DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
This office action is in response to applicant’s amendment filed, 20 January 2026, of application filed, with the above serial number, on 23 May 2023 in which claims 1, 7, 9, 11, 16, 17, 19-20 have been amended. Claims 1, 3, 5-11, 13-20 are pending in the application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1, 3, 5-11, 13-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. The claim(s) are amended to add ‘query to automatically identify and tag points in the data center management database that are associated with the colocation tenant’, however, there is no support for such query automation for identification and tagging for a specific tenant. The specification only recites that the tag template include a query that is applied, see par. 21, but that does not include that such tag template has a query that automatically identifies and tag points.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 3, 5-11, 13-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Guim Bernat et al (hereinafter “Guim”, 2023/0273597) in view of Koch et al (hereinafter “Koch”, 2010/0162141).
As per Claim 1, Guim discloses a computer implemented method for configuring a tenant management view that displays one or more operating characteristics of one or more data center resources that are associated with a colocation tenant of a data center, the one or more data center resources of the data center managed through a data center management supervisor that references a data center management database, the method comprising:
creating a new colocation tenant entry for the colocation tenant in the data center management database, wherein creating the new colocation tenant entry includes creating a tag template for the colocation tenant, wherein the tag template includes one or more predefined tags selected from a listing of available predefined tags that are configured to be used in the data center management database that are associated with the colocation tenant (at least paragraph 119-130, 135, 199; tenant selecting parameters to be monitored by the provider as chosen in a SLA for given devices that a tenant accesses; central repository for sensor circuitry telemetry data; blockchain database 2300 includes a first blockchain 2310 for sensor telemetry (e.g., associated with the first sensor 1707A of FIG. 22) associated with a first area of a first device (e.g., the first compute device(s) 1726A of FIG. 17); sensors 1707 can be associated with various locations within the edge devices 1702; each sensor 1707 can be assigned an identifier and the sensor circuitry 1706 determines the location of the sensor 1707 based on the identifier; telemetry from the sensor circuitry 1706 can indicate … an owner of the edge device(s) 1702, 1718, 1720, 1726; and/or a tenant or user associated with the edge device(s) 1702, 1718, 1720, 1726);
storing in the data center management database the tag template and the new colocation tenant entry (at least paragraph 152, 48, 134-135, 119-120; SLA datastore 1980 storing an SLA of the tenant of parameters the tenant and provider agree to in the agreement of conditions that must be met for the tenants that the provider can guarantee of parameters available ie. a template of parameters that can be monitored);
one or more processors using the tag template created for the colocation tenant to identify and tag points in the data center management database that are associated with the colocation tenant of the data center (at least paragraph 50, 109, 119-129, 135; telemetry analysis circuitry that gathers data from sensor telemetry in order to determine sensor parameters for a given owner or tenant; data can be collected from performance counters associated with a central processing unit (CPU). In some known examples, information captured via telemetry is associated with a logical entity that is typically identified by a unique identifier; the orchestrator server 1620 may identify trends in the resource utilization of the workload (e.g., the application 1632), such as by identifying phases of execution (e.g., time periods in which different operations, having different resource utilizations characteristics, are performed) of the workload (e.g., the application 1632) and pre-emptively identifying available resources in the data center 200 and allocating them to the managed node 1670; telemetry from the sensor circuitry 1706 can indicate … an owner of the edge device(s) 1702, 1718, 1720, 1726; and/or a tenant or user associated with the edge device(s) 1702, 1718, 1720, 1726);
the one or more processors reporting a value of one or more points tagged as being associated with the colocation tenant of the data center (at least paragraph 119-132; eg. metric from telemetry corresponding to location and tenant); and
displaying the reported value of one or more of the points in the tenant management view (at least paragraph 137; sensor telemetry and/or the heatmaps and/or constructs blockchains including the telemetry to enable the tenants to observe the telemetry for purposes of monitoring compliance with the terms of the SLA(s)).
Guim fails to explicitly disclose a query to automatically identify and tag points. However, the use and advantages for using such a system was well known to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention as evidenced by the teachings of Koch. Koch discloses, in an analogous art, using a BQL query to search entities and objects of a database (at least paragraph 3, 12-18). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to incorporate the use of Koch’s queries with Guim, as Koch teaches such queries being well known in a given business object database for a user to retrieve desired data of a business and server they request information on (and as Applicant admits that such queries are well known prior art queries on p. 11 of remarks filed 6/17/25).
As per Claim 3, 10. The method of claim 1, further comprising: the one or more processors detecting a change in value (COV) of one or more points tagged as being associated with the colocation tenant of the data center; and the one or more processors reporting the value of one or more points tagged as being associated with the colocation tenant of the data center when a corresponding change in value (COV) is detected (at least paragraph 111, 120, 135-137; telemetry analysis circuitry monitoring the given metric, eg. temperature with respect to threshold of a tenant’s SLA for tenant to observe compliance and make adjustments for the change in value of the parameter).
As per Claim 5. The method of claim 1, wherein the tenant management view is controlled by a tenant management supervisor, wherein the tag template for the colocation tenant is defined using the tenant management supervisor (at least paragraph 108-111, 175-176, 187; orchestrator server; infrastructure monitoring circuitry).
As per Claim 6. The method of claim 5, wherein the tenant management supervisor and the data center management supervisor are operatively coupled via a message broker (at least paragraph 119-132, 135-137; telemetry analysis circuitry in communication with devices).
