Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, filed 10/16/2025, with respect to 1-20 have been fully considered and are persuasive. The 35 USC 102(a)(1) under Abedini et al (US 20240323931 A1) regarding claims 1-20 has been withdrawn.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 5/24/2023 has been reconsidered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Sahraei et al (US 20240106499 A1), hereinafter Sahraei.
Regarding claim 1, Sahraei discloses:
a method of operating a first electronic device to wirelessly communicate with a second electronic device via reflection off a third electronic device, the method comprising (Sahraei, para [0044], FIG. 1 illustrates an example wireless communication network 100 in which aspects of the present disclosure may be performed. For example, the wireless communication network 100 may be an NR system (e.g., a 5G NR network). As shown in FIG. 1, the wireless communication network 100 may be in communication with a core network 132. The core network 132 may in communication with one or more base station (BSs) 110a-z (each also individually referred to herein as BS 110 or collectively as BSs 110) and/or user equipment (UE) 120a-y (each also individually referred to herein as UE 120 or collectively as UEs 120) in the wireless communication network 100 via one or more interface) Examiner notes multiple user equipment a-y and includes up to at least three devices:
receiving, using a receiver, a first control signal from the third electronic device that identifies a first time (Sahraei, para [0045], According to certain aspects, the BS 110a, UE 120a, and RIS 130 may be configured for wireless communication techniques that account for slot structure configurations. As shown in FIG. 1, the BS 110a includes a RIS manager 112 that may be configured for transmitting one or more parameters corresponding to a time period for the RIS 130 to adapt to UE configuration information. The UE configuration information may be information for configuring the RIS 130 for RIS-assisted communication between the BS 110a and the UE 120a. In some examples, the one or more parameters include a number of symbols indicative of a duration of time. The RIS manager 112 may also be configured for transmitting, via the RIS 130 and separately from transmitting the one or more parameters, a control channel to the UE 120a scheduling communication of a data channel with the UE 120a via the RIS 130. The RIS manager 112 may also be configured for communicating, via the RIS 130, the data channel with the UE 120a the duration of time after transmitting the control channel to the UE 120a, in accordance with aspects of the present disclosure);
receiving, using one or more antennas at a second time subsequent to the first time (Sahraei, paras [0044-0045]),
a radio-frequency signal transmitted by the second electronic device and reflected off the third electronic device (Sahraei, para [0038], In general, any number of wireless networks may be deployed in a given geographic area. Each wireless network may support a particular radio access technology (RAT) and may operate on one or more frequencies. A RAT may also be referred to as a radio technology, an air interface, etc. A frequency may also be referred to as a carrier, a subcarrier, a frequency channel, a tone, a subband, etc. Each frequency may support a single RAT in a given geographic area in order to avoid interference between wireless networks of different RATs.) and (paras [0044-0045]);
and transmitting, using a transmitter, a second control signal that identifies a signal beam of the third electronic device associated with a duration between the first time and the second time (Sahraei, para [0051], FIG. 2 is a block diagram illustrating example components of a RIS 130, a BS 110a, and a UE 120 (e.g., UE 120a, UE 120r, UE 120) in a wireless communication network (e.g., wireless communication network 100 of FIG. 1), which may be used to implement aspects of the present disclosure. In some aspects of the disclosure, devices such as the BS 110a, RIS 130, and/or UE 120 may be configured for beamforming and/or MIMO technology. The use of such multiple antenna technology enables the wireless communication system to exploit the spatial domain to support spatial multiplexing, beamforming, and transmit diversity).
