DETAILED ACTION
In Reply filed on 10/30/2025, claims 1-17 are pending. Claims 9 and 12-16 are currently amended. Claim 18 is canceled, and no claim is newly added. Claims 1-8 are withdrawn. Claims 9-17 are considered in this Office Action.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 15 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to judicial exception (i.e., a law of nature, a natural phenomenon, or an abstract idea) without significantly more.
Regarding claim 15, claim 15 recites the following limitations:
“The operator support method according to claim 12,
wherein in the causing of the control device to output the one set of the operator support information,
the operator support method comprises causing the control device to:
determine and display on a monitor of the injection molding machine recommended setting data for the screw rotation speed; and
display, on the monitor of the injection molding machine, the control target predicted amount of power corresponding to the recommended setting data.”
The underlined limitation “determine recommended setting data for the screw rotation speed” is an abstract idea, i.e., merely a mental step that could be performed mentally or at least by pencil and paper (Step 2A, Prong 1). Once the determination is completed, a result (recommended setting data and the control target predicted amount of power corresponding to the recommended setting data) is displayed on a monitor. It is noted that just displaying a result on a screen are not considered to be integrating an abstract idea into a particular practical application (Step 2A, Prong 2) (see MPEP 2106.04(d)) because “the display” is considered as adding insignificant extra-solution activity to the abstract idea (see MPEP 2106.05(g)). Moreover, there are no additional steps in the claim 15 (i.e., including all the limitations of claims 9, 10, and 12) which are significantly more than the abstract idea (Step 2B) because (1) it is well-understood, routine, and conventional in the art of injection molding that an injection machine comprises a control device, a plurality of servo motors, a heating cylinder, a screw in the cylinder, and/or a control device (See MPEP 2106.05(d)), and (2) by the control device, outputting a set of operating information comprising a set of a target support data and a predicted power consumption corresponding the target support data, wherein the target support data is configuring a molding condition, is merely implementing the abstract idea on a control device, e.g., a computer (See MPEP 2106.05(f)), or merely insignificant extra-solution activity (See MPEP 2106.05(g)). Thus, claim 15 is not patent eligible.
Regarding claim 16, the limitation “determine recommended setting data for the pressure holding time” is an abstract idea, and, similarly, as presented above, claim 16 is not patent eligible.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 9-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claim 9 recites the limitation “the setting data includes screw rotation speeds for each step of the molding operation” in lines 8-9. The limitation is newly added as claim 18 in the claim set filed on 04/29/2025, thus, it is not a part of an original application. Instant Specification does not support that the setting data includes screw rotation speeds for each step of the molding operation. As disclosed, the molding operation comprises, at least, mold clamping step, injection step, pressure holding step, metering step, waiting step, mold opening step, and protruding step (see fig. 3A of Instant Specification), but Instant Specification does not specify that the setting data includes the screw rotation speeds for “each” of the series of steps of the molding operation. Moreover, although “each step” is narrowly interpreted as each of the “at least two distinct steps” (as recited in claim 9 lines 7-8) – i.e., a metering step and a pressure holding step of the molding operation, the operator support information 1 through 3 (see, [0031-0041] of Instant Specification as published) does not support that the setting data includes screw rotation speeds for each of the steps because the screw rotation speed is addressed in the metering step only. Other parameters such as a pressure holding time in the pressure holding step and back pressure in the metering step do not indicate the rotation speed. Thus, the limitation “the setting data includes screw rotation speeds for each step of the molding operation” is not fully supported by Instant Specification.
