DETAILED ACTION
Claims Status
Claims 1, 2, 4, & 6-18 filed on 07/08/2026 are pending. Claims 4, 8, 9, 17, & 18 are currently under examination directed to the elected species of 5mC in claim 4, of SEQ ID NO: 40 in claim 8, of SEQ ID NO: 49 in claims 9, of 5hmC in claim 17, and of SEQ ID NO: 4 in claim 18 (see response dated 11/28/2025). The cancellation of claims 3, 5, & 19-36 in the reply filed 07/08/2026 is acknowledged. All the amendments and arguments have been thoroughly reviewed but are deemed insufficient to place this application in condition for allowance. The following rejections are either newly applied, as necessitated by amendment, or are reiterated. They constitute the complete set being presently applied to the instant application. Response to Applicant’s argument follow. This action is FINAL.
Any rejection not reiterated is hereby withdrawn in view of the amendments to the claims.
Priority
The later-filed application must be an application for a patent for an invention which is also disclosed in the prior application (the parent or original nonprovisional application or provisional application). The disclosure of the invention in the parent application and in the later-filed application must be sufficient to comply with the requirements of 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or the first paragraph of pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, except for the best mode requirement. See Transco Products, Inc. v. Performance Contracting, Inc., 38 F.3d 551, 32 USPQ2d 1077 (Fed. Cir. 1994).
The disclosure of the prior-filed application, Application No. 63/264,513, fails to provide adequate support or enablement in the manner provided by 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, first paragraph for one or more claims of this application.
The provisional application, 63/264,513, does not have support for all of the limitations in claims 1, 2, 4, & 6-18 of the instant application. The provisional application, 63/264,513, does not provide support for a double-stranded deaminase having an amino acid sequence that is at least 90% identical to SEQ ID NOS: 4, 40, and 49 or for linking the double-stranded DNA substrate to an adapter. Accordingly, claims 1, 2, 4, & 6-18 are not entitled to the benefit of the prior applications. Therefore, claims 1, 2, 4, & 6-18 are given a priority date of the date of filing 11/22/2022.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1, 2, 4, & 6-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
The claims are broadly drawn to a method for deaminated a nucleic acid comprising contacting a double stranded DNA substrate with a double stranded DNA deaminase that has an amino acid sequence that is at least 90% identical to any of SEQ ID NOS: 4, 40, and 49.
The claims therefore comprise a large number of structurally undefined amino acid sequences which possess the functionality of being a double stranded DNA deaminase.
Relevant to the lack of particular structural limitations in the rejected claims drawn to amino acid sequences, MPEP 2163 states:
The claimed invention as a whole may not be adequately described if the claims require an essential or critical feature which is not adequately described in the specification and which is not conventional in the art or known to one of ordinary skill in the art.
Additionally, at 2163IIA3(a), the MPEP states:
“…describing a composition by its function alone typically will not suffice to sufficiently describe the composition. See Eli Lilly, 119 F.3 at 1568, 43 USPQ2d at 1406 (Holding that description of a gene’s function will not enable claims to the gene “because it is only an indication of what the gene does, rather than what it is.”); see also Fiers, 984 F.2d at 1169-71, 25 USPQ2d at 1605-06 (discussing Amgen Inc. v. Chugai Pharm. Co., 927 F.2d 1200, 18 USPQ2d 1016 (Fed. Cir. 1991)). An adequate written description of a chemical invention also requires a precise definition, such as by structure, formula, chemical name, or physical properties, and not merely a wish or plan for obtaining the chemical invention claimed. See, e.g., Univ. of Rochester v. G.D. Searle & Co., 358 F.3d 916, 927, 69 USPQ2d 1886, 1894-95 (Fed. Cir. 2004) (The patent at issue claimed a method of selectively inhibiting PGHS-2 activity by administering a non-steroidal compound that selectively inhibits activity of the PGHS-2 gene product, however the patent did not disclose any compounds that can be used in the claimed methods. While there was a description of assays for screening compounds to identify those that inhibit the expression or activity of the PGHS-2 gene product, there was no disclosure of which peptides, polynucleotides, and small organic molecules selectively inhibit PGHS-2. The court held that “[w]ithout such disclosure, the claimed methods cannot be said to have been described.”).
In the case of the instant claims, the functionality of being a double stranded DNA deaminase is a critical feature of the claimed methods.
