DETAILED ACTION
Application 18/323,920, “POUCH UNIT AND BATTERY CELL INCLUDING THE SAME”, was filed with the USPTO on 5/25/2023 and has a foreign priority document of KR10-2022-0162492 filed on 11/29/2022.
This office action is in response to communication filed on 5/25/2023.
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d). The certified copy has been filed in parent Application No. 18/323,920, filed on 6/26/2023.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 5/25/2023 and 6/13/2024 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I: Claims 1-16 in the reply filed on 3/16/2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 17-20 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected Group II: a method of manufacturing a pouch unit, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 3/16/2026.
Claim Objections
Claims 17-20 are objected to because they do not have the correct status identified. To overcome the objection, Examiner suggests that they should be withdrawn not amended. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 11-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 11 recites the limitation "the perimeter of the pouch sheet" in page 4. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 11 recites the limitation "the perimeter of the pouch sheet" in page 4. It is not clear if the aforementioned recitation refers to the first perimeter portion and/or the second perimeter portion. For examination purposes, the aforementioned recitation has been interpreted as “a perimeter of the pouch sheet”.
Claims 12-16 are rejected as they depend from, and therefore incorporate the claimed subject matter from claims rejected under this statute.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-5 and 11-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and (a)(2) as being anticipated by Kwon et al. (US 20190044106 A1) and evidenced by Kwon et al. (CN 108780857 A).
Regarding claim 1, Kwon et al. teaches a pouch unit (200, Fig. 2) comprising:
a pouch sheet (210/220, Fig. 2) having an inner surface (inner surface, see Examiner’s Annotated Fig. 2) and an outer surface (surface opposite inner surface, see Examiner’s Annotated Fig. 2) opposite the inner surface (inner surface, see Examiner’s Annotated Fig. 2);
an accommodation portion (211/221, Fig. 2) formed on the pouch sheet (210/220, Fig. 2), the accommodation portion forming an accommodation space (see 211/221 in the bottom figure, Fig. 2) that is open in a direction (direction, see Examiner’s Annotated Fig. 2) in which the inner surface faces (both 211/221 are open in direction, which is the same direction inner surface faces, see Examiner’s Annotated Fig. 2);
a perimeter portion (201/201’, Fig. 2) formed on the pouch sheet (210/220, Fig. 2), the perimeter portion (201/201’, Fig. 2) being positioned between a perimeter (outline of 210/220, Fig. 2) of the pouch sheet (210/220, Fig. 2) and the accommodation portion (211/221, Fig. 2); and
a notch portion (212/222, Fig. 2) formed alongside a side (left side of 211 adjacent to 212/right side of 221 adjacent to 222, see Fig. 2 ) of the accommodation portion (211/221, Fig. 2) at the perimeter portion (201/201’, Fig. 2), the notch portion (see 212/222, Fig. 3) being concave (see highlighted section of machine translation of CN 108780857 A) on the inner surface (inner surface, see Examiner’s Annotated Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 2, Kwon et al. teaches wherein a thickness (thickness 1, see Examiner’s Annotated Fig. 3) of the pouch sheet in the notch portion is smaller (thickness 1 smaller than thickness 2, see Examiner’s Annotated Fig. 3) than a thickness (thickness 2, see Examiner’s Annotated Fig. 3) of the pouch sheet in another area of the pouch sheet.
