DETAILED ACTION
This action is responsive to applicant’s communication filed 03/05/2026.
Status of the Claims
Claims 1-7, 11, 13-17, and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103.
Claims 8-10, 12, and 18 are cancelled.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments on Pages 9-13 of the Remarks regarding the prior art in view of the amendments to the claims (in particular, the limitation “wherein the processor transmits the audio-visual signal to the display panel to display an image”; see claim 1) have been fully considered but are respectfully moot given the new grounds for rejection necessitated by the amendments to the claims. Applicant’s arguments are moot since a new reference, Fisher, is relied upon to teach the amended limitations in combination with the primary reference, Dalebout.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 5, 7, 11, 14, 16-17, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over DALEBOUT (US 2013/0035208 A1) in view of FISHER (US 2010/0035726 A1).
Regarding Claim 1, DALEBOUT discloses a television, comprising: a processor (Fig. 3 processor 220)… a display panel, coupled to the processor… to display an image; (¶ 22, 33, Fig. 1 display 132: Console 130 with processing unit and a display screen 132 that displays television programming is equivalent to a television even though it is integrated into an exercise machine.)
and a plurality of motion sensing fan modules coupled to the processor, (¶ 27, Fig. 1. Fans 144a/b provide an airflow to a front of the television display 132 directed towards the user. The fans are motion sensing as described in ¶ 6, 21, 29, and 47.)
wherein each of the motion sensing fan modules includes a plurality of sensors (¶ 33, 35: Fig. 3: The processor is coupled to the sensing mechanism, comprising the sensors.), a driving circuit (for a fan to operate, there would be some type of driving circuit connected between the fan and processor. See ¶ 24), and a fan (Fig. 1 fans 144a and 133b, Fig. 3 fan 230), and the plurality of sensors generate at least one sensing signal based on an amount of the motion of the user, (The fans are motion sensing as described in ¶ 6, 21, 29, and 47. A plurality of different physiological sensors are disclosed, including a pulse sensor or a cadence (i.e. foot fall) sensor. In a conventional embodiment, the speed of the exercise machine itself is sensed and communicated to the processor to adjust the rotational speed of the fan (see ¶ 6).)
wherein the processor correspondingly generates a rotational speed control signal based on a number of the at least one sensing signal outputted from the sensors of the motion sensing fan modules and obtained by the processor, (¶ 29, 47: A sensing mechanism senses a physiological condition related to the motion of a user to generate a sensing signal that is communicated to a processor using wired or wireless communication. Based on the sensing signal, the air volume of the airflow provided by the fan is adjusted, i.e. adjusting its rotational speed. In one embodiment, the sensed signal is a number of footfalls, or the cadence of the user’s movement, measured by an accelerometer.)
wherein the driving circuit of the motion sensing fan modules receives the rotational speed control signal and drives the fan of the motion sensing fan modules to generate an airflow corresponding to the rotational speed control signal. (¶ 24, 29, 47: A sensing mechanism senses a physiological condition related to the motion of a user to generate a sensing signal that is communicated to a processor using wired or wireless communication. Based on the sensing signal, the air volume of the airflow provided by the fan is adjusted. In other words, the rotational speed of the fan is controlled. In one embodiment, the sensed signal is a number of footfalls, or the cadence of the user’s movement, measured by an accelerometer.)
DALEBOUT seems to imply (¶ 22) but does not explicitly teach receiving an audio-visual signal… wherein the processor transmits the audio-visual signal to the display panel
However, FISHER, which is similarly directed to an apparatus for exercise including adjusting the speed of a fan based on the perceived velocity of the bike (¶ 53), teaches receiving an audio-visual signal… wherein the processor transmits the audio-visual signal to the display panel (¶ 4, 126: “She selects a television program she wants to watch by pressing one of the channel keys K104 on the keypad K100. The television program is displayed on the video monitor and the headphones play the sound associated with the same television program, all delivered by a television cable via the computer H150” An audio-visual signal associated with a television program is transmitted by a computer to the display monitor of an exercise machine for a user to view while exercising.)
Before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to one
of ordinary skill in the art for the exercise machine with a display console that adjusts the speed of a fan on the machine based on the detected motion of the user taught by DALEBOUT to include transmission of audio-visual signals for displaying and outputting sound through the display and speakers, respectively, of the machine as taught by FISHER. Since the references both teach an exercise machine having a display for outputting television programs, the combination would have yielded predictable results. FISHER (¶ 3-4, 26, 60, 131) also suggests that such an implementation would provide the user with more flexibility, improving the user experience by providing different options and allowing a user to view a television program while observing exercise related content and parameters.
