DETAILED ACTION
Examiner’s Comments
As previously noted, regarding the term “bayonet mount” – the specification, see paragraphs [0017, 0029 & 0039], makes it clear that a bayonet mount may be referred to as a push-and-twist mount, a push-and-rotate mount, a push-and-turn mount, a pin-and-slot mount, a key-and-lock mount, etc. Further, applicant applies the term bayonet mount to cover a reverse bayonet and other variations. Thus all of these terms are interpreted to be synonymous. This interpretation is reasonable and well within the grasp of the ordinarily skilled and consistent the broadest reasonable interpretation as is required be the MPEP §2111.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed June 9, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding applicant’s argument centered on the combination of Maric as modified by Abendschein fails to have the lens support with a groove between inner and outer surfaces with an axially biasing spring in said groove, the examiner is unpersuaded. Maric discloses (see figure 3) a lens support inner surface (e.g. where the lens goes) and outer surface (e.g. opposing surface). Maric does not disclose wherein the groove between inner and outer surfaces with an axially biasing spring in said groove. Abendschein teaches a groove between inner and outer surfaces with an axially biasing spring in said groove, see annotated figure A below.
[AltContent: textbox (outer surface )]
[AltContent: textbox (axially biasing spring )][AltContent: textbox (groove )][AltContent: textbox (inner surface (of ferrule 11))]
Figure A. Annotated version of Abendschein figure 5
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 7, 10-13, 18-19 and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Maric et al. US Patent Application Publication 2020/0400948, of record, in view of Abendschein et al. US Patent 4,834,487, of record.
Regarding claim 1 Maric discloses a head-mounted device operable with a removable vision correction lens (title e.g. figure 1 head-mounted display unit 110 and one or more removable lens assemblies 120), the head-mounted device comprising: a head-mounted housing (e.g. housing 112); a lens support coupled to the head-mounted housing (e.g. figure 3 display modules 116 includes lens mount 316c), wherein the lens support has opposing inner and outer surfaces (see figure 3); a non-removable lens (e.g. primary lens 316b) supported by the lens support (see figure 3), wherein the lens support has a push-and-twist mount (e.g. figures 12A-12B & paragraph [0086] discloses removable lenses uses a mount with mating features 1222 & 1223 with axial, i.e. push, and turning, i.e. twist) configured to receive the removable vision correction lens and wherein the push-and-twist mount is configured to maintain the removable vision correction lens in alignment with the non-removable lens when the removable vision correction lens is attached to the lens support with the push-and-twist mount (paragraph [0086] “cause engagement and coupling of the removable lens assembly 1220 to the lens mount”); and a display (e.g. display 316a) configured to provide an image (inter alia paragraph [0056] “316a is configured to display graphics to the user”) to an eye box through the non-removable lens and the removable vision correction lens when the removable vision correction lens is attached to the lens support (see figure 3).
Maric does not disclose wherein the support has a groove located between the inner and outer surfaces, wherein the groove is configured to receive a spring that axially biases the removable vision correction lens away from the non-removable lens, and wherein the groove and the push-and-twist mount are in different locations on the support.
Applicant’s stated issue is a need to maintain positioning, see instant application paragraphs [0026 & 0036].
Abendschein teaches an optical connector (title e.g. figure 2 connector 10) including a push-and-twist mount (e.g. coupling nut 26) configured to connect (inter alia column 3 lines 8-9 “coupling nut 26 has bayonet type slots 30 for connection with a known complementary connector”) optical elements (inter alia abstract) with an inner surface (e.g. inside surface of ferrule defining axial passage 18) and an outer surface (e.g. outer surface of 26); and further teaches a groove (e.g. see figures 4-5 area bounded by 11, 22 & 27) located between the inner and outer surfaces (see figure 5) configured to receive a spring (e.g. spring 28) that axially biases the connected optical elements away from each other (inter alia column 3 lines 10-21 discusses the spring being compressed to “produce a spring bias to urge” the optical elements to a desired position, since the spring is compressed it inherently would force the elements apart), and wherein the groove (e.g. area bounded by 11, 22 & 27) and the push-and-twist mount (e.g. 26) are in different locations (e.g. see figures 2 & 4-5) for the purpose of urging the optical elements in the connection top a proper position (column 3 lines 10-21), thereby addressing applicant’s issue. Therefore, it would be obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for the push-and-twist mount, a.k.a. bayonet mount, in the head-mounted device disclosed by Maric to have a groove located between the inner and outer surfaces configured to receive a spring that axially biases the connected elements apart, and wherein the groove and the push-and-twist mount are in different locations as taught by Abendschein for the purpose of urging the optical elements in the connection top a proper position, thereby addressing applicant’s issue.