Regarding claim 3, Kwon et al. teaches wherein the notch portion (212/222, Fig. 2) includes:
a first notch portion (212, Fig. 2) formed alongside a first side (a side of 211, Fig. 2) of the accommodation portion at the perimeter portion (201/201’, Fig. 2), the first notch portion (212, Fig. 2) being concave (see highlighted section of machine translation of CN 108780857 A) on the inner surface (inner surface, see Examiner’s Annotated Fig. 2); and
a second notch portion (222, Fig. 2) formed alongside a second side (a side of 221, Fig. 2) of the accommodation portion at the perimeter portion (201/201’, Fig. 2), the second notch portion (222, Fig. 2) being concave (see highlighted section of machine translation of CN 108780857 A) on the inner surface (inner surface, see Examiner’s Annotated Fig. 2),
wherein the accommodation portion (211/221, Fig. 2) is positioned between the first notch portion (212, Fig. 2) and the second notch portion (222, Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 4, Kwon et al. teaches wherein the accommodation portion (211/221, Fig. 2) includes:
a first accommodation portion (211, Fig. 2) formed on the pouch sheet (210/220, Fig. 2), the first accommodation portion (211, Fig. 2) forming a first accommodation space (space of 211 in bottom figure, Fig. 2) that is open in the direction (direction, see Examiner’s Annotated Fig. 2) in which the inner surface faces (211 is open in direction, which is the same direction inner surface faces, see Examiner’s Annotated Fig. 2), the first accommodation portion (211, Fig. 2) being adjacent to the first notch portion (212, Fig. 2); and
a second accommodation portion (221, Fig. 2) formed on the pouch sheet (210/220, Fig. 2), the second accommodation portion (221, Fig. 2) forming a second accommodation space (space of 221 in bottom figure, Fig. 2) that is open in the direction (direction, see Examiner’s Annotated Fig. 2) in which the inner surface faces (221 is open in direction, which is the same direction inner surface faces, see Examiner’s Annotated Fig. 2), the second accommodation portion (221, Fig. 2) being adjacent to the second notch portion (222, Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 5, Kwon et al. teaches wherein the first accommodation portion (211, Fig. 2) is positioned between the second accommodation portion (221, Fig. 2) and the first notch portion (212, Fig. 2), and
wherein the second accommodation portion (221, Fig. 2) is positioned between the first accommodation portion (211, Fig. 2) and the second notch portion (222, Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 11, Kwon et al. teaches a battery cell (100, Fig. 1) comprising:
an electrode assembly (130, Fig. 1 ); and
a pouch unit (200, Fig. 2) accommodating the electrode assembly (130, Fig. 1), the pouch unit being sealed (sealed by thermal fusion, see Abstract),
wherein the pouch unit (200, Fig. 2) includes:
a pouch sheet (210/220, Fig. 2) having an inner surface (inner surface, see Examiner’s Annotated Fig. 2) contacting the electrode assembly (130, Fig. 1) and an outer surface (surface opposite inner surface, see Examiner’s Annotated Fig. 2) opposite the inner surface;
an accommodation portion formed (211/221, Fig. 2) on the pouch sheet (210/220, Fig. 2) and accommodating (when 210 and 220 are folded, also see [0022]) the electrode assembly (130, Fig. 1), the accommodation portion (211/221, Fig. 2) including a first accommodation portion (211, Fig. 2) facing a surface (bottom surface of electrode assembly 130, Fig. 1) of the electrode assembly and a second accommodation portion (221, Fig. 2) facing another surface (top surface of electrode assembly 130, Fig. 1) of the electrode assembly (when 210 and 220 are folded, see Fig. 2; 211 faces the bottom surface of 130, 221 faces the top surface of 130, also see [0065]);
a first perimeter portion (201, Fig. 2) formed on the pouch sheet, the first perimeter portion (201, Fig. 2) extending from the first accommodation portion (211, Fig. 2) and leading to a first pouch side (left side of 201, Fig. 2) of the perimeter (201/201’, Fig. 2; claim interpretation see U.S.C. 112b rejection) of the pouch sheet (210/220, Fig. 2);
a second perimeter portion (201’, Fig. 2) formed on the pouch sheet, the second perimeter portion (201’, Fig. 2) extending from the second accommodation portion (221, Fig. 2) and leading to a second pouch side (right side of 201’, Fig. 2) of the perimeter (201/201’, Fig. 2; claim interpretation see U.S.C. 112b rejection) of the pouch sheet (210/220, Fig. 2), the second perimeter portion facing and contacting the first perimeter portion (when 210/220 folded, 201 faces and contacts 201’, see folding arrow in Fig. 2; also see [0065]);
a first notch portion (212, Fig. 2) extending alongside a side (a side of 211, Fig. 2) of the first accommodation portion at the first perimeter portion (201, Fig. 2), the first notch portion (212, Fig. 2) being concave (see highlighted section of machine translation of CN 108780857 A) on the inner surface (inner surface, see Examiner’s Annotated Fig. 2) of the pouch sheet (210/220, Fig. 2); and
a second notch portion (222, Fig. 2) extending alongside a side (a side of 221, Fig. 2) of the second accommodation portion at the second perimeter portion (201’, Fig. 2), the second notch portion (222, Fig. 2) being concave (see highlighted section of machine translation of CN 108780857 A) on the inner surface (inner surface, see Examiner’s Annotated Fig. 2) of the pouch sheet (210/220, Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 12, Kwon et al. teaches wherein the first notch portion (212, Fig. 3) and the second notch portion (222, Fig. 3) face each other (212 and 222 face each other, see Fig. 3).