Regarding Claim 2, DALEBOUT in view of FISHER further teaches wherein the driving circuit determines a rotational speed of the fan based on the rotational speed control signal. (DALEBOUT, ¶ 24: The drive circuit coupled to the controller that receives the rotational speed control signal in order to operate the fan and provide an airflow comprises a motor. The rotational speed of the fan is controlled according the control signal determined from the signals obtained from the sensors that represent the movement of the user, as discussed in ¶ 6, 21, 29 and 47.)
Regarding Claim 5, DALEBOUT in view of FISHER further teaches further comprising: at least one environment sensor, coupled to the processor, and configured to sense the motion of the user to output at least one environment sensing signal to the processor, (DALEBOUT, ¶ 47: An “environment” sensor is an accelerometer that senses the motion of the user. The number of foot falls of a user is output as a sensing signal to the processor.)
wherein the processor correspondingly generates the rotational speed control signal to the driving circuit based on the at least one environment sensing signal, and make the driving circuit control the rotational speed of the fan based on the rotational speed control signal. (DALEBOUT, ¶ 47: The speed of the fan is controlled by the processor based on the sensing signal obtained from the accelerometer. See ¶ 24: The speed of the fan is a rotational speed.)
Regarding Claim 7, DALEBOUT in view of FISHER further teaches wherein the at least one environment sensor transmits the at least one environment sensing signal to the processor through a wired manner or a wireless manner. (DALEBOUT, ¶ 35, 47: The sensor signal is transmitted to the processor that controls the speed of the fan via a wired or wireless manner.)
Regarding Claim 11, DALEBOUT discloses a control method, configured to control a television, wherein the television comprises a processor, a display panel… wherein the control method comprises: displaying an image by the display panel… (¶ 22, 33, Fig. 1 display 132: Console 130 with processing unit and a display screen 132 that displays television programming is equivalent to a television even though it is integrated into an exercise machine.)
and a motion sensing fan module, and the processor is coupled to the display panel and the motion sensing fan module… providing an airflow towards a front of the television (¶ 27, Fig. 1. Fans 144a/b provide an airflow to a front of the television display 132 directed towards the user. They are coupled to the processor and display panel in the console. The fans are motion sensing as described in ¶ 6, 21, 29, and 47.)
and sensing a motion of a user to generate at least one sensing signal to the processor by the motion sensing fan module, comprises: respectively sensing the motion of the user by a plurality of sensors (¶ 33, 35: Fig. 3: The processor is coupled to the sensing mechanism, comprising the sensors.), of the motion sensing fan module, and correspondingly outputting a sensing signal to the processor when one of the plurality of sensors senses the motion of the user; (The fans are motion sensing as described in ¶ 6, 21, 29, and 47. A plurality of different physiological sensors are disclosed, including a pulse sensor or a cadence (i.e. foot fall) sensor. In a conventional embodiment, the speed of the exercise machine itself is sensed and communicated to the processor to adjust the rotational speed of the fan (see ¶ 6).)
correspondingly generating, by the processor, a rotational speed control signal based on a number of the sensing signal obtained by the processor; and determining a rotational speed of a fan of the motion sensing fan module based on the rotational speed control signal by a driving circuit of the motion sensing fan module; (¶ 29, 47: A sensing mechanism senses a physiological condition related to the motion of a user to generate a sensing signal that is communicated to a processor using wired or wireless communication. Based on the sensing signal, the air volume of the airflow provided by the fan is adjusted, i.e. adjusting its rotational speed. In one embodiment, the sensed signal is a number of footfalls, or the cadence of the user’s movement, measured by an accelerometer.)
and controlling an air volume of the airflow provided by the motion sensing fan module based on the at least one sensing signal by the processor. (¶ 24, 29, 47: A sensing mechanism senses a physiological condition related to the motion of a user to generate a sensing signal that is communicated to a processor using wired or wireless communication. Based on the sensing signal, the air volume of the airflow provided by the fan is adjusted. In other words, the rotational speed of the fan is controlled. In one embodiment, the sensed signal is a number of footfalls, or the cadence of the user’s movement, measured by an accelerometer.)
