DETAILED ACTION
This action is responsive to claims filed on 01/08/2026 and Information Disclosure Statements filed on 12 September 2024, 24 September 2024 and 17 February 2026.
Claims 1-2, and 4-20 are pending for examination.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Response to Amendment
Applicant’s arguments filed 01/08/2026 have been entered. The claims have been amended, original as follows:
Claims are amended: 1, 18.
Claims are original: 2, 4-17, 19-20.
Claims are cancelled: 3.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see Remarks, Pages 7-9, filed on 01/08/2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1, 18 under Asterjadhi (US 20230146138 A1). have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made Asterjadhi (US 20230146138 A1) in view of Jang et al. (US 20220377839 A1). Applicant arguing that I.) Asterjadhi alone does not disclose the newly amended limitation requiring the management frame to be sent “via the first setup link to be disabled.” The examiner agrees. Asterjadhi primarily discloses transmitting control and management signaling over a persistent “anchor link.” Therefore, the rejection of claims 1, 2 and 18 under 35 U.S.C 102 (a) (2) over Asterjadhi alone is withdrawn. II.) Applicant argues that the combination of Asterjadhi and hang fails to disclose or suggest the amended limitation. Specifically, the applicant asserts that:a) Jang does not disclose that the link disablement information is conveyed by a management frame delivered over the very link to be disabled; and b) Asterjadhi “teach away” from this combination because it prefers using a reliable always-on anchor link for management signaling. This arguments are not persuasive for following reasons:
Firstly, Jang explicitly teaches that the disablement information can be encapsulated in a management frame. Jang states: link enablement/disablement information may be included in a management frame, such as a beacon, a probe response. ¶[0265].
Secondly, Jang teaches “In case of disabling a link, link disablement information indicating that the first link is disabled may be transmitted through the first link”. ¶[0280], [0332], and [0359]. Therefore, the rejection of claim 1 and 18 under 35 U.S.C. 103 over Asterjadhi in view of Jang is maintained.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
9. Claims 1-2 and 18are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Asterjadhi (US 20230146138 A1) in view of Jang et al. (US 20220377839 A1). With regarding Claim 1, Asterjadhi disclose a multi-link wireless access point (AP), configured to exchange a plurality of frames via a plurality of setup links with a plurality of multi-link wireless non-AP stations in a wireless communication network, wherein the multi-link wireless AP comprises (See ¶[0006], [0026], [0035]-[0036], [0101]-[0102]. Disclosed the foundational multi-link wireless network architecture.[0026] In some implementations, establishing the multi-link association includes communicating multi-link capability parameters between the AP MLD and the non-AP MLD.
[0101] An AP MLD may operate multiple BSSs and supports a multi-link association with a non-AP MLD. Other terms may be envisioned for the various types of MLDs.-The AP MLD and a non-AP MLD may establish a multi-link association in which multiple links are enabled between the AP MLD and the non-AP MLD): a communication interface configured to send a management frame to at least one of the plurality of multi-link wireless non-AP stations operating on a first setup link of the plurality of setup links, wherein the management frame comprises information for the at least one of the plurality of multi-link wireless non-AP stations for identifying at least the first setup link of the plurality of setup links to be disabled (See ¶[0051]-[0056], [0110], [0104]-[0107],[0165]. Disclosed the use of a management frame transmitted via a specific link interface to a non-AP station, the specific identification of the target link for disablement within the management frames control fields.[0052] In some implementations, the first link is an anchor link of the multi-link association and the second link is an auxiliary link of the multi-link association.
[0053] In some implementations, the indication to activate or deactivate the second link is included in an aggregated control (A-Control) field of a first frame sent or received via the first link.[0054] In some implementations, the A-Control field has a specified format that includes a field for the indication to activate or deactivate the second link); and a processing circuitry configured to, in response to the management frame being sent by the communication interface, disable at least the first setup link (See ¶[0051]-[0054], [0106]. relationship where the APs processor executes the link disablement in response to the transmission of the deactivation signaling.)[0051] Another innovative aspect of the subject matter described in this disclosure can be implemented as an apparatus having a first STA interface configured to establish a first link between the first STA interface and a first BSS of an AP MLD as part of a multi-link association. The apparatus may have a second STA interface configured to establish a second link between the second STA interface and a second BSS of the AP MLD as part of the multi-link association. The apparatus may have a processor configured to output or obtain signaling, via the first STA interface, the signaling including an indication to activate or deactivate the second link. [0106] the non-AP MLD or the AP MLD may dynamically activate or deactivate the auxiliary link based on the availability of traffic associated with the TID.). Asterjadhi may not explicitly disclose wherein the communication interface is configured to send the management frame to the at least one of the plurality of multi-link wireless non-AP stations operating on the first setup link via the first setup link to be disabled by the multi-link wireless AP. However, in analogous art, Jang discloses wherein the communication interface is configured to send the management frame to the at least one of the plurality of multi-link wireless non-AP stations operating on the first setup link via the first setup link to be disabled by the multi-link wireless AP. (See FIG. 18, 22 and ¶[0006], [0011], [0226], [0265], [0280], [0317], [0359]. Disclosed teaches that the management frame containing the disablement information may be transmitted to the link to be deactivated. [0226]The PPDU of FIG. 18 may be used to transmit/receive frames of various types. -For example, the PPDU of FIG. 18 may be used for a management frame. An example of the management frame may include a beacon frame, a (re-)association request frame, a (re-)association response frame, a probe request frame, and a probe response frame. [0280] In case of disabling a link, link disablement information may be transmitted to the link to be deactivated, or the link disablement information may be transmitted through other links. For example, the information indicating that the first link is disabled may be transmitted through the first link and may be transmitted through the second link.)[0359] In case of disabling a link, link disablement information may be transmitted to the link to be deactivated, or the link disablement information may be transmitted through other links. For example, the information indicating that the first link is disabled may be transmitted through the first link and may be transmitted through the second link.) Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Asterjadhi teaches a multi-link wireless AP configured to exchange frames via plurality of setup links with plurality of multi-link wireless non-AP stations, where a management frame is sent to a non-AP station on a first setup link, the management frame comprising information identifying the first setup link to disabled, and processing circuitry disables the first setup link in response. And Jang teaches that the link disablement information may be transmitted via the link being disabled or via another link. This combination ensures that the disablement management frame can be sent to the non-AP station via the vary link that is about to be disabled. One would have been motivated to do this, because that disablement information may be transmitted on the link being deactivated, to ensure the non-AP station acknowledges the frame before the link is disabled, thereby avoiding traffic routing errors and improving power-saving efficiency (Jang ¶[0226], [0280], [0359]). With regarding Claim 2, Asterjadhi and Jang disclose the multi-link wireless AP of claim 1, Asterjadhi disclose wherein the plurality of setup links comprises at least one disabled setup link (See ¶[0042]-[0045], [0050], [0107].[0042] In some implementations, activating the second link includes deactivating the first link by causing the first STA interface to enter a doze state, switching one or more antennas from a first connection to the first STA interface to a second connection to the second STA interface, and causing the second STA interface to enter the awake state for multi-input-multiple-output (MIMO) communication using multiple antennas including the one or more antennas.
