DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 6 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fairchild et al, US 20170179536 A1 (as cited in the IDS) and Bowen et al, US 5035045 A (as cited in the IDS).
Regarding Claim 1, Fairchild teaches a bipolar battery including a plurality of bipolar plates (Fairchild, 10; figure 4), spacers (Fairchild, 20; figure 4) holding an electrolyte (Fairchild, 20; figure 4), and terminal end sections (Fairchild, 30; figure 4) stacked together [Fairchild, 0024]. As shown in figure 4, the cell includes a bipolar plate, stacked with a first active material (Fairchild, 16; figure 4), corresponding to the positive electrode of the claim, and a second active material (Fairchild, 18; figure 4) [Fairchild, 0025], corresponding to the negative electrode of the claim, with the electrolyte between. The bipolar plate includes a frame (Fairchild, 11; figure 4), corresponding to the inner frame of the claim, shown in figure 4 between adjacent cell members. Figure 4 of Fairchild also depicts the rim of the frame and shows it to be integrally connected to the outer peripheral position of the bipolar plate that rises in a thickness direction of the plate. The bipolar battery includes end plates (Fairchild, 38; figure 4), corresponding to the outer frames of the claim, the end plates are positioned on opposite ends of the stacked bipolar plates [Fairchild, 0055]. The frame is a moldable insulative polymer, including polypropylene, acrylonitrile butadiene styrene (ABS), polycarbonate, copolymers, or polymer blends [Fairchild, 0026], wherein according to the instant specification the thermoplastic resin constituting the fiber reinforced thermoplastic resin includes an acrylonitrile-butadiene-styrene copolymer (ABS) resin or polypropylene [instant specification, 0035]. However, Fairchild is silent to teach on the material for at least the inner or outer frames being made of a fiber reinforced thermoplastic resin.
Bowen teaches a bipolar battery construction particular to a method of joining thermoplastic frames of the battery [Bowen, column 2, lines 5-7], wherein the end frames (Bowen, 2; figure 1) and the central frames (Bowen, 3; figure 1) are formed of a thermoplastic resin, such as polyethylene, polypropylene, or the like, that is reinforced by fibers of carbon, graphite, glass or the like [Bowen, column 3, lines 1-4].
Bowen and Fairchild are considered analogous art in the area of batteries and power storage devices.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person with ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filling date of the instant application, to modify Fairchild to include the fiber reinforcement of the thermoplastic resin as taught by Bowen, because thermoplastic resin is normally reinforced with glass or graphite fibers [Bowen, column 1, lines 50-51], therefore, it is well-known to reinforce thermoplastic resin in battery productions. Thus, a simple substitution of one known element for another to obtain predictable results supports prima facie obviousness determination (MPEP 2143, I, B).
Regarding Claim 2, modified Fairchild teaches the bipolar storage battery of claim 1, wherein the end plates (Fairchild, 38; figure 4), corresponding to the outer frames of the claim, are positioned with a terminal plate (Fairchild, 34) [Fairchild, 0054], corresponding to the end plate of the claim, and shown in figure 4 of Fairchild to be plate shaped. The end plates includes a terminal receive passageway (Fairchild, 38a; figure 4), which is a recess in which the terminal plate are positioned [Fairchild, 0057]. Figure 4 of Fair child depicts a raised portion integrally connected to the terminal plate, and encased within the terminal section (Fairchild, 30; figure 4), therefore, rising towards the rim. The end plates are an insulative plastic and moldable [Fairchild, 0064].However, modified Fairchild is silent to teach on the outer frames being made of fiber reinforced thermoplastic resin.
Bowen teaches on a pair of end frames (Bowen, 2; figure 1), corresponding to the outer frames of the claim, formed of a thermoplastic resin reinforced by fibers of carbon, graphite, glass or the like [Bowen, column 3, lines 1-4].