Regarding claim 2, Sahraei discloses:
the method of claim 1, further comprising (Sahraei, para [0044]):
conveying, after transmitting the second control signal, wireless data with the second electronic device via reflection off the third electronic device using the signal beam identified by the second control signal (Sahraei, para [0051]) and (para [0174], A UE may also be referred to as a mobile station, a terminal, an access terminal, a subscriber unit, a station, a Customer Premises Equipment (CPE), a cellular phone, a smart phone, a personal digital assistant (PDA), a wireless modem, a wireless communication device, a handheld device, a laptop computer, a cordless phone, a wireless local loop (WLL) station, a tablet computer, a camera, a gaming device, a netbook, a smartbook, an ultrabook, an appliance, a medical device or medical equipment, a biometric sensor/device, a wearable device such as a smart watch, smart clothing, smart glasses, a smart wrist band, smart jewelry (e.g., a smart ring, a smart bracelet, etc.), an entertainment device (e.g., a music device, a video device, a satellite radio, etc.), a vehicular component or sensor, a smart meter/sensor, industrial manufacturing equipment, a global positioning system device, or any other suitable device that is configured to communicate via a wireless or wired medium. Some UEs may be considered machine-type communication (MTC) devices or evolved MTC (eMTC) devices. MTC and eMTC UEs include, for example, robots, drones, remote devices, sensors, meters, monitors, location tags, etc., that may communicate with a BS, another device (e.g., remote device), or some other entity. A wireless node may provide, for example, connectivity for or to a network (e.g., a wide area network such as Internet or a cellular network) via a wired or wireless communication link. Some UEs may be considered Internet-of-Things (IoT) devices, which may be narrowband IoT (NB-IoT) devices).
Regarding claim 3, Sahraei discloses:
the method of claim 1, further comprising (Sahraei, para [0044]):
beginning, using the one or more antennas at the first time, to listen for radio-frequency signals transmitted by the second electronic device via reflection off the third electronic device (Sahraei, para [0049], The BSs 110 communicate with UEs 120 in the wireless communication network 100. The UEs 120 (e.g., 120x, 120y, etc.) may be dispersed throughout the wireless communication network 100, and each UE 120 may be stationary or mobile. Wireless communication network 100 may also include relay stations (e.g., active antenna unit relay station, RIS 130, etc.), also referred to as relays or the like, that receive a transmission of data and/or other information from an upstream station (e.g., a BS 110a or a UE 120r) and sends a transmission of the data and/or other information to a downstream station (e.g., a UE 120 or a BS 110), or that relays transmissions between UEs 120, to facilitate communication between devices) and (para [0051]).
Regarding claim 4, Sahraei discloses:
the method of claim 1 (Sahraei, para [0044]),
wherein transmitting the second control signal comprises transmitting the second control signal to the second electronic device (Sahraei, para [0051]) and (para, [0055], On the uplink, at UE 120, a transmit processor 264b may receive and process data (e.g., for the physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH)) from a data source 262b and control information (e.g., for the physical uplink control channel (PUCCH)) from the controller/processor 280b. The transmit processor 264b may also generate reference symbols for a reference signal (e.g., for the sounding reference signal (SRS)). The symbols from the transmit processor 264b may be precoded by a TX MIMO processor 266b if applicable, further processed by the modulators in transceivers 254ba-254bu (e.g., for SC-FDM, etc.), and transmitted to the BS 110a. At the BS 110a, the uplink signals from the UE 120a may be received by one or more antennas 252aa-252au, processed by one or more demodulators in transceivers 254aa-254au, detected by a MIMO detector 256a if applicable, and further processed by a receive processor 258a to obtain decoded data and control information sent by the UE 120. The receive processor 258a may provide the decoded data to a data sink 260a and the decoded control information to the controller/processor 280a).
Regarding claim 5, Sahraei discloses:
the method of claim 1 (Sahraei, para [0044]),
wherein transmitting the second control signal comprises transmitting the second control signal to the third electronic device, the method further comprising (Sahraei, paras [0051], [0055], and [0174]):
using the second control signal to control antenna elements on the third electronic device to form the signal beam associated with the duration between the first time and the second time (Sahraei, para [0044]) and (para [0064], FIG. 4 is a block diagram conceptually illustrating an example method of communication between a BS and two UEs, in accordance with certain aspects of the present disclosure. In this example, a BS 110a is in communication with a first UE 404 and a second UE 402 (e.g., any one or more of UE 120, UE 120r, UE 120a of FIG. 1). However, in this example, a blockage 408 prevents the BS 110a from having a clear line of sight to the second UE 402 for wireless communication.