[0043] In some implementations, the first link is designated as an anchor link and the second link is designated as an auxiliary link during the multi-link association.
[0044] In some implementations, the method may include, after the multi-link association, changing the designation of the anchor link from the first link to the second link. The method may include deactivating the first link by causing the first STA to enter a doze state.
[0045] In some implementations, changing the designation includes implicitly designating the second link as the anchor link by activating the second link and deactivating the first link.), wherein the communication interface is further configured to send a further management frame to at least one of the plurality of multi-link wireless non-AP stations (See ¶[0021], [0050]-[0056], [0104]-[0105].[0021] In some implementations, the indication includes timing information related when to activate or deactivate the second link.[0050] Another innovative aspect of the subject matter described in this disclosure can be implemented as system including means for implementing any one of the above methods.[0104] Various aspects relate generally to signaling to manage the activation or deactivation of auxiliary links of a multi-link association. The signaling may enable that AP MLD and the non-AP MLD to select which links to activate for communication of traffic between them.) wherein the further management frame comprises information for the at least one of the plurality of multi-link wireless non-AP stations for identifying the at least one disabled setup link to be enabled (See ¶[0021], [0050]-[0056], [0104]-[0105], [0111].[0111] In some implementations, the AP MLD or the non-AP MLD may wake up or activate an auxiliary link that was previously deactivated using signaling described herein. Furthermore, the activation of an auxiliary link also may include activation of spatial multiplexing (SM) on the auxiliary link. SM power saving may be implemented for one or more links of a multi-link association. SM power saving refers to the use of single-stream communication for basic signaling and lower power consumption. At times when more data is communicated, additional RF chains may be activated to perform processing of different SM streams. In a multi-link association, the SM power saving may be used on an anchor link. When there is data to transmit or receive, an MLD may activate additional RF chains (for either or both the anchor link or auxiliary links) to take advantage of spatial multiplexing. When there is no data (or little data) to transmit or receive, the MLD may deactivate RF chains to conserve power.), and wherein the processing circuitry is further configured, in response to the further management frame being sent by the communication interface, to enable the at least one disabled setup link (See ¶[0021], [0050]-[0056], [0104]-[0105],[0047].[0047] In some implementations, the method may include receiving signaling, from the AP MLD, that indicates buffered downlink traffic for the non-AP MLD. The method may include determining one or more links of the multi-link association to activate for communication with the AP MLD based, at least in part, on an amount of the buffered downlink traffic.).
With regarding Claim 18, Asterjadhi disclose a method of operating a multi-link wireless access point (AP), configured to exchange a plurality of frames via a plurality of setup links with a plurality of multi-link wireless non-AP stations in a wireless communication network, wherein the method comprises (See ¶[0006], [0026], [0035]-[0036], [0101]-[0102]. Disclosed the foundational multi-link wireless network architecture.[0026] In some implementations, establishing the multi-link association includes communicating multi-link capability parameters between the AP MLD and the non-AP MLD.
[0101] An AP MLD may operate multiple BSSs and supports a multi-link association with a non-AP MLD. Other terms may be envisioned for the various types of MLDs.-The AP MLD and a non-AP MLD may establish a multi-link association in which multiple links are enabled between the AP MLD and the non-AP MLD): sending, by a communication interface of the multi-link wireless AP, a management frame to at least one of the plurality of multi-link wireless non-AP stations operating on a first setup link of the plurality of setup links, wherein the management frame comprises information for the at least one of the plurality of multi-link wireless non-AP stations for identifying at least the first setup link of the plurality of setup links to be disabled (See ¶[0051]-[0056], [0110], [0104]-[0107],[0165]. Disclosed the use of a management frame transmitted via a specific link interface to a non-AP station, the specific identification of the target link for disablement within the management frames control fields.[0052] In some implementations, the first link is an anchor link of the multi-link association and the second link is an auxiliary link of the multi-link association.
[0053] In some implementations, the indication to activate or deactivate the second link is included in an aggregated control (A-Control) field of a first frame sent or received via the first link.[0054] In some implementations, the A-Control field has a specified format that includes a field for the indication to activate or deactivate the second link); and a processing circuitry configured to, in response to the management frame being sent by the communication interface, disable at least the first setup link (See ¶[0051]-[0054], [0106]. relationship where the APs processor executes the link disablement in response to the transmission of the deactivation signaling.)[0051] Another innovative aspect of the subject matter described in this disclosure can be implemented as an apparatus having a first STA interface configured to establish a first link between the first STA interface and a first BSS of an AP MLD as part of a multi-link association. The apparatus may have a second STA interface configured to establish a second link between the second STA interface and a second BSS of the AP MLD as part of the multi-link association. The apparatus may have a processor configured to output or obtain signaling, via the first STA interface, the signaling including an indication to activate or deactivate the second link. [0106] the non-AP MLD or the AP MLD may dynamically activate or deactivate the auxiliary link based on the availability of traffic associated with the TID.). Asterjadhi may not explicitly disclose wherein the communication interface is configured to send the management frame to the at least one of the plurality of multi-link wireless non-AP stations operating on the first setup link via the first setup link to be disabled by the multi-link wireless AP. However, in analogous art, Jang discloses wherein the communication interface is configured to send the management frame to the at least one of the plurality of multi-link wireless non-AP stations operating on the first setup link via the first setup link to be disabled by the multi-link wireless AP. (See FIG. 18, 22 and ¶[0006], [0011], [0226], [0265], [0280], [0317], [0359]. Disclosed teaches that the management frame containing the disablement information may be transmitted to the link to be deactivated. [0226]The PPDU of FIG. 18 may be used to transmit/receive frames of various types. -For example, the PPDU of FIG. 18 may be used for a management frame. An example of the management frame may include a beacon frame, a (re-)association request frame, a (re-)association response frame, a probe request frame, and a probe response frame. [0280] In case of disabling a link, link disablement information may be transmitted to the link to be deactivated, or the link disablement information may be transmitted through other links. For example, the information indicating that the first link is disabled may be transmitted through the first link and may be transmitted through the second link.)[0359] In case of disabling a link, link disablement information may be transmitted to the link to be deactivated, or the link disablement information may be transmitted through other links. For example, the information indicating that the first link is disabled may be transmitted through the first link and may be transmitted through the second link.) Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Asterjadhi teaches a multi-link wireless AP configured to exchange frames via plurality of setup links with plurality of multi-link wireless non-AP stations, where a management frame is sent to a non-AP station on a first setup link, the management frame comprising information identifying the first setup link to disabled, and processing circuitry disables the first setup link in response. And Jang teaches that the link disablement information may be transmitted via the link being disabled or via another link. This combination ensures that the disablement management frame can be sent to the non-AP station via the vary link that is about to be disabled. One would have been motivated to do this, because that disablement information may be transmitted on the link being deactivated, to ensure the non-AP station acknowledges the frame before the link is disabled, thereby avoiding traffic routing errors and improving power-saving efficiency (Jang ¶[0226], [0280], [0359]).
