DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Claims 1, 5, 10, 16, and 21-22 have been amended. Therefore, claims 1-6, 8-11, 13-18, and 20-23 remain pending in the application. Applicant’s amendments to the Claims, in view of Applicant’s Remarks filed June 12, 2026 have overcome a majority of objections and each and every 112(b) rejection previously set forth in the Non-Final Office Action mailed March 13, 2026. However, Applicant’s Remarks filed June 12, 2026, in view of the Drawing objection previously set forth in the Non-Final Office Action mailed March 13, 2026 is maintained and is addressed as set forth below.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(4) because reference characters "92" and "125" have both been used to designate threads. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 10 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Regarding claims 10 and 16, the amended claim limitations in lines 23-25 of “wherein the engagement between the threaded interior surface of the retainer and the threads of the spindle cause the spindle to move axially relative to the housing when moving between the first rotational position and the second rotational position” and line 15 of “rotating the spindle and moving the spindle axially along the interior space of the housing”, respectively, appears to be directed to subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor(s) at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
With respect to at least Paragraphs 0054-0055 of Applicant’s originally filed Specification, Applicant provides that “spindle 40 is rotated relative to the housing 20...rotation aligns the extensions 47 on the spindle 40 with the openings 24 in the housing 20...rotation also contacts the extensions 47 against the ball members 30 and radially moves the ball members 30 outward from the openings 24...Removal of the quick release pin 15 includes rotating the spindle 40 to the disengaged position...at this rotational position, the quick release pin 15 is pulled through the openings in the one or more members 101, 102”. Accordingly, the amended claim limitations of claim 10, lines 23-25 and claim 16, line 15, does not appear to be described in the Applicant’s originally filed Specification.
Claims 10-11, 13-15, and 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 10 recites the limitation "the engagement" in line 23. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. For the purpose of examination, claim 10 will be read as “an engagement”.
Claims 11, 13-15, and 22 are rejected as being dependent on, and failing to cure the deficiencies of, rejected independent claim 10.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-6, 10-14, 16, 18, and 21-23 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Klingenberg et al. (US20080056843A1), hereinafter "Klingenberg".
Regarding claim 1, Klingenberg teaches a quick release pin (see Figs 4A-4D) comprising:
a housing (see Fig 4B, Examiner notes handle 122 and shank 144 as a housing) comprising:
a first end (see Fig 4D, Examiner notes an end of handle 122 distal balls 134, 136 as a first end);
a second end (see Fig 4D, Examiner notes an end of shank 144 proximate balls 134, 136 as a second end);
a hollow interior space (see Fig 4D, Examiner notes a space extending through handle 122 and shank 144 as a hollow interior space) that is wider (see Fig 4D, Examiner notes a portion of the space extending through handle 122 having spring 124 as that is wider) at the first end (see Fig 4D) than at the second end (see Fig 4D);
threads (see Fig 4D, Paragraph 0054, Examiner notes screw threading as threads) positioned along (see Fig 4D) the hollow interior space (see Fig 4D) at the first end (see Fig 4D) where the hollow interior space (see Fig 4D) is wider (see Fig 4D), the threads (see Fig 4D) facing radially inward (see Fig 4D, Paragraph 0054, Examiner notes screw threading the knob to the shaft as facing radially inward) into the hollow interior space (see Fig 4D);
openings (Fig 4D, openings 138, 140) that extend through (see Fig 4D) the housing (see Fig 4B) at the second end (see Fig 4D);
ball members (Fig 4D, balls 134, 136) positioned (see Fig 4D) at the openings (138, 140);
a spindle (Fig 4D, shaft 128) comprising:
