DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
This Office action is in response to amendment filed 7/11/2025.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Aoyama (US 2022/0012878 A1) in view of Arakita et al. (US 2018/0357767 A1, hereinafter Arakita).
Regarding claim 1, Aoyama discloses a medical image processing apparatus (figure 1, 100), comprising: processing circuitry (figure 1, 155) configured to: obtain a medical image related to a heart ([0055], the medical image processing apparatus is configured to extract a degree of a disease related to the heart, from the medical image); generate a polar map indicating myocardial function information based on the obtained medical image ([0113], display controlling function may display the FFR and/or the WSS by using polar coordinate display of segments of the myocardia); display, on a display, a plurality of blood vessel images respectively indicating a plurality of forms of blood vessels included in the heart so as to be superimposed on the polar map (figures 22-23 and [0209], when displaying the IVUS image or the intravascular OCT image, the display controlling function may display, in a superimposed manner, colors each indicating a corresponding WSS or FFR value in various positions in the blood vessel so as to be positioned around the blood vessel rendered in the IVUS image or the intravascular OCT image); receive an operation to designate a blood vessel of the plurality of blood vessels by selecting a blood vessel image from the plurality of blood vessel images on the polar map displayed on the display ([0117], the display controlling function receives, from the user, the operation to select the type of information to be displayed on the display from between the FFR and the WSS). Aoyama also teaches display controlling function identifies a blood vessel corresponding to the segment ([0113]), Aoyama differs from the claimed invention in not specifically teaching to identify information associated with the blood vessel designated by the operation; and cause the display to display the information associated with the blood vessel. However, Arakita teaches that detection function acquires morphological information regarding the heart of the subject from FFR image data and the display control function displays a display image illustrating an ischemic region and a value of FFR on the display such that the display control function may display label information, an area of the left ventricle, the core axis of the left ventricle, the direction of the right ventricle, and the like ([0047]) to improve an accuracy of morphological information about the heart of the subject. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Aoyama to identify information associated with the blood vessel designated by the operation; and cause the display to display the information associated with the blood vessel, as per teaching of Arakita, in order to improve an accuracy of morphological information about the heart of the subject.
Regarding claim 2, Aoyama teaches to identify whether or not treatment has been applied to the designated blood vessel, and the processing circuitry is configured to further display information indicating whether or not the treatment has been applied, together with the information associated with the blood vessel (figure 11 and [0129]-[0130], identifying function is configured to identify whether the imaging time of the coronary artery CT image of the subject obtained by the obtaining function was before the subject was treated or after the subject was treated).
Regarding claim 3, Aoyama teaches to further identify a type of a disease occurring in the designated blood vessel, and the processing circuitry is configured to further display information indicating the type of the disease, together with the information associated with the blood vessel ([0034], an extracting unit is configured to extract a degree of a disease related to the heart from a medical image and the display controlling unit is configured to display a first index value related to a blood vessel and calculated from one of blood pressure and a blood flow and configured to display when the degree of the disease related to the heart is high).
Regarding claim 4, Aoyama teaches to further obtain an intravascular image related to the designated blood vessel, and the processing circuitry is configured to further display the intravascular image together with the information associated with the blood vessel ([0209], the display controlling function may display, in a superimposed manner, colors each indicating a corresponding WSS or FFR value in various positions in the blood vessel so as to be positioned around the blood vessel rendered in the IVUS image or the intravascular OCT image when displaying the IVUS image or the intravascular OCT image).
Regarding claim 5, Aoyama teaches to obtain intravascular images before and after treatment, and the processing circuitry is further configured to display the intravascular images before and after the treatment, together with the information associated with the blood vessel ([0207] and [0129]-[0130], an intravascular ultrasound (IVUS) image taken by an ultrasound diagnosis apparatus, and identifying function is configured to identify whether the imaging time of the image of the subject obtained by the obtaining function was before the subject was treated or after the subject was treated).
Regarding claim 8, the limitations of the claim are rejected as the same reasons as set forth in claim 1.
Claims 6-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Aoyama (US 2022/0012878 A1) in view of Arakita et al. (US 2018/0357767 A1, hereinafter Arakita) as applied in claim 1 above, and further in view of Min et al. (US 2021/0209757 A1, hereinafter Min).
Regarding claim 6, the combination of Aoyama and Arakita differs from the claimed invention in not specifically disclosing to further determine a position of the designated blood vessel, and the processing circuitry is further configured to identify the blood vessel name of the designated blood vessel by comparing the determined position of the blood vessel with information in which positions of a plurality of blood vessels included in the heart are kept in correspondence with pieces of information associated with the plurality of blood vessels. However, Min teaches such (figures 6B and 6F, [0340] and [0345], the views in the other panels can be automatically updated to also show the vessel at that the selected location in the respective views when a location on the vessel in one panel is selected and information of the three-dimensional (3D) rendering of the coronary artery tree on the first panel that allows a user to view the vessels and modify the labels of a vessel) in order to enhance the information presented to a user and increase the efficiency of the analysis. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention in modify the combination of Aoyama and Arakita to further determine a position of the designated blood vessel, and the processing circuitry is further configured to identify the blood vessel name of the designated blood vessel by comparing the determined position of the blood vessel with information in which positions of a plurality of blood vessels included in the heart are kept in correspondence with pieces of information associated with the plurality of blood vessels, as per teaching of Min, in order to enhance the information presented to a user and increase the efficiency of the analysis.
Regarding claim 7, the combination of Aoyama and Arakita differs from the claimed invention in not specifically disclosing the information associated with the blood vessel that is identified by the processing circuitry is a blood vessel name of the blood vessel. However, Min teaches generating and displaying on the user interface a panel having a list of vessel segment names and indicating the current name of the selected vessel segment ([0018]) to enhance the information presented to a user. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention in modify the combination of Aoyama and Arakita in having the information associated with the blood vessel that is identified by the processing circuitry is a blood vessel name of the blood vessel, as per teaching of Min, in order to enhance the information presented to a user.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-8 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Ooga et al. (US 10,249,043 B2) discloses an identification circuitry identifying a latent variable of the dynamical model so that at least one of a prediction value of a blood vessel morphology and a prediction value of a bloodstream based on the temporarily structured dynamical model is in conformity with at least one of an observation value of the blood vessel morphology and an observation value of the bloodstream measured in advance (abstract and figure 5-8).
Sakaguchi et al. (US 2018/0092615 A1) discloses a medical information processing apparatus having a processing circuitry performing a fluid analysis on the obtained image data and calculates an index value related to a blood flow in the blood vessel with respect to each of a plurality of positions in the blood vessel (abstract and figure 7).
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/GEORGE ENG/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2699