Response to Amendment
The amendment filed 02/02/2026 has been entered. Claims 1, 3-10, and 12-19 are pending in the application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3, 10, 12-13, 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cavallaro (5078396) in view of Pearson (20050113194), Girsky (20120083370), and Tremblay (3844555).
Regarding claim 1, Cavallaro (Figures 1-8) teaches a hockey stick, comprising: a shaft (Fig. 1, Part No. 10); and a shooting member having a left-handed blade (Fig. 1, Part No. 22) and a right-handed blade (20) , wherein both the left-handed blade and the right-handed blade join the shaft (10) (Col. 2, Lines 55-68), the left-handed blade and the right-handed separating and curving outwardly from the shaft in opposite directions (See fig. 1) (Col. 2, Lines 55-68).
Cavallaro does not teach a hosel, the left-handed blade and the right-handed blade join the shaft at the hosel, the left-handed blade and the right-handed separating and curving outwardly from the hosel in opposite directions; and only a single joining member disposed between and connecting the left-handed blade and the right-handed blade, thereby defining a cavity configured to receive and position a puck therein.
Pearson (Figures 1, 4) teaches a hosel (Fig. 4, Part No. 56), and a blade (34) join the shaft at the hosel (See fig. 1).
Girsky (Figures 4-5) teaches the left-handed blade (Fig. 4, Part No. 302) and the right-handed blade (302) join the shaft at the hosel end, the left-handed blade and the right-handed separating and curving outwardly from the hosel end in opposite directions (See fig. 4) (Para. 0029).
Tremblay (Figure 12) teaches only a single joining member (See fig. 12) (Col. 3, Lines 15-22) disposed between and connecting two blades of a hockey stick, thereby defining a cavity configured to receive and position a puck therein (See fig. 12).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide Cavallaro with a hosel as taught by Pearson as means of forming the blade and shaft of a hockey stick separately so that a hosel portion fits into a hollow shaft portion (Pearson: Para. 0041), and to provide Cavallaro with the left-handed blade and the right-handed separating and curving outwardly in opposite directions as taught by Girsky as a means of providing a dual blade hockey stick with blade curvatures for forehand and backhand shots/passes (Girsky: Para. 0029), and to provide Cavallaro with only a single joining member as taught by Tremblay as a means of providing a single connection between two blades of a hockey stick to provide a cavity for receiving a hockey ball/puck in the cavity (Tremblay: Para. 0047).
Regarding claim 3, the modified Cavallaro (Figures 1-8) teaches a hockey stick, comprising: a left-handed blade and a right-handed blade (Col. 2, Lines 55-68).
The modified Cavallaro does not teach the joining member is disposed proximal a toe of the left-handed blade and a toe of the right-handed blade.
Tremblay (Figure 12) teaches the joining member (See fig. 12) (Col. 3, Lines 15-22) is disposed proximal a toe of the left blade and a toe of the right (See fig. 12).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the modified Cavallaro with the joining member is disposed proximal a toe of the left blade and a toe of the right blade as taught by Tremblay as a means of providing a single connection between two blades of a hockey stick to provide a cavity for receiving a hockey ball/puck in the cavity (Tremblay: Col. 3, Lines 15-22).
Regarding claim 10, Cavallaro (Figures 1-8) teaches a two-bladed hockey stick comprising: a shaft (Fig. 1, Part No. 10); a first blade (Fig. 1, Part No. 22) affixed to the shaft; and a second blade (20) affixed to the one end of the shaft (10) (Col. 2, Lines 55-68), the first blade and the second blade separating and curving outwardly from the shaft in opposite directions (See fig. 1).
Cavallaro does not teach a hosel, a first blade affixed to the hosel; a second blade affixed to the hosel, the first blade and the second blade separating and curving outwardly from the hosel in opposite directions; and only a single joining member connecting the first blade and the second blade, thereby defining a cavity configured to receive and position a puck therein.
Pearson (Figures 1, 4) teaches a hosel (Fig. 4, Part No. 56) (Para. 0041), and a blade (34) affixed to the hosel (See fig. 1).
Girsky (Figures 4-5) teaches a first blade (Fig. 4, Part No. 302) affixed to a hosel end; a second blade (302) affixed to the hosel end, the first blade and the second blade separating and curving outwardly from the hosel in opposite directions (See fig. 4) (Para. 0029).
Tremblay (Figure 12) teaches only a single joining member (See fig. 12) (Col. 3, Lines 15-22) connecting the first blade and the second blade, thereby defining a cavity configured to receive and position a puck therein (See fig. 12).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide Cavallaro with a hosel as taught by Pearson as means of forming the blade and shaft of a hockey stick separately so that a hosel portion fits into a hollow shaft portion (Pearson: Para. 0041), and to provide Cavallaro with the first blade and the second blade separating and curving outwardly in opposite directions as taught by Girsky as a means of providing a dual blade hockey stick with blade curvatures for forehand and backhand shots/passes (Girsky: Para. 0029), and to provide Cavallaro with only a single joining member as taught by Tremblay as a means of providing a single connection between two blades of a hockey stick to provide a cavity for receiving a hockey ball/puck in the cavity (Tremblay: Col. 3, Lines 15-22).