The specification teaches the double stranded DNA deaminases can be naturally or non-naturally occurring DNA deaminases. Further, the specification teaches the non-naturally occurring double-stranded DNA deaminases may have a high degree of identity to a portion of a naturally occurring sequence but may lack structural and/or functional domains and further that non-naturally occurring double stranded DNA deaminases may have less than 100%-20% identity to a naturally occurring enzyme (pg. 11 of the specification of the instant application). Further, the specification teaches that in some embodiments a non-naturally occurring double stranded DNA deaminase lacks at least 10 to at least 100 of the N-terminal amino acids of the corresponding naturally-occurring protein (pg. 12 of the specification of the instant application). However, the specification does not teach which 90% identity to amino acid SEQ ID NOs: 4, 40, and 49 function as a double-stranded DNA deaminase. Further, the specification does not teach what can be changed in the amino acid sequences, while maintaining at least 90% identity to the listed SEQ ID NOs, and still maintaining the claimed function of deaminated double stranded DNA. Further, the specification teaches the double stranded DNA deaminase has an amino acid sequence that is at least 90% identical to any of listed SEQ ID NOs and double stranded DNA deaminases that lack N-terminal amino acids, therefore contemplating shorter fragments in the listed SEQ ID NOs, however the specification does not teach which fragments maintain a function of being a double stranded DNA deaminase.
The specification provides guidance on naturally and non-naturally occurring DNA deaminases, however, the specification does not provide guidance on what variability of 90% identity to listed SEQ ID NOs provides the function of deaminating double stranded DNA from those that do not.
While the skilled artisan may be capable of making an amino acid sequence with at least 90% to any of the SEQ ID NOs listed in the claims with the claimed functionality of being a double stranded DNA deaminase, possession may not be shown by merely describing how to obtain possession of members of the claimed genus or how to identify their common structural features. See University of Rochester, 358 F.3d at 927, 69 USPQ2d at 1895.
The claims encompass a genus of structurally undefined amino acid sequence which require a specific functionality. However, the specification fails to teach how to distinguish members of the claimed genus of amino acid sequence which possess the claim functionality: being a double stranded DNA deaminase, from non-members, especially in light of the guidance of the specification which contemplates the amino acid sequences as listed in the claims and fragments of the amino acid sequence as listed in the claims.
For claims drawn to a genus, the written description requirement for a claimed genus may be satisfied through sufficient description of a representative number of species. A “representative number of species” means that the species which are adequately described are representative of the entire genus. Thus, when there is substantial variation within the genus, one must describe a sufficient variety of species to reflect the variation within the genus. See AbbVie Deutschland GmbH & Co., KG v. Janssen Biotech, Inc., 759 F.3d 1285, 1300, 111 USPQ2d 1780, 1790 (Fed. Cir. 2014) (Claims directed to a functionally defined genus of antibodies were not supported by a disclosure that “only describe[d] one type of structurally similar antibodies” that “are not representative of the full variety or scope of the genus.”). The disclosure of only one species encompassed within a genus adequately describes a claim directed to that genus only if the disclosure “indicates that the patentee has invented species sufficient to constitute the gen[us].” See Enzo Biochem, 323 F.3d at 966, 63 USPQ2d at 1615. Further, University of California v. Eli Lilly and Co., 43 USPQ2d 1398, 1404, 1405 held that:
To fulfill the written description requirement, a patent specification must describe an invention and do so in sufficient detail that one skilled in the art can clearly conclude that “the inventor invented the claimed invention.” Lockwood v. American Airlines, Inc., 107 F.3d 1565, 1572, 41 USPQ2d 1961, 1966 (1997); In re Gosteli, 872 F.2d 1008, 1012, 10 USPQ2d 1614, 1618 (Fed. Cir. 1989) (“ [T]he description must clearly allow persons of ordinary skill in the art to recognize that [the inventor] invented what is claimed.”). Thus, an applicant complies with the written description requirement “by describing the invention, with all its claimed limitations, not that which makes it obvious,” and by using “such descriptive means as words, structures, figures, diagrams, formulas, etc., that set forth the claimed invention.” Lockwood, 107 F.3d at 1572, 41 USPQ2d at 1966.
Thus considering the breadth of the amino acid sequences required by the claimed methods, their specific required functionalities, and the teachings of the instant specification, it is the conclusion that the specification does not provide an adequate written description of the broadly claimed subject matter.
