DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Invention I (claims 1-10) in the reply filed on 12/18/2025 is acknowledged.
Claim 11 is withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention(s), there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 12/18/2025.
Claim Objections
Claims 3, and 8-9 are objected to because of the following informalities:
On page 2, Claim 3 reads “…active material layers are used of active materials of different poles…” this should read “…active material layers are used for active materials of different poles…”
On page 3, Claim 3 reads “…binder is used at least one…”, “…binder is used at least one…”, “…electrolyte is used at least one…”, “…additive is used at least one…”, and “…active material is used at least one…”. “Is used” should read “used is”.
On page 4, Claim 8 reads “…electrolyte is used of…” this should read “…electrolyte used is of…”.
On page 5, Claim 9 reads “…ceramic material is used one…”, this should read “…ceramic used is one…”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-2, 4-6, and 9-10 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
On Page 1, claim 1 recites “…forming a pair of external electrodes…” then later reads “…to connect one of a pair of external electrodes…”. This limitation renders the claim indefinite as the scope of the limitation is unclear. It is unclear whether a different pair of electrodes is referred to when discussing the connection. For the purposes of examination, the claim will be interpreted as reciting “…to connect the pair of electrodes…”.
On page 1, claim 1 recites “…the second solid electrolyte layer…”. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. For the purposes of examination, the claim will be interpreted as reciting “…a second electrolyte layer”. This limitation also renders the claim indefinite as the scope of the limitation is unclear. It is unclear what the second solid electrolyte is as opposed to the first solid electrolyte. For the purposes of examination, any two solid electrolyte layers would read on both solid electrolyte layers.
On page 2, claim 2 recites the limitation “…the edge on a surface…”. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Claim 2 depends on claim 1 which does not teach an edge. For the purposes of examination, the claim will be interpreted as reciting “…an edge on a surface…”.On Page 2, claim 2 recites “…to connect one of a pair of external electrodes…” then later reads “…to connect the other side of a pair of external electrodes…”. This limitation renders the claim indefinite as the scope of the limitation is unclear. It is unclear whether a different pair of electrodes is referred to when discussing the connection. For the purposes of examination, the claim will be interpreted as reciting “…to connect the other side of the pair of external electrodes…”.
Claim 4-5 and 10 recite the limitation "the first current collector layer" and “the first electrode active material” on pages 3-4 and 5. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Claims 4-5 and 10 depend on claim 1 which does not establish a first current collector layer and a first electrode active material. For the purposes of examination, the preamble of the claim will be interpreted as reciting the method according to claim 2.
On page 4, claim 6 recites the limitation “…each of the intermediate protective layers…”. There is insufficient basis for this limitation in the claim. Claim 6 depends on claim 1 which only discloses an intermediate protective layer. For the purposes of examination, the claim will be interpreted as reciting “…the intermediate protective layer…”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis (i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA ) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status.
basis for the rejections under this section made in this Office action:
Claim(s) 1, 2, 4, 6 and 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Masuko et al. (US 20220140386 A1).
