DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement(s) (IDS) submitted on 9 December 2024 has/have been considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Smolenaers et al (US 20200298722 A1).
Regarding claim 20, Smolenaers teaches a system comprising: one or more controllers (¶0041 “[FIG 1] Controller 15 includes for machines 7 and 8 separate respective controllers 17 and 18, and a control module 20, which coordinates controllers 17 and 18 to act in combination to drive wheels 23 and 24”)
configured to control an operation of the bridge rectifier switch ( FIG 2A switch 48, ¶0041 “controllers 17 and 18 each include an array of modules and/or drive circuits, where each may represent different converter structures such as at least one of a half bridge, rectifier, inverter, diode bridge, full bridge, asymmetric bridge, three-level converter, multi-level converter, and the like”)
to control a discharge of the filter capacitor to the bulk capacitor. (¶0090 “buck-boost functionality provided is available to pre-charge (or discharge) capacitor 66 from the battery pack 3 and/or pre-charge (or discharge) capacitor 65 from an external source (e.g., grid 77)”)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-6 and 9- 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Smolenaers modified by Wambsganss et al (US 20170366093 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Smolenaers teaches a system (¶0054 “FIG. 2A, an electric vehicle charging system 200”)
comprising: an alternating current (AC) to direct current (DC) converter (AC-DC converter) including a bulk capacitor, (FIG 2A AC/DC converter 83 in connection with input circuit 75 to bulk capacitor 66, ¶0090 “ Capacitors 65 and 66 are shown in this embodiment, meaning the total bulk capacitance is able to be common in the first state (e.g. propulsion mode), or split between the first inputs 5 and 6 and the second inputs 11 and 12”)
the AC-DC converter connectable to a line voltage; (FIG 2A AC/DC converter 83 electrically connected to terminals 13 and 14)
a DC to DC converter (DC-DC converter) connected to the AC-DC converter, (¶0042 “an isolation DC-DC converter is used as part of an input circuit for controller 17 and/or controller 18 to ensure touch safe operation of the vehicle while tethered to a power source”, ¶0071 “circuit 32 acts as a buck switch and circuits 63 and 31 act as boost switches when charging battery pack 3”,FIG 2A AC/DC converter 83 connected to controller 17)
the DC-DC converter including: one or more transformers having a secondary side connectable to a battery, (DC-DC buck boost convert comprised of circuits 32, 63, and 31; Motor 7 comprising transformers 19a-19c connected to circuits 32, 63, and 31 wherein battery pack 3 is connected to the secondary end of the transformers)
[a bridge rectifier connected to the secondary side of the one or more transformers,
the bridge rectifier including a bridge rectifier switch,]
and a filter capacitor; (FIG 2A capacitor 65, ¶0062 “current 70 is diverted through either into current 71 through 19a or into current 72 through 19c, and as the effective switching frequency is increased, therefore the magnitude of ripple current through capacitor 65 can be decreased”)
and one or more controllers (¶0041 “Controller 15 includes for machines 7 and 8 separate respective controllers 17 and 18, and a control module 20”, ¶0065 “control module 20 may be able to operate controller 17 during a charging mode to pre-charge the bulk capacitance of controller 17 before closing the disconnect switches 90 and/or 92 of input circuit 75”)
configured to control an operation of the [bridge rectifier] switch to control a discharge of the filter capacitor to the bulk capacitor. (¶0066 “switching mechanism 16 may also include a switch 48 for selectively connecting and disconnecting power rails 41 and 43 to and from each other, responsive to control signals from module 20”; ¶0071 “switch 48 between circuits 32 and 63”; ¶0060 “[FIG 2A] control signals from the module 20, circuits 31, 32, and 63 may be connected to the battery pack 3 to receive load current 50 to selectively energize windings 19a, 19b, and 19c to create torque in motor 7”)
FIG 2A depicts switch 48 connected to input circuit 75 (containing the filter capacitor) to bulk capacitor 66 and filter capacitor 65. Smolenaers ¶0069 states “operating with switch 48 in an open or disconnected state, the battery pack 3 may be able to be charged from the charging station 25 (referred to as a charging mode), or alternatively, in some cases, it may be beneficial to transfer power back into the charging station 25”, establishing switch 48 as being bidirectional between bulk capacitor 66 and filter capacitor 65. Smolenaers ¶0041 states “controllers 17 and 18 each include an array of modules and/or drive circuits, where each may represent different converter structures such as at least one of a half bridge, rectifier,… full bridge…”, indicating that controllers 17 and 18 may comprise a full-bridge rectifier. However, Smolenaers does not explicitly disclose a bridge rectifier connected to the secondary side of the one or more transformers, the bridge rectifier including a bridge rectifier switch.
