DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
Claims 1-2, 4-5 and 7-22 are currently pending. Applicant’s amendments have overcome the drawing objections, claim objections, and 35 USC 112 rejections previously set forth in the Final Office Action mailed 06/04/2025.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 09/04/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argued that “Regarding the cited prior art, Foo describes a phased array antenna comprising a two- dimensional array of lens enhanced radiator units. Each radiator unit comprises a radiator for generating a radio frequency (RF) signal and a two dimensional phase variable lens group defining an aperture in a transmission path of the RF signal. The lens group comprises a two dimensional array of individually controllable lens elements enabling a varying transmission phase to be applied to the RF signal across an aperture of the lens group (see the abstract of Foo).
The teachings in Foo have nothing like the features of amended independent claims 1, 7 and 14. For example, each conductor pattern in representative amended claim 1 is coupled to at least one switch configured to be activated and deactivated to affect a size and/or shape of a conductor pattern. Changes in the size and/or shape of the conductor pattern cause changes in the artificial dielectric constant” and “Correspondingly, the conductor patches 6a of a conductor pattern arranged immediately adjacent a conductive structural component of said apparatus, such as a chassis made of steel or aluminum, may have a second surface area size and/or shape. The first surface area may be larger than said second surface area, or the opposite.
Applicant's specification as originally filed at [0061]-[0072] (Emphasis added).
Gong teaches changing states of switch diodes to change angle sensitivity of a phased array system. Amended claim 1 describes a structure that tunes antennas to account for "the characteristics of any adjacent structural components, such as the housing 12 and/or the chassis 13" (Applicant's specification as originally filed at [0072]). Nothing in Gong suggests such tuning and supporting structure that facilitates the tuning.”
Examiner respectfully disagree because Foo reference discloses artificial dielectric structure recited in claim 1 as explained in the 35USC103 rejection below except the limitation “at least one switch coupled with each of the plurality of periodically repeated conductor patterns, wherein each of the at least one switch is activated and deactivated to change one or both of a size and shape of an associated one of the plurality of conductor patterns and in turn change the natural dielectric constant of the associated one of the plurality of periodically repeated conductor patterns, wherein the activation or deactivation of each of the at least one switch tunes the artificial dielectric constant of the artificial dielectric structure to account for characteristics of adjacent structural components of at least the housing, and wherein the characteristics include material compositions of the adjacent structural component”.
Gong suggests at least one switch (1211, figs. 2-8, page 8, last para – page 9, para 2) coupled with each of the plurality of periodically repeated conductor patterns (121/1212), wherein each of the at least one switch (1211) is activated and deactivated to change one or both of a size and shape of an associated one of the plurality of conductor patterns (page 8, last para – page 9, para 2: “a plurality of the at least one switch diode SD are respectively connected or turned off according to a plurality of the input voltage, so that the corresponding plurality of the conductive micro-structure 1212 equivalent inductance is changed, so that the angle sensitive metamaterial 12 anisotropic equivalent electromagnetic parameter is changed, to response to electromagnetic wave of different angles” and “the switch diode SD is turned on or off, the shape of the micro-structure unit 121/1212 is changed”) and in turn change the natural dielectric constant of the associated one of the plurality of periodically repeated conductor patterns (page 8, last para – page 9, para 2), wherein the activation or deactivation of each of the at least one switch tunes the artificial dielectric constant of the artificial dielectric structure (page 8, last para – page 9, para 2).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide at least one switch as taught in Gong to the antenna arrangement taught in Foo as claimed for the purpose of changing the electromagnetic parameter of the artificial dielectric structure in order to determine the distance and direction of the receiving electromagnetic wave, save cost and power consumption, reduce antenna size and improve the efficiency of the antenna (Gong, page 13, para 3).
Although Foo and Gong does not explicitly disclose wherein the activation or deactivation of each of the at least one switch to account for characteristics of adjacent structural components of at least the housing, and wherein the characteristics include material compositions of the adjacent structural component, Gong discloses the activation or deactivation of each of the at least one switch tunes the artificial dielectric constant depending on the requirements of the application (page 8, last para – page 9, para 2).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to tune the artificial dielectric constant taught in Foo and Gong to account for the adjacent components of at least the housing as claimed for the purpose of reducing the effect of the material of the adjacent components of the antenna elements in order to maintain the antenna performance.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the features must be shown or the features would be canceled from the claims:
Claim 7 recites the limitation “an exterior of the module” is not shown in the drawings
No new matter should be entered.
