DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-21 are pending
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-21 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on the combination of references applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-5, 7, 13-15, 17 and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li (US 2017/0084253) and in view Ludtke (US 6,501,441) and in view of Ganzaroli (US 2009/0237560).
Re claim 1, Li discloses a processor ([0070], receiver includes processors);
a first interface ([0046], second receivers that receive data (first interface) from first receivers 120); and
a second interface wherein the active receiver card is configured to be electrically connected to a tile of a display ([0046], second receivers (active receiver card) that distributes the received data (second interface) to the sets of LED drivers 140); Li does not explicitly disclose, wherein the first interface is configured to receive a broadcast serialized video data stream transmitted to each of the first tile and one or more other tiles of the display as a broadcast transmission protocol as input from a video processing system, the broadcast serialized video data stream including all video image data pertaining to said first tile of the display that is required to display by said first tile of the display said video image pertaining to said first file of the display and the broadcast serialized video data stream further including all other video image data pertaining to the one or more other tiles of said display that is required to display by said one or more other tiles of the display said video image pertaining to said one or more other tiles of the display;
wherein the second interface is configured to output control signals used to control a plurality of pixels of the first tile of the display;
wherein the processor of the active receiver card is configured to extract the video image data pertaining to the first tile of the display from among the other video image data pertaining to one or more other tiles of said display of the received broadcast serialized video data stream, and based on the extracted video image data pertaining to the first tile of the display, the active receiver card is configured to output the control signals used to control a plurality of pixels of the first tile of the display. Ludtke discloses a first interface (fig. 2, fig. 3, col. 8, lines 7-28, master device has input 42 from the video source);
a second interface wherein the active receiver card is configured to be electrically connected to a tile of a display (fig. 2, fig. 3, col. 8, lines 7-28, master device has output 44 coupled to the display devices 24-40 which together form a multiple display or wall-of-video.);
wherein the first interface is configured to receive a broadcast serialized video data stream transmitted to each of the first tile and one or more other tiles of the display as a broadcast transmission as input from a video processing system (fig. 2, fig. 3, col. 7, line 40 – col. 8, line 28, master device has input 42 from the video source and logically partitions the video stream into image sections and assigns each display device a corresponding image section. Eash display device receives the video stream and physically separates the data representing the image section corresponding to the display device),
the broadcast serialized video data stream including all video image data pertaining to said first tile of the display that is required to display by said first tile of the display said video image pertaining to said first file of the display and the broadcast serialized video data stream further including all other video image data pertaining to the one or more other tiles of said display that is required to display by said one or more other tiles of the display said video image pertaining to said one or more other tiles of the display (fig. 2, fig. 3, col. 7, line 40 – col. 8, line 28, master device partitions the video stream into image sections and assigns each display device a corresponding image section. As seen in fig. 2, each display receives the same video stream which has not been physically partitioned since each display physically separates the data representing the image section corresponding to the display device.);
wherein the second interface is configured to output control signals used to control a plurality of pixels of the first tile of the display (fig. 2, fig. 3, col. 8, line 1-28, col master device partitions the video stream into image sections and assigns each display device a corresponding image section. As seen in fig. 2, each display receives the same video stream which has not been physically partitioned since each display physically separates the data representing the image section corresponding to the display device.);
wherein the processor of the active receiver card is configured to extract the video image data pertaining to the first tile of the display from among the other video image data pertaining to one or more other tiles of said display of the received broadcast serialized video data stream, and based on the extracted video image data pertaining to the first tile of the display, (fig. 2, fig. 3, col. 8, line 1-28, col master device partitions the video stream into image sections and assigns each display device a corresponding image section. As seen in fig. 2, each display receives the same video stream which has not been physically partitioned since each display physically separates the data representing the image section corresponding to the display device.) the active receiver card is configured to output the control signals used to control a plurality of pixels of the first tile of the display (col. 12, lines 5-52, master device instructs the display devices to begin displaying the video stream.
