DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Applicant's amendment filed December 4th, 2025 has been entered. Claims 1, 4, 6-9, 12, and 20 have been amended. Claims 2-3 and 11 have been cancelled.
The Section 112, 2nd paragraph rejections made in the Office action mailed September 5th, 2026 have been maintained and have been updated to reflect Applicant’s amendment.
The Section 102 rejections over Saito made in the Office action mailed September 5th, 2026 have been withdrawn due to Applicant’s amendment.
The Section 102 rejections over Choi Moon made in the Office action mailed September 5th, 2026 have been withdrawn due to Applicant’s amendment. However, the Section 103 rejections over Choi Moon (as the primary reference) made in the Office action mailed September 5th, 2026 have been maintained and have been updated to reflect Applicant’s amendment.
The Section 102/103 rejections over Qi (as the primary reference) made in the Office action mailed September 5th, 2026 have been maintained and have been updated to reflect Applicant’s amendment.
The Section 102/103 rejections over Liu (as the primary reference) made in the Office action mailed September 5th, 2026 have been maintained and have been updated to reflect Applicant’s amendment.
The Section 102 rejections over Cho made in the Office action mailed September 5th, 2026 have been withdrawn due to Applicant’s amendment. However, the Section 103 rejections over Cho (as the primary reference) made in the Office action mailed September 5th, 2026 have been maintained and have been updated to reflect Applicant’s amendment.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed December 4th, 2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that none of the primary or combined references teach the functional “intended use” or “conditional use” type language. The Examiner disagrees.
First, a recitation of the intended use of the claimed invention must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, then it meets the claim. Furthermore, it has been held that the recitation that an element is “adapted to” perform a function is not a positive limitation but only requires the ability to so perform. It does not constitute a limitation in any patentable sense. In re Hutchinson, 69 USPQ 138.
Furthermore, the functionality of the intended or conditional use is neither (a) clear enough in describing the usage nor (b) clear enough in how the use is connected to the structural features of the display panel, and how both of these would relate to how the “target” is determined in real time.
The term “target grinding line” is not connected to any physical features of the display panel and therefore the process of grinding (i.e. surface polishing/thinning, edge chamfering/reduction) and how the target and/or line are connected thereto (i.e. preset thickness, predetermined distance from edge, preconfigured chamfer angle), while set forth in the specification, are not set forth clearly in the claims.
While a more clearly construed intended/conditional use type functional language as related to the display panel and marker may be persuasive in tipping the balance toward allowance, it in particular needs to be argued in combination therewith. Specifically, how the language relates to display panel and marker(s) as claimed and how this would not be meet by markers of Choi Moon, Qi, and Liu, even if/when they read on the claim language or provide avenues such that such structures would have been obvious. For instance, how is the determination of the target grinding line and/or whether or not the actual grinding line reaches the target grinding line in real time made: visually, electronically, in another manner? If visually, then how visually in relation to the markers as claimed?
Also, while these markers are intended as claimed to specifically to assist in providing real time information(?) regarding the measurement of the visible/optical distance of the actual grinding line from the target grinding line (as set forth in the specification, not claimed, as recited above), then markers of the prior art may inherently and/or obviously be modified to be used during grinding.
Guo (CN 108363228 A) teaches markers used to determine both cutting and grinding lines that allow for multiple and/or selectable shapes at behest of the manufacturer.
Shin (KR 20030097144 A) teaches markers that are used for substrate alignment, cutting lines, and edge grinding lines that allows inspection with the naked eye.
Liang et al. (CN 111462629 A) teach markers that are used as cutting and edge grinding scale bars (rulers), but also provide electrostatic protection due to static that might occur during the processes of cutting and/or grinding.
Lee (1998-0069945 A) teaches markers used for both bonding alignment and edge grinding, that may be in the form of a ruler/scale.
Sung et al. (KR 10-0624029 B1) teach markers used for both substrate alignment (alignment mark) and grinding (reference mark), while determining the grinding amount in real time. Hong (KR 2015-0050998 A) also teaches grinding amount in real time based on marks, wherein the marks are an updated/modified form of alignment/cutting marks of the prior art.
Other methods of measuring grinding line accuracy that may still be relevant to the claimed invention, especially in combination with the prior art such at Saito, Choi Moon, etc., are available such as measuring resistance values as set forth in Wurzel et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 2013/0083457 A1) or Wang et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 2019/0061100 A1)
In conclusion, as currently claimed, the functional use language is too vaguely construed and entirely disconnected from both the structural features of the display panel and the marker(s). Therefore, the functional language as currently claimed will largely be disregarded.