Response to Arguments
The response traverses the rejection. The response asserts that claims 8, 9, and 18 have been amended to recite double-stranded DNA deaminases having amino acid sequences that are at least 90% identical to SEQ ID NO: 40, 47, and 4, respectively and that the specification provides written description for this subject matter, describing, for example, double-stranded DNA deaminases having amino acid sequences that are “at least 90% (e.g., at least 95%, at least 98%, at least 99%) identical” to disclosed deaminase sequences. Further, the response asserts that the specification further describes that “[a] non-naturally occurring double-stranded DNA deaminase may have any number of insertions, deletions, or substitutions, relative to a naturally occurring enzyme” and that “[v]ariants can be designed using sequence alignments and structural information”. This argument has been thoroughly reviewed but was not found persuasive. First, as discussed further above, the specification teaches the non-naturally occurring double-stranded DNA deaminases may have a high degree of identity to a portion of a naturally occurring sequence but may lack structural and/or functional domains and further that non-naturally occurring double stranded DNA deaminases may have less than 100%-20% identity to a naturally occurring enzyme (pg. 11 of the specification of the instant application). Further, the specification teaches that in some embodiments a non-naturally occurring double stranded DNA deaminase lacks at least 10 to at least 100 of the N-terminal amino acids of the corresponding naturally-occurring protein (pg. 12 of the specification of the instant application). However, the specification does not teach which 90% identity to amino acid SEQ ID NOs: 4, 40, and 49 function as a double-stranded DNA deaminase. Further, the specification does not teach what can be changed in the amino acid sequences, while maintaining at least 90% identity to the listed SEQ ID NOs, and still maintaining the claimed function of deaminated double stranded DNA. As discussed further above, the specification teaches the double stranded DNA deaminase has an amino acid sequence that is at least 90% identical to any of listed SEQ ID NOs and double stranded DNA deaminases that lack N-terminal amino acids, therefore contemplating shorter fragments in the listed SEQ ID NOs, however the specification does not teach which fragments maintain a function of being a double stranded DNA deaminase. Therefore, the claims encompass a genus of structurally undefined amino acid sequence which require a specific functionality. However, the specification fails to teach how to distinguish members of the claimed genus of amino acid sequence which possess the claim functionality: being a double stranded DNA deaminase, from non-members, especially in light of the guidance of the specification which contemplates the amino acid sequences as listed in the claims and fragments of the amino acid sequence as listed in the claims. Thus considering the breadth of the amino acid sequences required by the claimed methods, their specific required functionalities, and the teachings of the instant specification, it is the conclusion that the specification does not provide an adequate written description of the broadly claimed subject matter.
For these reasons, and the reasons already made of record and modified to address the claims as currently amended, the rejections are maintained and applied to the newly amended claims.
Claims 1, 2, 4, & 6-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding amended claim 1, the recitation of “the double-stranded DNA deaminase has an amino acid sequence that is at least 90% identical to any of SEQ ID NOS: 4, 40, and 49” in lines 4-5 of the claim is unclear. It is unclear if the double-stranded DNA deaminase requires at least 90% identity to the entirety or over the full length of the SEQ ID NO or if at least 90% identity to fragments of the SEQ ID NO is required.
Regarding amended claim 8, the recitation of “the double-stranded DNA deaminase has an amino acid sequence that is at least 90% identical to SEQ ID NO: 40” in lines 1-3 of the claim is unclear. It is unclear if the double-stranded DNA deaminase requires at least 90% identity to the entirety or over the full length of the SEQ ID NO or if at least 90% identity to fragments of the SEQ ID NO is required.
Regarding amended claim 9, the recitation of “the double-stranded DNA deaminase has an amino acid sequence that is at least 90% identical to SEQ ID NO: 49” in lines 1-3 of the claim is unclear. It is unclear if the double-stranded DNA deaminase requires at least 90% identity to the entirety or over the full length of the SEQ ID NO or if at least 90% identity to fragments of the SEQ ID NO is required.
Regarding amended claim 18, the recitation of “the double-stranded DNA deaminase has an amino acid sequence that is at least 90% identical to SEQ ID NO: 4” in lines 1-4 of the claim is unclear. It is unclear if the double-stranded DNA deaminase requires at least 90% identity to the entirety or over the full length of the SEQ ID NO or if at least 90% identity to fragments of the SEQ ID NO is required.