a head (Fig 4D, end 128a) that comprises a threaded section (see Fig 4D, Paragraph 0054, Examiner notes screw threading as comprises a threaded section) that faces radially outward away (see Fig 4D, Paragraph 0054, Examiner notes screw threading the knob to the shaft as faces radially outward away) from a longitudinal axis (see Fig 4D) of the spindle (128), the threaded section (see Fig 4D) engages (see Fig 4D, Paragraph 0054) with the threads (see Fig 4D) of the housing (see Fig 4B);
a rod (see Fig 4D, Examiner notes a rod of shaft 128 extending from end 128a as a rod) that extends outward (see Fig 4D) from the head (128a), the rod (see Fig 4D) comprising a contact section (see Fig 4D, Paragraph 0055, Examiner notes end 128b has a pair of recessed openings or notches as comprising a contact section) that aligns (see Fig 4D) with the openings (138, 140) in the housing (see Fig 4B), the contact section (see Fig 4D) comprising extensions and recesses (see Fig 4D, Paragraph 0055, Examiner notes surface 131 and recesses 130, 132 as comprising extensions and recesses);
a spring (Fig 4D, spring 124) attached (see Fig 4D) to the housing (see Fig 4B) and the spindle (128); and
wherein the head (128a) comprises a larger width (see Fig 4D, Examiner notes a width of 128a being larger than a width of surface 131 proximate recesses 130, 132 as comprises a larger width) than the rod (see Fig 4D) for the threaded section (see Fig 4D) to engage (see Fig 4D, Paragraph 0054) with the threads (see Fig 4D) on the hollow interior space (see Fig 4D) of the housing (see Fig 4B);
wherein the spindle (128) is rotatable (see Fig 4D, Paragraphs 0055-0057) within the housing (see Fig 4B) to selectively force (see Fig 4D, Paragraphs 0055-0057) the ball members (134, 136) radially outward (see Fig 4D, Paragraphs 0055-0057) through the openings (138, 140) and allow (see Fig 4D, Paragraphs 0055-0057) for the ball members (134, 136) to radially retract (see Fig 4D, Paragraphs 0055-0057) in the openings (138, 140).
Regarding claim 2, Klingenberg teaches the quick release pin (see Figs 4A-4D) of claim 1 and further teaches wherein the ball members (134, 136) comprise a first diameter (see Fig 4D, Examiner notes a diameter of balls 134, 136 as comprise a first diameter) and the openings (138, 140) comprise a second diameter (see Fig 4D, Examiner notes a diameter of openings 138, 140 as comprise a second diameter), wherein the first diameter (see Fig 4D) is larger (see Fig 4D, Paragraph 0055, Examiner notes bores can be “staked” to reduce the size of the openings as is larger) than the second diameter (see Fig 4D) to prevent (see Fig 4D, Paragraph 0055) the ball members (134, 136) from escaping (see Fig 4D, Paragraph 0055) from the housing (see Fig 4B) through the openings (138, 140).
Regarding claim 3, Klingenberg teaches the quick release pin (see Figs 4A-4D) of claim 1 and further teaches wherein the contact section (see Fig 4D) is positioned (see Fig 4D) at a distal end (Fig 4D, end 128b) of the spindle (128) that is away (see Fig 4D) from the head (128a).
Regarding claim 4, Klingenberg teaches the quick release pin (see Figs 4A-4D) of claim 1 and further teaches wherein the spring (124) wraps around (see Fig 4D) the spindle (128) and applies a force (see Fig 4D, Paragraph 0053) to the housing (see Fig 4B) upon rotation (see Fig 4D, Paragraph 0053) of the spindle (128).
Regarding claim 5, Klingenberg teaches the quick release pin (see Figs 4A-4D) of claim 1 and further teaches wherein the contact section (see Fig 4D) comprises a cross-sectional width (see Figs 4B-4D, Examiner notes a cross-sectional width of shaft 128 as comprises a cross-sectional width) that is measured (see Figs 4B-4D) through the longitudinal axis (see Fig 4D) of the spindle (128), the cross-sectional width (see Figs 4B-4D) being greater (see Figs 4B-4D, Examiner notes a cross-sectional width of surface 131 being greater than a cross-sectional width of recesses 130, 132 as being greater) at the extensions (see Fig 4D) than at the recesses (see Fig 4D).
Regarding claim 6, Klingenberg teaches the quick release pin (see Figs 4A-4D) of claim 1 and further teaches wherein the spindle (128) comprises a one-piece unitary construction (see Fig 4D) for the head (128a) and the rod (see Fig 4D) to rotate together (see Fig 4D, Paragraph 0054, Examiner notes rotational movement of the knob is translated to the shaft as to rotate together) as a unit (see Fig 4D).
