Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. In claim 8, the “such as” is indefinite.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4, 6-7, 9 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Wright (US 5,205,614). In the embodiment shown in Fig. 6, Wright disclose an adjustable protective cap arrangement comprising: a main part (32) capable of surrounding a ball joint nut (17) having a central through hole to receive a portion of a stud (18); a cap part (26) connected to a smaller diameter end (46) of the main part wherein the cap part is threaded to the main part (at 16) so the axial position of the cap part relative to the main part would be capable of adjustment depending on how far the cap part is threaded onto the main part; and an annular plug-in part (54). The main part includes the thread to be an external thread and the cap part includes the thread to be on an internal surface; the hexagonal shape the cap part is read as a knurl; the plug-in part is a set screw which is receivable in the through hole and is surrounded by the main part with an end read as an internal surfaces with is configured to mate with an external surface of the nut provide an interfacing surface to provide a rotational lock when mated (column 3, lines 59-61). The protective cap is on a vehicle.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wright as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Nason (US 5,028,093). Wright discloses the main part to have the cap part connected at a first end (46), a second end (52) and, an intermediate part between the first and second ends but, does not disclose the second end with a larger diameter flange. Nason discloses a protective cap (10) with a larger diameter flange (24) at a second end. Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to provide the protective cap of Wright with a flange at a second end as disclosed in Nason to provide a seal against the wheel as discussed in Nason (column 2, lines 45-47).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 8 appears would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claims 10-14 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Cantrell (US 4,784,555), Swinderman (US 9,416,810) and Heintges (US 6,629,810) are cited to teach resilient plug-in parts. Cole (US 1,651,187) is cited to teach a knurl. Nadarajah (US 6,135,691) and Stevens (US 10,655,667) are cited to teach adjustable caps. Camisasca (US 8,051,690), D’Adamo (US 5,752,795) and Parenti (US 9,283,904) are cited to teach screw on caps parts to main parts.
/FLEMMING SAETHER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3675