DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Claims 1-2, 4-5 and 7-22 are currently pending. Applicant’s amendments have overcome the drawing objections, claim objections, and 35 USC 112 rejections previously set forth in the Non-Final Office Action mailed 03/12/2026.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim 1 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any combination of references applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Applicant argued that “However, Gong does not teach or suggest selectively connecting portions of conductor patches of conductor patterns associated with antenna elements of a multilayer artificial dielectric structure as described in amended claim 1.
Instead, Gong describes angle-sensitive metamaterial structures in which switch diodes are turned on or off to alter equivalent electromagnetic parameters (e.g., equivalent inductance)
in response to electromagnetic waves of different incident angles. Gong teaches changing equivalent electromagnetic behavior of metamaterial microstructures rather than selectively connecting patches of conductor patterns associated with antenna elements of a millimeter- wave antenna arrangement as described in amended claim 1.
Amended claim 1 also describes activating or deactivating the switches tunes an artificial dielectric constant of the artificial dielectric structure "to compensate for electromagnetic effects introduced by adjacent structural components including at least the housing" as described in amended claim 1.
The Office action acknowledges Foo and Gong do not teach this compensation feature. However, the Office action at page 18 argues it would have been obvious "to tune the artificial dielectric constant taught in Foo and Gong to account for the adjacent components of at least the housing as claimed for the purpose of reducing the effect of the material of the adjacent components of the antenna elements in order to maintain the antenna performance."
There is no basis for this conclusion. Neither Foo nor Gong teaches or suggests tuning an artificial dielectric structure to compensate for electromagnetic effects introduced by adjacent structural components of a millimeter-wave antenna module, including the housing.”
The arguments are moot because claim 1 is now being rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Foo, US-20180316090-A1 in view of Li et al, CN-110516336-A as explained below.
Claim Objections
Claims 1 and are 14 objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 1: “the module” should read “the antenna module”.
Claim 14: “the module” should read “the millimeter-wave antenna module”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1, 7 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claim 1 recites “wherein each of the at least one switch is activated and deactivated to selectively electrically connect portions of the conductor patches of an associated one of the plurality of conductor patterns to modify a configuration of the associated conductor pattern and thereby tune the artificial dielectric constant of the artificial dielectric structure” but the limitation was not described in the specification.
Similar rejections would be applied to claims 7 and 14.
Claims 1-2, 4-5 and 7-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitation " at least one switch coupled with each of the plurality of conductor patterns, wherein each of the at least one switch is activated and deactivated to selectively electrically connect portions of the conductor patches of an associated one of the plurality of conductor patterns to modify a configuration of the associated conductor pattern and thereby tune the artificial dielectric constant of the artificial dielectric structure” in lines 16-24 which renders the claim indefinite. It is not clear how one switch could couple to the plurality of conductor patterns and how one switch activated and deactivated could connect portions of the conductor patches to perform these functionalities. Moreover, it is not clear which portions of the conductor patches are being referred to.
Claim 1 recites the limitation “wherein the characteristics include material compositions of the adjacent structural components” in lines 30 which renders the claim indefinite. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being incomplete for omitting essential elements, such omission amounting to a gap between the elements. See MPEP § 2172.01. The omitted elements are: the transmission lines to connect to the antenna. Para [0066] discloses “The millimeter-wave antenna module 7 may also comprise a radio frequency integrated circuit 10, the radio frequency integrated circuit 10 optionally being arranged on the second substrate section 8b as shown in FIG. 4. The first substrate section 8a and/or the third substrate section 8c may comprise transmission lines configured to transmit at least one signal between the first antenna array 2 and the radio frequency integrated circuit 10. The transmission lines may be routed on the substrate 8 and connected to the radio frequency integrated circuit 10 by means of, e.g., soldering or conductive tape.” Without the transmission lines, the antenna cannot operate in millimeter-wave and the functionalities caused by the switches activating and deactivating cannot be performed.
For the purpose of examination, Examiner interprets the claim as best understood.
Similar rejections would be applied to claims 7 and 14.
Claims 2, 4-5, 8-13, 15-19 and 20-22 inherit the indefiniteness of claims 1, 7, 14 and are subsequently rejected.