Regarding claim 10, as best understood, Klingenberg teaches a quick release pin (see Figs 4A-4D) comprising:
a housing (see Fig 4B, Examiner notes handle 122 and shank 144 as a housing) with a cylindrical shape (see Fig 4B), the housing (see Fig 4B) comprising:
an interior space (see Fig 4D, Examiner notes a space extending through handle 122 and shank 144 as an interior space) that is hollow (see Fig 4D);
a threaded section (see Fig 4D, Paragraph 0054, Examiner notes screw threading as threads);
an engagement section (see Fig 4D, Examiner notes a section of shank 144 having openings 138, 140 as an engagement section) with openings (Fig 4D, openings 138, 140) that are in communication (see Fig 4D) with the interior space (see Fig 4D);
ball members (Fig 4D, balls 134, 136) positioned (see Fig 4D) at the engagement section (see Fig 4D);
a retainer (Fig 4B, knob 110) mounted (see Fig 4D) within the interior space (see Fig 4D) along (see Fig 4D) the threaded section (see Fig 4D), the retainer (110) comprising an opening (see Fig 4D, Examiner notes an opening of end 126 of knob 110 as an opening) with a threaded interior surface (see Fig 4D, Paragraph 0054, Examiner notes screw threading as with a threaded interior surface);
a spring (Fig 4D, spring 124) positioned (see Fig 4D) within the interior space (see Fig 4D);
a spindle (Fig 4D, shaft 128) positioned (see Fig 4D) within the interior space (see Fig 4D) of the housing (see Fig 4B), the spindle (128) comprising:
threads (see Fig 4D, Paragraph 0054, Examiner notes screw threading as threads) on an outer surface (see Fig 4D, Paragraph 0054, Examiner notes screw threading the knob to the shaft as threads on an outer surface) of the spindle (128) and that face outward away (see Fig 4D) from a longitudinal axis (see Fig 4D) of the spindle (128), the threads (see Fig 4D) engage (see Fig 4D, Paragraph 0054) with the threaded section (see Fig 4D) of the housing (see Fig 4B) and the threaded interior surface (see Fig 4D) of the retainer (110);
a contact section (see Fig 4D, Paragraph 0055, Examiner notes end 128b has a pair of recessed openings or notches as a contact section) that aligns (see Fig 4D) with the engagement section (see Fig 4D) of the housing (see Fig 4B), the contact section (see Fig 4D) comprising extensions and recesses (see Fig 4D, Paragraph 0055, Examiner notes surface 131 and recesses 130, 132 as comprising extensions and recesses); and
wherein the spindle (128) is rotatable (see Fig 4D, Paragraphs 0055-0057) relative to the housing (see Fig 4B) and the retainer (110) between:
a first rotational position (see Fig 4D, Paragraphs 0055-0057, Examiner notes locked position as a first rotational position) that forces (see Fig 4D, Paragraphs 0055-0057) the ball members (134, 136) against the extensions (see Fig 4D) and into the openings (138, 140) for the ball members (134, 136) to extend radially outward beyond (see Fig 4D, Paragraphs 0055-0057) an outer side (Fig 4D, wall 142) of the housing (see Fig 4B);
a second rotational position (see Fig 4D, Paragraphs 0055-0057, Examiner notes unlocked position as a second rotational position) that provides for the ball members (134, 136) to be positioned (see Fig 4D, Paragraphs 0055-0057) at the recesses (see Fig 4D) to radially retract (see Fig 4D, Paragraphs 0055-0057) into the openings (138, 140) for the ball members (134, 136) to be positioned radially inward (see Fig 4D, Paragraphs 0055-0057) from the outer side (142) of the housing (see Fig 4B); and
wherein the engagement (see Fig 4D, Paragraphs 0053-0054) between the threaded interior surface (see Fig 4D) of the retainer (110) and the threads (see Fig 4D) of the spindle (128) cause the spindle (128) to move axially relative (see Fig 4D, Paragraph 0053, Examiner notes the spring is rotated and is pulled or extended and the spring is released and biases the knob as to move axially relative) to the housing (see Fig 4B) when moving between the first rotational position (see Fig 4D) and the second rotational position (see Fig 4D).