Claims 4-5, 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Asterjadhi and Jang as applied to claim 1/18 above, and further in view of Kwon et al. (US 20210212156A1). With regarding Claim 4, Asterjadhi and Jang disclose the multi-link wireless AP of claim 1. Asterjadhi and Jang may not explicitly disclose wherein the management frame is a unicast management frame sent to one of the plurality of multi-link wireless non-AP stations, wherein the communication interface is configured to receive an acknowledgment frame from the one multi-link wireless non-AP station, in response to sending the management frame to the one multi-link wireless non-AP station. However, in analogous art, Kwon disclose wherein the management frame is a unicast management frame sent to one of the plurality of multi-link wireless non-AP stations, wherein the communication interface is configured to receive an acknowledgment frame from the one multi-link wireless non-AP station, in response to sending the management frame to the one multi-link wireless non-AP station (See FIG. 1-4 ¶[0074], [0044], [0045][0074] The management frame may be a beacon frame, a probe response frame, a (re)association response frame, or a new frame intended to indicate the link disablement. The management frame may be transmitted on one or more links 112 that the AP-MLD 104 operates. The management frame may be transmitted on the link being disabled or on another link that is different from the link being disabled. In an embodiment, the management frame may be transmitted on all active/enabled links that the AP MLD operates.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Asterjadhi teaches a multi-link wireless AP configured to exchange frames via plurality of setup links with plurality of multi-link wireless non-AP stations, where a management frame is sent to a non-AP station on a first setup link, the management frame comprising information identifying the first setup link to disabled, and processing circuitry disables the first setup link in response. And Kwon teaches that management frames sent as unicast to a specific non-AP station and that the AP receives an acknowledgment from that station as a part of standard 802.11 MAC management procedure. This combination provides a multi-link AP system where management frames are unicast to specific non-AP station and receipt of an acknowledgment is required for robust, reliable control.
One would have been motivated to do this, because Kwon discloses per-station link control via direct signaling exchanges between an AP MLC and a specific non-AP MLD. This approach ensures reliable and confirmed delivery of management control commands for setup link operations, enhancing robustness in link coordination and avoiding ambiguity in link-state transitions for individual stations ( Kwon ¶[[0044], [0045]).
With regarding Claim 5, Asterjadhi, Jang and Kwon disclose the multi-link wireless AP of claim 4. Asterjadhi disclosed Wherein the processing circuitry is configured to disable at least the first setup link, in response to the management frame being sent to the one multi-link wireless non-AP station and the acknowledgement frame being received by the communication interface (See FIG. 5A-5C, 10, 13 and ¶[0021], [0104]-[0107], [0134]-[0136], [0141], [0168].[0107] Some aspects more specifically relate to power saving techniques that involve activation or deactivation of auxiliary links. The signaling described in this disclosure may be used to realize power savings in a non-AP MLD. For example, a non-AP MLD may reduce the quantity of RF chains that would otherwise be activated and idle. In some implementations, the MLDs may utilize signaling on the anchor link to communicate status or information that would otherwise be signaled separately on the auxiliary links. In some implementations, the signaling may include timing information to coordinate the timing of communication via an auxiliary link or the timing for activation of the auxiliary link. In some implementations, an AP MLD may provide sufficient time for a non-AP MLD to energize an RF chain for an auxiliary link as part of the activation before transmitting data on the auxiliary link. Referred to as a “warm up” time, there may be a delay associated with preparing a second RF chain at the non-AP MLD. Signaling may ensure that sufficient warm up time is provided so that the non-AP MLD is ready to receive communication before the AP MLD sends communication on the auxiliary link.). Asterjadhi and Jang may not explicitly disclose in response to the management frame being sent to the one multi-link wireless non-AP station and the acknowledgement frame being received by the communication interface However, in analogous art, Kwon disclose in response to the management frame being sent to the one multi-link wireless non-AP station and the acknowledgement frame being received by the communication interface (See ¶[0013],[0068], [0074][0013] In an embodiment, a multi-link communications system comprises a first multi-link device, a second multi-link device, and at least one link associated with the first and second multi-link devices. The first multi-link device comprises a processor configured to receive a status change information of a link in the multi-link communications system for the first multi-link device from an enabled status to a disabled status, and in response to the status change information, at least partially reset parameters related to per-link operations for the link such that at least one of the parameters related to the per-link operations for the link is maintained after the link is disabled.[0068] If the first indication indicates that critical update has occurred, the non-AP MLD 104-1 accesses the link 112-1 after the non-AP MLD receives a particular frame that indicates the most recent information on the AP MLD's capabilities and/or operation of the link. The particular frame may be a probe response frame or a beacon frame. This frame may be transmitted on the link 112-1. Alternatively, the frame may be transmitted by an AP affiliated with the AP MLD 104 on another link, such as the AP 110-3 on the link 112-3.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Asterjadhi teaches that the AP transmits a management frame to a specific non-AP station, and after receiving an acknowledgment from the non-AP station, the AP disables the corresponding link. And Kwon teaches unicast management frames for disablement. One would have been motivated to do this, because Kwon discloses that an AP can initiate link release procedures via per-station unicast signaling , and that link deactivation can be made conditional upon successful reception of acknowledgment or status response from the receiving non-AP station, ensure a clean handover or shutdown. This feedback-driven disablement sequence would enhance link reliability and state synchronization between the AP and non-AP MLD (Kwon ¶[0068], [0074]).