Claim Objections
Claims 1 and 7 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 1: “the plurality of periodically repeated conductor patterns” in lines 24-25 and 29 should read “the plurality of
Claim 7: “a housing of the module” should read “a housing of the millimeter-wave antenna module”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1, 7 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "wherein each of the at least one switch is activated and deactivated to change one or both of a size and shape of an associated one of the plurality of conductor patterns and in turn change the natural dielectric constant of the associated one of the plurality of periodically repeated conductor patterns” in lines 26-29 which was not supported in the spec. Para [0025] and [0061] mention changing the size or shape of the conductor patterns would change the artificial dielectric constant, not the natural dielectric constant. Moreover, the spec does not mention the plurality of periodically repeated conductor patterns have natural dielectric constant.
Similar rejections would be applied to claims 7 and 14.
Claim 1 recites the limitation " the artificial dielectric constant of the artificial dielectric structure to account for characteristics of adjacent structural components of at least the housing” in lines 31-32 which was not supported in the spec. Para [0072] mentions “The configuration, in size and/or shape, of each individual conductor pattern 6 associated with one specific antenna element 2a may depend on the characteristics of any adjacent structural components, such as the housing 12 and/or the chassis 13”, therefore the housing is an example of the adjacent structural components. The spec does not mention what “the adjacent structural components of the housing” are.
Similar rejections would be applied to claims 7 and 14.
Claim 7 recites the limitation " a plurality of antenna elements comprising the first antenna array;
a plurality of conductor layers separated by dielectric layers comprising the artificial dielectric structure superposed over the first antenna array,
wherein each of the dielectric layers has a natural dielectric constant and the artificial dielectric structure has an artificial dielectric constant that depends on the natural dielectric constants of the dielectric layers;
a plurality of conductor patterns comprising each of the plurality of conductor layers” in lines 7-16 which was not supported in the spec. Para [0008] mentions “the first antenna array comprising a plurality of antenna elements and an artificial dielectric structure superposed over the first antenna array. The artificial dielectric structure comprises a plurality of conductor layers separated by dielectric layers, each conductor layer comprising a plurality of periodically repeated conductor patterns”. The claim swapped the order of the comprising statements of the spec.
Similar rejections would be applied to claim 14.
Claims 1-2, 4-5 and 7-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitation " an artificial dielectric structure supported by a substrate comprising a plurality of conductor layers separated by dielectric layers" in lines 4-5 which renders the claim indefinite. It is not clear if the artificial dielectric structure or the substrate comprises a plurality of conductor layers separated by dielectric layers. For the purpose of examination, Examiner interprets the claim as best understood.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "a first antenna array comprising the plurality of antenna elements positioned between a section of a substrate and the artificial dielectric structure such that the artificial dielectric structure is arranged within a housing of module to be closer to the housing than is the first antenna array" in lines 20-23 which renders the claim indefinite. It is not clear if this substrate is the same or different to the substrate recited previously. It is not clear what the housing of module is. There is insufficient antecedent basis for the limitation “the housing” in the claim. It is not clear if the housing is the same to the housing of module.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "wherein each of the at least one switch is activated and deactivated to change one or both of a size and shape of an associated one of the plurality of conductor patterns and in turn change the natural dielectric constant of the associated one of the plurality of periodically repeated conductor patterns” in lines 26-29 which renders the claim indefinite. It is not clear how the switch is activated and deactivated would change the natural dielectric constant of the conductor pattern. The conductor pattern is made of conductive material and is not dielectric material so it does not have dielectric constant.
Similar rejections would be applied to claims 7 and 14.
Claim 1 recites the limitation " wherein the characteristics include material compositions of the adjacent structural component” in lines 34-35 which renders the claim indefinite. It is not clear if the adjacent structural component means only one of the adjacent structural components recited previously and why there is only one adjacent structural component but there are a plurality of material compositions.
Similar rejections would be applied to claims 7 and 14.
Claim 7 recites the limitation " wherein the first antenna array is arranged between the first substrate section and the artificial dielectric structure within the housing such that the artificial dielectric structure is closer to an exterior of the module than is the first antenna array " in lines 25-27 which renders the claim indefinite. It is not clear how the artificial dielectric structure and the first antenna array which are components of the millimeter-wave antenna module can be arranged closer to an exterior of the module itself. For the purpose of examination, Examiner interprets the claim as best understood.