Wambsganss teaches a bridge rectifier connected to the secondary side of the one or more transformers, (¶0028 “FIG. 1 embodiment, the Resonant DC/DC Converter 5 is a phase shift-modulated, full-bridge series resonant DC-DC converter”, FIG 2B depicts transformer 60 connected to the four diodes 70, 80, 90, and 100 which form a bridge rectifier on the secondary side of the transformer)
the bridge rectifier including a bridge rectifier switch. (¶0046 “FIG. 1, DC/DC Converter Control 6 generates the driving waveforms for switching the power FETs in the Resonant DC/DC Converter 5”; ¶0028 “FIG. 1 embodiment, the Resonant DC/DC Converter 5 is a phase shift-modulated, full-bridge series resonant DC-DC converter”)
Therefor it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to modify the controller 17 as taught by Smolenaers to use a modified regulating transformer rectifier unit as taught by Wambsganss. Smolenaers ¶0058 discloses “buck-boost converter 210, the controller 17 includes three drive circuits: circuit 31, circuit 32, and circuit 63”, wherein circuits 31, 32, and 63 are replaced by the R-Tru device of Wambsganss. The modification would be obvious because one of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to use the R-TRU device to increase space efficiency of the circuit topology, increase output efficiency, and minimize ripple voltage for a high-power density system.
Similarly as applied to a method (¶0019 “FIG. 7 is a flowchart illustrating an example method for charging an electric vehicle where onboard charge conversion is handled via a switching mechanism”) for claim 15.
Regarding claim 2, Smolenaers as modified by Wambsganss teaches the system of claim 1. Smolenaers as modified by Wambsganss further teaches a system wherein the one or more controllers (Smolenaers ¶0065 “control module 20 may be able to operate controller 17 during a charging mode to pre-charge the bulk capacitance of controller 17 before closing the disconnect switches 90 and/or 92 of input circuit 75”, Wambsganss FIG 2B depicts transformer 60 connected to the four diodes 70, 80, 90, and 100 which form a bridge rectifier on the secondary side of the transformer)
are further configured to control the operation of the bridge rectifier switch to control the discharge of the filter capacitor to the bulk capacitor (Smolenaers FIG 2A depicts switch 48 connected to input circuit 75 (containing the filter capacitor) to bulk capacitor 66 and filter capacitor 65, Smolenaers ¶0090 “[FIG 2] buck-boost functionality provided is available to pre-charge (or discharge) capacitor 66 from the battery pack 3 and/or pre-charge (or discharge) capacitor 65 from an external source (e.g., grid 77)”)
in each of a grid-to-battery operation and a battery-to-grid operation, the grid-to-battery operation to supply electric power from the line voltage to the battery and the battery-to-grid operation to supply electric power from the battery to a load of the line voltage. (Smolenaers ¶0069 states “operating with switch 48 in an open or disconnected state, the battery pack 3 may be able to be charged from the charging station 25 (referred to as a charging mode), or alternatively, in some cases, it may be beneficial to transfer power back into the charging station 25”)
Similarly as applied to a method for claim 16. Smolenaers as modified by Wambsganss teaches the method of claim 15.
