DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on December 9, 2025 was filed with the timing statement under 37 CFR 1.97(e)(1) (“each item of information contained in the information disclosure statement was first cited in a counterpart foreign application not more than three months prior to the filing of the information disclosure statement. The submission is therefore in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97(e)(1) and have been considered by the Examiner, except that any foreign documents were only considered with respect to any statement of relevance represented by any English translations of the Abstracts of the subject foreign documents.
Abstract
The objection as to the Abstract has been withdrawn, since the Abstract has been amended to delete the Title, so that the Abstract does not include the Title. See M.P.E.P. § 606 (Title of the Invention).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
of carrying out the invention.
The Section 112(a) and Section 112(b) rejections of claim 8 are withdrawn in view of the amendments to claim 8.
Still further, the Section 112(b) rejections of claims 1-19 are withdrawn in view of the amendments to claims 1-19.
Claim 20 remains rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. § 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
In this regard, independent claim 20 is not in an established and proper method claim format, since it should positively recite a claim element or a claim step—rather than a list of wherein clauses. Normally, “wherein” clauses should directly follow the claim element or the claim step, so as to further characterize the claim element or claim step. Also, as further regards the “wherein” clauses of the claims, many or even most are missing the language of “configured to”. This should be corrected. In short, as regards method claim 20, this method claim should be in the following form: A method for [a stated purpose], the method comprising: [step] A; [step] B; and [step] C, so as to make the method claim definite.
Still further—and more significantly, independent claim 20 is to a method for operating a Location Management Function for a wireless communication system, but claim 20 only recites “providing, in response to a reception of an activation request from the UE, to a transmission point, an activation information requesting an activation or a deactivation of a transmission of one or more second reference signals in addition to one or more first reference signals for a position measurement between the transmission point and a UE”. Thus, there are no steps for operating a Location Management Function for a wireless communication system, so that claim 20 is indefinite because there are no definite steps for operating a Location Management Function for a wireless communication system, as provided in the preamble.
Claim 20 is therefore rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. § 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention, for the foregoing reasons.
Claim Rejections ‐ 35 USC § 102
the basis for the rejections under this section made in this Office action:
Claims 1-7, 9-11, 15, 16, 18, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 102 as anticipated by U.S. Published Patent Application No. 2020/0225309 to Manolakos et al. (“the Manolakos reference”), for the following reasons.
Independent claim 1 is directed to an “apparatus for a wireless communication network”, comprising “one or more antennas for receiving a radio signal”.
In this regard, the Manolakos reference discloses an “apparatus for a wireless communication network”, comprising “one or more antennas for receiving a radio signal”. (See Abstract; paragraphs [0002]-[0004]; and Figs. 1 & 8).
Claim 1 recites the further limitation in which the “apparatus is configured or preconfigured” to “measure, for a position measurement, one or more first radio resources and one or more second radio resources”, in which the “first radio resources and the second radio resources are for transmitting positioning reference signals”.
In this regard, the Manolakos reference discloses an apparatus configured or preconfigured to “measure, for a position measurement, one or more first radio resources and one or more second radio resources”, in which the “first radio resources and the second radio resources are for transmitting positioning reference signals”. (See Abstract; paragraphs [0002]-[0004]; and Figs. 1 & 8). Still further, the Manolakos reference discloses (at paragraph [0135]) that the UE is aware of all PRS configurations of the TRPs—which represent a plurality of resources, as follows:
[0135] [A] first TRP (e.g., the TRP serving the UE, or the TRP corresponding to the PCell for the UE) may send all the PRS and PRS muting configurations to the UE. The transmission of PRS (or non-transmission according to the muting configurations) may performed by a second TRP. The second TRP may be the same as or different from the first TRP.
Accordingly, the Manolakos reference discloses an apparatus configured or preconfigured to “measure, for a position measurement, one or more first radio resources and one or more second radio resources”, in which the “first radio resources and the second radio resources are for transmitting positioning reference signals”.
Claim 1 recites the further limitation in which the apparatus is to “activate or deactivate, in response to a certain event, a measuring of the second radio resources in addition to the first radio resources for the position measurement”.
In this regard, the Manolakos reference discloses (at paragraphs [0006], [0140] and [0146]), the following:
[0006] [A] method for muting of positioning reference signals performed by a first transmission-reception point (TRP) includes sending, to a user equipment (UE), on a bandwidth part of a first carrier frequency, a command triggering at least one of one or more positioning reference signal muting configurations associated with a TRP identifier (ID) and/or a positioning reference signal ID, wherein the triggered positioning reference signal muting configuration indicates that: one or more positioning reference signals of one or more positioning reference signal occasions of at least one positioning reference signal configuration of a plurality of positioning reference signal configurations in a second TRP are not being transmitted, the plurality of positioning reference signal configurations associated with the TRP ID and/or the positioning reference signal ID, or the one or more positioning reference signals of the one or more positioning reference signal occasions of all of the plurality of positioning reference signal configurations in the second TRP are not being transmitted, wherein the second TRP mutes the positioning reference signals according to the triggered positioning reference signal muting configuration.
. . . .
[0140] At 930, the first TRP sends, to the UE, on a bandwidth part of a first carrier frequency, a command triggering at least one of the one or more positioning reference signal muting configurations. The triggered positioning reference signal muting configuration may indicate that (1) the one or more positioning reference signals of the one or more positioning reference signal occasions of at least one positioning reference signal configuration of the plurality of positioning reference signal configurations of the second TRP are not being transmitted, or (2) the one or more positioning reference signals of the one or more positioning reference signal occasions of all of the plurality of positioning reference signal configurations of the second TRP are not being transmitted. . . .
. . . .
[0146] At 1040, the UE determines, based at least in part on the triggered positioning reference signal muting configuration, that: (1) the one or more positioning reference signals of the one or more positioning reference signal occasions of at least one positioning reference signal configuration of the plurality of positioning reference signal configurations of the second TRP are not being transmitted, or (2) the one or more positioning reference signals of the one or more positioning reference signal occasions of all of the plurality of positioning reference signal configurations in the bandwidth part of the second carrier frequency in the second TRP are not being transmitted. In an aspect, operation 1040 may be performed by communication controller 314, processing system 316, memory component 318, and/or positioning module 324, any or all of which may be considered means for performing this operation.
In short, the UE receives all PRS configurations of the TRPs—which represent a plurality of resources, the configurations received at the UE are triggered (activated or deactivated), so that the measuring of the radio resources—including the first and second radio resources for the position measurement—at the UE is activated or deactivated according to the configurations.
Thus, the Manolakos reference discloses the further limitation in which the apparatus is to “activate or deactivate, in response to a certain event, a measuring of the second radio
resources in addition to the first radio resources for the position measurement”.
Finally, claim 1 recites the further limitation in which the “certain event is a
measurement of [A] a predetermined positioning reference signal or [B] a SSB (synchronization signal block) reference signal”. Since this limitation is in the form of [A] or [B], establishing either [A] or [B] satisfies this limitation.
In this regard and as explained above, the Manolakos reference discloses element [A], namely that there is a measurement of a predetermined positioning reference signal, so that the limitations of the final wherein clause of claim 1 are disclosed for this reason alone. Disclosure of alternative element [B] is not required.
Nevertheless, the Manolakos reference also discloses (at paragraphs [0045] and [0082]) the use of an SSB as an event for activating measuring of the radio resources for the position measurement, so that the limitations of the final wherein clause of claim 1 are also disclosed for this reason alone.
Accordingly, the Manolakos reference discloses the further limitation in which the “certain event is a measurement of [A] a predetermined positioning reference signal or [B] a SSB (synchronization signal block) reference signal”. The disclosure of [A] alone is sufficient for anticipating the claim. Also, the disclosure of [B] alone is sufficient for anticipating the claim.
Claim 1 is therefore rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 102(a)(1) as anticipated by the Manolakos reference.
Claim 2 depends from claim 1, and it recites the further limitations in which the “apparatus is to measure radio resources within a sensing window so as to detect a first reference signal which is signaled in one or more of the first radio resources”, and “derive respective time frames for one or more of the second radio resources from a timing information which is indicative of a time offset between the second radio resources and the detected first radio resources”.
