DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Fig. 2E of Paek discloses wherein the bonding wire 225a extends between the side surface of the molding compound and the die, such that the first terminal of the bonding wire contacts an inner side of the shielding layer, and
the second terminal of the bonding wire contacts the die (note applicant did not claim a direct contact, and as such fig. 2E of Paek discloses that the second terminal contact 245a, and 245a contact 260 and 260 contacts the die and therefore the second terminal of the bonding wire contacts the die as claimed).
Drawings Objections
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the limitations in claim 21 “the wherein the bonding wire crosses over the first bonding wire”, and in claim 22 “wherein a distance between the first terminal of the bonding wire and the fourth terminal of the first bonding wire is less than a distance between the first terminal and the second terminal of the bonding wire” , and in claim 23 “wherein the second terminal of the bonding wire and the fourth terminal of the first bonding wire are connected to opposite sides of the die, respectively” must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 21-23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claim 21 recites “the wherein the bonding wire crosses over the first bonding wire” is new matter is not found in the applicant original specification and drawings. As such this new matter.
Claim 22 recites “wherein a distance between the first terminal of the bonding wire and the fourth terminal of the first bonding wire is less than a distance between the first terminal and the second terminal of the bonding wire” is new matter is not found in the applicant original specification and drawings. As such this new matter.
Claim 23 recites “wherein the second terminal of the bonding wire and the fourth terminal of the first bonding wire are connected to opposite sides of the die, respectively” is new matter is not found in the applicant original specification and drawings. As such this new matter.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 and 4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Paek et al. 20210175182.
Regarding claim 1, fig. 2E of Paek discloses a semiconductor packaging structure, comprising:
a base layer 240;
a die (any die on 206 stack – fig. 2A), disposed on the base layer;
a molding compound (260 – par [0024]), filled over the base layer and surrounding the die;
a shielding layer 275, covering a top surface and the side surface of the molding compound; and
a bonding wire 225a contacting a ground signal (see par [0023], [0029] - conductive component 225a connects the bond pad 245a and the bond pad 245b (e.g., ground bond pads)),
wherein the bonding wire 225a has a first terminal and a second terminal,
wherein the bonding wire 225a extends between the side surface of the molding compound and the die, such that the first terminal of the bonding wire contacts an inner side of the shielding layer, and
the second terminal of the bonding wire contacts the die (note applicant did not claim a direct contact, and as such fig. 2E of Paek discloses that the second terminal contact 245a, and 245a contact 260 and 260 contacts the die and therefore the second terminal of the bonding wire contacts the die as claimed).
Regarding claim 4, fig. 2E of Paek discloses wherein the first terminal of the bonding wire is located between a horizontal plane formed by the top surface of the base layer and a horizontal plane formed by the top surface of the molding compound.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 5-7 and 21-23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Paek in view of Mahadevan et al. US 20050067676.
Regarding claim 5, Paek discloses claim 1. Paek discloses the base layer to be a package support substrate 240 (e.g., a PCB), but does not disclose of wherein the base layer comprises a plurality of lead frames separated from each other.
However, fig. 9 of Mahadevan discloses semiconductor packaging structure comprising a base layer 10, wherein the base layer comprises a plurality of lead frames separated from each other.
In view of such teaching, it would have been obvious to form a structure of Paek wherein the base layer comprises a plurality of lead frames separated from each other such as taught by Mahadevan as support can be PCB or lead frames which are interchangeable as support substrate.
Regarding claim 6, Paek discloses wherein the molding compound covers the top surface and the side surface of the base layer. As such the resulting structure would have been one comprising of the plurality of lead frames such that only the bottom surface of the plurality of lead frames is exposed from the bottom part of the semiconductor packaging structure.
Regarding claim 7, Mahadevan discloses wherein the shielding layer does not contact the plurality of lead frames. The resulting structure would have been one meeting the claimed invention.
Regarding claim 21, fig. 2E of Paek discloses further comprising: a first bonding wire extending between the base layer and the die, and having a third terminal and a fourth terminal, wherein the third terminal of the first bonding wire is connected to the base layer, and the fourth terminal of the first bonding wire is connected to the die.
Paek does not discloses wherein the bonding wire crosses over the first bonding wire.
However, it would have been obvious to form a structure comprising wherein the bonding wire crosses over the first bonding wire in order to arrange the bonding and connecting bonding wire and the first bonding wire as required by the applicant’s specification.
Regarding claim 22, Paek does not disclose of wherein a distance between the first terminal of the bonding wire and the fourth terminal of the first bonding wire is less than a distance between the first terminal and the second terminal of the bonding wire.
However, this is changes in Size/Proportion and the court has held that “Where the only difference between the prior art and the claims was a recitation of relative dimensions of the claimed device and a device having the claimed relative dimensions would not perform differently than the prior art device, the claimed device was not patentably distinct from the prior art device.” – Gardner v. TEC Syst., Inc., 725 F.2d 1338, 220 USPQ 777 (Fed. Cir. 1984)
As such it would have been obvious to form a structure comprising wherein a distance between the first terminal of the bonding wire and the fourth terminal of the first bonding wire is less than a distance between the first terminal and the second terminal of the bonding wire as required by the applicant’s specification.
Regarding claim 23, fig. 2E of Paek discloses wherein the second terminal of the bonding wire and the fourth terminal of the first bonding wire are connected to opposite sides of the die (second terminal is connected to bottom and the fourth is connected to the top), respectively.
Claims 8-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Paek in view of HASHIMOTO et al. US 20150371915.
Regarding claim 8, Paek discloses claim 1, but does not disclose of wherein the base layer comprises an organic substrate.
However, par [0052] of HASHIMOTO discloses of base layer (support substrate 101) is not limited to a metal substrate, and a silicon substrate, a glass substrate, a ceramic substrate, an organic material substrate or the like may be used in accordance with the use or the cost.
In view of such teaching, it would have been obvious to form a structure of Paek wherein the base layer comprises an organic substrate such as taught by HASHIMOTO to meet cost requirement.
Regarding claim 9, Paek discloses wherein the bottom surface of the base layer is exposed from the bottom part of the semiconductor packaging structure.
As such the resulting structure would have been one wherein the bottom surface of the organic substrate is exposed from the bottom part of the semiconductor packaging structure.
Regarding claim 10, Paek discloses wherein the side surface of the organic substrate is also covered by the shielding layer.
As such the resulting structure would have been one wherein the side surface of the organic substrate is also covered by the shielding layer.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/VONGSAVANH SENGDARA/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2893