DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 05/24/2023 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement has been considered by the examiner.
Status of Claims
Claims 1-20 are pending and currently under consideration for patentability.
Claim Objections
Claim 1 and 11 objected to because of the following informalities: a second outlet is claimed without a first outlet. Appropriate correction is required. As a result “a second outlet” will be interpreted as “an outlet”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-5, 7-15, and 17-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Bacich (US PGPUB 20150142045 A1).
Regarding Claim 1, Bacich teaches a manual suction device (paragraph [0143]) for evacuating media from a source, comprising:
(a) a drainage tube comprising a drain tube first end and a drain tube second end (paragraph [0095]);
(b) a pump unit (74) comprising a plunger (76) , a plunger first end, a cylinder, a gasket (142), and a second outlet (pressurized outlet of syringe, paragraph [0170]);
(c) a pump tube (reservoir-catheter channel 100) comprising pump tube first end and pump tube second end (first and second end are inherent properties) (paragraph [0134]);
(d) a media collector (6) comprising a container (balloon), an opening (14), and a second inlet (12);
(e) a media collector tube (4) comprising a collector tube first end and a collector tube second end (any tube inherently has a first and second end, paragraph [0064])(figures 1A-1E);
(f) a connecting mechanism (56) comprising a connector first end (distal end), a connector middle end (in between proximal and distal region), and a connector second end (proximal end) (paragraph [0088]); and
(g) a first check valve (proximal check valve) and a second check valve (distal check valve, 52) (paragraph [0086]); wherein:
i. said gasket (198) is permanently attached to said plunger (190) first end [0214] FIGS. 12A, B);
ii. said gasket (198) and said thumb rest are located on opposing ends of said plunger (190);
iii. said plunger (198) is configured to be removably inserted into said cylinder (4) (figures 12A-12B);
iv. said pump tube first end is fixedly attached to said connector second end creating a water-tight connection and said pump tube second end is fixedly attached to said second outlet creating a water-tight connection (paragraph [0214-0215]);
v. said drain tube first end is inserted into said source and said drain tube second end is fixedly attached to said first check valve creating a water-tight connection (paragraph [0089]);
vi. said connector first end is fixedly attached to said first check valve (paragraph [0088]);
vii. said pump tube first end is fixedly attached to said connector second end creating a water-tight connection, and said connector middle end is fixedly attached to said second check valve (paragraph [0122]); and
viii. said collector tube first end is fixedly attached to said second check valve creating a water-tight connection and said collector tube second end is fixedly attached to said second inlet creating a water-tight connection (paragraph [0122]);.
Regarding Claim 2, Bacich teaches the manual suction device as recited in claim 1. Bacich further teaches wherein said connecting mechanism comprises a "T" connector (paragraph [0088]).
Regarding Claim 3, Bacich teaches the manual suction device as recited in claim 1. Bacich further teaches wherein said connecting mechanism comprises a "Y" connector (paragraph [0088]).
Regarding Claim 4, Bacich teaches the manual suction device as recited in claim 1. Bacich further teaches Bacich further teaches wherein said media comprises air, fluid, secretions, blood, vomit, debris, particulate matter, or any combination thereof (paragraph [0066]).
Regarding Claim 5, Bacich teaches the manual suction device as recited in claim 1. Bacich further teaches wherein said connecting mechanism comprises rubber plastic, wood, cork, rubber, metal, bamboo, or any combination thereof (paragraph [0155]).
Regarding Claim 7, Bacich teaches the manual suction device as recited in claim 1. Bacich further teaches wherein, wherein said container (balloon) comprises a disposable, detachable bag (paragraph [0023]).
Regarding Claim 8, Bacich teaches the manual suction device as recited in claim 1. Bacich further teaches wherein said source comprises a body cavity, such as oral, chest, or abdomen cavities or a cavity created by an external force such as a projectile, wound, or an infection (paragraph [0181]).
Regarding Claim 9, Bacich teaches the manual suction device as recited in claim 1. Bacich further teaches wherein said pump unit is configured to evacuate said media from said source when said plunger is pulled from said cylinder creating negative pressure (suction) throughout said pump unit causing said media to travel from said body cavity into said drainage tube and said pump tube (paragraph [0082]).
Regarding Claim 10, Bacich teaches the manual suction device as recited in claim 9. Bacich further teaches wherein said pump unit is configured to deposit said media into said media collector when said plunger is removably inserted into said cylinder creating positive pressure causing said media to flow through said media collector tube and into said container (paragraph [0122]).