With regards to claim 1, Masuko teaches a method for manufacturing a multi-layer ceramic battery (MLCB) (¶ 0091). Masuko teaches a method of manufacturing a solid-state battery where the solid electrolyte is made of a ceramic material (¶ 0091 and ¶ 0055 and ¶ 0142). Although Masuko does not specifically state that this is an MLCB, the method reads on a method for manufacturing a MLCB. Masuko goes on to teach that the method comprises: forming a laminated body by laminating a first solid electrolyte layer (3A) interposed between a plurality of unit battery cells , respectively (¶ 0155). Masuko teaches forming an intermediate protective layer (outermost solid-state electrolyte layer (3B)) to cover a surface of the laminated body (Fig. 1 and ¶ 0053 and ¶ 0058; Items 3B read on the intermediate protective layer). Masuko goes on to teach forming an outer protective layer (protective layer) to cover a surface of the intermediate protective layer (¶ 0137). Masuko teaches forming the intermediate and/or the outer protective layer to expose an end section of one side or the other side in the longitudinal direction of the laminated body (¶ 0064 and Fig. 1). Masuko teaches that the end sections of one side of each electrode layer is exposed (¶ 0064 and Fig. 1). This reads on the exposing an end section of one side or the other side in the longitudinal direction of the laminated body. Masuko teaches forming a pair of external electrodes (external terminals (6,7)) to connect each end surface of the laminated body, respectively and to partially surround one side or the other side in the longitudinal direction of the laminated body (¶ 0111 and Fig. 1; Fig. 1 shows the external electrodes partially surrounding the side of the laminated body in the longitudinal direction). Masuko teaches that the step of forming the laminated body comprises: forming a first electrode layer (1) to connect one of a pair of external electrodes on a surface of one side in the thickness direction of the second solid electrolyte layer (3A), respectively, for multiple unit battery cells (3A/1/3A/2); forming a second electrode layer (2) alternately with the first electrode layer and to connect the other surface of the pair of external electrodes at other surface of the thickness direction of the second solid electrolyte layer (¶ 0034, ¶ 0155 and Fig. 1). Masuko teaches forming a first side protective layer (margin layer (41)) to cover a side surface of the first electrode layer on one side surface in the thickness direction of the second solid electrolyte layer and forming a second side protective layer(margin layer (42)) on a surface of the other side in the thickness direction of the second solid electrolyte layer to cover a side surface of the second electrode layer. (¶ 0035 and Fig. 1). Masuko does not specifically teach a first or second electrolyte layer, however, as discussed above in the 112b rejection, any two solid electrolyte layers read on both solid electrolyte layers. Fig. 1 is shown below.
With regards to claim 2, Masuko teaches the step of forming a first electrode layer(1), comprises: forming a first current collector layer (1A) to be spaced apart from the edge on a surface on one side in the thickness direction of the second solid electrolyte layer(3A). As shown in Fig. 1 above, the electrode layer (1) which includes the current collector (1A) is spaced apart from the edge (close to the external electrode(7)) and the space is filled with the side protective layer (41). Masuko also teaches to align at an end of one side in the longitudinal direction of the second solid electrolyte layer and to connect one of a pair of external electrodes( external terminals (6,7)) (¶ 0036 and Fig. 1). In ¶ 0036, Masuko teaches that the electrode layer is connected to the external electrodes which reads on aligning an end to connect the electrode layer (1) to the terminal (7). Masuko also teaches forming a first electrode active material layer(1B) on a surface of one side in the thickness direction of the first current collector layer(1A) (¶ 0045 and Fig. 1). Masuko goes on to teach that the step of forming a second electrode layer(3A), comprises: forming a second current collector layer (2A) to be spaced apart from an edge on a surface on the other side in the thickness direction of the second solid electrolyte layer(3A) so as to alternate with the first electrode layer (¶ Fig. 1 and ¶ 0155). As shown in Fig. 1 above, the electrode layer (2) which includes the current collector (2A) is spaced apart from the edge (close to the external electrode(6)) and the space is filled with the side protective layer (42). Masuko also teaches that the electrode layers are alternately laminated which reads on forming the current collector to alternate with the first electrode layer (¶ 0015). Masuko also teaches to align at an end of the other side in the longitudinal direction of the second solid electrolyte layer and to connect the other side of a pair of external electrodes (external terminals (6,7)) (¶ 0036 and Fig. 1). In ¶ 0036, Masuko teaches that the electrode layer is connected to the external electrodes which reads on aligning an end to connect the electrode layer(2) to the terminal (6). Masuko also teaches forming a second electrode active material layer (2B) on the surface of the other side in the thickness direction of the second current collector layer (2A) (¶ 0045 and Fig. 1). Fig. 1 is shown above.
With regards to claim 4, Masuko teaches forming a first side protective layer, the first side protective layer is formed to cover side surfaces of each of the first current collector layer and the first electrode active material layer on one side surface of the second solid electrolyte layer in the thickness direction (¶ 0061 and Fig. 1, item 41), wherein in the step of forming a second side protective layer, the second side protective layer is formed to cover side surfaces of each of the second current collector layer and the second electrode active material layer on a surface of the other side in the thickness direction of the second solid electrolyte layer (¶ 0061 and Fig. 1, item 42). Fig. 1 is shown above.