Applicant further argues that Cho in view of Liu that Cho does not teach the currently claimed subject matter. The Examiner disagrees as recited below. The rejections will be made clearer with certain lines separated when necessary.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1, 4-10, & 12-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the Applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claims 1 and 20, the claim as currently written is confusing regarding the entirely separate embodiments one requiring a single marker and the other regarding at least two first markers, wherein it is unclear if the markers are attached or discrete. This only causes further problems downstream as it is not clear which dependent claims are further narrowing which embodiments as discussed below. It is highly recommended that if Applicant desires to further pursue both of these embodiments, that Applicant splits the current independent claim into two independent claims, each with their own set of clear dependent claims.
Furthermore, while the newly added usage limitations may eventually assist clarifying the structure of the claimed invention, as currently claimed they are vague and confusing as recited above.
Furthermore, not addressed above, it is unclear what state the display panel is in. Is this before or following grinding? If so, will the entirety of the marking(s) be present? This is even more confusing the context of the display device of claim 20. Is the panel to be grinded or already grinded as claimed?
Regarding claims 4-10 and 12-19, the claims have a variety of issues regarding which first marker embodiment (or both?) has been claimed and whether or not the first marker would be improperly modified by the subsequent narrowing limitations or that the subject matter is directed to other embodiments not covered by either the first or second claimed embodiments, with some particular issues, but not all issues, noted as follows:
Regarding claim 9, the second direction already intersects the first direction in the first embodiment. Furthermore, if the first hollow portions are arranged in the second direction with the second hollow portions connected between them and the first and second sub-lines outline one and another second hollow portions, then would they not inherently be provided in the second direction? It’s unclear if this claim further narrows the (first embodiment of) independent claim.
Regarding claim 12, the claimed subject matter seems to be including both embodiments by claiming a third sub-line when the second embodiment does not contain one, and first ends when the first embodiment does not contain one. Which is it?
Regarding claims 14-16, the first marker of the first embodiment is not taught to have been multiple markers and the first marker of the second embodiment already comprises two markers. Further regarding claim 15, in the second embodiment, the first markers are already required to be in a second direction, how can they also be in a third direction.
The remaining claims are rejected for being dependent on indefinite claim(s) and not properly extending from either the first embodiment or second embodiment.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102/103
Claims 1, 4-10, 12-15, & 17-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Choi Moon et al. (KR 2015-0064277 A) (hereinafter “Choi Moon”) in view of Noguchi (U.S. Patent No. 5,361,150) (hereinafter “Noguchi”) AND Saito et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 2015/0029680 A1) (hereinafter “Saito”), and either or both optionally further in view of English letters in Mandarin.
Regarding claims 1, 4-15, 12-15, 17-18, and 20, Choi Moon teaches a display panel for a display device, wherein the display panel comprises an active display area (All Figs. [AA]) and a peripheral non-active area comprising one or more metal power wirings and/or a plurality of metal power supply pad patterns (metal portions) spaced along at least one side of the peripheral non-display area [0033] having at least one opening defining a key pattern, not limited to but depicted as numbers, letters, symbols or a combination thereof, therein for any processes such as alignment, bonding, cutting, etc., improved over arranging it adjacent the wires/pads allowing for a narrow bezel [0012-0013, 0016-0020, 0034-0041]. This allows for the process keys to form first and second sub-lines defining interior first and second opposing edges/ends allowing for two second points flanking a single first point to be greater or less distance from the display (panel) area and be curved/wavy/zigzag [Fig. 3], wherein the markers are arranged along a first and/or third directions [Fig. 3] and may be rotationally symmetric (O-shaped).
However, the specific embodiment regarding a first embodiment comprising first marker comprising the plurality of first and second hollow portions as claimed and/or a second embodiment comprising at least two first markers as claimed, wherein:
Noguchi teaches a display panel comprising a two-dimensional array of alphanumeric markers comprising blanked characters in a metal layer/film formed by laser engraving (col. 4, lines 24-47) including a total range of values in each identification array for easier/more thorough identification [0031-0035], wherein the markers as applied to Choi Moon would be arranged in a plurality of rows and columns such that the first and second ends in a first direction (outward from the display area) would be different in relation to the display area.