Claims 2, 4, 6, 7, & 10-17 are rejected due to their dependence on claim 1.
Response to Arguments
The response traverses the rejection. The response asserts that claim 8 does not recite fragments and therefore does not present the ambiguity identified in the Office Action. This argument has been thoroughly reviewed but was not found persuasive as it is unclear how precent identity is determined to a SEQ ID NO and therefore, it is unclear if the double-stranded DNA deaminase requires at least 90% identity to the entirety or over the full length of the SEQ ID NO or if at least 90% identity to fragments of the SEQ ID NO is required.
For these reasons, and the reasons already made of record and modified to address the claims as currently amended, the rejections are maintained and applied to the newly amended claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 2, 4, 6, & 9-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Komor (Komor et al.; Nature Letter, Vol. 533, pages 420-436, May 2016), as cited on the IDS dated 06/16/2023, in view of Fauser (WO 2022/067122 A1, March 2022).
Regarding amended claim 1, it is noted as discussed above, the recitation of “the double-stranded DNA deaminase has an amino acid sequence that is at least 90% identical to any of SEQ ID NOS: 4, 40, and 49” in lines 4-5 of the claim is unclear. It is unclear if the double-stranded DNA deaminase requires at least 90% identity to the entirety or over the full length of the SEQ ID NO or if at least 90% identity to fragments of the SEQ ID NO is required. Further, the specification of the instant application teaches a double stranded DNA deaminase lacks at least 10 to at least 100 of the N-terminal amino acids of the corresponding naturally-occurring protein and that in some embodiments a double stranded DNA deaminase that is no more than 150-300 nucleotides in length (pg. 12 of the specification of the instant application), therefore contemplating fragments of double stranded DNA deaminases. Therefore, for the purposes of this rejection, the claim is given its broadest reasonable interpretation to include a double stranded DNA deaminase that has at least 90% identity to a fragment of amino acid sequence of SEQ ID NO: 49.
Komor teaches a deaminase assay on double-stranded DNA in which double-stranded DNA is contacted with a double-stranded DNA deaminase to produce a deamination product and then the deaminated product is sequenced (pg. 420 column 2 1st full paragraph lines 1-16; pg. 420 column 2 2nd full paragraph lines 1-11; pg. 421 paragraph bridging columns 1 & 2 lines 1-11; pg. 425 column 1 4th full paragraph lines 1-4; pg. 425 column 2 1st full paragraph lines 1-15; pg. 425 column 2 2nd full paragraph lines 1-19).
Komor does not teach that the double-stranded DNA deaminase has an amino acid sequence that is at least 90% identical to a fragment of SEQ ID NO: 49.
Fauser teaches a method for nucleobase editing comprising a double-stranded toxin-derived cytidine deaminase (TDD) that deaminate doubles-stranded DNA, in which the toxin-derived cytidine deaminase (TDD) comprises SEQ ID NO: 128, in which SEQ ID NO: 128 is 100% identical to SEQ ID NO: 49, from positions 29-38, of the instant application (a double-stranded DNA in which the double-stranded deaminase having an amino acid sequence that is at least 90% identical to a fragment of SEQ ID NO: 49) (paragraph [004] lines 1-10; paragraph [0013] lines 1-2; paragraph [0053] lines 1-8; paragraph [0054] lines 1-4; paragraph [0060] lines 1-2 & 11-14; pg. 24 SEQ ID NO: 128). Fauser also teaches that this method can be used to develop precises base editing systems for the prevention and treatment of numerous diseases (paragraph [003] lines 1-2).
Komor and Fauser are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are all in the same field of detecting modified cytosines with DNA deaminases. Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the method of using a fusion double-stranded DNA deaminase containing APOBEC1 to deaminate a double-stranded DNA substrate to identify modified cytosines in Komor to incorporate analysis of with a double-stranded DNA deaminase comprising SEQ ID NO: 128 (100% identical to a fragment of SEQ ID NO: 49 of the instant application) as taught in Fauser because Fauser teaches that doing so would provide a method that can be used to develop precises base editing systems for the prevention and treatment of numerous diseases.
Regarding claim 2, Komor teaches the fusion double-stranded DNA deaminase contains APOBEC1 which is a cytosine deaminase (the double-stranded DNA deaminase has a sequence bias for cytosine) (pg. 420 column 2 2nd full paragraph lines 1-11; pg. 421 paragraph bridging columns 1 & 2 lines 1-11; pg. 425 column 1 4th full paragraph lines 1-4).