With regards to claim 5, Masuko teaches the step of forming a first and second side protective layer, the side protective layers are formed by printing (¶ 0095 - ¶ 0096). Masuko does not specifically teach that the side margin layers have a surface area larger than that of the second solid electrolyte layers, and has a thickness equal to the sum of the thickness of the first current collector layer and the thickness of the first electrode active material layer. Forming the side protective layers into a U shape allows it to have multiple surface that contact the electrode layer and a specific surface area that is larger than that of the flat electrolyte layer as is consistent with Figs. 7 and 9 of the instant specification thus will be interpreted this way.
In Fig. 2 and ¶ 0063, Masuko discloses that the side protective layer is arranged to form a U shape around the electrode layer, contacting multiple surfaces of the electrode. In this case, the surface area of the printed side protective layer would be larger than that of the solid electrolyte layer. Fig. 2 also shows that the side protective layer has the same thickness as the sum of the thickness of the current collector and active material (electrode layer). In ¶ 0189, Masuko also teaches that the side protective layers are formed to have a height substantially equal to that of the electrode layer. Fig. 2 is shown below.
With regards to claim 6, Masuko teaches that the first and second side protective layers (side margin layers) are formed of a glass material (¶ 0065). Masuko also teaches that the outer protective layer (protective layer) is formed of a ceramic material (¶ 0089). Masuko teaches that the intermediate protective layer (outermost electrolyte layer (3b)) is formed by mixing an oxide-based solid electrolyte with a ceramic material. Masuko teaches oxide based solid electrolytes and ceramics as possible materials of the solid electrolyte layer (¶ 0055). Masuko also teaches that this solid electrolyte layer may be made of the same material as the side margin layer (¶ 0065). Masuko goes on to teach that this material may include SiO2, a ceramic material, in the solid electrolyte (¶ 0055 and ¶ 0065). As Masuko produces a material comprised of the solid electrolyte and the ceramic material, it would read on mixing the two materials.
With regards to claim 8, Masuko teaches that each of the first and second solid electrolyte layers is formed to have the same surface area (¶ 0057; 3A reads on both electrolyte layers as discussed in the 112b above). Masuko teaches using an oxide-based solid electrolyte, the oxide-based solid electrolyte is used one of Li-based glass, LLZO (Li7La3Zr2O12, 0<x<0.16) and NASICON (Li1+xAlxTi2-x(PO4)3, x=0, 0.3, and 0.5) (¶ 0055; Masuko teaches Li7La3Zr2O12 and Li1+xAlxTi2-x(PO4)3). The solid electrolyte could be one of three options and thus LLZO option was chosen, making the further limitation of the lithium-based glass an optional limitation due to the LLZO option being chosen.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Masuko et al. (US 20220140386 A1) as applied to claim 2, and in further view of Yoon et al. (US 20180114979 A1) and Wang et al.(Carbon black/graphene-modified aluminum foil cathode current collectors for lithium-ion batteries with enhanced electrochemical performances. Journal of Electroanalytical Chemistry).
With regards to claim 3, Masuko teaches that the first and second current collectors are formed by mixing one or more of metal and carbon, respectively, and the metal is formed by mixing at least one selected from silver (Ag), palladium (Pd), gold (Au), platinum (Pt), copper (Cu), nickel (Ni), aluminum (Al), and stainless steel (¶ 0044). Masuko goes on to teach that materials of the first and second electrode active material layers are used for active materials of different poles (¶ 0047; Masuko teaches a cathode and an anode active material). Masuko teaches that the material of the cathode active material is formed by mixing main composition, binder, and conductive additive agents (¶ 0046, ¶ 0048 and ¶ 0147). Masuko teaches that the main composition is one of LCO (LiCoO2), NCM (LiNiCoMnO2), LFP (LiFePO4), LMO (LiMn2O4), LNMO (LiNi0.5Mn1.5O4), and LNO (LiNiO2) (¶ 0047 - ¶ 0048). Masuko does not teach any specific conductive additives however, in ¶ 0046, Masuko teaches that the active material layers may contain a conductive additive or the like. In ¶0044, Masuko exemplifies aluminum (Al), zinc (Zn), gold (Au), palladium (Pd), platinum (Pt), tin (Sn) and silver (Ag) as highly conductive substances. Masuko also teaches that the anode active material used is at least one selected from LTO (Li4Ti5O12), carbon, graphene, and carbon nanotubes (¶ 0047 - ¶ 0048; LTO (Li4Ti5O12)). Masuko does not teach that the carbon in the current collectors is formed by mixing at least one of graphite, carbon fiber, carbon black, and carbon nanotube. Masuko does not teach that the binder includes an organic binder and an oxide-based solid electrolyte, however, Masuko teaches a polyvinyl butyral-based binder and an oxide-based solid electrolyte (¶ 0142 and ¶ 0055). Additionally, Masuko teaches that the active material is formed on the electrolyte layer (¶ 0152).
