DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-21 are pending
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-21 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on the combination of references applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-5, 13-15 and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li (US 2017/0084253) and in view of Zeng (US 2010/0177016).
Re claim 1, Li discloses a processor ([0070], receiver includes processors);
a first interface ([0046], second receivers that receive data (first interface) from first receivers 120); and
a second interface wherein the active receiver card is configured to be electrically connected to a tile of a display ([0046], second receivers (active receiver card) that distributes the received data (second interface) to the sets of LED drivers 140);
In the same field of endeavor, Zeng discloses a first interface (fig. 3, [0036]-[0037], receiver RX 302); and
a second interface wherein the active receiver card is configured to be electrically connected to a first tile of the display (fig. 3, [0037], receiver 302 (part of 300) is connected to display 308 through tx1);
wherein the first interface is configured to receive a broadcast serialized video data stream as input from a video processing system, the broadcast serialized video data stream including all video image data pertaining to said first tile of the display that is required to display by said first tile of the display said video image pertaining to said first file of the display and the broadcast serialized video data stream further including all other video image data pertaining to one or more other tiles of said display that is required to display by said on or more other tiles of the display said video image pertaining to said one or more other tiles of the display ([0036]-[0037], Fig. 3, system 300 receives video data from source 100 into receiver (RX) 302. Image splitter splits the video into any number of separate displays that span the video data in that they either display substantially all or all of the video data on a plurality of displays. The received video includes a total of M rows of N pixels and is split between multiple displays);
wherein the second interface is configured to output control signals used to control a plurality of pixels of the first tile of the display ([0037], fig. 3, second interface tx1 (transmitters 306-1) outputs the data transmission to the display 308-1);
wherein the processor of the active receiver card is configured to extract the video image data pertaining to the first tile of the display from among the other video image data pertaining to one or more other tiles of said display of the received broadcast serialized video data stream (fig. 3, [0037], monitor system 300 includes the image splitter 304 that receives the video data from receiver 302 and splits the video data into portions for display on a plurality D of multiple displays 308-1 through 308-D. and
based on the extracted video image data pertaining to the first tile of the display, the active receiver card is configured to output the control signals used to control a plurality of pixels of the first tile of the display (fig. 3, [0037], The image splitter splits the video data into any number of separate displays so that the received video data is completely displayed. The image splitter takes the received video and splits the necessary data into display 308-1 through tx1).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the date the current invention was effectively filed to have modified the teachings of Li’s LED display device by the system of Zeng’s display devices to receive a video and split it amongst a plurality of displays. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to incorporate the teachings with one another in order to use a multi-monitor display.
Re claim 2, Li discloses wherein the active receiver card receives the broadcast serialized video data stream as asymmetrical communication between the active receiver card and the video processing system ([0051]-[0052], each of the first receivers 120 and second receivers 130 can employ 8B/10B encode in transmit side and 10B/8B decode in receiver side).
Re claim 3, Li discloses wherein the active receiver card is configured to receive through the first interface the broadcast serialized video data stream without requiring return communication or without confirmation to the video processing system (fig. 3, [0040]-[0042], receiver cards 130 receives information from receiver cards 120 and does not mention that there is a requirement for return communication or confirmation to send the data to the plurality of LED drivers).
Re claim 4, one of ordinary level of skill in the art would have been compelled to make the proposed modification to Li for the same reasons identified in the rejection of claim 1. In addition, Zeng discloses wherein the active receiver card is configured to receive through the first interface the broadcast serialized video data stream, the broadcast serialized video data stream including data not pertaining to the first tile of the display, or including data pertaining to said one or more other tiles (fig. 3, [0037], monitor system 300 includes the image splitter 304 that receives the video data from receiver 302 and splits the video data into portions for display on a plurality D of multiple displays 308-1 through 308-D. The image splitter splits the video data into any number of separate displays so that the received video data is completely displayed. The image splitter takes the received video and splits the necessary data into display 308-1 to 308-d).
Re claim 5, one of ordinary level of skill in the art would have been compelled to make the proposed modification to Li for the same reasons identified in the rejection of claim 1. In addition, Zeng discloses wherein the second interface is directly or indirectly electrically connected to a board of the first tile of the plurality of tiles of the display, the board containing one or more LEDs (fig. 3, [0037], The image splitter splits the video data into any number of separate displays so that the received video data is completely displayed. The image splitter takes the received video and splits the necessary data into display 308-1 through tx1).).
With respect to claims 13-15 and 21, they are of similar to claims 1-5 and therefore are rejected for the same reasons above.
Claims 6 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li and in view of Zeng and in view of Diab (US 2008/0285981).
