DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
This action is in reply to the communication filed on May 24, 2023.
Claims 1 – 20 are currently pending and have been examined.
Information Disclosure Statement
The references provided in the Information Disclosure Statements filed on May 24, 2023, and December 28, 2023 have been considered. Signed copies of the corresponding 1449 forms have been included with this office action.
Claim Objection
Claim 18 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 18 recites that “the organic layer further comprises a host, wherein host.” It is believe that the intended wording is “the organic layer further comprises a host, wherein the host.”
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
Consistent with the compounds provided in the subsequent claims (especially as it relates to RB and RC), claim 1 is interpreted such that the R group substituents can be joined to form further fused rings, despite no explicit definition in the claims allowing for such. Examiner recommends clarifying the scope of the claimed variables in subsequent claim amendments.
Double Patenting
Claims 1 – 20 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 – 18, 20 and 21 of copending Application No. 17/959321 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because compounds of Formula I in claim 1 of the instant application overlap in scope with organometallic compounds of claim 1 in the ‘321 application as evidenced by
in claim 15 of the ‘321 application.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
Claim 19 recites that the host is selected from the group consisting of the HOST Group defined herein. However, claim 19, which is dependent on claim 17, does not recite any particular host materials. The specification refers to “HOST Group 2” in [0136] of the specification as filed and “HOST” in [0134] of the specification as filed. It is unclear if either of these structures are what is being referred to by the claim, or some other host material.
For examination purposes, the claim is interpreted as reading on any host material.
Claims 10, 14 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends.
Claims 10 and 15 are dependent on claim 1, which requires that the organometallic compound comprises a structure of
. However, several of the compounds in claim 15, including at least
, do not appear to contain the requisite ring C, nor does ring C appear to be defined in claim 1 as to be an optional requirement. Similarly, the structures of LAA and LAB in claim 10 define structures such as LAA1-(R1)(R1)(R1)(R1)(G1)(W’1) and LAB1-(R1)(R1)(R1)(R1)(G1)(W’1), wherein R1 is a hydrogen atom, resulting in structures in which the linking atom corresponding to Z is not connected to any cyclic group as required by claim 1.
Claim 14 is rejected as being dependent on claim 10.
Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 – 9, and 11 – 13, are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Dyatkin (US20230147066A1).
As per claims 1 – 9, and 11 – 13, Dyatkin teaches:
A compound comprising a first ligand LA of Formula I
, wherein two adjacent RA are joined together to form a structure of Formula II fused to ring A, wherein Formula II has a structure of
(Dyatkin teaches compounds of Formula I
([0007]). A specific compound taught by Dyatkin is
on Page 399. This compound reads on the claimed Formula wherein each of X1 to X4 is independently C; K is selected from a direct bond: two adjacent RA are joined together to form a structure of Formula II fused to ring A, namely X3 and X4, wherein Y1 is S; Y2 is CR” wherein R” is alkyl; Z is a SiRZRZ’ wherein RZ and RZ’ are alkyl groups; rings B and C are a 6-membered heterocyclic ring, namely a benzene ring as required by claims 3 and 7; two RB groups are alkyl groups that are joined to form a fused ring, consistent with the claim interpretation placed above and one RB is an alkyl group; RC is a combination of a silyl and alkyl group. Ligand LA is represented by
in claim 8 and
in claim 9. This compound has a Formula of M(LA)2(LB)1 as required by claims 11 and 12, wherein LB is selected from
in claim 13.)
The applied reference has a common assignee with the instant application. Based upon the earlier effectively filed date of the reference, it constitutes prior art under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2). This rejection under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) might be overcome by: (1) a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(a) that the subject matter disclosed in the reference was obtained directly or indirectly from the inventor or a joint inventor of this application and is thus not prior art in accordance with 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(A); (2) a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(b) of a prior public disclosure under 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(B) if the same invention is not being claimed; or (3) a statement pursuant to 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(C) establishing that, not later than the effective filing date of the claimed invention, the subject matter disclosed in the reference and the claimed invention were either owned by the same person or subject to an obligation of assignment to the same person or subject to a joint research agreement.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Determining the scope and contents of the prior art.
Ascertaining the differences between the prior art and the claims at issue.
Resolving the level of ordinary skill in the pertinent art.
Considering objective evidence present in the application indicating obviousness or nonobviousness.
Claims 17 – 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dyatkin (US20230147066A1) as applied to claims 1 – 9, and 11 – 13 above.
As per claims 17 – 20, Dyatkin teaches the compound above. Dyatkin does not specifically teach the use of the exact compound in a device. However, Dyatkin teaches:
An organic light emitting device comprising an anode, a cathode, and an organic layer disposed between the anode and the cathode wherein the organic layer comprises the organometallic compound ([0201]: “In some embodiments, the OLED comprises: an anode; a cathode; and an organic layer disposed between the anode and the cathode, where the organic layer comprises a compound having a formula of M(LA)p(LB)q(LC)r as described herein.”)
Wherein the organic layer further comprises a host, wherein the host comprises at least one chemical moiety selected from the group consisting of triphenylene… ([0203]: “In some embodiments, the organic layer may further comprise a host, wherein the host comprises a triphenylene…” Due the indefiniteness issues raised above, a host comprising a triphenylene group is interpreted as reading on claim 19.)
A consumer product comprising the organic light-emitting device ([0023]: “In yet another aspect, the present disclosure provides a consumer product comprising an OLED with an organic layer comprising a compound of formula M(LA)p(LB)q(LC)r as described herein.”)