In a similar field of endeavor, Yoon teaches an active material composite particle for an all-solid battery (¶ 0010). Yoon teaches that this composite particle comprises a solid electrolyte bound to the surface of the active material via a binder (¶ 0011).
According to Wang, aluminum foils are a common current collector material, however, they have limited contact area, weak adhesion with electrode materials and localized corrosion by electrolytes. To mitigate these problems, Wang teaches carbon black/graphene modified aluminum foils as a current collector. Wang explains that the inclusion of these carbons largely improves electrochemical performances in rate capability, internal resistance and long-term cycling capacity retention.
As Masuko teaches the binder as a component of the active material and further discloses that the active material is formed on the electrolyte layer, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time the invention was effectively filed to include the binder in the solid electrolyte as taught by Yoon in the cathode active material layer taught by Masuko as this would predictably enable the adhesion of the electrolyte to the active material. It would have also been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to use the carbon black as taught by Wang as the carbon taught by Masuko in the current collector. This would predictably improve electrochemical performances in rate capability, internal resistance and long-term cycling capacity retention.
Claim(s) 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Masuko et al. (US 20220140386 A1) as applied to claim 1 above, and in further view of Hirose et al. (US 20190225547 A1) and Logunov et al. (US 20080106194 A1).
With regards to claim 7, Masuko teaches that the materials constituting the side protective layers are not particularly limited and may include glass (¶ 0065). Masuko does not teach that the glass is formed by mixing LAS and SVP glass.
In a similar field of endeavor, Hirose teaches a composite ceramic powder sealing material that includes a LAS-based ceramic power and TiO2 (¶ 0018). Hirose teaches that the LAS glass is formed by mixing LiO2 10 to 35% by weight, Al2O3 10 to 35% by weight, and SiO2 30 to 80% by weight (¶ 0014). Hirose also teaches that the LAS is formed to have an average particle diameter (D50) of 10 μm or less. (¶ 0025). In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990). Additionally, Hirose teaches that when the particle diameter is 10 μm or less, the powder is substantially free of microcracks (¶ 0025). Hirose also teaches that the composite ceramic powder has an average particle diameter of 1 to 3μm (¶ 0034). Hirose goes on to teach that the TiO2 content is 0.05 to 10% by mass (¶ 0033). Given the ranges taught by Hirose, the LAS glass may be formed to be 10 to 70% by weight of LAS. Hirose also teaches that other components may be included within a range of 10% or less (¶ 0032). However, Hirose does not teach an SVP glass.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time the invention was effectively filed to use the LAS glass as taught by Hirose in the side protective layers taught by Masuko as this would predictably seal the sides of the electrode layer while eliminating the occurrence of microcracks.
In a similar field of endeavor, Logunov teaches a glass package comprising a glass frit capable of forming a hermetic seal (¶ 0050). In one aspect, Logunov teaches an SVP frit base component comprising 0 to 40% by weight of Sb2O3, 30 to 60% by weight of V2O5, 20 to 40% by weight of P2O5, 0 to 20% by weight of TiO2, and 0 to 5% by weight of Al2O3 (¶ 0054-¶ 0056). In another aspect, Logunov teaches that a frit base component comprises SiO2 5 to 75% by weight and Al2O3 0 to 20% by weight(¶ 0067). In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990). Logunov also teaches that the frit may further comprise LiO2 to adjust the softening temperature, CTE, and/or absorbance of the frit composition (¶ 0082). Given the ranges taught by Logunov, the SVP glass may be formed to be 30 to 90 % by weight of SVP glass. Logunov goes on to teach that the frit can be formed by combing the desired base and absorbing components. Logunov also teaches that the frit may be formed into as a powder with an average particle diameter of approximately 1.9 μm (¶ 0084). Logunov does not teach the average particle diameter of the SVP glass powder, however, as the combined average particle diameter of the composite material is 1.9 μm, the SVP powder would have a particle size of about 1.9 μm as well.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to use the SVP glass as taught by Logunov in the modified side protective layers taught by Masuko in view of Hirose. This would predictably seal the electrode side ends, preventing moisture permeation in the battery.