[0065] Accordingly, the RIS 130 may be utilized to extend wireless communication between the BS 110a and the second UE 402 so that the blockage 408 no longer prevents communication. Here, the BS 110a transmits a first signal 414a (e.g., in a directional beam) to the RIS 130. The RIS 130 can then use phase shifting at the surface of the RIS 130 to generate a reflected signal 414b in a particular direction. In this example, the reflected signal 414b is a directional reflection of the first signal 414a produced by the RIS 130).
Regarding claim 6, Sahraei discloses:
the method of claim 1 (Sahraei, para [0044]),
wherein receiving the radio-frequency signal comprises receiving the radio-frequency signal using a first radio access technology (RAT) and transmitting the second control signal comprises transmitting the second control signal using a second RAT that is different from the first RAT (Sahraei, para [0038], In general, any number of wireless networks may be deployed in a given geographic area. Each wireless network may support a particular radio access technology (RAT) and may operate on one or more frequencies. A RAT may also be referred to as a radio technology, an air interface, etc. A frequency may also be referred to as a carrier, a subcarrier, a frequency channel, a tone, a subband, etc. Each frequency may support a single RAT in a given geographic area in order to avoid interference between wireless networks of different RATs.).
Regarding claim 7, Sahraei discloses:
the method of claim 6 (Sahraei, para [0044]),
wherein the radio-frequency signal is at a frequency greater than or equal to 100 GHz (Sahraei, para [0041], The electromagnetic spectrum is often subdivided, based on frequency/wavelength, into various classes, bands, channels, etc. In 5G NR two initial operating bands have been identified as frequency range designations FR1 (410 MHz-7.125 GHz) and FR2 (24.25 GHz-52.6 GHz). The frequencies between FR1 and FR2 are often referred to as mid-band frequencies. Although a portion of FR1 is greater than 6 GHz, FR1 is often referred to (interchangeably) as a “Sub-6 GHz” band in various documents and articles. A similar nomenclature issue sometimes occurs with regard to FR2, which is often referred to (interchangeably) as a “millimeter wave” band in documents and articles, despite being different from the extremely high frequency (EHF) band (30 GHz-300 GHz) which is identified by the International Telecommunications Union (ITU) as a “millimeter wave” band).
Regarding claim 8, Sahraei discloses:
the method of claim 1, further comprising (Sahraei, para [0044]):
receiving, using the one or more antennas at a third time subsequent to the second time, an additional radio-frequency signal transmitted by the second electronic device and reflected off the third electronic device (Sahraei, paras [0049], [0064-0065] and [0174]),
wherein the signal beam is associated with an additional duration between the first time and the third time (Sahraei, para [0044]) Examiner notes that one of ordinary skill in the art understands that beam sweeping (or synchronization) are fundamental to 5G NR and 6G.
Regarding claim 9, Sahraei discloses:
the method of claim 8, further comprising (Sahraei, para [0044]):
controlling the third electronic device to sweep over a set of signal beams of antenna elements on the third electronic device (Sahraei, paras [0051] and [0174]),
the additional radio-frequency signals being received while the third electronic device sweeps over the set of signal beams (Sahraei, paras [0051] and [0174]).
Regarding claim 10, Sahraei discloses:
the method of claim 9 (Sahraei, para [0044]),
wherein controlling the third electronic device to sweep over the set of signal beams comprises controlling the third electronic device to sweep over the set of signal beams when a timing uncertainty between the first electronic device and the third electronic device exceeds a threshold value (Sahraei, para [0063], In NR, a synchronization signal block (SSB) is transmitted. In certain aspects, SSBs may be transmitted in a burst where each SSB in the burst corresponds to a different beam direction for UE-side beam management (e.g., including beam selection and/or beam refinement). The SSB includes a PSS, a SSS, and a two symbol PBCH. The SSB can be transmitted in a fixed slot location, such as the symbols 0-3 as shown in FIG. 3. The PSS and SSS may be used by UEs for cell search and acquisition. The PSS may provide half-frame timing, the SS may provide the CP length and frame timing. The PSS and SSS may provide the cell identity. The PBCH carries some basic system information, such as downlink system bandwidth, timing information within radio frame, SS burst set periodicity, system frame number, etc. The SSBs may be organized into SS bursts to support beam sweeping. Further system information such as, remaining minimum system information (RMSI), system information blocks (SIB s), other system information (OSI) can be transmitted on a physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) in certain subframes. The SSB can be transmitted up to sixty-four times, for example, with up to sixty-four different beam directions for mmWave. The multiple transmissions of the SSB are referred to as a SS burst set. SSBs in an SS burst set may be transmitted in the same frequency region, while SSBs in different SS bursts sets can be transmitted at different frequency region).
