DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1, 5-9, 11-12, 16-21 and 23-28 are pending.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see arguments filed 10/21/2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) under Zhou have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Huang US 2023/0224930 A1.
Claim Interpretation
Examiner notes that “a power sensitivity” is interpreted as any smart phone using its battery for power wirelessly communicating with a network. Fig. 6 mentions “low power”, “power sensitive as a smart phone, and a UE plugged into a wall as not as power sensitive.”
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1, 6-7, 9, 11-12, 16-21, 23-28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
The term “more” in independent claims 1, 11-12 and 20 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “more” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. For the purpose of examination, “more power sensitive” is interpreted as a UE that is unplugged from a power source based on Fig. 6 of the instant application which illustrates “low power”, “power sensitive as a smart phone”, and “a UE plugged into a wall as not as power sensitive”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 5-7, 9, 11-12, 16-17, 19-21, and 23-28 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Zhou et al. US 2020/0100179, further in view of Huang US 2023/0224930 A1.
Claim 1, Zhou discloses a method performed by an apparatus, the method comprising:
receiving a message indicating that the apparatus is to transition to a power saving state of a plurality of operating states ([0308] wireless device 2804 may receive the activation/deactivation command indicating the activation of the power saving operation configuration of the at least one power saving operation configuration. The wireless device 2804 may switch from the normal access mode to a power saving mode);
receiving an indication of at least one frequency resource for a control channel ([0308] wireless device 2804 may monitor a power saving signal/channel corresponding to the power saving operation configuration [inherently at a frequency]),
wherein the at least one frequency resource is associated with the power saving state and the at least one frequency resource is also associated with a power sensitivity of the apparatus ([0310] receive the power saving signal based on the monitoring of the channel (e.g., in a time window associated with the power saving operation configuration, in a frequency resource associated with the power saving operation configuration, and/or in a control resource set and/or a search space associated with the power saving operation configuration, etc.) and Fig. 1 illustrates a smartphone that is operating wirelessly i.e., a power sensitivity of the apparatus); and
monitoring for a downlink notification, in the power saving state ([0309] wireless device 2804 may monitor the power saving signal/channel in a frequency resource associated with the power saving operation configuration of the at least one power saving operation configuration), on the control channel at the at least one frequency resource ([0309] wireless device 2804 may monitor the power saving signal/channel in a frequency resource associated with the power saving operation configuration of the at least one power saving operation configuration), wherein a bandwidth of the at least one frequency resource on which the apparatus monitors for the downlink notification is smaller than a bandwidth of at least one other frequency resource configured for downlink notification monitoring ([0281] In at least some communication systems, a wireless device may not be configured for DRX operation. The wake-up mechanism may be used to selectively activate the wireless device, for example, to be operational for a particular time period. The wake-up mechanism may be used to selectively activate the wireless device to continuously monitor PDCCH in a particular time period. [0282] FIG. 27A and FIG. 27B show examples of a wake-up mechanism. In FIG. 27A, a base station may send (e.g., transmit) one or more messages 2702 (e.g., RRC messages) comprising parameters of a wake-up duration 2704 (or a power saving duration), to a wireless device. The wake-up duration may be a number of slots (or symbols) before a DRX On duration 2706 of a DRX cycle. The number of slots (or symbols), or a gap, between the wake-up duration 2704 (e.g., an end of the wake-up duration) and the DRX On duration 2706, may be configured in one or more RRC messages, or may be a fixed and predefined value.) [[used]] by a different apparatus ([0282] a base station) ([0309] wireless device 2804), capability, or service type, and wherein the first apparatus type, capability, or service type is more power sensitive than capability, or service type associated with the different apparatus
However, Zhou does not explicitly disclose wherein the first apparatus type, capability, or service type is more power sensitive than
In a similar field of endeavor, Huang suggests wherein the first apparatus type, capability, or service type (RedCap; [0005]) is more power sensitive than (NR regular UE; [0005]), capability, or service type (one type of UE may be a New Radio (NR)-Reduced Capability (RedCap) UE (e.g., NR-Light UE) that has lower capabilities, a lower number of antennas, a smaller communication bandwidth, a shorter battery capacity, lesser processing capabilities, or a combination thereof than another type of UE configured for NR communications (e.g., an NR regular UE).)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the power savings of Zhou with the different device types suggested by Huang. The motivation would be to support different downlink shared channel support for different devices. Huang at Abstract.
Claim 5, Zhou-Huang suggests the method and motivation of claim 1. Huang also suggests wherein monitoring for the downlink notification on the control channel at the at least one frequency resource comprises: at a configured time occasion, performing blind detection on the control channel at the at least one frequency resource to determine whether the downlink notification is present ([0131] the UE 115 may attempt to blindly decode any PDCCH identified during an on-duration of a corresponding multicast session 605 to search for a DCI which is scrambled with the configured G-RNTI values.)