AND
Saito teaches a display panel comprising a power terminal comprising an alignment mark [0027-0028], wherein the mark a floating character (Fig. 5B), similar to Fig. 3 of Choi Moon, or a negative outline of a character (Fig. 5A), wherein cutting out the peripheral edge of the metal terminal allows for higher accuracy [0023-0024].
Lastly, the letters/characters in other languages, especially negative outlines thereof, as evidenced to be obvious variations by Noguchi and Saito, would entirely meet or make obvious the claimed subject matter as recited in claims 1 and 4-8, such as the equivalents to “A”, “F”, “O”, and “P” which form lattice-type structures:
Therefore, it would have been obvious to and motivated for one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to provide a markers as one or more negative outlines of at least one symbolic/alphanumeric character, rather than a single opening defining positive outlines thereof [Saito], wherein one would have provided at least one alphanumeric configuration of an alphanumeric character as a complex character having the first and second hollows as claimed [Mandarin] AND/OR an array of alphanumeric characters arranged at least one second direction(s) and extending in the first such that the first and/or second ends of the characters would be different from each other [Noguichi].
Regarding claim 19, Choi Moon teaches a display panel for a display device, wherein the display panel comprises an active display area (All Figs. [AA]) and a peripheral non-active area comprising a plurality of metal power supply pad patterns (metal portions) spaced along at least one side of the peripheral non-display area [0033], wherein the opening comprising the key pattern is integral (multiplexed) with the power supply pad/wiring [0053-0054]. However, being connected to a flexible circuit board is not taught.
Saito teaches that it is known that in display apparatuses driven/powered electrical connections are made via flexible printed circuit using alignment marks [0004, 0031, 0065-0067].
It would have been obvious to and motivated for one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention for a display panel, especially an OLED display panel, to comprise a terminal having an alignment marker for multiplexed electrical connection to a flexible circuit board, which is already well-known in the conventional prior art.
Claims 1, 4-10, & 12-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Choi Moon et al. (KR 2015-0064277 A) (hereinafter “Choi Moon”) in view of Huang et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 2004/0084779 A1) (hereinafter “Huang”), and optionally English letters in Mandarin.
Regarding claims 1, 4-10, and 12-20, Choi Moon teaches a display panel for a display device, wherein the display panel comprises an active display area (All Figs. [AA]) and a peripheral non-active area comprising one or more metal power wirings and/or a plurality of metal power supply pad patterns (metal portions) spaced along at least one side of the peripheral non-display area [0033] having at least one opening defining a key pattern, not limited to but depicted as numbers, letters, symbols or a combination thereof, therein for any processes such as alignment, bonding, cutting, etc., improved over arranging it adjacent the wires/pads allowing for a narrow bezel [0012-0013, 0016-0020, 0034-0041]. This allows for the process keys to form first and second sub-lines defining interior first and second opposing edges/ends allowing for two second points flanking a single first point to be greater or less distance from the display (panel) area and be curved/wavy/zigzag [Fig. 3], wherein the markers are arranged along a first and/or third directions [Fig. 3] and may be rotationally symmetric (O-shaped).
However, the specific embodiment regarding a first embodiment comprising first marker comprising the plurality of first and second hollow portions as claimed and/or a second embodiment comprising at least two first markers as claimed, wherein:
Huang teaches a bonding pad for connecting to an external (flexible) printed wiring board, wherein during bonding a high stress can cause solid bonding pads to lift up or peel [0007, 0010], wherein at least one slot/opening/hole of any shape extending inward from at least one corner (Figs 2-3) and/or edge adjacent at least one corner (Fig. 4) and/or inner portion adjacent at least one corner (Fig. 5), wherein each pattern may be the same [0015, 0033] or different sizes or shapes [0015], wherein orientation may happen at any angle and may include zig-zag, curved, or wavy lines or be formed as alphanumeric characters of any language [0017], wherein while not explicitly set forth also includes Mandarin:
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to provide the characters included at bonding pads as openings/holes therein and comprising at least one complex character having the first and second hollows as claimed AND/OR an array of alphanumeric characters arranged at least one second direction(s) and extending in the first such that the first and/or second ends of the characters would be different from each other. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to form patterns usable for identification and increased adhesion and stress relief and/or interlocking of bonding materials [Huang; 0013].
Claims 1-10 & 12-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(a)(2) as anticipated by Qi et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 2022/0346291 A1) (hereinafter “Qi”), wherein claims 4-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Qi in view of Kim et al (U.S. Pub. No. 2019/0172790 A1) (hereinafter “Kim”).