Claim 17 recites the limitation “wherein the configuration, in size and/or shape, of each individual conductor pattern associated with the respective antenna element of the antenna system is dependent on adjacent structural components” in lines 1-3 which renders the claim indefinite. It is not clear if these adjacent structural components are the same or different to the adjacent structural components recited in claim 14.
Claim 19 recites the limitation " The millimeter-wave antenna arrangement according to claim 1, including a substrate of the antenna arrangement, wherein the first antenna array is arranged between a first substrate section of a substrate and the artificial dielectric structure" in lines 1-3 which renders the claim indefinite. It is not clear if this substrate is the same or different to the substrate recited in claim 1.
Claims 2, 4-5, 8-13, 15-18 and 20-22 inherit the indefiniteness of claims 1, 7, 14, 19 and are subsequently rejected.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 4, 7, 13-14 and 17-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Foo, US-20180316090-A1 in view of Gong et al, CN-111555035-A (hereinafter Gong).
Regarding claim 1, as best understood, Foo discloses the following:
a millimeter-wave antenna arrangement of an antenna module comprising:
an artificial dielectric structure (102, para [0029]: tunable metamaterial lens sheet 102 and para [0027]: By varying low frequency modulated control voltage signals, including DC voltages, on microstrip patches of unit cells, effective dielectric constant, and therefore the phase differential at various locations of the metasurface can be changed as desired, it is implied that the dielectric structure 102 is artificial because its dielectric characteristics can be adjusted) supported by a substrate (120, fig. 2) comprising a plurality of conductor layers separated by dielectric layers (figs. 3-8: the dielectric structure 102 is divided into plurality of lens groups 116 comprising unit cells 103 which comprises a plurality of conductor layers formed by meshed wires 218, 230 separated by dielectric layers 250, 246, 252, 254),
wherein each of the dielectric layers has a natural dielectric constant (it is well-known for one of ordinary skill in the art to understand that every dielectric material would have a dielectric constant),
wherein each of the plurality of conductor layers comprises a plurality of conductor patterns (fig. 3: conductor patterns / mesh wires 218, 230), and
wherein each of the plurality of conductor patterns (fig. 2: each conductor pattern 218, 230 of lens group 116) is associated with one of a plurality of antenna elements (118);
a first antenna array comprising the plurality of antenna elements (array of antenna elements 118, fig. 2) positioned between a section of a substrate (120) and the artificial dielectric structure (102) such that the artificial dielectric structure is arranged within a housing of module to be closer to the housing than is the first antenna array (fig, 2: the artificial dielectric structure 102 is on top of the antenna module, it is implied that the artificial dielectric structure would be closer to the adjacent components and the housing is one of the adjacent components).
Although Foo does not explicitly disclose wherein the artificial dielectric constant depends on the natural dielectric constant, Foo discloses “The transmission phase of each cell layer 202(i) depends on geometry of the cell layers and dielectric properties of the materials used in the PCBs 220, 222” in para [0043] and “Liquid crystal 146 in a nematic state possesses dielectric anisotropy characteristics at microwave frequencies, whose effective dielectric constant may be adjusted by setting different orientations of the molecules of liquid crystal 246 relative to its reference axis” in para [0046].
Moreover, one of ordinary skill in the art would understand that the metamaterial 120 is formed by plurality of unit cells 130 comprising plurality of dielectric layers 250, 246, 252, 254, therefore the dielectric constant of the dielectric layers 250, 246, 252, 254 would affect the overall artificial dielectric constant of the metamaterial.
Foo does not disclose at least one switch coupled with each of the plurality of periodically repeated conductor patterns, wherein each of the at least one switch is activated and deactivated to change one or both of a size and shape of an associated one of the plurality of conductor patterns and in turn change the natural dielectric constant of the associated one of the plurality of periodically repeated conductor patterns, wherein the activation or deactivation of each of the at least one switch tunes the artificial dielectric constant of the artificial dielectric structure to account for characteristics of adjacent structural components of at least the housing, and wherein the characteristics include material compositions of the adjacent structural component.
