DETAILED ACTION
Claims Status
The Amendment filed on 12Aug2026 is acknowledged in which claim(s) 2-3, 5, 7-11, 13, 15, 17-19, 22-24, 27, 29-31, 33-40, 42-59, and 61-63 were canceled by Applicant.
Claim(s) 1, 4, 6, 12, 14, 16, 20-21, 25-26, 28, 32, 41, and 60 is/are presented for examination on the merits.
Response to Amendment
All previous rejections and/or objections of claim(s) 9, 37-38, 44, 58-59 are moot in view of claim cancelation.
The objection(s) to claim(s) 26, 28, have been withdrawn in view of the Amendment filed on 17Aug2026.
The previously set forth rejection(s) of claim(s) 32 under 35 U.S.C. § 112(b) and over of claim(s) 1, 12, 14, 16, 20-21, 25-26, 28, 32, 37-38, and 41 under 35 U.S.C. § 102 over “Lu” have been withdrawn, and the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1, 12, 14, 16, 20-21, 25-26, 28, 32, 37-38, and 41 under 35 U.S.C. § 102 over “WO245”, and of claim(s) 60 under 35 U.S.C. § 103 have been maintained in modified form in view of the recent claim amendment filed on 17Aug2026, which added new limitations to the claims, that were not considered in the previous rejections, necessitating new and/or modified rejections and/or objections.
Only Applicant arguments pertinent to new and/or maintained rejections are addressed below.
MAINTAINED/NEW REJECTIONS AS NECESSITATED BY CLAIM AMENDMENTS
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 12, 14, 16, 20-21, 25-26, 28, 32, 41 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by WO 2017/165245 A1 (hereinafter “WO245”), as evidenced by the instant disclosure and Kleiveland (Chapter 15: Peripheral Blood Mononuclear Cells, Springer 2015; hereinafter “Kleiveland).
Regarding instant claim(s) 1, 41, WO245 teaches methods for performing generating a CAR containing lymphocyte comprising: contacting autologous subject blood lymphocytes with a recombinant retrovirus (e.g., a vector comprising a polynucleotide) to make transduced lymphocytes, and reintroducing (e.g., administering) the genetically modified cells (e.g., transduced lymphocytes) into the subject within 24 hours of collecting blood from the subject (e.g., transduced cells are harvested in less than 36 hrs. of culturing) [e.g., title, abstract; ¶ 0165]. WO245 teaches the polynucleotide encodes a CAR [e.g., ¶ 164], and that the CAR comprises a CD28 costimulatory domain [e.g., ¶ 0004-0006, 0261-0264] and a CD19 antigen-binding domain [e.g., ¶ 204, 300, 318, 497]. WO245 further teaches that PBMCs are cultured at a concentration of 1.0 x 106 cells/mL, in a 200 mL final volume (e.g., incubating a sample comprising at least 1.5 x 108 lymphocytes, see calculations below) [e.g., ¶ 504]. PMBCs comprise approximately 70-90% (e.g., average of 80%) lymphocytes, as evidenced by Kleiveland [e.g., pg. 162, ¶ 1].
Calculations for clarity of the record:
(1 x106 PBMCs/mL)(200 ml) = 2 x108 PBMCs
(2 x108 PBMCs)(80% lymphocytes in PBMCs) = 1.6 x108 lymphocytes
Regarding instant claim(s) 12, 14, 16, 20-21, drawn to particular cells types and percentages thereof, there is no particular distinction between how the cells are prepared (e.g., active method steps) in the prior art compared to the claimed method of preparing transduced lymphocytes. Thus, when the prior art prepares transduced lymphocytes obtained from a donor and cultures the lymphocytes to produce a harvested sample, the resulting sample would also naturally comprise the same cell types (e.g., CD3+ cells, CD4+ T cells, and CD8+ T cells) in the same fractional proportions as claimed. Thus, it does not appear that the claim language, steps, or limitations results in a manipulative difference in the method steps when compared to the prior art disclosure (see MPEP 2141.02, 2112).
Regarding instant claim(s) 25, WO245 further teaches contacting the sample with a CD3/CD28 Dynabeads® (e.g., stimulatory agent) [e.g., ¶ 515].
Regarding instant claim(s) 26, WO245 further teaches that the stimulation reagent (e.g., Dynabeads) typically is applied prior to genetic modification [e.g., ¶ 5].
Regarding instant claim(s) 28, WO245 further teaches engineered cell generation wherein genetically engineered cells are contacted with a compound that promotes expansion, engraftment, and/or persistence (e.g., stimulatory reagent) [e.g., ¶ 7].
Regarding instant claim(s) 32, WO245 further teaches reinfusion (e.g., administration) of 1 million engineered cells/kg to a subject [e.g., ¶ 144, 505].
Response to Arguments
Applicant argues “Applicant has amended the sole independent claim, claim 1, to further incorporate features of claim 9, among others. At least because claim 9 is not subject to the Section 102 rejection, it necessarily follows that the rejection is rendered moot by the amendments. Applicant will address the non-obviousness of the amended claims below.”.
In response, the rejections have been updated to meet the amended claim limitations. Briefly, WO245 does teach the amended limitation of “comprising incubating a sample comprising at least 1.5 x 108 lymphocytes” (see rejection above for details), which is different than the previous limitations of now canceled claim 9. Specifically, the previous amendment filed on 21Aug2023 claim 9 specifically recited a closed system:
.
WO245 does not teach a closed system, however, the instant amended claim 1 does not require a closed system.
