DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed on 12/15/2025 has been entered. Claims 1-18 and 21-22 remain pending in this application. Claim 21 has been amended. Claims 19 and 20 have been cancelled.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 05/24/2023 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed 12/15/2025 regarding prior art rejections have been fully considered and are persuasive. All previous prior art rejections are withdrawn in consideration of arguments, however additional prior art rejections are presented below.
Regarding independent claim 1 and similar independent claims, Applicant’s arguments directed to “orientations” and “the reflective device” are persuasive. The Examiner remedies the citations below to better clarify the portions of Haija which are relevant in combination with additional art.
The same or similar arguments and Examiner’s response to arguments are applied to the corresponding dependent claims 2-8 and 10-18.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3 and 5-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Haija (US 20240429971 A1), hereinafter Haija, in view of Tong (US 20250096852 A1), hereinafter Tong.
Regarding claim 1, Haija, as shown below, discloses a system comprising the following limitations:
transmitting, using a transmitter, a first signal to a first reflector on a reflective device concurrent with the first reflector having a first orientation (See at least [0097] “In wireless communications, the RIS 4 can be deployed as 1) a reflector between a transmitter and a receiver” Haija discloses a transmitter (often depicted as a base station) which transmits a signal to a reconfigurable intelligent surface (RIS) for reflection);
transmitting, using the transmitter, a second signal to a second reflector on the reflective device (See at least Fig. 2, [0093] “FIG. 2 where each RIS configurable element 4a (unit cell) can change the phase of the incident wave from source such that the reflected waves from all of the RIS elements are aligned to the direction of the destination”)
conveying, using one or more antennas, wireless data with the user equipment device via reflection off the first reflector (See at least Fig. 10, [0095] “In some embodiments, the RIS can be considered as an extension of the BS antennas or a type of distributed antenna”, [0097] “In wireless communications, the RIS 4 can be deployed as 1) a reflector between a transmitter and a receiver, as shown in FIG. 2, or as 2) a transmitter (integrated at the transmitter) to help implement a virtual MIMO system as the RIS helps to direct the signal from a feeding antenna.”)
Haija does not explicitly disclose concurrent with the second reflector having a second orientation different from the first orientation. However, Tong, in the same or in a similar field of endeavor, discloses:
concurrent with the second reflector having a second orientation different from the first orientation (See at least Figs. 1, 13-14, [0238] “FIG. 14 shows three different example surfaces of an RIS panel. A first example is a panel 1410 of similar type to that shown in FIG. 13 that has a two parts that can be moved with respect to one another” Tong discloses a repositionable RIS device with elements at different orientations); and
Furthermore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the reflection system disclosed by Haija with the RIS orientation system disclosed by Tong. One would have been motivated to do so in order to advantageously aid wireless communication coverage holes, to further extend the coverage, to increase signal power, or to improve system throughput (See at least [0158] “jointly controlled to aid wireless communication coverage holes, to further extend the coverage, to increase signal power, or to improve system throughput”).
Regarding claim 2, the combination of Haija and Tong, as shown in the rejection above, discloses all of the limitations of claim 1. Haija further discloses
transmitting, using the transmitter, a third signal to the first reflector concurrent with the first reflector having a third orientation different from the first orientation; and transmitting, using the transmitter, a fourth signal to the second reflector concurrent with the second reflector having a fourth orientation different from the second orientation (See at least Fig. 10, Items 1085, 1090, [0197] “the new updated RIS configuration information to the RIS 1030 that may be used to update AoD information or the phase difference between two RIS elements at RIS 1030 resulting in a more accurate redirection of the signal towards the UE 1020.” Haija discloses updating configuration of at least two RIS elements (first and second reflectors) such that for additional transmissions the angle of depart (reflection orientation) is different from previous configurations)
Regarding claim 3, the combination of Haija and Tong, as shown in the rejection above, discloses all of the limitations of claims 1 and 2. Haija further discloses
wirelessly transmitting control signals to the reflective device that instruct the reflective device to adjust the first reflector from the first orientation to the third orientation and that instruct the reflective device to adjust the second reflector from the second orientation to the fourth orientation (See at least Fig. 10, Items 1085, 1090, [0197] “the new updated RIS configuration information to the RIS 1030 that may be used to update AoD information or the phase difference between two RIS elements at RIS 1030 resulting in a more accurate redirection of the signal towards the UE 1020.” Haija discloses updating configuration of at least two RIS elements (first and second reflectors) such that for additional transmissions the angle of depart (reflection orientation) is different from previous configurations)
Regarding claim 5, the combination of Haija and Tong, as shown in the rejection above, discloses all of the limitations of claim 1. Haija further discloses
conveying the wireless data comprises conveying the wireless data when the wireless access point receives information indicating that the user equipment device has received the first signal. (See at least Fig. 10, Items 1060, 1075, 1090, [0198] “At step 1090, based on the RIS 1030 being updated with the updated RIS configuration information at step 1085, the base station 1010 and the UE 1020 may exchange data via the RIS 1030.”).
