Response to Amendment
Applicant's submission filed on 5-15-2026 was entered.
Claim 16 was amended. New Claim 22-23 were presented. Claims 1, 3-4, 6-8, 10-16, 18-23 are pending. Claims 2, 5, 9, 17 were cancelled. Claims 18-20 were withdrawn.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 1, 3-4, 6-8, 10-15, 18-21 are allowed.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance:
None of the cited prior art teach a power tool guide assembly with a “connector including a first engagement peg on a first surface and a second engagement peg on a second surface transverse to the first surface, wherein the first engagement peg is configured to engage a reciprocal first peg hole in the reciprocal recess and the second engagement peg is configured to engage a reciprocal second peg hole in the reciprocal recess.” The Examiner notes that transverse in view of Applicant’s specification (see Applicant’s Fig. 8, #500 and #808) was interpreted as made at right angles to the long axis of the body, or in other words, oriented at 90 degrees relative to each other. Prior art teaches multiple different constructions of “pegs” but they are 180 degrees from each other (see DE 10 2008 002 159 A1 teaches only one “peg,” US 4,106,695 to Carmella, teaches a peg #40a and the divot 180 degrees from #40a, in Fig. 2, US 4,084,746 to Cheng teaches #79 opposite from #80 in Fig.3, US 4, 231,517A teaches #26 in Fig. 3, and US 4,286,752 to Cheng teaches #26 in Fig. 3; see also US 8,800,416 to Xing Figs. 3-4). There was no reason uncovered during the search to orientate the pegs a 90 degrees from each other. As such, Claim 1 is allowed. Dependent Claims 1, 3-4, 6-8, 10-15, 18-21 are allowed by virtue of their dependence to Claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 16, 22 and 23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 11,325,215 to Clark in view of US 8,800,416 to Xing and US 2013/0247738 to Stoffel.
In re Claim 16, Clark teaches an edge protector (see Clark, Figs. 12-17, #14; see also Col. 15, ll. 12 – Col. 17, ll. 68) comprising:
a body (see Clark, Figs. 12-17, #14) having a workpiece side configured to engage a workpiece (see Clark, Fig. 12, “bottom” side of #14) and a power tool side configured to engage a power tool (see Clark, Fig. 12, “top” side);
at least one connector configured to engage an elongate body of the power tool guide (see Clark, Figs. 12-17, #94/96/96; see also Col. 16, ll. 24-Col. 17, ll. 31),
at least one rail profile portion (see Clark, Fig. 12, #92/92/108/108) configured to align with an elongate rail of the power tool guide (see Fig. 8, #38/38; see also Col. 16, ll. 24-Col. 17, ll. 31).
Clark does not teach:
at least one connector configured to engage an elongate body of the power tool guide, the at least one connector including a pair of biased arms that define an open space that extends across a thickness of the connector, wherein the pair of biased arms are configured to flex when inserted into a reciprocal recess in the elongate body and exert a gripping force against a corresponding walls of the reciprocal recess in the elongate body; and
wherein the at least one rail profile portion of the edge protector is configured to be disposed in an engage a reciprocal channel in the power tool.
However, Xing teaches at least one connector configured to engage an elongate body of the power tool guide (see Xing, Fig. 1, #1/#1), the at least one connector including a pair of biased arms that define an open space that extends across a thickness of the connector (see Xing, Fig. 1, #1/1 which are spaced apart), wherein the pair of biased arms are configured to flex when inserted into a reciprocal recess in the elongate body and exert a gripping force against a corresponding walls of the reciprocal recess in the elongate body (see Xing, Col. 2, ll. 45-58).
In the same field of invention, connecting structures for power tools it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the earliest effective filing date, to add the connecting structure of Xing to the device of Clark. Doing so is the substitution of one known connecting structure for another known connecting structure to secure two structures together (see MPEP 2143, I, B).
Additionally, Stoffel teaches at least one rail profile portion of the edge protector is configured to be disposed in an engage a reciprocal channel in the power tool (see Stoffel, Fig. 2, #110a/110b/104/106).
In the same field of invention, guides for circular saws, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the earliest effective filing date, to add an ramp to the end of the elongate body of Stoffel, by providing structure for securing the ramp to the elongate body as well as structure for “starting” and connecting the saw structure to the elongate body, as taught by Clark. Dong so provides a resting point or starting point for cutting device to start the cutting operation while providing clearance for the blade guard that covers blade of cutting device, as well as start the blade guard before workpiece is engaged thereby increasing the accuracy of the cutting operation by eliminating any interaction between the blade guard and the workpiece (see Clark, Col. 15, ll. 13-22).
In re Claim 22, modified Clark, in re Claim 16, teaches wherein at least one biased arm of the pair of biased arms includes an engagement peg that is configured to engage a reciprocal peg hole in the elongate body (see Xing, Figs. 1-2, #112/31).
In re Claim 23, modified Clark, in re Claim 16, teaches wherein a first surface of the at least one biased arm applies the gripping force to the corresponding wall of the reciprocal recess, wherein the engagement peg is disposed on a second surface of the at least one biased arm that is transverse to the first surface (the Examiner notes that the claim is directed to structure of the edge protector, and does not affirmatively claim the hole that the edge protector enters. As such, what is claimed is a first surface which is capable of applying a gripping force on a wall of the unclaimed reciprocal recess, and an engagement peg that is 90 degrees from that surface – the structure of Xing reads on this claim. In Xing, Fig. 1, the top surface of #1 is can apply a gripping force to a narrowing wall of the reciprocal recess and the protrusion #112 is oriented 90 degrees from that surface).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim 16 were considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on the combination of references applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JONATHAN G RILEY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3724