16-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Permyakova et al. (J. Mater. Chem. A, 2017, 5, 12889; published online 18 May 2017) in view of Solovyeva et al. (Energy Conversion and Management, 174, 2018, 356-363; published online 18 August 2018).
Regarding claim 8, Permyakova teaches salt-metal organic framework (MOF) composites with application to sorbents for seasonal heat storage, wherein the MOF particles serve as host matrices for the salts (abstract). Permyakova teaches the salt is CaCl2 which successfully encapsulates into the pores of the MOF and resultant composite outperforms other composite or physical sorbents known thus far with very little loss upon adsorption-desorption cycling and with high chemical stability upon aging (abstract; pg12890-12891)(noting the Å size reported pore diameters and the encapsulation therein of the salt reading over instant CaCl2 as nanoparticles (Table 1); also Fig2 of an MOF/CaCl2 particles with scale bar of 1µm).
Permyakova teaches stable MOFs include known compounds such as MIL-127(Fe), MIL-100(Fe), MIL-101(Cr), UiO-66(Zr)-NH2, MIL-125(Ti)-NH2 -and MIL-160(Al) (abstract; Fig 1; Table 1) but does not specifically teach the MOF is MOF-801 type. However, Permyakova specifically teaches that there are many stable MOF candidates available, and that paves the way for further advanced composites based on new MOF matrices (conclusions; pg12897). Solovyeva teaches MOF-801 is an MOF that is a promising material for adsorption cooling and that MOF-801 has been shown to outperform other common absorbents (conclusion; pg 362), has greater affinity for water vapor that other known MOFs, such as NH2-MIL-125, UiO-66 and CAU-10 (introduction; pg357), and has high potential (abstract; conclusion). Solovyeva and Permyakova are analogous art and are combinable because they are concerned with the same field of endeavor, namely MOF based heat transfer composites. At the time of filing a person having ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to select the MOF-801 of Solovyeva as the MOF matrix of Permyakova and would have been motivated to do so as Permyakova explicitly teaches composites using new or advanced MOFs beyond those utilized, and further as Solovyeva teaches MOF-801 has greater affinity for water vapor than the MOFs NH2-MIL-125, UiO-66 also used by Permyakova, and has high potential for sorption based heat transfer cycles.
Regarding claim 9, Permyakova in view of Solovyeva renders obvious the composites as set forth in claim 8 above. Permyakova further teaches the composites undergo water adsorption-desorption cycling boundary conditions of adsorption temperatures of 30 °C and desorption temperatures of 80 °C (experimental; water sorption; pg12891). Solovyeva similarly teaches MOF-801 undergoing adsorption temperatures of 30°C and desorption temperatures of 80-85°C (abstract; see also Table 2).
Regarding claims 10-12, Permyakova in view of Solovyeva renders obvious the composites as set forth in claim 8 above. Permyakova further teaches the behavior of the individual components (inorganic salt and porous matrix) may be significantly modified in terms of water sorption properties, etc., by tuning the chemical nature, loading capacity, and particle size of the confined salt and by tuning the properties of the porous host matrix i.e. pore size, shape and volume, and hydrophilic-hydrophobic banalce (pg12890 col 1).
Solovyeva further teaches synthetically obtained MOF-801 having specific area Ssp = 900 ± 20 m2/g, total pore volume Vp = 0.49 ± 0.01 cm3/g (3.Results; pg358) and teaches pelleting, griding and sieving to obtain different values (2.3; pg 357-358; Table 1). Solovyeva further teaches a synthesis method to obtain MOF-801 (2.experimental; pg357). Solovyeva teaches similar values of specific area (BET) and teaches pore volumes in agreement with known values of MOF-801, and teaches varying particle sizes of the MOF-801. Permyakova in view of Solovyeva renders obvious the claimed composite comprising the claimed components, present in the claimed amounts, and Solovyeva teaches MOF-801 obtained by substantially similar methods and having similar properties. The instant original specification teaches that an MOF-801 made by a substantially similar method will have the claimed physical properties as claimed (original specification, pages 11-12, FIG 2A). A chemical composition and its properties are inseparable. Therefore, if the prior art teaches the identical chemical structure, the properties applicant discloses and/or claims are necessarily present (see In re Spada, 911 F.2d 705, 15 USPQ2d 1655, (Fed. Cir. 1990); see also In re Best, 562 F.2d 1252, 195 USPQ 430, (CCPA 1977). “Where the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical in structure or composition, or are produced by identical or substantially identical processes, a prima facie case of either anticipation or obviousness has been established.”; MPEP 2112.01)). It is further noted Solovyeva teaches pore size, particle size and specific area to be adjustable i.e. result-effective variables (MPEP 2144.05).