Claim(s) 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Masuko et al. (US 20220140386 A1) as applied to claim 1, and in further view of Fukunaga et al. (US 20200066446 A1).
With regards to claim 9, Masuko teaches that in the step of forming a laminated body, the laminated body is formed in the shape of a chip of a rectangular parallelepiped (¶ 0155 and Fig. 2 shows a rectangular parallelepiped). Masuko does not specifically teach that the intermediate protective layer (outermost electrolyte layer) is formed by mixing an oxide-based solid electrolyte with a ceramic material. However, Masuko teaches oxide based solid electrolytes and ceramics as the material of the intermediate protective layer (¶ 0055). Masuko also teaches that the solid electrolyte layer may be made of the same material as the side margin layer (¶ 0065). Masuko goes on to teach that this material may include SiO2 in the solid electrolyte (¶ 0055 and ¶ 0065). Masuko teaches that in the step of forming a pair of external electrodes, the pair of external electrodes are formed by sequentially plating or dipping copper(Cu), nickel(Ni), and tin(Sn) respectively (¶ 0110 and ¶ 0087). Masuko teaches that the ceramic material is used one of Al2O3, SiO2, SiN, AlN and SiC (¶ 0055 and ¶ 0065). Masuko teaches that it is desirable to use durable, insulating, and moisture resistant materials such as ceramics to form the outer protective layer (¶ 0089). However, Masuko is silent on the thickness of this layer, prompting one of ordinary skill to look to prior art.
In a similar field of endeavor, Fukunaga teaches an electronic component comprising of a laminate body (¶ 0003). Fukunaga teaches an outer and intermediate protective layer (22a and 22b) formed of ceramic material (¶ 0087). Fukunaga teaches that the outer protective layer has a thickness of 5 to 95 μm (¶ 0050). In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990). Additionally, Fukunaga teaches that the inclusion of these protective layers improves moisture resistance, solidity, high-temperature reliability and voltage resistance (¶ 0053).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to form the outer protective layer taught by Masuko to have a thickness of 5 to 95 μm as taught by Fukunaga. This would be a sufficient thickness that would predictably improve the moisture resistance of the battery.
Claim(s) 1 and 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chung et al (KR-20160051057-A, translation used for citation) in view of Masuko et al. (US 20220140386 A1) and evidenced by Yu et al. (Review of garnet-type Li7La3Zr2O12 solid electrolyte: materials and interface issues. Journal of Materials Science).
With regards to claim 1, Chung teaches a method for manufacturing a multi-layer ceramic battery (MLCB), comprising: forming a laminated body by laminating a first solid electrolyte layer interposed between a plurality of unit battery cells (¶ 0006 and ¶ 0011). Chung teaches that the step of forming the laminated body comprises: forming a first electrode layer (cathode) and forming a second electrode layer (anode) alternately with the first electrode layer (¶ 0008). Chung does not teach any protective layers or external electrodes.