As per Claim 7. The method of claim 6, wherein: the tag template for the colocation tenant is defined and stored via the tenant management supervisor; the tenant management supervisor publishing the tag template for the colocation tenant to the message broker; the data center management supervisor subscribing to and receiving the tag template for the colocation tenant via the message broker; the data center management supervisor applying the query that references the tag template for the colocation tenant to automatically identify and tag points in the data center management database that are associated with the colocation tenant of the data center; the data center management supervisor publishing the value of one or more points tagged as being associated with the colocation tenant of the data center to the message broker; the tenant management supervisor subscribing to and receiving the value of one or more points tagged as being associated with the colocation tenant of the data center via the message broker; and the tenant management supervisor displaying the published value of one or more of the points tagged as being associated with the colocation tenant of the data center in the tenant management view (at least paragraph 119-132, 135-137; telemetry analysis circuitry in communication with sensor circuitry and infrastructure circuitry with subscribed devices to exchange telemetry data in view of SLA thresholds and heatmaps in order to publish outputs and strategies to have each monitored tenant SLA be in compliance).
As per Claim 8. The method of claim 7, further comprising: the data center management supervisor detecting a change in value (COV) of one or more points tagged as being associated with the colocation tenant of the data center; and the data center management supervisor publishing the value of one or more points tagged as being associated with the colocation tenant of the data center when a corresponding change in value (COV) is detected (at least paragraph 111, 120, 135-137; telemetry analysis circuitry monitoring the given metric, eg. temperature with respect to threshold of a tenant’s SLA for tenant to observe compliance and make adjustments for the change in value of the parameter).
Claims 9-11, 13-20 do not, in substance, add or define any additional limitations over claims 1, 3, 5-8 and therefore are rejected for similar reasons, supra.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 20 January 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding the 112 Rejection, Applicant disagrees and offers that such bqlqueries are well known. However, Brinqa is a specialized and proprietary language designed for a specific platform. The remarks filed 6/17/25 described the language as “Bringa” Query Language with a link to “Brinqa”, par. 44 identifies the tag template to be ‘blqquery’, and par. 40 describes bqlqueries and also “BWL queries”, so it is not at all clear what and which queries are even being described. While an encyclopedia or volumes of text of background information is not required, abbreviation definition assists to clearly describe the invention and scope of what is being described in the specification in relation to the claim terminology. As it pertains to the 112 Rejection, it is not clear that such bql queries describes, nor suggests and includes written description support for automatically identifying and tagging points.
Applicant argues, in substance, that Guim does not disclose the creating or storing of the tag template steps as in claim 1.
The limitation recites, in essence, creating a new colocation tenant entry by creating a tag template for the tenant that has predefined tags that can be searched and storing such.
Guim similarly discloses a data center having edge device wherein tenants of the edge device/ server rack/ data center create a service level agreement (SLA) with regard to parameters that the tenant and the data center monitor and provide to the tenant (at least paragraph 119-120). Such SLA being a structure document, as is well known in the art, that outlines particular pre-defined parameters and points and respective values that must be met by the provider providing the service(s) (from a template of parameters that the provider is able to offer). Sensors are used to monitor such parameters and metrics and store them in a datastore (at least paragraph 129). The tenant may thus have an SLA that, as created and agreed on, indicates that the tenant selects, for example, a max temperature and/or a temperature range of coolant of the edge device corresponding to the tenant (at least paragraph 134-136), such being predefined tags that the tenant configures from a tag template of parameters that can be monitored for that server rack or edge device. In other words, if the server rack doesn’t have coolant or sensors to monitor coolant density, those would not be tags that the tenant can choose from the template to monitor and for the provider to have to meet in the SLA. Such tag template and new colocation tenant entry being defined in the SLA of Guim.
The telemetry analysis circuitry queries for the tenant information and sensor details (at least paragraph 141, 154) and similarly interface circuitry transmits in response to a query requesting data from the sensor circuitry, data associated with the tenant edge device including metrics of the sensed data from tags in the SLA.
And in par. 161 Guim teaches the compute performance telemetry and service level agreements associated with the compute device(s) 1726 via the interface circuitry 1910 and the SLA datastore 1980 are analyzed.
See also IDS document Guo et al 10,447,546.
For example, col. 8:15-27 provides:
“Data store 204 stores and manages data for the system 200. In the FIG. 2 embodiment, the data store 204 stores data in a template library 224, a metadata store 226 and an instance store 228. Template library 224 stores various templates to allow users to quickly build a customized visualization. Templates include visualization templates, dashboard templates, visual templates, data view templates and data source templates. An existing dashboard template may be used as a basis for organizing the visuals for a new dashboard. Similarly, existing visualization, visual, data view and data source templates may be used for customizing a new visualization, visual, data view or data source.”
And col. 9:57-67:“In some embodiments, a visualization may include multiple dashboards. As an example, a single customized visualization may be created for a group of tenants of an SDDC. This single customized visualization however, may include multiple dashboard views. The different dashboard views may be specific to different tenants of the SDDC. In some embodiments, the different dashboard views may be specific to different types of users. For example, a single visualization may include a dashboard view for a system administrator, as well as one or more additional dashboard views for specific tenants or groups of tenants of a data center.”
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
/GREGORY TODD/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2443