Regarding claim 11, as best understood, Klingenberg teaches the quick release pin (see Figs 4A-4D) of claim 10 and further teaches wherein:
the ball members (134, 136) have a spherical shape (see Fig 4D) with a first diameter (see Fig 4D, Examiner notes a diameter of balls 134, 136 as a first diameter);
the openings (138, 140) are evenly spaced (see Figs 4B-4D) around a perimeter (see Figs 4B-4D) of the housing (see Fig 4B) and have a second diameter (see Fig 4D, Examiner notes a diameter of openings 138, 140 as have a second diameter);
the first diameter (see Fig 4D) is larger (see Fig 4D, Paragraph 0055, Examiner notes bores can be “staked” to reduce the size of the openings as is larger) than the second diameter (see Fig 4D).
Regarding claim 13, as best understood, Klingenberg teaches the quick release pin (see Figs 4A-4D) of claim 10 and further teaches wherein the extensions (see Fig 4D) comprise pairs (see Figs 4B-4D) positioned on opposing sides (see Figs 4B-4D) of a center point (see Figs 4B-4D, Examiner notes a center point of shaft 128 as a center point) of the spindle (128) and with the recesses (see Fig 4D) comprising pairs (see Figs 4B-4D) positioned between (see Figs 4B-4D) the pairs (see Figs 4B-4D) of extensions (see Fig 4D), the pairs (see Figs 4B-4D) of extensions (see Fig 4D) comprising a greater width (see Figs 4B-4D, Examiner notes a width of surface 131 being greater than a width of recesses 130, 132 as comprising a greater width) than the pairs (see Figs 4B-4D) of recesses (see Fig 4D).
Regarding claim 14, as best understood, Klingenberg teaches the quick release pin (see Figs 4A-D) of claim 10 and further teaches wherein the contact section (see Fig 4D) is positioned (see Fig 4D) at a distal end (Fig 4D, end 128b) of the spindle (128) and the threads (see Fig 4D) are positioned (see Fig 4D) at a proximal end (see Fig 4D) of the spindle (128).
Regarding claims 16, 18, and 23, Examiner notes that the instant method step limitations are considered obvious over the prior art in view of rejections of the structural limitations previously set forth. Although the prior art does not explicitly set forth the method steps as claimed when the method steps essentially set forth the provision and use of an apparatus, as intended by its structure, then such method steps are considered obvious when the structure of the apparatus has been demonstrated as obvious or anticipated by the prior art.
Concerning claim 16, 18, and 23, as best understood, given the structure of a quick release pin, the structural elements of Klingenberg (as rejected in claims 1 and 10 above) would render the claimed method steps obvious since such would be a logical manner of using the combination.
Regarding claim 21, Klingenberg teaches the quick release pin (see Figs 4A-4D) of claim 1 and further teaches wherein the hollow interior space (see Fig 4D) has a first wide section (see Fig 4D, Examiner notes the portion of the space extending through handle 122 having spring 124 as has a first wide section) at the first end (see Fig 4D) to receive (see Fig 4D) the head (128a) and a second narrow section (see Fig 4D, Examiner notes a portion of the space extending through shank 144 proximate balls 134, 136 as a second narrow section) at the second end (see Fig 4D) to receive (see Fig 4D) the rod (see Fig 4D).
Regarding claim 22, as best understood, Klingenberg teaches the quick release pin (see Figs 4A-4D) of claim 10 and further teaches wherein the retainer (110) comprises an annular shape (see Figs 4A-4D) that extends (see Fig 4D) around the opening (see Fig 4D).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 8 and 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Klingenberg, in view of Blocher (US2204116A), hereinafter "Blocher".
Regarding claim 8, Klingenberg teaches the quick release pin (see Figs 4A-4D) of claim 1 but fails to teach further comprising:
a clip configured to extend through the housing and the spindle; and
a connector that operatively connects the clip to a head of the spindle.
However, Blocher teaches it is known to provide a clip (Fig 2, pin 16) configured to extend (see Fig 2, Pg 1, Col 2, lines 5-37, Examiner notes bolt 10 seats within the notch 17 as configured to extend) through the housing (Fig 2, pin 4) and the spindle (Fig 2, bolt 10); and a connector (Fig 2, chain 20) that operatively connects (see Fig 2, Pg 1, Col 2, lines 5-37) the clip (16) to a head (Fig 2, handgrip 11) of the spindle (10).