With regarding Claim 20, Asterjadhi and Jang disclose the method of claim 18. Wherein the management frame is a unicast management frame (See ¶[0104]-[0107] ,[0168], [0013].[0104] This disclosure provides systems, methods, and apparatus, including computer programs encoded on computer-readable media, for multi-link communication. Various aspects relate generally to signaling to manage the activation or deactivation of auxiliary links of a multi-link association. The signaling may enable that AP MLD and the non-AP MLD to select which links to activate for communication of traffic between them. For example, the activation or deactivation of an auxiliary link may be signaled by explicit messaging, broadcast messaging, or as part of a data packet on the anchor link. The activation of an auxiliary link may be based on an amount or type of data buffered to send from an AP MLD to a non-AP MLD, or vice versa. An AP MLD may set up an anchor link to aid the non-AP MLD with power saving capability, throughput, reliability, or data separation. For example,
[0105] In accordance with this disclosure, signaling regarding multi-link associations may be sent or received on the anchor link. In some implementations, an AP MLD may indicate that it supports a multi-link association in the beacon frames or other discovery information that the AP MLD broadcasts so that the non-AP MLD can determine that the AP MLD supports multi-link association. When the AP MLD and the non-AP MLD establishes a multi-link association, a traffic identifier (TID) may be mapped to one or more links established by the multi-link association. In some implementations, each link in the multi-link association may be identified by a link identifier (Link ID) or other indicator to distinguish the links.), Asterjadhi and Jang may not explicitly disclose wherein the method further comprises receiving an acknowledgement frame, and wherein disabling at least the first setup link comprises disabling at least the first setup link, in response to sending the unicast management frame and receiving the acknowledgement frame. However, in analogous art, Kwon disclose wherein the method further comprises receiving an acknowledgement frame, and wherein disabling at least the first setup link comprises disabling at least the first setup link, in response to sending the unicast management frame and receiving the acknowledgement frame (See ¶[0068], [0074].[0068] If the first indication indicates that critical update has occurred, the non-AP MLD 104-1 accesses the link 112-1 after the non-AP MLD receives a particular frame that indicates the most recent information on the AP MLD's capabilities and/or operation of the link. The particular frame may be a probe response frame or a beacon frame. This frame may be transmitted on the link 112-1. Alternatively, the frame may be transmitted by an AP affiliated with the AP MLD 104 on another link, such as the AP 110-3 on the link 112-3.[0074] The management frame may be a beacon frame, a probe response frame, a (re)association response frame, or a new frame intended to indicate the link disablement. The management frame may be transmitted on one or more links 112 that the AP-MLD 104 operates. The management frame may be transmitted on the link being disabled or on another link that is different from the link being disabled. In an embodiment, the management frame may be transmitted on all active/enabled links that the AP MLD operates). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Asterjadhi teaches that an AP can send management frames to a non-AP station specifying changes such as link disablement, and can deactivate the link upon confirming the recipients awareness or upon successful completion of the management action. And kwon teaches use of unicast management frames for link configuration or reconfiguration, and specifically notes the importance of receiving an ACK before considering a critical control action to be complete and reliable. One would have been motivated to do this, because Kwon discloses that the AP may manage individual setup links using unicast signaling directed to a specific non-AP station, and that disablement of the link may be conditioned on receiving a corresponding acknowledgment, thereby ensuring synchronized link-state transitions, minimizes the risk of premature deactivation, and ensures that the station has received and processed the disablement request (Kwon ¶[0068], [0074]).
Claims 6, 16-17, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Asterjadhi and Jang as applied to claims 1, 18 above, in view of Chen et al. (US 20200351988 A1), and in further view of Kim et al. (US 20230199551 A1). With regarding Claim 6, Asterjadhi disclose the multi-link wireless AP of claim 1. Asterjadhi and Jang may not explicitly disclose wherein the management frame is a broadcast management frame, wherein the processing circuitry is configured to disable at least the first setup link, in response to the management frame being sent by the communication interface to all of the plurality of multi-link wireless non-AP stations operating on the first setup link. However, in analogous art, Chen disclose wherein the management frame is a broadcast management frame (See ¶[0012],[0017], [0019].[0012] the multi-link AP device is configured to encode the multi-link policy element for transmission in a beacon frame or a probe response frame. In some embodiments, the multi-link AP device is configured to encode the multi-link policy element for transmission in broadcast or unicast management frames.[0017] Embodiments disclosed herein define a way to specify and advertise the Multi-link policy enforced by a Multi-link AP device, which STAs have to comply with,) Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use Chen to modify Asterjadhi in order to dynamically disable a setup link by updating the TID-to-link mapping table to remove all mapping for the link and notifying all STA’s, as taught in Asterjadhi, wherein multi-link policies are encoded in broadcast management frames, as taught in Chen. One would have been motivated to do this, because allowing the AP to propagate link control instructions via broadcast signaling enable simultaneous control across multiple stations may help reduce signaling overhead, ensuring consistency in policy enforcement and minimizing latency for configuration changes (Chen ¶[0017], [0019]). However, neither Asterjadhi and Jang nor Chen may explicitly disclose wherein the processing circuitry is configured to disable at least the first setup link, in response to the management frame being sent by the communication interface to all of the plurality of multi-link wireless non-AP stations operating on the first setup link However, in analogous art, Kim disclose wherein the processing circuitry is configured to disable at least the first setup link, in response to the management frame being sent by the communication interface to all of the plurality of multi-link wireless non-AP stations operating on the first setup link (See ¶[0365], [0306].[0365] Similarly, an MLD transmitting the TID-to-link mapping element by including the same in the (re)association response frame may need to indicate (suggest) preferred TID mapping only for a link for which setup is accepted. That is, the MLD transmitting the TID-to-link mapping element by including the same in the (re)association response frame needs to always configure a bit (of a TID-to-link mapping element) of a link ID corresponding to a link for which setup with the counterpart MLD is not accepted as 0.) Furthermore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use Kim to modify the combined teachings of Asterjadhi and Chen in order to perform immediate link disablement in response to the broadcast management frame. One would have been motivated to do this, because Kim discloses that multi-link Aps may take immediate reconfiguration or disablement actions based on broadcast signaling, such as triggering power-saving operations or resource reallocation, thereby reducing energy consumption and avoiding interference in time-sensitive scenarios (Kim ¶[0365], [0306]). With regarding Claim 16, Asterjadhi- Jang-Chen-Kim disclose the multi-link wireless AP of claim 6. Asterjadhi and Jang in view of Chen may not explicitly disclose wherein the information of the management frame comprises a plurality of bitmaps, wherein the plurality of bitmaps define, for one or more of the plurality of TIDs and for at least two of the plurality of multi-link wireless non-AP stations, the one or more of the plurality of setup links to which the TID is mapped, wherein the management frame further comprises information for associating the one or more bitmaps with each of the at least two of the plurality of multi-link wireless non-AP stations, and wherein each bitmap defines the one or more of the plurality of setup links to which the respective TID is mapped. However, in analogous art, Kim discloses wherein the information of the management frame comprises a plurality of bitmaps (See ¶[0279], [0287], [0410].[0279] In this case, the responding MLD may transmit TID-to-link mapping response frame #1 including a TID-to-link mapping element to the initiating MLD, as a response to TID-to-link mapping request frame #1 received from the initiating MLD. In this case, when configuring the TID-to-link mapping element, the responding MLD may indicate (counter-propose) mapping of TIDs 4 and 5 to Link 2 and mapping of TIDs 6 and 7 to Link 3, so as to indicate that the mapping of TIDs 0 to 3 to Link 1 has been accepted and the mapping of TIDs 4 to 7 to Link 3 has been rejected.