Bowen and Fairchild are considered analogous art in the area of batteries and power storage devices.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person with ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filling date of the instant application, to modify the end plates of Fairchild to be made of reinformed thermoplastic resin, as taught by Bowen, because such modification would result in a positive leak-proof bond between the thermoplastic frames of the battery [Bowen, column 5, lines 42-43].
Regarding Claim 3, modified Fairchild teaches the bipolar storage battery of claim 2, wherein the frame (Fairchild, 11; figure 4) is a moldable insulative polymer, including acrylonitrile butadiene styrene (ABS) [Fairchild, 0026], and according to the instant specification, the thermoplastic resin constituting the fiber reinforced thermoplastic resin includes an acrylonitrile-butadiene-styrene copolymer (ABS) resin or polypropylene [instant specification, 0035], further, thermoplastic resin is normally reinforced with glass or graphite fibers [Bowen, column 3, lines 1-4].
Regarding Claim 6, modified Fairchild teaches the bipolar storage battery of claim 1, wherein the frame (Fairchild, 11; figure 4) is a moldable insulative polymer, including acrylonitrile butadiene styrene (ABS) [Fairchild, 0026], and according to the instant specification, the thermoplastic resin constituting the fiber reinforced thermoplastic resin includes an acrylonitrile-butadiene-styrene copolymer (ABS) resin or polypropylene [instant specification, 0035], further, thermoplastic resin is normally reinforced with glass or graphite fibers [Bowen, column 3, lines 1-4]
Regarding Claim 9, modified Fairchild teaches the bipolar storage battery of claim 6, wherein the frame (Fairchild, 11; figure 4) is a moldable insulative polymer, including acrylonitrile butadiene styrene (ABS) [Fairchild, 0026], and according to the instant specification, the thermoplastic resin constituting the fiber reinforced thermoplastic resin includes an acrylonitrile-butadiene-styrene copolymer (ABS) resin or polypropylene [instant specification, 0035], further, thermoplastic resin is normally reinforced with glass or graphite fibers [Bowen, column 3, lines 1-4], but is silent to teach on the fiberglass-reinforced ABS resin having a composition that a content of glass fiber is equal to or more than 10% by mass and equal to or less than 30% by mass.
Bowen teaches the fiber reinforcement can comprise up to 30% by weight of the composite frame [column 3, lines 4-5].
Bowen and Fairchild are considered analogous art in the area of batteries and power storage devices.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person with ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filling date of the instant application, to modify the fiber reinforced ABS resin taught by Fairchild to include the up to 30% by weight of fiber reinforcement as taught by Bowen because such modification would result in positive leak-proof bond between the thermoplastic frames of the battery [Bowen, column 5, lines 42-43].
Claims 4 and 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fairchild et al, US 20170179536 A1 (as cited in the IDS) and Bowen et al, US 5035045 A (as cited in the IDS) as applied to claim 2 above, in further view of Shaffer et al, US 20140349147 A1.
Regarding Claim 4, modified Fairchild teaches the bipolar storage battery of claim 2, wherein the lead foils (Fairchild, 14; figure 4) are positioned on both sides of the substrate (Fairchild, 12; figure 4) in the bipolar plate (Fairchild, 10; figure 4) and the first active material (Fairchild, 16; figure 4), corresponding to the positive electrode, and the second active material (Fairchild, 18; figure 4), corresponding to the negative electrode, are positioned over the lead foils, as shown in figure 4 of Fairchild. However, modified Fairchild is silent to teach on the lead layer is fixed to the bipolar plate with an adhesive.
Shaffer teaches one or more stacks of battery plates comprising one or more bipolars plates with a substate and an anode on one surface and a cathode on the opposite surface [Shaffer, 0006]. In one embodiment the battery plates comprise metal sheets and in a lead acid battery lead sheets or foils are preferred. The metal sheets or foils may be affixed to the substrate (Shaffer, 11; figure 10), wherein the metal sheets or foils are preferably adhesively bonded to the substrate [Shaffer, 0033].