Regarding claim 13, Kwon et al. teaches wherein the first perimeter portion (201, Fig. 2) and the second perimeter portion (201’, Fig. 2) face each other and are coupled to each other (see [0065]).
Regarding claim 14, Kwon et al. teaches wherein the first notch portion (212, Fig. 3) is concave (see highlighted section of machine translation of CN 108780857 A) with reference to the second notch portion (222, Fig. 3), and
wherein the second notch portion (222, Fig. 3) is concave (see highlighted section of machine translation of CN 108780857 A) with reference to the first notch portion (212, Fig. 3).
Claims 1 and 9-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Lee et al. (US 20230207933 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Lee et al. teaches a pouch unit comprising:
a pouch sheet (120, Fig. 1) having an inner surface (surface of 122a forming 142, see Fig. 9) and an outer surface (top surface of 122c, Fig. 9) opposite the inner surface;
an accommodation portion (121, Fig. 1) formed on the pouch sheet (120, Fig. 1), the accommodation portion (121, Fig. 1) forming an accommodation space (accommodation space, where 110 sits, see Examiner’s Annotated Fig. 1) that is open in a direction in which the inner surface faces (direction; when 120 folded and sealed, it’s the direction which inner surface faces, see Examiners’ Annotated Fig. 1);
a perimeter portion (122, Fig. 1) formed on the pouch sheet (120, Fig. 1), the perimeter portion (122, Fig. 1) being positioned between a perimeter of the pouch sheet (left edge of 120, Fig. 1) and the accommodation portion (121, Fig. 1); and
a notch portion (142, see Fig. 9) formed alongside a side of the accommodation portion (bottom side of 121, see Fig. 2) at the perimeter portion (122, Fig. 9), the notch portion being concave on the inner surface (see 142b in Fig. 9).
Regarding claim 9, Lee et al. teaches wherein the notch portion (142, see Fig. 9) includes a first notch segment (first notch segment, see Examiner’s Annotated Fig. 9; note: it’s 142b of the 140 (boxed with portion “A” in Fig. 2), see Figs 2 and 9) and a second notch segment (second notch segment, see Examiner’s Annotated Fig. 9; note: it’s 142b of the 140 (on the left side in Fig. 2), see Figs 2 and 9) that are disposed between the side of the accommodation portion (bottom side of 121, see Fig. 2) and an edge of the perimeter portion (bottom edge of 122, see Fig. 2),
wherein the first notch segment is positioned between the second notch segment and the accommodation portion (the 140 having boxed with portion “A” is between the 140 on the left side and the side wall on the right side of 121, see Fig. 2), and
wherein a thickness of the pouch sheet in the first notch segment (thickness 1, see Examiner’s Annotated Fig. 9) is smaller than a thickness of the pouch sheet in the second notch segment (thickness 2, see Examiner’s Annotated Fig. 9).
Regarding claim 10, Lee et al. teaches wherein the notch portion (142, see Fig. 9) includes a first notch pattern (first notch pattern, see Examiner’s Annotated Fig. 9-1; note: it’s formed by three of 142b in the 140 (boxed with portion “A” in Fig. 2), see Figs 2 and 9) and a second notch pattern (second notch pattern, see Examiner’s Annotated Fig. 9-1; note: it’s formed by two of 142b in the 140 (on the left side in Fig. 2), see Figs 2 and 9) that are disposed between the side of the accommodation portion (bottom side of 121, see Fig. 2) and an edge of the perimeter portion (bottom edge of 122, see Fig. 2),
wherein each of the first notch pattern (first notch pattern, see Examiner’s Annotated Fig. 9-1) and the second notch pattern (second notch pattern, see Examiner’s Annotated Fig. 9-1) includes a plurality of notch segments (142b, see Fig. 9) that are concave on the inner surface (see concave part 142b, Fig. 9),
wherein the first notch pattern is positioned between the second notch pattern and the accommodation portion (the 140 having boxed with portion “A” is between the 140 on the left side and the side wall on the right side of 121, see Fig. 2), and
wherein a number density of the plurality of notch segments (three of 142b, see Examiner’s Annotated Fig. 9-1) in the first notch pattern (first notch pattern, see Examiner’s Annotated Fig. 9-1) is greater than a number density of the plurality of notch segments (two of 142b, see Examiner’s Annotated Fig. 9-1) in the second notch pattern (second notch pattern, see Examiner’s Annotated Fig. 9-1).