Claim 7 recites the limitation “a plurality of conductor patterns of each of the plurality of conductor layers” in line 13 which renders the claim indefinite. It is not clear what this limitation means because it is not a complete sentence. Applicant introduced this phrase without citing any function or what this limitation would do. Examiner suggests amend this limitation similar to claim 1 as “wherein each of the plurality of conductor layers comprises a plurality of conductor patterns”.
Claim 19 recites the limitation “wherein the first antenna array is arranged between a first substrate section of the substrate” in lines 3 which renders the claim indefinite. It is not clear if it is the same or different to the first substrate section recited in claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 4, 7, 13-14 and 17-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Foo, US-20180316090-A1 in view of Li et al, CN-110516336-A (hereinafter Li).
Regarding claim 1, as best understood, Foo discloses the following:
a millimeter-wave antenna arrangement of an antenna module comprising:
an artificial dielectric structure (102, para [0029]: tunable metamaterial lens sheet 102 and para [0027]: By varying low frequency modulated control voltage signals, including DC voltages, on microstrip patches of unit cells, effective dielectric constant, and therefore the phase differential at various locations of the metasurface can be changed as desired, it is implied that the dielectric structure 102 is artificial because its dielectric characteristics can be adjusted) supported by a substrate (120, fig. 2), the artificial dielectric structure comprising a plurality of conductor layers separated by dielectric layers (figs. 3-8: the dielectric structure 102 is divided into plurality of lens groups 116 comprising unit cells 103 which comprises a plurality of conductor layers formed by meshed wires 218, 230 separated by dielectric layers 250, 246, 252, 254),
wherein each of the dielectric layers has a natural dielectric constant (it is well-known for one of ordinary skill in the art to understand that every dielectric material would have a dielectric constant),
wherein each of the plurality of conductor layers comprises a plurality of conductor patterns (218, 230, fig. 3), and
wherein each of the plurality of conductor patterns comprises a plurality of conductor patches (218, 230) is associated with one of a plurality of antenna elements (118, fig. 2);
a first antenna array comprising the plurality of antenna elements (array of antenna elements 118, fig. 2) positioned between a first substrate section of the substrate (120) and the artificial dielectric structure (102) such that the artificial dielectric structure is arranged within a housing of the module to be closer to the housing than is the first antenna array (fig, 2: the artificial dielectric structure 102 is on top of the antenna module, it is implied that the artificial dielectric structure would be closer to the adjacent components and the housing is one of the adjacent components).
Although Foo does not explicitly disclose wherein the artificial dielectric constant depends on the natural dielectric constant, Foo discloses “The transmission phase of each cell layer 202(i) depends on geometry of the cell layers and dielectric properties of the materials used in the PCBs 220, 222” in para [0043] and “Liquid crystal 146 in a nematic state possesses dielectric anisotropy characteristics at microwave frequencies, whose effective dielectric constant may be adjusted by setting different orientations of the molecules of liquid crystal 246 relative to its reference axis” in para [0046].
Moreover, one of ordinary skill in the art would understand that the metamaterial 120 is formed by plurality of unit cells 130 comprising plurality of dielectric layers 250, 246, 252, 254, therefore the dielectric constant of the dielectric layers 250, 246, 252, 254 would affect the overall artificial dielectric constant of the metamaterial.
Foo does not disclose at least one switch coupled with each of the plurality of conductor patterns, wherein each of the at least one switch is activated and deactivated to selectively electrically connect portions of the conductor patches of an associated one of the plurality of conductor patterns to modify a configuration of the associated conductor pattern and thereby tune the artificial dielectric constant of the artificial dielectric structure, wherein the activation or deactivation of each of the at least one switch tunes the artificial dielectric constant of the artificial dielectric structure to compensate for electromagnetic effects introduced by adjacent structural components including at least the housing, and wherein the characteristics include material compositions of the adjacent structural components.
Li suggests at least one switch coupled with each of the plurality of conductor patterns (fig. 2, page 7, step 1) , wherein each of the at least one switch is activated and deactivated to selectively electrically connect portions of the conductor patches of an associated one of the plurality of conductor patterns (page 7, step 1) to modify a configuration of the associated conductor pattern.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide at least one switch as taught in Li to the antenna arrangement taught in Foo as claimed for the purpose of optimizing the configuration of the conductor pattern depending on the requirements of the application (Li, Page 7, step 1).
