DETAILED ACTION
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I and the detection of antibodies to HP0547/CagA, HP 1125/PalA, HP0596/Tipa, HP1177/Omp27, HP0103/TlpB, HP0709, HP0900/HypB, HP0371/FabE, HP0243/NapA, HP0153/RecA, and HP0385 in the reply filed on 9-10-2025 is acknowledged. Claims 1-20 are pending. Claims 4-6 and 11-20 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Claims 1-3 and 7-10 are currently under examination.
Information Disclosure Statement
The Information Disclosure Statement filed on 4-15-2025 has been considered. An initialed copy is attached hereto.
It should be noted that the listing of references in the specification is not a proper information disclosure statement. 37 CFR 1.98(b) requires a list of all patents, publications, or other information submitted for consideration by the Office, and MPEP § 609.04(a) states, "the list may not be incorporated into the specification but must be submitted in a separate paper." Therefore, unless the references have been cited by the examiner on form PTO-892, they have not been considered.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-3 and 7-10 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-6 of copending Application No. 17/761,653 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both claim sets are drawn to methods of detecting antibodies to H. pylori antigens generally and HP0371/FabE and HP0243/NapA specifically. It should be noted that while the overlap in antibodies being detected is not complete, the detection of antibodies to known H. pylori antigens is deemed an obvious variation of the recited methods.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-3 and 7-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 1 is rendered vague and indefinite by the use of the terms “HP0547/CagA”, “HP 1125/PalA”, “HP0596/Tipa”, “HP1177/Omp27”, “HP0103/TlpB”, “HP0709”, “HP0900/HypB”, “HP0371/FabE”, “HP0243/NapA”, “HP0153/RecA”, and “HP0385”. Said terms constitute laboratory designations and convey no particular structure (i.e. sequence). As written, it is impossible to determine the metes and bounds of the claimed invention.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3 and 7-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Labaer et al. (WO 2021/062041 – IDS filed on 4-15-2025).
Labaer et al. disclose methods of detecting IgG and IgA antibodies to H. pylori proteins in a biological sample (see abstract and paragraph [0002]). Labaer et al. further disclose that said proteins can be HP0547/CagA (see paragraph [0005], HP 1125/PalA (see Table 2), HP0596/Tipa (see Table 2), HP1177/Omp27 (see Table 4), HP0371/FabE (see paragraph [00005], Table 2 and Table 5), HP0243/NapA (see paragraph [0005] and Table 2), HP0153/RecA (see Table 2), and HP0385 (see Table 2); that said antibodies are detected using a rapid ELISA which utilize immobilized antigens and labeled secondary antibodies (see paragraph [0040]); that said proteins are immobilized on a solid support (see claim 20 for example); and that the biological sample is blood (see paragraph [0038]. Consequently, Labaer et al. anticipates all the limitations of the rejected claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3 and 7-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Labaer et al. (WO 2021/062041 – IDS filed on 4-15-2025).
Labaer et al. disclose methods of detecting IgG and IgA antibodies to H. pylori proteins in a biological sample (see abstract and paragraph [0002]). Labaer et al. further disclose that said proteins can be HP0547/CagA (see paragraph [0005], HP 1125/PalA (see Table 2), HP0596/Tipa (see Table 2), HP1177/Omp27 (see Table 4), HP0371/FabE (see paragraph [00005], Table 2 and Table 5), HP0243/NapA (see paragraph [0005] and Table 2), HP0153/RecA (see Table 2), and HP0385 (see Table 2); that said antibodies are detected using a rapid ELISA which utilize immobilized antigens and labeled secondary antibodies (see paragraph [0040]); that said proteins are immobilized on a solid support (see claim 20 for example); and that the biological sample is blood (see paragraph [0038]..
Labaer et al. differs from the rejected claims in that they don’t disclose screening their biological samples for antibodies to HP01038/TlpB, HP0709 or HP0900/HypB. The KSR decision sets forth “if a technique has been used to improve one device, and a person of skill in the art would recognize that it would improve similar devices in the same way, using the technique is obvious unless its actual application is beyond that person’s skill”. Given that Labaer et al. disclose the screening of biological samples for antibodies to a multitude of H. pylori proteins and the various H. pylori antigens/proteins (including HP01038/TlpB, HP0709 or HP0900/HypB) are well established in the art, the screening for antibodies against HP01038/TlpB, HP0709 or HP0900/HypB utilizing the methods of Labaer et al. is well within the capabilities of one of ordinary skill in the art. Hence, the requirements of obviousness under the KSR decision are met.
Conclusion
No claim is allowed.
/ROBERT A ZEMAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1645 January 15, 2026