Regarding claim 11, Sahraei discloses:
the method of claim 9 (Sahraei, para [0044]),
wherein the set of signal beams is selected based on the radio-frequency signal received at the second time (Sahraei, paras [0044] and [0063]).
Regarding claim 12, Sahraei discloses:
the method of claim 1 (Sahraei, para [0044]),
wherein receiving the radio-frequency signal comprises receiving the radio-frequency signal while the third electronic device sweeps over a set of signal beams, the method further comprising (Sahraei, paras [0044] and [0063]):
identifying, using one or more processors, the signal beam based on the duration and an additional duration with which the third electronic device forms each signal beam in the set of signal beams during the sweep over the set of signal beams by the third electronic device (Sahraei, para [0055]) and (para [0059], Antennas 252aa, processors 266a, 258a, 264a, and/or controller/processor 280a of the BS 110a may be used to perform the various techniques and methods described herein. For example, as shown in FIG. 2, the controller/processor 280a of the BS 110a has a RIS manager 112 configured for transmitting one or more parameters corresponding to a time period for the RIS 130 to adapt to UE configuration information, the UE configuration information for configuring the RIS 130 for RIS-assisted communication between the BS 110a and the UE 120, the one or more parameters comprising a number of symbols indicative of a duration of time. The RIS manager 112 may also be configured for transmitting, via the RIS 130 and separate from transmitting the one or more parameters, a control channel to the UE 120 scheduling communication of a data channel with the UE 120 via the RIS 130. The RIS manager 112 may also be configured for communicating, via the RIS 130, the data channel with the UE 120 the duration of time after transmitting the control channel to the UE 120).
Regarding claim 13, Sahraei discloses:
the method of claim 1 (Sahraei, para [0044]),
wherein the one or more antennas form part of a phased antenna array and wherein receiving the radio-frequency signal comprises receiving (Sahraei, para [0055]),
using the phased antenna array (Sahraei, para [0055]),
the radio-frequency signal while the third electronic device sweeps over a set of signal beams, the method further comprising (Sahraei, para [0044] and [[0051]):
sweeping the phased antenna array over a set of receive signal beams formable by the phased antenna array (Sahraei, para [0054], At the UE 120, the antennas 252ba-252bu may receive the downlink signals from the BS 110a via the RIS 130, and may provide received signals to the demodulators (DEMODs) in transceivers 254ba-254bu, respectively. Each demodulator may condition (e.g., filter, amplify, downconvert, and digitize) a respective received signal to obtain input samples. Each demodulator may further process the input samples (e.g., for OFDM, etc.) to obtain received symbols. A MIMO detector 256b may obtain received symbols from all the demodulators, perform MIMO detection on the received symbols if applicable, and provide detected symbols. A receive processor 258b may process (e.g., demodulate, deinterleave, and decode) the detected symbols, provide decoded data for the UE 120 to a data sink 260b, and provide decoded control information to a controller/processor 280b) and (paras [0063-0065]),
wherein the phased antenna array forms each receive signal beam in the set of receive signal beams concurrent with the third electronic device forming each signal beam in the set of signal beams during the sweep over the set of signal beams by the third electronic device (Sahraei, paras [0054] and [0063-0065]).
