DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Claims
Claims 1-41 are pending and are subject to this office action. Claims 1-3, 7-11, 13-14 are amended. Claims 15-41 are previously withdrawn from consideration as being drawn to non-elected inventions.
Response to Amendment
The Examiner acknowledges the Applicant’s response filed on 05/18/2026 containing amendments and remarks to the claims.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see pg. 11, filed 05/18/2026, with respect to the rejection of claims 9 and 13 under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) have been fully considered and are persuasive. Applicant has amended claim 9 to recite a second control function and claim 13 to recite a second characteristic. Therefore, the rejection of claims 9 and 13 under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) have been withdrawn.
Applicant’s arguments, see pg. 12-13, filed 05/18/2026, with respect to the rejection of claim 1 under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) have been fully considered and but they are not persuasive.
On pg. 12, Applicant argues that Cohen fails to teach, “wherein the first characteristic comprises one or more of a type of the manipulation, direction of motion of the aerosol delivery device, a change in orientation of the aerosol delivery device, or an angular displacement of the aerosol delivery device”, as required by the amendment to claim 1, because the inhalation device disclosed by Cohen does not distinguish between shaking or tapping the inhalation device, the direction in which the inhalation device is being moved, or a change in orientation or angular displacement of the inhalation device. The Examiner disagrees. Claim 1 does not require the aerosol generating device be capable to distinguishing between the claimed first characteristics. Claim 1 merely requires the processing circuity is configured to cause the aerosol generating device to determine a first characteristic of the user input. Cohen discloses the shaking or tapping (i.e. a user input comprising manipulation of the aerosol delivery device) the inhalation device (10) activates the accelerometer and sends a signal to the logic circuit (126) to achieve the desired programming through a specific sequence of shakes or taps (“a first characteristic of the user input”, Fig. 9, [0033, 0035]). The Examiner is interpreting a type of manipulation as shaking, tapping, rotating, tilting, etc. or the device. Therefore, detecting shakes or taps is considered to be determining a first characteristic of the user input, where the first characteristic comprises a type of the manipulation.
Therefore, the rejections below are maintained and modified based on Applicant’s amendment.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4, 6-8, and 11-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Cohen (US 20110036346 A1, as cited on IDS dated 05/23/2023).
Regarding claim 1, Cohen discloses an inhalation device (10) which delivers a vapor to a user (“an aerosol delivery device”, [0018]), comprising:
An input device (124) comprising an accelerometer (“a motion sensor”) coupled to a logic circuit (126, “processing circuitry), where shaking or tapping (i.e. a user input comprising manipulation of the aerosol delivery device) the inhalation device (10) activates the accelerometer and sends a signal to the logic circuit (126) to achieve the desired programming through a specific sequence of shakes or taps (i.e. a first characteristic of the user input, Fig. 9, [0033, 0035]), and;
The desired programming may comprise setting the maximum dosage discharged with a single puff (i.e. a first control function, [0045]).
The Examiner is interpreting a type of manipulation as a type of motion such as shaking, tapping, rotating, tilting, etc. of the device. Therefore, determining the desired programming from shakes or taps is considered to be determining a first characteristic, where the first characteristic comprises a type of manipulation.
The Examiner is interpreting a control function as a set of instructions that responds to an input and results in an output that serves the purpose of controlling the aerosol delivery device.
Regarding claim 2, Cohen discloses detection of a specific sequence of shakes or taps (“a first characteristic”) of the inhalation device (10) is used to trigger the desired programming (“first control function”, [0035]). Detecting shakes or taps is considered to be determining a type of manipulation, as discussed in the rejection of claim 1 above, and determining a specific series of shakes or tap is considered be determining a number of repetitively occurring motion patterns.
Regarding claim 3, Cohen discloses detection of a specific sequence of shakes or taps (“a first characteristic”) of the inhalation device (10) is used to trigger the desired programming (“first control function”, [0035]). Detecting shakes or taps is considered to be determining a type of manipulation, as discussed in the rejection of claim 1 above.