Although Foo and Li does not explicitly disclose wherein the activation or deactivation of each of the at least one switch to tune the artificial dielectric constant of the artificial dielectric structure, wherein the activation or deactivation of each of the at least one switch tunes the artificial dielectric constant of the artificial dielectric structure to compensate for electromagnetic effects introduced by adjacent structural components including at least the housing, and wherein the characteristics include material compositions of the adjacent structural components, the antenna module in Foo and Li has the same structure, thus the skilled artisan would recognize that it would also be configured to, without undue experimentation, and able to have the predictable result of performing in a similar manner. According to MPEP 2112.01 “when the structure recited in the reference is substantially identical to that of the claims, claimed properties or functions are presumed to be inherent. Where the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical in structure or composition, or are produced by identical or substantially identical processes, a prima facie case of either anticipation or obviousness has been established. In re Best, 562 F.2d 1252, 1255, 195 USPQ 430, 433 (CCPA 1977). "When the PTO shows a sound basis for believing that the products of the applicant and the prior art are the same, the applicant has the burden of showing that they are not." In re Spada, 911 F.2d 705, 709, 15 USPQ2d 1655, 1658 (Fed. Cir. 1990)”.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of effective filling of invention to tune the artificial dielectric constant taught in Foo and Li to compensate for electromagnetic effects introduced by adjacent structural components including at least the housing as claimed for the purpose of reducing the effect of the material of the adjacent components of the antenna elements in order to maintain the antenna performance.
Regarding claim 2, Foo discloses wherein the conductor patterns (figs. 3-8: the conductor patterns 218, 230 of each unit cell 130 or lens group 116) associated with one of the antenna elements (118) are arranged such that one conductor pattern of one conductor layer (218) is superposed with the corresponding antenna element (118) and one corresponding conductor pattern of at least one further conductor layer (230).
Regarding claim 4, Foo suggests wherein the artificial dielectric constant additionally depends on a number of conductor layers, a distance between adjacent conductor layers, a size of the conductor patches and a size of gaps between the conductor patches within one conductor pattern (para [0043]: “The transmission phase of each cell layer 202(i) depends on geometry of the cell layers and dielectric properties of the materials used in the PCBs 220, 222” and para [0045] “In some examples, simulations are performed to select an optimal set of component properties for unit cells 130 to enable optimized RF transmission for a target bandwidth, wavelength and tunable phase range”).
Regarding claim 7, as best understood, Foo discloses the following:
a millimeter-wave antenna module comprising a millimeter-wave antenna arrangement and a substrate accommodating the millimeter-wave antenna arrangement, wherein a first antenna array of the millimeter-wave antenna arrangement is arranged in a housing of the millimeter-wave antenna module to be between a first substrate section of the substrate and an artificial dielectric structure of the millimeter-wave antenna arrangement, wherein the millimeter-wave antenna arrangement comprises:
a plurality of antenna elements comprising the first antenna array (array of antenna elements 118, fig. 2);
a plurality of conductor layers separated by dielectric layers of the artificial dielectric structure (figs. 3-8: the dielectric structure 102 is divided into plurality of lens groups 116 comprising unit cells 103 which comprises a plurality of conductor layers formed by meshed wires 218, 230 separated by dielectric layers 250, 246, 252, 254) superposed over the first antenna array (array of 118, fig. 2),
wherein each of the dielectric layers has a natural dielectric constant (it is well-known for one of ordinary skill in the art to understand that every dielectric material would have a dielectric constant),
a plurality of conductor patterns of each of the plurality of conductor layers (layer comprises 218, 230, fig. 3),
wherein each of the plurality of conductor patterns comprises a plurality of conductor patches (218, 230 of lens group 116, figs. 2-3) and is associated with one of the plurality of antenna elements (118), and
wherein the first antenna array (array of antenna elements 118, fig. 2) is arranged between the first substrate section (120) and the artificial dielectric structure (102) within the housing such that the artificial dielectric structure is closer to the housing than is the first antenna array (fig, 2: the artificial dielectric structure 102 is on top of the first antenna array, it is implied that the artificial dielectric structure would be closer to the housing).