Gong suggests at least one switch (1211, figs. 2-8, page 8, last para – page 9, para 2) coupled with each of the plurality of periodically repeated conductor patterns (121/1212), wherein each of the at least one switch (1211) is activated and deactivated to change one or both of a size and shape of an associated one of the plurality of conductor patterns (page 8, last para – page 9, para 2: “a plurality of the at least one switch diode SD are respectively connected or turned off according to a plurality of the input voltage, so that the corresponding plurality of the conductive micro-structure 1212 equivalent inductance is changed, so that the angle sensitive metamaterial 12 anisotropic equivalent electromagnetic parameter is changed, to response to electromagnetic wave of different angles” and “the switch diode SD is turned on or off, the shape of the micro-structure unit 121/1212 is changed”) and in turn change the natural dielectric constant of the associated one of the plurality of periodically repeated conductor patterns (page 8, last para – page 9, para 2), wherein the activation or deactivation of each of the at least one switch tunes the artificial dielectric constant of the artificial dielectric structure (page 8, last para – page 9, para 2).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide at least one switch as taught in Gong to the antenna arrangement taught in Foo as claimed for the purpose of changing the electromagnetic parameter of the artificial dielectric structure in order to determine the distance and direction of the receiving electromagnetic wave, save cost and power consumption, reduce antenna size and improve the efficiency of the antenna (Gong, page 13, para 3).
Although Foo and Gong does not explicitly disclose wherein the activation or deactivation of each of the at least one switch to account for characteristics of adjacent structural components of at least the housing, and wherein the characteristics include material compositions of the adjacent structural component, Gong discloses the activation or deactivation of each of the at least one switch tunes the artificial dielectric constant depending on the requirements of the application (page 8, last para – page 9, para 2).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to tune the artificial dielectric constant taught in Foo and Gong to account for the adjacent components of at least the housing as claimed for the purpose of reducing the effect of the material of the adjacent components of the antenna elements in order to maintain the antenna performance.
Regarding claim 2, Foo discloses wherein each of the conductor patterns comprises a plurality of conductor patches (fig. 7-8: each conductor pattern 218, 230 comprises plurality of horizontal and vertical conductor patches), and
wherein the conductor patterns (figs. 3-8: the conductor patterns 218, 230 of each unit cell 130 or lens group 116) associated with one of the antenna elements (118) are arranged such that one conductor pattern of one conductor layer (218) is superposed with the corresponding antenna element (118) and one corresponding conductor pattern of at least one further conductor layer (230).
Regarding claim 4, Foo suggests wherein the artificial dielectric constant additionally depends on a number of conductor layers, a distance between adjacent conductor layers, a size of the conductor patches and a size of gaps between the conductor patches within one conductor pattern (para [0043]: “The transmission phase of each cell layer 202(i) depends on geometry of the cell layers and dielectric properties of the materials used in the PCBs 220, 222” and para [0045] “In some examples, simulations are performed to select an optimal set of component properties for unit cells 130 to enable optimized RF transmission for a target bandwidth, wavelength and tunable phase range”).
Regarding claim 7, as best understood, Foo discloses the following:
a millimeter-wave antenna module comprising a millimeter-wave antenna arrangement and a substrate accommodating the millimeter-wave antenna arrangement, wherein a first antenna array of the millimeter-wave antenna arrangement is arranged in a housing of the module to be between a first substrate section of the substrate and an artificial dielectric structure of the millimeter-wave antenna arrangement, wherein the millimeter-wave antenna arrangement comprises:
a plurality of antenna elements comprising the first antenna array (array of antenna elements 118, fig. 2);
a plurality of conductor layers separated by dielectric layers comprising the artificial dielectric structure (figs. 3-8: the dielectric structure 102 is divided into plurality of lens groups 116 comprising unit cells 103 which comprises a plurality of conductor layers formed by meshed wires 218, 230 separated by dielectric layers 250, 246, 252, 254) superposed over the first antenna array (array of 118, fig. 2),
wherein each of the dielectric layers has a natural dielectric constant (it is well-known for one of ordinary skill in the art to understand that every dielectric material would have a dielectric constant),
a plurality of conductor patterns comprising each of the plurality of conductor layers (fig. 3: conductor patterns / mesh wires 218, 230),
wherein each of the plurality of conductor patterns (fig. 2: each conductor pattern 218, 230 of lens group 116) is associated with one of the plurality of antenna elements (118), and
wherein the first antenna array (array of antenna elements 118, fig. 2) is arranged between the first substrate section (120) and the artificial dielectric structure (102) within the housing such that the artificial dielectric structure is closer to an exterior of the module than is the first antenna array (fig, 2: the artificial dielectric structure 102 is on top of the antenna module, it is implied that the artificial dielectric structure would be closer to the adjacent components and the housing is one of the adjacent components).
