The claims received 3/13/2026 are entered. Claims 8-10, 13, and 16-17 are cancelled.
Claim Interpretation
The phrase “expansion element” (claim 19) combines the nonce term “element” with the function of “expansion” the phrase is interpreted under 35 USC §112(f) as and corresponds to a fixed orifice or adjustable expansion device ([0031]). The limitation is interpreted as the same or equivalents thereof.
Claim Objections
Claims 1 and 19 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Regarding claims 1 and 19, applicant is reminded of MPEP 1.75 which states “Where a claim sets forth a plurality of elements or steps, each element or step of the claim should be separated by a line indentation.”
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 3-7, 11-12, 14-15, 18, and 21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as anticipated by Tsuboi et al (US 2007/0277549) in view of Oh et al (US 11,993,134), and alternatively in further view of Calderone (US 11,440,376).
Regarding claim 1, Tsuboi discloses a module configured for installation in a thermal management system having a refrigerant circuit configured to be operable in a heat pump mode, the module comprising:
a bracket (8, 38, and 86);
an internal heat exchanger (18) removably attached to the bracket (with bolt 80), the internal heat exchanger including a high-pressure side and a low-pressure side;
an evaporator (22) attached to the bracket (attached by flange 56); and
an accumulator (24) attached to the bracket, wherein the module is configured to include a first flow of a refrigerant flowing through a first flow path of the module passing through the high-pressure side of the internal heat exchanger (18a) and a second flow of the refrigerant flowing through a second flow path of the module passing through, in an order of the second flow, the evaporator (22), the accumulator (24), and the low- pressure side of the internal heat exchanger (18b; flow order shown in figure 1) when the module is installed in the thermal management system and the refrigerant circuit is operable in the heat pump mode.
wherein the thermal management system further comprises a first module fluid line (73 and 64 within 56) connecting the evaporator to the accumulator along the second flow path,
a second module fluid line (path 64 within 82) connecting the accumulator to the low-pressure side of the internal heat exchanger, and
wherein the first module fluid line includes at least one of a greater length than the second module fluid line and/or a greater number of changes in flow direction therealong than the second module fluid line to result in a pressure drop experienced by the refrigerant when passing through the first module fluid line being greater than a pressure drop experienced by the refrigerant when passing through the second module fluid line. The paths 64 within 56 and 82 are of similar arrangement and thus of similar length; the first module line further includes 73 and thus is of overall greater length.
Tsuboi lacks the evaporator has an inner cover directly attached to the bracket. Oh discloses a module configured for installation in a thermal management system including a bracket (60 or 80) and an evaporator (40) including a heat exchange portion where heat is exchanged between a refrigerant of the refrigerant circuit and a coolant passing through the evaporator (6:31-32), wherein the heat exchanging portion is delimited in a first direction by an inner cover of the evaporator, wherein the inner cover is directly attached to the bracket. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have provided Tsuboi with the evaporator mounting arrangement and coolant exchange of Oh in order to create a more compact arrangement and to reduce refrigerant line length by utilizing coolant for heat exchange with cabin air.
Further regarding the relative positioning of the evaporator and internal heat exchanger; it has been held that an “obvious to try” rationale when choosing from a finite number of identified, predictable solutions, with a reasonable expectation of success is a support for a conclusion of obviousness which is consistent with the proper "functional approach" to the determination of obviousness as laid down in Graham, if the following findings can be established: (1) a finding that at the time of the invention, there had been a recognized problem or need in the art, which may include a design need or market pressure to solve a problem; (2) a finding that there had been a finite number of identified, predictable potential solutions to the recognized need or problem; (3) a finding that one of ordinary skill in the art could have pursued the known potential solutions with a reasonable expectation of success; and (4) whatever additional findings based on the Graham factual inquiries may be necessary, in view of the facts of the case under consideration, to explain a conclusion of obviousness. See MPEP § 2143(I) (E).