Although Foo does not explicitly disclose wherein the artificial dielectric constant depends on the natural dielectric constant, Foo discloses “The transmission phase of each cell layer 202(i) depends on geometry of the cell layers and dielectric properties of the materials used in the PCBs 220, 222” in para [0043] and “Liquid crystal 146 in a nematic state possesses dielectric anisotropy characteristics at microwave frequencies, whose effective dielectric constant may be adjusted by setting different orientations of the molecules of liquid crystal 246 relative to its reference axis” in para [0046].
Moreover, one of ordinary skill in the art would understand that the metamaterial 120 is formed by plurality of unit cells 130 comprising plurality of dielectric layers 250, 246, 252, 254, therefore the dielectric constant of the dielectric layers 250, 246, 252, 254 would affect the overall artificial dielectric constant of the metamaterial.
Foo does not disclose at least one switch coupled with each of the plurality of conductor patterns, wherein each of the at least one switch is activated and deactivated to selectively electrically connect portions of the conductor patches of an associated one of the plurality of conductor patterns to modify a configuration of the associated conductor pattern and thereby tune the artificial dielectric constant of the artificial dielectric structure, wherein the activation or deactivation of each of the at least one switch tunes the artificial dielectric constant of the artificial dielectric structure to compensate for electromagnetic effects introduced by adjacent structural components including at least the housing, and wherein the characteristics include material compositions of the adjacent structural components.
Li suggests at least one switch coupled with each of the plurality of conductor patterns (fig. 2, page 7, step 1) , wherein each of the at least one switch is activated and deactivated to selectively electrically connect portions of the conductor patches of an associated one of the plurality of conductor patterns (page 7, step 1) to modify a configuration of the associated conductor pattern.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide at least one switch as taught in Li to the antenna arrangement taught in Foo as claimed for the purpose of optimizing the configuration of the conductor pattern depending on the requirements of the application (Li, Page 7, step 1).
Although Foo and Li does not explicitly disclose wherein the activation or deactivation of each of the at least one switch to tune the artificial dielectric constant of the artificial dielectric structure, wherein the activation or deactivation of each of the at least one switch tunes the artificial dielectric constant of the artificial dielectric structure to compensate for electromagnetic effects introduced by adjacent structural components including at least the housing, and wherein the characteristics include material compositions of the adjacent structural components, the antenna module in Foo and Li has the same structure, thus the skilled artisan would recognize that it would also be configured to, without undue experimentation, and able to have the predictable result of performing in a similar manner. According to MPEP 2112.01 “when the structure recited in the reference is substantially identical to that of the claims, claimed properties or functions are presumed to be inherent. Where the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical in structure or composition, or are produced by identical or substantially identical processes, a prima facie case of either anticipation or obviousness has been established. In re Best, 562 F.2d 1252, 1255, 195 USPQ 430, 433 (CCPA 1977). "When the PTO shows a sound basis for believing that the products of the applicant and the prior art are the same, the applicant has the burden of showing that they are not." In re Spada, 911 F.2d 705, 709, 15 USPQ2d 1655, 1658 (Fed. Cir. 1990)”.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of effective filling of invention to tune the artificial dielectric constant taught in Foo and Li to compensate for electromagnetic effects introduced by adjacent structural components including at least the housing as claimed for the purpose of reducing the effect of the material of the adjacent components of the antenna elements in order to maintain the antenna performance.
Regarding claim 13, Foo discloses wherein the substrate is a printed circuit board (para [0029]: substrate 120 is a printed circuit board).
Regarding claim 14, as best understood, Foo discloses the following:
an apparatus comprising a millimeter-wave antenna module, and a chassis, wherein the module comprises a housing for a millimeter-wave antenna arrangement and a substrate accommodating the millimeter-wave antenna arrangement, wherein a first antenna array of the millimeter-wave antenna arrangement is arranged between a first substrate section of the substrate and an artificial dielectric structure of the millimeter-wave antenna arrangement, and wherein the millimeter-wave antenna arrangement comprises:
a plurality of antenna elements comprising the first antenna array (array of antenna elements 118, fig. 2);
a plurality of conductor layers separated by dielectric layers of the artificial dielectric structure (figs. 3-8: the dielectric structure 102 is divided into plurality of lens groups 116 comprising unit cells 103 which comprises a plurality of conductor layers formed by meshed wires 218, 230 separated by dielectric layers 250, 246, 252, 254) superposed over the first antenna array (array of 118, fig. 2),
wherein each of the dielectric layers has a natural dielectric constant (it is well-known for one of ordinary skill in the art to understand that every dielectric material would have a dielectric constant),
wherein each of the plurality of conductor layers comprises a plurality of conductor patterns (218, 230, fig. 3),
wherein each of the plurality of conductor patterns comprises a plurality of conductor patches (218, 230, fig. 3) and is associated with one of the plurality of antenna elements (118, fig. 2), and,
wherein the first antenna array (array of antenna elements 118, fig. 2) is positioned between the first substrate section(120) and the artificial dielectric structure (102) such that the artificial dielectric structure is arranged within the housing of the module to be closer to the housing than is the first antenna array (fig, 2: the artificial dielectric structure 102 is on top of the antenna module, it is implied that the artificial dielectric structure would be closer to the adjacent components and the housing is one of the adjacent components).