The instant specification (at page 16, lines 11-18) defines a “sensing window as follows:
[The] apparatus is to measure radio resources within a sensing window, which, e.g. defines a time frame and/or a frequency band, so as to detect a first reference signal which is signaled in one or more of the first radio resources, thus deriving a time of the one first radio resources, and derive respective time frames for one or more of the second radio resources from a timing information which is indicative of a time offset between the second radio resources and the detected first radio resources.
In this regard, the Manolakos reference (at paragraph [0079] and [0095]-[0097]) discloses a “time frame”, a “sensing window”—which is a time window, “timing information” and an “offset”, as follows:
[0079] . . . In the examples of FIGS. 4A to 4D, a numerology of 15 kHz is used. Thus, in the time domain, a frame (e.g., 10 ms) is divided into 10 equally sized subframes of 1 ms each, and each subframe includes one time slot. In FIGS. 4A to 4D, time is represented horizontally (e.g., on the X axis) with time increasing from left to right, while frequency is represented vertically (e.g., on the Y axis) with frequency increasing (or decreasing) from bottom to top.
. . . .
[0095] A “PRS instance” or “PRS occasion” is one instance of a periodically repeated time window (e.g., a group of one or more consecutive slots) where PRS are expected to be transmitted. A PRS occasion may also be referred to as a “PRS positioning occasion,” a “PRS positioning instance, a “positioning occasion,” “a positioning instance,” or simply an “occasion” or “instance.”
[0096] FIG. 6 illustrates an exemplary PRS configuration 600 for a cell supported by a wireless node (such as a base station 102). Again, PRS transmission for LTE is assumed in FIG. 6, although the same or similar aspects of PRS transmission to those shown in and described for FIG. 6 may apply to NR and/or other wireless technologies. FIG. 6 shows how PRS positioning occasions are determined by a system frame number (SFN), a cell specific subframe offset (ΔPRS) 652, and the PRS periodicity (TPRS) 620—which is time information. Typically, the cell specific PRS subframe configuration is defined by a “PRS Configuration Index” IPRS included in the OTDOA assistance data. The PRS periodicity (TPRS) 620 and the cell specific subframe offset (ΔPRS) are defined based on the PRS configuration index IPRS, as illustrated in Table 2 below.
[0097] TABLE 2
PRS configuration
PRS periodicity TPRS
PRS subframe offset
Index IPRS
(subframes)
ΔPRS (subframes)
0-159
160
IPRS
160-479
320
IPRS − 160
480-1119
640
IPRS − 480
1120-2399
1280
IPRS − 1120
2400-2404
5
IPRS − 2400
2405-2414
10
IPRS − 2405
2415-2434
20
IPRS − 2415
2435-2474
40
IPRS − 2435
2475-2554
80
IPRS − 2475
2555-4095
Reserved
A PRS configuration is defined with reference to the system frame number (SFN) of a cell that transmits PRS. PRS instances, for the first subframe of the NPRS downlink subframes comprising a first PRS positioning occasion, may satisfy:
(10×n f+[n s/2]−ΔPRS)mod T PRS=0,
where nf is the SFN with 0≤nf≤1023, ns is the slot number within the radio frame defined by nf with 0≤ns≤19, TPRS—which is time information—is the PRS periodicity 620, and ΔPRS is the cell-specific subframe offset 652.
In short, the Manolakos reference discloses the further limitations in which the “apparatus” is to “measure radio resources within a sensing window so as to detect a first reference signal which is signaled in one or more of the first radio resources”, and “derive respective time frames for one or more of the second radio resources from a timing information which is indicative of a time offset between the second radio resources and the detected first radio resources”.
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 102(a)(1) as anticipated by the Manolakos reference for the same reasons as claim 1, and for the further foregoing reasons.
Claim 3 depends from claim 1, and it recites the further limitations in which the “apparatus is to receive a reference timing information from a network entity”, and in which the “first and/or the second radio resources are for reference signals transmitted by the
network entity”.
The instant specification states (at page 16, lines 9-12) that the network entity can include a TRP (Transmission Reception Point).
As explained above as to claim 1, the Manolakos reference discloses a reference positioning signal—which reflects and includes reference timing information.
In short, the Manolakos reference discloses the further limitations in which the “apparatus is to receive a reference timing information from a network entity”, and in which the “first and/or the second radio resources are for reference signals transmitted by the network entity”.
Accordingly, claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 102(a)(1) as anticipated by the Manolakos reference for the same reasons as claim 1, and for the further foregoing reasons.
Claim 4 depends from claim 1, and it recites the further limitations in which the “apparatus is to activate or deactivate the measuring of the second radio resources in addition to the first radio resources in dependence on timing information about the first radio resources and the second radio resources”.
As explained above as to claim 1, the UE receives all PRS configurations of the TRPs—which represent a plurality of resources, the configurations received at the UE are triggered (activated or deactivated), so that the measuring of the resources at the UE is activated or deactivated according to the configurations—which include timing information, since as explained above as to claims 1 and 2, the Manolakos reference discloses a reference positioning signal—which reflects and includes reference timing information.
Thus, the Manolakos reference discloses the further limitations in which the “apparatus
is to activate or deactivate the measuring of the second radio resources in addition to the first radio resources in dependence on the timing information about the first radio resources and the second radio resources”.
Accordingly, claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 102(a)(1) as anticipated by the Manolakos reference for the same reasons as claim 1, and for the further foregoing reasons.
Claim 5 depends from claim 1, and it recites the further limitations in which the “first radio resources are for transmission of the first reference signals by a serving transmission point of the apparatus”, and in which the “second radio resources are for transmission of the second reference signals by a further transmission point”.
As explained above as to claim 1, the Manolakos reference discloses a plurality of radio resources—which include a first TRP (Transmission and Reception Point) and a second TRP (Transmission and Reception Point)—which is a further transmission point, and positioning reference signals, which include timing information.
Thus, the Manolakos reference discloses the further limitations in which the “first radio resources are for transmission of the first reference signals by a serving transmission point of the apparatus”, and in which the “second radio resources are for transmission of the second reference signals by a further transmission point”.
Accordingly, claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 102(a)(1) as anticipated by the Manolakos reference for the same reasons as claim 1, and for the further foregoing reasons.
Claim 6 depends from claim 1, and it recites the further limitations in which the “apparatus is to measure two or more of the second radio resources simultaneously”.
The Manolakos reference discloses (at paragraph [0048]) the simultaneous transmission
and/or reception using, as explained above as to claim 1, radio resources—which include a first TRP (Transmission and Reception Point) and a second TRP (Transmission and Reception Point)—which is a further transmission point, and positioning reference signals, which include timing information. In particular, paragraph [0048] states as follows:
[0048] For example, still referring to FIG. 1, one of the frequencies utilized by the macro cell base stations 102 may be an anchor carrier (or “PCell”) and other frequencies utilized by the macro cell base stations 102 and/or the mmW base station 180 may be secondary carriers (“SCells”). The simultaneous transmission and/or reception of multiple carriers enables the UE 102/180 to significantly increase its data transmission and/or reception rates. For example, two 20 MHz aggregated carriers in a multi-carrier system would theoretically lead to a two-fold increase in data rate (i.e., 40 MHz), compared to that attained by a single 20 MHz carrier.
Thus, the Manolakos reference discloses the further limitations in which the “apparatus is to measure two or more of the second radio resources simultaneously”.
Accordingly, claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 102(a)(1) as anticipated by the Manolakos reference for the same reasons as claim 1, and for the further foregoing reasons.
Claim 7 depends from claim 1, and it recites the further limitations in which the “apparatus is to measure one or more of the first radio resources and one or more of the
second radio resources simultaneously”.
The Manolakos reference discloses (at paragraph [0048]) the simultaneous transmission and/or reception using, as explained above as to claim 1, radio resources—which include a first TRP (Transmission and Reception Point) and a second TRP (Transmission and Reception Point)—which is a further transmission point, and positioning reference signals, which include timing information. In particular, paragraph [0048] states as follows:
[0048] For example, still referring to FIG. 1, one of the frequencies utilized by the macro cell base stations 102 may be an anchor carrier (or “PCell”) and other frequencies utilized by the macro cell base stations 102 and/or the mmW base station 180 may be secondary carriers (“SCells”). The simultaneous transmission and/or reception of multiple carriers enables the UE 102/180 to significantly increase its data transmission and/or reception rates. For example, two 20 MHz aggregated carriers in a multi-carrier system would theoretically lead to a two-fold increase in data rate (i.e., 40 MHz), compared to that attained by a single 20 MHz carrier.
