DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Receipt is acknowledged of a request for continued examination under 37 CFR 1.114, including the fee set forth in 37 CFR 1.17(e) and a submission, filed on 06/16/2026.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) rejected have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on Mahadevan et al. US 20050067676 applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Drawings Objections
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the limitations in claim 1 “wherein the bonding wire has a first terminal and a second terminal, wherein the bonding wire extends between the side surface of the molding compound and the die, such that the first terminal of the bonding wire contacts an inner side of the shielding layer, and the second terminal of the bonding wire directly contacts the die.” must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Applicant’s fig. 11 discloses “wherein the bonding wire 210 has a first terminal and a second terminal, wherein the bonding wire extends between the side surface of the molding compound and the die, such that the first terminal (left end terminal of 210) of the bonding wire contacts an inner side of the shielding layer 214, and the second terminal (right end of 210) of the bonding wire directly contacts the bonding area 202_1 and NOT directly contacting the die” as claimed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1, 4-10 and 21-23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claim 1 “wherein the bonding wire has a first terminal and a second terminal, wherein the bonding wire extends between the side surface of the molding compound and the die, such that the first terminal of the bonding wire contacts an inner side of the shielding layer, and the second terminal of the bonding wire directly contacts the die” is new matter now found in the applicant’s original specification and drawings.
Applicant’s fig. 11 discloses “wherein the bonding wire 210 has a first terminal and a second terminal, wherein the bonding wire extends between the side surface of the molding compound and the die, such that the first terminal (left end terminal of 210) of the bonding wire contacts an inner side of the shielding layer 214, and the second terminal (right end of 210) of the bonding wire directly contacts the bonding area 202_1 and NOT directly contacting the die” as claimed.
As such, this is new matter.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Mahadevan et al. US 20050067676.
Regarding claim 1, fig. 9 of Mahadevan discloses a semiconductor package comprising:
a base layer 13;
a die 25, disposed on the base layer;
a molding compound 35, filled over the base layer and surrounding the die;
a shielding layer 42, covering a top surface and the side surface of the molding compound; and
a bonding wire (33/29) contacting a ground signal (par [0030]) - grounded wires 33),
wherein the bonding wire has a first terminal 33 and a second terminal 29,
wherein the bonding wire extends between the side surface of the molding compound and the die, such that the first terminal of the bonding wire contacts an inner side of the shielding layer 42, and the second terminal 29 of the bonding wire directly contacts the die 25 in order to ground the die 25.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 4-7 and 21-23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Paek et al. 20210175182 in view of Mahadevan et al. US 20050067676.
Regarding claim 1, fig. 2E of Paek discloses a semiconductor packaging structure, comprising:
a base layer 240;
a die (any die on 206 stack – fig. 2A), disposed on the base layer;
a molding compound (260 – par [0024]), filled over the base layer and surrounding the die;
a shielding layer 275, covering a top surface and the side surface of the molding compound; and
a bonding wire 225a contacting a ground signal (see par [0023], [0029] - conductive component 225a connects the bond pad 245a and the bond pad 245b (e.g., ground bond pads)),
wherein the bonding wire 225a has a first terminal and a second terminal,
wherein the bonding wire 225a extends between the side surface of the molding compound and the die, such that the first terminal of the bonding wire contacts an inner side of the shielding layer.
Paek does not discloses that the second terminal of the bonding wire directly contacts the die.
However, fig. 9 of Mahadevan discloses a semiconductor package comprising:
a base layer 13;
a die 25, disposed on the base layer;
a molding compound 35, filled over the base layer and surrounding the die;
a shielding layer 42, covering a top surface and the side surface of the molding compound; and
a bonding wire (33/29) contacting a ground signal (par [0030]) - grounded wires 33),
wherein the bonding wire has a first terminal 33 and a second terminal 29,
wherein the bonding wire extends between the side surface of the molding compound and the die, such that the first terminal of the bonding wire contacts an inner side of the shielding layer 42, and the second terminal 29 of the bonding wire directly contacts the die 25 in order to ground the die 25.
As such it would have been obvious to form a package of Paek further comprising wherein the second terminal of the bonding wire directly contacts the die such as taught by Mahadevan in order to ground the die.
Regarding claim 4, fig. 2E of Paek discloses wherein the first terminal of the bonding wire is located between a horizontal plane formed by the top surface of the base layer and a horizontal plane formed by the top surface of the molding compound.
Regarding claim 5, Paek discloses claim 1. Paek discloses the base layer to be a package support substrate 240 (e.g., a PCB), but does not disclose wherein the base layer comprises a plurality of lead frames separated from each other.
However, fig. 9 of Mahadevan discloses semiconductor packaging structure comprising a base layer 10, wherein the base layer comprises a plurality of lead frames separated from each other.
In view of such teaching, it would have been obvious to form a structure of Paek and Mahadevan wherein the base layer comprises a plurality of lead frames separated from each other such as taught by Mahadevan as support can be PCB or lead frames which are interchangeable as support substrate.
Regarding claim 6, Paek discloses wherein the molding compound covers the top surface and the side surface of the base layer. As such the resulting structure would have been one comprising of the plurality of lead frames such that only the bottom surface of the plurality of lead frames is exposed from the bottom part of the semiconductor packaging structure.
Regarding claim 7, Mahadevan discloses wherein the shielding layer does not contact the plurality of lead frames. The resulting structure would have been one meeting the claimed invention.
Regarding claim 21, fig. 2E of Paek discloses further comprising: a first bonding wire extending between the base layer and the die, and having a third terminal and a fourth terminal, wherein the third terminal of the first bonding wire is connected a lead frame (interconnect with 202 is a type of lead frame) of the base layer, and the fourth terminal of the first bonding wire is connected to the die and wherein the bonding wire is disposed over the first bonding wire.
Regarding claim 22, Paek discloses wherein the lead frame is disposed between the die and the shielding layer.
Regarding claim 23, fig. 2E of Paek discloses wherein the fourth terminal of the first bonding wire is disposed between the lead frame and the second terminal of the bonding wire.
Claims 8-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Paek and Mahadevan in view of HASHIMOTO et al. US 20150371915.
Regarding claim 8, Paek and Mahadevan disclose claim 1, but does not disclose wherein the base layer comprises an organic substrate.
However, par [0052] of HASHIMOTO discloses of base layer (support substrate 101) is not limited to a metal substrate, and a silicon substrate, a glass substrate, a ceramic substrate, an organic material substrate or the like may be used in accordance with the use or the cost.
In view of such teaching, it would have been obvious to form a structure of Paek and Mahadevan wherein the base layer comprises an organic substrate such as taught by HASHIMOTO to meet cost requirement.
Regarding claim 9, Paek discloses wherein the bottom surface of the base layer is exposed from the bottom part of the semiconductor packaging structure.
As such the resulting structure would have been one wherein the bottom surface of the organic substrate is exposed from the bottom part of the semiconductor packaging structure.
Regarding claim 10, Paek discloses wherein the side surface of the organic substrate is also covered by the shielding layer.
As such the resulting structure would have been one wherein the side surface of the organic substrate is also covered by the shielding layer.
Conclusion
/VONGSAVANH SENGDARA/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2893