Regarding claim 3, Smolenaers as modified by Wambsganss teaches the system of claim 2. Smolenaers as modified by Wambsganss further teaches a system wherein the one or more controllers (Smolenaers ¶0041 “Controller 15 includes for machines 7 and 8 separate respective controllers 17 and 18, and a control module 20”)
are further configured to: determine whether the battery is connected to the DC-DC converter, (¶0069 “operating with switch 48 in an open or disconnected state, the battery pack 3 may be able to be charged from the charging station 25 ”, in order to operate switch 48 the controller necessarily has to determine if the battery is connected to the DCDC converter; FIGs 2A-2F buck-boost converter 210 connected to battery pack 3)
and control the operation of the bridge rectifier switch to control the discharge of the filter capacitor to the bulk capacitor, (Smolenaers FIG 2A depicts switch 48 connected to input circuit 75 (containing the filter capacitor) to bulk capacitor 66 and filter capacitor 65, Smolenaers ¶0090 “[FIG 2] buck-boost functionality provided is available to pre-charge (or discharge) capacitor 66 from the battery pack 3 and/or pre-charge (or discharge) capacitor 65 from an external source (e.g., grid 77)”)
when the battery is determined to be disconnected from the DC-DC converter. (¶0090 “having capacitor 66 on the opposite side of switch 48 as the battery pack 3 may help when operating in the first state (e.g., propulsion) to compensate for any extra stray inductance which may have been caused by the fitment of switch 48”)
Similarly as applied to a method for claim 17. Smolenaers as modified by Wambsganss teaches the method of claim 16.
Regarding claim 4, Smolenaers as modified by Wambsganss teaches the system of claim 3. Smolenaers as modified by Wambsganss further teaches a system wherein the one or more controllers are further configured to: set a battery disconnect fault and end one or more of the grid-to-battery operation or the battery-to-grid operation, (Smolenaers ¶0044 “ car 1 includes a ground fault detection circuit which isolates the vehicle from the charging station 25 in the event of direct currents, or non-sinusoidal currents which could otherwise affect the operation of a residual current device (RCD)”, Smolenaers ¶0112 “ implement a specific type of switch 48 which has a short circuit failure mode so that the motor operation will not be interrupted in a fault condition whilst operating in the first state”)
when the battery is determined to be disconnected from the DC-DC converter. (Smolenaers ¶0039 “ PDU 21 may include discrete circuits to selectively allow or disallow battery pack 3 to connect and thus transfer voltage, current, or energy with the different listed components of car 1 individually”, PDU 21 allows the battery pack 3 to disconnect from any of the components of FIG 2A including the DC-DC converter 210; Smolenaers ¶0069 “switch 48 in an open or disconnected state, the battery pack 3 may be able to be charged from the charging station 25 (referred to as a charging mode), or alternatively, in some cases, it may be beneficial to transfer power back into the charging station 25”)
Similarly as applied to a method for claim 18. Smolenaers as modified by Wambsganss teaches the method of claim 17.
Regarding claim 5, Smolenaers as modified by Wambsganss teaches the system of claim 4. Smolenaers as modified by Wambsganss further teaches a system wherein the one or more controllers are further configured to: determine a current threshold, (Smolenaers ¶0041 “controller 15 in order to transmit values such as state-of-charge, state-of-health, maximum permissible charge and discharge currents, maximum and minimum voltages, instantaneous voltage and current values, individual cell data and voltages, temperature, etc., for the management of controllers 17 and 18 and module 20”)
and control the operation of the bridge rectifier switch to control the discharge of the filter capacitor to the bulk capacitor, (Smolenaers FIG 2A depicts switch 48 connected to input circuit 75 (containing the filter capacitor) to bulk capacitor 66 and filter capacitor 65, Smolenaers ¶0090 “[FIG 2] buck-boost functionality provided is available to pre-charge (or discharge) capacitor 66 from the battery pack 3 and/or pre-charge (or discharge) capacitor 65 from an external source (e.g., grid 77)”)
when the one or more of the grid-to-battery operation or the battery-to-grid operation has ended. (Smolenaers ¶0044 “ car 1 includes a ground fault detection circuit which isolates the vehicle from the charging station 25 in the event of direct currents, or non-sinusoidal currents which could otherwise affect the operation of a residual current device (RCD)”, Smolenaers ¶0112 “ implement a specific type of switch 48 which has a short circuit failure mode so that the motor operation will not be interrupted in a fault condition whilst operating in the first state”)
Similarly as applied to a method for claim 19. Smolenaers as modified by Wambsganss teaches the method of claim 18.
