Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-20 have been considered but are moot because they relate to newly amended claim limitations for which new art Vetro is provided.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 5-9 and 14-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant, regards as the invention.
Claims 5-6, 9 and 14-15 are directed to performing operations on ‘a’ or ‘the’ subset of tokens. However, as amended, independent claims 1 and 10, from which the above claims depend, require both a first and a second subset of tokens. It is unclear whether the operations of claims 5-6, 9 and 14-15 are to be performed on the first subset of tokens, the second subset of tokens or both subsets of tokens. For the purposes of examination the examiner will interpret the claims as requiring the actions describe din claims 5-6, 9 and 14-15 to be performed on at least one subset of the tokens.
Claims 7-8 and 16-17 recite a second subset of tokens. However, as amended, independent claims 1 and 10 , from which the above claims depend, already describe a second subset of tokens. Thus it is unclear whether the second subset of tokens in claims 7-8 and 16-17 is the same ‘second’ subset as required by claims 1 and 10 or a an additional, third, subset of tokens. For the purposes of examination the examiner will treat claims 7-8 and 16-17 as reciting a ‘third’ subset of tokens instead of a second subset which appears to be in accordance with the applicants intention, and the description of Fig. 3 in the specification.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Schulze (20160150235) in view of Ogawa (2023/0154016) and in further view of Vetro et al (6,650,705).
In regard to claim 1 Schulze discloses a method comprising:
receiving a frame depicting an object, the frame being one of a plurality of frames of a video sequence (Schulze Fig. 2 and pars 38-41 note receiving video from camera 210 further note Fig. 9A-B and pars 79-86 particularly note par. 80 a current frame including a moving object);
encoding a plurality of tokens of the frame, each token being a representation of a grid of pixels of a frame (Schulze Fig. 9A-B and pars 79-86 note foreground block 922 as a ‘token’ that represents a grid of foreground pixels);
selecting first and second subset of tokens for decoding (Schulze pars 79-86 note dividing a block into foreground and background ‘tokens’ further note Fig. 4 and par. 44 a frame comprises a plurality of blocks, and hence a first subset of foreground ‘tokens’ and a second subset of background ‘tokens’ finally note Fig. 6A and pars 46-60 note a first subset of tokens, e.g. the foreground tokens, are selected to be encoded and decoded by an upper decoder as shown in Fig. 5 and 6A which shows layer L1 being decoded by the upper decoding process into quantized output Q1 residual block R1’ and decoded layer L1’)
decoding, by a decoder, a first subset of tokens using a decoder (Schulze Fig. 6A and pars 59-60 note decoding the selected subset of tokens e.g. the foreground, into the decoded representation ‘L1’).
Schulze suggests that tokens may be divided into subsets based on moving and non-moving objects (Schulze par. 80 note foreground layer corresponds to a moving object). It is noted that Schulze does not disclose details of selecting subsets of tokens based on a confidence score. However, Ogawa discloses a method for selecting a subset of ‘tokens’ corresponding to a moving object based on a likelihood of a token satisfying a confidence threshold, wherein the confidence threshold based on a confidence score of the token including a past object in a past frame (Ogawa Fig. 5 and pars 48-52 note tracking the true motion of an object between frames, particularly note par. 52 note determining the position of the object in the past frame in the current frame based on a cross correlation score (confidence score) being above a threshold value).
It is therefore considered obvious that one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention would recognize the advantage of incorporating a method of selecting ‘tokens’ corresponding to moving objects as taught by Ogawa in the invention of Schulze in order to gain the advantage of obtaining accurate object motion as suggested by Ogawa (Ogawa par. 3 note high accuracy tracking).
Schulze and Ogawa teaches identifying a subset of tokens as a first, foreground, subset of tokens based on the likelihood of tokens satisfying a confidence threshold and identifying tokens as a second, ‘background’ subset of tokens based on the likelihood of the tokens not satisfying confidence thresholds as noted above. It is noted that Shulze and Ogawa does not disclose details of excluding a second, background, subset of tokens from the decoder. However, Vetro discloses encoding video by selecting first and second subsets of image data corresponding to a background and foreground objects (Vetro generally note Figs 5-7 and col. 8 line 18 to col. 10 line 2 for details of encoding and selecting image subsets, further note Fig. 8 and col. 10 lines 6-19 first and second extracted objects including a background in sequence 801 and a foreground in sequence 802). Vetro further discloses excluding a second, background, subset of image data from the decoder (Vetro Fig. 8 and col. 10 lines 21-30 note not coding the first, background object, for a time period, or coding the object at a lower framerate for a period and hence not coding a portion of the frames of the object as illustrated in Fig. 4, further note that by omitting coding of the object, the subset of image data corresponding to the first, background object, for the omitted frames will be excluded from decoding note col. 5 lines 56-64 note decoding of encoded image data being well known).
In regard to claim 2 refer to the statements made in the rejection of claim 1 above. Schulze further discloses:
encoding a representation of visual information in the past frame (Schulze par. 80 note previously encoded frame) ;
creating an affinity matrix by comparing each token of the plurality of tokens to the encoded representation of visual information in the past frame (Schulze pars 79-86 note motion vectors indicating the location of the same pixels in a previous frame);
encoding a mask probability of a particular past object in the past frame (Schulze par. 82 note generating masks M1 and M2 based on the motion vector information); and
obtaining a memory readout for the particular past object by applying the encoded mask probability of the particular past object in the past frame to the affinity matrix (Schulze pars 79-80 note motion vectors represent predictions from pixels in past frames, further note Figs 5-6A and pars. 46-60 note predictions are obtained from the past frame (memory) to predict the pixels of the current block)
In regard to claim 3 refer to the statements made in the rejection of claim 2 above.
encoding an existence of each particular masked object of a plurality of masked objects (Schulze pars 46-60 and Fig. 5 note encoding each of a plurality of masked layers, any number of layers may be used further note pars 79-86 and Fig. 9A one or more masked layers may correspond to a moving object).