Regarding claim 6, the combination of Haija and Tong, as shown in the rejection above, discloses all of the limitations of claim 1. Haija further discloses
conveying, using the one or more antennas, additional wireless data with the user equipment device via reflection off the second reflector after conveying the wireless data with the user equipment device via reflection off the first reflector. (See at least Fig. 10, Items 1070, 1090, [0194] “At step 1070, the base station 1010 sends reference signals in each of multiple time slot that are redirected by the RIS 1030 to the UE 1020”).
Regarding Claim 7, The combination of Haija and Tong, as shown above, discloses all of the limitations of claim 1. The combination of Haija and Tong, does not explicitly disclose conveying, using the one or more antennas, additional wireless data with an additional user equipment device via reflection off the second reflector during first time periods, wherein conveying the wireless data with the user equipment device via reflection off the first reflector comprises conveying the wireless data with the user equipment device via reflection off the first reflector during second time periods interleaved with the first time periods. The Examiner notes that while the claim element is not explicitly disclosed by Haija and Tong, the step of “conveying, using one or more antennas, wireless data” is disclosed by Haija with (See at least Fig. 10, [0095] “In some embodiments, the RIS can be considered as an extension of the BS antennas or a type of distributed antenna”, [0097] “In wireless communications, the RIS 4 can be deployed as 1) a reflector between a transmitter and a receiver, as shown in FIG. 2, or as 2) a transmitter (integrated at the transmitter) to help implement a virtual MIMO system as the RIS helps to direct the signal from a feeding antenna.”). Therefore, Haija and Tong differ from the claimed invention because the claimed invention conveys additional wireless data. However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the combination of Haija and Tong so that additional wireless data is conveyed with a reasonable expectation of success. It has been held that a mere duplication of parts is an obvious modification, see MPEP 2144.04. In reHarza, 274 F.2d 669, 124 USPQ 378 (CCPA 1960). Because no new and unexpected result is produced, the mere duplication of wireless data has no patentable significance. One would have been motivated to do so in order to advantageously improve effectiveness by performing operations on multiple signals.
Regarding Claim 8, The combination of Haija and Tong, as shown above, discloses all of the limitations of claim 1. The combination of Haija and Tong, does not explicitly disclose transmitting the first signal comprises transmitting the first signal at a frequency greater than or equal to 100 THz. The Examiner notes that while the claim element is not explicitly disclosed by Haija and Tong, Haija further discloses (See at least [0156] “The characteristics of wireless data expand quite large ranges in multiple dimensions, e.g., from sub-6 GHZ, millimeter to Terahertz carrier frequency, from space, outdoor to indoor scenario, and from text, voice to video.”). Therefore, Haija and Tong differ from the claimed invention because the claimed invention includes frequency greater than or equal to 100 THz. However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the combination of Haija and Tong so that the frequency is greater than or equal to 100 THz. A prima facie case of obviousness exists where the claimed ranges or amounts do not overlap with the prior art but are merely close. See MPEP 2144.05. Titanium Metals Corp. of Americav.Banner, 778 F.2d 775, 783, 227 USPQ 773, 779 (Fed. Cir. 1985). The proportions are so close that prima facie one skilled in the art would have expected them to have the same properties. One would be motivated to use this similar range to advantageously improve data gathering by utilizing additional data sources.
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Haija, in view of Tong, in further view of Li (US 20250031161 A1), hereinafter Li.