Thus, the Manolakos reference discloses the further limitations in which the “apparatus is to measure one or more of the first radio resources and one or more of the second radio resources simultaneously”.
Accordingly, claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 102(a)(1) as anticipated by the Manolakos reference for the same reasons as claim 1, and for the further foregoing reasons.
Claim 9 depends from claim 1, and it recites the further limitations in which the “apparatus” is to “receive, from a first network entity, a first configuration information which is indicative of the first radio resources”, and in which the “apparatus” is to “receive, from the first network entity or from a second network entity a second configuration information which is indicative of the second radio resources”.
The Manolakos reference discloses (at paragraph [0053]) receiving from a network element—which can include LMFs, configurations indicative of TRPs (that is, radio resources). In particular, paragraph [0053] states as follows:
[0053] The functions of the AMF include registration management, connection management, reachability management, mobility management, lawful interception, transport for session management (SM) messages between the UE 204 and the SMF 262, transparent proxy services for routing SM messages, access authentication and access authorization, transport for short message service (SMS) messages between the UE 204 and the short message service function (SMSF) (not shown), and security anchor functionality (SEAF). The AMF also interacts with the authentication server function (AUSF) (not shown) and the UE 204, and receives the intermediate key that was established as a result of the UE 204 authentication process. In the case of authentication based on a UMTS (universal mobile telecommunications system) subscriber identity module (USIM), the AMF retrieves the security material from the AUSF. The functions of the AMF also include security context management (SCM). The SCM receives a key from the SEAF that it uses to derive access-network specific keys. The functionality of the AMF also includes location services management for regulatory services, transport for location services messages between the UE 204 and the location management function (LMF) 270, as well as between the New RAN 220 and the LMF 270, evolved packet system (EPS) bearer identifier allocation for interworking with the EPS, and UE 204 mobility event notification. In addition, the AMF also supports functionalities for non-3GPP access networks.
Thus, the Manolakos reference discloses the further limitations in which the “apparatus” is to “receive, from a first network entity, a first configuration information which is indicative of the first radio resources”, and in which the “apparatus” is to “receive, from the first network entity or from a second network entity, a second configuration information which is indicative of the second radio resources”.
Accordingly, claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 102(a)(1) as anticipated by the Manolakos reference for the same reasons as claim 1, and for the further foregoing reasons.
Claim 10 depends from claim 1, and it recites the further limitations in which the “apparatus” is to “receive, from a second network entity, a configuration information which is indicative of the second radio resources”, “receive, from the second network entity, a trigger signal, and activate or deactivate the measuring of the second radio resources upon receipt of the trigger signal”.
The Manolakos reference discloses (at paragraph [0053]) receiving from a network element—which can include LMFs, configurations indicative of TRPs (that is, radio resources). In particular, paragraph [0053] states as follows:
[0053] The functions of the AMF include registration management, connection management, reachability management, mobility management, lawful interception, transport for session management (SM) messages between the UE 204 and the SMF 262, transparent proxy services for routing SM messages, access authentication and access authorization, transport for short message service (SMS) messages between the UE 204 and the short message service function (SMSF) (not shown), and security anchor functionality (SEAF). The AMF also interacts with the authentication server function (AUSF) (not shown) and the UE 204, and receives the intermediate key that was established as a result of the UE 204 authentication process. In the case of authentication based on a UMTS (universal mobile telecommunications system) subscriber identity module (USIM), the AMF retrieves the security material from the AUSF. The functions of the AMF also include security context management (SCM). The SCM receives a key from the SEAF that it uses to derive access-network specific keys. The functionality of the AMF also includes location services management for regulatory services, transport for location services messages between the UE 204 and the location management function (LMF) 270, as well as between the New RAN 220 and the LMF 270, evolved packet system (EPS) bearer identifier allocation for interworking with the EPS, and UE 204 mobility event notification. In addition, the AMF also supports functionalities for non-3GPP access networks.
Also, as explained as to claim 1, the Manolakos reference discloses (at paragraphs [0006] and [0140]), the following:
[0006] [A] method for muting of positioning reference signals performed by a first transmission-reception point (TRP) includes sending, to a user equipment (UE), on a bandwidth part of a first carrier frequency, a command triggering at least one of one or more positioning reference signal muting configurations associated with a TRP identifier (ID) and/or a positioning reference signal ID, wherein the triggered positioning reference signal muting configuration indicates that: one or more positioning reference signals of one or more positioning reference signal occasions of at least one positioning reference signal configuration of a plurality of positioning reference signal configurations in a second TRP are not being transmitted, the plurality of positioning reference signal configurations associated with the TRP ID and/or the positioning reference signal ID, or the one or more positioning reference signals of the one or more positioning reference signal occasions of all of the plurality of positioning reference signal configurations in the second TRP are not being transmitted, wherein the second TRP mutes the positioning reference signals according to the triggered positioning reference signal muting configuration.
. . . .
[0140] At 930, the first TRP sends, to the UE, on a bandwidth part of a first carrier frequency, a command triggering at least one of the one or more positioning reference signal muting configurations. The triggered positioning reference signal muting configuration may indicate that (1) the one or more positioning reference signals of the one or more positioning reference signal occasions of at least one positioning reference signal configuration of the plurality of positioning reference signal configurations of the second TRP are not being transmitted, or (2) the one or more positioning reference signals of the one or more positioning reference signal occasions of all of the plurality of positioning reference signal configurations of the second TRP are not being transmitted. . . .
In short, the UE receives all PRS configurations of the TRPs—which represent a plurality
of resources, and the configurations received at the UE are triggered (activated or deactivated), so that the measuring of the resources at the UE is activated or deactivated according to the configurations.
Thus, the Manolakos reference discloses the further limitations in which the “apparatus” is to “receive, from a second network entity, a configuration information which is indicative of the second radio resources”, “receive, from the second network entity, a trigger signal, and activate or deactivate the measuring of the second radio resources upon receipt of
the trigger signal”.
Accordingly, claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 102(a)(1) as anticipated by the Manolakos reference for the same reasons as claim 1, and for the further foregoing reasons.
Claim 11 depends from claim 1, and it recites the further limitation in which the “certain event further is a reception of an activation information indicating an activation or a deactivation of the second radio resources”.
In this regard, the Manolakos reference discloses (at paragraphs [0006] and [0140]), the following:
[0006] [A] method for muting of positioning reference signals performed by a first transmission-reception point (TRP) includes sending, to a user equipment (UE), on a bandwidth part of a first carrier frequency, a command triggering at least one of one or more positioning reference signal muting configurations associated with a TRP identifier (ID) and/or a positioning reference signal ID, wherein the triggered positioning reference signal muting configuration indicates that: one or more positioning reference signals of one or more positioning reference signal occasions of at least one positioning reference signal configuration of a plurality of positioning reference signal configurations in a second TRP are not being transmitted, the plurality of positioning reference signal configurations associated with the TRP ID and/or the positioning reference signal ID, or the one or more positioning reference signals of the one or more positioning reference signal occasions of all of the plurality of positioning reference signal configurations in the second TRP are not being transmitted, wherein the second TRP mutes the positioning reference signals according to the triggered positioning reference signal muting configuration.
. . . .
[0140] At 930, the first TRP sends, to the UE, on a bandwidth part of a first carrier frequency, a command triggering at least one of the one or more positioning reference signal muting configurations. The triggered positioning reference signal muting configuration may indicate that (1) the one or more positioning reference signals of the one or more positioning reference signal occasions of at least one positioning reference signal configuration of the plurality of positioning reference signal configurations of the second TRP are not being transmitted, or (2) the one or more positioning reference signals of the one or more positioning reference signal occasions of all of the plurality of positioning reference signal configurations of the second TRP are not being transmitted. . . .
In short, the UE receives all PRS configurations of the TRPs—which represent a plurality of resources, the configurations received at the UE are triggered (activated or deactivated), so that the measuring of the radio resources—including the first and second radio resources for the position measurement—at the UE is activated or deactivated according to the configurations.
Thus, the Manolakos reference discloses the further limitation in which the “certain event further is a reception of an activation information indicating an activation or a deactivation of the second radio resources”.