Claims 1-2 and 11-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and (a)(2) as being anticipated by Jo (US 20200373535 A1, provided on the IDs filed on 6/13/2024).
Regarding claim 1, Jo teaches a pouch unit (120, Fig. 1) comprising:
a pouch sheet (10, Fig. 7) having an inner surface (surface of 10 towards you, Fig. 7) and an outer surface (back surface of 10, Fig. 7) opposite the inner surface;
an accommodation portion (121, Fig. 1) formed (11a and 12a form 121, [0081]) on the pouch sheet (10, Fig. 7), the accommodation portion (121, Fig. 1) forming an accommodation space (space of 121, see Fig. 3) that is open in a direction in which the inner surface faces (11a and 12a form 121, both 11a and 12a open in the direction that surface of 10 faces, see Fig. 7);
a perimeter portion (first and second perimeter portion, see Examiner’s Annotated Fig. 7) formed on the pouch sheet (10, Fig. 7), the perimeter portion (first and second perimeter portion, see Examiner’s Annotated Fig. 7) being positioned between a perimeter of the pouch sheet (right side of 10, see Fig. 7) and the accommodation portion (121, Fig. 1, where 11a and 12a locate, Fig. 7); and
a notch portion (123a, Fig. 3) formed alongside a side of the accommodation portion (121, Fig. 3) at the perimeter portion (first and second perimeter portion, see Examiner’s Annotated Fig. 7), the notch portion being concave on the inner surface (see Fig. 3).
Regarding claim 2, Jo teaches wherein a thickness (thickness 1, see Examiner’s Annotated Fig. 3) of the pouch sheet in the notch portion is smaller than a thickness (thickness 2, see Examiner’s Annotated Fig. 3) of the pouch sheet in another area of the pouch sheet.
Regarding claim 11, Jo teaches a battery cell (110/120, Fig. 1) comprising:
an electrode assembly (110, Fig. 1); and
a pouch unit (120, Fig. 1) accommodating the electrode assembly (110, Fig. 1), the pouch unit being sealed (see Fig. 1),
wherein the pouch unit (120, Fig. 1) includes:
a pouch sheet (10, Fig. 7) having an inner surface (surface of 10 towards you, Fig. 7) contacting (when folded and sealed) the electrode assembly (110, Fig. 1) and an outer surface (back surface of 10, Fig. 7) opposite the inner surface;
an accommodation portion (121, Fig. 1) formed (11a and 12a form 121, [0081]) on the pouch sheet (10, Fig. 7) and accommodating the electrode assembly (110, Fig. 1), the accommodation portion (121, Fig. 1) including a first accommodation portion (11a, Fig. 7) facing a surface of the electrode assembly and a second accommodation portion (12a, Fig. 7) facing another surface of the electrode assembly (11a facing one surface of 110; 12a facing the other surface of 110, see Fig. 8);
a first perimeter portion (first perimeter portion, see Examiner’s Annotated Fig. 7) formed on the pouch sheet (10, Fig. 7), the first perimeter portion (first perimeter portion, see Examiner’s Annotated Fig. 7) extending from the first accommodation portion (11a, Fig. 7) and leading to a first pouch side (top side of 11, Fig. 7) of the perimeter of the pouch sheet;
a second perimeter portion (second perimeter portion, see Examiner’s Annotated Fig. 7) formed on the pouch sheet (10, Fig. 7), the second perimeter portion (second perimeter portion, see Examiner’s Annotated Fig. 7) extending from the second accommodation portion (12a, Fig. 7) and leading to a second pouch side (bottom side of 12, Fig. 7) of the perimeter of the pouch sheet, the second perimeter portion facing and contacting the first perimeter portion (when folded, see Fig. 8);
a first notch portion (first notch portion, see Examiner’s Annotated Fig. 3a) extending alongside a side of the first accommodation portion (right side of 11a, see Fig. 7) at the first perimeter portion (first perimeter portion, see Examiner’s Annotated Fig. 7), the first notch portion being concave (see Fig. 3) on the inner surface (surface of 10 towards you, Fig. 7) of the pouch sheet; and
a second notch portion (second notch portion, see Examiner’s Annotated Fig. 3a) extending alongside a side of the second accommodation portion (right side of 12a, see Fig. 7) at the second perimeter portion (second perimeter portion, see Examiner’s Annotated Fig. 7), the second notch portion being concave (see Fig. 3) on the inner surface (surface of 10 towards you, Fig. 7) of the pouch sheet.