Regarding claim 6, Smolenaers as modified by Wambsganss teaches the system of claim 1. Smolenaers as modified by Wambsganss further teaches a system wherein the filter capacitor is configured to filter a high frequency ripple from electric power supplied to the battery. (Smolenaers ¶0062 “module 20 may operate the switches in an interleaved switching pattern with equal dead time in between such that the current 70 is diverted through either into current 71 through 19a or into current 72 through 19c, and as the effective switching frequency is increased, therefore the magnitude of ripple current through capacitor 65 can be decreased”)
Regarding claim 9, Smolenaers as modified by Wambsganss teaches the system of claim 1. Smolenaers as modified by Wambsganss further teaches a system wherein the one or more controllers are configured to control the discharge of the filter capacitor to the bulk capacitor (Smolenaers FIG 2A depicts switch 48 connected to input circuit 75 (containing the filter capacitor) to bulk capacitor 66 and filter capacitor 65, Smolenaers ¶0090 “[FIG 2] buck-boost functionality provided is available to pre-charge (or discharge) capacitor 66 from the battery pack 3 and/or pre-charge (or discharge) capacitor 65 from an external source (e.g., grid 77)”)
to transfer electrical energy from terminals that are exposed when the battery is disconnected from the DC-DC converter to the bulk capacitor, (Smolenaers ¶0039 “ PDU 21 may include discrete circuits to selectively allow or disallow battery pack 3 to connect and thus transfer voltage, current, or energy with the different listed components of car 1 individually”, PDU 21 allows the battery pack 3 to disconnect from any of the components of FIG 2A including the DC-DC converter 210; Smolenaers ¶0069 “switch 48 in an open or disconnected state, the battery pack 3 may be able to be charged from the charging station 25 (referred to as a charging mode), or alternatively, in some cases, it may be beneficial to transfer power back into the charging station 25”)
wherein the bulk capacitor is less exposed to external sources than the filter capacitor. (Smolenaers FIG 2A upon battery 3 being disconnected terminals 5 and 6 are exposed, bulk capacitor 66 is separated from the exposed terminals, as well as filter capacitor 65, by controller 17)
Regarding claim 10, Smolenaers as modified by Wambsganss teaches the system of claim 1. Smolenaers as modified by Wambsganss further teaches a system wherein the discharge of the filter capacitor to the bulk capacitor (Smolenaers FIG 2A depicts switch 48 connected to input circuit 75 (containing the filter capacitor) to bulk capacitor 66 and filter capacitor 65, Smolenaers ¶0090 “[FIG 2] buck-boost functionality provided is available to pre-charge (or discharge) capacitor 66 from the battery pack 3 and/or pre-charge (or discharge) capacitor 65 from an external source (e.g., grid 77)”)
[decreases a voltage of the filter capacitor more than an increase in voltage of the bulk capacitor].
Smolenaers as modified by Wambsganss discloses the claimed invention except for decreasing a voltage of the filter capacitor more than an increase in voltage of the bulk capacitor; however, this is an intrinsic property of circuits. The bulk capacitor 66 and the filter capacitor 65 are separated by a converter which limits current rush, there will inherently be some power losses across these components leading to a lower amount of power received by the bulk capacitor than released from the filter capacitor. These power losses across the intermediate components results in decreasing a voltage of the filter capacitor more than an increase in voltage of the bulk capacitor.