Although Foo does not explicitly disclose wherein the artificial dielectric constant depends on the natural dielectric constant, Foo discloses “The transmission phase of each cell layer 202(i) depends on geometry of the cell layers and dielectric properties of the materials used in the PCBs 220, 222” in para [0043] and “Liquid crystal 146 in a nematic state possesses dielectric anisotropy characteristics at microwave frequencies, whose effective dielectric constant may be adjusted by setting different orientations of the molecules of liquid crystal 246 relative to its reference axis” in para [0046].
Moreover, one of ordinary skill in the art would understand that the metamaterial 120 is formed by plurality of unit cells 130 comprising plurality of dielectric layers 250, 246, 252, 254, therefore the dielectric constant of the dielectric layers 250, 246, 252, 254 would affect the overall artificial dielectric constant of the metamaterial.
Foo does not disclose at least one switch coupled with each of the plurality of conductor patterns wherein each of the at least one switch is activated and deactivated to change one or both of a size and shape of an associated one of the plurality of conductor patterns and in turn change the natural dielectric constant of the associated one of the plurality of conductor patterns, wherein the activation or deactivation of each of the at least one switch tunes the artificial dielectric constant of the artificial dielectric structure to account for characteristics of adjacent structural components of at least the housing, and wherein the characteristics include material compositions of the adjacent structural component.
Gong suggests at least one switch (1211, figs. 2-8, page 8, last para – page 9, para 2) coupled with each of the plurality of periodically repeated conductor patterns (121/1212), wherein each of the at least one switch (1211) is activated and deactivated to change one or both of a size and shape of an associated one of the plurality of conductor patterns (page 8, last para – page 9, para 2: “a plurality of the at least one switch diode SD are respectively connected or turned off according to a plurality of the input voltage, so that the corresponding plurality of the conductive micro-structure 1212 equivalent inductance is changed, so that the angle sensitive metamaterial 12 anisotropic equivalent electromagnetic parameter is changed, to response to electromagnetic wave of different angles” and “the switch diode SD is turned on or off, the shape of the micro-structure unit 121/1212 is changed”) and in turn change the natural dielectric constant of the associated one of the plurality of periodically repeated conductor patterns (page 8, last para – page 9, para 2), wherein the activation or deactivation of each of the at least one switch tunes the artificial dielectric constant of the artificial dielectric structure (page 8, last para – page 9, para 2).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide at least one switch as taught in Gong to the antenna arrangement taught in Foo as claimed for the purpose of changing the electromagnetic parameter of the artificial dielectric structure in order to determine the distance and direction of the receiving electromagnetic wave, save cost and power consumption, reduce antenna size and improve the efficiency of the antenna (Gong, page 13, para 3).
Although Foo and Gong does not explicitly disclose wherein the activation or deactivation of each of the at least one switch to account for characteristics of adjacent structural components of at least the housing, and wherein the characteristics include material compositions of the adjacent structural component, Gong discloses the activation or deactivation of each of the at least one switch tunes the artificial dielectric constant depending on the requirements of the application (page 8, last para – page 9, para 2).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to tune the artificial dielectric constant taught in Foo and Gong to account for the adjacent components of at least the housing as claimed for the purpose of reducing the effect of the material of the adjacent components of the antenna elements in order to maintain the antenna performance.
Regarding claim 13, Foo discloses wherein the substrate is a printed circuit board (para [0029]: substrate 120 is a printed circuit board).
Regarding claim 14, as best understood, Foo discloses the following:
an apparatus comprising a millimeter-wave antenna module, and a chassis, wherein the module comprises a housing for a millimeter-wave antenna arrangement and a substrate accommodating the millimeter-wave antenna arrangement, wherein a first antenna array of the millimeter-wave antenna arrangement is arranged between a first substrate section of the substrate and an artificial dielectric structure of the millimeter-wave antenna arrangement, and wherein the millimeter-wave antenna arrangement comprises:
a plurality of antenna elements comprising the first antenna array (array of antenna elements 118, fig. 2);
a plurality of conductor layers separated by dielectric layers comprising the artificial dielectric structure (figs. 3-8: the dielectric structure 102 is divided into plurality of lens groups 116 comprising unit cells 103 which comprises a plurality of conductor layers formed by meshed wires 218, 230 separated by dielectric layers 250, 246, 252, 254) superposed over the first antenna array (array of 118, fig. 2),
wherein each of the dielectric layers has a natural dielectric constant (it is well-known for one of ordinary skill in the art to understand that every dielectric material would have a dielectric constant),
wherein each of the plurality of conductor layers comprises a plurality of conductor patterns (fig. 3: conductor patterns / mesh wires 218, 230),, and,
wherein the first antenna array (array of antenna elements 118, fig. 2) is positioned between the first substrate section(120) and the artificial dielectric structure (102) such that the artificial dielectric structure is arranged within the housing of the module to be closer to the housing than is the first antenna array (fig, 2: the artificial dielectric structure 102 is on top of the antenna module, it is implied that the artificial dielectric structure would be closer to the adjacent components and the housing is one of the adjacent components).