In the instant case, and as per (1), it should be noted that components of the system require mounting in some manner. As per (2), based on the above, one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that there are only three potential solutions to the relative mounting of the evaporator and internal heat exchanger: the evaporator below the internal heat exchanger, the internal heat exchanger below the evaporator, or a same height. As per (3), one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that providing the evaporator below the internal heat exchanger would have not yielded unpredictable results, since relative positioning does not alter heat exchanger function and would not change the principles of operation of the prior art, nor would it render the prior art inoperable for its intended purpose. As per (4), one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that the providing the evaporator below the internal heat exchanger would not alter usability as utilizing a coolant to route capacity to/from the cabin allows for independence of mounting.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have provided the evaporator at a position below the internal heat exchanger, as a matter of trying a finite number of predictable solutions, in order to securely mount the components, without yielding unpredictable results.
Further regarding the components being “attached”; as discussed above the relevant components of Tsuboi are attached. Nonetheless, Calderone is provided who discloses a manifold for a refrigerant cycle within a vehicle. Calderone discloses “Any and/or all elements, as disclosed herein, can be formed from a same, structurally continuous piece, such as being unitary, and/or be separately manufactured and/or connected, such as being an assembly and/or modules. Any and/or all elements, as disclosed herein, can be manufactured via any manufacturing processes, whether additive manufacturing, subtractive manufacturing, and/or other any other types of manufacturing. For example, some manufacturing processes include three dimensional (3D) printing, laser cutting, computer numerical control routing, milling, pressing, stamping, vacuum forming, hydroforming, injection molding, lithography, and so forth.” (14:40-51). The chiller 226, which is an evaporator, may be brazed to the manifold/bracket 202. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have provided the components in an “attached” manner as taught by Calderone in order to reduce complexity and facilitate serviceability as discussed in the background and summary of Calderone.
Regarding claim 6, Tsuboi discloses a temperature of the first flow of the refrigerant is greater within the internal heat exchanger than a temperature of the second flow of the refrigerant therein ([0040)].
Regarding claim 7, Tsuboi discloses the second flow path (the second flow path includes 22, 24, and 18b) of the module is disposed downstream of the first flow path (18a) of the module with respect to a flow of the refrigerant through the refrigerant circuit when operable in the heat pump mode.
Regarding claim 11, Tsuboi discloses the evaporator is non-removably attached to the bracket (as discussed in the modification in view of Calderone the connection may include brazed and other unitary type connections and thus are non-removable).
Regarding claim 12, Tsuboi discloses the internal heat exchanger (18) is provided as a submodule of the module that is removably attached (figure 4 shows the IHX being detached) to the bracket to facilitate testing of the internal heat exchanger independently of the evaporator and the accumulator. The facilitation of testing is a function of the detachability; the "manner of operating the device does not differentiate apparatus from the prior art" And “apparatus claims cover what a device is, not what a device does” MPEP 2114. Absent distinguishing structure, a mere functional limitation is not sufficient to define over the prior art.
Regarding claim 14, Tsuboi as modified discloses the module of claim 1, but lacks a nonremovable connection of the evaporator. However it has been held that it is obvious to make elements integral as a matter of design choice. MPEP2144.04. In this instance it would have been obvious to have provided the evaporator integral with the bracket in order to reduce the number of parts and thereby speed assembly. Additionally Tsuboi lacks the relative positioning of the internal heat exchanger, evaporator, and accumulator at the bracket. However it has been held that the mere rearrangement of parts is an obvious matter of design choice. MPEP2144.04. In this instance providing the respective elements at sides of the bracket, as claimed, facilitates a compact arrangement that is easily mountable within a vehicle.
Regarding claim 15, Tsuboi as modified discloses the second flow path includes a first module fluid line (73, 64, and 50) provided as a pipe or hose connecting an outlet of the evaporator (22) to an inlet of the accumulator (24) via a routing of the first module fluid line around the bracket with the first face of the bracket facing towards a first portion of the first fluid line and the second face of the bracket facing towards a second portion of the first module fluid line.
Regarding claim 18, Tsuboi discloses the accumulator includes an attachment portion (92) extending outwardly from an outer circumferential surface of a cylindrical portion thereof, wherein the attachment portion is configured to be attached to the bracket ([0064]).
