DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted by applicant dated 08/30/2023 and 11/09/2023 have been considered by the examiner.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
“authentication apparatus configured to…” in claims 11 and 21.
Claim Objections
Claim 23 is objected to because of the following informalities: the claim recites the term “QR” without first defining it.
Claim 28 is objected to because of the following informalities: the claim is missing a period “.” at the end of the claim.
Appropriate corrections are required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 11-15, 17-18, 21 and 24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Suarez et al. US 2018/0225432 (hereinafter Suarez).
As per claim 11, Suarez teaches a system for granting permission clearance to at least one first medical device of a device complex to adjust settings on the at least one first medical device, the system comprising: an authentication server unit for performing authentication (Suarez paragraph [0018], server);
the at least one first medical device (Suarez paragraph [0021], medical devices); and
an authentication apparatus, the authentication apparatus and/or the at least one first medical device being configured to perform authentication of at least one user (Suarez paragraph [0033], [0042], [0051]-[0052], receive authentication information for user),
the authentication apparatus and/or the at least one first medical device being further configured to communicate with the authentication server unit to perform authentication of the at least one first medical device (Suarez paragraph [0033], [0042], [0051]-[0052], send authentication information to server),
the authentication server unit being configured to enable the at least one first medical device with a user-specific use level based on user data upon successful authentication of the at least one first medical device (Suarez paragraph [0023], [0026], [0043], [0045]-[0046], [0052], [0063]-[0065], authenticate user to use the medical device).
As per claim 12, Suarez teaches the system according to claim 11, wherein the at least one first medical device is an infusion pump (Suarez paragraph [0021], infusion pump).
As per claim 13, Suarez teaches the system according to claim 11, wherein the authentication server unit is provided and configured to unlock at least one second medical device in communication contact with the at least one first medical device from the device complex (Suarez paragraph [0021], [0026]-[0027], [0035]-[0039], [0043], [0052], server authenticates user and sends instructions to medical devices for use by the user).
As per claim 14, Suarez teaches the system according to claim 13, wherein the authentication server is provided and configured to unlock the at least one second medical device with the user-specific use level (Suarez paragraph [0021], [0026]-[0027], [0035]-[0039], [0043], [0052], server authenticates user and sends instructions to medical devices for use by the user).
As per claim 15, Suarez teaches the system according to claim 13, wherein the authentication server unit is provided and configured to send an authentication command to the at least one second medical device, wherein the authentication command comprises information (Suarez paragraph [0038], [0047], [0061], [0063]-[0064], server sends authentication command to medical devices).
As per claim 17, Suarez teaches the system according to claim 15, wherein the at least one second medical device is provided and configured to store the information (Suarez paragraph [0030], [0035]-[0039], [0046]-[0047], [0061], [0063]-[0064], medical devices store information).
As per claim 18, Suarez teaches the system according to claim 17, wherein the information is stored in a test protocol of the at least one second medical device (Suarez paragraph [0023], [0030], [0035]-[0039], [0046]-[0047], [0061], [0063]-[0064], medical devices store information).
As per claim 21, Suarez teaches the system according to claim 11, wherein the at least one first medical device or the authentication apparatus is provided and configured to enter user data and send user data to the authentication server unit (Suarez paragraph [0030], [0033], [0042], [0051]-[0052], [0063]-[0064], send user data to server).
As per claim 24, Suarez teaches the system according to claim 11, wherein a communication connection between the authentication server unit and the at least one first medical device is configured bidirectionally (Suarez paragraph [0027], [0030], communication between server and medical devices).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Suarez, in view of Fan et al. US 2020/0336481 (hereinafter Fan).
As per claim 16, Suarez teaches the system according to claim 15, wherein the information comprises at least a user name and the user-specific use level (Suarez paragraph [0038], [0047], [0061], [0063]-[0064], server sends authentication command to medical devices including username information and use level information).
Suarez does not explicitly disclose information comprises time stamp.
Fan teaches information comprises time stamp (Fan paragraph [0123], [0157], timestamp).
Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Suarez of sending an authentication command to medical devices with the teachings of Fan of sending a request including a timestamp of the request because the results would have been predictable and resulted in the authentication command having a timestamp of when the command was generated.
Claims 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Suarez, in view of Moalemzadeh US 2021/0022648.
As per claim 19, Suarez teaches the system according to claim 13.
Suarez does not explicitly disclose wherein system is provided and configured to enable processing of at least one first medical device and/or of at least one second medical device without authentication in an emergency situation.