DALE seems to imply (¶ 22) but does not explicitly teach wherein the processor receives an audio-visual signal and transmits the audio-visual signal to the display panel to display the image
However, FISHER, which is similarly directed to an apparatus for exercise including adjusting the speed of a fan based on the perceived velocity of the bike (¶ 53), teaches wherein the processor receives an audio-visual signal and transmits the audio-visual signal to the display panel to display the image (¶ 4, 126: “She selects a television program she wants to watch by pressing one of the channel keys K104 on the keypad K100. The television program is displayed on the video monitor and the headphones play the sound associated with the same television program, all delivered by a television cable via the computer H150” An audio-visual signal associated with a television program is transmitted by a computer to the display monitor of an exercise machine for a user to view while exercising.)
Before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to one
of ordinary skill in the art for the exercise machine with a display console that adjusts the speed of a fan on the machine based on the detected motion of the user taught by DALEBOUT to include transmission of audio-visual signals for displaying and outputting sound through the display and speakers, respectively, of the machine as taught by FISHER. Since the references both teach an exercise machine having a display for outputting television programs, the combination would have yielded predictable results. FISHER (¶ 3-4, 26, 60, 131) also suggests that such an implementation would provide the user with more flexibility, improving the user experience by providing different options and allowing a user to view a television program while observing exercise related content and parameters.
Regarding Claim 14, DALEBOUT in view of FISHER further teaches further comprising: sensing the motion of the user by at least one environment sensor to output at least one environment sensing signal to the processor; (DALEBOUT, ¶ 47: An “environment” sensor is an accelerometer that senses the motion of the user. The number of foot falls of a user is output as a sensing signal to the processor.)
and correspondingly generating the rotational speed control signal to the driving circuit based on the at least one environment sensing signal by the processor, and making the driving circuit control the rotational speed of the fan based on the rotational speed control signal. (DALEBOUT, ¶ 47: The speed of the fan is controlled by the processor based on the sensing signal obtained from the accelerometer. See ¶ 24: The speed of the fan is a rotational speed.)
Regarding Claim 16, DALEBOUT in view of FISHER further teaches wherein the at least one environment sensor transmits the at least one environment sensing signal to the processor through a wired manner or a wireless manner. (DALEBOUT, ¶ 35, 47: The sensor signal is transmitted to the processor that controls the speed of the fan via a wired or wireless manner.)
Regarding Claim 17, DALEBOUT discloses a non-transitory computer readable storage medium storing a computer program for performing a control method, (¶ 33: A computer would have a processor and memory storing a program executed by the processor.)
wherein the control method is configured to control a television, wherein the television comprises a processor, a display panel… wherein the control method comprises: displaying an image by the display panel… (¶ 22, 33, Fig. 1 display 132: Console 130 with processing unit and a display screen 132 that displays television programming is equivalent to a television even though it is integrated into an exercise machine.)
and a motion sensing fan module, and the processor is coupled to the display panel and the motion sensing fan module… providing an airflow to a front of the television (¶ 27, Fig. 1. Fans 144a/b provide an airflow to a front of the television display 132 directed towards the user. They are coupled to the processor and display panel in the console. The fans are motion sensing as described in ¶ 6, 21, 29, and 47.)
and sensing a motion of a user to generate at least one sensing signal to the processor by the motion sensing fan module, comprises: respectively sensing the motion of the user by a plurality of sensors (¶ 33, 35: Fig. 3: The processor is coupled to the sensing mechanism, comprising the sensors.), of the motion sensing fan module, and correspondingly outputting a sensing signal to the processor when one of the plurality of sensors senses the motion of the user; (The fans are motion sensing as described in ¶ 6, 21, 29, and 47. A plurality of different physiological sensors are disclosed, including a pulse sensor or a cadence (i.e. foot fall) sensor. In a conventional embodiment, the speed of the exercise machine itself is sensed and communicated to the processor to adjust the rotational speed of the fan (see ¶ 6).)
correspondingly generating, by the processor, a rotational speed control signal based on a number of the sensing signal obtained by the processor; and determining a rotational speed of a fan of the motion sensing fan module based on the rotational speed control signal by a driving circuit of the motion sensing fan module (¶ 29, 47: A sensing mechanism senses a physiological condition related to the motion of a user to generate a sensing signal that is communicated to a processor using wired or wireless communication. Based on the sensing signal, the air volume of the airflow provided by the fan is adjusted, i.e. adjusting its rotational speed. In one embodiment, the sensed signal is a number of footfalls, or the cadence of the user’s movement, measured by an accelerometer.)