Claim 9 recites the limitation “a first screw rotation speed of the screw rotation speeds is distinct from at least one second screw rotation speed of the screw rotation speeds” in lines 9-10, and it is not fully supported by Instant Specification. The Applicant insisted that the newly added limitation is supported by [0034-0037] of Instant Specification as published (see page 9 Remark filed on 10/30/2025). However, the cited paragraphs describes exemplary screw rotation speeds and corresponding power levels and metering times so as to derive the operator support information. It does not mean that each of the exemplary screw rotation speeds corresponds to “the screw rotation speeds for each step of the molding operation” (as recited in claim 9 lines 8-9). Also, it does not mean that each of the exemplary screw rotation speeds corresponds to a “varying” screw rotation speed for the metering step. Moreover, the exemplary screw rotation speeds may not be always distinct from each other. Furthermore, regardless of the Applicant’s cited paragraphs, although “a first screw rotation speed” and “at least one second screw rotation speed” are interpreted as a respective screw rotation speed of each step of the molding operation, Instant Specification does not support that the first and the second screw rotation speeds are distinct from each other.
Claims 10-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) as being dependent from claim 9.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 9, 10, and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Steinbichler (US 5550744) in view of Ochi (JP 4879953 B2) and Amano (JP 2012091424 A).
Regarding claim 9, Steinbichler teaches an operator support method for an injection molding machine (col. 1 lines 13-58: necessity of aid for a machine setter of injection molding machine; col. 2 lines 17-64), the injection molding machine comprising a control device (fig. 1, col. 3 lines 7-12: a control means including a programmable microprocessor control system 8 for the injection molding machine), the operator support method comprising:
causing the control device to output at least one set of operator support information, the operator support information including a set of support target setting data and control target predicted amount of power (col. 3 lines 6-24: one or more sets of setting parameter, in which all predetermined quality parameter values are simultaneously fulfilled, are obtained by the control means; col. 2 lines 54-59: the machine control system selects that set of setting parameters in which the energy consumption of the machine is at the lowest, e.g., the injection pressure as certain setting parameters; claims 1, 3, 5; here, it is implied that the output comprises control target predicted amount of power when one or more sets of setting parameters are determined based on a predetermined quality value such as the lowest energy consumption mode),
wherein the support target setting data includes at least one piece of setting data configuring a molding condition, wherein the setting data includes settings for at least two distinct steps of a molding operation (col. 1 lines 13-20 and col. 3 lines 6-24: the setting parameters for the injection molding machine include, for example, mass cylinder temperatures, speed of screw rotation, ramming pressure, temperature and quantitative flow rate of a cooling or temperature-control medium, injection speed (profile), hydraulic pressure in the injection cylinder, molten material pressure in the screw feed chamber or tool, post-compression or cooling time; col. 2 lines 59-65: for the purposes of assessing the production rate (cycle time); of note, here, it is obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art that at least the underlined parameters of speed of screw rotation, injection speed (profile), pressure, and cycle time are all collectively related to and control a series of successive and distinct steps such as injecting, pressure holding, metering, open/closing steps, in order to complete a cycle of injection molding process), wherein the setting data includes screw rotation speeds for each step of the molding operation (col. 1 lines 13-20 and col. 3 lines 6-24: speed of screw rotation), and wherein [a first screw rotation speed of the screw rotation speeds is distinct from at least one second screw rotation speed of the screw rotation speeds], and
wherein the control target predicted amount of power is a predicted amount of power consumption of a control target for at least one step of the at least two distinct steps of the molding operation, controlled in association with the support target setting data [with respect to a change in the support target setting data] (col. 3 lines 6-24; col. 2 lines 54-59; claims 1, 3, 5; Of note, here, it is implied that the output comprises control target predicted amount of power when one or more sets of setting parameters are determined based on a predetermined quality value such as the lowest energy consumption mode. Moreover, the predicted lowest energy consumption (i.e., amount of power) satisfies the limitation “a predicted amount of power consumption of a control target for at least one step of the at least two distinct steps of the molding operation because the predicted amount of the lowest power consumption considers all steps for a molding operation with the setting parameters).