Regarding Claim 11, Bacich teaches a manual suction device (paragraph [0143]) for evacuating media from a source, comprising:
(a) a drainage tube comprising a drain tube first end and a drain tube second end (paragraph [0095]);
(b) a pump unit (74) comprising a plunger (76) , a plunger first end, a cylinder, a gasket (142), and a second outlet;
(c) a pump tube (reservoir-catheter channel 100) comprising pump tube first end and pump tube second end (first and second end are inherent properties) (paragraph [0134]);
(d) a media collector (6) comprising a container (balloon), an opening (14), and a second inlet (12);
(e) a media collector tube (4) comprising a collector tube first end and a collector tube second end (any tube inherently has a first and second end, paragraph [0064])(figures 1A-1E);
(f) a connecting mechanism (56) comprising a connector first end (distal end), a connector middle end (in between proximal and distal region), and a connector second end (proximal end) (paragraph [0088]); and
(g) a first check valve (proximal check valve) and a second check valve (distal check valve, 52) (paragraph [0086]); wherein:
i. said gasket (198) is permanently attached to said plunger (190) first end [0214] FIGS. 12A, B);
ii. said gasket (198) and said thumb rest are located on opposing ends of said plunger (190);
iii. said plunger (198) is configured to be removably inserted into said cylinder (4) (figures 12A-12B);
iv. said pump tube first end is fixedly attached to said connector second end creating a water-tight connection and said pump tube second end is fixedly attached to said second outlet creating a water-tight connection (paragraph [0214-0215]);
v. said drain tube first end is inserted into said source and said drain tube second end is fixedly attached to said first check valve creating a water-tight connection (paragraph [0089]);
vi. said connector first end is fixedly attached to said first check valve (paragraph [0088]);
vii. said pump tube first end is fixedly attached to said connector second end creating a water-tight connection, and said connector middle end is fixedly attached to said second check valve (paragraph [0122]); and
viii. said collector tube first end is fixedly attached to said second check valve creating a water-tight connection and said collector tube second end is fixedly attached to said second inlet creating a water-tight connection (paragraph [0122]).
Regarding Claim 12, Bacich teaches the manual suction device as recited in claim 11. Bacich further teaches wherein said connecting mechanism comprises a "T" connector (paragraph [0088]).
Regarding Claim 13, Bacich teaches the manual suction device as recited in claim 11. Bacich further teaches wherein said connecting mechanism comprises a "Y" connector (paragraph [0088]).
Regarding Claim 14, Bacich teaches the manual suction device as recited in claim 11. Bacich further teaches Bacich further teaches wherein said media comprises air, fluid, secretions, blood, vomit, debris, particulate matter, or any combination thereof (paragraph [0066]).
Regarding Claim 15, Bacich teaches the manual suction device as recited in claim 11. Bacich further teaches wherein said connecting mechanism comprises rubber plastic, wood, cork, rubber, metal, bamboo, or any combination thereof (paragraph [0155]).
Regarding Claim 17, Bacich teaches the manual suction device as recited in claim 11. Bacich further teaches wherein, wherein said container (balloon) comprises a disposable, detachable bag (paragraph [0023]).
Regarding Claim 18, Bacich teaches the manual suction device as recited in claim 11. Bacich further teaches wherein said source comprises a body cavity, such as oral, chest, or abdomen cavities or a cavity created by an external force such as a projectile, wound, or an infection (paragraph [0181]).
Regarding Claim 19, Bacich teaches the manual suction device as recited in claim 11. Bacich further teaches wherein said pump unit is configured to evacuate said media from said source when said plunger is pulled from said cylinder creating negative pressure (suction) throughout said pump unit causing said media to travel from said body cavity into said drainage tube and said pump tube (paragraph [0082]).
Regarding Claim 20, Bacich teaches the manual suction device as recited in claim 19. Bacich further teaches wherein said pump unit is configured to deposit said media into said media collector when said plunger is removably inserted into said cylinder creating positive pressure causing said media to flow through said media collector tube and into said container (paragraph [0122]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 6 and 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bacich (US PGPUB 20150142045 A1) in view of Bidwell (US 3809085 A).
Regarding Claim 6, Bacich teaches the manual suction device as recited in claim 1. Bacich fails to explicitly teach wherein said first check valve and said second check valve comprise a chest drain valve (a chest drain valve is being interpreted as any drainage valve that can be used within a chest cavity).
Bidwell teaches a surgical drainage system with a check valve in the drainage tube (abstract). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the suction device of Bacich to permit the passage of fluid from said cavity to said collection chamber and to prevent the passage of fluid from said collection chamber to said cavity to permit the development of high negative pressure in said cavity (as motivated by Bidwell column 1, lines 60-66).
Regarding Claim 16, Bacich teaches the manual suction device as recited in claim 11. Bacich fails to explicitly teach wherein said first check valve and said second check valve comprise a chest drain valve (a chest drain valve is being interpreted as any drainage valve that can be used within a chest cavity).
Bidwell teaches a surgical drainage system with a check valve in the drainage tube (abstract). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the suction device of Bacich to permit the passage of fluid from said cavity to said collection chamber and to prevent the passage of fluid from said collection chamber to said cavity to permit the development of high negative pressure in said cavity (as motivated by Bidwell column 1, lines 60-66).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure: US 20180104391 A1, US 20160220745 A1, US 10786608 B2.
/KATE ELIZABETH STRACHAN/Examiner, Art Unit 3781
/KAI H WENG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3781