Regarding claim 21, Tsuboi discloses a module configured for installation in a thermal management system having a refrigerant circuit configured to be operable in a heat pump mode, the module comprising:
a bracket (8, 38, and 86);
an internal heat exchanger (18) attached to the bracket (with bolt 80), the internal heat exchanger including a high-pressure side and a low-pressure side;
an evaporator (22) attached to the bracket (attached by flange 56); and
an accumulator (24) attached to the bracket, wherein the module is configured to include a first flow of a refrigerant flowing through a first flow path of the module passing through the high-pressure side of the internal heat exchanger (18a) and a second flow of the refrigerant flowing through a second flow path of the module passing through, in an order of the second flow, the evaporator (22), the accumulator (24), and the low- pressure side of the internal heat exchanger (18b; flow order shown in figure 1) when the module is installed in the thermal management system and the refrigerant circuit is operable in the heat pump mode;
a first module fluid line (73 and 64 within 56) connecting the evaporator (22) to the accumulator (24) along the second flow path, wherein the refrigerant flows downwardly through the evaporator with respect to a vertical direction when approaching an inlet into the first fluid line, wherein the first fluid line extends upwardly with respect to the vertical direction for attachment to an upper end of the accumulator (24), and wherein the refrigerant tis partially liquid and partially gaseous in phase when reaching the inlet into the first fluid line (the state of the refrigerant is a function of the operation of the system, the "manner of operating the device does not differentiate apparatus from the prior art" And “apparatus claims cover what a device is, not what a device does” MPEP 2114. Absent distinguishing structure, a mere functional limitation is not sufficient to define over the prior art.); and
a second module fluid line (path 64 within 82) connecting the accumulator to the low-pressure side of the internal heat exchanger (18), wherein the refrigerant exits the upper end of the accumulator (from line 51) and then flows through the second fluid line while exclusively in gaseous phase, wherein the first module fluid line includes at least one of a greater length than the second module fluid line and/or a greater number of changes in flow direction therealong than the second module fluid line to result in a pressure drop experienced by the refrigerant when passing through the first module fluid line being greater than a pressure drop experienced by the refrigerant when passing through the second module fluid line. The paths 64 within 56 and 82 are of similar arrangement and thus of similar length; the first module line further includes 73 and thus is of overall greater length.
Tsuboi lacks the inlet to the first fluid line is “disposed at a bottom end of the evaporator” rather the refrigerant exit of the evaporator is at a mid-point in the height of the evaporator. Oh discloses an evaporator outlet (42) at a bottom thereof which connects to a top of the accumulator (at 51). The analysis of Oh found at claim 1 is also imported here. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have provided Tsuboi with an outlet at the bottom of the evaporator as taught by Oh in order to provide for a more compact arrangement.
Further regarding the components being “attached”; as discussed above the relevant components of Tsuboi are attached. Nonetheless, Calderone is provided who discloses a manifold for a refrigerant cycle within a vehicle. Calderone discloses “Any and/or all elements, as disclosed herein, can be formed from a same, structurally continuous piece, such as being unitary, and/or be separately manufactured and/or connected, such as being an assembly and/or modules. Any and/or all elements, as disclosed herein, can be manufactured via any manufacturing processes, whether additive manufacturing, subtractive manufacturing, and/or other any other types of manufacturing. For example, some manufacturing processes include three dimensional (3D) printing, laser cutting, computer numerical control routing, milling, pressing, stamping, vacuum forming, hydroforming, injection molding, lithography, and so forth.” (14:40-51). The chiller 226, which is an evaporator, may be brazed to the manifold/bracket 202. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have provided the components in an “attached” manner as taught by Calderone in order to reduce complexity and facilitate serviceability as discussed in the background and summary of Calderone.
Claim(s) 2-5, 19-20, and 22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tsuboi et al (US 2007/0277549), in view of Oh et al (US 11,993,134), in view of Calderone (US 11,440,376), and in further view of Kadle et al (US 8,899,062).