Shaffer and Fairchild are considered analogous art in the area of batteries and power storage devices.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person with ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filling date of the instant application, to modify Fairchild to include the adhesive bonding of the metal sheets or foils to the substrate as taught by Shaffer because such modification would disperse the electrons flowing in the electrochemical cell and ensure electrical connection of the active materials to the substrate [Shaffer, 0033].
Regarding Claim 5, modified Fairchild teaches the bipolar storage battery of claim 2, wherein the end plates (Fairchild, 38; figure 4), corresponding to the outer frames of the claim, are positioned with a terminal plate (Fairchild, 34) [Fairchild, 0054], corresponding to the end plate of the claim, and shown in figure 4 of Fairchild to be plate shaped. The end plates include a terminal receive passageway (Fairchild, 38a; figure 4), which is a recess in which the terminal plate are positioned [Fairchild, 0057]. Figure 4 of Fair child depicts a raised portion integrally connected to the terminal plate, and encased within the terminal section (Fairchild, 30; figure 4), therefore, rising towards the rim and the lead foils (Fairchild, 14; figure 4) are positioned on both sides of the substrate (Fairchild, 12; figure 4) in the bipolar plate (Fairchild, 10; figure 4) and the first active material (Fairchild, 16; figure 4), corresponding to the positive electrode, and the second active material (Fairchild, 18; figure 4), corresponding to the negative electrode, are positioned over the lead foils, as shown in figure 4 of Fairchild. However, modified Fairchild is silent to teach on the lead layer is fixed to the end plate with an adhesive.
While modified Fairchild does not explicitly teach the lead layer is fixed to the end plate with an adhesive, Shaffer teaches the metal sheets or foils, and in a lead acid battery lead sheets or foils are preferred, can be affixed to the substrate (Shaffer, 11; figure 10) using adhesive bonding [Shaffer, 0033], and figure 10 of Shaffer depicts the bipolar plate (Shaffer, 44; figure 10) comprising the substrate, wherein the substrate, in which the metal sheet or foil is affixed to one or both faces of the substrate [Shaffer, 0045], is in contact with the end plate (Shaffer, 25; figure 10). Further, Shaffer teaches on applying a membrane to the edge surface of the stack and an adhesive is applied to either or both of the membrane edges so to bond the stack together (Shaffer, 0046). Therefore, it would be obvious to a person with ordinary skill in the art, to optimize the design of the battery stack to include an adhesive between the substrate comprising the lead layer and the end plate for bonding.
Claims 7 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fairchild et al, US 20170179536 A1 (as cited in the IDS) and Bowen et al, US 5035045 A (as cited in the IDS) as applied to claim 6 above, in further view of Shaffer et al, US 20140349147 A1.
Regarding Claim 7, modified Fairchild teaches the bipolar storage battery of claim 6, wherein the lead foils (Fairchild, 14; figure 4) are positioned on both sides of the substrate (Fairchild, 12; figure 4) in the bipolar plate (Fairchild, 10; figure 4) and the first active material (Fairchild, 16; figure 4), corresponding to the positive electrode, and the second active material (Fairchild, 18; figure 4), corresponding to the negative electrode, are positioned over the lead foils, as shown in figure 4 of Fairchild. However, modified Fairchild is silent to teach on the lead layer is fixed to the bipolar plate with an adhesive.
Shaffer teaches one or more stacks of battery plates comprising one or more bipolars plates with a substate and an anode on one surface and a cathode on the opposite surface [Shaffer, 0006]. In one embodiment the battery plates comprise metal sheets and in a lead acid battery lead sheets or foils are preferred. The metal sheets or foils may be affixed to the substrate (Shaffer, 11; figure 10), wherein the metal sheets or foils are preferably adhesively bonded to the substrate [Shaffer, 0033].
Shaffer and Fairchild are considered analogous art in the area of batteries and power storage devices.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person with ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filling date of the instant application, to modify Fairchild to include the adhesive bonding of the metal sheets or foils to the substrate as taught by Shaffer because such modification would disperse the electrons flowing in the electrochemical cell and ensure electrical connection of the active materials to the substrate [Shaffer, 0033].