Regarding claim 12, Jo teaches wherein the first notch portion (first notch portion, see Examiner’s Annotated Fig. 3a) and the second notch portion (second notch portion, see Examiner’s Annotated Fig. 3a) face each other (see Examiner’s Annotated Fig. 3a).
Regarding claim 13, Jo teaches wherein the first perimeter portion (first perimeter portion, see Examiner’s Annotated Fig. 7) and the second perimeter portion (second perimeter portion, see Examiner’s Annotated Fig. 7) face each other and are coupled to each other (see Fig. 8).
Regarding claim 14, Jo teaches wherein the first notch portion (first notch portion, see Examiner’s Annotated Fig. 3a) is concave (see Examiner’s Annotated Fig. 3a) with reference to the second notch portion (second notch portion, see Examiner’s Annotated Fig. 3a), and
wherein the second notch portion (second notch portion, see Examiner’s Annotated Fig. 3a) is concave (see Examiner’s Annotated Fig. 3a) with reference to the first notch portion (first notch portion, see Examiner’s Annotated Fig. 3a).
Regarding claim 15, Jo teaches wherein the pouch unit further includes:
a first gas chamber portion (first gas chamber portion, see Examiner’s Annotated Fig. 3a) formed at the first perimeter portion (first perimeter portion, see Examiner’s Annotated Fig. 7) and concave with reference to the second perimeter portion (second perimeter portion, see Examiner’s Annotated Fig. 7), the first gas chamber portion (first gas chamber portion, see Examiner’s Annotated Fig. 3a) being positioned between the first accommodation portion (11a, Fig. 7) and the first notch portion (first notch portion, see Examiner’s Annotated Fig. 3a) on the pouch sheet; and
a second gas chamber portion (124, Fig. 3) formed at the second perimeter portion (second perimeter portion, see Examiner’s Annotated Fig. 7) and concave with reference to the first gas chamber portion (first gas chamber portion, see Examiner’s Annotated Fig. 3a), the second gas chamber portion (124, Fig. 3) being positioned between the second accommodation portion (12a, Fig. 7) and the second notch portion (second notch portion, see Examiner’s Annotated Fig. 3a) on the pouch sheet.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 6 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kwon et al. (US 20190044106 A1) in view of Jo (US 20200373535 A1, provided on the IDs filed on 6/13/2024).
Regarding claim 6, Kwon et al. does not teach further comprising:
a first gas chamber portion formed at the perimeter portion and adjacent to the first accommodation portion, the first gas chamber portion forming a first hollow portion that is open in the direction in which the inner surface faces; and
a second gas chamber portion formed at the perimeter portion and adjacent to the second accommodation portion, the second gas chamber portion forming a second hollow portion that is open in the direction in which the inner surface faces.
Jo teaches further comprising:
a first gas chamber portion (first gas chamber portion, see Examiner’s Annotated Fig. 3a) formed at the perimeter portion (first perimeter portion/second perimeter portion, see Examiner’s Annotated Fig. 7) and adjacent to the first accommodation portion (11a, Fig. 7), the first gas chamber portion (first gas chamber portion, see Examiner’s Annotated Fig. 3a) forming a first hollow portion (first gas chamber portion is hollow, see Examiner’s Annotated Fig. 3a) that is open in the direction (direction 1, see Examiner’s Annotated Fig. 3a) in which the inner surface (the surface of first perimeter portion and second perimeter portion facing towards us, see Examiner’s Annotated Fig. 7) faces; and
a second gas chamber portion (124, Fig. 1) formed at the perimeter portion (first perimeter portion/second perimeter portion, see Examiner’s Annotated Fig. 7) and adjacent to the second accommodation portion (12a, Fig. 7), the second gas chamber portion (124, Fig. 1) forming a second hollow portion (see 124 in Fig. 3) that is open in the direction (direction 2, see Examiner’s Annotated Fig. 3a) in which the inner surface (the surface of first perimeter portion and second perimeter portion facing towards us, see Examiner’s Annotated Fig. 7) faces.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the outside peripheral portions taught by Kwon et al. by adding the gas pocket parts taught by Jo to collect a gas generated in the accommodation part (see Jo [0047]).
Regarding claim 7, Kwon et al. in view of Jo does not teach wherein the first gas chamber portion is positioned between the first notch portion and the first accommodation portion, and
wherein the second gas chamber portion is positioned between the second notch portion and the second accommodation portion.