Regarding claim 2 the combination of Maric as modified by Abendschein discloses the head-mounted device defined in claim 1, as set forth above. Maric further discloses wherein the push-and-twist mount comprises a slot on the lens support (e.g. 1223) that is configured to receive a protrusion on the removable vision correction lens (e.g. 1222).
Regarding claim 3 the combination of Maric as modified by Abendschein discloses the head-mounted device defined in claim 1, as set forth above. Maric further discloses wherein the lens support comprises first and second slots on opposing sides of the lens support that are configured to receive respective first and second protrusions on the removable vision correction lens (e.g. see figure 12B).
Regarding claim 7 Maric discloses a head-mounted device operable with a removable vision correction lens (title e.g. 110 & 120), the head-mounted device comprising: a head-mounted housing (e.g. 112); a fixed lens (e.g. 316b) in the head-mounted housing; and a lens support (e.g. 316c) that supports the fixed lens (e.g. 316b) and comprises: opposing inner (see figure 3) and outer surfaces, wherein the inner surface defines an opening (see figure 3) and has a bayonet mount (figures 12A-12B & paragraph [0086] discloses removable lenses uses a mount with mating features 1222 & 1223 with axial, i.e. push, and turning, i.e. a bayonet mount that “cause engagement and coupling of the removable lens assembly 1220 to the lens mount”) that maintains the removable vision correction lens in alignment with the fixed lens (see figure 3).
Maric does not disclose wherein the support has a groove located between the opening and the outer surface and configured to receive a spring that axially biases the two portions of the mount apart, and wherein the groove and the push-and-twist mount are in different locations on the support.
Applicant’s stated issue is a need to maintain positioning, see instant application paragraphs [0026 & 0036].
Abendschein teaches an optical connector (title e.g. figure 2 connector 10) including a push-and-twist mount (e.g. coupling nut 26) configured to connect (inter alia column 3 lines 8-9 “coupling nut 26 has bayonet type slots 30 for connection with a known complementary connector”) optical elements (inter alia abstract) with an inner surface (e.g. inside surface of ferrule defining axial passage 18) and an outer surface (e.g. outer surface of 26); and further teaches a groove (e.g. see figures 4-5 area bounded by 11, 22 & 27) located between the inner and outer surfaces (see figure 5) configured to receive a spring (e.g. spring 28) that axially biases the connected optical elements away from each other (inter alia column 3 lines 10-21 discusses the spring being compressed to “produce a spring bias to urge” the optical elements to a desired position, since the spring is compressed it inherently would force the elements apart), and wherein the groove (e.g. area bounded by 11, 22 & 27) and the push-and-twist mount (e.g. 26) are in different locations (e.g. see figures 2 & 4-5) for the purpose of urging the optical elements in the connection top a proper position (column 3 lines 10-21), thereby addressing applicant’s issue. Therefore, it would be obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for the push-and-twist mount, a.k.a. bayonet mount, in the head-mounted device disclosed by Maric to have a groove located between the inner and outer surfaces configured to receive a spring that axially biases the connected elements apart, and wherein the groove and the push-and-twist mount are in different locations as taught by Abendschein for the purpose of urging the optical elements in the connection top a proper position, thereby addressing applicant’s issue.
Regarding claim 10 the combination of Maric as modified by Abendschein discloses the head-mounted device defined in claim 7, as set forth above. Maric further discloses wherein the bayonet mount comprises a recess in the lens support (e.g. 1223) that is configured to receive a protrusion (e.g. 1222) on the removable vision correction lens (see figure 12B).
Regarding claim 11 the combination of Maric as modified by Abendschein discloses the head-mounted device defined in claim 10, as set forth above. Maric further discloses wherein the protrusion on the removable vision correction lens comprises a pin (e.g. 1222) and wherein the recess in the lens support (e.g. 1223) comprises a slot configured to receive the pin (see figures 12A-12B & paragraph [0086]).
Regarding claim 12 Maric discloses a head-mounted device operable with first and second removable vision correction lenses (title e.g. figures 1-2 110 & left and right 120s), comprising: a head-mounted housing (e.g. 112); first and second lens (e.g. 316b) supports coupled to the head-mounted housing (see figures 2-3); and first and second lenses mounted respectively to the first and second lens supports (e.g. 316c), wherein the first and second lens supports are configured to form first and second bayonet mounts (figures 12A-12B & paragraph [0086] discloses removable lenses uses a mount with mating features 1222 & 1223 with axial, i.e. push, and turning, i.e. a bayonet mount, that “cause engagement and coupling of the removable lens assembly 1220 to the lens mount”) with which the first and second removable vision correction lenses are removably attached to the first and second lens supports, respectively (see figure 2).
Maric does not disclose wherein and a biasing structure configured to axially bias the first removable vision correction lens away from the first lens and to maintain the first removable vision correction lens at a known axial location with respect to the first lens; and a groove located between opposing inner and outer surfaces of the first lens support and configured to receive the biasing structure.