[0287] To sum up, when each MLD proposes/counter-proposes a TID-to-link mapping state to a counterpart MLD through a TID-to-link mapping request/response frame transmitted by each MLD itself, each MLD needs to perform TID-to-link mapping in consideration of a maximum number of link sets which can be supported by each MLD itself and a maximum number of link sets of the counterpart MLD, identified through the TID-to-link mapping supported subfield. That is, the initiating MLD transmitting the request frame should not (explicitly/implicitly) indicate link sets exceeding min(the number of link sets supported by the initiating MLD itself, the number of link sets supported by the responding MLD) through the TID-to-link mapping element of the request frame. Similarly, the responding MLD transmitting the response frame should not (explicitly/implicitly) indicate (counter-propose) link sets exceeding min(the number of link sets supported by the responding MLD itself, the number of link sets supported by the initiating MLD) through the TID-to-link mapping element of the response frame.)), wherein the plurality of bitmaps define, for one or more of the plurality of TIDs and for at least two of the plurality of multi-link wireless non-AP stations, the one or more of the plurality of setup links to which the TID is mapped (See ¶[0306], [0410].[0306] As illustrated in FIG. 19, the AP MLD may indicate, through the unsolicited TID-to-link mapping request frame, that the AP MLD desires to map TIDs 0 to 3 to Link 1, TIDs 4 and 5 to Link 2, and TIDs 6 and 7 to Link 3.[0410] Before transmitting the request frame, the MLD may receive, from the counterpart MLD, a frame including second mapping information for configuration of a mapping relationship for one or more of multiple TIDs and one or more links. That is, the MLD may receive, from the counterpart MLD, an unsolicited TID-to-link mapping response frame including the second mapping information for a preferred mapping relationship for one or more TIDs and one or more links.), wherein the management frame further comprises information for associating the one or more bitmaps with each of the at least two of the plurality of multi-link wireless non-AP stations, and wherein each bitmap defines the one or more of the plurality of setup links to which the respective TID is mapped (See ¶[0279], [0381][0381] In addition, each bit of the link mapping of TID field corresponds to a link for which setup is performed. For example, in a TID-to-link mapping element transmitted/received between two MLDs for which ML setup has been performed through link ID 0, link ID 3, and link ID 7, a link mapping of TID field may have a 3-bit size, the first bit of each link mapping of TID field may correspond to link ID 0, 0 the second bit may correspond to link ID 3, and the third bit may correspond to link ID 7. That is, when a bit corresponding to link ID 3 of a link mapping TID field for a specific TID (link mapping of TID “specific TID” field) is indicated as 1, the specific TID may be requested (proposed) to be mapped to a link having a link ID corresponding to 3.). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use Kim to modify the system of Asterjadhi, Jang and Chen in order to include, in the broadcast management frame, a plurality of TID-to-link mapping bitmaps, each associated with one or more non-AP stations. This combination would efficiency, scalability, and protocol clarity; aligns with routine wireless management signaling. One would have been motivated to do this, because Kim discloses dynamic mapping of TIDs to links and use of structured bitmap fields to represent these mappings efficiently in a frame transmitted by a AP to non-AP stations. Incorporating this structure would allow for compact, per-station and per-TID link assignment, facilitating targeted traffic distribution, enhancing flexibility, and minimizing control overhead in dense multi-link deployments (Kim ¶[0306], [0365]).
With regarding Claim 17, Asterjadhi-Jang -Chen-Kim disclose the multi-link wireless AP of claim 16.
Asterjadhi and Jang in view of Kim may not explicitly disclose wherein the plurality of bitmaps comprise: for each of the one or more of the plurality of TIDs, a single bitmap defining for the plurality of multi-link wireless non-AP stations the one or more of the plurality of setup links to which the TID is mapped to. However, in analogous art, Chen disclose wherein the plurality of bitmaps comprise: for each of the one or more of the plurality of TIDs, a single bitmap defining for the plurality of multi-link wireless non-AP stations the one or more of the plurality of setup links to which the TID is mapped to (See ¶[0012], [0017]-[0020].[0012] In some embodiments, the multi-link AP device is configured to encode the multi-link policy element for transmission in a beacon frame or a probe response frame. In some embodiments, the multi-link AP device is configured to encode the multi-link policy element for transmission in broadcast or unicast management frames.[0017] Embodiments disclosed herein define a way to specify and advertise the multi-link policy enforced by a Multi-link AP device, which STAs have to comply with. [0018] The Multi-link Policy is included in frames like Beacon frame and Probe Response frame. [0019] The Multi-link AP device can dynamically adjust certain parameters of Multi-band Policy according to specific use cases it currently focuses, by simply updating the Multi-link Policy and advertising it to STAs. [0020] This Multi-link Policy could be a separate element, or part of another element.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use Chen to modify the system of Asterjadhi, Jang in order to include, for each TID, a shared bitmap applicable to all stations, thereby reducing overhead and simplifying signaling. One would have been motivated to do this, because encoding multiple control information into structured elements such as bitmaps in management frame as Chen disclosed, and further indicates that link control policies can be uniformly applied across multiple STAs using broadcast signaling. By using a single bitmap per TID, the AP reduces message complexity and avoids duplicating TID-link mapping for each STA, thereby improving encoding efficiency and enabling simplified and scalable policy enforcement across multi-link devices (Chen ¶[0012], [0020]). With regarding Claim 19, Asterjadhi and Jang disclose the method of claim 18. Asterjadhi and Jang may not explicitly disclose wherein the management frame is a broadcast management frame, and wherein disabling at least the first setup link comprises immediately disabling at least the first setup link, in response to sending the broadcast management frame. However, in analogous art, Chen disclose wherein the management frame is a broadcast management frame (See ¶[0012],[0017], [0019].[0012] the multi-link AP device is configured to encode the multi-link policy element for transmission in a beacon frame or a probe response frame. In some embodiments, the multi-link AP device is configured to encode the multi-link policy element for transmission in broadcast or unicast management frames.[0017] Embodiments disclosed herein define a way to specify and advertise the Multi-link policy enforced by a Multi-link AP device, which STAs have to comply with,) Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use Chen to modify Asterjadhi in order to allow the multi-link AP to disable the setup link via broadcast signaling rather than unicast, because broadcasting enables the AP to apply the same policy uniformly to all associated non-AP stations operating on the link. One would have been motivated to do this, because Chen discloses broadcasting multi-link policy information to multiple non-AP stations via management frames, and indicates that such broadcasts can be used to apply control policies, such as dynamic adjustment of active links, in a synchronized and efficient manner (Chen ¶[0012],[0017], [0019]). However, neither Asterjadhi and Jang nor Chen may explicitly disclose wherein the processing circuitry is configured to disable at least the first setup link, in response to the management frame being sent by the communication interface to all of the plurality of multi-link wireless non-AP stations operating on the first setup link. However, in analogous art, Kim disclose wherein the processing circuitry is configured to disable at least the first setup link, in response to the management frame being sent by the communication interface to all of the plurality of multi-link wireless non-AP stations operating on the first setup link (See ¶[0365], [0306].[0365] Similarly, an MLD transmitting the TID-to-link mapping element by including the same in the (re)association response frame may need to indicate (suggest) preferred TID mapping only for a link for which setup is accepted. That is, the MLD transmitting the TID-to-link mapping element by including the same in the (re)association response frame needs to always configure a bit (of a TID-to-link mapping element) of a link ID corresponding to a link for which setup with the counterpart MLD is not accepted as 0.) Furthermore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use Kim to further modify the combination of Asterjadhi and Chen in order to trigger immediate disablement of the setup link upon sending the broadcast frame. One would have been motivated to do this, because Kim discloses fast execution of control actions triggered by broadcast signaling to ensure responsiveness and reduce unnecessary transmission or delay. This results in better coordination, reduced latency, and improved performance in time-sensitive link control scenarios (Kim ¶[0365], [0306]).
Claims 7-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Asterjadhi and Jang as applied to claim 1 above, in view of Ko et al. (US 20230076285 A1). and in further view of Kim.