Claim 6, Zhou-Huang suggest the method and motivation of claim 1. Zhou also discloses wherein the downlink notification is an indication included in a downlink control information (DCI) that schedules a notification message to receive, or is a notification message included in a DCI ([0299] A base station may transmit a command (e.g., DCI or a MAC CE) indicating a power saving operation configuration of a plurality of power saving operation configurations that will be activated).
Claim 7, Zhou-Huang suggest the method and motivation of claim 1. Zhou also discloses wherein the indication of the at least one frequency resource is received along with or by receiving an indication of at least one of:
the at least one frequency resource bandwidth ([0309] wireless device 2804 may monitor the power saving signal/channel on a BWP of a cell, wherein the BWP and/or the cell may be indicated in the activation/deactivation command and/or the power saving operation configuration of the at least one power saving operation configuration);
a control resource set (CORESET) within the of the at least one frequency resource bandwidth; or
a search space within the CORESET ([0388] For example, a wireless device may be configured with two CORESETS for beam failure recovery, for example: a first CORESET for a full power state, and a second CORESET for a power saving state.).
Claim 9, Zhou-Huang suggests the method and motivation of claim 1. Zhou also discloses wherein the indication of the at least one frequency resource is received when the apparatus is in an active state ([0308] wireless device 2804 may monitor at most one power saving signal/channel for the power saving operation, for example, if at most one power saving operation configuration is comprised in the one or more RRC messages), and
wherein the message indicates that the apparatus is to transition from the active state to an inactive or idle state ([0308] wireless device 2804 may switch from the normal access mode to a power saving mode by applying parameters of the power saving operation configuration).
Regarding Claim 11, Zhou-Huang suggests the method and motivation of claim 1 in method form rather than apparatus form. Zhou also discloses an apparatus (fig 3) comprising:
at least one processor (fig 3 processor 314); and
a memory (fig 3 memory 315) storing processor-executable instructions.
Therefore, the rejection of claim 1 applies equally as well to the limitations of claim 11.
Regarding Claim 12, Zhou-Huang suggests the method and motivation of claim 1 in receiver method form rather than transmit method form. Therefore, the rejection of claim 1 applies equally as well to the limitations of claim 12.
Regarding Claim 16, Zhou-Huang suggests the method and motivation of claim 6 in receiver method form rather than transmit method form. Therefore, the rejection of claim 6 applies equally as well to the limitations of claim 16.
Regarding Claim 17, Zhou-Huang suggests the method and motivation of claim 7 in receiver method form rather than transmit method form. Therefore, the rejection of claim 7 applies equally as well to the limitations of claim 17.
Regarding Claim 19, Zhou-Huang suggests the method and motivation of claim 9 in receiver method form rather than transmit method form. Therefore, the rejection of claim 9 applies equally as well to the limitations of claim 19.
Claim 20, Zhou-Huang suggests the method and motivation of claim 1. Zhou also discloses a device (fig 3) comprising:
at least one processor (fig 3 processor 321); and
a memory (fig 3 memory 322) storing processor-executable instructions.
Claim 21, Zhou-Huang suggests the method and motivation of claim 1. Zhou also discloses wherein the first apparatus type, capability, or service type is associated with a (see 35 USC 112(b) above, Fig. 1 element 110A) battery life requirement ([0229] A base station and/or a wireless device may use a power saving mechanism (e.g., hibernation mechanism) for an SCell, for example, if CA is configured. A power saving mechanism may improve battery performance (e.g., run-times), reduce power consumption of the wireless device, and/or to improve latency of SCell activation and/or SCell addition. The SCell may be transitioned (e.g., switched and/or adjusted) to a dormant state if the wireless device initiates a power saving state for (e.g., hibernates) the SCell. The wireless device may, for example, if the SCell is transitioned to a dormant state: stop transmitting SRS on the SCell, report CQI/PMI/RI/PTI/CRI for the SCell according to or based on a periodicity configured for the SCell in a dormant state, not transmit on an UL-SCH on the SCell, not transmit on a RACH on the SCell, not monitor the PDCCH on the SCell, not monitor the PDCCH for the SCell, and/or not transmit PUCCH on the SCell. Not transmitting, not monitoring, not receiving, and/or not performing an action may comprise, for example, refraining from transmitting, refraining from monitoring, refraining from receiving, and/or refraining from performing an action, respectively. Reporting CSI for an SCell, that has been transitioned to a dormant state, and not monitoring the PDCCH on/for the SCell, may provide the base station an “always-updated” CSI for the SCell. The base station may use a quick and/or accurate channel adaptive scheduling on the SCell, based on the always-updated CSI, if the SCell is transitioned back to active state. Using the always-updated CSI may speed up an activation procedure of the SCell. Reporting CSI for the SCell and not monitoring the PDCCH on and/or for the SCell (e.g., that may have been transitioned to a dormant state), may provide advantages such as increased battery efficiency, reduced power consumption of the wireless device, and/or increased timeliness and/or accuracy of channel feedback information feedback. A PCell/PSCell and/or a PUCCH SCell, for example, may not be configured or transitioned to a dormant state.).