Regarding Claim 8, modified Fairchild teaches the bipolar storage battery of claim 6, wherein the end plates (Fairchild, 38; figure 4), corresponding to the outer frames of the claim, are positioned with a terminal plate (Fairchild, 34) [Fairchild, 0054], corresponding to the end plate of the claim, and shown in figure 4 of Fairchild to be plate shaped. The end plates include a terminal receive passageway (Fairchild, 38a; figure 4), which is a recess in which the terminal plate are positioned [Fairchild, 0057]. Figure 4 of Fair child depicts a raised portion integrally connected to the terminal plate, and encased within the terminal section (Fairchild, 30; figure 4), therefore, rising towards the rim and the lead foils (Fairchild, 14; figure 4) are positioned on both sides of the substrate (Fairchild, 12; figure 4) in the bipolar plate (Fairchild, 10; figure 4) and the first active material (Fairchild, 16; figure 4), corresponding to the positive electrode, and the second active material (Fairchild, 18; figure 4), corresponding to the negative electrode, are positioned over the lead foils, as shown in figure 4 of Fairchild. However, modified Fairchild is silent to teach on the lead layer is fixed to the end plate with an adhesive.
While modified Fairchild does not explicitly teach the lead layer is fixed to the end plate with an adhesive, Shaffer teaches the metal sheets or foils, and in a lead acid battery lead sheets or foils are preferred, can be affixed to the substrate (Shaffer, 11; figure 10) using adhesive bonding [Shaffer, 0033], and figure 10 of Shaffer depicts the bipolar plate (Shaffer, 44; figure 10) comprising the substrate, wherein the substrate, in which the metal sheet or foil is affixed to one or both faces of the substrate [Shaffer, 0045], is in contact with the end plate (Shaffer, 25; figure 10). Further, Shaffer teaches on applying a membrane to the edge surface of the stack and an adhesive is applied to either or both of the membrane edges so to bond the stack together (Shaffer, 0046). Therefore, it would be obvious to a person with ordinary skill in the art, to optimize the design of the battery stack to include an adhesive between the substrate comprising the lead layer and the end plate for bonding.
Claims 10 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fairchild et al, US 20170179536 A1 (as cited in the IDS) and Bowen et al, US 5035045 A (as cited in the IDS) as applied to claim 9 above, in further view of Shaffer et al, US 20140349147 A1.
Regarding Claim 10, modified Fairchild teaches the bipolar storage battery of claim 9, wherein the lead foils (Fairchild, 14; figure 4) are positioned on both sides of the substrate (Fairchild, 12; figure 4) in the bipolar plate (Fairchild, 10; figure 4) and the first active material (Fairchild, 16; figure 4), corresponding to the positive electrode, and the second active material (Fairchild, 18; figure 4), corresponding to the negative electrode, are positioned over the lead foils, as shown in figure 4 of Fairchild. However, modified Fairchild is silent to teach on the lead layer is fixed to the bipolar plate with an adhesive.
Shaffer teaches one or more stacks of battery plates comprising one or more bipolars plates with a substate and an anode on one surface and a cathode on the opposite surface [Shaffer, 0006]. In one embodiment the battery plates comprise metal sheets and in a lead acid battery lead sheets or foils are preferred. The metal sheets or foils may be affixed to the substrate (Shaffer, 11; figure 10), wherein the metal sheets or foils are preferably adhesively bonded to the substrate [Shaffer, 0033].
Shaffer and Fairchild are considered analogous art in the area of batteries and power storage devices.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person with ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filling date of the instant application, to modify Fairchild to include the adhesive bonding of the metal sheets or foils to the substrate as taught by Shaffer because such modification would disperse the electrons flowing in the electrochemical cell and ensure electrical connection of the active materials to the substrate [Shaffer, 0033].