Regarding claim 4, The combination of Haija and Tong, as shown above, discloses all the limitations of claims 1 and 2. The combination of Haija and Tong does not explicitly disclose the first signal comprises a first preamble, the second signal comprises a second preamble different from the first preamble, the third signal comprises a third preamble different from the first and second preambles, and the fourth signal comprises a fourth preamble different from the first, second, and third preambles. However, Li, in the same or in a similar field of endeavor, discloses
the first signal comprises a first preamble, the second signal comprises a second preamble different from the first preamble, the third signal comprises a third preamble different from the first and second preambles, and the fourth signal comprises a fourth preamble different from the first, second, and third preambles. (See at least [0153] “Each of the RACH occasions/preambles may map to different SSB of the first subset 1002. For example, a first RACH occasion or preamble may indicate that the first subset 1002 is the selected SSB subset and that the SSB0 is the designated SSB, a second RACH occasion or preamble may indicate that the first subset 1002 is the selected SSB subset and that the SSB4 is the designated SSB, a third RACH occasion or preamble may indicate that the first subset 1002 is the selected SSB subset and that the SSB8 is the designated SSB, a fourth RACH occasion or preamble may indicate that the first subset 1002 is the selected SSB subset and that the SSB12 is the designated SSB”).
Furthermore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the reflection system disclosed by Haija with the sub-RIS system disclosed by Tong with the preamble disclosed by Li. One would have been motivated to do so in order to advantageously improve communication performance (See at least [0057] “The aspects presented herein may enable a UE to provide reporting including multiple SSB indices and associated measurements via group-based SSB subsets, which may facilitate improving communication performance”).
Claims 9-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Haija (US 20240429971 A1), hereinafter Haija, in view of Jian (US 20230047993 A1), hereinafter Jian.
Regarding claim 9, Haija, as shown below, discloses a system comprising the following limitations:
transmitting, using one or more antennas (See at least Fig. 2 [0097] “In wireless communications, the RIS 4 can be deployed as 1) a reflector between a transmitter and a receiver”, [0120] “The ED 110 includes a transmitter 201 and a receiver 203 coupled to one or more antennas 204” Haija discloses a transmitter (often depicted as a base station) which transmits a signal to a reconfigurable intelligent surface (RIS) for reflection.),
receiving, using a receiver, a feedback signal associated with the wireless signals from the second electronic device (See at least Fig. 10, Item 1050, [0190] “At step 1050, the UE 1020 feeds back information that identifies one or more reference signal with measurements that meet a threshold (e.g., signal strength is greater or equal a specific value).”); and
transmitting, using the one or more antennas, wireless data to the second electronic device within a selected signal beam from the set of signal beams, wherein the selected signal beam is selected based on the feedback signal and the wireless data is conveyed using radio-frequency signals reflected off a reflector on the reflective device that overlaps the selected signal beam (See at least Figs. 2, 10, Item 1090, [0198] “At step 1090, based on the RIS 1030 being updated with the updated RIS configuration information at step 1085, the base station 1010 and the UE 1020 may exchange data via the RIS 1030.”)
Haija does not explicitly disclose respective reflector on a reflective device. However, Jian, in the same or in a similar field of endeavor, discloses:
(See at least Fig. 8B, [0114] “the first node (e.g., wireless access node 104) may independently formulate or use multiple or different beams simultaneously to transmit signals to the different surface element regions SER”);
Furthermore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the reflection system disclosed by Haija with the beam pointing system disclosed by Jian. One would have been motivated to do so in order to advantageously enable independent operation of reflectors (See at least [0114] “Moreover, the intelligent reflecting device 124 may independently set reflection angles of the respective surface element regions to optimally reflect incident signals toward their respective second nodes (e.g., user devices 102) with which they are associated in order to minimize interference between the overall channels”).