With regarding Claim 7, Asterjadhi and Jang disclose the multi-link wireless AP of claim 1. Asterjadhi and Jang may not explicitly disclose wherein the plurality of frames comprises a plurality of data frames, wherein each data frame comprises a corresponding transmission identifier (TID) of a plurality of TIDs to which each data frame corresponds, and wherein the processing circuitry is configured to map each TID to one or more of the plurality of setup links However, in analogous art, Ko disclose wherein the plurality of frames comprises a plurality of data frames, wherein each data frame comprises a corresponding transmission identifier (TID) of a plurality of TIDs to which each data frame corresponds, (See FIG. 10 and ¶[0125], [0126], [0009], [0025].[0125] In addition, a mapping between a traffic identifier (TID) and a link may be set up. Specifically, frames corresponding to a TID of a particular value may only be interchanged through a pre-specified link. The mapping between the TID and the link may be set up with directional-based. For example, when a plurality of links is set up between the first multi-link device and the second multi-link device, the first multi-link device may be set to transmit a frame of the first TID to the plurality of first links, and the second multi-link device may be set to transmit a frame of the second TID to the first link. In addition, there may be a default setting for the mapping between the TID and the link. Specifically, in the absence of additional setup in the multi-link setup, the multi-link device may exchange frames corresponding to the TID at each link according to the default setting. In this case, the default setting may be that all the TIDs are exchanged in any one link.) Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use Ko to modify Asterjadhi in order to provide TID fields in each data frame, enabling the AP to distinguish traffic classes and perform traffic- aware scheduling. This enhances frame handling, prioritization, and system scalability in multi-link environment. One would have been motivated to do this, because Ko disclose that the AP processes and mechanism to associate these TIDs with specific communication links, enabling link-level scheduling and traffic steering based on service requirements (Ko ¶[0125], [0126]). However, neither Asterjadhi nor Ko may explicitly disclose wherein the processing circuitry is configured to map each TID to one or more of the plurality of setup links. However, in analogous art, Kim disclose wherein the processing circuitry is configured to map each TID to one or more of the plurality of setup links (See ¶[0279], [0306], [0381], [0410].[0381] In addition, each bit of the link mapping of TID field corresponds to a link for which setup is performed. For example, in a TID-to-link mapping element transmitted/received between two MLDs for which ML setup has been performed through link ID 0, link ID 3, and link ID 7, a link mapping of TID field may have a 3-bit size, the first bit of each link mapping of TID field may correspond to link ID 0, 0 the second bit may correspond to link ID 3, and the third bit may correspond to link ID 7. That is, when a bit corresponding to link ID 3 of a link mapping TID field for a specific TID (link mapping of TID “specific TID” field) is indicated as 1, the specific TID may be requested (proposed) to be mapped to a link having a link ID corresponding to 3.) Furthermore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use Kim to further modify the combination of Asterjadhi and Ko in order to implement TID-to-link mapping circuitry, allowing each data frame to be routed dynamically across the most appropriate setup links. This combinations provides a multi-link wireless AP processes data frames, each with a TID, and uses processing circuitry to map each TID to one or more setup links. One would have been motivated to do this, because Kim discloses such mapping mechanism and bitmap structures with management frames used to configure multi-link operations, thereby allowing the AP to optimize traffic flow and quality of service (Kim ¶[0306], [0381]).
With regarding Claim 8, Asterjadhi- Jang-Ko-Kim disclose the multi-link wireless AP of claim 7. Asterjadhi and Ko may explicitly disclose wherein the communication interface is configured to send each data frame, depending on the TID of the data frame, via the one or more setup links the TID is mapped to. However, in analogous art, Kim disclose wherein the communication interface is configured to send each data frame, depending on the TID of the data frame, via the one or more setup links the TID is mapped to (See FIG. 19 and ¶[0279],[0287], [0306], [0381].[0306] As illustrated in FIG. 19, the AP MLD may indicate, through the unsolicited TID-to-link mapping request frame, that the AP MLD desires to map TIDs 0 to 3 to Link 1, TIDs 4 and 5 to Link 2, and TIDs 6 and 7 to Link 3.[0381] In addition, each bit of the link mapping of TID field corresponds to a link for which setup is performed. For example, in a TID-to-link mapping element transmitted/received between two MLDs for which ML setup has been performed through link ID 0, link ID 3, and link ID 7, a link mapping of TID field may have a 3-bit size, the first bit of each link mapping of TID field may correspond to link ID 0, 0 the second bit may correspond to link ID 3, and the third bit may correspond to link ID 7. That is, when a bit corresponding to link ID 3 of a link mapping TID field for a specific TID (link mapping of TID “specific TID” field) is indicated as 1, the specific TID may be requested (proposed) to be mapped to a link having a link ID corresponding to 3.) Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use Kim to further modify the Asterjadhi and Ko combination, such that AP transmits each data frame based on the TID-to-link mapping associated with frames TID. This combination disclose TID-based routing, mapping of TIDs to specific setup links, and Frame transmission following the mapping. One would have been motivated to do this, because Kim discloses per-TID transmission logic where the AP selects the appropriate links for sending data based on TID-to-link mappings, thereby optimizing transmission scheduling and resource use (Kim ¶[0306], [0381]).
With regarding Claim 9, Asterjadhi- Jang-Ko-Kim disclose the multi-link wireless AP of claim 7. Asterjadhi, Jang and Ko may not explicitly disclose wherein the information of the management frame comprises, for one or more of the plurality of TIDs, a bitmap defining the one or more of the plurality of setup links to which each TID is mapped to. However, in analogous art, Kim disclose wherein the information of the management frame comprises, for one or more of the plurality of TIDs, a bitmap defining the one or more of the plurality of setup links to which each TID is mapped to (See FIG. 18 and ¶[0279],[0287], [0381].[0279] In this case, the responding MLD may transmit TID-to-link mapping response frame #1 including a TID-to-link mapping element to the initiating MLD, as a response to TID-to-link mapping request frame #1 received from the initiating MLD. In this case, when configuring the TID-to-link mapping element, the responding MLD may indicate (counter-propose) mapping of TIDs 4 and 5 to Link 2 and mapping of TIDs 6 and 7 to Link 3, so as to indicate that the mapping of TIDs 0 to 3 to Link 1 has been accepted and the mapping of TIDs 4 to 7 to Link 3 has been rejected.). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use Kim to modify the Asterjadhi and Ko combination, in order to encode TID-to-link mapping information as bitmaps with management frame, This combination would recognize that bitfields and structured fields are routine design choices for compact link-specific signaling. One would have been motivated to do this, because Kim discloses such bitmaps in signaling frames to inform stations how each TID maps to one or more active links, which simplifies TID-link configuration in multi-link environments (Kim [0287], [0381].)