Steinbichler does not specifically teaches the bracketed limitation(s) as presented above – i.e., (A) a predicted amount of power consumption of a control target is controlled in association with the support target setting data [with respect to a change in the support target setting data] and (B) [a first screw rotation speed of the screw rotation speeds is distinct from at least one second screw rotation speed of the screw rotation speeds], but Ochi and Amano teach the limitation(s) as follows:
Regarding the deficiency (A), Ochi teaches a display method and power display device that calculates and displays the power consumed by an electric injection molding machine ([0001]). The electric molding machine is composed of a screw cylinder, a screw capable of being driven in the plasticization direction and the injection direction, a clamping device, and an ejector device, and these screws and devices are driven by servo motors ([0013]). The electric molding machine is further equipped with a PWM converter, which supplies voltage that drives a servo motor, and calculate power data such as power consumption and display the data on a screen, print it out, or output it to the outside via a communication line, and furthermore, when the amount of electric power is obtained by integrating the electric power data over time, the integration is performed in synchronization with a signal from a controller that controls the molding process of the electric injection molding machine to obtain the respective amounts of power ([0008, 0011, 0013]).
Both Steinbichler and Ochi teaches a method of controlling an injection molding machine (Steinbichler: abstract; Ochi: [0007]). Steinbichler also teaches that for further preselection or preliminary investigation of the setting parameters, it is possible to produce a series of test products and obtain relations between the setting parameters and quality values, and such relations are stored as data arrays for further computation (Steinbichler: col. 4 lines 21-39, col. 7 line 15 – col. 8 line 22). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing invention to modify the injection molding control apparatus/method of Steinbichler to further include servo motors, a PWM converter, and a control system which enable to calculate power consumption over time, displaying/outputting the data, and integrating the power data in synchronization with setting parameters from the control system as taught by Ochi in order to obtain known results or a reasonable expectations of successful results of performing injection molding process in use of electrically-controlled servo motors and predicting the control target predicted amount of power in synchronization with the setting parameters from the controller that control molding process so as to achieve injection molding process satisfying desired quality parameters accompanied with electric power consumption management (Ochi: derived from [0003, 0011]). Upon the modification, the controller of modified Steinbichler would calculate a predicted amount of power consumption of a control target controlled in association with the support target setting data not only in the lowest energy consumption mode but also with respect to a change in the support target setting data because of the PWM converter and the control system, based on the preselection or preliminary investigation of the setting parameters with monitoring of power consumption (Steinbichler: col. 4 lines 21-39; col. 7 line 15 – col. 8 line 22; Ochi: [0008, 0013]).
Regarding the deficiency (B), Amano teaches an injection molding machine that that monitors the plasticization state of a resin ([0001], fig. 1). Amano teaches that the metering motor 7 is a device for controlling the rotation of the metering screw 22 ([0024] and figs. 2, 4). For example, it rotates the metering screw 22 at a target rotational speed to transport the resin material supplied from the hopper 24 into the injection cylinder 20 while melting it towards the nozzle portion 20a, or it restrains the rotation of the metering screw 22 when the metering screw 22 is moved axially by an injection motor (id.). Here, it is implied that the rotation speed of the screw varies during the molding operation and has at least two distinct rotational speeds such as a target rotational speed for transporting a resin material (i.e., during a metering step) and a restrained rotational speed when the metering screw 22 is moved axially by an injection motor (i.e., during an injection step).
Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing invention that the setting data including the screw rotation speed for molding operation of modified Steinbichler includes at least two distinct rotational speeds for different steps of a molding operation such as injection step and metering step, as taught by Amano as a known operation method of injection molding in order to obtain known results or a reasonable expectation of performing injection molding with optimal metering and injection operations.
Regarding claim 10, modified Steinbichler teaches the operator support method according to claim 9, wherein the injection molding machine comprises a plurality of servo motors (Ochi: [0002, 0013]: for example, a servo motor SM1 that axially drives the screw of the injection, a servo motor SM2 that rotates the screw, a servomotor SM3 that drives the mold clamping device, a servomotor SM4 that drives the ejector device), and wherein the operator support method comprises causing the control device to output the at least one set of the operator support information, in which the control target is one of the plurality of servo motors controlled in association with the support target setting data, and the control target predicted amount of power is power consumption predicted for the one of the plurality of servo motors (Steinbichler: col. 3 line 7 – col. 4 line 39: obtaining a measurement in respect of influenceability of the quality data by the setting parameters; Ochi: [0013]: The power display device 1 for an electric injection molding machine according to this embodiment is a device that calculates and displays on a screen the power consumption and regenerative power of the electric injection molding machine as described above, and is incorporated in a PWM converter 2; [0011]: the power consumption and regenerative power are integrated in synchronization with a signal from a controller that controls the molding process of the electric injection molding machine to obtain the respective amounts of power). Thus, modified Steinbichler teaches all the claimed limitations, and the motivation to combine applied to claim 1 equally applies here.