Regarding claim 10, the combination of Haija and Jian, as shown in the rejection above, discloses all of the limitations of claim 9. Haija further discloses
transmitting the wireless signals comprises: controlling the reflective device to set a reflector on the reflective device to a corresponding orientation (See at least Fig. 10, Items 1085, 1090, [0197] “the new updated RIS configuration information to the RIS 1030 that may be used to update AoD information or the phase difference between two RIS elements at RIS 1030 resulting in a more accurate redirection of the signal towards the UE 1020.” Haija discloses updating configuration of at least two RIS elements (first and second reflectors) such that for additional transmissions the angle of depart (reflection orientation) is different from previous configurations)
Regarding claim 11, the combination of Haija and Jian, as shown in the rejection above, discloses all of the limitations of claims 9 and 10. Haija further discloses
controlling the reflective device to sweep the reflectors on the reflective device over sets of different reflector orientations (See at least Fig. 10, [0197] “At step 1085, the base station 1010, or the network, sends the new updated RIS configuration information to the RIS 1030 that may be used to update AoD information or the phase difference between two RIS elements at RIS 1030 resulting in a more accurate redirection of the signal towards the UE 1020.”); and
sweeping the one or more antennas over the set of signal beams while the reflective device sweeps the reflectors over the sets of different reflector orientations (See at least [0164] “For example, a method may initially involve determining a course estimate of the phase difference via measurements, such as beam sweeping via wide beams between a source, the RIS, and a destination”)
Regarding claim 12, the combination of Haija and Jian, as shown in the rejection above, discloses all of the limitations of claim 9. Haija further discloses
receiving, using the receiver, sensor data from the second electronic device; and updating the selected signal beam based on the sensor data received from the second electronic device (See at least Fig. 10, Item 1050, [0190] “At step 1050, the UE 1020 feeds back information that identifies one or more reference signal with measurements that meet a threshold (e.g., signal strength is greater or equal a specific value).”)
Regarding Claim 13, The combination of Haija and Jian, as shown above, discloses all of the limitations of claim 9. Haija further discloses
sweeping the one or more antennas over a subset of the signal beams, the subset of the signal beams surrounding the selected signal beam (See at least [0189] “The UE 1020, while performing beam sweeping, performs measurements of the received reference signals (RS) based on the configuration sent to the UE 1020 by the base station 1010.”);
receiving, using the receiver, an additional feedback signal from the second electronic device after sweeping over the subset of the signal beams; and updating the selected signal beam to one of the signal beams in the subset of signal beams based on the additional feedback signal received from the second electronic device (The Examiner notes that while the above claim element is not explicitly disclosed by Haija and Jian, Haija does disclose the step of transmitting, using the one or more antennas, wireless data to the second electronic device within a selected signal beam from the set of signal beams, wherein the selected signal beam is selected based on the feedback signal and the wireless data is conveyed using radio-frequency signals reflected off a reflector on the reflective device that overlaps the selected signal beam (See at least Fig. 10, Item 1090, [0198] “At step 1090, based on the RIS 1030 being updated with the updated RIS configuration information at step 1085, the base station 1010 and the UE 1020 may exchange data via the RIS 1030.”). Therefore, Haija and Jian differ from the claimed invention because the claimed invention uses an additional feedback signal. However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the combination of Haija and Jian so that an additional feedback signal is used with a reasonable expectation of success. It has been held that a mere duplication of parts is an obvious modification, see MPEP 2144.04. In reHarza, 274 F.2d 669, 124 USPQ 378 (CCPA 1960). Because no new and unexpected result is produced, the mere duplication of feedback signals has no patentable significance. One would have been motivated to do so in order to advantageously improve effectiveness by performing operations on multiple signals)
Claims 14 and 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Haija, in view of Jian, in further view of Li.
Regarding claim 14, The combination of Haija and Jian, as shown above, discloses all the limitations of claim 9. The combination of Haija and Jian does not explicitly disclose wherein transmitting the wireless signals comprises transmitting a different respective preamble using each of the signal beams in the set of signal beams. However, Li, in the same or in a similar field of endeavor, discloses
wherein transmitting the wireless signals comprises transmitting a different respective preamble using each of the signal beams in the set of signal beams (See at least [0153] “Each of the RACH occasions/preambles may map to different SSB of the first subset 1002. For example, a first RACH occasion or preamble may indicate that the first subset 1002 is the selected SSB subset and that the SSB0 is the designated SSB, a second RACH occasion or preamble may indicate that the first subset 1002 is the selected SSB subset and that the SSB4 is the designated SSB, a third RACH occasion or preamble may indicate that the first subset 1002 is the selected SSB subset and that the SSB8 is the designated SSB, a fourth RACH occasion or preamble may indicate that the first subset 1002 is the selected SSB subset and that the SSB12 is the designated SSB”).