Regarding claim 12, the modified Cavallaro (Figures 1-8) teaches a two-bladed hockey stick comprising: a first blade (Fig. 1, Part No. 22) and a second blade (20) (Col. 2, Lines 55-68).
The modified Cavallaro does not teach the joining member is disposed between the first blade and the second blade.
Tremblay (Figure 12) teaches the joining member is disposed between the first blade and the second blade (See fig. 12) (Col. 3, Lines 15-22).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the modified Cavallaro with the joining member is disposed between the first blade and the second blade as taught by Tremblay as a means of providing a single connection between two blades of a hockey stick to provide a cavity for receiving a hockey ball/puck in the cavity (Tremblay: Col. 3, Lines 15-22).
Regarding claim 13, the modified Cavallaro (Figures 1-8) teaches the first blade (22) is a left-handed blade and the second blade (20) is a right-handed blade.
Regarding claim 17, the modified Cavallaro (Figures 1-8) teaches a two-bladed hockey stick comprising: a first blade (Fig. 1, Part No. 22) and a second blade (20) (Col. 2, Lines 55-68).
The modified Cavallaro does not teach the joining member is slidingly connected to the first blade and second blade at various positions.
Girsky (Figures 4-5) teaches the joining member (Fig. 5, Part No. 501) (Para. 0030) is slidingly connected to the left-handed blade (302) and right-handed blade (301) at various positions (Para. 0030).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the modified Cavallaro with the joining member is slidingly connected to the left-handed blade and right-handed blade at various positions as taught by Girsky as a means of providing a two blade hockey stick with a removable filling material between the blades (Girsky: Para. 0030).
Claims 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cavallaro in view of Pearson, Girsky, and Tremblay, further in view of Guise (20170319932).
Regarding claim 16, the modified Cavallaro (Figures 1-8) teaches a two-bladed hockey stick comprising: a first blade (Fig. 1, Part No. 22) and a second blade (20) (Col. 2, Lines 55-68).
The modified Cavallaro does not teach the joining member is connectable to the first blade and second blade at various positions.
Guise (Figures 1-19) teaches the joining member (28) is connectable to the first blade and second blade at various positions (Para. 0043, 0048) (See fig. 2).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the modified Cavallaro with the joining member is connectable to the first blade and second blade at various positions as taught by Guise as a means of providing a two blade hockey stick with a joining member having threads adapted to mate with threaded female connectors of the hockey stick blades (Guise: Para. 0048).
Claims 4-5, 7-9, 14-15, 18-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cavallaro in view of Pearson, Girsky, and Tremblay, further in view of Baughman (4013295).
Regarding claim 4, the modified Cavallaro (Figures 1-8) teaches a hockey stick, comprising: a left-handed blade (Fig. 1, Part No. 22) and a right-handed blade (20) (Col. 2, Lines 55-68).
The modified Cavallaro does not teach the joining member is compressible.
Baughman (Figures 1-6) teaches the joining member (31) (Col. 3, Lines 52-57) is compressible.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the modified Cavallaro with the joining member is compressible as taught by Baughman as a means of providing a sports ball handling device with a spring that aids a releasable gripping position as well as open or object release position (Baughman: Col. 3, Lines 37-43).
Regarding claim 5, the modified Cavallaro (Figures 1-8) teaches a hockey stick, comprising: a left-handed blade (Fig. 1, Part No. 22) and a right-handed blade (20) (Col. 2, Lines 55-68).
The modified Cavallaro does not teach the joining member includes a spring.
Baughman (Figures 1-6) teaches the joining member includes a spring (31) (Col. 3, Lines 52-57).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the modified Cavallaro with the joining member includes a spring as taught by Baughman as a means of providing a sports ball handling device with a releasable gripping position as well as open or object release position (Baughman: Col. 3, Lines 37-43).
Regarding claim 7, the modified Cavallaro (Figures 1-8) teaches a hockey stick, comprising: a left-handed blade (Fig. 1, Part No. 22) and a right-handed blade (20) (Col. 2, Lines 55-68).
The modified Cavallaro does not teach the joining member is slidingly connected to the left-handed blade and right-handed blade at various positions.
Girsky (Figures 4-5) teaches the joining member (Fig. 5, Part No. 501) (Para. 0030) is slidingly connected to the left-handed blade (302) and right-handed blade (301) at various positions (Para. 0030).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the modified Cavallaro with the joining member is slidingly connected to the left-handed blade and right-handed blade at various positions as taught by Girsky as a means of providing a two blade hockey stick with a removable filling material between the blades (Girsky: Para. 0030).