Regarding claim 11, Smolenaers as modified by Wambsganss teaches the system of claim 1. Smolenaers as modified by Wambsganss further teaches a system wherein the one or more controllers are further configured to control a discharge of the bulk capacitor after (Smolenaers ¶0091 “controller 17 is employed to discharge the capacitor 66 by entering the second state of operation (e.g., charging mode) and utilising buck-boost operation”; wherein the first state of operation discharges capacitor 65)
controlling the discharge of the filter capacitor to the bulk capacitor. (Smolenaers FIG 2A depicts switch 48 connected to input circuit 75 (containing the filter capacitor) to bulk capacitor 66 and filter capacitor 65, Smolenaers ¶0090 “[FIG 2] buck-boost functionality provided is available to pre-charge (or discharge) capacitor 66 from the battery pack 3 and/or pre-charge (or discharge) capacitor 65 from an external source (e.g., grid 77)”)
Regarding claim 12, Smolenaers as modified by Wambsganss teaches the system of claim 2. Smolenaers as modified by Wambsganss further teaches a system further comprising: the battery connected to the DC-DC converter, (Smolenaers ¶0042 “an isolation DC-DC converter is used as part of an input circuit for controller 17 and/or controller 18 to ensure touch safe operation of the vehicle while tethered to a power source”, Smolenaers ¶0071 “circuit 32 acts as a buck switch and circuits 63 and 31 act as boost switches when charging battery pack 3”, FIG 2A battery pack 3 connected to controller 17)
wherein the system is provided as a bidirectional battery charger (Smolenaers ¶0069 states “operating with switch 48 in an open or disconnected state, the battery pack 3 may be able to be charged from the charging station 25 (referred to as a charging mode), or alternatively, in some cases, it may be beneficial to transfer power back into the charging station 25”, establishing switch 48 as being bidirectional between bulk capacitor 66 and filter capacitor 65)
configured to: receive input AC power from the line voltage through the AC-DC converter, (Smolenaers FIG 2A AC-DC converter 83 connected to grid power 77)
convert the AC power to DC power, (Smolenaers ¶0055 “Power is received at the charging station 25 from a grid 77, whereby AC power is converted to DC power via a AC/DC converter 83, and transmitted to the car 1”)
and supply the DC power to the battery to charge the battery in the grid-to-battery operation, and receive DC power from the battery through the DC-DC converter, (Smolenaers ¶0042 “an isolation DC-DC converter is used as part of an input circuit for controller 17 and/or controller 18 to ensure touch safe operation of the vehicle while tethered to a power source”, Smolenaers ¶0071 “circuit 32 acts as a buck switch and circuits 63 and 31 act as boost switches when charging battery pack 3”)
convert the DC power to AC power, and supply the AC power to the load of the line voltage as output AC power in the battery-to-grid operation. (Smolenaers ¶0069 states “operating with switch 48 in an open or disconnected state, the battery pack 3 may be able to be charged from the charging station 25 (referred to as a charging mode), or alternatively, in some cases, it may be beneficial to transfer power back into the charging station 25”, establishing switch 48 as being bidirectional between bulk capacitor 66 and filter capacitor 65)
Regarding claim 13, Smolenaers as modified by Wambsganss teaches the system of claim 1. Smolenaers as modified by Wambsganss further teaches a system further comprising: an electric vehicle including the battery connected to the DC-DC converter. (Smolenaers ¶0042 “an isolation DC-DC converter is used as part of an input circuit for controller 17 and/or controller 18 to ensure touch safe operation of the vehicle while tethered to a power source”, Smolenaers ¶0071 “circuit 32 acts as a buck switch and circuits 63 and 31 act as boost switches when charging battery pack 3”, FIG 2A battery pack 3 connected to controller 17)
Regarding claim 14, Smolenaers as modified by Wambsganss teaches the system of claim 2. Smolenaers as modified by Wambsganss further teaches a system further comprising: an electric vehicle including the battery connected to the DC-DC converter, (Smolenaers ¶0042 “an isolation DC-DC converter is used as part of an input circuit for controller 17 and/or controller 18 to ensure touch safe operation of the vehicle while tethered to a power source”, Smolenaers ¶0071 “circuit 32 acts as a buck switch and circuits 63 and 31 act as boost switches when charging battery pack 3”, FIG 2A battery pack 3 connected to controller 17)
wherein the battery-to-grid operation is operable to supply electric power from the battery to an AC outlet of the electric vehicle as the load of the line voltage. (Smolenaers ¶0069 “ V2X operation, AC output is required to put energy back on to the electrical power grid (V2G) as described later, whereas DC output may be beneficial to directly charge another electric vehicle (V2V) which may have run out of stored energy”)
Claim(s) 7 and 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Smolenaers as modified by Wambsganss and further in view of Liu et. al (CN 112224050 A)
Regarding claim 7, Smolenaers as modified by Wambsganss teaches the system of claim 1. Smolenaers as modified by Wambsganss further teaches a system wherein the one or more controllers are further configured to control the discharge of the filter capacitor to the bulk capacitor (Smolenaers FIG 2A depicts switch 48 connected to input circuit 75 (containing the filter capacitor) to bulk capacitor 66 and filter capacitor 65, Smolenaers ¶0090 “[FIG 2] buck-boost functionality provided is available to pre-charge (or discharge) capacitor 66 from the battery pack 3 and/or pre-charge (or discharge) capacitor 65 from an external source (e.g., grid 77)”)
[while a voltage of the filter capacitor is above a threshold.]