Regarding amended claim 4, Komor teaches the fusion double-stranded DNA deaminase specifically modifies and deaminates cytosines to convert to uracils (double-stranded DNA deaminase does not deaminate 5mC) (pg. 420 column 2 1st full paragraph lines 1-3; pg. 420 column 2 2nd full paragraph lines 1-11; pg. 421 paragraph bridging columns 1 & 2 lines 1-11).
Regarding claim 6, Komor teaches the double-stranded DNA substrate is not pre-treated with either TET methylcytosine dioxygenase or DNA beta-glucosyltransferase (pg. 425 column 2 1st full paragraph lines 1-15).
Regarding amended claim 9, Fauser teaches a method for nucleobase editing comprising a double-stranded toxin-derived cytidine deaminase (TDD) that deaminate doubles-stranded DNA, in which the toxin-derived cytidine deaminase (TDD) comprises SEQ ID NO: 128, in which SEQ ID NO: 128 is 100% identical to SEQ ID NO: 49, from positions 29-38, of the instant application (a double-stranded DNA in which the double-stranded deaminase having an amino acid sequence that is at least 90% identical to a fragment of SEQ ID NO: 49) (paragraph [004] lines 1-10; paragraph [0013] lines 1-2; paragraph [0053] lines 1-8; paragraph [0054] lines 1-4; paragraph [0060] lines 1-2 & 11-14; pg. 24 SEQ ID NO: 128). Fauser also teaches that this method can be used to develop precises base editing systems for the prevention and treatment of numerous diseases (paragraph [003] lines 1-2).
Regarding claims 10 & 11, Komor teaches that the double-stranded DNA substrates are combined with a Cy3-labelled primer that is complementary to the 3’ end of each double-stranded DNA substrate (the double-stranded DNA substrate further comprises a fragment linked to an adapter wherein the adapter comprises a primer) (pg. 425 paragraph bridging column 1 & column 2 lines 3-11).
Regarding claim 12, Komor teaches that the double-stranded DNA substrates are combined with a Cy3-labelled primer that is complementary to the 3’ end of each double-stranded DNA substrate (strands of the double-stranded DNA substrate are not linked together by an adapter) (pg. 425 paragraph bridging column 1 & column 2 lines 3-11).
Regarding claim 13, Komor teaches the fusion double-stranded DNA deaminase contains APOBEC1 and deaminates a double-stranded DNA substrate (the deamination product is double-stranded) (pg. 425 column 1 4th full paragraph lines 1-4).
Regarding claim 14, Komor teaches that the double-stranded DNA substrates are combined with a Cy3-labelled primer that is complementary to the 3’ end of each double-stranded DNA substrate (strands of the double-stranded DNA substrate are not linked together by an adapter and the double-stranded DNA substrate is not a multi-copy strand) (pg. 425 paragraph bridging column 1 & column 2 lines 3-11).
Regarding amended claim 15, Komor teaches analyzing the sequence reads to identify conversion of cytosine to uracil (identify a modified cytosine in the double-stranded DNA substrate) (pg. 421 paragraph bridging column 1 & column 2 lines 8-11; pg. 426 paragraph bridging column 1 & column 2 lines 1-3).
Claim(s) 7, 16, & 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Komor (Komor et al.; Nature Letter, Vol. 533, pages 420-436, May 2016), as cited on the IDS dated 06/16/2023, and Fauser (WO 2022/067122 A1, March 2022) as applied to claims 1, 2, 4, 6, & 9-15 above, and further in view of Schutsky (Schutsky et al.; Nature Biotechnology, Vol. 36, pages 1083-1094, November 2018).
The teachings of Komor and Fauser with respect to claims 1, 2, & 15 are discussed above.
Regarding claim 7, Komor and Fauser does not teach that the double-stranded DNA substrate is pre-treated with TET methylcytosine dioxygenase.