Accordingly, claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 102(a)(1) as anticipated by the Manolakos reference for the same reasons as claim 1, and for the further foregoing reasons.
Independent claim 15 is directed to a “wireless communication system”, comprising “a first transmission point, a second transmission point, and a user device”.
In this regard, the Manolakos reference discloses a “wireless communication system”, comprising “a first transmission point, a second transmission point, and a user device”. (See Abstract; paragraphs [0002]-[0004]; and Figs. 1 & 8).
Claim 15 recites the further limitation in which the “wireless communication system” is for “performing a position measurement of the user device being in a serving connection with the first transmission point, the position measurement being for determining the position of the user device”.
In this regard, the Manolakos reference discloses performing a position measurement of the user device, which is in a serving connection with the first transmission point, and in which the position measurement is for determining the position of the user device. (See Abstract; paragraphs [0002]-[0004]; and Figs. 1 & 8). Still further, the Manolakos reference discloses (at paragraph [0135]) that the UE is aware of all PRS configurations of the TRPs—which represent a plurality of resources, as follows:
[0135] [A] first TRP (e.g., the TRP serving the UE, or the TRP corresponding to the PCell for the UE) may send all the PRS and PRS muting configurations to the UE. The transmission of PRS (or non-transmission according to the muting configurations) may performed by a second TRP. The second TRP may be the same as or different from the first TRP.
Accordingly, the Manolakos reference discloses the limitation of “performing a position measurement of the user device being in a serving connection with the first transmission point, the position measurement being for determining the position of the user device”.
Claim 15 recites the further limitations in which the “first transmission point is for transmitting, for the position measurement, one or more first reference signals on one or more first radio resources”, and in which the “second transmission point is for transmitting, for the position measurement, one or more second reference signals on one or more second radio resources”, in which the “first radio resources and the second radio resources are for transmitting positioning reference signals”.
In this regard, the Manolakos reference discloses transmission points, namely TRPs, for transmitting, for the position measurements, and PRS reference signals on a plurality of radio resources. (See Abstract; paragraphs [0002]-[0004]; and Figs. 1 & 8). Still further, the Manolakos reference discloses (at paragraphs [0006] and [0140]), the following:
[0006] [A] method for muting of positioning reference signals performed by a first transmission-reception point (TRP) includes sending, to a user equipment (UE), on a bandwidth part of a first carrier frequency, a command triggering at least one of one or more positioning reference signal muting configurations associated with a TRP identifier (ID) and/or a positioning reference signal ID, wherein the triggered positioning reference signal muting configuration indicates that: one or more positioning reference signals of one or more positioning reference signal occasions of at least one positioning reference signal configuration of a plurality of positioning reference signal configurations in a second TRP are not being transmitted, the plurality of positioning reference signal configurations associated with the TRP ID and/or the positioning reference signal ID, or the one or more positioning reference signals of the one or more positioning reference signal occasions of all of the plurality of positioning reference signal configurations in the second TRP are not being transmitted, wherein the second TRP mutes the positioning reference signals according to the triggered positioning reference signal muting configuration.
. . . .
[0140] At 930, the first TRP sends, to the UE, on a bandwidth part of a first carrier frequency, a command triggering at least one of the one or more positioning reference signal muting configurations. The triggered positioning reference signal muting configuration may indicate that (1) the one or more positioning reference signals of the one or more positioning reference signal occasions of at least one positioning reference signal configuration of the plurality of positioning reference signal configurations of the second TRP are not being transmitted, or (2) the one or more positioning reference signals of the one or more positioning reference signal occasions of all of the plurality of positioning reference signal configurations of the second TRP are not being transmitted. . . .
Also, the Manolakos reference discloses (at paragraph [0135]) that the UE is aware of all PRS configurations of the TRPs—which represent a plurality of resources, as follows:
[0135] [A] first TRP (e.g., the TRP serving the UE, or the TRP corresponding to the PCell for the UE) may send all the PRS and PRS muting configurations to the UE. The transmission of PRS (or non-transmission according to the muting configurations) may performed by a second TRP. The second TRP may be the same as or different from the first TRP.
Accordingly, the Manolakos reference discloses the further limitations in which the “first transmission point is for transmitting, for the position measurement, one or more first reference signals on one or more first radio resources”, and in which the “second transmission point is for transmitting, for the position measurement, one or more second reference signals on one or more second radio resources”, in which the “first radio resources and the second radio resources are for transmitting positioning reference signals”.
Claim 15 recites the further limitation in which the “user device is to activate or deactivate, in response to a certain event, a measuring of the second radio resources in addition to the first radio resources for the position measurement”.
In this regard, the Manolakos reference discloses (at paragraphs [0006] and [0140]), the following:
[0006] [A] method for muting of positioning reference signals performed by a first transmission-reception point (TRP) includes sending, to a user equipment (UE), on a bandwidth part of a first carrier frequency, a command triggering at least one of one or more positioning reference signal muting configurations associated with a TRP identifier (ID) and/or a positioning reference signal ID, wherein the triggered positioning reference signal muting configuration indicates that: one or more positioning reference signals of one or more positioning reference signal occasions of at least one positioning reference signal configuration of a plurality of positioning reference signal configurations in a second TRP are not being transmitted, the plurality of positioning reference signal configurations associated with the TRP ID and/or the positioning reference signal ID, or the one or more positioning reference signals of the one or more positioning reference signal occasions of all of the plurality of positioning reference signal configurations in the second TRP are not being transmitted, wherein the second TRP mutes the positioning reference signals according to the triggered positioning reference signal muting configuration.
. . . .
[0140] At 930, the first TRP sends, to the UE, on a bandwidth part of a first carrier frequency, a command triggering at least one of the one or more positioning reference signal muting configurations. The triggered positioning reference signal muting configuration may indicate that (1) the one or more positioning reference signals of the one or more positioning reference signal occasions of at least one positioning reference signal configuration of the plurality of positioning reference signal configurations of the second TRP are not being transmitted, or (2) the one or more positioning reference signals of the one or more positioning reference signal occasions of all of the plurality of positioning reference signal configurations of the second TRP are not being transmitted. . . .
In short, the UE receives all PRS configurations of the TRPs—which represent a plurality of radio resources, the PRS configurations received at the UE are triggered (activated or deactivated), so that the measuring of the radio resources at the UE is activated or deactivated according to the PRS configurations of the TRPs.
Thus, the Manolakos reference discloses the further limitation in which the “user device is to activate or deactivate, in response to a certain event, a measuring of the second radio resources in addition to the first radio resources for the position measurement”.
Finally, claim 15 recites the further limitation in which the “certain event is a measurement of a [A] predetermined positioning reference signal or [B] a SSB (synchronization signal block) reference signal”. Only one of the alternative limitations [A] or [B] is required to satisfy the claim.
In this regard and as explained above as to claim 1, the Manolakos reference discloses that there is an event of a measurement of the alternative element [A] a predetermined positioning reference signal or [B] a SSB (synchronization signal block) reference signal, since [A] is satisfied.
Accordingly, the Manolakos reference discloses the further limitation in which the “certain event is a measurement of a [A] predetermined positioning reference signal or [B] a SSB (synchronization signal block) reference signal”, since alternative element [A] is met or
satisfied.
Claim 15 is therefore rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 102(a)(1) as anticipated by the
Manolakos reference.
Claim 16 depends from claim 15, and like claim 1 it recites the further limitations in which the “user device is an apparatus, in which the “apparatus is configured or preconfigured to measure, for a position measurement, one or more first radio resources and one or more second radio resources”, in which the “first radio resources and the second radio resources are for transmitting positioning reference signals”, in which the “apparatus is to activate or deactivate, in response to a certain event, a measuring of the second radio resources in addition to the first radio resources for the position measurement”, in which the “certain event is a measurement of a predetermined positioning reference signal or a SSB (synchronization signal block) reference signal”.
In short, claim 16 recites the same limitations as the apparatus of claim 1.
Accordingly, claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 102(a)(1) as anticipated by the Manolakos reference for the same reasons as claim 15 and claim 1, and for the further foregoing reasons.
Claim 18 depends from claim 15, and it recites the further limitations in which the “user device” is for “activating or deactivating the measuring of the second radio resources in dependence on a timing information about the first radio resources and the second radio resources”.
