DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claims 1-3, 6, 9-11 were amended, claims 4, 7, and 12 were cancelled. Claims 1-3, 5-6, 8-11, and 13 are pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 2-3 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
The term “wherein said golf bag bottom member is integral with a golf bag” in claim 2is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “wherein said golf bag bottom member is integral with a golf bag” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. Integral means "formed as a unit with another part" (Oxford Languages). T It would seem an integral feature, as claimed in claim 2, would contradict the limitation of claim 1.
Claim 3 recites the limitation "said bottom portion of a golf bag" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. The prior reference to a bottom portion of a golf bag (in claim 1) is stated as intended function; the golf bag and bottom portion are not positively recited as part of the invention.
The term “running a width thereof” in claim 5is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “running a width thereof” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. What does
Claim 10 recites the limitation "a golf bag" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. A golf bag is introduced prior in claim 9.
Claim 11 recites the limitation "a golf bag" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. A golf bag is introduced prior in claim 9.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, 5-6, 8-11, and 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a(1) as being anticipated by Bonenberger (US 20170197556 A1).
With respect to claim 1, Bonenberger discloses a golf bag bottom member comprising: a housing defining a cavity (recess of 333 in figure 3J), said cavity sized to receive a bottom portion of a golf bag; an outer portion of said housing including a raised ridge and central portion (refer to figure 3h below) defining a slot (figure 3h below) extending between and through opposite sides of the outer portion of said housing; and wherein said slot is configured to receive a portion of a golf cart platform for preventing a golf bag with said bottom member attached thereto from rotating and/or falling off said golf cart.
Examiner Note: As written, golf bag and a golf cart are never positively recited. Also note an outer “portion” can be considered limited to item 322.
With respect to claim 2, Bonenberger discloses the golf bag bottom member of claim 1 wherein said golf bag bottom member is integral with a golf bag (integral is depicted in figure 3g, stated on page 6 [0059]).
With respect to claim 3, Bonenberger discloses the golf bag bottom member of claim 1 wherein said golf bag bottom member is attached to said bottom portion of a golf bag. (stated on page 6 [0059], shown in figure 3J).
With respect to claim 5, Bonenberger discloses the golf bag bottom member of claim 1 wherein said portion of said golf cart platform is an edge running a width thereof.
Examiner Note: The golf cart platform is not positively recited. The edge is being discussed as intended function. Bonenberger teaches of a slot that is capable of receiving an edge of a golf cart platform and therefore meets the claimed limitations. Further, an alternative view could consider the central protrusion of 525 as an edge since the central portion of the slot sits on it.
With respect to claim 6, Bonenberger discloses a golf bag comprising: a bottom member formed of a housing defining a cavity(recess of 333 in figure 3J), said cavity sized to receive a bottom portion of said golf bag for connection thereto; an outer portion of said housing including a raised ridge and central portion (refer to figure 3h above) defining a slot (figure 3h above) extending between and through opposite sides of the outer portion of said housing; and wherein said slot is configured to receive an edge of a golf cart platform for preventing a golf bag with said bottom member attached thereto from rotating and/or falling off said golf cart.
Examiner Note: Also note an outer “portion” can be considered limited to item 322.
With respect to claim 8, Bonenberger discloses the golf bag of claim 6 wherein said portion of said golf cart platform is an edge running a width thereof.
Examiner Note: The golf cart platform is not positively recited. The edge is being discussed as intended function. Bonenberger teaches of a slot that is capable of receiving an edge of a golf cart platform and therefore meets the claimed limitations. Further, an alternative view could consider the central protrusion of 525 as an edge since the central portion of the slot sits on it.
With respect to claim 9, Bonenberger discloses a combination comprising: a golf bag (300); a bottom member formed of a housing defining a cavity (recess of 333 in figure 3J), said cavity sized to receive a bottom portion of said golf bag; an outer portion of said housing including a raised ridge and central portion (refer to figure 3h above) defining a slot (figure 3h above) extending between and through opposite sides of the outer portion of said housing; and wherein said slot is configured to receive an edge of a golf cart platform for preventing a golf bag with said bottom member attached thereto from rotating and/or falling off said golf cart.
Examiner Note: Also note an outer “portion” can be considered limited to item 322.
With respect to claim 10, Bonenberger discloses the combination of claim 9 wherein said bottom member is integral with a golf bag. (integral is depicted in figure 3g, stated on page 6 [0059]).
With respect to claim 11, Bonenberger discloses the combination of claim 9 wherein said golf bag bottom member is attached to a golf bag. (stated on page 6 [0059], shown in figure 3J).
With respect to claim 13, Bonenberger discloses the combination of claim 9 wherein said portion of said golf cart platform is an edge running a width thereof.
Examiner Note: The golf cart platform is not positively recited. The edge is being discussed as intended function. Bonenberger teaches of a slot that is capable of receiving an edge of a golf cart platform and therefore meets the claimed limitations. Further, an alternative view could consider the central protrusion of 525 as an edge since the central portion of the slot sits on it.
Pertinent Prior Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. US D435723 S, US 20090057178 A1, US D644837 S, US 20130098787 A1, US 8544642 B1, US 20170197556 A1, US 20210260450 A1.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-3, 5-6, 8-11, 13 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
/SYMREN K SANGHERA/Examiner, Art Unit 3735