Smolenaers as modified by Wambsganss does not teach while a voltage of the filter capacitor is above a threshold.
Liu teaches while a voltage of the filter capacitor is above a threshold. (pg. 16 “voltage across the first capacitor C1 is higher than the preset voltage threshold, which is the limit value of the human body safety voltage, and When the voltage across the first capacitor C1 is higher than the preset voltage threshold, the first capacitor C1 is discharged.”)
Therefor it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to modify the system as taught by Smolenaers as modified by Wambsganss to control the discharge of the filter capacitor to the bulk capacitor while a voltage of the filter capacitor is above a threshold as taught by Liu. The system as taught by Smolenaers modified by Wambsganss has a similar structure the system as taught by Liu, both systems are integrated charging systems comprising an AC-DC converter connected to a DC-DC converter with a bulk capacitor and a filter capacitor. The modification would be obvious because one of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to discharge the filter capacitor when a voltage of the filter capacitor is above a threshold to prevent faults in the battery thereby increasing safe charging operations.
Regarding claim 8, Smolenaers as modified by Wambsganss and Liu teaches the system of claim 7. Smolenaers as modified by Wambsganss and Liu does not explicitly disclose a system wherein the threshold is 60V.
Smolenaers as modified by Wambsganss and Liu discloses the claimed invention except for the voltage threshold of the filter capacitor being 60V. It would have been an obvious matter of design choice to use a standard high power density capacitor with a 60V rating, since applicant has not disclosed that a 60V threshold solves any stated problem or is for any particular purpose and it appears that the invention would perform equally well with a high-power density capacitor of a different voltage threshold.
In cases like the present, where patentability is said to be based upon particular chosen dimensions or upon another variable recited within the claims, applicant must show that the chosen specifications are critical. As such, the claimed dimensions appear to be an obvious matter of engineering design choice and thus, while being a difference, does not serve in any way to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the applied prior art. In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 1578, 16 USPQ2d 1934, 1936 (Fed. Cir. 1990); In re Kuhle, 526 F2d. 553, 555, 188, USPQ 7, 9 (CCPA 1975).
Drawings
Figure 7 is objected to because the plot labels are unclear. The horizontal axis, or x-axis, label is “1000 s” implying the measurement to be in kilo-seconds; however, specification ¶0127 and ¶0128 both indicate that the unit should be in seconds. They vertical axis, or y-axis, uses three y-axes which are labeled, the units of SIG_OBCM_STATUS are not displayed with the units nor is this quantity described in the specification. Further on the vertical axis are the labels: BULK_DISCHARGE, RESERVED, REVERSE_CHARGING_DERATING, FORWARD_CHARGING_DERATING, ERROR, REVERSE_CHARGING, FORWARD_CHARGING, REVERSE_READY, STANDBY, and DISABLED which are not described in the specification nor detailed in the figure itself.
Prior Art Not Relied Upon
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure can be found in the attached PTO-892 Notice of References Cited by Examiner attached to this correspondence.
Hirota et al (US 20180109193 A1) teaches a power conversion apparatus controlled by an AC-DC converter connected to a DC-DC converter with a filter capacitor and a bulk capacitor.
Hou et al (US 20160236580 A1) teaches a dual-voltage charging system with an integrated active filter which comprises filter capacitors connected to an AC-DC converter and a DC-DC converter.
Conclusion
/LISA KOTOWSKI/Examiner, Art Unit 2859
/TAELOR KIM/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2859