As explained above as to claims 1 and 4, the UE receives all PRS configurations of the TRPs—which represent a plurality of resources, the configurations received at the UE are triggered (activated or deactivated), so that the measuring of the resources at the UE is activated or deactivated according to the configurations—which include timing information, since as explained above as to claims 1 and 2, the Manolakos reference discloses a reference positioning signal—which reflects and includes reference timing information.
Thus, the Manolakos reference discloses the further limitations in which the “user device” is for “activating or deactivating the measuring of the second radio resources in dependence on a timing information about the first radio resources and the second radio resources”.
Accordingly, claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 102(a)(1) as anticipated by the Manolakos reference for the same reasons as claim 15, and for the further foregoing reasons.
Independent claim 19 recites features like those of apparatus claim 1, except that claim 19 is a method claim.
Accordingly, claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 102(a)(1) as anticipated by the Manolakos reference for the same reasons as claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
the rejection, would be the same under either status.
rejections set forth in this Office action:
Determining the scope and contents of the prior art.
Ascertaining the differences between the prior art and the claims at issue.
Resolving the level of ordinary skill in the pertinent art.
Considering objective evidence present in the application indicating obviousness or nonobviousness.
Claims 1, 15, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as unpatentable over U.S. Published Patent Application No. 2021/0314800 to Manolakos et al. (“the Manolakos ‘800 reference”) in view of U.S. Published Patent Application No. 2022/0283259 to Tao et al. (“the Tao reference”), for the following reasons.
In summary, claim 1 is to “an apparatus for a wireless communication network, comprising one or more antennas for receiving a radio signal”,
in which the “apparatus is configured or preconfigured to measure, for a position measurement, one or more first radio resources and one or more second radio resources”,
in which the “first radio resources and the second radio resources are for transmitting positioning reference signals”,
in which the “apparatus is to activate or deactivate, in response to a certain event, a measuring of the second radio resources in addition to the first radio resources for the position measurement”, and
in which the “certain event is a measurement of a predetermined positioning reference signal or a SSB (synchronization signal block) reference signal”.
These claim 1 limitations are disclosed or at least suggested by the Manolakos ‘800 reference in view of the Tao reference for the following reasons:
In particular, as regards claim 1, the Manolakos ‘800 reference discloses the following:
[0126] At 1810, the UE (e.g., receiver 312, etc.) receives, from a network entity, a configuration of positioning reference signal (PRS) resources for a positioning session. In some designs, the network entity corresponds to a serving base station of the UE. In other designs, the network entity may correspond to a core network component.
[0127] At 1820, the UE (e.g., receiver 312, etc.) receives a configuration of at least one bandwidth part (BWP) from a serving base station (BS). If the at least one BWP includes multiple BWPs (e.g., due to an active BWP transition), the receiving of 1820 may comprise multiple receive operations during the positioning session.
[0129] At 1840, the UE (e.g., receiver 312, memory component 338, processing system 332, positioning component 344, etc.) performs positioning measurements on the one or more of the PRS resources during the positioning session. At 1850, the UE (e.g., processing system 332, positioning component 344, etc.) determines an active BWP transition during the time-domain period from a first BWP to a second BWP that is associated with one or more changes to the set of parameters. At 1860, the UE (e.g., transmitter 310) transmits a PRS measurement report based on the positioning measurements.
As further regards claim 1, the Tao reference further discloses the following:
[0040] As shown at 208, the LMF 200 may provide, to the serving network node 202, first and second PRS configurations and the serving network node 202 may provide the first and second configurations to the UE 206. Additionally, or alternatively, the first and second PRS configurations may be transmitted by a location server (e.g., via LTE positioning protocol (LPP)). A first configuration may identify a set of time frequency resources for a first PRS, described below, and a second configuration may identify time frequency resources for a second PRS. A PRS may include an RS that is used for positioning purposes. In some embodiments, the first PRS or the second PRS may be an RS that is used for non-positioning purposes.
[0043] As shown at 210, the neighboring network node 204 may transmit, and the UE 206 may receive, a first PRS. For example, the network node 204 may transmit, and the UE 206 may receive, the first PRS according to a first configuration associated with the first PRS (e.g., using the time frequency resources configured by the first configuration). In some embodiments, a first PRS may be a wide-beam PRS (e.g., with wider beam width or larger coverage than the second PRS(s) that may be transmitted, as described below). For example, the first PRS may be associated with a synchronization signal and physical broadcast channel block (SSB). In some embodiments, the neighboring network node 204 may transmit, and the UE 206 may receive, multiple first PRSs. In some embodiments, the neighboring network node 204 may transmit the multiple PRSs using beam sweeping operations to transmit the multiple PRSs in multiple directions.
[0044] In some embodiments, in association with receiving the first PRS, the UE 206 may perform a first measurement of the first PRS. For example, the UE 206 may perform a quality-related measurement of the first PRS. . . .
[0045] In some embodiments, the UE 206 may determine a set of second PRSs, associated with the first PRS, for which to perform a set of second measurements based on the first measurement. For example, the UE 206 may determine to measure a set of second PRSs associated with the first PRS that has a highest RSRP relative to one or more other first PRSs that the UE 206 received. The UE 206 may identify the set of second PRSs based on the mapping information received from the serving network node 202.
[0046] Additionally, or alternatively, the UE 206 may determine a set of second configurations according to which to perform the set of second measurements. For example, the UE 206 may determine a set of second time frequency resources on which to perform the set of second measurements.
[0047] As shown at 212, the UE 206 may transmit, and the serving network node 202 may receive, an indication of one or more preferred first PRSs and/or preferred second PRSs. For example, the indication may identify a preferred first PRS that has a highest relative RSRP to one or more other PRSs, may identify a set of second PRSs associated with the first PRS that has the highest relative RSRP, and/or the like.
[0050] As shown at 216, the neighboring network node 204 may transmit, and the UE 206 may receive, a set of second PRSs. For example, the neighboring network node 204 may transmit, and the UE 206 may receive, the set of second PRSs according to a set of second configurations associated with the set of second PRSs (e.g., using the time frequency resources configured by the set of second configurations). In some embodiments, a second PRS may be a narrow-beam PRS (e.g., narrower than a first PRS(s) that was transmitted). For example, the second PRS may be associated with a channel state information reference signal (CSI-RS). In some embodiments, the neighboring network node 204 may transmit, and the UE 206 may receive, multiple second PRSs. In some embodiments, the neighboring network node 204 may transmit the multiple second PRSs using beam sweeping operations to transmit the multiple second PRSs in multiple directions.
[0051] In association with receiving the set of second PRSs, the UE 206 may perform a second measurement of the set of second PRSs. . . .
[0052] After performing the second measurement, the UE 206 may transmit, and the LMF 200 may receive, one or more measurement reports (e.g., some of which may be communicated via the serving network node 202). For example, as illustrated in FIG. 2, at 218, the UE 206 may transmit an angle of departure (AoD) measurement report.
The Manolakos ‘800 reference and the Tao reference are analogous references since they each concerns an apparatus for a wireless communication network, comprising one or more antennas for receiving a radio signal.
A person having ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to combine the Manolakos ‘800 reference and the Tao reference, since the Tao reference provides the ability in which the “certain event is a measurement of a predetermined positioning reference signal or a SSB (synchronization signal block) reference signal”.
Accordingly, claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as unpatentable over the Manolakos ‘800 reference, in view of the Tao reference, for the foregoing reasons.
Independent claim 15 recites limitations like those of claim 1, except that claim 1 is to an apparatus for a wireless communication network, whereas claim 15 is to a wireless communication system.
Accordingly, claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as unpatentable over the Manolakos ‘800 reference, in view of the Tao reference for essentially the same reasons as claim 1, and for the foregoing reasons.
Independent claim 19 recites limitations like those of claim 1, except that claim 1 is to an apparatus for a wireless communication network, whereas claim 15 is to a method for operating an apparatus.
Accordingly, claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as unpatentable over the Manolakos ‘800 reference, in view of the Tao reference for essentially the same reasons as claim 1, and for the foregoing reasons.
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as unpatentable over U.S. Published Patent Application No. 2020/0225309 to Manolakos et al. (“the Manolakos reference”) in view of U.S. Published Patent Application No. 2018/0217228 to Edge et al. (“the Edge reference”), for the following reasons.
Claim 8, as amended, depends from claim 6, and it recites the further limitations in which the “each of the first and second radio resources is associated with a frequency band and a frequency layer”.