Claim 23, see claim 11 for the rejection. Zhou also discloses wherein the indication of the at least one frequency resource is received along with or by receiving an indication of at least one of: the bandwidth of the at least one frequency resource; a control resource set (CORESET) within the bandwidth of the at least one frequency resource; or a search space within the CORESET ([0388] For example, a wireless device may be configured with two CORESETS for beam failure recovery, for example: a first CORESET for a full power state, and a second CORESET for a power saving state.).
Claim 24, see claim 11 for the rejection. Zhou also discloses wherein the message indicating that the apparatus is to transition to the power saving state is received subsequent to receiving the indication of the at least one frequency resource ([0012] broadcasting at least a first message indicating that the access point switches from the first access mode to the second access mode, the first message comprising a resource information specifying resource blocks allocated to the plurality of remote stations).
Claim 25, see claim 11 for the rejection. Zhou also discloses wherein the indication of the at least one frequency resource is received when the apparatus is in an active state, and wherein the message indicates that the apparatus is to transition from the active state to an inactive or idle state ([0308] wireless device 2804 may switch from the normal access mode to a power saving mode by applying parameters of the power saving operation configuration).
Claim 26, see claim 20 for the rejection. Zhou also discloses wherein the indication of the at least one frequency resource is transmitted along with or by transmitting an indication of at least one of: the bandwidth of the at least one frequency resource; a control resource set (CORESET) within the bandwidth of the at least one frequency resource; or a search space within the CORESET ([0388] For example, a wireless device may be configured with two CORESETS for beam failure recovery, for example: a first CORESET for a full power state, and a second CORESET for a power saving state.).
Claim 27, see claim 20 for the rejection. Zhou also discloses wherein the indication of the at least one frequency resource is transmitted when the apparatus is in an active state, and wherein the message indicates that the apparatus is to transition from the active state to an inactive or idle state ([0308] wireless device 2804 may switch from the normal access mode to a power saving mode by applying parameters of the power saving operation configuration).
Claim 28, see claim 20 for the rejection. Zhou also discloses wherein the downlink notification is an indication included in a downlink control information (DCI) that schedules a notification message or is a notification message included in a DCI ([0005] the base station may transmit an activation message to the UE (e.g., and additional UEs configured for multicast communications with the base station) to indicate that the UE is to receive the single DCI carrying parameters for the different multicast downlink shared channels. The different types of UEs may include different capabilities, different numbers of antennas, different communication bandwidths, different battery capacities, different processing capabilities, or a combination thereof.).
Claim(s) 8, 18 and 24 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhou-Huang in view of Gault et al. US 2010/0061334.
Claim 8, Zhou-Huang suggests the method of claim 1,
but is silent on,
wherein the message indicating that the apparatus is to transition to the power saving state is received subsequent to receiving the indication of the at least one frequency resource.
However, as Gault discloses wherein the message indicating that the apparatus is to transition to the power saving state is received subsequent to receiving the indication of the at least one frequency resource ([0012] broadcasting at least a first message indicating that the access point switches from the first access mode to the second access mode, the first message comprising a resource information specifying resource blocks allocated to the plurality of remote stations).
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the Zhou-Huang invention with Gault invention to include the claimed limitation(s) so as to allow the network to configure different modes of operating for the UE in order for the UE to perform switching of operating modes according to the allocated resource.
Claim 18, see claim 8 for the rejection, Zhou-Huang in view of Gault suggest the method of claim 12, wherein the message indicating that the apparatus is to transition to the power saving state is transmitted subsequent to transmitting the indication of the at least one frequency resource ([0012] broadcasting at least a first message indicating that the access point switches from the first access mode to the second access mode, the first message comprising a resource information specifying resource blocks allocated to the plurality of remote stations).
Claim 24, see claim 8 for the rejection, Zhou-Huang in view of Gault suggest the method of claim 11, wherein the message indicating that the apparatus is to transition to the power saving state is received subsequent to receiving the indication of the at least one frequency resource ([0012] broadcasting at least a first message indicating that the access point switches from the first access mode to the second access mode, the first message comprising a resource information specifying resource blocks allocated to the plurality of remote stations).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Qiao US-20240187151-A1 discloses a reduced capability user equipment (UE) or simply called Redcap UE. A downlink transmission method for use with a Redcap UE includes: determining a first parameter configured to indicate the number of repeated transmissions of a physical downlink control channel of a first type of terminal; and performing downlink transmissions based on the first parameter.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Alison Slater/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2647