Applicant’s stated issue is a need to maintain positioning, see instant application paragraphs [0026 & 0036].
Abendschein teaches an optical connector (title e.g. figure 2 connector 10) including a push-and-twist mount (e.g. coupling nut 26) configured to connect (inter alia column 3 lines 8-9 “coupling nut 26 has bayonet type slots 30 for connection with a known complementary connector”) optical elements (inter alia abstract); and further teaches a groove (e.g. see figures 4-5 area bounded by 11, 22 & 27) located between the inner and outer surfaces (see figure 5) configured to receive a spring (e.g. spring 28) that axially biases the connected optical elements away from each other (inter alia column 3 lines 10-21 discusses the spring being compressed to “produce a spring bias to urge” the optical elements to a desired position, since the spring is compressed it inherently would force the elements apart) for the purpose of urging the optical elements in the connection top a proper position (column 3 lines 10-21), thereby addressing applicant’s issue. Further, the position would necessarily be at a known axial position given the axial spring biasing and the structure of the bayonet connector. Therefore, it would be obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for the push-and-twist mount, a.k.a. bayonet mount, in the head-mounted device disclosed by Maric to have a groove configured to receive a spring that axially biases the connected elements apart to a known position as taught by Abendschein for the purpose of urging the optical elements in the connection top a proper position, thereby addressing applicant’s issue.
Regarding claim 13 the combination of Maric as modified by Abendschein discloses the head-mounted device defined in claim 12, as set forth above. Maric further discloses it is further comprising first and second displays (e.g. 316a) configured to provide respective first and second images (inter alia paragraph [0056] “316a is configured to display graphics to the user”) to first and second eye boxes through the first and second lenses and the first and second removable vision correction lenses when the first removable vision correction lens is attached to the first lens support and the second removable vision correction lens is attached to the second lens support (see figures 2-3).
Regarding claim 18 the combination of Maric as modified by Abendschein discloses the head-mounted device defined in claim 13, as set forth above. Maric further discloses wherein the first bayonet mount comprises first and second slots on opposing sides of the first lens support that are configured to receive respective first and second pins on the first removable vision correction lens (see left and right 1222 on lens that are inserted into 1223) and wherein the second bayonet mount comprises third and fourth slots on opposing sides of the second lens support that are configured to receive respective third and fourth pins on the second removable vision correction lens (see left and right 1222 on lens that are inserted into 1223).
Regarding claim 19 the combination of Maric as modified by Abendschein discloses the head-mounted device defined in claim 18, as set forth above. Maric further discloses wherein the first and second slots face radially outward from a first rotation axis about which the first removable vision correction lens rotates when attaching to the first lens support and wherein the third and fourth slots face radially outward from a second rotation axis about which the second removable vision correction lens rotates when attaching to the second lens support (inherent for a mount shown in figures 12A-12B, particularly due to 1222 arrangement).
Regarding claim 21 the combination of Maric as modified by Abendschein discloses the head-mounted device defined in claim 1 including a groove in the lens support, as set forth above. Maric does not disclose said groove is a ring-shaped groove. Abendschein further teaches the groove (e.g. area bounded by 11, 22 & 27) is a ring-shaped groove (see figures 2 & 4-5) for the purpose of accommodating the spring. Therefore, it would be obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for the groove in the head-mounted device disclosed by combination of Maric as modified by Abendschein to be ring shaped as further taught by Abendschein for the purpose of accommodating the spring.
Claims 4-5, 8-9, 14-17 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Maric et al. US Patent Application Publication 2020/0400948, of record, in view of Abendschein et al. US Patent 4,834,487 and in further view of xavierasx “Bayonet Lock Connector OpenSCAD library” https://www.thingiverse.com/thing:3471896 March 05, 2019, of record.
Regarding claims 4-5, 8-9, 14-17 and 20 Maric discloses the head-mounted device defined in claims 1, 7, 13 and 18, as set forth above. Maric discloses a standard bayonet (a.k.a. push-and-twist) mount with a male portion with protrusions/pins (e.g. 1222) that would necessarily have slots in the female potion that radiate outwardly from the axis of twisting, as set forth above. Maric does not disclose any variations from this arrangement, such as a reverse bayonet arrangement, where the pins/protrusions are in the female portion and the slots/recesses are in the male portion, or swapping which side of the two elements mated together is the male/female.