Regarding Claim 11, modified Fairchild teaches the bipolar storage battery of claim 9, wherein the end plates (Fairchild, 38; figure 4), corresponding to the outer frames of the claim, are positioned with a terminal plate (Fairchild, 34) [Fairchild, 0054], corresponding to the end plate of the claim, and shown in figure 4 of Fairchild to be plate shaped. The end plates includes a terminal receive passageway (Fairchild, 38a; figure 4), which is a recess in which the terminal plate are positioned [Fairchild, 0057]. Figure 4 of Fair child depicts a raised portion integrally connected to the terminal plate, and encased within the terminal section (Fairchild, 30; figure 4), therefore, rising towards the rim and the lead foils (Fairchild, 14; figure 4) are positioned on both sides of the substrate (Fairchild, 12; figure 4) in the bipolar plate (Fairchild, 10; figure 4) and the first active material (Fairchild, 16; figure 4), corresponding to the positive electrode, and the second active material (Fairchild, 18; figure 4), corresponding to the negative electrode, are positioned over the lead foils, as shown in figure 4 of Fairchild. However, modified Fairchild is silent to teach on the lead layer is fixed to the end plate with an adhesive.
While modified Fairchild does not explicitly teach the lead layer is fixed to the end plate with an adhesive, Shaffer teaches the metal sheets or foils, and in a lead acid battery lead sheets or foils are preferred, can be affixed to the substrate (Shaffer, 11; figure 10) using adhesive bonding [Shaffer, 0033], and figure 10 of Shaffer depicts the bipolar plate (Shaffer, 44; figure 10) comprising the substrate, wherein the substrate, in which the metal sheet or foil is affixed to one or both faces of the substrate [Shaffer, 0045], is in contact with the end plate (Shaffer, 25; figure 10). Further, Shaffer teaches on applying a membrane to the edge surface of the stack and an adhesive is applied to either or both of the membrane edges so to bond the stack together (Shaffer, 0046). Therefore, it would be obvious to a person with ordinary skill in the art, to optimize the design of the battery stack to include an adhesive between the substrate comprising the lead layer and the end plate for bonding.
Claims 12-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fairchild et al, US 20170179536 A1 (as cited in the IDS) and Bowen et al, US 5035045 A (as cited in the IDS) as applied to claim 1 above, in further view of Shaffer et al, US 20140349147 A1.
Regarding Claim 12, modified Fairchild teaches the bipolar storage battery of claim 1, wherein the lead foils (Fairchild, 14; figure 4) are positioned on both sides of the substrate (Fairchild, 12; figure 4) in the bipolar plate (Fairchild, 10; figure 4) and the first active material (Fairchild, 16; figure 4), corresponding to the positive electrode, and the second active material (Fairchild, 18; figure 4), corresponding to the negative electrode, are positioned over the lead foils, as shown in figure 4 of Fairchild. However, modified Fairchild is silent to teach on the lead layer is fixed to the bipolar plate with an adhesive.
Shaffer teaches one or more stacks of battery plates comprising one or more bipolars plates with a substate and an anode on one surface and a cathode on the opposite surface [Shaffer, 0006]. In one embodiment the battery plates comprise metal sheets and in a lead acid battery lead sheets or foils are preferred. The metal sheets or foils may be affixed to the substrate (Shaffer, 11; figure 10), wherein the metal sheets or foils are preferably adhesively bonded to the substrate [Shaffer, 0033].
Shaffer and Fairchild are considered analogous art in the area of batteries and power storage devices.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person with ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filling date of the instant application, to modify Fairchild to include the adhesive bonding of the metal sheets or foils to the substrate as taught by Shaffer because such modification would disperse the electrons flowing in the electrochemical cell and ensure electrical connection of the active materials to the substrate [Shaffer, 0033].