Moalemzadeh teaches wherein system is provided and configured to enable processing of at least one first medical device and/or of at least one second medical device without authentication in an emergency situation (Moalemzadeh [0095], [0097], access to medical device is provided in emergency situation without authentication).
Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Suarez of authenticating a user for use of a medical device with the teachings of Moalemzadeh to include accessing a medical device in an emergency situation without authentication in order to allow usage of the medical devices during an emergency situation without the hassle of performing authentication.
As per claim 20, Suarez in view of Moalemzadeh teaches the system according to claim 19, wherein the processing is enabled at a lowest use level (Suarez paragraph [0023], [0026], [0043], [0045]-[0046], [0052], [0063]-[0065]; Moalemzadeh [0095], [0097], access to medical device is provided in emergency situation without authentication).
Claims 22-23 and 25-29 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Suarez, in view of Stanley et al. US 2022/0361755 (hereinafter Stanley).
As per claim 22, Suarez teaches the system according to claim 11.
Suarez does not explicitly disclose wherein at least one first medical device is provided and configured to display a code, which is provided and configured to output a device identification of the at least one first medical device by scanning via authentication apparatus.
Stanley teaches wherein at least one first medical device is provided and configured to display a code, which is provided and configured to output a device identification of the at least one first medical device by scanning via authentication apparatus (Stanley paragraph [0071], [0073], [0093], display QR code which includes device ID).
Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Suarez of authenticating and using medical devices with the teachings of Stanley to include a medical device displaying a QR code encoding its device ID and scanning the QR code to obtain the ID because the results would have been predictable and resulted in the medical devices displaying QR codes encoded their device IDs and obtaining the IDs by scanning the QR codes.
As per claim 23, Suarez in view of Stanley teaches the system according to claim 22, wherein the code is a QR code or a barcode (Stanley paragraph [0071], [0073], [0093], display QR code which includes device ID).
As per claim 25, Suarez teaches a method for granting a permission clearance to at least one first medical device of a device complex in order to adjust settings on the at least one first medical device of a device complex, the method comprising the steps of: entering user data into an authentication apparatus and/or the at least one first medical device (Suarez paragraph [0033], [0042], [0051]-[0052], receive authentication information for user);
sending the user data to an authentication server unit (Suarez paragraph [0033], [0042], [0051]-[0052], send authentication information to server);
performing an authentication on the at least one first medical device (Suarez paragraph [0023], [0026], [0043], [0045]-[0046], [0052], [0063]-[0065], authenticate user to use the medical device); and
granting the permission clearance and assigning a user-specific use level (Suarez paragraph [0023], [0026], [0043], [0045]-[0046], [0052], [0063]-[0065], authenticate user to use the medical device).
Suarez does not explicitly disclose entering a device identification of at least one first medical device into authentication apparatus.
Stanley teaches entering a device identification of at least one first medical device into authentication apparatus (Stanley paragraph [0071], [0073], [0093], scan QR code which includes device ID).
Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Suarez of authenticating and using medical devices with the teachings of Stanley to include a medical device displaying a QR code encoding its device ID and scanning the QR code to obtain the ID because the results would have been predictable and resulted in the medical devices displaying QR codes encoded their device IDs and obtaining the IDs by scanning the QR codes.
As per claim 26, Suarez in view of Stanley teaches the method according to claim 25, wherein the at least one first medical device is an infusion pump (Suarez paragraph [0021], infusion pump).
As per claim 27, Suarez in view of Stanley teaches the method according to claim 25, wherein the user data is a user name and password or biometric data (Suarez paragraph [0033], [0042], [0051]-[0052], receive authentication information for user).
As per claim 28, Suarez in view of Stanley teaches the method according to claim 25, wherein the device identification is entered by scanning a code displayable on the at least one first medical device (Suarez paragraph [0021]; Stanley paragraph [0071], [0073], [0093], scan QR code which includes device ID).
As per claim 29, Suarez in view of Stanley teaches the method according to claim 25, further comprising the steps of: sending an authentication command to at least one second medical device (Suarez paragraph [0038], [0047], [0061], [0063]-[0064], server sends authentication command to medical devices);
storing received information of the authentication command in the at least one second medical device (Suarez paragraph [0030], [0035]-[0039], [0046]-[0047], [0061], [0063]-[0064], medical devices store information); and
using the at least one second medical device according to a received use level (Suarez paragraph [0021], [0026]-[0027], [0035]-[0039], [0043], [0052], server authenticates user and sends instructions to medical devices for use by the user).
Conclusion
/HENRY TSANG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2495