Schutsky teach that to detect 5hmC specifically the sample may be treated with TET to enzymatically modify the 5hmC bases to 5ghmC and further that the sample may be treated with beta-glucosyltransferase (DNA substrate is pre-treated with a TET methylcytosine dioxygenase and optionally is pre-treated with DNA beta-glucosyltransferase) (pg. 1083 paragraph bridging column 1 & column 2 lines 9-14; pg. 1087 paragraph bridging column 1 & 2 lines 1-18). Schutsky also teaches that this method of enzymatic deamination overcomes many challenges posed by bisulfite-based methods and enables greater characterization of modified cytosines in genomic DNA (abstract lines 8-10; pg. 1089 column 2 1st full paragraph lines 22-25).
Komor, Fauser, and Schutsky are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are all in the same field of detecting modified cytosines with DNA deaminases. Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the method of using a fusion double-stranded DNA deaminase containing APOBEC1 to deaminate a double-stranded DNA substrate that is not pre-treated with TET in Komor to incorporate the use of APOBEC3A DNA deaminase that is pre-treated with TET and optionally beta-glucosyltransferase as taught in Schutsky because Schutsky teaches that doing so would provide a method that enables greater characterization of modified cytosines in genomic DNA and overcomes challenges posed by bisulfite-based methods.
Regarding claim 16, Komor and Fauser does not teach that a reference sequence is not used for analysis of the sequence reads.
Schutsky teaches that the sequence reads were analyzed through visualizing signals with Refseq transcript annotation as a reference in which the modified cytosines are indicated by upwards and downward ticks with the height of each tick representing the fraction of modification (analyzing the sequence reads to identify a modified cytosine wherein a reference sequence is not used for analyzing) (pg. 1092 paragraph bridging column 1 & 2 lines 1-8). Schutsky also teaches that this method of enzymatic deamination overcomes many challenges posed by bisulfite-based methods and enables greater characterization of modified cytosines in genomic DNA (abstract lines 8-10; pg. 1089 column 2 1st full paragraph lines 22-25).
Komor, Fauser, and Schutsky are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are all in the same field of detecting modified cytosines with DNA deaminases. Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the method of using a fusion double-stranded DNA deaminase containing APOBEC1 to deaminate a double-stranded DNA substrate and analysis of the sequence reads to identify modified cytosines in Komor to incorporate analysis of the sequence reads without the use of a reference sequence as taught in Schutsky because Schutsky teaches that doing so would provide a method that enables greater characterization of modified cytosines in genomic DNA and overcomes challenges posed by bisulfite-based methods.
Regarding claim 17, Komor and Fauser does not teach that the modified cytosine is 5hmC.
Schutsky teaches a method of APOBEC-couple sequencing in which the APOBEC family DNA deaminase enzyme can discriminate between cytosine modifications and that this method can be used to detect 5mC and 5hmC in samples through enzymatic deamination (wherein the modified cytosine is 5hmC) (abstract lines 1-8; pg. 1083 column 2 2nd full paragraph lines 1-7; pg. 1084 column 1 1st full paragraph lines 6-15). Schutsky also teaches that this method of enzymatic deamination overcomes many challenges posed by bisulfite-based methods and enables greater characterization of modified cytosines in genomic DNA (abstract lines 8-10; pg. 1089 column 2 1st full paragraph lines 22-25).
Komor, Fauser, and Schutsky are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are all in the same field of detecting modified cytosines with DNA deaminases. Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the method of using a fusion double-stranded DNA deaminase containing APOBEC1 to deaminate a double-stranded DNA substrate to identify modified cytosines in Komor to incorporate analysis of 5hmC cytosine modifications as taught in Schutsky because Schutsky teaches that doing so would provide a method that enables greater characterization of modified cytosines in genomic DNA and overcomes challenges posed by bisulfite-based methods.
Response to Arguments
The response traverses the rejection. The response asserts that claim 1 has been amended to recite specific SEQ ID NOs (SEQ ID NO 4, 40, or 49) and claims 7-9, and 16-18 depend directly or indirectly from claim 1. Further, the response asserts that the obviousness rejections are predicated on claim language that has been canceled or amended and therefore are believed to be moot. This argument has been thoroughly reviewed but was not found persuasive as the combination of Komor and Fauser, as applied to independent claim 1 as necessitated by amendment, teach all of the limitations of the currently pending amended independent claim 1 as discussed above.
For these reasons, and the reasons already made of record and modified to address the claims as currently amended, the rejections are maintained and applied to the newly amended claims.
Conclusion
Claims 1, 2, 4, & 6-18 are rejected.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/BAILEY BUCHANAN/Examiner, Art Unit 1682
/JEHANNE S SITTON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1682