Regarding claims 1-20, Qi teaches a display substrate for a display device comprising display area (All Figs. [1]) and a peripheral edge area (All Figs. [2]) for electrical connection to a driving circuit in the form of a chip on film via a plurality of bonding sub-areas (All Figs. [21]) comprising at least one reference signal terminal [0006, 0044], which may be further electrically coupled to at least a portion of a metal conductive antistatic layer [0004, 0033-0034] patterned to comprise a plurality of metal portions each comprising a plurality of through holes that may be in the form of multiple rectangular stripes differing size having curved first and second ends disposed in a first direction perpendicular to the edge of the display and extending in a second direction parallel to the edge of the display [0034, Fig. 2] or multiple rectangular stripes of differing size having curved first and second ends disposed in a second direction and extending in a first direction perpendicular to the display (wherein the further ends would have a plurality of different distances to the display due to the stepped outline of the bonding sub-area) [0034, not depicted], or combined in a mesh shape [0034], wherein a mesh-shape comprising both would inherently form a plurality of sub-lines forming a ladder- or lattice-like grid structure that would have a plurality of first and second hollow portions extending in both directions disposed along a first and second directions, the latter, lattice form also comprising disposition along a third diagonal direction, the third direction intersecting the first and second directions and any directions parallel thereto, wherein the first end and any internal hollow portions therein may be formed as stepped/zig-zap, having hollow portions/points different distances being further from and closer to the display area, and wherein the stripes are the same shape but different sizes and different distances to the display in both directions due to the stepped nature of the antistatic patterns.
In the event that the mesh/lattice shape set forth in Qi does not provide the first hollows would be arranged in a second direction intersecting a first direction (extending from the display area) and the second hollows would be arranged in a first, second, and/or third direction and extending in a second direction, intersecting first direction such that the distances of the second hollows to the display would be different:
Kim teaches a display panel for a display device having a display region and a non-display region comprising a plurality of marks that may be electrically connected to a power/sensing line, wherein the metal pattern may be an interconnected line pattern [0077], wherein the interconnected lines may further comprise openings that may also be formed during the metal patterning process connecting stripe areas between the parallel stripe lines, wherein the further openings are static electricity blocking parts preventing it from flowing into any electrically connected portion [0077-0079, 0094-0095, 0124-0126], and furthermore the openings may be disposed along a third diagonal direction.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention forming a static electricity block part to comprise perpendicular openings in a partially discontinuous stripe metal pattern that is connected to a power line in such a manner that the formed lattice shape would be formed of vertical and horizontal stripes. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to further comprise openings providing static electricity blocking parts extending in both directions [Kim].
Claims 1, 6-7, 9-10, & 13-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(a)(2) as anticipated by Liu et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 2022/0312592 A1) (hereinafter “Liu”).
Regarding claims 1, 6-7, 9-10, and 13-20, Liu teaches a display panel for a display device [0042, 0070] comprising a non-flexible or flexible [0069] base substrate (All Figs. [10]) having a display function area (All Figs. [Q1]) and a non-function/bonding area (All Figs. [Q2]) for connection to a flexible printed circuit [0042, 0065], wherein the non-functional/bonding area comprises a plurality of patterned metal connection terminals/pads spaced along the edge in a second direction [0002], each pad comprising a plurality of connected sub-pads that are branched (wider than a corresponding second sub-connection portion) and/or block-shaped (substantially the same width as a corresponding connection portion) such that a plurality of sub-lines define one or more gaps are formed therein that allows for adhesive material and bonding therein [0043, 0046, 0063], wherein the gaps may have curved/arc-shaped portions to reduce impedance change at corners [0051, 0062] and forming at least one end having a first point between two second points that are closer or further from the display area, wherein the gaps may be further divided in the second direction (forming first hollows) and/or the first direction (forming second hollows) by one or more second connection portions forming a plurality of gaps disposed along the first direction at least one being closer to the display panel (Figs. 6-7 [13]) and/or one or more third connection portions not be connected to the sub-pads (Figs. 8 [14]) forming first hollow portions extending in the first direction and one or more second hollow portions (only one depicted, but imagine Fig. 7 modified to reflect Fig. 8, rather than Fig. 6) extending in the second direction and arranged in the first direction such that they are different distances to the display area [0053-0055].
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu, as applied to claim 1 above, in view of Saito et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 2015/0029680 A1) (hereinafter “Saito”).