Dyatkin teaches an anode, a cathode, and an organic layer and the compound is in the organic layer as discussed above. It would have been obvious to use the compound in the organic layer with the device structure of Dyatkin as Dyatkin demonstrates this device structure was known prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention.
Claims 1 – 9, 11 – 13, and 16 – 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim (US20190112324A1).
As per claims 1 – 8, and 11 – 13, Kim teaches:
A compound comprising a first ligand LA of Formula I
, wherein two adjacent RA are joined together to form a structure of Formula II fused to ring A, wherein Formula II has a structure of
(Kim teaches compounds of Formula 2(3)
([0121]). A specific compound taught by Kim is compound 19
, wherein X12 in Formula 2(3) of Kim is CR12. However, in the definitions for R12, Kim also teaches that the substituent can be selected from
([0096]). When compound 19 is modified to include the 10-155 group in place of the methyl group, the resulting modified compound reads on the claimed Formula wherein X1 to X4 are all C; K is a direct bond; two adjacent RA are joined together to form a structure of Formula II fused to ring A, namely X2 and X3, wherein Y1 is S; Y2 is N; Z is a CRZRZ’ wherein RZ and RZ’ are hydrogen; rings B and C are a 6-membered heterocyclic ring, namely a benzene ring as required by claims 3 and 7; RB and RC are hydrogen atoms. Ligand LA is represented by
in claim 8. This compound has a Formula of M(LA)3 as required by claims 11 and 12. As claim 11 does not require an LB or LC, Kim meets the limitations of claim 13.)
Kim includes each element claimed, with the only difference between the claimed invention and Kim being a lack of the aforementioned combination being explicitly stated. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the instant invention to select any known substituent from each of the finite lists of possible combinations to arrive at the compound of the instant claim since the combination of elements would have yielded the predictable results of low driving voltage, high emission efficiency, long lifespan, low roll-off ratio and excellent color purity ([0163]), absent a showing of unexpected results commensurate in scope with the claimed invention. See Section 2143 of the MPEP, rationales (A) and (E).
As per claim 9, Kim teaches that in addition to Formula 2(3), the ligand can be represented by Formula 2(5)
. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed inventio to further modify the compound of Kim above to adjust the bonding of the ligand. When further modified in this way, the compound reads on
in claim 9.
Kim includes each element claimed, with the only difference between the claimed invention and Kim being a lack of the aforementioned combination being explicitly stated. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the instant invention to select any known substituent from each of the finite lists of possible combinations to arrive at the compound of the instant claim since the combination of elements would have yielded the predictable results of low driving voltage, high emission efficiency, long lifespan, low roll-off ratio and excellent color purity ([0163]), absent a showing of unexpected results commensurate in scope with the claimed invention. See Section 2143 of the MPEP, rationales (A) and (E).
As per claim 16, Kim teaches that the organometallic compound may be Pt ([0055]) and that the organometallic compound may be part of a tetradentate ligand ([0012]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to include a ligand of Kim, such as that shown above, as part of a tetradentate ligand with a Pt metal core and arrive at a compound of claimed Formula III.
Kim includes each element claimed, with the only difference between the claimed invention and Kim being a lack of the aforementioned combination being explicitly stated. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the instant invention to select any known substituent from each of the finite lists of possible combinations to arrive at the compound of the instant claim since the combination of elements would have yielded the predictable results of low driving voltage, high emission efficiency, long lifespan, low roll-off ratio and excellent color purity ([0163]), absent a showing of unexpected results commensurate in scope with the claimed invention. See Section 2143 of the MPEP, rationales (A) and (E).
As per claims 17 – 20, Kim teaches:
An organic light emitting device comprising an anode, a cathode, and an organic layer disposed between the anode and the cathode wherein the organic layer comprises the organometallic compound ([0034 – 0038]: “Another aspect provides an organic light-emitting device including: a first electrode; a second electrode; and an organic layer disposed between the first electrode and the second electrode, wherein the organic layer includes an emission layer and at least one organometallic compound.”)
Wherein the organic layer further comprises a host, wherein the host comprises at least one chemical moiety selected from the group consisting of triphenylene, carbazole ([0205 – 0206]: “The emission layer may include a host and a dopant, and the dopant may include the organometallic compound represented by Formula 1. The host may include at least one selected from TPBi, TBADN, ADN (also referred to as “DNA”), CBP…” Due the indefiniteness issues raised above, a host comprising a carbazole group is interpreted as reading on claim 19.)
A consumer product comprising the organic light-emitting device (As an OLED is a consumer product, Kim meets the claimed limitations.)
Kim teaches an anode, a cathode, and an organic layer and the compound is in the organic layer as discussed above. It would have been obvious to use the compound in the organic layer with the device structure of Kim as Kim demonstrates this device structure was known prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention.
Conclusion
All claims are rejected.
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. US20230122778A1, US20230117045A1, US20230276691A1, US20220298190A1, US20220165967A1, US20230124696A1, and US20230165134A1 all teach organometallic compounds that could be used in a rejection against the claims as currently amended. The above applications also appear to have a common assignee with the instant application. Based upon the earlier effectively filed date of the reference, it constitutes prior art under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2). This rejection under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) might be overcome by: (1) a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(a) that the subject matter disclosed in the reference was obtained directly or indirectly from the inventor or a joint inventor of this application and is thus not prior art in accordance with 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(A); (2) a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(b) of a prior public disclosure under 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(B) if the same invention is not being claimed; or (3) a statement pursuant to 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(C) establishing that, not later than the effective filing date of the claimed invention, the subject matter disclosed in the reference and the claimed invention were either owned by the same person or subject to an obligation of assignment to the same person or subject to a joint research agreement.
/JENNA N CHANDHOK/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1789