With regarding Claim 10, Asterjadhi- Jang-Ko-Kim disclose the multi-link wireless AP of claim 9. Asterjadhi, Jang and Ko may not explicitly disclose wherein the bitmaps defining the one or more of the plurality of setup links to which each TID is mapped are valid until the communication interface sends a further management frame which includes the bitmaps defining the one or more of the plurality of setup links to which each TID is mapped, to the at least one of the plurality of multi-link wireless non-AP stations. However, in analogous art, Kim disclose wherein the bitmaps defining the one or more of the plurality of setup links to which each TID is mapped are valid until the communication interface sends a further management frame which includes the bitmaps defining the one or more of the plurality of setup links to which each TID is mapped, to the at least one of the plurality of multi-link wireless non-AP stations (See FIG. 16-17 and ¶[0279],[0287], [0410].[0287] To sum up, when each MLD proposes/counter-proposes a TID-to-link mapping state to a counterpart MLD through a TID-to-link mapping request/response frame transmitted by each MLD itself, each MLD needs to perform TID-to-link mapping in consideration of a maximum number of link sets which can be supported by each MLD itself and a maximum number of link sets of the counterpart MLD, identified through the TID-to-link mapping supported subfield. That is, the initiating MLD transmitting the request frame should not (explicitly/implicitly) indicate link sets exceeding min(the number of link sets supported by the initiating MLD itself, the number of link sets supported by the responding MLD) through the TID-to-link mapping element of the request frame. Similarly, the responding MLD transmitting the response frame should not (explicitly/implicitly) indicate (counter-propose) link sets exceeding min(the number of link sets supported by the responding MLD itself, the number of link sets supported by the initiating MLD) through the TID-to-link mapping element of the response frame.[0410] Before transmitting the request frame, the MLD may receive, from the counterpart MLD, a frame including second mapping information for configuration of a mapping relationship for one or more of multiple TIDs and one or more links. That is, the MLD may receive, from the counterpart MLD, an unsolicited TID-to-link mapping response frame including the second mapping information for a preferred mapping relationship for one or more TIDs and one or more links.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use Kim to modify Asterjadhi and Ko systems to define that the TID-to-link mapping bitmaps are valid only until a further management frame is received, and that new management frame replaces the existing mapping. This combination ensure bitmaps remain valid until explicitly updated. One would have been motivated to do this, because Kim discloses temporal validity of configuration bitmaps, and that they are replaced upon reception of a new frame with updated mappings, ensuring reliable and versioned control of TID-link assignments (Kim ¶[0279], [0287], [0410]).
With regarding Claim 11, Asterjadhi- Jang -Ko-Kim disclose the multi-link wireless AP of claim 9. Asterjadhi, Jang and Ko may not explicitly disclose wherein for at least the first setup link to be disabled by the multi-link wireless AP, each bitmap defines that none of the plurality of TIDs is mapped to at least the first setup link to be disabled by the multi-link wireless AP.
However, in analogous art, Kim disclose wherein for at least the first setup link to be disabled by the multi-link wireless AP, each bitmap defines that none of the plurality of TIDs is mapped to at least the first setup link to be disabled by the multi-link wireless AP (See FIG. 21 and ¶[0365], [0381]-[0382], [0410], [0279], [0306].[0365] Similarly, an MLD transmitting the TID-to-link mapping element by including the same in the (re)association response frame may need to indicate (suggest) preferred TID mapping only for a link for which setup is accepted. That is, the MLD transmitting the TID-to-link mapping element by including the same in the (re)association response frame needs to always configure a bit (of a TID-to-link mapping element) of a link ID corresponding to a link for which setup with the counterpart MLD is not accepted as 0.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use Kim to modify the Asterjadhi and Ko combination, such that the bitmap structure reflects the disablement of a setup link by showing zero mapping to it for all TIDs. This combination provides a simple, protocol- compliant way to disable a link by TID mapping. One would have been motivated to do this, because Kim discloses how bitmap values can indicate all-zero mapping for link, which implies no active TID traffic on that link and justifies its disablement, thus integrating link control directly into the mapping structure (Kim ¶[0365], [0381]-[0382]).
With regarding Claim 12, Asterjadhi- Jang -Ko-Kim disclose the multi-link wireless AP of claim 9. Asterjadhi, Jang and Ko may not explicitly disclose wherein the plurality of TIDs comprises up to 8 TIDs, and wherein the bitmap for each TID comprises 2 octets. However, in analogous art, Kim disclose wherein the plurality of TIDs comprises up to 8 TIDs, and wherein the bitmap for each TID comprises 2 octets. (See ¶[0321], [0380], [0009], [0025].[0380] When a link mapping of TID field has a 3-bit size and link mapping of TID fields for three TIDs are included in a TID-to-link mapping element, the link mapping of TID fields may have a size of a total of 9 bits. In this case, a 7-bit padding field may be included in the TID-to-link mapping element so that the size of the link mapping of TID fields+the size of the padding field may be configured as 2 octets.[0321] A link mapping of TID 0-7 field includes two octets (16 bits), and each bit may correspond to a link ID of each link. In this case, each bit of the link mapping of TID field corresponds to a link ID having a value smaller than the bit order by one. More specifically, the first bit of the link mapping of TID field may correspond to a link having a link ID corresponding to 0 (1-1), the second bit of the link mapping of TID field may correspond to a link having a link ID corresponding to 1 (2-1), the 11th bit of the link mapping of TID field may correspond to a link corresponding to 9 (10-1).) Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use Kim to modify Asterjadhi and Ko to comprise 2 octets per TID, with support for up to 8TIDs. This combination would recognize that 2-cotet bitmaps are a routine design choice for TID-to-link mappings. One would have been motivated to do this, because Kim discloses bit map structures for TID-link mapping with defined byte sizes to accommodate up to 16links using 2-octet fields, thereby ensuring compatibility and efficient parsing in multi-link signaling (Kim ¶[0321], [0380]).
With regarding Claim 13, Asterjadhi- Jang -Ko-Kim disclose the multi-link wireless AP of claim 7. Asterjadhi and Jang may not explicitly disclose wherein the plurality of setup links comprises at least one disabled setup link, wherein the communication interface is further configured to send a further management frame to at least one of the plurality of multi-link wireless non-AP stations , wherein the further management frame comprises a default mapping indication for informing the at least one of the plurality of multi-link wireless non-AP stations about a default mapping of the plurality of TIDs to the plurality of setup links, and wherein the default mapping defines that all of the plurality of TIDs are mapped to all of the plurality of setup links. However, in analogous art, Ko disclose wherein the communication interface is further configured to send a further management frame to at least one of the plurality of multi-link wireless non-AP stations (See FIG. 9 and ¶[0124]-[0125].[0125] In addition, a mapping between a traffic identifier (TID) and a link may be set up. Specifically, frames corresponding to a TID of a particular value may only be interchanged through a pre-specified link. The mapping between the TID and the link may be set up with directional-based. For example, when a plurality of links is set up between the first multi-link device and the second multi-link device, the first multi-link device may be set to transmit a frame of the first TID to the plurality of first links, and the second multi-link device may be set to transmit a frame of the second TID to the first link. In addition, there may be a default setting for the mapping between the TID and the link. Specifically, in the absence of additional setup in the multi-link setup, the multi-link device may exchange frames corresponding to the TID at each link according to the default setting. In this case, the default setting may be that all the TIDs are exchanged in any one link., wherein the further management frame comprises a default mapping indication for informing the at least one of the plurality of multi-link wireless non-AP stations about a default mapping of the plurality of TIDs to the plurality of setup links (See FIG. 9 and ¶[0125].), and wherein the default mapping defines that all of the plurality of TIDs are mapped to all of the plurality of setup links (See FIG. 19 and ¶[0125], [0179]. [0179] FIG. 19 illustrates the operation of the station when a multi-link and a single link are set according to an embodiment of the disclosure.) Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use Ko to modify the Asterjadhi system such that the further management frame includes a default mapping indication, mapping all TIDs to all setup links. One would have been motivated to do this, because Ko discloses that the AP may transmit default mapping information during setup or reconfiguration, which allows non-AP stations to assume uniform TID-to-link associations in the absence of custom mappings. This simplifies initial access and fallback operation in multi-link systems (Ko ¶[0125], [0179]).