Specifically Maric and Abendschein do not disclose or teach wherein the push-and-twist mount comprises a pin on the lens support that is configured to be received by a slot on the removable vision correction lens, as required by claim 4; wherein the push-and-twist mount comprises first and second pins on opposing sides of the lens support that are configured to be received by respective first and second slots on the removable vision correction lens, as required by claim 5; wherein the bayonet mount comprises a protrusion on the lens support that is configured to be received within a recess in the removable vision correction lens, as required by claim 8; wherein the protrusion on the lens support comprises a pin and wherein the recess in the removable vision correction lens comprises a slot configured to receive the pin, as required by claim 9; wherein the first mount comprises a first pin on the first lens support and wherein the second mount comprises a second pin on the second lens support, as required by claim 14; wherein the first mount comprises first and second pins on opposing sides of the first lens support that are configured to be received by respective first and second slots in the first removable vision correction lens and wherein the second bayonet mount comprises third and fourth pins on opposing sides of the second lens support that are configured to be received by respective third and fourth slots in the second removable vision correction lens, as required by claim 15; wherein the first and second pins protrude radially outward from a first rotation axis about which the first removable vision correction lens rotates when attaching to the first lens support and wherein the third and fourth pins protrude radially outward from a second rotation axis about which the second removable vision correction lens rotates when attaching to the second lens support, as required by claim 16; wherein the first and second pins protrude radially inward towards a first rotation axis about which the first removable vision correction lens rotates when attaching to the first lens support and wherein the third and fourth pins protrude radially inward toward a second rotation axis about which the second removable vision correction lens rotates when attaching to the second lens support, as required by claim 17; and/or wherein the first and second slots face radially inward towards a first rotation axis about which the first removable vision correction lens rotates when attaching to the first lens support and wherein the third and fourth slots face radially inward toward a second rotation axis about which the second removable vision correction lens rotates when attaching to the second lens support, as required by claim 20.
Xavierasx teaches variations of bayonet connectors including a male portions with recesses or protrusions that mate with female portions with protrusions and recesses, respectively, see annotated figure A below. This would be a simple substitution of one known element for another to obtain predictable results, KSR Int'l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 415-421, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1395-97 (2007), see MPEP 2143. Further, either one side or the other side is the male or female portion of the connector, e.g. the support is the male portion or the female portion. Thus, there are a limited number of combinations of which of the mating elements is male, with protrusions or recesses, or female, with recesses or protrusions. It has been held that where there are only a finite number of predictable identifiable solutions, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to try the known options within his or her technical grasp, KSR see MPEP 2143.
[AltContent: textbox (female with protrusions)][AltContent: textbox (female with recesses)][AltContent: textbox (male with protrusions)][AltContent: textbox (male with recesses)]
Figure A. Annotated version of xavierasx’s first figure
Therefore, it would be obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for the push-and-twist mount, a.k.a. bayonet mount, in the head-mounted device disclosed by the combination of Maric as modified by Abendschein to have the various arrangements of wherein the push-and-twist mount comprises a pin on the lens support that is configured to be received by a slot on the removable vision correction lens, as required by claim 4; wherein the push-and-twist mount comprises first and second pins on opposing sides of the lens support that are configured to be received by respective first and second slots on the removable vision correction lens, as required by claim 5; wherein the bayonet mount comprises a protrusion on the lens support that is configured to be received within a recess in the removable vision correction lens, as required by claim 8; wherein the protrusion on the lens support comprises a pin and wherein the recess in the removable vision correction lens comprises a slot configured to receive the pin, as required by claim 9; wherein the first mount comprises a first pin on the first lens support and wherein the second mount comprises a second pin on the second lens support, as required by claim 14; wherein the first mount comprises first and second pins on opposing sides of the first lens support that are configured to be received by respective first and second slots in the first removable vision correction lens and wherein the second bayonet mount comprises third and fourth pins on opposing sides of the second lens support that are configured to be received by respective third and fourth slots in the second removable vision correction lens, as required by claim 15; wherein the first and second pins protrude radially outward from a first rotation axis about which the first removable vision correction lens rotates when attaching to the first lens support and wherein the third and fourth pins protrude radially outward from a second rotation axis about which the second removable vision correction lens rotates when attaching to the second lens support, as required by claim 16; and/or wherein the first and second pins protrude radially inward towards a first rotation axis about which the first removable vision correction lens rotates when attaching to the first lens support and wherein the third and fourth pins protrude radially inward toward a second rotation axis about which the second removable vision correction lens rotates when attaching to the second lens support, as required by claim 17 since these are known variation as taught by xavierasx and this would be a simple substitution of one known element for another to obtain predictable results and/or since there are a finite number of predictable identifiable solutions it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to try the known options within his or her technical grasp.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Bourgeois US Patent 2,780,137; in regards to a removable lens (e.g. lens 1) connected by a bayonet connector (title) with an axially biasing spring (e.g. elastic blades 10) in a groove (e.g. recess 11) between an inner and outer surfaces (e.g. inner and outer surfaces of mount 3).
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/George G. King/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2872 July 28, 2026