Foo does not disclose at least one switch coupled with each of the plurality of conductor patterns, wherein each of the at least one switch is activated and deactivated to selectively electrically connect portions of the conductor patches of an associated one of the plurality of conductor patterns to modify a configuration of the associated conductor pattern and thereby tune the artificial dielectric constant of the artificial dielectric structure, wherein the activation or deactivation of each of the at least one switch tunes the artificial dielectric constant of the artificial dielectric structure to compensate for electromagnetic effects introduced by adjacent structural components including at least the housing, and wherein the characteristics include material compositions of the adjacent structural components.
Li suggests at least one switch coupled with each of the plurality of conductor patterns (fig. 2, page 7, step 1) , wherein each of the at least one switch is activated and deactivated to selectively electrically connect portions of the conductor patches of an associated one of the plurality of conductor patterns (page 7, step 1) to modify a configuration of the associated conductor pattern.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide at least one switch as taught in Li to the antenna arrangement taught in Foo as claimed for the purpose of optimizing the configuration of the conductor pattern depending on the requirements of the application (Li, Page 7, step 1).
Although Foo and Li does not explicitly disclose wherein the activation or deactivation of each of the at least one switch to tune the artificial dielectric constant of the artificial dielectric structure, wherein the activation or deactivation of each of the at least one switch tunes the artificial dielectric constant of the artificial dielectric structure to compensate for electromagnetic effects introduced by adjacent structural components including at least the housing, and wherein the characteristics include material compositions of the adjacent structural components, the antenna module in Foo and Li has the same structure, thus the skilled artisan would recognize that it would also be configured to, without undue experimentation, and able to have the predictable result of performing in a similar manner. According to MPEP 2112.01 “when the structure recited in the reference is substantially identical to that of the claims, claimed properties or functions are presumed to be inherent. Where the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical in structure or composition, or are produced by identical or substantially identical processes, a prima facie case of either anticipation or obviousness has been established. In re Best, 562 F.2d 1252, 1255, 195 USPQ 430, 433 (CCPA 1977). "When the PTO shows a sound basis for believing that the products of the applicant and the prior art are the same, the applicant has the burden of showing that they are not." In re Spada, 911 F.2d 705, 709, 15 USPQ2d 1655, 1658 (Fed. Cir. 1990)”.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of effective filling of invention to tune the artificial dielectric constant taught in Foo and Li to compensate for electromagnetic effects introduced by adjacent structural components including at least the housing as claimed for the purpose of reducing the effect of the material of the adjacent components of the antenna elements in order to maintain the antenna performance.
Regarding claim 17, although the combination of Foo and Li does not disclose wherein the configuration of conductor patches of each conductor pattern associated with the respective antenna element of the antenna arrangement is dependent on adjacent structural components, one of ordinary skill in the antenna art would know that the configuration of the conductor pattern would depend on the material or distance of the structural components locating adjacent to the conductor pattern because the material and the distance of the structural components would affect the radiating characteristics of the conductor patterns and therefore would affect the antenna’s performance.
Regarding claim 18, although the combination of Foo and Li does not disclose wherein the configuration of each conductor pattern associated with the respective antenna element of the antenna arrangement is dependent on the housing, one of ordinary skill in the antenna art would know that the configuration of the conductor pattern would depend on the material or distance of the housing locating close to the conductor pattern because the material and the distance of the housing would affect the radiating characteristics of the conductor patterns and therefore would affect the antenna’s performance.