Regarding claim 12, modified Steinbichler teaches the operator support method according to claim 10, wherein the injection molding machine comprises a heating cylinder and a screw disposed in the heating cylinder (Steinbichler: col. 3 lines 24-31: the setting parameters of the injection mold machine, for example, mass cylinder temperatures, speed of screw rotation, ramming pressure; col. 6 lines 59-65: mass temperature such as 200 to 220 degrees C; here, it is implied that the injection molding machine comprises a heating cylinder and screw disposed therein), wherein the plurality of servo motors includes a plasticizing servo motor configured to rotate the screw (Steinbichler: col. 3 lines 24-31: speed of rotation of the screw as setting parameters; Ochi: [0013]: a servo motor SM2 that rotates the screw; [0011]: obtain the respective amounts of power), and wherein the operator support method comprises causing the control device to output the at least one set of the operator support information (Steinbichler: col. 3 lines 6-24; Ochi: [0011, 0013]), in which the support target setting data includes a screw rotation speed in a metering step, and the control target includes the plasticization servo motor (Id.). Here, when speed of screw rotation is set as a setting parameter and the power consumption by a servo motor SM2 rotating the screw is driven for injection molding process, it is obvious that the support target setting data includes “a screw rotation speed in a metering step” as the metering step is at least one step of the injection molding process.
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Steinbichler (US 5550744), Ochi (JP 4879953 B2), and Amano (JP 2012091424 A) as applied to claim 9 above, and further in view of Zhang (US 20100295199 A1).
Regarding claim 11, modified Steinbichler teaches the operator support method according to claim 9, wherein the injection molding machine comprises a heater (Steinbichler: col. 3 lines 24-31: the setting parameters of the injection mold machine, for example, mass cylinder temperatures; col. 6 lines 59-65: mass temperature such as 200 to 220 degrees C; here, it is implied that the injection molding machine comprises a heating cylinder), and wherein the operator support method comprises causing the control device to output the at least one set of the operator support information (Steinbichler: col. 3 lines 6-24; Ochi: [0013]), in which the control target is the heater (Steinbichler: col. 6 lines 53-65: shown as mass temperature), but does not specifically teach that the control target predicted amount of power is power consumption predicted for the heater.
Zhang teaches a method of improving energy consumption and/or melt quality of injection molding by controlling energy into to the melt from screw drive and heat sources, and an algorithm can determine energy transferred to melt material from thermal and mechanical sources, and adjust set values to optimize energy consumption or improve melt quality (abstract). Heating band 20 (i.e., heater as recited) are provided around the barrel 12 ([0026], fig. 1), algorithm 42 set values for operating parameters, e.g., electrical energy delivered to barrel heaters 20 ([0030], fig. 2), and energy consumption from thermal sources is determined by monitoring power and duty cycle of heaters (claim 13).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing invention to modify the injection molding control method of modified Steinbichler to further determine energy consumption from thermal source in the injection molding machine as taught by Zhang in order to obtain known results or a reasonable expectation of successful results of improving energy consumption and/or melt quality of injection molding by controlling energy into the melt from the screw drive (Zhang: derived from abstract).
Alternatively, Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Steinbichler (US 5550744), Ochi (JP 4879953 B2), and Amano (JP 2012091424 A) as applied to claim 10 above, and further in view of Ochi 307 (US 20090246307 A1).
Claims 13 and 15-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Steinbichler (US 5550744), Ochi (JP 4879953 B2), and Amano (JP 2012091424 A) as applied to claim 9 or 10 above, and further in view of Ochi 307 (US 20090246307 A1).