Therefore, as evidenced by Blocher, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine an adequately sized and shaped clip and connector as taught by Blocher to Klingenberg. The rationale for supporting this conclusion of obviousness is to facilitate preventing loss of parts (Blocher, Pg 1, Col 2, lines 5-37).
Regarding claim 17, as best understood, Klingenberg teaches the method (Paragraphs 0053-0057) of claim 16 but fails to teach further comprising attaching a clip to the distal section of the housing and the spindle after inserting the distal section of the housing through the opening in the member.
However, Blocher teaches it is known to provide attaching (Pg 1, Col 2, line 38 - Pg 2, Col 1, line 2) a clip (Fig 2, pin 16) to the distal section (see Fig 2) of the housing (Fig 2, pin 4) and the spindle (Fig 2, bolt 10) after inserting (Pg 1, Col 2, line 38 - Pg 2, Col 1, line 2) the distal section (see Fig 2) of the housing (4) through the opening (Pg 1, Col 2, line 38 - Pg 2, Col 1, line 2) in the member (Pg 1, Col 2, line 38 - Pg 2, Col 1, line 2).
Therefore, as evidenced by Blocher, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide attaching a clip to the distal section of the housing and the spindle after inserting the distal section of the housing through the opening in the member as taught by Blocher to Klingenberg. The rationale for supporting this conclusion of obviousness is to facilitate preventing loss of parts (Blocher, Pg 1, Col 2, lines 5-37).
Claim(s) 9 and 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Klingenberg, in view of Blocher and Miller et al. (US8240696A), hereinafter "Miller".
Regarding claim 9, modified Klingenberg teaches the quick release pin (see Figs 4A-4D) of claim 8 but fails to teach further comprising:
an angle plate; and
a connector that operatively connects the angle plate to the head of the spindle.
However, Miller teaches it is known to provide an angle plate (Fig 4, tab 66); and a connector (Fig 4, lanyard 64) that operatively connects (see Fig 4, Col 3, lines 42 - Col 4, line 6) the angle plate (66) to the head (see Fig 4) of the spindle (Fig 4, pin 60).
Therefore, as evidenced by Miller, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine an adequately sized and shaped angle plate and connector as taught by Miller to modified Klingenberg. The rationale for supporting this conclusion of obviousness is to facilitate securing the assembly to a structure (Miller, Col 3, line 42 - Col 4, line 6), e.g. mitigating loss of the assembly.
Regarding claim 15, as best understood, Klingenberg teaches the quick release pin (see Figs 4A-4D) of claim 10 but fails to teach further comprising:
a clip configured to extend through the housing and the spindle;
a first connector that operatively connects the clip to the spindle;
an angle plate; and
a second connector that operatively connects the angle plate to the spindle.
However, Blocher teaches it is known to provide a clip (Fig 2, pin 16) configured to extend (see Fig 2, Pg 1, Col 2, lines 5-37, Examiner notes bolt 10 seats within the notch 17 as configured to extend) through the housing (Fig 2, pin 4) and the spindle (Fig 2, bolt 10); and a first connector (Fig 2, chain 20) that operatively connects (see Fig 2, Pg 1, Col 2, lines 5-37) the clip (16) to the spindle (10).
Therefore, as evidenced by Blocher, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine an adequately sized and shaped clip and connector as taught by Blocher to Klingenberg. The rationale for supporting this conclusion of obviousness is to facilitate preventing loss of parts (Blocher, Pg 1, Col 2, lines 5-37).
Modified Klingenberg fails to teach an angle plate; and a second connector that operatively connects the angle plate to the spindle.
However, Miller teaches it is known to provide an angle plate (Fig 4, tab 66); and a second connector (Fig 4, lanyard 64) that operatively connects (see Fig 4, Col 3, lines 42 - Col 4, line 6) the angle plate (66) to the spindle (Fig 4, pin 60).