Re claims 6 and 16, Li discloses in [0051]-[0052], each of the first receivers 120 and second receivers 130 can employ 8B/10B encode in transmit side and 10B/8B decode in receiver side. However, Li and Zeng does not disclose however Diab discloses wherein the active receiver card is configured to operate asymmetrically with the video processing system such that the serialized video data stream transmitted downstream from the video processing system is transmitted at a higher bandwidth than a bandwidth of data transmitted upstream to the video processor ([0019] Asymmetrical Ethernet Optical PHY Functions. The upstream device may transmit high bandwidth audio at a first rate and receiver lower bandwidth data at a second data rate that may be slower standard rate).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the date the current invention was effectively filed to have modified the teachings of Li and Zeng by the system of Diab to transmit using asymmetrical ethernet optical functions. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to incorporate the teachings with one another in order to enable transmission of AVB streams at the first data rate and reception of the AVB streams at a second data rate to support any latency of bandwidth sensitive data.
Claims 7 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li and in view of Zeng and in view of Hochman (US 2022/0254317, hereinafter Hochman).
Re claims 7 and 17, Li and Zeng does not disclose however Hochman discloses comprising a non-volatile memory that stores at least one (x,y) coordinate of a pixel of the plurality of pixels of the first tile of the display that corresponds to one LED that is mounted on an LED board of the first tile, the at least one (x,y) coordinate corresponding to a particular (x,y) pixel coordinate ([0008]-[0009], communicating specific x,y coordinate to deliver a packet from point A to B for a video wall).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the date the current invention was effectively filed to have modified the teachings of Li and Zeng by the system of Hochman to transmit the video data to the display tiles using a coordinate system. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to incorporate the teachings with one another to utilize a well known horizontal and vertical coordinate system for imaging rendition.
Claims 8 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li and in view of Zeng and in view of Hochman and in view of Mallett (US 2019/0356940, hereinafter Mallett).
Re claims 8 and 18, Li, Zeng and Hochman does not disclose however Mallett discloses wherein the processor of the active receiver card is configured to determine a coordinate (a,b) out of the serialized video data stream, and compare the determined coordinate (a,b) to the at least one (x,y) coordinate of a pixel of the plurality of pixels ([0303], [0307], mapping the display of the video wall panel with the display location in the video using horizontal and vertical coordinates to determine if the display region of the video frame corresponds to said location in the video frame).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the date the current invention was effectively filed to have modified the teachings of Li, Zeng and Hochman by the system of Mallett to determine if the video frame is in the display region. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to incorporate the teachings with one another to ensure that the video is in the frame regions of the display or near the end of the regions of the frames.
Claims 9-12 and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li and in view of Zeng and in view of Deighton (US 2022/0014728, hereinafter Deighton).
Re claims 9 and 19, Li and Zeng does not disclose however Deighton discloses wherein the processor of the active receiver card is configured to extract a corresponding pixel value from the serialized video data stream ([0029], [0076] values calculated for the LED pixels determine which pixels are illuminated and the color and the intensity of the pixels).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the date the current invention was effectively filed to have modified the teachings of Li by the system of Deighton to calculate the values for the LED pixels. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to incorporate the teachings with one another in order to adjust the illumination, color, and intensity of the pixels being displayed.
Re claims 10 and 20, one of ordinary level of skill in the art would have been compelled to make the proposed modification to Li and Zeng for the same reasons identified in the rejection of claims 9 and 19. In addition, Deighton discloses wherein the processor of the active receiver card is configured to perform at least one mathematical operation on the corresponding pixel value ([0082]-[0084], calculate gain factors).
Re claim 11, one of ordinary level of skill in the art would have been compelled to make the proposed modification to Li and Zeng for the same reasons identified in the rejection of claims 9. In addition, Deighton discloses wherein the processor of the active receiver card is configured to convert an outcome of the at least one mathematical operation to an output that can be interfaced with the second interface ([0082]-[0084], calculate gain factors for the video’s pixel brightness).
Re claim 12, one of ordinary level of skill in the art would have been compelled to make the proposed modification to Li and Zeng for the same reasons identified in the rejection of claims 9. In addition, Deighton discloses wherein the processor of the active receiver card is configured to send corresponding signals to a board of the first tile containing one or more LEDs, to light up the LEDs in correspondence with the outcome of the at least one mathematical operation ([0082]-[0084], calculate gain factors for the video’s pixel brightness).
Conclusion
/HO T SHIU/Examiner, Art Unit 2443
HO T. SHIU
Examiner
Art Unit 2443
/NICHOLAS R TAYLOR/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2443