Regarding claim 2, Tsuboi discloses the module of Claim 1, but lacks coolant. Kadle discloses a flow of a coolant flowing through a third flow path of the module passing through the evaporator (110) when the module is installed in the thermal management system, the flow of the coolant configured to exchange heat with the second flow of the refrigerant within the evaporator. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have provided Tsuboi with the coolant/chiller arrangement as taught by Kadle in order to reduce the length of refrigerant lines (6:1-17).
Regarding claim 3, Tsuboi and Kadle disclose wherein the thermal management system includes a coolant circuit conveying the coolant therethrough, wherein the coolant circuit includes a heat generating component transferring heat to the coolant (Kadle discloses battery, motors, inverters, etc. as heat generating components cooled by the coolant).
Regarding claim 4, Tsuboi is silent concerning the coolant is liquid water. The examiner takes official notice that coolants are old and well known to utilize water, such as water alone or aqueous solutions such as ethylene glycol. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have utilized water as a coolant, alone or with an aqueous solution, in order to take advantage of water’s low cost and high rate of heat transfer.
Regarding claim 5, Tsuboi discloses the first flow path, the second flow path, and the third flow path are provided independently of each other within the module.
Regarding claim 19, Tsuboi discloses a thermal management system for a vehicle, the thermal management system comprising:
a refrigerant circuit having, in an order of flow of a refrigerant therethrough during a heat pump mode, a compressor (14), a condenser (16), a high-pressure side of an internal heat exchanger (18a), an expansion element (20), an evaporator (22), an accumulator (24), and a low- pressure side of the internal heat exchanger (18b);
wherein the internal heat exchanger (18), the evaporator (22), and the accumulator (24) are integrated into a module that is configured to be removably coupled to the refrigerant circuit, the module comprising a bracket (8, 38, and 86) attached to each of the internal heat exchanger, the evaporator, and the accumulator, wherein the module is configured to include a first flow of the refrigerant flowing through a first flow path of the module passing through the high-pressure side of the internal heat exchanger (18a) and a second flow of the refrigerant flowing through a second flow path of the module passing through, in an order of the second flow, the evaporator (22), the accumulator (24), and the low-pressure side of the internal heat exchanger (18b),
wherein the internal heat exchanger (18) is removably attached to the bracket adjacent an upper end of the evaporator (22) with respect to a vertical direction. Figure 4 shows the attachment to the evaporator at a middle of the evaporator; the evaporator is regarded as including an upper end, middle, and lower end. The middle is adjacent the upper end,
wherein the thermal management system further comprises a first module fluid line (73 and 64 within 56) connecting the evaporator to the accumulator along the second flow path,
a second module fluid line (path 64 within 82) connecting the accumulator to the low-pressure side of the internal heat exchanger, and
wherein the first module fluid line includes at least one of a greater length than the second module fluid line and/or a greater number of changes in flow direction therealong than the second module fluid line to result in a pressure drop experienced by the refrigerant when passing through the first module fluid line being greater than a pressure drop experienced by the refrigerant when passing through the second module fluid line. The paths 64 within 56 and 82 are of similar arrangement and thus of similar length; the first module line further includes 73 and thus is of overall greater length.
Tsuboi lacks the evaporator has an inner cover directly attached to the bracket. Oh discloses a module configured for installation in a thermal management system including a bracket (60 or 80) and an evaporator (40) including a heat exchange portion where heat is exchanged between a refrigerant of the refrigerant circuit and a coolant passing through the evaporator (6:31-32), wherein the heat exchanging portion is delimited in a first direction by an inner cover of the evaporator, wherein the inner cover is directly attached to the bracket. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have provided Tsuboi with the evaporator mounting arrangement and coolant exchange of Oh in order to create a more compact arrangement and to reduce refrigerant line length by utilizing coolant for heat exchange with cabin air.
