DETAILED ACTION
Claim Status
Claims 1-32 are currently being examined.
Specification
The Specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant’s cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification. MPEP § 608.01
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the enablement requirement. The claim contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to enable one skilled in the art to which it pertains, or with which it is most nearly connected, to make and/or use the invention.
Independent Claim 1 contains limitations with the phrases “detecting the goods conveyed”, “forming a list of complete orders”, “defining ordered goods”, “evaluating complete orders” and “allocating a complete order”. Claim 1 is a method claim and there is no structure, element, module, component, hardware, or apparatus identified as performing the various steps set forth above. As a result, the claim fails to provide clear, concise, and exact terms to enable any person skilled in the art to which it pertains, or with which it is most nearly connected, to make and use the invention.
Claims 2-26 are rejected as being dependent upon a rejected base claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 4-12, and 22-32 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Danelski (US Patent No. 6,762,382).
With respect to independent Claim 1, Danelski discloses the limitations of independent Claim 1 as follows:
A conveying method for goods, the method comprising:
conveying goods for multiple orders in an endless conveyor along a goods conveying direction; (See Col. 1, Lines 7-12; Col. 2, Lines 25-29; Col. 3, Lines 64-66; Col. 4, Lines 14-19; Figs. 1, 2; Ref. Numerals 12(conveyor), "items"(goods)
detecting the goods conveyed; (See Col. 5, Lines 22-30; Fig. 2; Ref. Numerals 68(goods information detection))
forming a list of complete orders on the basis of the goods conveyed; (See Col. 6, Lines 7-12; Fig. 8; Ref. Numerals 68(goods information detection), "sort station"(complete orders))
defining ordered goods as goods included in at least one of the complete orders; (See Col. 6, Lines 7-12; Fig. 8; Ref. Numerals 68(goods information detection), "sort station"(complete orders), "items", I (ordered goods)
evaluating complete orders with regard to their suitability for allocation to one goods sink of multiple goods sinks, (See Col. 2, Lines 49-60; Col. 6, Lines 36-52; Figs. 1, 2, 10; Ref. Numerals R(goods sinks), "sort station"(complete orders)
the evaluating including accounting for at least one characteristic of at least one good of the ordered goods and of the goods sinks, (See Col. 2, Lines 49-60; Col. 6, Lines 7-12 and Lines 36-52; Figs. 1, 2, 10; Ref. Numerals R(goods sinks), "sort station"(complete orders)
wherein the goods sinks are coupled to the endless conveyor; (See Col. 2, Lines 49-60; Col. 6, Lines 7-12 and Lines 36-52; Figs. 1, 2; Ref. Numerals 12(conveyor), R(goods sinks), "sort station"(complete orders)
allocating a complete order to one of the goods sinks on the basis of the evaluation; and (See Col. 2, Lines 49-60; Col. 6, Lines 7-12 and Lines 36-52; Figs. 1, 2; Ref. Numerals 12(conveyor), R(goods sinks), "sort station"(complete orders)
conveying the allocated ordered goods to the goods sink. (See Col. 2, Lines 49-60; Col. 6, Lines 7-12 and Lines 36-52; Figs. 1, 2; Ref. Numerals 12(conveyor), R(goods sinks), "sort station"(complete orders)
With respect to Claim 4, which depends from independent Claim 1, Danelski teaches all of the limitations of Claim 1 which are incorporated herein by reference. With respect to Claim 4, Danelski discloses as follows:
The conveying method according to claim 1, further comprising determining the positions of the ordered goods. (See Col. 5, Lines 19-33; Fig. 2; Ref. Numerals 14(carriers), I(ordered goods), 74(communication module)
With respect to Claim 5, which ultimately depends from independent Claim 1, Danelski teaches all of the limitations of Claim 1 and Claim 4 which are incorporated herein by reference. With respect to Claim 5, Danelski discloses as follows:
The conveying method according to claim 4, wherein the determining is a repeated determining. (See Col. 5, Lines 19-33; Fig. 2; Ref. Numerals 14(carriers), I(ordered goods), 74(communication module)
With respect to Claim 6, which ultimately depends from independent Claim 1, Danelski teaches all of the limitations of Claim 1 and Claim 4 which are incorporated herein by reference. With respect to Claim 6, Danelski discloses as follows:
The conveying method according to claim 4, wherein the determining is a cyclic determining. (See Col. 5, Lines 19-33; Fig. 2; Ref. Numerals 14(carriers), I(ordered goods), 74(communication module)
With respect to Claim 7, which ultimately depends from independent Claim 1, Danelski teaches all of the limitations of Claim 1 and Claim 4 which are incorporated herein by reference. With respect to Claim 7, Danelski discloses as follows:
The conveying method according to claim 4, further comprising transmitting the positions of the ordered goods to a logistic control system. (See Col. 5, Lines 19-33; Fig. 2; Ref. Numerals 14(carriers), I(ordered goods), 72(logistics control system), 74(communication module)
With respect to Claim 8, which ultimately depends from independent Claim 1, Danelski teaches all of the limitations of Claim 1 and Claim 4 which are incorporated herein by reference. With respect to Claim 8, Danelski discloses as follows:
The conveying method according to claim 4, wherein the determining includes consideration of a relative conveying position of a conveying drive from a fixed entrainment position of an entrainer that is conveyed by the conveying drive. (See Col. 5, Lines 19-33; Fig. 2; Ref. Numerals 14(carriers), I(ordered goods), 72(logistics control system), 74(communication module)
With respect to Claim 9, which ultimately depends from independent Claim 1, Danelski teaches all of the limitations of Claim 1 and Claim 8 which are incorporated herein by reference. With respect to Claim 9, Danelski discloses as follows:
The conveying method according to claim 8, wherein the determining includes determining a relative conveying position of the conveying drive with a sensor. (See Col. 5, Lines 19-33; Col. 6, Lines 4-18; Figs. 2, 8; Ref. Numerals 14(carriers), I(ordered goods), 72(logistics control system), 74(communication module)
With respect to Claim 10, which ultimately depends from independent Claim 1, Danelski teaches all of the limitations of Claim 1 and Claim 8 which are incorporated herein by reference. With respect to Claim 10, Danelski discloses as follows:
The conveying method according to claim 8, wherein the fixed entrainment position is determined when the ordered product is introduced into the endless conveyor. (See Col. 5, Lines 19-33; Col. 6, Lines 4-18; Figs. 2, 8; Ref. Numerals 14(carriers), I(ordered goods), 72(logistics control system), 74(communication module)
With respect to Claim 11, which ultimately depends from independent Claim 1, Danelski teaches all of the limitations of Claim 1 and Claim 8 which are incorporated herein by reference. With respect to Claim 11, Danelski discloses as follows:
The conveying method according to claim 8, wherein the fixed entrainment position is determined via a reading unit cooperable with a signal transmitter that is at least one of attached to and integrated with the entrainer. (See Col. 5, Lines 19-33; Col. 6, Lines 4-18; Figs. 2, 8; Ref. Numerals 14(carriers), I(ordered goods), 72(logistics control system), 74(communication module)
With respect to Claim 12, which depends from independent Claim 1, Danelski teaches all of the limitations of Claim 1 which are incorporated herein by reference. With respect to Claim 12, Danelski discloses as follows:
The conveying method according to claim 1, wherein the at least one characteristic is at least one of availability of the goods sinks, prioritization of goods sinks, compatibility of the ordered goods with the goods sinks, prioritization of orders, a setup criterion, reduction of unprocessed orders in the endless conveyor, and reduction of unused ordered goods in the endless conveyor. (See Col. 2, Lines 49-60; Col. 6, Lines 7-12 and Lines 36-52; Figs. 1, 2; Ref. Numerals 12(conveyor), R(goods sinks), "sort station"(complete orders)