Regarding claims 13 and 16, Permyakova in view of Solovyeva renders obvious the composites as set forth in claim 10 above. Permyakova further teaches the homogeneous distribution of salt in the composites via one of two methods, one which results in salt at the surface of the MOF particles and one which does not (synthesis and characterization; pg12892), and teaches the morphology of the MOF structures are preserved after salt loading and salt is encapsulated in the MOF pores (pg12893). Permyakova further teaches salt distribution/location is dependent on the MOF itself (pg12893). As such, the recitation of interconnection (claim 13) and wrapping and emedding into cages (claim 16) of the salt is held to be a resultant property. Permyakova, in view of Solovyeva, renders obvious the claimed composite comprising the claimed components, present in the claimed amounts, and teaches a substantially similar method of impregnation. The instant original specification teaches that a composite of CaCl2 and MOF-801 as claimed will have the structural relationship as claimed (original specification, pages 8-9). A chemical composition and its properties are inseparable. Therefore, if the prior art teaches the identical chemical structure, the properties applicant discloses and/or claims are necessarily present (see In re Spada, 911 F.2d 705, 15 USPQ2d 1655, (Fed. Cir. 1990); see also In re Best, 562 F.2d 1252, 195 USPQ 430, (CCPA 1977). “Where the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical in structure or composition, or are produced by identical or substantially identical processes, a prima facie case of either anticipation or obviousness has been established.”; MPEP 2112.01)).
Regarding claim 14, Permyakova in view of Solovyeva renders obvious the composites as set forth in claim 10 above. Permyakova teaches high and low salt loaded MOFs subjected to water absorption/desorption systems (pg12983-12985). Absent a demonstration to the contrary, the amounts of Permyakova are sufficient to read on or render obvious the configured ratio and thus prevent an aqueous solution forming. Permyakova further teaches hydration of the salt during uptake but does not teach solution formation as a result. Absent a demonstration to the contrary, the CaCl-2-MOF rendered obvious by Permyakova in view of Solovyeva meets the claimed inhibiting effect. As noted above, a chemical composition and its properties are inseparable. Therefore, if the prior art teaches the identical chemical structure, the properties applicant discloses and/or claims are necessarily present (see In re Spada, 911 F.2d 705, 15 USPQ2d 1655, (Fed. Cir. 1990); see also In re Best, 562 F.2d 1252, 195 USPQ 430, (CCPA 1977). “Where the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical in structure or composition, or are produced by identical or substantially identical processes, a prima facie case of either anticipation or obviousness has been established.”; MPEP 2112.01)).
Regarding claims 17-19, Permyakova in view of Solovyeva renders obvious the composites as set forth in claim 8 above. Permyakova teaches CaCl2-MOF composites have high energy storage capacity, up to 310 kW h m-3 or 485 W h kg-1, excellent water uptake and loading lifts (pg12891; Figs 3-6) and teaches such is the result of beneficial synergy between the chemical sorption of the salt and the physical sorption of the MOFs (pg12894). Solovyeva teaches MOF-801 has improved water sorption properties (3.-3.3; pg358-359), teaches the amount of water exchanged on MOF-801 under cycle conditions is 0.21 g/g which exceeds values for common adsorbents, and teaches attractive adsorption cooling cycle power (4.; pg362).
Permyakova in view of Solovyeva render obvious the claimed composite comprising the claimed components, present in the claimed amounts, and obtained by a substantially similar method. The instant specification (instant original specification, pages 3-4) teaches that a composite as claimed will have the claimed water adsorbing properties (claim 17), cooling power (claim 18), and AWAC properties (claim 19) as claimed. As noted above, a chemical composition and its properties are inseparable. Therefore, if the prior art teaches the identical chemical structure, the properties applicant discloses and/or claims are necessarily present (see In re Spada, 911 F.2d 705, 15 USPQ2d 1655, (Fed. Cir. 1990); see also In re Best, 562 F.2d 1252, 195 USPQ 430, (CCPA 1977). “Where the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical in structure or composition, or are produced by identical or substantially identical processes, a prima facie case of either anticipation or obviousness has been established.”; MPEP 2112.01)).
Response to Arguments/Amendments
The 35 U.S.C. 112(b) rejections of claims 10-16 are withdrawn as a result of Applicant’s filed claim amendments.
The 35 U.S.C. 103 rejection of claims 8-19 as unpatentable over Permyakova et al. (J. Mater. Chem. A, 2017, 5, 12889) in view of Solovyeva et al. (Energy Conversion and Management, 174, 2018, 356-363) is maintained. Applicant’s arguments (Remarks, pages 6-7) have been fully considered but were not found persuasive.
Applicant argues that Permyakova neither teaches nor suggests nanometer scale CaCl2 particles. Applicant argues that the scale bar on Figure 2 is of 5µm for MOF/CaCl2. The Examiner notes that Figure 2 b) which is an SEM image of the MOF/CaCl2 particle complex has its own scale bar that is “1 µm”, where all particles of the complex shown fall well below 1 µm. The scale bar to which Applicant refers is specific to Figure 2 c) an elemental XEDS image. The Examiner further notes that Permyakova teaches the CaCl2 salt is encapsulated into the pores of the MOF, whose pores diameters are on the angstrom scale (Table 1) and whose MOF/CaCl2 complex has a particle size of less than 1 µm, i.e. the salt crystals of Permyakova are on the nanometer scale (no range claimed, no specific value required).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Correspondence
/JANE L STANLEY/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1767