DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-18 as filed on May 24, 2023 are pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Sim et al. (US 2019/0319196 A1).
Sim discloses compounds for an organic electroluminescence device (see abstract). The following compound is exemplified (see compound 3 on page 7):
.
The compound 3 is identical to the first compound listed in claim 16. The compound anticipates claim 16.
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by WO 2016/153283.
WO ‘283 exemplifies at least the following compounds, which anticipate the claim:
(par.71)
(par. 72).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Min et al. (US 2015/0001488 A1) in view of Sim et al. (US 2019/0319196 A1).
Regarding claims 1 and 13 Min et al. teaches compositions for organic optoelectronic devices (see abstract) comprising a first host with an electron characteristic (see par. 33 and 35) and a second host with a hole characteristic (see par. 32 and 35). The second host may include a compound according to Formula 4 where the “R” substituents may include deuterium (see par. 62-69) per instant “second host”. At least one specific Formula 4 compound is the following example 13 compound 2-511 (see Table 23, page 42):
.
The Min et al. first host with an electron characteristic has an ET group (i.e., electron transport, par. 46) that may be a triazine group (see par. 53), but it is not seen where a specific triazine derivative the same as instant Formula 1 is shown. In analogous art, Sim et al. teaches triazine-containing compounds of Formula 1 as a host material for an emitting layer of an organic electroluminescent device per instant “first host” of claim 1 (see par. 10-15). More specifically, a Sim et al. triazine derivative may be the following compound 3, which is identical to instant Formula 1 compound C-96 of instant claim 11:
.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have selected host material according to Formula 1 such as specific compound 3 taught by Sim et al. as a first host material in a device according to Min et al., because one would expect the Sim et al. derivative to provide the electron characteristic of a first triazine-containing host material for a host composition of a light emitting device. One would expect to achieve a functional device comprising host materials according to Min et al. and Sim et al. with a predictable result and a reasonable expectation of success.
Further regarding claim 2, the above Sim et al. compound 3 has at least phenyl group corresponding to instant groups Ar1 and Ar2. Regarding claim 3, the above compound 3 meets the substitution requirement with a phenyl corresponding to instant R2 and hydrogen at instant R1 and R3-R8 positions. Regarding claims 4 and 5, R1 may have deuterium X, Y and/or Z may include deuterium (par. 13) and the “substituted” to describe a group (such as substituted aryl groups per R2) within the Sim et al. reference may include substitution by deuterium atom (see par. 45). Accordingly, deuterium may be included in a Formula 1 to meet the deuterium rate claimed.
Further regarding claims 6-8, Min et al. teaches any of R7-R11 (see par. 64) can include deuterium (see par. 68). Substituted groups are defined for Min et al. Formula 4 derivatives (par. 64-69) and the term “substituted” refers to deuterium (see par. 20) where substitution may be selected to meet the claimed deuterium substitution rate. Substituted groups are defined for Min et al. Formula 4 derivatives (par. 64-69) and the term “substituted” refers to deuterium (see par. 20) where substitution may be selected to meet the claimed rate of deuterium substitution rate upon the carbazole groups of Formula 4. Regarding claim 9, Formula 4 of Min et al. (par. 64) provides for bonding attachments per any of instant 2-1 to 2-8 compound bonding locations as Formula 4 shows bonding into the center of rings of adjoining carbazole groups of Min et al. Formula 4. Regarding claim 10, Min et al. Ar2 and Ar3 may include at least phenyl (see par. 69). Regarding claim 12, the core structure of specific compound 2-943 of Min et al. (see par. 124) is identical to instant H2-1 and Min et al. further defines Formula 4 such that a deuterium may be present (see at least Min par. 68).
Claims 14 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sim et al. (US 2019/0319196 A1).
Regarding claim 14, Sim et al. teaches triazine-containing compounds of Formula 1 as a host material for an emitting layer of an organic electroluminescent device (see par. 10-15):
Note that X, Z, or Y may be deuterium (see par. 13). More specifically, a Sim et al. triazine derivative structure may be the following compound 3, which is identical to an instant Formula I-1 compound C-166 of instant claim 15 except for showing at least one deuterium (see par. 84, page 7) selected for a Y, Z, or X position of general formula 1:
While a compound the same as compound 3 is not exemplified with a X, Y, or Z selected as deuterium, given the teachings of the reference defining a formula 1, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have formed a host material according to Formula 1 such as specific compound 3 with a deuterium included as taught by Sim et al. for a light emitting device, because Sim et al. defines such derivatives as a suitable host material for use in a light emitting device. One would expect to achieve a functional compound within the disclosure of Sim et al. with a predictable result and a reasonable expectation of success.
Claims 17 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over WO 2016/153283 (an English translation is provided with this office action).
WO ‘283 teaches compounds according to Formula 1 (see par. 12):
R1 may be hydrogen, L1 and L2 may be single bond or C6 to C60 arylene, and Ar1 to Ar3 may be the same or different and may be C6 to C60 aryl (see par. 14-18). Accordingly, a compound defined within the formula 1 may be the same as compounds of instant claims 17 and 18. Note that L2-Ar2 or L1-Ar1 are biphenyl when C6 is selected for each of a L2 and Ar2 or each of a L1 and Ar2 as required in compounds of claim 18. Ar2 may specifically by a triazine group with two phenyl groups (see par. 42) per instant formula I-2 triazine ring with Ar1 and Ar2. While WO ‘283 does not exemplify all possible compounds of the Formula 1 the same as derivatives recited in instant claims 17 and 18, given the teachings of the reference defining a Formula 1, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have formed compounds as defined by WO ‘238 for a light emitting device as described above wherein the resultant compound would also meet the limitations of the instant claims. One would expect to achieve a functional compound within the disclosure of WO ‘238 with a predictable result and a reasonable expectation of success.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
CN 113493446 A teaches carbazole and triazine containing derivatives considered relevant to the field of the invention.
/DAWN L GARRETT/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1786