DETAILED ACTION
This action is in response to application filed on 23 May 2023. Claims 1-30 are now pending in the present application. This office action is made Non-Final.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement(s) (IDS) submitted on
01 December 2023
are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97 and is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being by Wang et al. (hereinafter Wang) (US 10,826,595 B2).
Regarding claims 1, 19, 29, and 30, Wang discloses a user equipment (UE) (e.g., 210) for wireless communication { (see Figs. 1-4) }, comprising:
one or more memories (e.g., 210) { (see col. 2, lines 58-64; Figs. 1-4), where the system provides a UE (e.g., 210) that has the ability to store information (see col. 5, lines 24-28) }; and
one or more processors (e.g., 210), coupled to the one or more memories (e.g., 210), configured to { (see col. 2, line 58 - col. 3, line 13; Figs. 1-4), where the system provides a UE with communication a gNB (100) and satellites (300) }:
transmit, to a network node (e.g., eNB 100 / satellite 300), flight path information that indicates a planned flight path of the UE (e.g., 210) { (see col. 5, lines 24-28; col. 6, lines 12-14,21-23; Figs. 1-4), where the system provides a UE (210) to flight data with the gNB (100) };
receive, from the network node (e.g., eNB 100 / satellite 300), timing advance (e.g., TA) compensation configuration information associated with the planned flight path of the UE (e.g., 210) and an indication of at least one application criterion associated with the timing advance compensation configuration information { (see col. 7, lines 4-5,22-31; Figs. 1-4), where the system provides a flight UE (e.g., 210) that sends uplink signal ) }; and
transmit, to the network node (e.g., eNB 100 / satellite 300), an uplink communication using a timing advance (e.g, TA) based at least in part on the timing advance compensation configuration information, in connection with a determination that the at least one application criterion is satisfied { (see col. 7, lines 8-31; Figs. 1-4), where the system provides a flight UE (e.g., 210) that sends uplink signal ) }.
Regarding claims 2 and 20, Wang discloses the UE of claim 1, wherein the at least one application criterion includes a reference height, wherein the determination that the at least one application criterion is satisfied includes a determination that the UE is at or above the reference height, and wherein the reference height is a height from a ground level, an altitude from sea level, or a height corresponding to a position along the planned flight path of the UE { (see col. 7, lines 22-31; Figs. 1-4), where the system provides a distance/elevation between flight UE (e.g., 210) and sends uplink signal ) }.
Regarding claim 3, Wang discloses the UE of claim 1, wherein the timing advance is based at least in part on a cumulative closed-loop timing advance value, an open-loop timing advance value based at least in part on the timing advance compensation configuration information, and a static timing advance offset value, and wherein the one or more processors are further configured to: reset the cumulative closed-loop timing advance value prior to determining the timing advance for the uplink communication in connection with the uplink communication being a first uplink communication once the at least one application criterion is satisfied { (see col. 7, line 62 - col. 8, line 2; Figs. 1-4) }.
Regarding claims 4 and 23, Wang discloses the UE of claim 1, wherein the at least one application criterion includes at least one of: a time duration for applying the timing advance compensation configuration information, a threshold for a distance of the UE, along the planned flight path of the UE, from a reference position on the planned flight path, or a reference time at which to begin applying the timing advance compensation configuration information { (see col. 7, lines 8-31; Figs. 1-4) }.
Regarding claim 5, Wang discloses the UE of claim 1, wherein the at least one application criterion includes a reference position, on the planned flight path of the UE, at which to begin applying the timing advance compensation configuration information, wherein the determination of whether the at least one application criterion is satisfied is based at least in part on a comparison of the reference position and a nearest position, on the planned flight path of the UE, to a current position of the UE { (see col. 7, lines 8-31; Figs. 1-4), where the system provides a flight UE (e.g., 210) that sends uplink signal ) }.
Regarding claim 6, Wang discloses the UE of claim 1, wherein the at least one application criterion includes a reference zone, along the planned flight path of the UE, at which to begin applying the timing advance compensation configuration information { (see col. 7, lines 8-31; Figs. 1-4) }.
Regarding claim 7, Wang discloses the UE of claim 1, wherein the at least one application criterion is based at least in part on the planned flight path of the UE { (see col. 5, lines 24-28; col. 6, lines 12-14,21-23; Figs. 1-4), where the system provides a UE (210) to flight data with the gNB (100) }.
Regarding claims 8 and 21, Wang discloses the UE of claim 1, wherein the timing advance compensation configuration information indicates a polynomial for determining one or more configured timing advance values associated with the planned flight path { (see col. 7, lines 8-31; Figs. 1-4) }.
Regarding claim 9, Wang discloses the UE of claim 1, wherein the timing advance compensation configuration information indicates a set of configured timing advance compensation values associated with the planned flight path { (see col. 5, lines 24-28; col. 6, lines 12-14,21-23; col. 7, lines 8-31; Figs. 1-4) }.
Regarding claims 10 and 22, Wang discloses the UE of claim 1, wherein the timing advance compensation configuration information indicates a reference location of the network node, and wherein the one or more processors are further configured to: derive a propagation delay between the network node and the UE based at least in part on the reference location of the network node, in connection with the determination that the at least one application criterion is satisfied, wherein the timing advance is based at least in part on the propagation delay { (see col. 5, lines 24-28; col. 6, lines 12-14,21-23; col. 7, lines 8-31; Figs. 1-4) }.