Regarding claim 8, a zig-zag line containing first and second sub-lines at the first end or opposing second end disposed in the first direction is not taught
Saito teaches a display panel comprising a display area and a peripheral end/edge area for electrically connection (multiplexed) to an external drive circuit comprising a flexible printed circuit [0004, 0086-0089], wherein a plurality (at least two) [0009] of metal [0083] terminals along the edge comprise a cut-out alignment mark [0007-0008, Fig. 3B [36]] having a rotationally symmetric “+”-shaped polygon having a plurality of sub-lines in the first direction (Y-axis) and second direction (X-axis) [0093-0094] such that first and second ends opposing in the first direction would define a zig-zag shape with one closer in distance to the display area than the other, wherein having the alignment mark form part of the terminal allows a narrower peripheral end portion [0008], wherein the x-axis positioning may be performed across a gap and spanning more than one terminal portion [Figs. 11A & 12A].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to provide an alignment feature within the gap that would have provided a component in the second direction, forming at least one zig-zag line at a first or second end. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to provide an alignment feature that would have allowed alignment in both the first and second directions [0093-0094].
Claims 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu, as applied to claim 1 above, optionally in view of Takenaka et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 2008/0117376 A1) (hereinafter “Takenaka”).
Regarding claim 12, one of ordinary could have imagined the same or different connection portion (connected or disconnected) (Figs. 6-7 [13] & Fig 8 [14]) arrangements replicated or in different combinations/positions regarding the three or more sub-pads (Figs. 9 & 12-13), which would have met the claimed limitations.
Alternatively, Takenaka teaches terminals of a flexible layer, wherein a normal terminal having multiple branches/sub-pads having gaps therebetween is improved by providing gaps having different lengths having first ends with different distances to the display among different terminals or within the same terminal (Fig. 10, Fig. 14), wherein disconnection due to bending/concentrated stresses can be prevented [0091].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to provide at least two first markers arranged in the second direction, each having first and second ends arranged in the first direction, wherein the distances of the first ends or the second ends of (third sublines thereof) to the display are different. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to prevent disconnection due to bending/concentrated stresses [0091].
Claims 1, 4, 6-10, & 12-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cho et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 2004/0085488 A1) (hereinafter “Cho”) in view of Liu et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 2022/0312592 A1) (hereinafter “Liu”), wherein claim 8 is further in view of Saito et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 2015/0029680 A1) (hereinafter “Saito”) and wherein claim 12 is further in view of Takenaka et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 2008/0117376 A1) (hereinafter “Takenaka”).
Regarding claims 1, 9, and 17-20, Cho teaches a display panel for a display device having a pixel/active/display region at least partially surrounded by a non-display region in a first direction [0016-0017], wherein the non-display region comprises a plurality of terminal pads for electrical connection/bonding to a drive circuit on a (adhesive) tape carrier (flexible circuit board) [0018] after a shorting bar is removed from electrical connection to the plurality of terminal pads by cutting along a cutting line [0027, 0084] in a scribe line margin defined by square or rectangular open portions in the form of slots (extending entirely to the shorting bar) [Figs. 4B & 5B] and/or holes (extending up to but not through an end of the pad in the first direction) [Figs. 4A & 5A] extending through the pad portions, which are made at least partially of metal [0073], wherein the shape of the open portions is not limited [0061] and opposing first and second ends of the slots/holes defining a scribe line margin (Fig. 7A [22]).
Regarding claims 4, 6-7, and 10-16, wherein the first hollow portions extending in the first direction and second hollow portions extending in the second direction, first markers arranged in the second direction having opposing ends in the first direction with corresponding ends of the first markers at different distances to the display panel, first markers arranged in the first direction with distances different to the display panel, or ends/sub-lines comprising curved lines are not taught.