The Manolakos reference discloses (at paragraph [0130]) that a carrier frequency (of a radio resource) is also referred to as a frequency layer (of a radio resource). The Manolakos reference therefore discloses carrier frequencies (that is, frequency layers) (of radio resources) (at paragraphs [0006] and [0048]) that the TRPs (radio resources) are associated with a carrier frequency (frequency layer), since they state as follows:
[0006] [A] method for muting of positioning reference signals performed by a first transmission-reception point (TRP) includes sending, to a user equipment (UE), on a bandwidth part of a first carrier frequency, a command triggering at least one of one or more positioning reference signal muting configurations associated with a TRP identifier (ID) and/or a positioning reference signal ID, wherein the triggered positioning reference signal muting configuration indicates that: one or more positioning reference signals of one or more positioning reference signal occasions of at least one positioning reference signal configuration of a plurality of positioning reference signal configurations in a second TRP are not being transmitted, the plurality of positioning reference signal configurations associated with the TRP ID and/or the positioning reference signal ID, or the one or more positioning reference signals of the one or more positioning reference signal occasions of all of the plurality of positioning reference signal configurations in the second TRP are not being transmitted, wherein the second TRP mutes the positioning reference signals according to the triggered positioning reference signal muting configuration.
. . . .
[0048] For example, still referring to FIG. 1, one of the frequencies utilized by the macro cell base stations 102 may be an anchor carrier (or “PCell”) and other frequencies utilized by the macro cell base stations 102 and/or the mmW base station 180 may be secondary carriers (“SCells”). The simultaneous transmission and/or reception of multiple carriers enables the UE 102/180 to significantly increase its data transmission and/or reception rates. For example, two 20 MHz aggregated carriers in a multi-carrier system would theoretically lead to a two-fold increase in data rate (i.e., 40 MHz), compared to that attained by a single 20 MHz carrier.
The Manolakos reference also discloses frequency bands (of radio resources) for PRS positioning (at paragraphs [0041], [0063], and [0107]).
Likewise, the Edge reference discloses frequency layers (of radio resources) for PRS configurations and/or positioning (at paragraphs [0092], [0093], [0094]), and further discloses frequency bands (of radio resources) for PRS configurations and/or positioning (at paragraphs [0095], [0102], [0106], [0107], [0109], [0121], [0122], [0125], [0133], [0134], [0137], for example).
The Manolakos and Edge references are analogous references, since they each disclose or at least suggest systems using frequency bands and frequency layers that are associated with radio
resources.
Accordingly, a person having ordinary skill in the art would understand in view of each of these references that each of the radio resources is associated with a frequency band and a frequency layer (carrier frequency).
Claim 8 is therefore rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as unpatentable over the Manolakos reference in view of the Edge reference, for the same reasons as claim 6 and claim 1, and for the further foregoing reasons.
Claims 12 to 14, 17, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as unpatentable over U.S. Published Patent Application No. 2020/0225309 to Manolakos et al. (“the Manolakos reference”), in view of U.S. Published Patent Application 2020/0107286 to Akkarakaran et al. (“the Akkarakaran reference”), and further in view of U.S. Published Patent Application 2022/0268873 to Shi et al. (“the Shi reference”), for the following reasons.
Independent claim 12 is directed to a “Location Management Function (LMF)-apparatus, for a wireless communication network”.
In this regard, the Manolakos reference discloses an “apparatus for a wireless communication network”, having antennas for receiving a radio signal. (See Abstract; paragraphs [0002]-[0004]; and Figs. 1 & 8). Still further, the Manolakos reference discloses (at paragraph [0053]) receiving from a network element—which can include LMFs, configurations indicative of TRPs (that is, radio resources). In particular, paragraph [0053] states as follows:
[0053] The functions of the AMF include registration management, connection management, reachability management, mobility management, lawful interception, transport for session management (SM) messages between the UE 204 and the SMF 262, transparent proxy services for routing SM messages, access authentication and access authorization, transport for short message service (SMS) messages between the UE 204 and the short message service function (SMSF) (not shown), and security anchor functionality (SEAF). The AMF also interacts with the authentication server function (AUSF) (not shown) and the UE 204, and receives the intermediate key that was established as a result of the UE 204 authentication process. In the case of authentication based on a UMTS (universal mobile telecommunications system) subscriber identity module (USIM), the AMF retrieves the security material from the AUSF. The functions of the AMF also include security context management (SCM). The SCM receives a key from the SEAF that it uses to derive access-network specific keys. The functionality of the AMF also includes location services management for regulatory services, transport for location services messages between the UE 204 and the location management function (LMF) 270, as well as between the New RAN 220 and the LMF 270, evolved packet system (EPS) bearer identifier allocation for interworking with the EPS, and UE 204 mobility event notification. In addition, the AMF also supports functionalities for non-3GPP access networks.
Thus, the Manolakos reference discloses a “Location Management Function (LMF)-apparatus, for a wireless communication network”.
Independent claim 12 recites the further limitations in which the “apparatus” is to “provide, to a transmission point, an activation information requesting an activation or a deactivation of a transmission of one or more second reference signals in addition to one or more first reference signals for a position measurement between the transmission point and a UE”.
In this regard, the Manolakos reference discloses (at paragraphs [0006] and [0140]), the following:
[0006] [A] method for muting of positioning reference signals performed by a first transmission-reception point (TRP) includes sending, to a user equipment (UE), on a bandwidth part of a first carrier frequency, a command triggering at least one of one or more positioning reference signal muting configurations associated with a TRP identifier (ID) and/or a positioning reference signal ID, wherein the triggered positioning reference signal muting configuration indicates that: one or more positioning reference signals of one or more positioning reference signal occasions of at least one positioning reference signal configuration of a plurality of positioning reference signal configurations in a second TRP are not being transmitted, the plurality of positioning reference signal configurations associated with the TRP ID and/or the positioning reference signal ID, or the one or more positioning reference signals of the one or more positioning reference signal occasions of all of the plurality of positioning reference signal configurations in the second TRP are not being transmitted, wherein the second TRP mutes the positioning reference signals according to the triggered positioning reference signal muting configuration.
. . . .
[0140] At 930, the first TRP sends, to the UE, on a bandwidth part of a first carrier frequency, a command triggering at least one of the one or more positioning reference signal muting configurations. The triggered positioning reference signal muting configuration may indicate that (1) the one or more positioning reference signals of the one or more positioning reference signal occasions of at least one positioning reference signal configuration of the plurality of positioning reference signal configurations of the second TRP are not being transmitted, or (2) the one or more positioning reference signals of the one or more positioning reference signal occasions of all of the plurality of positioning reference signal configurations of the second TRP are not being transmitted. . . .
In short, the UE receives all PRS configurations of the TRPs—which represent a plurality of radio resources, the PRS configurations received at the UE are triggered (activated or deactivated), so that the measuring of the radio resources at the UE is activated or deactivated according to the PRS configurations of the TRPs.
Accordingly, the UE receives all PRS configurations of the TRPs—which represent a plurality of resources, and in which the PRS configurations—representing a plurality of reference signals, including the second reference signal, received at the UE are triggered (activated or deactivated), so that the measuring (or transmission) of the resources at the UE is activated or deactivated according to the configurations.
Thus, the Manolakos reference discloses or at least suggests the further limitations in which the “apparatus” is to “provide, to a transmission point, an activation information requesting an activation or a deactivation of a transmission of one or more second reference signals in addition to one or more first reference signals for a position measurement between the transmission point and a UE”.
Manolakos does not specifically disclose the further limitation in which the “apparatus” is to “provide the activation information in response to a reception of an activation request from the UE”.
Nonetheless, the Akkarakaran reference discloses (at paragraphs [0109] and [0111]) the following:
[0109] FIG. 13B illustrates an example LMF based on-demand PRS, in accordance with aspects of the present disclosure. As shown, a UE may transmit a positioning request to an LMF. In one or more cases, the position request may further include measurement report and/or other information. This positioning request which include additional information from the UE may be sent using a UE-to-location server protocol such as the LTE positioning protocol (LPP) or an extension of this protocol to 5G NR. In some cases, the LMF may read PRS configuration from nearby gNBs (for example gNB1 and/or gNB2). Further, in some cases, the LMF can write the PRS configuration for one or more nearby gNBs such as gNB1 and/or gNB2. This ability to read or write PRS configuration from nearby gNBs by the LMF may be done using a BS-to-location server protocol such as LPPa or NR-PPa.