With respect to Claim 22, which depends from independent Claim 1, Danelski teaches all of the limitations of Claim 1 which are incorporated herein by reference. With respect to Claim 22, Danelski discloses as follows:
The conveying method according to claim 1, further comprising executing the method as an automated method. (See Col. 5, Lines 19-33; Col. 6, Lines 4-18; Figs. 2, 8; Ref. Numerals 14(carriers), I(ordered goods), 72(logistics control system), 74(communication module)
With respect to Claim 23, which ultimately depends from independent Claim 1, Danelski teaches all of the limitations of Claim 1 and Claim 22 which are incorporated herein by reference. With respect to Claim 23, Danelski discloses as follows:
The conveying method according to claim 22, wherein the executing includes using at least one of a machine control system for the endless conveyor and a logistic control system for a position definition of the goods sinks. (See Col. 5, Lines 19-33; Col. 6, Lines 4-18; Figs. 2, 8; Ref. Numerals 14(carriers), I(ordered goods), 72(logistics control system), 74(communication module)
With respect to Claim 24, which depends from independent Claim 1, Danelski teaches all of the limitations of Claim 1 which are incorporated herein by reference. With respect to Claim 24, Danelski discloses as follows:
The conveying method according to claim 1, further including delivering the ordered goods to the goods sinks. (See Col. 2, Lines 49-60; Col. 6, Lines 7-12 and Lines 36-52; Figs. 1, 2; Ref. Numerals 12(conveyor), R(goods sinks), "sort station"(complete orders)
With respect to Claim 25, which ultimately depends from independent Claim 1, Danelski teaches all of the limitations of Claim 1 and Claim 24 which are incorporated herein by reference. With respect to Claim 25, Danelski discloses as follows:
The conveying method according to claim 24, further including delivering ordered goods to the goods sinks by unloading the ordered goods from conveyor containers and by discharging the conveyor containers that convey the ordered goods at the assigned goods sink. (See Col. 2, Lines 49-60; Col. 6, Lines 7-12 and Lines 36-52; Figs. 1, 2; Ref. Numerals 12(conveyor), 14(conveyor containers), R(goods sinks), "sort station"(complete orders)
With respect to Claim 26, which ultimately depends from independent Claim 1, Danelski teaches all of the limitations of Claim 1 and Claim 25 which are incorporated herein by reference. With respect to Claim 26, Danelski discloses as follows:
The conveying method according to claim 25, wherein the unloading is carried out automatically. (See Col. 2, Lines 49-60; Col. 6, Lines 7-12 and Lines 36-52; Figs. 1, 2; Ref. Numerals 12(conveyor), R(goods sinks), "sort station"(complete orders)
With respect to independent Claim 27, Danelski discloses the limitations of independent Claim 27 as follows:
A conveying apparatus for goods of multiple orders, the apparatus comprising:
A closed endless conveyor on which goods are conveyed in circulation; (See Col. 1, Lines 7-12; Col. 2, Lines 25-29; Col. 3, Lines 64-66; Col. 4, Lines 14-19; Figs. 1, 2; Ref. Numerals 12(conveyor), "items"(goods)
a plurality of goods sinks coupled to the endless conveyor for conveying ordered goods; and (See Col. 2, Lines 49-60; Col. 6, Lines 36-52; Figs. 1, 2, 10; Ref. Numerals R(goods sinks), "sort station"(complete orders)
a control unit configured to carry out the conveying. (See Col. 5, Lines 19-33; Fig. 2; Ref. Numerals 14(carriers), I(ordered goods), 72(logistics control system), 74(communication module)
With respect to Claim 28, which depends from independent Claim 27, Danelski teaches all of the limitations of Claim 27 which are incorporated herein by reference. With respect to Claim 28, Danelski discloses as follows:
The conveying apparatus according to claim 27, wherein the endless conveyor has a first conveyor strand with a fixed conveyor container entrainment, (See Col. 6, Line 62-Col. 7, Line 6; Fig. 2; Ref. Numerals 12(conveyor), 14(conveyor container)
wherein at least one of the first conveyor strand is connected to the goods sinks of the plurality of goods sinks and (See Col. 6, Lines 7-12 and Lines 36-52; Col. 6, Line 62-Col. 7, Line 6; Fig. 2; Ref. Numerals 12(conveyor), 14(conveyor container), R(goods sinks)
wherein the first conveyor strand has a conveyor drive for the fixed conveyor container entrainment. (See Col. 4, Lines 1-9; Fig. 2; Ref. Numerals 12(conveyor), 14(conveyor container), 20(conveyor drive)
With respect to Claim 29, which ultimately depends from independent Claim 27, Danelski teaches all of the limitations of Claim 27 and Claim 28 which are incorporated herein by reference. With respect to Claim 29, Danelski discloses as follows:
The conveying apparatus according to claim 28, wherein the first conveyor strand is directly coupled to the goods sinks of the plurality of goods sinks. (See Col. 2, Lines 49-60; Col. 6, Lines 7-12 and Lines 36-52; Figs. 1, 2; Ref. Numerals 12(conveyor strand), R(goods sinks)
With respect to Claim 30, which ultimately depends from independent Claim 27, Danelski teaches all of the limitations of Claim 27 and Claim 28 which are incorporated herein by reference. With respect to Claim 30, Danelski discloses as follows:
The conveying apparatus according to claim 28, wherein the conveyor drive is a drive chain operable in a conveyor rail and cooperative entrainers couplable in each case to a conveyor container. (See Col. 4, Lines 1-9; Fig. 2; Ref. Numerals 12(conveyor), 14(conveyor container), 20(conveyor drive)
With respect to Claim 31, which depends from independent Claim 27, Danelski teaches all of the limitations of Claim 27 which are incorporated herein by reference. With respect to Claim 31, Danelski discloses as follows:
The conveying apparatus according to claim 27, wherein the endless conveyor has a second conveyor strand without fixed conveyor container entrainment, (See Col. 6, Line 62-Col. 7, Line 6; Fig. 2; Ref. Numerals 12(conveyor), 14(conveyor container)
wherein the second conveyor strand together with the first conveyor strand forms the closed endless conveyor. (See Col. 6, Line 62-Col. 7, Line 6; Fig. 2; Ref. Numerals 12(conveyor), 14(conveyor container)
With respect to Claim 32, which depends from independent Claim 27, Danelski teaches all of the limitations of Claim 27 which are incorporated herein by reference. With respect to Claim 32, Danelski discloses as follows:
The conveying apparatus according to claim 27, further comprising at least one source of goods to provide goods in the conveyor containers. (See Col. 5, Lines 19-33; Fig. 2; Ref. Numerals 14(conveyor containers), 66(source of goods)
Examiner's Note
Examiner has cited particular Columns, Line numbers, and Figures in the reference as applied to the claims set forth hereinabove for the convenience of the Applicant. While the specified citations are representative of the teachings in the art and are applied to specific limitations within the individual claims, other passages and figures in the cited reference may be applicable, as well. It is respectfully requested that the Applicant, in preparing any response to the Office Action, fully consider the reference in its entirety as potentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention, in addition to the context of the passage(s) as taught by the prior art or as disclosed by the Examiner. Applicant is reminded that the Examiner is entitled to give the broadest reasonable interpretation to the language of the claims. Furthermore, the Examiner is not limited to Applicant’s definitions that are not specifically set forth in the claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to Applicant's disclosure because the prior art references contain subject matter that relates to one or more of Applicant’s claim limitations.
/THOMAS RANDAZZO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3655 December 31, 2025