Although Foo does not explicitly disclose wherein the artificial dielectric constant depends on the natural dielectric constant, Foo discloses “The transmission phase of each cell layer 202(i) depends on geometry of the cell layers and dielectric properties of the materials used in the PCBs 220, 222” in para [0043] and “Liquid crystal 146 in a nematic state possesses dielectric anisotropy characteristics at microwave frequencies, whose effective dielectric constant may be adjusted by setting different orientations of the molecules of liquid crystal 246 relative to its reference axis” in para [0046].
Moreover, one of ordinary skill in the art would understand that the metamaterial 120 is formed by plurality of unit cells 130 comprising plurality of dielectric layers 250, 246, 252, 254, therefore the dielectric constant of the dielectric layers 250, 246, 252, 254 would affect the overall artificial dielectric constant of the metamaterial.
Foo does not disclose at least one switch coupled with each of the plurality of conductor patterns wherein each of the at least one switch is activated and deactivated to change one or both of a size and shape of an associated one of the plurality of conductor patterns and in turn change the natural dielectric constant of the associated one of the plurality of conductor patterns, wherein the activation or deactivation of each of the at least one switch tunes the artificial dielectric constant of the artificial dielectric structure to account for characteristics of adjacent structural components of at least the housing, and wherein the characteristics include material compositions of the adjacent structural component..
Gong suggests at least one switch (1211, figs. 2-8, page 8, last para – page 9, para 2) coupled with each of the plurality of periodically repeated conductor patterns (121/1212), wherein each of the at least one switch (1211) is activated and deactivated to change one or both of a size and shape of an associated one of the plurality of conductor patterns (page 8, last para – page 9, para 2: “a plurality of the at least one switch diode SD are respectively connected or turned off according to a plurality of the input voltage, so that the corresponding plurality of the conductive micro-structure 1212 equivalent inductance is changed, so that the angle sensitive metamaterial 12 anisotropic equivalent electromagnetic parameter is changed, to response to electromagnetic wave of different angles” and “the switch diode SD is turned on or off, the shape of the micro-structure unit 121/1212 is changed”) and in turn change the natural dielectric constant of the associated one of the plurality of periodically repeated conductor patterns (page 8, last para – page 9, para 2), wherein the activation or deactivation of each of the at least one switch tunes the artificial dielectric constant of the artificial dielectric structure (page 8, last para – page 9, para 2).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide at least one switch as taught in Gong to the antenna arrangement taught in Foo as claimed for the purpose of changing the electromagnetic parameter of the artificial dielectric structure in order to determine the distance and direction of the receiving electromagnetic wave, save cost and power consumption, reduce antenna size and improve the efficiency of the antenna (Gong, page 13, para 3).
Although Foo and Gong does not explicitly disclose wherein the activation or deactivation of each of the at least one switch to account for characteristics of adjacent structural components of at least the housing, and wherein the characteristics include material compositions of the adjacent structural component, Gong discloses the activation or deactivation of each of the at least one switch tunes the artificial dielectric constant depending on the requirements of the application (page 8, last para – page 9, para 2).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to tune the artificial dielectric constant taught in Foo and Gong to account for the adjacent components of at least the housing as claimed for the purpose of reducing the effect of the material of the adjacent components of the antenna elements in order to maintain the antenna performance.
Regarding claim 17, as best understood, although the combination of Foo, Gong and Ueda does not disclose wherein the configuration, in size and/or shape, of each individual conductor pattern associated with the respective antenna element of the antenna system is dependent on adjacent structural components, one of ordinary skill in the antenna art would know that the size and shape of the conductor pattern would depend on the material or distance of the structural components locating adjacent to the conductor pattern because the material and the distance of the structural components would affect the radiating characteristics of the conductor patterns and therefore would affect the antenna’s performance.