and controlling an air volume of the airflow provided by the motion sensing fan module based on the at least one sensing signal by the processor. (¶ 24, 29, 47: A sensing mechanism senses a physiological condition related to the motion of a user to generate a sensing signal that is communicated to a processor using wired or wireless communication. Based on the sensing signal, the air volume of the airflow provided by the fan is adjusted. In other words, the rotational speed of the fan is controlled. In one embodiment, the sensed signal is a number of footfalls, or the cadence of the user’s movement, measured by an accelerometer.)
DALE seems to imply (¶ 22) but does not explicitly teach wherein the processor receives an audio-visual signal and transmits the audio-visual signal to the display panel to display the image;
However, FISHER, which is similarly directed to an apparatus for exercise including adjusting the speed of a fan based on the perceived velocity of the bike (¶ 53), teaches wherein the processor receives an audio-visual signal and transmits the audio-visual signal to the display panel to display the image; (¶ 4, 126: “She selects a television program she wants to watch by pressing one of the channel keys K104 on the keypad K100. The television program is displayed on the video monitor and the headphones play the sound associated with the same television program, all delivered by a television cable via the computer H150” An audio-visual signal associated with a television program is transmitted by a computer to the display monitor of an exercise machine for a user to view while exercising.)
Before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to one
of ordinary skill in the art for the exercise machine with a display console that adjusts the speed of a fan on the machine based on the detected motion of the user taught by DALEBOUT to include transmission of audio-visual signals for displaying and outputting sound through the display and speakers, respectively, of the machine as taught by FISHER. Since the references both teach an exercise machine having a display for outputting television programs, the combination would have yielded predictable results. FISHER (¶ 3-4, 26, 60, 131) also suggests that such an implementation would provide the user with more flexibility, improving the user experience by providing different options and allowing a user to view a television program while observing exercise related content and parameters.
Regarding Claim 20, DALEBOUT in view of FISHER further teaches wherein the control method further comprises: sensing the motion of the user by at least one environment sensor to output at least one environment sensing signal to the processor; (DALEBOUT, ¶ 47: An “environment” sensor is an accelerometer that senses the motion of the user. The number of foot falls of a user is output as a sensing signal to the processor.)
and correspondingly generating the rotational speed control signal to the driving circuit based on the at least one environment sensing signal by the processor, and making the driving circuit control the rotational speed of the fan based on the rotational speed control signal. (DALEBOUT, ¶ 47: The speed of the fan is controlled by the processor based on the sensing signal obtained from the accelerometer. See ¶ 24: The speed of the fan is a rotational speed.)
Claims 3, 13, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over DALEBOUT (US 2013/0035208 A1) in view of FISHER (US 2010/0035726 A1) and further in view of DELUCA (US 2018/0021629 A1).
Regarding Claim 3, DALEBOUT in view of FISHER teaches all the limitations of claim 1, on which claim 3 depends.
DALEBOUT further teaches the motion sensing fan module (See ¶ 21, 29, and 47 and the discussion in the rejection of claim 1):
DALEBOUT in view of FISHER does not teach wherein the processor further outputs a laser beam control signal, the motion sensing fan module further comprising a laser device, coupled to the processor, and configured to project a plurality of laser beams to display a motion area based on the laser beam control signal.
However, DELUCA, which is similarly directed to a user interface for interacting with a user in a fitness environment including exercise equipment, teaches wherein the processor further outputs a laser beam control signal, the system comprising a laser device, coupled to the processor, and configured to project a plurality of laser beams to display a motion area based on the laser beam control signal. (¶ 39-40: A plurality of laser beams are projected from a laser device to establish a training area for the purpose of tracking a user’s position and motion in the training area.)
Before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to one
of ordinary skill in the art to incorporate the exercise equipment having a display, sensors, and motion-controlled fan taught by DALEBOUT in view of FISHER into the fitness tracking environment using a laser device taught by DELUCA. Since the references, similar to applicant’s invention, are directed to enhancing a user’s training session, the combination would have yielded predictable results. As suggested by DELUCA (¶ 6), use of position and movement tracking in a training area using a laser device would provide a system that both evaluates a user’s performance and automatically adjusts exercise equipment while also improving a user experience.