Liu teaches a display panel for a display device [0042, 0070] comprising a non-flexible or flexible [0069] base substrate (All Figs. [10]) having a display function area (All Figs. [Q1]) and a non-function/bonding area (All Figs. [Q2]) for connection to a flexible printed circuit [0042, 0065], wherein the non-functional/bonding area comprises a plurality of patterned metal connection terminals/pads spaced along the edge in a second direction [0002], each pad comprising a plurality of connected sub-pads that are branched (wider than a corresponding second sub-connection portion) and/or block-shaped (substantially the same width as a corresponding connection portion) such that a plurality of sub-lines define one or more gaps are formed therein that allows for adhesive material and bonding therein [0043, 0046, 0063], wherein the gaps may have curved/arc-shaped portions to reduce impedance change at corners [0051, 0062] and forming at least one end having a first point between two second points that are closer or further from the display area, wherein the gaps may be further divided in the second direction (forming first hollows) and/or the first direction (forming second hollows) by one or more second connection portions forming a plurality of gaps disposed along the first direction at least one being closer to the display panel (Figs. 6-7 [13]) and/or one or more third connection portions not be connected to the sub-pads (Figs. 8 [14]) forming first hollow portions extending in the first direction and one or more second hollow portions (only one depicted) extending in the second direction [0053-0055], wherein the attached second connection portions increase attachment of the sub-pads to the substrate [0053-0054] and the unattached third connection portions increase adhesion of the adhesive [0055].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to provide at least one of (a) the first hollow portions extending in the first direction and second hollow portions extending in the second direction, (b) first markers arranged in the second direction having opposing ends in the first direction with corresponding ends of the first markers at different distances to the display panel, (c) first markers arranged in the first direction with distances different to the display panel, or (d) ends/sub-lines comprising curved lines. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to increase attachment of the sub-pads to the substrate [(b)/(c)], to increase adhesion of the adhesive (tape) (a), and/or to reduce impedance change at corners (d).
Regarding claim 8, a zig-zag line containing first and second sub-lines at the first end or opposing second end disposed in the first direction is not taught
Saito teaches a display panel comprising a display area and a peripheral end/edge area for electrically connection (multiplexed) to an external drive circuit comprising a flexible printed circuit [0004, 0086-0089], wherein a plurality (at least two) [0009] of metal [0083] terminals along the edge comprise a cut-out alignment mark [0007-0008, Fig. 3B [36]] having a rotationally symmetric “+”-shaped polygon having a plurality of sub-lines in the first direction (Y-axis) and second direction (X-axis) [0093-0094] such that first and second ends opposing in the first direction would define a zig-zag shape with one closer in distance to the display area than the other, wherein having the alignment mark form part of the terminal allows a narrower peripheral end portion [0008], wherein the x-axis positioning may be performed across a gap and spanning more than one terminal portion [Figs. 11A & 12A].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to provide an alignment feature within the gap that would have provided a component in the second direction, forming at least one zig-zag line at a first or second end. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to provide an alignment feature that would have allowed alignment in both the first and second directions [0093-0094].
Regarding claims 1 and 12, one of ordinary could have imagined the same or different connection portion (connected or disconnected) (Figs. 6-7 [13] & Fig 8 [14]) arrangements replicated or in different combinations/positions regarding the three or more sub-pads (Figs. 9 & 12-13), which would have met the claimed limitations.
Alternatively, Takenaka teaches terminals of a flexible layer, wherein a normal terminal having multiple branches/sub-pads having gaps therebetween is improved by providing gaps having different lengths having first ends with different distances to the display among different terminals or within the same terminal (Fig. 10, Fig. 14), wherein disconnection due to bending/concentrated stresses can be prevented [0091].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to provide at least two first markers arranged in the second direction, each having first and second ends arranged in the first direction, wherein the distances of the first ends or the second ends of (third sublines thereof) to the display are different. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to prevent disconnection due to bending/concentrated stresses [0091].
Claims 1, 12, & 14-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cho et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 2004/0085488 A1) (hereinafter “Cho”), as applied to claim 1 above, in view of Xiong et al. (CN 104991367 A) (hereinafter “Xiong”) AND Uehara et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 2009/0316080 A1) (hereinafter “Lin”) OR Shi et al. (CN 11522400 A) (hereinafter “Shi”), wherein claims 10 and 13 are further in view of Liu et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 2022/0312592 A1) (hereinafter “Liu”).
Regarding claims 1, 9, and 17-20, Cho teaches a display panel for a display device having a pixel/active/display region at least partially surrounded by a non-display region in a first direction [0016-0017], wherein the non-display region comprises a plurality of terminal pads for electrical connection/bonding to a drive circuit on a (adhesive) tape carrier (flexible circuit board) [0018] after a shorting bar is removed from electrical connection to the plurality of terminal pads by cutting along a cutting line [0027, 0084] in a scribe line margin defined by square or rectangular open portions in the form of slots (extending entirely to the shorting bar) [Figs. 4B & 5B] and/or holes (extending up to but not through an end of the pad in the first direction) [Figs. 4A & 5A] extending through the pad portions, which are made at least partially of metal [0073], wherein the shape of the open portions is not limited [0061] and opposing first and second ends of the slots/holes defining a scribe line margin (Fig. 7A [22]).