Regarding claim 14, Sahraei discloses:
a method of operating a first electronic device to reflect radio-frequency signals between a second electronic device and a third electronic device, the method comprising (Sahraei, paras [0044] and [0174]):
sweeping an array of antenna elements over a first set of signal beams concurrent with the array of antenna elements reflecting radio-frequency signals transmitted by the second electronic device (Sahraei, paras [0063-0065]);
after sweeping the array of antenna elements over the first set of signal beams (Sahraei, paras [0063-0065]),
sweeping the array of antenna elements over a second set of signal beams concurrent with the array of antenna elements reflecting the radio-frequency signals transmitted by the second electronic device (Sahraei, paras [0063-0065]);
and receiving, using a receiver after sweeping the array of antenna elements over the second set of signal beams (Sahraei, paras [0063-0065]),
a control signal that identifies a signal beam from the first and second sets of signal beams that overlaps the third electronic device (Sahraei, Fig. 5 separates groups 501a-d and para [0067], FIG. 5 is a block diagram conceptually illustrating an example method of communication between a BS 110a and multiple UEs (e.g., UEs 504-510) via a RIS 130, in accordance with certain aspects of the present disclosure. In this example, the RIS 130 includes an array of reflective elements partitioned into four separate groups: a first group 502a, a second group 502b, a third group 502c, and a fourth group 502d. It should be noted that while each of the partitioned groups are illustrated as comprising adjacent sets of reflective elements, each group of reflective elements may alternatively be comprised of one or more reflective elements that are not adjacent to another one or more reflective elements of the same group).
Regarding claim 15, Sahraei discloses:
the method of claim 14, further comprising (Sahraei, para [0044]):
configuring, using adjustable devices, the array of antenna elements to form the signal beam identified by the control signal (Sahraei, para [0141], Implementation examples are described in the following numbered clauses: [0142] Aspect 1: A method of wireless communication by a base station (BS), the method comprising: transmitting one or more parameters corresponding to a time period for a reconfigurable intelligent surface (RIS) to adapt to user equipment (UE) configuration information, the UE configuration information for configuring the RIS for RIS-assisted communication between the BS and a UE, the one or more parameters comprising a number of symbols indicative of a duration of time; transmitting, via the RIS and separately from transmitting the one or more parameters, a control channel to the UE scheduling communication of a data channel with the UE via the RIS; and communicating, via the RIS, the data channel with the UE the duration of time after transmitting the control channel to the UE. [0143] Aspect 2: The method of aspect 1, wherein the UE configuration information comprises a phase shift parameter configured to adjust a phase of one or more reflective elements of the RIS);
and reflecting, using the array of antenna elements and the signal beam, wireless data between the first electronic device and the second electronic device (Sahraei, paras [0063-0065]).
Regarding claim 16, Sahraei discloses:
the method of claim 14 (Sahraei, para [0044]),
wherein the first set of signal beams includes a coarse set of signal beams and the second set of signal beams includes a fine set of signal beams (Sahraei, para [0039], The techniques described herein may be used for various wireless networks and radio technologies. While aspects may be described herein using terminology commonly associated with 3G, 4G, and/or new radio (e.g., 5G NR) wireless technologies, aspects of the present disclosure can be applied in other generation-based communication systems) Examiner notes that one of ordinary skill in the art understands that coarse-to-fine beam training is a core component for 5F New Radio (NR).
Regarding claim 17, Sahraei discloses:
the method of claim 14 (Sahraei, para [0044]),
wherein the second set of signal beams includes a subset of the first set of signal beams (Sahraei, para [0039]) Examiner notes that one of ordinary skill in that understands that hierarchical beamforming is also an essential component of technologies such as 5G NR and 6G.
Regarding claim 18, Sahraei discloses:
the method of claim 14 (Sahraei, para [0044]),
wherein sweeping the array of antenna elements over the first set of signal beams includes sweeping the array of antenna elements over the signal beams in the first set of signal beams in a first order (Sahraei, paras [0039] and [0063]),
and sweeping the array of antenna elements over the second set of signal beams includes sweeping the array of antenna elements over the signal beams in the first set of signal beams in a second order that is a reverse of the first order (Sahraei, paras [0039] and [0063]) Examiner notes that one of ordinary skill in the art understands that 5G New Radio (NR) and 6G implement beam sweeping and user equipment and gNB perform reverse sweeping.
Claim 19 is rejected under the same analysis as claim 6.