Further regarding the relative positioning of the evaporator and internal heat exchanger; it has been held that an “obvious to try” rationale when choosing from a finite number of identified, predictable solutions, with a reasonable expectation of success is a support for a conclusion of obviousness which is consistent with the proper "functional approach" to the determination of obviousness as laid down in Graham, if the following findings can be established: (1) a finding that at the time of the invention, there had been a recognized problem or need in the art, which may include a design need or market pressure to solve a problem; (2) a finding that there had been a finite number of identified, predictable potential solutions to the recognized need or problem; (3) a finding that one of ordinary skill in the art could have pursued the known potential solutions with a reasonable expectation of success; and (4) whatever additional findings based on the Graham factual inquiries may be necessary, in view of the facts of the case under consideration, to explain a conclusion of obviousness. See MPEP § 2143(I) (E).
In the instant case, and as per (1), it should be noted that components of the system require mounting in some manner. As per (2), based on the above, one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that there are only three potential solutions to the relative mounting of the evaporator and internal heat exchanger: the evaporator below the internal heat exchanger, the internal heat exchanger below the evaporator, or a same height. As per (3), one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that providing the evaporator below the internal heat exchanger would have not yielded unpredictable results, since relative positioning does not alter heat exchanger function and would not change the principles of operation of the prior art, nor would it render the prior art inoperable for its intended purpose. As per (4), one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that the providing the evaporator below the internal heat exchanger would not alter usability as utilizing a coolant to route capacity to/from the cabin allows for independence of mounting.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have provided the evaporator at a position below the internal heat exchanger, as a matter of trying a finite number of predictable solutions, in order to securely mount the components, without yielding unpredictable results.
Further regarding the components being “attached”; as discussed above the relevant components of Tsuboi are attached. Nonetheless, Calderone is provided who discloses a manifold for a refrigerant cycle within a vehicle. Calderone discloses “Any and/or all elements, as disclosed herein, can be formed from a same, structurally continuous piece, such as being unitary, and/or be separately manufactured and/or connected, such as being an assembly and/or modules. Any and/or all elements, as disclosed herein, can be manufactured via any manufacturing processes, whether additive manufacturing, subtractive manufacturing, and/or other any other types of manufacturing. For example, some manufacturing processes include three dimensional (3D) printing, laser cutting, computer numerical control routing, milling, pressing, stamping, vacuum forming, hydroforming, injection molding, lithography, and so forth.” (14:40-51). The chiller 226, which is an evaporator, may be brazed to the manifold/bracket 202. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have provided the components in an “attached” manner as taught by Calderone in order to reduce complexity and facilitate serviceability as discussed in the background and summary of Calderone.
Tsuboi lacks a coolant circuit.
Kadle discloses a coolant circuit having a coolant flowing through an evaporator (110) of the refrigerant circuit to exchange heat between the refrigerant and the coolant within the evaporator, the coolant in heat exchange communication with a heat generating component of the vehicle (46 and 48);
and wherein the module is further configured to include a flow of the coolant flowing through a third flow path of the module passing through the evaporator (as shown in figure 4 the module includes the chiller 110 which includes refrigerant and coolant flow therein).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have provided Tsuboi with the coolant/chiller arrangement as taught by Kadle in order to reduce the length of refrigerant lines (6:1-17).
Regarding claim 20, Tsuboi as modified discloses the first flow path, the second flow path, and the third flow path are provided independently of each other within the module.