Cohen discloses an accelerometer used to detect a specific sequence of shakes or taps ([0035]). An accelerometer is a device that measures acceleration forces and therefore the accelerometer disclosed by Cohen detecting the series of shakes or taps is considered to be determining an acceleration of the aerosol delivery device.
Regarding claims 4 and 6, Cohen discloses an accelerometer used to detect a specific sequence of shakes or taps ([0035]).
Regarding claim 7, The desired programming may comprise setting the maximum dosage discharged with a single puff (i.e. a control function other than heating or toggling a power/activation state, [0045]).
Regarding claim 8, Cohen discloses the programming instructions can be stored in a memory (120), with the desired programming being selected for use by the logic circuit (126) via the manipulation of an input device (124)/accelerometer ([0033]).
The desired programming may comprise setting the maximum dosage discharged with a single puff (“a control function”, [0045]) in response to a specific sequence of shakes or taps (i.e. a characteristic of the user input, Fig. 9, [0033, 0035]), as discussed in the rejection of claim 1 above. Therefore, programming instructions stored in memory is considered to be a data structure having defined associations between control functions and characteristics.
Regarding claim 11, Cohen discloses the desired programming may comprise setting the maximum dosage discharged with a single puff (“a first control function”, [0045]) in response to a specific sequence of shakes or taps (i.e. a characteristic of the user input, Fig. 9, [0033, 0035]). Setting the maximum dosage discharged with a single puff is considered to be modifying a configuration setting of the aerosol delivery device.
Regarding claim 12, Cohen discloses setting the maximum dosage discharged with a single puff comprises deactivating the atomization device (108) after a predetermined duration of a puff ([0040, 0045]). Therefore, setting the maximum dosage discharged with a single puff is considered to be modifying a configuration setting for a heating profile configuration setting.
Regarding claim 13, Cohen discloses the logic circuit (126) is connected to one or more input devices (124) where the input devices (124) may include a pressure transducer (38, “puff sensor”, Fig. 3) that is triggered by a specific sequence of inhaling (i.e. a second characteristic comprising a total number of puffs) and/or exhaling (i.e. a second characteristic comprising detection of a reverse puff) to achieve the desired programming ([0032, 0038]).
Regarding claim 14, Cohen discloses:
The logic circuit (126) is connected to one or more input devices (124) where the input devices (124) may include a pressure transducer (38, “puff sensor”, Fig. 3) that is triggered by a specific sequence of inhaling and/or exhaling (i.e. a puff input) to achieve the desired programming ([0032, 0038]),
The desired programming may comprise setting the maximum dosage discharged with a single puff (i.e. first control function, [0045]) which is considered to be a control function other than heating the aerosol precursor composition to form an inhalable substance,
The one or more input devices (124) further comprises a user interface (“another user input”) for selecting an operating mode (i.e. change a control mode) where the control modes include a metering mode and a party mode where an indicator light illuminates in different patterns ([0033, 0050]),
The metering mode is a normal operating mode where the device responds to inputs from the one or more input devices (124) comprising a motion sensor and a pressure transducer (38, [0033, 0039-0040, 0045]).
The Examiner notes that the claim does not require a first control mode where the device responds to a puff input and a second control mode where the device responds to manipulation. The claim only requires a control mode where the device responds to a puff input. Therefore, the metering mode where the device responds to both a puff input and a user input comprising manipulation is considered to read on the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cohen (US 20110036346 A1, as cited on IDS dated 05/23/2023) in view of Cho (KR 20120094400 A, as cited on IDS dated 12/14/2024, hereinafter referring to the English Machine translation provided).
Regarding claim 5, Cohen discloses the inhalation device (10) comprising a motion sensor including an accelerometer ([0033, 0035]).
Cohen does not explicitly disclose the motion sensor includes a gyroscope or inclinometer.