Furthermore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the reflection system disclosed by Haija with the beam pointing system disclosed by Jian with the preamble disclosed by Li. One would have been motivated to do so in order to advantageously improve communication performance (See at least [0057] “The aspects presented herein may enable a UE to provide reporting including multiple SSB indices and associated measurements via group-based SSB subsets, which may facilitate improving communication performance”).
Regarding claim 15, The combination of Haija and Jian, as shown above, discloses all the limitations of claims 9 and 14. The combination of Haija and Jian does not explicitly disclose the selected signal beam is selected based on preamble information included in the feedback signal received from the second electronic device. However, Li, in the same or in a similar field of endeavor, discloses
the selected signal beam is selected based on preamble information included in the feedback signal received from the second electronic device (See at least Fig. 9, [0153] “Each of the RACH occasions/preambles may map to different SSB of the first subset 1002. For example, a first RACH occasion or preamble may indicate that the first subset 1002 is the selected SSB subset and that the SSB0 is the designated SSB, a second RACH occasion or preamble may indicate that the first subset 1002 is the selected SSB subset and that the SSB4 is the designated SSB, a third RACH occasion or preamble may indicate that the first subset 1002 is the selected SSB subset and that the SSB8 is the designated SSB, a fourth RACH occasion or preamble may indicate that the first subset 1002 is the selected SSB subset and that the SSB12 is the designated SSB” Li discloses a “selected” signals in the feedback preamble. See also [0154]-[0160]).
Furthermore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the reflection system disclosed by Haija with the beam pointing system disclosed by Jian with the preamble disclosed by Li. One would have been motivated to do so in order to advantageously improve communication performance (See at least [0057] “The aspects presented herein may enable a UE to provide reporting including multiple SSB indices and associated measurements via group-based SSB subsets, which may facilitate improving communication performance”).
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Haija, in view of Jian, in further view of Kumari (US 20230093364 A1), hereinafter Kumari.
Regarding claim 16, The combination of Haija and Jian, as shown above, discloses all the limitations of claim 9. The combination of Haija and Jian does not explicitly disclose calibrating a position of the reflective device with respect to the first electronic device prior to transmitting the wireless signals. However, Kumari, in the same or in a similar field of endeavor, discloses
calibrating a position of the reflective device with respect to the first electronic device prior to transmitting the wireless signals (See at least Fig. 4, Items 205-a, 405, [0105]-[0106] “[0105] At 405, UE 115-e, which may be a vehicle UE 115 in a V2X system, may receive signaling indicating configuration information for a reflection from assisting node 205-a. […] In some cases, the configuration information may include a […] calibration information, location information of assisting node 205-a, or a combination thereof. […] In some cases, assisting node 205-a may be an intelligent reflective surface (e.g., an RIS),”).
Furthermore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the reflection system disclosed by Haija with the beam pointing system disclosed by Jian with the calibration system disclosed by Kumari. One would have been motivated to do so in order to advantageously improve reliability, coordination, and efficiency (See at least [0142] “which may cause improved communication reliability, reduced latency, improved user experience related to reduced processing, reduced power consumption, more efficient utilization of communication resources, improved coordination between devices, longer battery life, improved utilization of processing capability, and the like”).
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Haija, in view of Jian, in further Kumari, in further view of Swan (US 20210390859 A1), hereinafter Swan.
Regarding claim 17, The combination of Haija, Jian, and Kumari, as shown above, discloses all the limitations of claims 9 and 16. The combination of Haija, Jian and Kumari does not explicitly disclose calibrating the position comprises transmitting, using optics, optical signals to the reflective device and receiving, using the optics, reflected optical signals from the reflective device. However, Swan, in the same or in a similar field of endeavor, discloses
calibrating the position comprises transmitting, using optics, optical signals to the reflective device and receiving, using the optics, reflected optical signals from the reflective device (See at least [0045] “the system 10 uses a corner optical reflectors 40 to calibrate the sensor position”, [0032] “The sensor 30 may be a camera, a radar sensor, or a lidar sensor” Swan discloses using a lidar sensor for calibration which as an active sensor requires transmission/reception of optical signals.).
Furthermore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the reflection system disclosed by Haija with the beam pointing system disclosed by Jian with the calibration system disclosed by Kumari with the optical calibration system disclosed by Swan. One would have been motivated to do so in order to advantageously improve accuracy (See at least [0045] “This arrangement allows the sensor to pinpoint the exact location of the optical reflector accurately.”).
Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Haija, in view of Jian, in further view of Kumari, in further view of Lim (US 20220407666 A1), hereinafter Lim.
Regarding claim 18, The combination of Haija, Jian, and Kumari, as shown above, discloses all the limitations of claims 9 and 16. The combination of Haija, Jian, and Kumari does not explicitly disclose calibrating the position comprises receiving ultra-wideband signals from a set of ultra-wideband antennas on the reflective device. However, Lim, in the same or in a similar field of endeavor, discloses
calibrating the position comprises receiving ultra-wideband signals from a set of ultra-wideband antennas on the reflective device (See at least [0082] “The finding platform 230 may control the UWB finder 232 to activate a UWB communication circuit connected to a plurality of UWB antennas to receive a signal of a UWB channel used for positioning. The finding platform 230 may receive the UWB signal received from the second device 202 using the UWB communication circuit, and may estimate the location of the second device 202 based on an arrival time and/or arrival angle of the signal received by each of the plurality of UWB antenna” The Examiner notes that while the claims do not explicitly recite a ‘reflector’, the secondary device housing the UWB transmitter is analogous.).
Furthermore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the reflection system disclosed by Haija with the beam pointing system disclosed by Jian with the calibration system disclosed by Kumari with the ultra-wideband system disclosed by Lim. One would have been motivated to do so in order to advantageously easily locate a device (See at least [0007] “easily discover the lost device, using, for example, ultra-wide band (UWB) communication”).
Allowable Subject Matter
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance:
Allowance of claims 21-22 is indicated because:
None of the prior art of record teach or suggest the subject matter of independent claim 21. The prior art of record does not anticipate or render fairly obvious in combination to teach all of the additional limitations of the claimed invention, as best understood within the context of Applicant’s claimed invention as a whole, such as in claim 21, transmitting, using one or more antennas, radio-frequency signals using a first radio access technology (RAT) within a set of signal beams overlapping a plurality of reflectors on a reflective device concurrent with the plurality of reflectors being tilted in different respective physical orientations relative to a support structure of the reflective device; receiving, using a receiver and a second RAT different from the first RAT, a feedback signal associated with the wireless signals from the second electronic device.
Accordingly, claim 21 is deemed to have allowable subject matter. Claim 22 would also be considered allowable subject matter by virtue of their dependence on allowable claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Beg (US 20250164603 A1) - A method for Wi-Fi sensing carried out by networked device is described. Initially, first set of time domain pulses is obtained from first channel representation information determined from first sensing measurement based on first sensing transmission transmitted by sensing transmitter and received by sensing receiver. A first amplitude attenuation is detected between first selected time domain pulse of first set of time domain pulses and first corresponding time domain pulse. Further, second set of time domain pulses is obtained from second channel representation information determined from second sensing measurement based on second sensing transmission transmitted by sensing transmitter and received by sensing receiver. A second amplitude attenuation is detected between second selected time domain pulse of second set of time domain pulses and second corresponding time domain pulse. A time lag is determined between first amplitude attenuation and second amplitude attenuation, and near-far indicator is determined based on time lag.
Gurelli (US 20230098229 A1) - Disclosed are techniques for wireless communication. In an aspect, a position estimation entity determines a set of position estimates associated with a set of user equipments (UEs), obtains first measurement information associated with a set of signals as reflected off of a target intelligent reflecting surface (IRS), determines a position estimate of the target IRS based on the set of position estimates and the first measurement information, and determines an orientation, relative to a common orientation reference frame, of the target IRS based on the set of position estimates and at least the first measurement information.
Walker (US 20240356625 A1) - The invention proposes a system and method for determining and controlling a reconfigurable relay device (e.g., a reconfigurable intelligent surface, RIS, or a smart repeater), wherein the reconfigurable relay device is registered and a wireless communication path is established from a network (e.g. access device) via the reconfigurable relay device to a terminal device. The network registers the reconfigurable relay device and determines parameters needed for its control. The control may be achieved by validated and accepted commands and queries. A relay state of the relay device may be set so that a beam for the wireless communication path is correctly redirected at the terminal device.
/KENNETH W GOOD/
Examiner, Art Unit 3648