Regarding Claim 13, DALEBOUT in view of FISHER teaches all the limitations of claim 11, on which claim 13 depends.
DALEBOUT teaches the motion sensing fan module (See ¶ 21, 29, and 47 and the discussion in the rejection of claim 11):
DALEBOUT in view of FISHER does not teach the motion sensing fan module further comprising: outputting a laser beam control signal by the processor; and projecting a plurality of laser beams to display a motion area based on the laser beam control signal by a laser device
However, DELUCA, which is similarly directed to a user interface for interacting with a user in a fitness environment including exercise equipment, teaches further comprising: outputting a laser beam control signal by the processor; and projecting a plurality of laser beams to display a motion area based on the laser beam control signal by a laser device (¶ 39-40: A plurality of laser beams are projected from a laser device to establish a training area for the purpose of tracking a user’s position and motion in the training area.)
Before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to one
of ordinary skill in the art to incorporate the exercise equipment having a display, sensors, and motion-controlled fan taught by DALEBOUT in view of FISHER into the fitness tracking environment using a laser device taught by DELUCA. Since the references, similar to applicant’s invention, are directed to enhancing a user’s training session, the combination would have yielded predictable results. As suggested by DELUCA (¶ 6), use of position and movement tracking in a training area using a laser device would provide a system that both evaluates a user’s performance and automatically adjusts exercise equipment while also improving a user experience.
Regarding Claim 19, DALEBOUT in view of FISHER teaches all the limitations of claim 17, on which claim 19 depends.
DALEBOUT teaches the motion sensing fan module (See ¶ 21, 29, and 47 and the discussion in the rejection of claim 17):
DALEBOUT in view of FISHER does not teach wherein the control method further comprises: outputting a laser beam control signal by the processor; and projecting a plurality of laser beams to display a motion area based on the laser beam control signal by a laser device
However, DELUCA, which is similarly directed to a user interface for interacting with a user in a fitness environment including exercise equipment, teaches wherein the control method further comprises: outputting a laser beam control signal by the processor; and projecting a plurality of laser beams to display a motion area based on the laser beam control signal by a laser device (¶ 39-40: A plurality of laser beams are projected from a laser device to establish a training area for the purpose of tracking a user’s position and motion in the training area.)
Before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to one
of ordinary skill in the art to incorporate the exercise equipment having a display, sensors, and motion-controlled fan taught by DALEBOUT in view of FISHER into the fitness tracking environment using a laser device taught by DELUCA. Since the references, similar to applicant’s invention, are directed to enhancing a user’s training session, the combination would have yielded predictable results. As suggested by DELUCA (¶ 6), use of position and movement tracking in a training area using a laser device would provide a system that both evaluates a user’s performance and automatically adjusts exercise equipment while also improving a user experience.
Claims 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over DALEBOUT (US 2013/0035208 A1) in view of FISHER (US 2010/0035726 A1) and further in view of LEVITIAN (US 2024/0245956 A1).
Regarding Claim 4, DALEBOUT in view of FISHER teaches all the limitations of claim 1, on which claim 4 depends.
DALEBOUT teaches the motion sensing fan module (See ¶ 21, 29, and 47 and the discussion in the rejection of claim 1):
DALEBOUT in view of FISHER does not teach wherein the processor further outputs a light control signal, the motion sensing fan module further comprising: an atmosphere lamp, coupled to the processor, and configured to emit an atmosphere light based on the light control signal.
However, LEVITIAN, which is directed to a visual interface for fitness (¶ 16), teaches wherein the processor further outputs a light control signal, the system comprising an atmosphere lamp, coupled to the processor, and configured to emit an atmosphere light based on the light control signal. (¶ 61-62, 64, 72: A fitness device that interfaces with a television (see ¶ 18, 29, 35) includes “an atmosphere lamp” (i.e. an array of LEDs) that changes colors based on a control signal output by a processor. The light control signal includes changing the brightness and color of the light according to the current “mood” of the fitness exercise.)
Before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to one
of ordinary skill in the art to modify the exercise equipment having a display, sensors, and motion-controlled fan taught by DALEBOUT in view of FISHER by including a light controlled according to the mood of the exercise as taught by LEVITIAN. Since the references, similar to applicant’s invention, are directed to enhancing a user’s training session, the combination would have yielded predictable results. As suggested by LEVITIAN (¶ 15, 51, 66), such a modification would have provided the user feedback on their immediate progress, improving the user experience while enhancing the mood of the fitness session.