Regarding claim 8, the modified Cavallaro (Figures 1-8) teaches a hockey stick, comprising: a left-handed blade (Fig. 1, Part No. 22) and a right-handed blade (20) (Col. 2, Lines 55-68).
The modified Cavallaro does not teach the joining member is concave.
Baughman (Figures 1-6) teaches the joining member (31) (Col. 3, Lines 52-57) is concave.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the modified Cavallaro with the joining member is concave as taught by Baughman as a means of providing a sports ball handling device with a spring that aids the device to have a releasable gripping position as well as open or object release position (Baughman: Col. 3, Lines 37-43).
Regarding claim 9, the modified Cavallaro (Figures 1-8) teaches a hockey stick, comprising: a shaft (Fig. 1, Part No. 10) (Col. 2, Lines 55-68).
The modified Cavallaro does not teach a secondary spring system disposed towards one end of the shaft to provide additional flex to the shaft.
Baughman (Figures 1-6) teaches a secondary spring system (32) (Col. 3, Lines 52-57) disposed towards one end of the shaft to provide additional flex to the shaft.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the modified Cavallaro with a secondary spring system as taught by Baughman as a means of providing a sports ball handling device with a spring that aids the device to have a releasable gripping position as well as open or object release position (Baughman: Col. 3, Lines 37-43).
Regarding claim 14, the modified Cavallaro (Figures 1-8) teaches a two-bladed hockey stick comprising: a first blade (Fig. 1, Part No. 22) and a second blade (20) (Col. 2, Lines 55-68).
The modified Cavallaro does not teach the joining member is compressible.
Baughman (Figures 1-6) teaches the joining member (31) (Col. 3, Lines 52-57) is compressible.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the modified Cavallaro with the joining member is compressible as taught by Baughman as a means of providing a sports ball handling device with a spring that aids a releasable gripping position as well as open or object release position (Baughman: Col. 3, Lines 37-43).
Regarding claim 15, the modified Cavallaro (Figures 1-8) teaches a two-bladed hockey stick comprising: a first blade (Fig. 1, Part No. 22) and a second blade (20) (Col. 2, Lines 55-68).
The modified Cavallaro does not teach the joining member includes a spring.
Baughman (Figures 1-6) teaches the joining member includes a spring (31) (Col. 3, Lines 52-57).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the modified Cavallaro with the joining member includes a spring as taught by Baughman as a means of providing a sports ball handling device with a releasable gripping position as well as open or object release position (Baughman: Col. 3, Lines 37-43).
Regarding claim 18, the modified Cavallaro (Figures 1-8) teaches a two-bladed hockey stick comprising: a first blade (Fig. 1, Part No. 22) and a second blade (20) (Col. 2, Lines 55-68).
The modified Cavallaro does not teach the joining member is concave.
Baughman (Figures 1-6) teaches the joining member (31) (Col. 3, Lines 52-57) is concave.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the modified Cavallaro with the joining member is concave as taught by Baughman as a means of providing a sports ball handling device with a spring that aids the device to have a releasable gripping position as well as open or object release position (Baughman: Col. 3, Lines 37-43).
Regarding claim 19, the modified Cavallaro (Figures 1-8) teaches a two-bladed hockey stick comprising: a shaft (Fig. 1, Part No. 10) (Col. 2, Lines 55-68).
The modified Cavallaro does not teach a secondary spring system disposed towards the one end of the shaft to provide additional flex to the shaft.
Baughman (Figures 1-6) teaches a secondary spring system (32) (Col. 3, Lines 52-57) disposed towards one end of the shaft to provide additional flex to the shaft.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the modified Cavallaro with a secondary spring system as taught by Baughman as a means of providing a sports ball handling device with a spring that aids the device to have a releasable gripping position as well as open or object release position (Baughman: Col. 3, Lines 37-43).
Claims 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cavallaro in view of Pearson, Girsky, Tremblay, and Baughman, further in view of Guise.
Regarding claim 6, the modified Cavallaro (Figures 1-8) teaches a hockey stick, comprising: a left-handed blade (Fig. 1, Part No. 22) and a right-handed blade (20) (Col. 2, Lines 55-68).
The modified Cavallaro does not teach the joining member is connectable to the left-handed blade and right-handed blade at various positions.
Guise (Figures 1-19) teaches the joining member (28) is connectable to the left-handed blade and right-handed blade at various positions (Para. 0043, 0048) (See fig. 2).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the modified Cavallaro with the joining member is connectable to the left-handed blade and right-handed blade at various positions as taught by Guise as a means of providing a two blade hockey stick with one or more joining members having threads adapted to mate with threaded female connectors of the hockey stick blades (Guise: Para. 0043, 0048).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1, 3-10, and 12-19 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/C.G./Examiner, Art Unit 3711
/JOSEPH B BALDORI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3711