Regarding Claim 13, modified Fairchild teaches the bipolar storage battery of claim 12, wherein the end plates (Fairchild, 38; figure 4), corresponding to the outer frames of the claim, are positioned with a terminal plate (Fairchild, 34) [Fairchild, 0054], corresponding to the end plate of the claim, and shown in figure 4 of Fairchild to be plate shaped. The end plates include a terminal receive passageway (Fairchild, 38a; figure 4), which is a recess in which the terminal plate are positioned [Fairchild, 0057]. Figure 4 of Fair child depicts a raised portion integrally connected to the terminal plate, and encased within the terminal section (Fairchild, 30; figure 4), therefore, rising towards the rim and the lead foils (Fairchild, 14; figure 4) are positioned on both sides of the substrate (Fairchild, 12; figure 4) in the bipolar plate (Fairchild, 10; figure 4) and the first active material (Fairchild, 16; figure 4), corresponding to the positive electrode, and the second active material (Fairchild, 18; figure 4), corresponding to the negative electrode, are positioned over the lead foils, as shown in figure 4 of Fairchild. However, modified Fairchild is silent to teach on the lead layer is fixed to the end plate with an adhesive.
While modified Fairchild does not explicitly teach the lead layer is fixed to the end plate with an adhesive, Shaffer teaches the metal sheets or foils, and in a lead acid battery lead sheets or foils are preferred, can be affixed to the substrate (Shaffer, 11; figure 10) using adhesive bonding [Shaffer, 0033], and figure 10 of Shaffer depicts the bipolar plate (Shaffer, 44; figure 10) comprising the substrate, wherein the substrate, in which the metal sheet or foil is affixed to one or both faces of the substrate [Shaffer, 0045], is in contact with the end plate (Shaffer, 25; figure 10). Further, Shaffer teaches on applying a membrane to the edge surface of the stack and an adhesive is applied to either or both of the membrane edges so to bond the stack together (Shaffer, 0046). Therefore, it would be obvious to a person with ordinary skill in the art, to optimize the design of the battery stack to include an adhesive between the substrate comprising the lead layer and the end plate for bonding.
Regarding Claim 14, modified Fairchild teaches the bipolar storage battery of claim 1, wherein the end plates (Fairchild, 38; figure 4), corresponding to the outer frames of the claim, are positioned with a terminal plate (Fairchild, 34) [Fairchild, 0054], corresponding to the end plate of the claim, and shown in figure 4 of Fairchild to be plate shaped. The end plates include a terminal receive passageway (Fairchild, 38a; figure 4), which is a recess in which the terminal plate are positioned [Fairchild, 0057]. Figure 4 of Fair child depicts a raised portion integrally connected to the terminal plate, and encased within the terminal section (Fairchild, 30; figure 4), therefore, rising towards the rim and the lead foils (Fairchild, 14; figure 4) are positioned on both sides of the substrate (Fairchild, 12; figure 4) in the bipolar plate (Fairchild, 10; figure 4) and the first active material (Fairchild, 16; figure 4), corresponding to the positive electrode, and the second active material (Fairchild, 18; figure 4), corresponding to the negative electrode, are positioned over the lead foils, as shown in figure 4 of Fairchild. However, modified Fairchild is silent to teach on the lead layer is fixed to the end plate with an adhesive.
While modified Fairchild does not explicitly teach the lead layer is fixed to the end plate with an adhesive, Shaffer teaches the metal sheets or foils, and in a lead acid battery lead sheets or foils are preferred, can be affixed to the substrate (Shaffer, 11; figure 10) using adhesive bonding [Shaffer, 0033], and figure 10 of Shaffer depicts the bipolar plate (Shaffer, 44; figure 10) comprising the substrate, wherein the substrate, in which the metal sheet or foil is affixed to one or both faces of the substrate [Shaffer, 0045], is in contact with the end plate (Shaffer, 25; figure 10). Further, Shaffer teaches on applying a membrane to the edge surface of the stack and an adhesive is applied to either or both of the membrane edges so to bond the stack together (Shaffer, 0046). Therefore, it would be obvious to a person with ordinary skill in the art, to optimize the design of the battery stack to include an adhesive between the substrate comprising the lead layer and the end plate for bonding
Conclusion
/LILIAN ALICE ODOM/Examiner, Art Unit 1722
/ANCA EOFF/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1722