Jo teaches wherein the first gas chamber portion (first gas chamber portion, see Examiner’s Annotated Fig. 3a) is positioned between the first notch portion (first notch portion, see Examiner’s Annotated Fig. 3a) and the first accommodation portion (11a, Fig. 7), and
wherein the second gas chamber portion (124, Fig. 1) is positioned between the second notch portion (second notch portion, see Examiner’s Annotated Fig. 3a) and the second accommodation portion (12a, Fig. 7).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to rearrange the relative locations of the first receiving part, the electrode lead groove on the first casing and the gas pocket; the second receiving part, the electrode lead groove on the second casing and the gas pocket taught by Kwon et al. in view of Jo and configure them to the same order taught by Jo because such configuration is known in the art (see Jo Fig. 3) for collecting a gas generated in the accommodation part (see Jo [0047]). Furthermore, it’s been held that rearrangement of parts is an obvious matter of design choice (see MPEP 2144.04-VI-C).
Claims 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kwon et al. (US 20190044106 A1) in view of Jo (US 20200373535 A1, provided on the IDS filed on 6/13/2024) in view of Son et al. (KR 101936058 B1, citation see machine translation, provided on IDS).
Regarding claim 8, Kwon et al. in view of Jo does not teach wherein the first notch portion is positioned between the first accommodation portion and the first gas chamber portion, and
wherein the second notch portion is positioned between the second accommodation portion and the second gas chamber portion.
Son et al. teaches wherein a first notch portion (first notch portion, see Examiner’s Annotated Fig. 6) is positioned between the first accommodation portion (first accommodation portion, see Examiner’s Annotated Fig. 6) and the first gas chamber portion (first gas chamber portion, see Examiner’s Annotated Fig. 6), and
wherein a second notch portion (second notch portion, see Examiner’s Annotated Fig. 6) is positioned between the second accommodation portion (130, Fig. 6) and the second gas chamber portion (140, Fig. 6).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to rearrange the relative locations of the first receiving part, the electrode lead groove on the first casing and the gas pocket part; the second receiving part, the electrode lead groove on the second casing and the gas pocket part taught by Kwon et al. in view of Jo and configure them in the same order as taught by Son et al. because such configuration is known in the art (see Son et al. Fig. 6) to collect the gas (see Son et al. [0043]). Furthermore, it’s been held that rearrangement of parts is an obvious matter of design choice (see MPEP 2144.04-VI-C).
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kwon et al. (US 20190044106 A1) in view of Son et al. (KR 101936058 B1, citation see machine translation).
Regarding claim 16, Kwon et al. does not teach wherein the pouch unit further includes:
a first gas chamber portion formed at the first perimeter portion and concave with reference to the second perimeter portion; and
a second gas chamber portion formed at the second perimeter portion and concave with reference to the first perimeter portion,
wherein the first notch portion is positioned between the first accommodation portion and the first gas chamber portion on the pouch sheet, and
wherein the second notch portion is positioned between the second accommodation portion and the second gas chamber portion on the pouch sheet.
Son et al. teaches wherein the pouch unit (100, Fig. 6) further includes:
a first gas chamber portion (first gas chamber portion, see Examiner’s Annotated Fig. 6) formed at the first perimeter portion (first perimeter portion, see Examiner’s Annotated Fig. 3-1) and concave (see Examiner’s Annotated Fig. 6) with reference to the second perimeter portion (second perimeter portion, see Examiner’s Annotated Fig. 3-1); and
a second gas chamber portion (140, Fig. 6) formed at the second perimeter portion (second perimeter portion, see Examiner’s Annotated Fig. 3-1) and concave (see Examiner’s Annotated Fig. 6) with reference to the first perimeter portion (first perimeter portion, see Examiner’s Annotated Fig. 3-1),
wherein the first notch portion (first notch portion, see Examiner’s Annotated Fig. 6) is positioned between the first accommodation portion (first accommodation portion, see Examiner’s Annotated Fig. 6) and the first gas chamber portion (first gas chamber portion, see Examiner’s Annotated Fig. 6) on the pouch sheet, and
wherein the second notch portion (second notch portion, see Examiner’s Annotated Fig. 6) is positioned between the second accommodation portion (130, Fig. 6) and the second gas chamber portion (140, Fig. 6) on the pouch sheet.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the peripheral portion of the battery cell taught by Kwon et al. by adding the gas collecting parts and placing them at the same locations taught by Son et al. to collect the gas (see Son et al. [0043]).
Conclusion
/NING CHEN/Examiner, Art Unit 1723 /TIFFANY LEGETTE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1723