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the date the current invention was effectively filed to have modified the teachings of Li’s LED display device by the system of Ludtke’s partitioning, scaling and displaying video graphics across devices to receive a video and split it amongst a plurality of displays. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to incorporate the teachings with one another in order to increase the video display system by including the partitioning of a video stream across multiple display devices where each display can determine the partitioned video it is responsible to display.
While Li and Ludtke discloses video data stream transmitted to each of the first tile and one or more other tiles of the display as a broadcast transmission, and Ludtke further discloses using IEEE1394-1995 standard as the network to connect audio/video including digital televisions, Li and Ludtke do not disclose video data stream transmitted to each of the first tile and one or more other tiles of the display as a broadcast transmission protocol.
In the same field of endeavor, Ganzaroli discloses in [0012]-[0015], a video wall system with video matric control in an IP network. The streaming server can provide control signals (multicast MP2TS (MPEG-2 transport stream)) and 312 (e.g., clock signaling) to digital media receivers 204. Any broadcast or multicast stream over an IP network, such as a satellite stream encapsulated in IP or any other source, can be used as a source of a stream.
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the date the current invention was effectively filed to have modified the teachings of Li and Zeng’s LED display device by the system of Ganzaroli’s video wall to include the broadcast or multicast stream over an IP network video source to each LED tile which would include a broadcast transmission protocol. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to incorporate the teachings with one another to improve the flexibility to arrange the video walls as they change dimensions and layout.
Re claim 2, Li discloses wherein the active receiver card receives the broadcast serialized video data stream as asymmetrical communication between the active receiver card and the video processing system ([0051]-[0052], each of the first receivers 120 and second receivers 130 can employ 8B/10B encode in transmit side and 10B/8B decode in receiver side).
Re claim 3, Li discloses wherein the active receiver card is configured to receive through the first interface the broadcast serialized video data stream without requiring return communication or without confirmation to the video processing system (fig. 3, [0040]-[0042], receiver cards 130 receives information from receiver cards 120 and does not mention that there is a requirement for return communication or confirmation to send the data to the plurality of LED drivers).
Re claim 4, one of ordinary level of skill in the art would have been compelled to make the proposed modification to Li for the same reasons identified in the rejection of claim 1. In addition, Ludtke discloses wherein the active receiver card is configured to receive through the first interface the broadcast serialized video data stream, the broadcast serialized video data stream including data not pertaining to the first tile of the display, or including data pertaining to said one or more other tiles (fig. 2, fig. 3, col. 8, line 1-28, col master device partitions the video stream into image sections and assigns each display device a corresponding image section. As seen in fig. 2, each display receives the same video stream which has not been physically partitioned since each display physically separates the data representing the image section corresponding to the display device.)
Re claim 5, one of ordinary level of skill in the art would have been compelled to make the proposed modification to Li for the same reasons identified in the rejection of claim 1. In addition, Ludtke discloses wherein the second interface is directly or indirectly electrically connected to a board of the first tile of the plurality of tiles of the display, the board containing one or more LEDs (fig. 2, fig. 3, col. 8, line 1-28, col master device connects to the display 24-40 through connection 44.)
Re claim 7, one of ordinary level of skill in the art would have been compelled to make the proposed modification to Li for the same reasons identified in the rejection of claim 1. In addition, Ludtke discloses comprising a non-volatile memory that stores at least one (x,y) coordinate of a pixel of the plurality of pixels of the first tile of the display that corresponds to one LED that is mounted on an LED board of the first tile, the at least one (x,y) coordinate corresponding to a particular (x,y) pixel coordinate (fig. 6, col 10, lines 19-42, each section has a X and Y which corresponds to the partitions of the image assigned to each display). In further addition, Ganzaroli discloses comprising a non-volatile memory that stores at least one (x,y) coordinate of a pixel of the plurality of pixels of the first tile of the display that corresponds to one LED that is mounted on an LED board of the first tile, the at least one (x,y) coordinate corresponding to a particular (x,y) pixel coordinate ([0022], the video wall display is configured on a different x, y, x1, y1, portion of the media stream for display to support a video wall).
With respect to claims 13-15, 17 and 21, they are of similar to claims 1-5, 7 and therefore are rejected for the same reasons above.