In a similar field of endeavor, Masuko teaches a method of manufacturing a solid-state battery where the solid electrolyte is made of a ceramic material (¶ 0091 and ¶ 0055 and ¶ 0142). Although Masuko does not specifically state that this is an MLCB, the method reads on a method for manufacturing a MLCB. Masuko also teaches that the method comprises: forming a laminated body by laminating a first solid electrolyte layer (3A) interposed between a plurality of unit battery cells, respectively (¶ 0155). Unlike Chung, Masuko teaches forming an intermediate protective layer (outermost solid-state electrolyte layer (3B)) to cover a surface of the laminated body (Fig. 1 and ¶ 0053 and ¶ 0058; Items 5A and 5B read on the intermediate protective layer). Masuko goes on to teach forming an outer protective layer (protective layer) to cover a surface of the intermediate protective layer (¶ 0137). Masuko also teaches forming a pair of external electrodes to connect each end surface of the laminated body, respectively and to partially surround one side or the other side in the longitudinal direction of the laminated body (¶ 0111 and Fig. 1). Masuko discloses that the step of forming the laminated body comprises: forming a first electrode layer to connect one of a pair of external electrodes on a surface of one side in the thickness direction of the second solid electrolyte layer (3A), respectively, for multiple unit battery cells; forming a second electrode layer alternately with the first electrode layer and to connect the other surface of the pair of external electrodes at other surface of the thickness direction of the second solid electrolyte layer (¶ 0034, ¶ 0155 and Fig. 1). Masuko teaches forming a first side protective layer (margin layer (41)) to cover a side surface of the first electrode layer on one side surface in the thickness direction of the second solid electrolyte layer and forming a second side protective layer(margin layer (42)) on a surface of the other side in the thickness direction of the second solid electrolyte layer to cover a side surface of the second electrode layer. (¶ 0035 and Fig. 1). Masuko also does not specifically teach forming the intermediate and/or the outer protective layer to expose an end section of one side or the other side in the longitudinal direction of the laminated body. However, Masuko teaches that the end sections of one side of each electrode layer is exposed (¶ 0064 and Fig. 1). This reads on the exposing an end section of one side or the other side in the longitudinal direction of the laminated body. Additionally, Masuko teaches Masuko teaches that the intermediate protective layer (3B) allows for a sufficient moisture resistance which provides high reliability and volumetric density (¶ 0058). Masuko also teaches that the outer protective layer electrically, physically, and chemically protects the laminated body (¶ 0089). In ¶ 0061, Masuko teaches that the side protective layers eliminate a step between the electrolyte and electrode layers, which increases the compactness between the electrolyte electrode layers, preventing delamination and warpage during processing. Masuko explains that the terminals are the electrical contacts to the outside (¶ 0036). Fig. 1 is shown below.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to include the terminals, intermediate, outer and side protective layers taught by Masuko in the method taught by Chung. Through the modification, the battery taught by Chung will have an intermediate layer as taught by Masuko on the surface of the laminated body taught by Chung. An outer protective layer as taught by Masuko will also be placed on a surface of the intermediate layer of Chung’s modified battery. Side protective layers as taught by Masuko will cover the side surfaces of the electrodes of Chung’s modified battery. The modified battery will further include the external electrodes (external terminals) taught by Masuko to partially surround the sides of the battery. This would predictably improve the battery by ensuring increased battery protection, high reliability and volumetric density, and reducing the occurrence of delamination and warpage during processing all while allowing for the battery usage through external electrodes (terminals).
With regards to claim 10, Chung teaches that the first and second solid electrolyte layers (ceramic electrolyte) are formed by a printing method or a sheet type to have a thickness of 10 to 30 μm (¶ 0022; tape casting). In ¶ 0014, Chung teaches Li7La3Zr2O12 (LLZO) as an example of the electrolyte used. Chung does not specifically teach the electrolyte having an ion conductivity of 10-3 to 10-4 S/cm. However, according to Yu, the room temperature conductivity of LLZO can reach 10-3 (Page 2, col 2). Chung teaches that the electrode active material layers are formed by printing method on the surface of the first current collector layer or the second current collector layer (¶ 0059; tape casting). Chung does not teach that the first and second current collector layers are formed on the surface of the solid electrolyte layer. However, Chung teaches that the active material layers are formed on the surface of the solid electrolyte layer by a printing method or a sheet type to have a thickness of 10 to 30 μm (¶ 0059; tape casting).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to rearrange the current collector to be on the surface of the solid electrolyte as the mere rearrangement of parts, without any new or unexpected results, is within the ambit of one of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Japikse, 86 USPQ 70 (CCPA 1950) (see MPEP § 2144.04).
Conclusion
/HUNSUYADOR MUGEESATU YUSIF/Examiner, Art Unit 1743
/ADAM J FRANCIS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1728