Regarding claim 19, as best understood, Foo discloses the millimeter-wave antenna arrangement according to claim 1, including the substrate (120, fig. 2) of the antenna arrangement, wherein the first antenna array is arranged between a first substrate section of the substrate (120) and the artificial dielectric structure (102).
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Foo in view of Li as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Liu et al, CN-102480003-A (hereinafter Liu).
Regarding claim 5, although Foo does not disclose wherein the artificial dielectric constant has a value higher than the natural dielectric constant of the dielectric layers, Foo discloses the artificial dielectric constant of the metamaterial dielectric structure 102 can be adjusted as desired (para [0027]).
Liu applied as a teaching reference discloses “changing the shape of the existing man-made structure, micro-structure in the structure of the first metal line branch and a second metal line branch at each individual, adding the mutual-facing metal wire, so as to improve the capacitance of the artificial micro structure so as to improve the dielectric constant and refractive index of the metamaterial” (para [0019]) and the purpose of the invention is to find a solution for the increasing demand of “the required dielectric constant much higher than material existing in the nature of dielectric constant” (para [0004]) by using metamaterial which has “supernormal material physical properties of natural material does not have” (para [0005]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the artificial dielectric constant of the antenna arrangement taught in Foo and Li to be higher than the natural dielectric constant as taught in Liu as claimed for the purpose of reducing the wavelength of the electromagnetic wave in order to reduce the size of the electronic device (Liu, para [0003]).
Claims 8-12, 15-16 and 20-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Foo in view of Li as applied to claims 1, 7 and 14 above, and further in view of Ueda, US-20190252784-A1.
Regarding claim 8, the combination of Foo and Li does not disclose wherein the substrate comprises the first substrate section and a second substrate section, wherein the first substrate section and the second substrate section are interconnected by a third substrate section, and wherein the second substrate section extends at an angle to the first substrate section.
Ueda discloses wherein the substrate (70) comprises the first substrate section and a second substrate section (fig. 10 reproduced below),
wherein the first substrate section and the second substrate section are interconnected by a third substrate section (fig. 10), and
wherein the second substrate section extends at an angle to the first substrate section (fig. 10).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to design the substrate of the antenna arrangement taught in Foo and Li to have first, second and third substrate sections as suggested in Ueda as claimed for the purpose of being able to accommodate different electronic components on the substrate.
Regarding claim 9, the combination of Foo and Li does not disclose the millimeter-wave antenna system according to claim 8, further comprising a second antenna array arranged on the second substrate section.
Ueda discloses the millimeter-wave antenna system according to claim 8, further comprising a second antenna array (24, fig. 10) arranged on the second substrate section (fig. 10).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide a second antenna array as suggested in Ueda to the antenna arrangement taught in Foo and Li as claimed for the purpose of having plurality of antennas disposed at different locations of the electronic device in order to be able to transmit/receive signals from different directions to improve the communication’s quality.
Regarding claim 10, the combination of Foo and Li does not disclose the millimeter-wave antenna system according to claim 8, further comprising a radio frequency integrated circuit arranged on the second substrate section.
Ueda suggests the millimeter-wave antenna system according to claim 8, further comprising a radio frequency integrated circuit (30) arranged on the second substrate section (fig. 10).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide a radio frequency integrated circuit as suggested in Ueda to the antenna arrangement taught in Foo and Li as claimed for the purpose of sending or receiving the electrical signals back and forth from the antenna in order to perform the wireless communication.
Regarding claim 11, the combination of Foo and Li does not disclose wherein a second antenna array is arranged on a first side of the second substrate section and a radio frequency integrated circuit is arranged on a second side of the second substrate section.
Ueda discloses wherein a second antenna array (24, fig. 10) is arranged on a first side of the second substrate section (fig. 10) and a radio frequency integrated circuit (30) is arranged on a second side of the second substrate section (fig. 10).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to arrange the second antenna array and the radio frequency integrated circuit on the first and second sides of the second substrate section as suggested in Ueda in the antenna arrangement taught in Foo and Li as claimed for the purpose of being to accommodate various electronic components on a limited length of the substrate and reducing the length of the wirings between these components.
Regarding claim 12, the combination of Foo and Li does not disclose wherein the first substrate section and/or the third substrate section support transmitting at least one signal between the first antenna array and the radio frequency integrated circuit.