However, Cho, directed to a suction device (800, Fig. 9), discloses
A motion sensor (801) configured to detect movement of the suction device (800) such as tilting (i.e. angular displacement) and in response to the detection by the motion sensor (801), the suction device (800) displays information from a body measurement sensor (830, [0104-0106]), and;
The motion sensor (810) may comprise an acceleration sensor (accelerometer), a gyro sensor (gyroscope), or a tilt sensor (inclinometer, [0105]).
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would be obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art to modify Cohen by substituting the accelerometer with a gyroscope or inclinometer and programming the device to responds to input from the gyroscope or inclinometer as taught by Cho because both Cohen and Cho are directed to aerosol generating devices, Cho discloses the motion sensor can be an accelerometer, gyroscope, or inclinometer, and this involves substituting one known motion sensor for another and configuring a device to respond to known inputs (e.g. tilting) from a known motion sensor in a similar device to yield predictable results.
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cohen (US 20110036346 A1, as cited on IDS dated 05/23/2023) in view of Monsees (US 20140366898 A1, hereinafter referred to as Monsees ‘6898).
Regarding claim 9, Cohen discloses:
The logic circuit (126) is connected to one or more input devices (124) where the input devices (124) may include a pressure transducer (38, “puff sensor”, Fig. 3) that is triggered by a specific sequence of inhaling and/or exhaling (i.e. a puff input) to achieve the desired programming ([0032, 0038]),
The inhalation device (10) comprises a cartridge (16) having a reservoir (118) containing a vaporizable medium, where the cartridge (16) is operably engaged with the electronics section (12) of the device (10, Fig. 3, Fig. 8 [0018, 0028]),
The inhalation device further comprises a display (22) for displaying information such as number of remaining doses ([0048]) which is considered to be an indication of a level of precursor composition remaining in a cartridge operably engaged with the aerosol delivery device.
Cohen does not explicitly disclose the inhalation device includes programming which provides an indication of the remaining precursor level in response to the puff input.
However, Monsees ‘6898, directed to a vaporization device (Fig. 4, [0081]), discloses:
The device is configured to communicate information to a user such as a vaporizable material level (“ a second control function”) in response to activation of capacitive sensors ([0015, 0083]).
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would be obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art to modify Cohen by configuring the device such that the desired programming (“a second control function”) performed in response to a user input includes displaying an indication of the vaporizable material level as taught by Monsees ‘6898 because both Cohen and Monsees ‘6898 are directed to aerosol generating devices, Cohen disclose the device performs desired programming in response to detecting a puff sensor and Monsees ‘6898 discloses a device configured to display a vaporizable material level in response to activating a sensor to provide the user a means to check the vaporizable level, and this involves applying known programming in response to sensor activation in a similar aerosol generating device to yield predictable results.
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cohen (US 20110036346 A1, as cited on IDS dated 05/23/2023) in view of Monsees (US 20160262459 A1, as cited on IDS dated 05/23/2023, hereinafter referred to as Monsees ‘2459).
Regarding claim 10, Cohen discloses the inhalation device (10) further comprises an indicator light (20) for indicating the power remaining status (i.e. a charge level of the battery, [0046]).
Cohen does not explicitly disclose the first control function is performed in response to the user input comprising a manipulation of the device, comprises causing the indicator light (20) to indicate a charge level of the battery.
However, Monsees ‘2459, directed to an aerosol generating device (400, Fig. 12), discloses
In response to a motion sensor detecting shaking of the device, an LED (460) indicates current battery level, such as 3 flashes indicating a full charge (Fig. 12, 0152, 0154]).
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would be obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art to modify Cohen by configuring the processing circuitry to display battery level information using the indicator light (20) in response to shaking as taught by Monsees ‘2459 because both Cohen and Monsees ‘2459 are directed to aerosol generating devices, Monsees ‘2459 discloses a motion sensor can be used to check the battery level, and this applying a known means of checking a battery level in a similar device to yield predictable results.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/M.F.D./Examiner, Art Unit 1755 /PHILIP Y LOUIE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1755