Further regarding claims 1 and regarding claims 12 and 14-16, wherein the first hollow portions extending in the first direction and second hollow portions extending in the second direction, first markers arranged in the second direction having opposing ends in the first direction with corresponding ends of the first markers at different distances to the display panel, first markers arranged in the first direction with distances different to the display panel.
Xiong teaches a display panel wherein terminals for electrical connection to a connecting line such as a chip on film are cut to match the size of an input interface [0004-0005], wherein the cutting is limited by at least two positioning marks, specifically upper and lower limiting marks defining a cutting margin [0013, 0019-0021, Fig. 1], wherein increasing the amount of marks to provide a central mark, or further increasing the amount of marks to form a (vernier) scale, further increases accuracy and ability to size [0047, 0057, 0059, 0065, 0076].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to provide openings forming margins of a cutting line as having protruding markers forming a scale-like shape in any of the sub-lines forming any of the ends of the slots and/or holes, which would form zig-zag lines, and optionally positioning different portions of the same end of the first marker or different ends of different first markers at different distances from the display region. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to provide the ability to increase dimensional accuracy by providing a scale like a ruler for easy measuring and sizing [Xiong].
Uehara teaches a large display panel comprising, improved over a conventional alignment mark, having improved size tolerance with a high accuracy, comprising one or more slant marks along the cut line, each cut mark including a plurality of parallel scale lines arranged at a increasing intervals from each other providing boundaries to the cut line in an easy to read manner [0012-0014, 0039, 0043-0044], wherein as applied to the holes of Cho/Xiong the holes would be provided with the cut line demonstrated as a dotted line:
AND
Shi teaches a display substrate having improved cutting accuracy, wherein while a linear scale works fine for cutting (Figs. 1-2), it is improved by providing markings on both sides (Figs. 8) that results in the markings being arranged in a third direction at a preset angle to the first and second directions, wherein any remaining markings can be used to determine of the cutting device is offset from a center, which can be done relatively quickly thanks to the angled layout [n0081-n0093], wherein as applied to the holes of Cho/Xiong the holes would be provided with the cut line demonstrated as a dotted line:
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to provide the plurality of markers as comprising different sizes with first and/or second ends at different distances to the display area according to the markers of Xiong. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to provide a more easily readable scale at multiple tolerance levels [Uehara] OR wherein the diagonal aspect would be easy to quickly determine in relations to an entirely linear (same size/distance) scale [Shi].
Regarding claims 10 and 13, first and second ends comprising curved lines or lines such that a first point with flanking second points at different distances to the display area are not taught.
Liu teaches a display panel for a display device [0042, 0070] comprising a non-flexible or flexible [0069] base substrate (All Figs. [10]) having a display function area (All Figs. [Q1]) and a non-function/bonding area (All Figs. [Q2]) for connection to a flexible printed circuit [0042, 0065], wherein the non-functional/bonding area comprises a plurality of patterned metal connection terminals/pads spaced along the edge in a second direction [0002], each pad comprising a plurality of connected sub-pads that are branched and/or block-shaped such that a plurality of sub-lines define one or more gaps are formed therein, wherein the gaps may have curved/arc-shaped portions to reduce impedance change at corners [0051, 0062].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to provide first and/or second ends comprising curved lines or lines such that a first point with flanking second points at different distances to the display area are not taught. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to reduce impedance changes at gaps in formed in the terminal pads [Liu].
Claims 1, 5-6, 8-10, 12, & 17-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cho et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 2004/0085488 A1) (hereinafter “Cho”), as applied to claim 1 above, in view of Xiong et al. (CN 104991367 A) (hereinafter “Xiong”) and Lin et al. (CN 103482862 A) (hereinafter “Lin”), wherein claims 4, 7, 10, and 13 are further in view of Liu et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 2022/0312592 A1) (hereinafter “Liu”).
Regarding claims 1, 9, and 17-20, Cho teaches a display panel for a display device having a pixel/active/display region at least partially surrounded by a non-display region in a first direction [0016-0017], wherein the non-display region comprises a plurality of terminal pads for electrical connection/bonding to a drive circuit on a (adhesive) tape carrier (flexible circuit board) [0018] after a shorting bar is removed from electrical connection to the plurality of terminal pads by cutting along a cutting line [0027, 0084] in a scribe line margin defined by square or rectangular open portions in the form of slots (extending entirely to the shorting bar) [Figs. 4B & 5B] and/or holes (extending up to but not through an end of the pad in the first direction) [Figs. 4A & 5A] extending through the pad portions, which are made at least partially of metal [0073], wherein the shape of the open portions is not limited [0061] and opposing first and second ends of the slots/holes defining a scribe line margin (Fig. 7A [22]).