Regarding claim 20, Sahraei discloses:
a user equipment device comprising (Sahraei, paras [0044] and [0174]):
a phased antenna array configured to listen, beginning at a first time, for radio-frequency signals transmitted by a wireless access point and reflected off a reconfigurable intelligent surface (RIS) concurrent with a sweep by the RIS over a set of signal beams formable by antenna elements on the RIS (Sahraei, paras [0055] and [0063-0065]),
and receive, at a second time subsequent to the first time, the radio-frequency signals transmitted by the wireless access point and reflected off the RIS (Sahraei, para [0077], During initial access, the BS 110a may also determine a RIS configuration time interval, or “gap time.” That is, the BS 110a may determine an amount of time required by the RIS 130 to adapt its reflective elements to a particular phase angle provided by the BS 110a. In one example, the BS 110a may determine the gap time by configuring the RIS 130 with a first phase angle directed away from the BS 110a, then configuring the RIS 130 with a phase angle directed to the BS 110a and timing how long it takes for the RIS 130 to reflect a continuously transmitted signal from the BS 110a back to the BS 110a.
[0078] The BS 110a may also establish initial access with the UE 120 at the first block 802. During initial access, the BS 110a may provide the UE 120 with an indication of the gap time. For example, the BS 110a may communicate the indication to the UE 120 via a system information message (e.g., master information block (MIB), system information block (SIB), other system information (OSI), or any other suitable system information message). In certain aspects, the indication of the gap time may be a provided to the UE 120 in the resolution of symbols (e.g., a number of symbols) or as a function of a number of symbols. However, as discussed, the time duration of the number of symbols is relative to the subcarrier spacing (SCS) used to determine the gap time. Thus, the UE 120 needs to have an SCS point of reference in order to compute the gap time from the number of symbols it receives in the system information message);
and one or more processors configured to select a signal beam from the set of signal beams based on a time period between the first time and the second time and based on a predetermined timing of the sweep by the RIS over the set of signal beams (Sahraei, para [0062], FIG. 3 is a diagram showing an example of a frame format 300 for NR. The transmission timeline for each of the downlink and uplink may be partitioned into units of radio frames. Each radio frame may have a predetermined duration (e.g., 10 ms) and may be partitioned into 10 subframes, each of 1 ms, with indices of 0 through 9. Each subframe may include a variable number of slots (e.g., 1, 2, 4, 8, 16, . . . slots) depending on the SCS. Each slot may include a variable number of symbol periods (e.g., 7, 12, or 14 symbols) depending on the SCS. The symbol periods in each slot may be assigned indices. A sub-slot structure may refer to a transmit time interval having a duration less than a slot (e.g., 2, 3, or 4 symbols). Each symbol in a slot may be configured for a link direction (e.g., DL, UL, or flexible) for data transmission and the link direction for each subframe may be dynamically switched. The link directions may be based on the slot format. Each slot may include DL/UL data as well as DL/UL control information) and (paras [0063-0065]),
and transmit, to the wireless access point, a control signal that identifies the selected signal beam (Sahraei, paras [0077-0078])
References Cited but not Relied Upon
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure as thus:
Bell et al US 9876536 B1 discloses systems and methods for assigning groups of antennas to transmit wireless power to different wireless power receivers
Cao US 20210297126 A1 discloses coarse-to-fine beam training
Cezanne et al US 10911128 B2 discloses hierarchical beam search
Ellenbeck et al US 20210243713 A1 discloses methods and devices for communication in device-to-device networks
Lee et al US 20220311285 A1 discloses wireless power transmission device transmitting charging power to wireless power receiving device and method of operating
Yu et al US 20210329562 A1 discloses user equipment comprising RF circuitry (and RAT ie 5G NR)
Yu et al US 11463212 B2 discloses methods of frequency domain intra-orthogonal frequency division multiplexing (OFDM) symbol multi RX-beam measurements and dynamic RX beam sweeping (and RAT such as WiFi, mmWave, Bluetooth, 5G)
Conclusion
/KIMBERLY JENKINS/ Examiner, Art Unit 3648
/VLADIMIR MAGLOIRE/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3648