Regarding claim 18, although the combination of Foo, Gong and Ueda does not disclose wherein the configuration, in size and/or shape, of each individual conductor pattern associated with the respective antenna element of the antenna system is dependent on the housing, one of ordinary skill in the antenna art would know that the size and shape of the conductor pattern would depend on the material or distance of the housing locating close to the conductor pattern because the material and the distance of the housing would affect the radiating characteristics of the conductor patterns and therefore would affect the antenna’s performance.
Regarding claim 19, as best understood, Foo discloses the millimeter-wave antenna arrangement according to claim 1, including a substrate (120, fig. 2) of the antenna arrangement, wherein the first antenna array is arranged between a first substrate section of a substrate (120) and the artificial dielectric structure (102).
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Foo in view of Gong as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Liu et al, CN-102480003-A (hereinafter Liu).
Regarding claim 5, although Foo does not disclose wherein the artificial dielectric constant has a value higher than the natural dielectric constant, Foo discloses the artificial dielectric constant of the metamaterial dielectric structure 102 can be adjusted as desired (para [0027]).
Liu applied as a teaching reference discloses “changing the shape of the existing man-made structure, micro-structure in the structure of the first metal line branch and a second metal line branch at each individual, adding the mutual-facing metal wire, so as to improve the capacitance of the artificial micro structure so as to improve the dielectric constant and refractive index of the metamaterial” (para [0019]) and the purpose of the invention is to find a solution for the increasing demand of “the required dielectric constant much higher than material existing in the nature of dielectric constant” (para [0004]) by using metamaterial which has “supernormal material physical properties of natural material does not have” (para [0005]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the artificial dielectric constant of the antenna arrangement taught in Foo and Gong to be higher than the natural dielectric constant as taught in Liu as claimed for the purpose of reducing the wavelength of the electromagnetic wave in order to reduce the size of the electronic device (Liu, para [0003]).
Claims 8-12, 15-16 and 20-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Foo in view of Gong as applied to claims 1, 7 and 14 above, and further in view of Ueda, US-20190252784-A1.
Regarding claim 8, the combination of Foo and Gong does not disclose wherein the substrate comprises the first substrate section and a second substrate section, wherein the first substrate section and the second substrate section are interconnected by a third substrate section, and wherein the second substrate section extends at an angle to the first substrate section.
Ueda discloses wherein the substrate (70) comprises the first substrate section and a second substrate section (fig. 10 reproduced below),
wherein the first substrate section and the second substrate section are interconnected by a third substrate section (fig. 10), and
wherein the second substrate section extends at an angle to the first substrate section (fig. 10).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to design the substrate of the antenna arrangement taught in Foo and Gong to have first, second and third substrate sections as suggested in Ueda as claimed for the purpose of being able to accommodate different electronic components on the substrate.
Regarding claim 9, the combination of Foo and Gong does not disclose the millimeter-wave antenna system according to claim 8, further comprising a second antenna array arranged on the second substrate section.
Ueda discloses the millimeter-wave antenna system according to claim 8, further comprising a second antenna array (24) arranged on the second substrate section (fig. 10).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide a second antenna array as suggested in Ueda to the antenna arrangement taught in Foo and Gong as claimed for the purpose of having plurality of antennas disposed at different locations of the electronic device in order to be able to transmit/receive signals from different directions to improve the communication’s quality.
Regarding claim 10, the combination of Foo and Gong does not disclose the millimeter-wave antenna system according to claim 8, further comprising a radio frequency integrated circuit arranged on the second substrate section.
Ueda suggests the millimeter-wave antenna system according to claim 8, further comprising a radio frequency integrated circuit (30) arranged on the second substrate section (fig. 10).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide a radio frequency integrated circuit as suggested in Ueda to the antenna arrangement taught in Foo and Gong as claimed for the purpose of sending or receiving the electrical signals back and forth from the antenna in order to perform the wireless communication.
Regarding claim 11, the combination of Foo and Gong does not disclose wherein the second antenna array is arranged on a first side of the second substrate section and a radio frequency integrated circuit is arranged on a second side of the second substrate section.
Ueda discloses wherein the second antenna array (24) is arranged on a first side of the second substrate section (fig. 10) and a radio frequency integrated circuit (30) is arranged on a second side of the second substrate section (fig. 10).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to arrange the second antenna array and the radio frequency integrated circuit on the first and second sides of the second substrate section as suggested in Ueda in the antenna arrangement taught in Foo and Gong as claimed for the purpose of being to accommodate various electronic components on a limited length of the substrate and reducing the length of the wirings between these components.
