DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The IDSes filed 5/23/23 and 7/3/23 have both been considered and placed of record. The initialed copies are attached herewith.
Drawings
The drawings filed 5/23/23 are acceptable for examination.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4 and 6-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Meng et al. (US 2017/0366035). (Note that apparatus claims are grouped with respective method claims because the apparatus claims performed the claimed method steps).
Re claims 1 and 6, the reference discloses a short protection method, suitable for a battery module having, inter alia, a battery cell pack (in wearable device) and a control circuit (90), the method comprising: detecting a temperature of the battery cell pack as a battery cell temperature through the control circuit (S402); determining whether the battery cell temperature shows a downward trend (S405) when the battery cell temperature is higher than a first predetermined temperature value (S403); and deactivating the battery module when the battery cell temperature does not show the downward trend (S410). Fig 4. See also para 69.
Re claims 2 and 7, the reference further discloses determining whether the battery module is in a charge/discharge state (S401); and determining whether the battery cell temperature is continuously higher than a second predetermined temperature value for more than a detection time (S405) when the battery module is not in the charge/discharge state (S411). See para 69.
Re claims 3 and 8, the reference further discloses deactivating the battery module (S410) when the battery module is not in the charge/discharge state and the battery cell temperature is continuously higher than the second predetermined temperature value for a time exceeding the detection time (S411).
Re claims 4 and 9, the reference further discloses the second temperature (S411) is lower than the first temperature (S403).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 5 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Meng et al. (US 2017/0366035).
The reference does not explicitly disclose a transistor is used to control current transmission by turning it off/on. Official notice is taken of the fact that it is a common knowledge in the art to use a transistor as a switch to turn off electronic components because of the reliability and its instantaneous speed. It would have been well within the skill of one versed in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have used a transistor to turn off the current transmission due to its fast and reliability.
Conclusion
The Examiner’s SPE is Drew Dunn and he can be reached at 571.272.2312. The fax number for the organization where this application is assigned is 571.273.8300.
/EDWARD TSO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2859 571.272.2087