Regarding claim 22, Tsuboi discloses a thermal management system for a vehicle, the thermal management system comprising:
a refrigerant circuit having, in an order of flow of a refrigerant therethrough during a heat pump mode, a compressor (14), a condenser (16), a high-pressure side of an internal heat exchanger (18a), an expansion element (20), an evaporator (22), an accumulator (24), and a low- pressure side of the internal heat exchanger (18b);
wherein the internal heat exchanger (18), the evaporator (22), and the accumulator (24) are integrated into a module that is configured to be removably coupled to the refrigerant circuit, the module comprising a bracket (8, 38, and 86) attached to each of the internal heat exchanger, the evaporator, and the accumulator, wherein the module is configured to include a first flow of the refrigerant flowing through a first flow path of the module passing through the high-pressure side of the internal heat exchanger (18a) and a second flow of the refrigerant flowing through a second flow path of the module passing through, in an order of the second flow, the evaporator (22), the accumulator (24), and the low-pressure side of the internal heat exchanger (18b),
a first module fluid line (73 and 64 within 56) connecting the evaporator (22) to the accumulator (24) along the second flow path, wherein the refrigerant flows downwardly through the evaporator with respect to a vertical direction when approaching an inlet into the first fluid line, wherein the first fluid line extends upwardly with respect to the vertical direction for attachment to an upper end of the accumulator (24), and wherein the refrigerant tis partially liquid and partially gaseous in phase when reaching the inlet into the first fluid line (the state of the refrigerant is a function of the operation of the system, the "manner of operating the device does not differentiate apparatus from the prior art" And “apparatus claims cover what a device is, not what a device does” MPEP 2114. Absent distinguishing structure, a mere functional limitation is not sufficient to define over the prior art.); and
a second module fluid line (path 64 within 82) connecting the accumulator to the low-pressure side of the internal heat exchanger (18), wherein the refrigerant exits the upper end of the accumulator (from line 51) and then flows through the second fluid line while exclusively in gaseous phase, wherein the first module fluid line includes at least one of a greater length than the second module fluid line and/or a greater number of changes in flow direction therealong than the second module fluid line to result in a pressure drop experienced by the refrigerant when passing through the first module fluid line being greater than a pressure drop experienced by the refrigerant when passing through the second module fluid line. The paths 64 within 56 and 82 are of similar arrangement and thus of similar length; the first module line further includes 73 and thus is of overall greater length.
Tsuboi lacks the inlet to the first fluid line is “disposed at a bottom end of the evaporator” rather the refrigerant exit of the evaporator is at a mid-point in the height of the evaporator. Oh discloses an evaporator outlet (42) at a bottom thereof which connects to a top of the accumulator (at 51). The analysis of Oh found at claim 1 is also imported here. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have provided Tsuboi with an outlet at the bottom of the evaporator as taught by Oh in order to provide for a more compact arrangement.
Further regarding the components being “attached”; as discussed above the relevant components of Tsuboi are attached. Nonetheless, Calderone is provided who discloses a manifold for a refrigerant cycle within a vehicle. Calderone discloses “Any and/or all elements, as disclosed herein, can be formed from a same, structurally continuous piece, such as being unitary, and/or be separately manufactured and/or connected, such as being an assembly and/or modules. Any and/or all elements, as disclosed herein, can be manufactured via any manufacturing processes, whether additive manufacturing, subtractive manufacturing, and/or other any other types of manufacturing. For example, some manufacturing processes include three dimensional (3D) printing, laser cutting, computer numerical control routing, milling, pressing, stamping, vacuum forming, hydroforming, injection molding, lithography, and so forth.” (14:40-51). The chiller 226, which is an evaporator, may be brazed to the manifold/bracket 202. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have provided the components in an “attached” manner as taught by Calderone in order to reduce complexity and facilitate serviceability as discussed in the background and summary of Calderone.
Tsuboi lacks a coolant circuit.
Kadle discloses a coolant circuit having a coolant flowing through an evaporator (110) of the refrigerant circuit to exchange heat between the refrigerant and the coolant within the evaporator, the coolant in heat exchange communication with a heat generating component of the vehicle (46 and 48);
and wherein the module is further configured to include a flow of the coolant flowing through a third flow path of the module passing through the evaporator (as shown in figure 4 the module includes the chiller 110 which includes refrigerant and coolant flow therein).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have provided Tsuboi with the coolant/chiller arrangement as taught by Kadle in order to reduce the length of refrigerant lines (6:1-17).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 3/13/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant discusses a reasoning for the line length being an effect on pressure of the refrigerant. However the primary reference provides for the feature, moreover there is no requirement that a reference provides a feature for the same reasons.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Baek (US 2008/020156) internal heat exchanger downstream of accumulator.
He et al (US 2020/0047591) component cooling within vehicle.
Tissot et al (US 2024/0367479) thermal module for vehicle.
Sakashita et al (US 10,518,604) accumulator mounting.
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/CHRISTOPHER R ZERPHEY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3799