Regarding claim 12, the combination of Foo and Gong does not disclose wherein the first substrate section and/or the third substrate section support transmitting at least one signal between the first antenna array and the radio frequency integrated circuit.
Ueda suggests wherein the first substrate section and/or the third substrate section comprise transmission lines (51, fig. 6) support transmitting at least one signal between the first antenna array (52) and the radio frequency integrated circuit (30).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide transmission lines as suggested in Ueda to the antenna arrangement taught in Foo and Gong as claimed for the purpose of transmitting and receiving electrical signals back and forth from the antenna in order to perform wireless communication.
Regarding claim 15, the combination of Foo and Gong does not disclose wherein the housing comprises at least a main surface and a peripheral surface extending along the periphery of the main surface and at an angle to the main surface, wherein the first substrate section of the substrate extends adjacent the peripheral surface, and wherein the artificial dielectric structure is located between the first antenna array and the peripheral surface.
Ueda discloses wherein the housing comprises at least a main surface and a peripheral surface extending along the periphery of the main surface and at an angle to the main surface (fig. 10 reproduced below),
wherein the first substrate section of the substrate extends adjacent the peripheral surface (fig. 10), and
wherein the artificial dielectric structure (Foo, fig. 2: the artificial dielectric structure 102 located above the first antenna array of antenna elements 118 and the substrate 120) is located between the first antenna array and the peripheral surface (fig. 10: the dielectric structure located above the first antenna array 75 and the substrate 70, therefore the artificial dielectric structure located between the first antenna array and the peripheral surface).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the housing as taught in Ueda to the apparatus taught in Foo and Gong as claimed for the purpose of providing protection to the electronic components.
Regarding claim 16, Foo discloses the apparatus according to claim 15, further including a radio frequency integrated circuit (122, fig. 2, para [0034]) of the antenna arrangement.
The combination of Foo and Gong does not disclose wherein a second substrate section of the substrate extends at least partially parallel with the main surface, wherein a second antenna array of the antenna system faces the main surface, wherein a radio frequency integrated circuit of the antenna system faces an interior of the housing.
Ueda discloses wherein a second substrate section of the substrate extends at least partially parallel with the main surface (fig. 10 above), wherein a second antenna array (24) of the antenna system faces the main surface (fig. 10), wherein a radio frequency integrated circuit (30) of the antenna system faces an interior of the housing (fig. 10).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to arrange the second antenna array facing the main surface as suggested in Ueda to the antenna system taught in Foo and Gong as claimed for the purpose of transmitting the electromagnetic signals from the second antenna array to outside of the device in order to perform wireless communication.
Regarding claim 20, the combination of Foo and Gong does not disclose wherein the substrate comprises the first substrate section and a second substrate section, wherein the second substrate section extends at an angle to the first substrate section, and wherein the first antenna array is arranged on the first substrate section.
Ueda discloses wherein the substrate (70) comprises the first substrate section and a second substrate section (fig. 10 reproduced above), wherein the second substrate section extends at an angle to the first substrate section (fig. 10), and wherein the first antenna array (75) is arranged on the first substrate section.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to design the substrate of the antenna arrangement taught in Foo and Gong to have first, second and third substrate sections as suggested in Ueda as claimed for the purpose of being able to accommodate different electronic components on the substrate.
Regarding claim 21, the combination of Foo and Gong does not disclose the millimeter-wave antenna arrangement according to claim 20, further comprising a second antenna array arranged on the second substrate section.
Ueda discloses the millimeter-wave antenna arrangement according to claim 20, further comprising a second antenna array (24) arranged on the second substrate section (fig. 10).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide a second antenna array as suggested in Ueda to the antenna arrangement taught in Foo and Gong as claimed for the purpose of having plurality of antennas disposed at different locations of the electronic device in order to be able to transmit/receive signals from different directions to improve the communication’s quality.
Regarding claim 22, the combination of Foo and Gong does not disclose the millimeter-wave antenna arrangement according to claim 21, further comprising a radio frequency integrated circuit arranged on the second substrate section.
Ueda suggests the millimeter-wave antenna arrangement according to claim 21, further comprising a radio frequency integrated circuit (30) arranged on the second substrate section (fig. 10).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide a radio frequency integrated circuit as suggested in Ueda to the antenna arrangement taught in Foo and Gong as claimed for the purpose of sending or receiving the electrical signals back and forth from the antenna in order to perform the wireless communication.
Conclusion
/DAMEON E LEVI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2845
/ANH HO/Examiner, Art Unit 2845