Further regarding claims 1 and regarding claims 12 and 14-16, wherein the first hollow portions extending in the first direction and second hollow portions extending in the second direction, first markers arranged in the second direction having opposing ends in the first direction with corresponding ends of the first markers at different distances to the display panel, first markers arranged in the first direction with distances different to the display panel.
Xiong teaches a display panel wherein terminals for electrical connection to a connecting line such as a chip on film are cut to match the size of an input interface [0004-0005], wherein the cutting is limited by at least two positioning marks, specifically upper and lower limiting marks defining a cutting margin [0013, 0019-0021, Fig. 1], wherein increasing the amount of marks to provide a central mark, or further increasing the amount of marks to form a (vernier) scale, further increases accuracy and ability to size [0047, 0057, 0059, 0065, 0076].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to provide openings forming margins of a cutting line as having protruding markers forming a scale-like shape in any of the sub-lines forming any of the ends of the slots and/or holes, which would form zig-zag lines, and optionally positioning different portions of the same end of the first marker or different ends of different first markers at different distances from the display region. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to provide the ability to increase dimensional accuracy by providing a scale like a ruler for easy measuring and sizing [Xiong].
Lin teaches a display substrate having improved cutting accuracy over using a scale/vernier mark (Figs. 1-3) [0006] by providing a two-dimensional vernier marking having a stepped/zig-zag shape having first parts extending in a first direction and arranged in a second direction connected by second portions extending in a second direction and arranged in a third diagonal direction that allows for easy reading of a scale, saving operation time [0008, 0019], wherein as applied to the holes of Cho/Xiong the holes would be provided in a stepped/zig-zag configuration with the cut line demonstrated as a dotted line:
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to provide stepped/diagonally arranged connecting second portions between optionally stepped first portions in the first direction according to the markers of Xiong. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to provide a two-dimensional vernier scale with increased readability of scale marks [Lin].
Regarding claim 4, adjacent first hollow portions having different intervals along a second direction is not taught.
Liu teaches a display panel for a display device [0042, 0070] comprising a non-flexible or flexible [0069] base substrate (All Figs. [10]) having a display function area (All Figs. [Q1]) and a non-function/bonding area (All Figs. [Q2]) for connection to a flexible printed circuit [0042, 0065], wherein the non-functional/bonding area comprises a plurality of patterned metal connection terminals/pads spaced along the edge in a second direction [0002], each pad comprising a plurality of connected sub-pads that are branched and/or block-shaped such that a plurality of sub-lines define one or more gaps are formed therein, wherein the sub-pads may be formed at different widths/intervals (Fig. 13), wherein different widths allows for good electrical connection even if misalignment occurs [0049, 0060].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to provide different intervals between adjacent first hollow portions along a second direction. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to provide terminal sub-pads formed between gaps/openings with good electrical connection, even if misalignment occurs [Liu].
Regarding claims 7, 10, and 13, first and second ends comprising curved lines or lines such that a first point with flanking second points at different distances to the display area are not taught.
Liu teaches a display panel for a display device [0042, 0070] comprising a non-flexible or flexible [0069] base substrate (All Figs. [10]) having a display function area (All Figs. [Q1]) and a non-function/bonding area (All Figs. [Q2]) for connection to a flexible printed circuit [0042, 0065], wherein the non-functional/bonding area comprises a plurality of patterned metal connection terminals/pads spaced along the edge in a second direction [0002], each pad comprising a plurality of connected sub-pads that are branched and/or block-shaped such that a plurality of sub-lines define one or more gaps are formed therein, wherein the gaps may have curved/arc-shaped portions to reduce impedance change at corners [0051, 0062].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to provide first and/or second ends comprising curved lines or lines such that a first point with flanking second points at different distances to the display area are not taught. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to reduce impedance changes at gaps in formed in the terminal pads [Liu].
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to Applicant's disclosure: Tatsumi (U.S. Pub. No. 2002/0067456 A1) teaches terminals comprising multiple hollow markers extending in a first direction and arranged in a second/third direction, the first direction intersecting a second direction.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
If attempts to reach the Examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the Examiner’s supervisor, Frank J Vineis can be reached at (571)270-1547. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
/JEFFREY A VONCH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1781 March 19th, 2026