Regarding claims 11 and 24, Wang discloses the UE of claim 1, wherein the timing advance compensation configuration information indicates a function of time for determining a configured timing advance compensation value, wherein the timing advance for the uplink communication is based at least in part on the configured timing advance compensation value determined using the function of time, and wherein the configured timing advance compensation value is determined, using the function of time, based at least in part on a reference speed associated with the UE { (see col. 7, lines 8-31; col. 5, lines 24-28; col. 6, lines 12-14,21-23; Figs. 1-4) }.
Regarding claim 12, Wang discloses the UE of claim 1, wherein the timing advance compensation configuration information indicates a function of a distance of the UE along the planned flight path, for determining a configured timing advance compensation value, wherein the timing advance for the uplink communication is based at least in part on the configured timing advance compensation value determined using the function of the distance of the UE along the planned flight path, and wherein the distance of the UE along the planned flight path is: a distance from a reference position to a nearest position, on the planned flight path, to a position of the UE, or an integrated distance, over the planned flight path, to a nearest position, on the planned flight path, to a position of the UE { (see col. 7, lines 8-31; col. 5, lines 24-28; col. 6, lines 12-14,21-23; Figs. 1-4) }.
Regarding claim 13, Wang discloses the UE of claim 1, wherein the timing advance compensation configuration information indicates a function of a position associated with the UE, for determining a configured timing advance compensation value, wherein the timing advance for the uplink communication is based at least in part on the configured timing advance compensation value determined using the function of the position associated with the UE, and wherein the position associated with the UE is a center position of a zone, of a plurality of zones along the planned flight path, in which the UE is located, or a nearest position, on the planned flight path, to a position of the UE { (see col. 7, lines 8-31; col. 5, lines 24-28; col. 6, lines 12-14,21-23; Figs. 1-4) }.
Regarding claims 14 and 25, Wang discloses the UE of claim 1, wherein the timing advance compensation configuration information includes first timing advance compensation configuration information associated with a first cell or a first synchronization signal block (SSB) and second timing advance compensation configuration information associated with a second cell or a second SSB { (see col. 4, lines 57-59; col. 9, lines 1-5; col. 7, lines 8-31; col. 5, lines 24-28; col. 6, lines 12-14,21-23; Figs. 1-4) }.
Regarding claim 15, Wang discloses the UE of claim 1, wherein the one or more processors are further configured to: transmit, to the network node, another uplink communication, in connection with a determination that the at least one application criterion is no longer satisfied, using a timing advance based at least in part on a previous open-loop timing advance value determined from the timing advance compensation configuration information { (see col. 7, lines 8-31; col. 5, lines 24-28; col. 6, lines 12-14,21-23; Figs. 1-4) }.
Regarding claims 16 and 26, Wang discloses the UE of claim 1, wherein the one or more processors are further configured to: receive, from the network node, an indication of a threshold for deviation of a position of the UE from the planned flight path; transmit, to the network node, a request for reconfiguration of the timing advance compensation configuration information in connection with a determination that the deviation of the position of the UE from the planned flight path satisfies the threshold; and receive, from the network node, updated timing advance compensation configuration information based at least in part on transmitting the request for reconfiguration of the timing advance compensation configuration information { (see col. 7, lines 8-31; col. 5, lines 24-28; col. 6, lines 12-14,21-23; Figs. 1-4) }.
Regarding claims 17 and 28, Wang discloses the UE of claim 16, wherein the one or more processors are further configured to: transmit, to the network node, updated flight path information that indicates an updated planned flight path of the UE in connection with the determination that the deviation of the position of the UE from the planned flight path satisfies the threshold, wherein the updated timing advance compensation configuration information is associated with the updated planned flight path of the UE { (see col. 7, lines 8-31; col. 5, lines 24-28; col. 6, lines 12-14,21-23; Figs. 1-4) }.
Regarding claim 18, Wang discloses the UE of claim 1, wherein the one or more processors, to transmit the uplink communication, are configured to: receive, from the network node, an indication of a threshold for deviation of a position of the UE from the planned flight path; and transmit, in connection with a determination that the deviation of the position of the UE from the planned flight path satisfies the threshold, a physical random access channel (PRACH) uplink communication with the timing advance that is based at least in part on the timing advance compensation configuration information adjusted by a configured offset value { (see col. 9, lines 10-13; col. 7, lines 8-31; col. 5, lines 24-28; col. 6, lines 12-14,21-23; Figs. 1-4) }.
Regarding claim 27, Wang discloses the network node of claim 26, wherein the one or more processors are further configured to: receive, from the UE, a request for reconfiguration of the timing advance compensation configuration information; and transmit, to the UE, updated timing advance compensation configuration information based at least in part on receiving the request for reconfiguration of the timing advance compensation configuration information { (see col. 7, lines 8-31; col. 5, lines 24-28; col. 6, lines 12-14,21-23; Figs. 1-4) }.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Panchal et al. (US 2021/0159971 A1) discloses systems and methods for providing network access to aircraft.
/WILLIE J DANIEL JR/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2465
WJD,Jr
16 April 2026