DETAILED ACTION Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Claim Objections Claims 1-7 are objected to because of the following informalities: Claim 1 recites “DR” in line 5. The word “DR” should be defined at first use in the claim Appropriate correction is required. Claim 4 recites “DR” in line 5. The word “DR” should be defined at first use in the claim Appropriate correction is required. Claim 7 recites “DR” in line 3. The word “DR” should be defined at first use in the claim Appropriate correction is required. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis (i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. Claims 1-2, 4 -5 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shimizu et al. (US 2015/0283912 A1), hereinafter Shimizu, in view of JP2019062619, hereinafter 619’ As to claim 1 , Shimizu discloses in figure 1, a power system [system 100] comprising: a vehicle [vehicle (103b); ¶0016; see figure 1] provided with a power storage device [battery system (197)]; a power supply device [charging station (193) and see ¶0017] that performs transmission and reception of power between a power grid and the vehicle; a gateway device [Network 105; ¶0016] that acquires DR information transmitted from a server [server 101] ; a first communication device [communication between the server 101 and the power supply device (193); see ¶0016] that performs communication between the power supply device and the gateway device; and a control device [controller in the charge station and in the vehicle disclosed; see figure 1 and ¶0040] . Shimizu does not disclose explicitly, wherein when the power supply device is not able to acquire a command based on the DR information while a reverse power flow from the vehicle is being performed via the power supply device, the control device stops discharging from the power storage device and stops the reverse power flow. 619’ discloses in figure 1, wherein when the power supply device is not able to acquire a command based on the DR information while a reverse power flow from the vehicle is being performed via the power supply device, the control device stops discharging from the power storage device and stops the reverse power flow [¶0046, ¶0049; noted that the controller stops the discharge operation after the communication interrupted]. It would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention was made to interrupt battery charging of Shimizu when communication fails as taught by 619’ in order to avoid battery damage due to over-discharge. As to Claim 2 . Shimizu in combination with 619’ discloses, wherein the control device executes control of charging the power storage device from the power grid via the power supply device together with stopping the reverse power flow[see Shimizu’s charger system (191) charges the vehicle battery; see ¶0020 and ¶0026; Shimizu discloses interrupting vehicle battery charging when communication fails; see 619’s ¶0049]. As to Claim 5 . Shimizu in combination with 619’ discloses, wherein the processing unit executes processing of charging the power storage device from the power grid via the power supply device, together with stopping the reverse power flow [see Shimizu’s charger system (191) charges the vehicle battery; see ¶0020 and ¶0026; Shimizu discloses interrupting vehicle battery charging when communication fails; see 619’s ¶0049]. Claims 3 and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shimizu et al. (US 2015/0283912 A1) in view of JP2019062619, further in view of Bynn (US 2021/0300196) As to Claim 3 . Shimizu discloses all of the claim limitations except, a second communication device that performs communication between the vehicle and the power supply device, wherein when communication by the second communication device is abnormal while charging of the power storage device is being executed, the control device stops transmission and reception of power by the power supply device. Bynn discloses in figure 1. a second communication device [PLC communicator ] that performs communication between the vehicle and the power supply device, wherein when communication by the second communication device is abnormal while charging of the power storage device is being executed, the control device stops transmission and reception of power by the power supply device [see Abstract, ¶0014 and Claim 1; when the communication fails between the charging station and the vehicle the charging power will be stopped] It would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention was made to interrupt battery charging process of Shimizu as taught by Bynn in order to protect battery from over-charge and/or over-discharge and also efficiently charge the vehicle battery. As to Claim 6 , Bynn discloses all of the claim limitations except, a communication abnormality detection unit that detects an abnormality in communication between the vehicle and the power supply device, wherein when the communication abnormality detection unit detects an abnormality in communication between the vehicle and the power supply device while charging of the power storage device is being executed, the processing unit stops transmission and reception of power by the power supply device [see Abstract, ¶0014 and Claim 1; when the communication fails between the charging station and the vehicle the charging power will be stopped]. Conclusion Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to FILLIN "Examiner name" \* MERGEFORMAT SAMUEL BERHANU whose telephone number is FILLIN "Phone number" \* MERGEFORMAT (571)272-8430 . The examiner can normally be reached FILLIN "Work Schedule?" \* MERGEFORMAT M_F . Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, FILLIN "SPE Name?" \* MERGEFORMAT Julian A. Huffman can be reached at FILLIN "SPE Phone?" \* MERGEFORMAT Julian.Huffman@uspto.gov . The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /SAMUEL BERHANU/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2859