Ueda suggests wherein the first substrate section and/or the third substrate section comprise transmission lines (51, fig. 6) support transmitting at least one signal between the first antenna array (52) and the radio frequency integrated circuit (30).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide transmission lines as suggested in Ueda to the antenna arrangement taught in Foo and Li as claimed for the purpose of transmitting and receiving electrical signals back and forth from the antenna in order to perform wireless communication.
Regarding claim 15, the combination of Foo and Li does not disclose wherein the housing comprises at least a main surface and a peripheral surface extending along the periphery of the main surface and at an angle to the main surface, wherein the first substrate section of the substrate extends adjacent the peripheral surface, and wherein the artificial dielectric structure is located between the first antenna array and the peripheral surface.
Ueda discloses wherein the housing comprises at least a main surface and a peripheral surface extending along the periphery of the main surface and at an angle to the main surface (fig. 10 reproduced below),
wherein the first substrate section of the substrate extends adjacent the peripheral surface (fig. 10), and
wherein the artificial dielectric structure (Foo, fig. 2: the artificial dielectric structure 102 located above the first antenna array of antenna elements 118 and the substrate 120) is located between the first antenna array and the peripheral surface (fig. 10: the dielectric structure located above the first antenna array 75 and the substrate 70, therefore the artificial dielectric structure located between the first antenna array and the peripheral surface).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the housing as taught in Ueda to the apparatus taught in Foo and Li as claimed for the purpose of providing protection to the electronic components.
Regarding claim 16, Foo discloses the apparatus according to claim 15, further including a radio frequency integrated circuit (122, fig. 2, para [0034]) of the antenna arrangement.
The combination of Foo and Li does not disclose wherein a second substrate section of the substrate extends at least partially parallel with the main surface, wherein a second antenna array of the millimeter-wave antenna arrangement faces the main surface, wherein a radio frequency integrated circuit of the antenna system faces an interior of the housing.
Ueda discloses wherein a second substrate section of the substrate extends at least partially parallel with the main surface (fig. 10 above), wherein a second antenna array (24) of the millimeter-wave antenna arrangement faces the main surface (fig. 10), wherein a radio frequency integrated circuit (30) of the antenna system faces an interior of the housing (fig. 10).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to arrange the second antenna array facing the main surface as suggested in Ueda to the antenna system taught in Foo and Li as claimed for the purpose of transmitting the electromagnetic signals from the second antenna array to outside of the device in order to perform wireless communication.
Regarding claim 20, the combination of Foo and Li does not disclose wherein the substrate comprises the first substrate section and a second substrate section, wherein the second substrate section extends at an angle to the first substrate section, and wherein the first antenna array is arranged on the first substrate section.
Ueda discloses wherein the substrate (70) comprises the first substrate section and a second substrate section (fig. 10 reproduced above), wherein the second substrate section extends at an angle to the first substrate section (fig. 10), and wherein the first antenna array (75) is arranged on the first substrate section.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to design the substrate of the antenna arrangement taught in Foo and Li to have first, second and third substrate sections as suggested in Ueda as claimed for the purpose of being able to accommodate different electronic components on the substrate.
Regarding claim 21, the combination of Foo and Li does not disclose the millimeter-wave antenna arrangement according to claim 20, further comprising a second antenna array arranged on the second substrate section.
Ueda discloses the millimeter-wave antenna arrangement according to claim 20, further comprising a second antenna array (24) arranged on the second substrate section (fig. 10).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide a second antenna array as suggested in Ueda to the antenna arrangement taught in Foo and Li as claimed for the purpose of having plurality of antennas disposed at different locations of the electronic device in order to be able to transmit/receive signals from different directions to improve the communication’s quality.
Regarding claim 22, the combination of Foo and Li does not disclose the millimeter-wave antenna arrangement according to claim 21, further comprising a radio frequency integrated circuit arranged on the second substrate section.
Ueda suggests the millimeter-wave antenna arrangement according to claim 21, further comprising a radio frequency integrated circuit (30) arranged on the second substrate section (fig. 10).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide a radio frequency integrated circuit as suggested in Ueda to the antenna arrangement taught in Foo and Li as claimed for the purpose of sending or receiving the electrical signals back and forth from the antenna in order to perform the wireless communication.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/DAMEON E LEVI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2845
/ANH HO/Examiner, Art Unit 2845