Claims 6 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over DALEBOUT (US 2013/0035208 A1) in view of FISHER (US 2010/0035726 A1) and further in view of GIANNELLI (US 2015/0246260 A1).
Regarding Claim 6, DALEBOUT in view of FISHER teaches all the limitations of claim 5, on which claim 6 depends.
While DALEBOUT teaches a conventional case where the speed setting of a treadmill’s belt is used to automatically determine the rotational speed of a fan (¶ 6), DALEBOUT does not explicitly teach wherein the at least one environment sensor comprises at least one of a rotational speed sensor and a vibration sensor.
However, GIANNELLI, which is similarly directed to an exercise apparatus, teaches wherein the at least one environment sensor comprises at least one of a rotational speed sensor and a vibration sensor. (¶ 157, Fig. 12: A sensor, such as a Hall effect sensor (which is the type of sensor suggested by applicant’s disclosure in ¶ 82), is positioned with respect to a mechanical component of an exercise machine, such as its wheel. The sensor is used to measure the rate of rotational or translational movement (i.e. the speed) of the machine’s component in the environment.)
Before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to one
of ordinary skill in the art to modify the determination of a fan speed according to the sensed movement of a user, such as by an accelerometer, taught by DALEBOUT in view of FISHER by using a Hall effect sensor to measure the speed of the exercise machine, as taught by GIANNELLI, in order to provide the environment sensing signal for determining the speed control signal for the fan. Since the references are similarly directed to apparatuses related to improving an exercise or training session of a user, the combination would have yielded predictable results. DALEBOUT teaches a plurality of different sensors to measure an aspect of the user for controlling fan speed (¶ 29) and that it is conventional to control the fan speed according to the speed of a component of the exercise device (¶ 6). It therefore would have been reasonable to a person of ordinary skill in the art to consider other sensors, such as Hall effect sensors, for measuring the speed of a component of an exercise apparatus and then use that measurement to determine an appropriate fan speed given the teachings of the prior art. Furthermore, using a Hall effect sensor instead of or in addition to an accelerometer to measure user movement would have been a simple substitution that would have yielded predictable results.
Regarding Claim 15, DALEBOUT in view of FISHER teaches all the limitations of claim 14, on which claim 15 depends.
While DALEBOUT teaches a conventional case where the rotational speed of a treadmill’s belt is used to determine the rotational speed of a fan (¶ 6), DALEBOUT does not explicitly teach wherein the at least one environment sensor comprises at least one of a rotational speed sensor and a vibration sensor.
However, GIANNELLI, which is similarly directed to an exercise apparatus, teaches wherein the at least one environment sensor comprises at least one of a rotational speed sensor and a vibration sensor. (¶ 157, Fig. 12: A sensor, such as a Hall effect sensor (which is the type of sensor suggested by applicant’s disclosure in ¶ 82), is positioned with respect to a mechanical component of an exercise machine, such as its wheel. The sensor is used to measure the rate of rotational or translational movement (i.e. the speed) of the machine’s component in the environment.)
Before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to one
of ordinary skill in the art to modify the determination of a fan speed according to the sensed movement of a user, such as by an accelerometer, taught by DALEBOUT in view of FISHER by using a Hall effect sensor to measure the speed of the exercise machine, as taught by GIANNELLI, in order to provide the environment sensing signal for determining the speed control signal for the fan. Since the references are similarly directed to apparatuses related to improving an exercise or training session of a user, the combination would have yielded predictable results. DALEBOUT teaches a plurality of different sensors to measure an aspect of the user for controlling fan speed (¶ 29) and that it is conventional to control the fan speed according to the speed of a component of the exercise device (¶ 6). It therefore would have been reasonable to a person of ordinary skill in the art to consider other sensors, such as Hall effect sensors, for measuring the speed of a component of an exercise apparatus and then use that measurement to determine an appropriate fan speed given the teachings of the prior art. Furthermore, using a Hall effect sensor instead of or in addition to an accelerometer to measure user movement would have been a simple substitution that would have yielded predictable results.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Watterson (US 2013/0274067 A1) teaches sensors for determining the speed a user is moving on an exercise machine. (¶ 76, 84, 101-102)
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/RAMI R OKASHA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2118