Claims 6 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li and in view of Ludtke and in view of Ganzaroli and in view of Diab (US 2008/0285981).
Re claims 6 and 16, Li discloses in [0051]-[0052], each of the first receivers 120 and second receivers 130 can employ 8B/10B encode in transmit side and 10B/8B decode in receiver side. However, Li, Ludtke, and Ganzaroli does not disclose however Diab discloses wherein the active receiver card is configured to operate asymmetrically with the video processing system such that the serialized video data stream transmitted downstream from the video processing system is transmitted at a higher bandwidth than a bandwidth of data transmitted upstream to the video processor ([0019] Asymmetrical Ethernet Optical PHY Functions. The upstream device may transmit high bandwidth audio at a first rate and receiver lower bandwidth data at a second data rate that may be slower standard rate).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the date the current invention was effectively filed to have modified the teachings of Li, Ludtke, and Ganzaroli by the system of Diab to transmit using asymmetrical ethernet optical functions. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to incorporate the teachings with one another in order to enable transmission of AVB streams at the first data rate and reception of the AVB streams at a second data rate to support any latency of bandwidth sensitive data.
Claims 8 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li and in view of Ludtke and in view of Ganzaroli and in view of Mallett (US 2019/0356940, hereinafter Mallett).
Re claims 8 and 18, Li, Ludtke, and Ganzaroli does not disclose however Mallett discloses wherein the processor of the active receiver card is configured to determine a coordinate (a,b) out of the serialized video data stream, and compare the determined coordinate (a,b) to the at least one (x,y) coordinate of a pixel of the plurality of pixels ([0303], [0307], mapping the display of the video wall panel with the display location in the video using horizontal and vertical coordinates to determine if the display region of the video frame corresponds to said location in the video frame).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the date the current invention was effectively filed to have modified the teachings of Li, Ludtke, and Ganzaroli by the system of Mallett to determine if the video frame is in the display region. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to incorporate the teachings with one another to ensure that the video is in the frame regions of the display or near the end of the regions of the frames.
Claims 9-12 and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li and in view of Ludtke and in view of Ganzaroli and in view of Deighton (US 2022/0014728, hereinafter Deighton).
Re claims 9 and 19, Li, Ludtke, and Ganzaroli does not disclose however Deighton discloses wherein the processor of the active receiver card is configured to extract a corresponding pixel value from the serialized video data stream ([0029], [0076] values calculated for the LED pixels determine which pixels are illuminated and the color and the intensity of the pixels).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the date the current invention was effectively filed to have modified the teachings of Li by the system of Deighton to calculate the values for the LED pixels. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to incorporate the teachings with one another in order to adjust the illumination, color, and intensity of the pixels being displayed.
Re claims 10 and 20, one of ordinary level of skill in the art would have been compelled to make the proposed modification to Li, Ludtke, and Ganzaroli for the same reasons identified in the rejection of claims 9 and 19. In addition, Deighton discloses wherein the processor of the active receiver card is configured to perform at least one mathematical operation on the corresponding pixel value ([0082]-[0084], calculate gain factors).
Re claim 11, one of ordinary level of skill in the art would have been compelled to make the proposed modification to Li, Ludtke, and Ganzaroli for the same reasons identified in the rejection of claims 9. In addition, Deighton discloses wherein the processor of the active receiver card is configured to convert an outcome of the at least one mathematical operation to an output that can be interfaced with the second interface ([0082]-[0084], calculate gain factors for the video’s pixel brightness).
Re claim 12, one of ordinary level of skill in the art would have been compelled to make the proposed modification to Li, Ludtke, and Ganzaroli for the same reasons identified in the rejection of claims 9. In addition, Deighton discloses wherein the processor of the active receiver card is configured to send corresponding signals to a board of the first tile containing one or more LEDs, to light up the LEDs in correspondence with the outcome of the at least one mathematical operation ([0082]-[0084], calculate gain factors for the video’s pixel brightness).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/HO T SHIU/Examiner, Art Unit 2443
HO T. SHIU
Examiner
Art Unit 2443
/CHRISTOPHER B ROBINSON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2443