Regarding claim 12, alternatively, modified Steinbichler teaches the operator support method according to claim 10, wherein the injection molding machine comprises a heating cylinder and a screw disposed in the heating cylinder (Steinbichler: col. 3 lines 24-31: the setting parameters of the injection mold machine, for example, mass cylinder temperatures, speed of screw rotation, ramming pressure; col. 6 lines 59-65: mass temperature such as 200 to 220 degrees C; here, it is implied that the injection molding machine comprises a heating cylinder and screw disposed therein), wherein the plurality of servo motors includes a plasticizing servo motor configured to rotate the screw (Steinbichler: col. 3 lines 24-31: speed of rotation of the screw as setting parameters; Ochi: [0013]: a servo motor SM2 that rotates the screw), and wherein the operator support method comprises causing the control device to output the at least one set of the operator support information (Steinbichler: col. 3 lines 6-24; Ochi: [0013]), but does not specifically teach that the support target setting data is a screw rotation speed includes a metering step, and the control target includes the plasticization servo motor, in separate.
Ochi 307 teaches an electrically driven injection molding machine and a power supply device for supplying electric power to servo motors for driving the constituent parts such as a screw, a mold opening/closing device, and a molded product ejecting device ([0003], fig. 1). A power is consumed in each process of the molding cycle of the injection molding machine, and a power consumed in each process of the molding cycle of the injection molding machine provided with the power accumulating device ([0027], figs. 5A-F). As is well known in the related art, a plasticizing (measurement) process, that is, the measurement of the melted resin is performed by rotating the screw within the injection cylinder of the injection device after completing the pressure maintaining process, and an amount of the consumed power of the plasticizing power PR by a numeral 43 ([0042-0043], fig. 5B).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing invention to modify the injection molding control method, which sets the speed of rotation of screw and the plasticizing servo motor as setting parameters and the control target, respectively, of modified Steinbichler to further drive a power consumed in each process of the molding cycle of the injection molding machine, including a plasticizing/measurement step, as taught by Ochi 307 in order to obtain known results or a reasonable expectation of successful results of obtaining relation between the rotation speed of screw and the amount of power consumption by the plasticizing servo motor during the plasticization/measurement step of the injection molding process so as to derive a corresponding value of a quality parameter such as a melt quality, a level of plasticization, overall efficiency, or a total power consumption according to a power consumption during the specific step (Ochi 307: driven from [0005-0008]).
Regarding claim 13, modified Steinbichler teaches the operator support method according to claim 10, wherein the injection molding machine comprises a heating cylinder and a screw disposed in the heating cylinder (Steinbichler: col. 3 lines 24-31: the setting parameters of the injection mold machine, for example, mass cylinder temperatures, speed of screw rotation, ramming pressure; col. 6 lines 59-65: mass temperature such as 200 to 220 degrees C; here, it is implied that the injection molding machine comprises a heating cylinder and screw disposed therein), wherein the plurality of servo motors includes an injection servo motor configured to drive the screw in an axial direction (Steinbichler: col. 3 lines 24-31: ramming pressure, injection speed, and post-compression time as setting parameters; Ochi: [0013]: a servo motor SM1 that axially drives the screw of the injection derive), and wherein the operator support method comprises causing the control device to output the at least one set of the operator support information (Steinbichler: col. 3 lines 6-24; Ochi: [0013]), but does not specifically teach that the support target setting data includes a pressure holding time in a pressure holding step, and the control target includes the injection servo motor.