Asterjadhi, Jang and Ko may not explicitly disclose wherein the plurality of setup links comprises at least one disabled setup link. However, in analogous art, Kim disclose wherein the plurality of setup links comprises at least one disabled setup link (See Fig. 23 ¶[0365], [0325], [0330].[0365] Similarly, an MLD transmitting the TID-to-link mapping element by including the same in the (re)association response frame may need to indicate (suggest) preferred TID mapping only for a link for which setup is accepted. That is, the MLD transmitting the TID-to-link mapping element by including the same in the (re)association response frame needs to always configure a bit (of a TID-to-link mapping element) of a link ID corresponding to a link for which setup with the counterpart MLD is not accepted as 0.) Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use Kim to modify Asterjadhi and Ko in order to allow the AP to send a further management frame after disabling a setup link, ensuring that non-AP stations are aware of the uploaded state and can resume communicating using a new or default configuration. This ensure synchronization and prevents link-mapping ambiguity in the event of dynamic link state changes. One would have been motivated to do this, because Kim discloses that broadcasting a default mapping indication helps ensure consistent station behavior and rapid recovery when a setup link is disabled or remapped, thereby enhancing robustness in dynamic wireless environments (Kim ¶[0365]).
With regarding Claim 14, Asterjadhi- Jang -Ko-Kim disclose the multi-link wireless AP of claim 7. Asterjadhi, Jang and Ko may not explicitly disclose wherein the management frame further comprises information for defining whether the mapping defined by the one or more bitmaps is for a downlink (DL) communication direction or an uplink (UL) communication direction between the multi-link wireless AP and the plurality of multi-link wireless non-AP stations. However, in analogous art, Kim disclose wherein the management frame further comprises information for defining whether the mapping defined by the one or more bitmaps is for a downlink (DL) communication direction or an uplink (UL) communication direction between the multi-link wireless AP and the plurality of multi-link wireless non-AP stations (See ¶[0233], [0287], [0306].[0233] In this case, the suspension for the predetermined time may be for management of a transmission queue of STAs of each link included in (connected to) each MLD. More specifically, after completion of the TID-to-link mapping negotiation, each of the MLDs may have a suspension time to manage a transmission queue of an STA corresponding to each link according to a negotiated TID-to-link mapping state. That is, after the suspension time corresponding to the predetermined time passes, two MLDs having completed the TID-to-link mapping need to perform communication according to the negotiated TID-to-link mapping state. In this case, performing the communication according to the TID-to-link mapping state means that only traffic (frame, etc.) of a TID mapped to a specific link may be transmitted/received on the corresponding link.[0287] To sum up, when each MLD proposes/counter-proposes a TID-to-link mapping state to a counterpart MLD through a TID-to-link mapping request/response frame transmitted by each MLD itself, each MLD needs to perform TID-to-link mapping in consideration of a maximum number of link sets which can be supported by each MLD itself and a maximum number of link sets of the counterpart MLD, identified through the TID-to-link mapping supported subfield. That is, the initiating MLD transmitting the request frame should not (explicitly/implicitly) indicate link sets exceeding min(the number of link sets supported by the initiating MLD itself, the number of link sets supported by the responding MLD) through the TID-to-link mapping element of the request frame. Similarly, the responding MLD transmitting the response frame should not (explicitly/implicitly) indicate (counter-propose) link sets exceeding min(the number of link sets supported by the responding MLD itself, the number of link sets supported by the initiating MLD) through the TID-to-link mapping element of the response frame.) Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use Kim to modify the Asterjadhi and Ko combination so that the management frame includes additional fields defining the communication direction for each bitmap-based TID-to-link mapping. This combination would recognize that directional control is implemented via management frames. One would have been motivated to do this, because Kim discloses that mapping information can be differentiated by transmission direction, enabling the AP to manage UL and DL separately for better control and quality of service (Kim ¶[0233], [0287]).
With regarding Claim 15, Asterjadhi- Jang-Ko-Kim disclose the multi-link wireless AP of claim 7. Asterjadhi, Jang and Ko may not explicitly disclose wherein the management frame further comprises information for identifying one or more of the plurality of TIDs for which the one or more bitmaps define the mapping of the respective TID to one or more of the plurality of setup links. However, in analogous art, Kim disclose wherein the management frame further comprises information for identifying one or more of the plurality of TIDs for which the one or more bitmaps define the mapping of the respective TID to one or more of the plurality of setup links (See ¶[0279], [0287], [0306], [0381].[0279] In this case, the responding MLD may transmit TID-to-link mapping response frame #1 including a TID-to-link mapping element to the initiating MLD, as a response to TID-to-link mapping request frame #1 received from the initiating MLD. In this case, when configuring the TID-to-link mapping element, the responding MLD may indicate (counter-propose) mapping of TIDs 4 and 5 to Link 2 and mapping of TIDs 6 and 7 to Link 3, so as to indicate that the mapping of TIDs 0 to 3 to Link 1 has been accepted and the mapping of TIDs 4 to 7 to Link 3 has been rejected.[0381] In addition, each bit of the link mapping of TID field corresponds to a link for which setup is performed. For example, in a TID-to-link mapping element transmitted/received between two MLDs for which ML setup has been performed through link ID 0, link ID 3, and link ID 7, a link mapping of TID field may have a 3-bit size, the first bit of each link mapping of TID field may correspond to link ID 0, 0 the second bit may correspond to link ID 3, and the third bit may correspond to link ID 7. That is, when a bit corresponding to link ID 3 of a link mapping TID field for a specific TID (link mapping of TID “specific TID” field) is indicated as 1, the specific TID may be requested (proposed) to be mapped to a link having a link ID corresponding to 3.) Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use Kim to modify the Asterjadhi and Ko combination such that the management frame contains identification fields that indicate which TIDs are associated with the included bitmaps. This combination would motivated to add a TID identifier field or subfield to avoid ambiguity and permit efficient, targeted mapping updates. One would have been motivated to do this, because Kim discloses including TID-specific identifiers alongside mapping bitmaps, allowing each station to accurately determine which mappings apply to which traffic categories, thereby enhancing flexibility and frame-parsing (Kim ¶[0279], [0287], [0381]).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SHIVAKRISHNA VALLAMDASU/Examiner, Art Unit 2468
/MARCUS SMITH/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2468