Therefore, as evidenced by Miller, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine an adequately sized and shaped angle plate and connector as taught by Miller to modified Klingenberg. The rationale for supporting this conclusion of obviousness is to facilitate securing the assembly to a structure (Miller, Col 3, line 42 - Col 4, line 6), e.g. mitigating loss of the assembly.
Claim(s) 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Klingenberg, in view of Miller.
Regarding claim 20, as best understood, Klingenberg teaches the method (Paragraphs 0053-0057) of claim 16 but fails to teach further comprising attaching an angle plate to the member and securing the spindle and housing to the member.
However, Miller teaches it is known to provide attaching (see Figs 2-4, Col 3, line 42 - Col 4, line 6) an angle plate (Fig 4, tab 66) to the member (Fig 2, counterweight 28) and securing (see Figs 2-4, Col 3, line 42 - Col 4, line 6) the spindle (Fig 4, pin 60) and housing (Fig 4, pin 50) to the member (28).
Therefore, as evidenced by Miller, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine attaching an angle plate to the member and securing the spindle and housing to the member as taught by Miller to Klingenberg. The rationale for supporting this conclusion of obviousness is to facilitate securing the assembly to a structure (Miller, Col 3, line 42 - Col 4, line 6), e.g. mitigating loss of the assembly.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed June 12, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. With respect to claim 1 on Pgs 8-10 of Applicant’s Remarks filed June 12, 2026, Applicant argues Klingenberg does not disclose or suggest the connection now included in claim 1; specifically, Applicant argues the knob 110 of the inner member is not threaded to the handle 122 of the outer member and Klingenberg discloses that knob 110 has an arm 112 with a pin 114 that engages with an opening 116 on the handle; thus, there is no disclosure of a threaded connection. The Examiner respectfully disagrees as set forth above and notes that Applicant’s arguments appear to be further limiting than amended claim 1. Specifically, amended claim 1 merely recites in part “a housing comprising...threads positioned along the hollow interior space at the first end” and does not appear to claim threads positioned on the hollow interior space as appeared to be argued by the Applicant.
With respect to claim 10 on Pgs 10-11 of Applicant’s Remarks filed June 12, 2026, Applicant indicates the claim has been amended to include that the retainer has an opening with a threaded interior surface, and the threads on the spindle are on an outer surface and that face outward away from a longitudinal axis of the spindle. Further, Applicant indicates the claim now also includes that the engagement between the threaded interior surface of the retainer and the threads of the spindle cause the spindle to move axially relative to the housing when moving between the first rotational position and the second rotational position. Therefore, Applicant argues Klingenberg does not disclose this structure and functionality. With respect to the claim has being amended to include that the retainer has an opening with a threaded interior surface, and the threads on the spindle are on an outer surface and that face outward away from a longitudinal axis of the spindle, the Examiner respectfully disagrees as set forth above. Further, with respect to the claim now also includes that the engagement between the threaded interior surface of the retainer and the threads of the spindle cause the spindle to move axially relative to the housing when moving between the first rotational position and the second rotational position, the Examiner respectfully disagrees as set forth above and notes that Applicant’s amended claim appears to be directed to subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor(s) at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention as set forth above.
With respect to claim 16 on Pg 11 of Applicant’s Remarks filed June 12, 2026, Applicant indicates claim 16 has been amended to now include rotating the spindle and moving the threaded section on an outer surface of the spindle along threads on the housing that face inward into the interior space and rotating the spindle and moving the spindle axially along the interior space of the housing. Thus, Applicant argues Klingenberg does not disclose these aspects. The Examiner respectfully disagrees as set forth above and notes that Applicant’s amended claim appears to be directed to subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor(s) at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention as set forth above.
With respect to Drawings on Pg 12 of Applicant’s Remarks filed June 12, 2026, Applicant indicates it is unclear where in the specification and drawings that examiner is referencing as it does not appear that these reference numbers are used. The Examiner respectfully notes Paragraph 0048 of the amended Specification and Fig 3 of the amended Drawings filed August 13, 2025 includes reference character “125” and Paragraph 0040 of the amended Specification and Fig 4a of the amended Drawings filed December 23, 2025 includes reference character “92”.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/J.W./Examiner, Art Unit 3675 /KRISTINA R FULTON/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3675