Ochi 307 teaches an electrically driven injection molding machine and a power supply device for supplying electric power to servo motors for driving the constituent parts such as a screw, a mold opening/closing device, and a molded product ejecting device ([0003], fig. 1). A power is consumed in each process of the molding cycle of the injection molding machine, and a power consumed in each process of the molding cycle of the injection molding machine provided with the power accumulating device ([0027], figs. 5A-F). As is well known in the related art, when the screw of the injection device is driven in the axial direction, the melted resin can be injected into the mold-clamped metal molds, and a predetermined force is applied to the screw after the injection, the pressure of the melted resin can be maintained ([0042], fig. 5A). The power consumed in an injection process and a pressure maintaining process, that is, the consumption power of an injection power PI, as shown by a numeral 41 and a numeral 42, respectively (id.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing invention to modify the injection molding control method of modified Steinbichler to further include a pressure maintaining time as a setting parameter and measure power consumption during the step from the corresponding injection servo motor as taught by Ochi 307 in order to obtain known results or a reasonable expectation of successful results of obtaining relation between the pressure maintaining time and the amount of power consumption during the pressure maintaining step of the injection molding process so as to derive a corresponding value of a quality parameter such as a total power consumption during the step.
Regarding claim 15, modified Steinbichler teaches the operator support method according to claim 12, wherein in the causing of the control device to output the at least one set of the operator support information, the operator support method comprises causing the control device to: determine and display on a monitor of the injection molding machine recommended setting data for the screw rotation speed; and display, on the monitor of the injection molding machine, the control target predicted amount of power corresponding to the recommended setting data (Steinbichler: col. 3 line 7 – col. 4 line 39: obtaining a measurement in respect of influenceability of the quality data by the setting parameters; col. 7 line 25 – col. 8 line 22: calculate and display a corresponding display in combination of selected setting parameters; Ochi: [0011, 0013]: measurement of the power consumption in synchronization with a setting parameter; Ochi 397: [0042-0043], fig. 5B).
Regarding claim 16, modified Steinbichler teaches the operator support method according to claim 13, wherein in the causing of the control device to output the at least one set of the operator support information, the operator support method comprises causing the control device to: determine and display on a monitor of the injection molding machine recommended setting data for the pressure holding time; and display, on the monitor of the injection molding machine, the control target predicted amount of power corresponding to the recommended setting data (Steinbichler: col. 3 line 7 – col. 4 line 39: obtaining a measurement in respect of influenceability of the quality data by the setting parameters; col. 7 line 25 – col. 8 line 22: calculate and display a corresponding display in combination of selected setting parameters; Ochi: [0011, 0013]: measurement of the power consumption in synchronization with a setting parameter; Ochi 397: [0042-0043], fig. 5A).
Regarding claim 17, modified Steinbichler teaches the operator support method according to claim 9, but does not specifically teach that the setting data includes a duration of each step of the molding operation.
Ochi 307 teaches an electrically driven injection molding machine and a power supply device for supplying electric power to servo motors for driving the constituent parts such as a screw, a mold opening/closing device, and a molded product ejecting device ([0003], fig. 1). A power is consumed in each process of the molding cycle of the injection molding machine, and a power consumed in each process of the molding cycle of the injection molding machine provided with the power accumulating device ([0027, 0042-0043], figs. 5A-F). Here, it is implied that the setting data includes a duration of each step of the molding operation as presented in figs 5A-F.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing invention to modify the injection molding control method of modified Steinbichler to further include a duration of each step of the molding operation as a setting parameter and measure power consumption during the each step from the corresponding injection servo motor as taught by Ochi 307 in order to obtain known results or a reasonable expectation of successful results of obtaining relation between the duration of each step and the amount of power consumption during the each step of the injection molding process so as to derive a corresponding value of a quality parameter such as a total power consumption during the each step.
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Steinbichler (US 5550744), Ochi (JP 4879953 B2), and Amano (JP 2012091424 A) as applied to claim 10 above, and further in view of Tanida (JP 2021160149 A).
Regarding claim 14, modified Steinbichler teaches the operator support method according to claim 10, wherein the injection molding machine comprises a heating cylinder and a screw disposed in the heating cylinder (Steinbichler: col. 3 lines 24-31: the setting parameters of the injection mold machine, for example, mass cylinder temperatures, speed of screw rotation, ramming pressure; col. 6 lines 59-65: mass temperature such as 200 to 220 degrees C; here, it is implied that the injection molding machine comprises a heating cylinder and screw disposed therein), wherein the plurality of servo motors includes an injection servo motor configured to drive the screw in an axial direction (Steinbichler: col. 3 lines 24-31: ramming pressure, injection speed, and post-compression time as setting parameters; Ochi: [0013]: a servo motor SM1 that axially drives the screw of the injection derive), and wherein the operator support method comprises causing the control device to output the at least one set of the operator support information (Steinbichler: col. 3 lines 6-24; Ochi: [0013]), but does not specifically teach that the support target setting data includes back pressure in a plasticizing step, and the control target includes the injection servo motor.