[0111] In one or more cases, the positioning request that includes additional information may allow for a more customized PRS, which can reduce PRS overhead. In some cases the LMF may therefore be able to activate PRS at the one or more gNB(s) based on the additional information.
The Manolakos and Akkarakaran references are analogous art since they each concern positioning reference signaling for position measurements in wireless communication systems.
Accordingly, a person having ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to combine the Manolakos and Akkarakaran references, so as to obtain the benefit of a system in which the activation request is sent by the UE. In particular, a system in which the UE sends the request would be more flexible than a system in which the TRP sends the request, since there are a greater number of UEs rather than TRPs.
In view of the foregoing, the Manolakos reference, in view of the Akkarakaran reference, does disclose or at least suggest a system in which the activation request is sent by the UE.
Manolakos, as modified by Akkarakaran, does not explicitly disclose one or more second reference signals in addition to one or more first reference signals.
In this regard, the Shi reference discloses (at paragraphs [0006], [0125], [0128], and [0131]) the following:
[0006] According to a first aspect, an embodiment of this application provides a positioning reference signal sending method. The method includes: receiving identification information, positioning reference signal (PRS) indication information, and PRS identification information of a terminal device from a location management function (LMF) network element, where the PRS indication information is used to indicate to send a first PRS to the terminal device, the PRS identification information includes an identifier of at least one second PRS, the first PRS has a quasi co-location (QCL) association relationship with one of the at least one second PRS, and a type of the first PRS does not include a periodic PRS; sending the PRS identification information to the terminal device; and sending the first PRS to the terminal device.
. . . .
[0125] 201: The LMF network element sends identification information, PRS indication information, and PRS identification information of the terminal device to the access network device. . . .
. . . .
[0128] The PRS indication information is used to indicate to send a first PRS to the terminal device. . . .
. . . .
[0131] The PRS identification information includes an identifier of at least one second PRS. The second PRS is a PRS that has been sent to the terminal device. . . .
Finally, the Abstract of the Shi reference discloses the following: “Therefore, more PRSs are used for location measurement. In this way, positioning precision can be improved”.
The Manolakos, Akkarakaran and Shi references are analogous art since they each concern positioning reference signaling for position measurements in wireless communication systems.
Accordingly, a person having ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to combine the Manolakos, Akkarakaran and Shi references, so as to obtain the benefit of a system in which the activation request is sent by the UE—rather than the TRP. In particular, a system in which the UE sends the request would be more flexible than a system in which the TRP sends the request, since there are a greater number of UEs rather than TRPs.
In view of the foregoing, the Manolakos reference, in view of the Akkarakaran reference, and in view of the Shi reference does disclose or at least suggest a system in which the activation request is sent by the UE.
Thus, the Manolakos reference, in view of the Akkarakaran reference, and in view of the Shi reference discloses or at least suggests the further limitation in which the “apparatus” is to “provide the activation information in response to a reception of an activation request from the UE”.
Claim 12 is therefore rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as unpatentable over the Manolakos reference, in view of the Akkarakaran reference, and further in view of the Shi reference, for the foregoing reasons.
Claim 13 depends from claim 12, and it recites the further limitation in which the “activation request from the UE is indicative of a configuration for second radio resources for the transmission of the second reference signal to be activated”.
In this regard, above claim 12 submission is incorporated by reference (see, for example, paragraph 0111 of Akkarakaran and paragraphs 0006 and 0131 of Shi).
Thus, the Manolakos reference, in view of the Akkarakaran reference, and in view of the Shi reference discloses or at least suggests the further limitation in which the “activation request from the UE is indicative of a configuration for second radio resources for the transmission of the second reference signal to be activated”.
Accordingly, claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as unpatentable over the
Manolakos reference, in view of the Akkarakaran reference, and in view of the Shi reference for the same reasons as claim 12, and for the further foregoing reasons.
Claim 14 depends from claim 12, and it recites the further limitations in which the “activation request from the UE comprises an identifier for indicating the configuration of the second radio resources”, and in which the “activation request from the UE is indicative of at least one parameter to be changed with respect to the configuration identified by the identifier”.
In this regard, the Manolakos reference discloses (at the Abstract; paragraphs [0006], [0107], and [0140], as detailed below) (as well as paragraphs [0008], [0010], [0012], [0035], [0093], [0106]; and claims 1, 20, 39, 58, 77-80), the following:
. . . In aspects, a location server sends, to a user equipment (UE), a plurality of positioning reference signal configurations and one or more positioning reference signal muting configurations associated with a transmission-reception point (TRP) identifier (ID) and/or a positioning reference signal ID. A first TRP sends, to the UE, a command triggering at least one positioning reference signal muting configuration, wherein the triggered positioning reference signal muting configuration indicates that: the one or more positioning reference signals of the one or more positioning reference signal occasions of at least one positioning reference signal configuration are not being transmitted, or the one or more positioning reference signals of the one or more positioning reference signal occasions of all of the plurality of positioning reference signal configurations are not being transmitted, and mutes positioning reference signals according to the triggered positioning reference signal muting configurations.
. . . .
[0006] [A] method for muting of positioning reference signals performed by a first transmission-reception point (TRP) includes sending, to a user equipment (UE), on a bandwidth part of a first carrier frequency, a command triggering at least one of one or more positioning reference signal muting configurations associated with a TRP identifier (ID) and/or a positioning reference signal ID, wherein the triggered positioning reference signal muting configuration indicates that: one or more positioning reference signals of one or more positioning reference signal occasions of at least one positioning reference signal configuration of a plurality of positioning reference signal configurations in a second TRP are not being transmitted, the plurality of positioning reference signal configurations associated with the TRP ID and/or the positioning reference signal ID, or the one or more positioning reference signals of the one or more positioning reference signal occasions of all of the plurality of positioning reference signal configurations in the second TRP are not being transmitted, wherein the second TRP mutes the positioning reference signals according to the triggered positioning reference signal muting configuration.
. . . .
[0107] To also improve . . . a PRS (e.g., when PRS bandwidth is limited such as with only 6 resource blocks corresponding to 1.4 MHz bandwidth), the frequency band for consecutive PRS positioning occasions (or consecutive PRS subframes) may be changed in a known and predictable manner via frequency hopping. . . .
[0140] At 930, the first TRP sends, to the UE, on a bandwidth part of a first carrier frequency, a command triggering at least one of the one or more positioning reference signal muting configurations. The triggered positioning reference signal muting configuration may indicate that (1) the one or more positioning reference signals of the one or more positioning reference signal occasions of at least one positioning reference signal configuration of the plurality of positioning reference signal configurations of the second TRP are not being transmitted, or (2) the one or more positioning reference signals of the one or more positioning reference signal occasions of all of the plurality of positioning reference signal configurations of the second TRP are not being transmitted. . . .
In short, the UE receives all PRS configurations of the TRPs—which represent a plurality of radio resources, the PRS configurations received at the UE are triggered (activated or deactivated), so that the measuring of the radio resources at the UE is activated or deactivated according to the PRS configurations of the TRPs.
Accordingly, the UE receives all PRS configurations of the TRPs—which represent a plurality of resources, and in which the PRS configurations—representing a plurality of reference signals, including the second reference signal, received at the UE are triggered (activated or deactivated), so that the measuring (or transmission) of the resources at the UE is activated or deactivated according to the configurations.
Finally, to improve a PRS (as reflected in its configuration), the frequency band—which is a parameter—for consecutive PRS positioning occasions (or consecutive PRS subframes) may be changed.
The Manolakos, Akkarakaran and Shi references are analogous art since they each concern positioning reference signaling for position measurements in wireless communication systems.
Accordingly, a person having ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to combine the Manolakos, Akkarakaran and Shi references, so as to obtain the benefit of a system in which the activation request is sent by the UE—rather than the TRP. In particular, a system in which the UE sends the request would be more flexible than a system in which the TRP sends the request, since there are a greater number of UEs rather than TRPs.
In view of the foregoing, the Manolakos reference, in view of the Akkarakaran reference, and in view of the Shi reference does disclose or at least suggest a system in which the activation request is sent by the UE.