In regard to claim 4 refer to the statements made in the rejection of claim 3 above. Schulze and Ogawa further disclose:
determining the confidence score of the token including the past object in the past frame by applying the existence of the particular masked object to the memory readout for the particular past object (Ogawa pars 48-52 note determining a cross correlation between the identified object features of a past frame and detected features of a current frame).
In regard to claim 5 refer to the statements made in the rejection of claim 1 above. Schulze further discloses that the decoder is a set-based encoder (Schulze par. 44 note a frame is encoded as a set of blocks) and further comprising:
indexing a subset of tokens (Schulze pars 66-67 note blocks are indexed by position x and y) ; and
decoding the indexed subset of tokens (Schulze Fig. 6A note decoding image blocks);
In regard to claim 6 refer to the statements made in the rejection of claim 1 above. Schulze further discloses that the decoder is a convolutional decoder (Schulze pars 61-63 note either selecting or merging layers for ‘convolutional decoder’) and further comprising:
masking each of the plurality of tokens of the frame that are not included in the selected subset of tokens (Schulze Fig. 9A and pars 79-86 note masking pixels which are not included in the selected layer e.g. the background pixels are masked in the foreground layer).
In regard to claim 7 refer to the statements made in the rejection of claim 1 above. Schulze and Ogawa further disclose:
receiving a second frame including at least two objects (Schulze Fig. 2 and pars. 38-41 note receiving video data comprising multiple frames further note Figs. 8 and 10 for examples of other frames encoded using a layered representation) ;
encoding a second plurality of tokens of the second frame, each token being a representation of a grid of pixels of the second frame (Schulze Fig. 9A and pars 79-86 note par. 80 note dividing a frame into sets of foreground ‘tokens’ 922 and background ‘tokens’ 921 representing a moving foreground object and a stationary background object) ; and
selecting a third subset of tokens for decoding based wherein the third subset of tokens includes a first set of tokens corresponding to a first object and a second set of tokens corresponding to a second object (Schulze par. 80 note ‘tokens’ 922 and 924 correspond to two objects respectively, one moving foreground object and one stationary background object).
Schulze suggests that tokens may be divided into subsets based on moving and non-moving objects (Schulze par. 80 note foreground layer corresponds to a moving object). It is noted that Schulze does not disclose details of selecting subsets of tokens based on a confidence score. However, Ogawa discloses a method for selecting a subset of ‘tokens’ corresponding to a moving object based on a likelihood of a token satisfying a confidence threshold, wherein the confidence threshold based on a confidence score of the token including a past object in a past frame (Ogawa Fig. 5 and pars 48-52 note tracking the true motion of an object between frames, particularly note par. 52 note determining the position of the object in the past frame in the current frame based on a cross correlation score (confidence score) being above a threshold value).
It is therefore considered obvious that one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention would recognize the advantage of incorporating a method of selecting ‘tokens’ corresponding to moving objects as taught by Ogawa in the invention of Schulze in order to gain the advantage of obtaining accurate object motion as suggested by Ogawa (Ogawa par. 3 note high accuracy tracking).
In regard to claim 8 refer to the statements made in the rejection of claim 7 above. Schulze further discloses:
determining that the first set of tokens representing a grid of pixels in the second frame is a number of pixels apart from the second set of tokens representing another grid of pixels in the second frame (Schulze Fig. 9A note the foreground and background tokens are at least one pixel apart, as they do not overlap) ;
masking each of the plurality of tokens of the second frame that are not included in the third subset of tokens (Schulze Figs. 8A, 9A and 10A note masks M1 and M2 are applied to all pixels or ‘tokens’ which do not apply to the current layer, further note pars 46-47 more than two layers may be generated and thus the masks M1 and M2 would ask any ‘tokens’ corresponding to a third or more layers);
combining the first set of tokens of the third subset and the second set of tokens of the third subset into a single encoded representation (Schulze Fig. 5 and pars 46-60 note combining all ‘token’ layers into a single encoded representation 570); and
decoding the single encoded representation (Schulze Fig. 6A and pars 46-60 note decoding the encoded representation 570).
In regard to claim 9 refer to the statements made in the rejection of claim 1 above. Schulze further discloses that the first subset of tokens is an active region corresponding to the object of the frame (Schulze par. 80 note the foreground ‘tokens’ correspond to a moving object which represents an active region of the frame as opposed to a stationary object).
Claims 10-20 describe an apparatus and a non-transitory computer readable media that cause a processor and a memory to perform steps that correspond to the method described in claims 1-9. Refer to the statements made in regard to claims 1-9 above for the rejection of claims 10-20 which will not be repeated here for brevity. In particular regard to claims 10 and 18 Schulze further discloses an apparatus comprising a processor and a memory that may receive instructions from a computer readable medium (Schulz Fig. 2 and pars 38-41 note processor 220 and memory 230, the memory 230 including non-transitory media storing instructions to be executed by the processor).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US 10200695 B2 Dutt; Yashwant et al.
US 20030112867 A1 Hannuksela, Miska et al.
US 20040239762 A1 Porikli, Fatih M. et al.
US 20110096836 A1 Einarsson; Torbjorn
US 20130198794 A1 DHARMAPURIKAR; Makarand
US 20140132789 A1 Koyama; Masae
US 20150334398 A1 Socek; Daniel et al.
US 20190089981 A1 LV; Zhuoyi et al.
US 20210133475 A1 Sudar; Ron et al.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JEREMIAH C HALLENBECK-HUBER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2481