Tanida teaches an injection molding machine including a display device that displays an editing screens that can bring a plurality of components to improve the convenience of a user ([0001, 0005-0008]). Tanida also teaches that in the metering process, the injection motor 350 may be driven to apply a set-back pressure to the screw 330 in order to limit the sudden retreat of the screw 330, the back pressure against the screw 330 is detected, for example, using a pressure detector 360, and the pressure detector 360 sends a signal indicating the result of the detection to the control device 700 ([0069]). When the screw 330 retreats to the metering completion position and a predetermined amount of molding material accumulates in front of the screw 330, the metering process is completed (id.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing invention to modify the injection molding control method of modified Steinbichler to further include a set-back pressure in the metering step as a setting parameter as taught by Tanida in order to obtain known results or a reasonable expectation of successful results of performing injection molding process by preventing sudden retreat of a screw during a metering process so as to ensure consistent melt quality and proper mixing of a melt plastic material and to prevent defects like air bubbles by regulating the pressure against screw. Upon the modification, the set-back pressure in the metering step would be set as a setting parameter and the corresponding power consumption by the injection servo motor would be determined according to the set-back pressure as a quality parameter (Steinbichler: col. 3 line 7 – col. 4 line 39: obtaining a measurement in respect of influenceability of the quality data by the setting parameters; col. 7 line 25 – col. 8 line 22: calculate and display a corresponding display in combination of selected setting parameters; Ochi: [0011, 0013]: measurement of the power consumption in synchronization with a setting parameter; Tanida: [0069]).
Response to Arguments
RE: The 101 rejection of claims 15, 16
Applicant's arguments filed 04/29/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
The Applicant argues that claims 15 and 16 do not include an abstract idea (see Remarks page 8) as “calculating” is replaced with “determining”.
The Examiner respectively disagree with the argument (see above, the 35 U.S.C. 101 rejection of claims 15, 16). The claims 15 and 16 recite the limitations “determine recommended setting data for the screw rotation speed and for the pressure holding time,” respectively, and the “determine,” similar to “calculate,” is an abstract idea, i.e., merely a mental step that could be performed mentally or at least by pencil and paper (Step 2A, Prong 1).
Of note, if the Applicant were to remove the term of “determine” and not to add further term of an abstract idea, there would be no longer the 101 issue.
RE: The 103 rejection of claim 9
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim 9 (which have been newly amended by the applicants) have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection have been made due to the newly added features from the applicant’s latest amendment.
The basis of the applicant’s argument is based upon the changes regarding the limitation “a first screw rotation speed of the screw rotation speeds is distinct from at least one second screw rotation speed of the screw rotation speeds.” After further search and reconsideration, the Amano reference is applied to the rejection. Thus, when modified Steinbichler’s teaching is further modified in view of Amano, modified Steinbichler does teach/suggest all the claimed limitations and the motivation to combine.
Thereby, after reconsideration, claims 9-17 remain rejected.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Ito (US 5792395 A) teaches a plasticization control method for an injection molding machine, including a variable screw rotation speed (abstract, fig. 4).
Ito (US 6,526,360 B1) teaches a display device displaying power consumption of a machine, which can display power consumption of each power consuming element of the machine and power consumption per cycle of manufacture of products (abstract, fig. 1).
Konno (US 20060017416 A1) teaches an injection molding machine comprising a control device which controls an input to an incorporated motor (abstract).
Jones (US 4904913 A) teaches a motor control system for an injection molding machine to reduce the amount of electrical power required by the machine during its cycle period (abstract).
/INJA SONG/Examiner, Art Unit 1744