Thus, the Manolakos reference, in view of the Akkarakaran reference, in view of the Shi reference discloses or at least suggests the further limitations in which the “activation request from the UE comprises an identifier for indicating the configuration of the second radio resources”, and in which the “activation request from the UE is indicative of at least one parameter to be changed with respect to the configuration identified by the identifier”.
Accordingly, claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as unpatentable over the Manolakos reference, in view of the Akkarakaran reference, in view of the Shi reference for the same reasons as claim 12, and for the further foregoing reasons.
Claim 17 depends from claim 15, and like independent claim 12 it recites the further limitations of a “Location Management Function (LMF) apparatus”, in which the “LMF apparatus” is to “provide, to a transmission point, an activation information requesting an activation or a deactivation of a transmission of one or more second reference signals in addition to, or instead of, one or more first reference signals for a position measurement between the transmission point and a UE”, in which the “LMF apparatus” is to “provide the activation information in response to a reception of an activation request from the UE”.
In short, claim 17 recites the same limitations as the LMF apparatus of claim 12.
As regards the limitations of base claim 15, the Manolakos reference discloses or at least suggests these limitations for essentially the same reasons explained as to base claim 15.
Accordingly, claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as unpatentable over the Manolakos reference, in view of the Akkarakaran reference in view of the Shi reference for essentially the same reasons as claim 15 and for the same reasons as claim 12, and for the further foregoing reasons.
Independent claim 20 recites features like those of apparatus claim 12, except that claim 20 is a method claim.
Accordingly, claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as unpatentable over the Manolakos reference, in view of the Akkarakaran reference, and in view of the Shi reference for the same reasons as claim 12.
Response to Arguments
The Amendment does not specifically address in any manner the specific facts presented in the Non-Final Office Action that explain in detail why the applied reference
discloses all of the limitations of original claim 1 (as well as the remaining claims).
In particular, in an attempt to explain why the last two wherein clauses of claim 1 are assertedly not disclosed by the primary reference, the Amendment’s Remarks (at page 10) cite paragraph [0104], which was not cited in the Office Action and which refer to muted PRS transmission—while wholly ignoring cited paragraphs [0006], [0140], and [0146] as discussed in detail at pages, and conveniently ignoring the fact that paragraph [0104] discloses that a PRS can be transmitted with power (activated) or with zero power (deactivated), so that there are PRS configurations (and PRS muting configurations). In this regard, paragraph [0104] state as follows:
[0104] Within each positioning occasion, PRS are generally transmitted with a constant power. A PRS can also be transmitted with zero power (i.e., muted). Muting, which turns off a regularly scheduled PRS transmission, may be useful when PRS signals between different cells overlap by occurring at the same or almost the same time. In this case, the PRS signals from some cells may be muted while PRS signals from other cells are transmitted (e.g., at a constant power). Muting may aid signal acquisition and ToA and RSTD measurement, by UEs (such as the UE 104), of PRS signals that are not muted (by avoiding interference from PRS signals that have been muted). For example, when the (strong) PRS signal the UE 104 receives from one base station 102 is muted, the (weak) PRS signals from a neighboring base station 102 can be more easily detected by the UE 104. Muting may be viewed as the non-transmission of a PRS for a given positioning occasion for a particular cell. Muting patterns (also referred to as muting sequences) may be signaled to a UE 104 using bit strings. For example, in a bit string signaled to indicate a muting pattern, if a bit at position j is set to ‘0’, then the UE 104 may infer that the PRS is muted for a jth positioning occasion.
Still further, the Remarks refer to cited paragraph [0135], which states as follows:
[0135] In an aspect, a first TRP (e.g., the TRP serving the UE, or the TRP corresponding to the PCell for the UE) may send all the PRS [(configurations)] and PRS muting configurations to the UE. The transmission of PRS [(configurations)] (or non-transmission according to the muting configurations) may performed by a second TRP. The second TRP may be the same as or different from the first TRP.
That is, PRS configurations (as well as PRS muting configurations) are disclosed, as further evidenced by, for example, paragraph [0089] (and see also, e.g., paragraphs [0091], [0096], [0097], [0099], [0100], [0103], and [0107]), as follows:
[0089] As discussed herein, in some aspects, OTDOA assistance data may be provided to a UE 104 by a location server 230 or LMF 270 for a “reference cell” and one or more “neighbor cells” or “neighboring cells” relative to the “reference cell.” For example, the assistance data may provide the center channel frequency of each cell, various PRS configuration parameters (e.g., NPRS, TPRS, muting sequence, frequency hopping sequence, PRS ID, PRS bandwidth), a cell global ID, PRS signal characteristics associated with a directional PRS, and/or other cell related parameters applicable to OTDOA or some other position method.
In any case, these cited Remarks simply do not explain in any manner why the specific explanations detailed in the Office Action are in any way incorrect, so that the Remarks simply do not refute these specific explanations as to why the primary reference does in fact disclose the last two wherein clauses of claim 1, as explained in detail herein and in the Office Action.
The Remarks also attempt to minimize the sufficiency of the disclosure of alternative element [B] (namely, SSBs) at paragraphs [0045] and [0082], but this assertion is irrelevant as a practical matter, since the disclosure of alternative element [A] taken alone discloses the final wherein clause of claim 1.
In particular, as explained herein and in the Office Action, claim 1 recites the further limitation in which the “certain event is a measurement of [A] a predetermined positioning reference signal or [B] a SSB (synchronization signal block) reference signal”. Since this limitation is in the form of [A] or [B], establishing either [A] or [B] satisfies this limitation.
In this regard and as explained above, the Manolakos reference discloses alternative element [A], namely that there is a measurement of a predetermined positioning reference signal, so that the limitations of the final wherein clause of claim 1 are disclosed for this reason alone. In short, disclosure of alternative element [B] is not required.
Nevertheless, the Manolakos reference also discloses (at paragraphs [0045] and [0082]) the use of an SSB as an event for activating measuring of the radio resources for the position measurement, so that the limitations of the final wherein clause of claim 1 are also disclosed
for this reason alone.
Accordingly, the Manolakos reference discloses the further limitation in which the “certain event is a measurement of [A] a predetermined positioning reference signal or [B] a SSB (synchronization signal block) reference signal”. The disclosure of [A] alone is sufficient for anticipating the claim. Also, the disclosure of [B] alone is sufficient for anticipating the claim.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the claims have been considered—and refuted—but are also moot because of the new grounds of rejection that are attributable to the new amendments. (See M.P.E.P. FP 7.38). While not repeated here in the Response Section, the new grounds of rejection provided above are referenced here as necessary.
In particular, as explained above as to independent claims 15 and 19, claims 15 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 102(a)(1) as anticipated by the Manolakos reference, as detailed herein.
In particular, as explained above as to independent claims 12 and 20, these claims are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as unpatentable over the Manolakos reference, in view of the Akkarakaran reference, and in view of the Shi reference, as detailed herein.
While not repeated here in the Response Section, the present Office Action also explains in detail why the dependent claims (except claim 8, which depends on claim 1) of each of the independent claims are also rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 102 or § 103 as anticipated or unpatentable over the applied references, as detailed herein.
While not repeated here in the Response Section, the present Office Action also explains in detail why dependent claim 8, which depends on claim 1, is rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as unpatentable over the applied references, as detailed herein.
Nothing in the Amendment addresses in any manner—let alone refutes—the foregoing facts presented herein or in the prior Office Action.
In summary, Applicant's arguments fail to comply with 37 CFR 1.111(b) because they amount to a general allegation that the claims somehow define a patentable invention without specifically pointing out how the language of the claims are patentably distinguished them from the references. Still further, Applicant's arguments do not comply with 37 CFR 1.111(c) because they do not clearly point out the patentable novelty which they think the claims present in view of the state of the art disclosed by the references cited or the rejections made. Further, they do not specifically explain how the amendments avoid such references or rejections.
Finally, the Amendment and Remarks do not refute or even address any of the specific arguments, explanations, and facts presented in the Office Action.
Conclusion
supervisor, Rafael Perez-Gutierrez can be reached on (571) 272-7915. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is (571) 273-8300.
users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov.
Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at (866) 217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call (800) 786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or (571) 272-1000.
/Aaron C. Deditch/Examiner, Art Unit 2642
/Rafael Pérez-Gutiérrez/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2642
2/5/2026