Applicant arguments have been thoroughly reviewed but are not persuasive. The above rejection(s) of claim(s) 1, 12, 14, 16, 20-21, 25-26, 28, 32, 41 are maintained.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4,6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over WO 2017/165245 A1 (hereinafter “WO245”), as evidenced by the instant disclosure and Kleiveland (Chapter 15: Peripheral Blood Mononuclear Cells, Springer 2015; hereinafter “Kleiveland), as applied to claim(s) 1 above, and further in view of by Lu et al. (Human Gene Therapy Methods, Volume 27, Number 6, 2016; hereinafter “Lu”), as evidenced by the OriGen PermaLife culture bag brochure (hereinafter “OriGen”) and the instant disclosure.
The teachings of WO425 as recited above are applied.
WO425 does not expressly teach the CAR transduced lymphocytes are incubated in a closed system comprising an inner surface area of at least 1500 cm2 and an inner surface coated with a recombinant human fibronectin at 10 ug/mL.
Regarding instant claim(s) 4, 6, Lu teaches a closed system for anti-CD19 CAR T cell production comprising PermaLife culture bags that were pre-coated 10 ug/mL RetroNectin® (e.g., recombinant human fibronectin) [e.g., “Methods”]. The PermaLife culture bags of Lu comprise 800 mL optimizer medium (e.g., would have to be on PL 750-2G or larger, or multiples of the smaller bags) [e.g., “Methods”] and therefore comprise an internal surface are of at least about 1500 cm2, as evidenced by OriGen [e.g., pg. 2]. Lu further teaches “moving process steps from an open system to functionally closed system operations in order to minimize the risk of microbial contamination, and standardizing additional process steps in order to maximize process consistency” [e.g., abstract].
It would have been prima facie obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art (PHOSITA) before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the method of preparing anti-CD19 CAR T cells (e.g., CAR transduced lymphocytes) as taught by WO245, with the closed culturing system for preparing anti-CD19 CAR T cells as taught by Lu, to arrive at the instant invention of preparing a CAR transduced lymphocyte in a closed system wherein the closed system has an inner surface area of at least 1500 cm2 and has an inner surface coated with a recombinant human fibronectin at 10 ug/mL. A PHOSITA would have been motivated to combine the method of preparing transduced lymphocytes taught by WO245, with the closed system for transduced lymphocyte production as taught by Lu, because both WO245 and Lu teach methods for producing a CD19-directed CAR T cells, and Ly further teaches that closed systems reduce contamination risks and maximize process consistency, which a PHOSITA would understand are beneficial for therapeutic manufacturing and/or development. There would have been a reasonable expectation of success for a PHOSITA to combine the method of preparing transduced lymphocytes taught by WO245, with the closed system for transduced lymphocyte production as taught by Lu, because WO245 teaches the base method of preparing CAR transduced lymphocytes, both WO245 and Lu teach preparation of CD19-directed CAR T cells, and Lu further teaches the methods for a closed-system incubation that reduces contamination risks and standardizes processing. This rationale aligns with the principle of applying a known technique to a known method to yield predictable results, supporting a conclusion of obviousness (see MPEP § 2143).
Thus, the invention as a whole is prima facie obvious over the references, especially in the absence of evidence to the contrary.
Response to Arguments
Applicant argues that instant claim 1 requires the transduced lymphocytes be cryopreserved or administered to a patient in less than 3 days, which Lu doesn’t teach.
In response, in the new/modified rejections above, WO245 was relied upon to teach all of the limitations of instant claim 1, and Lu was only relied upon to teach the advantages of using a closed system (see above for details).
Applicant arguments have been thoroughly reviewed but are not persuasive. The above rejection(s) of claim(s) 4,6 are maintained.
Claim(s) 60 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over WO 2017/165245 A1 (hereinafter “WO245”), as evidenced by the instant disclosure and Kleiveland (Chapter 15: Peripheral Blood Mononuclear Cells, Springer 2015; hereinafter “Kleiveland), as applied to claim(s) 1 above, and further in view of US 20170348403 A1 (hereinafter “US403”).
The teachings of WO425 as recited above are applied.
Regarding instant claim(s) 60, WO245 further teaches the cell therapy (e.g., CD19 directed CAR T cells) is administered to a subject intravenously [e.g., ¶ 462].
WO425 does not expressly teach the CD19 directed CAR T cells are injected.
Regarding instant claim 60, US403 teaches CD19 CAR T cell intra-tumoral injection is therapeutically effective dose route for solid tumor therapy [e.g., fig. 4].
It would have been prima facie obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art (PHOSITA) before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to substitute the intravenous dose route in the method of administering engineered T lymphocytes (e.g., CD19 directed CAR T cells) to a subject as taught by WO425, with the injection of engineered T cells (e.g., CD19 directed CAR T cells) as taught by US403, to arrive at a method of administering engineered T cells (e.g., CD19 directed CAR T cells) to a subject by injection. A PHOSITA would have been motivated to substitute the intravenous dose route in the method of administering engineered T lymphocytes to a subject as taught by WO425, with the injection of engineered cells as taught by US403, because both WO425 and US403 teach administration of CD19 directed CAR T cells (see 102 rejection above for WO425 details), and US403 further teaches intra-tumoral injection for the effective treatment of solid tumors. Therefore, in order to treat solid tumors, a PHOSITA would be motivated to substitute the dose route of US403. There would have been a reasonable expectation of success for a PHOSITA to substitute the intravenous dose route in the method of administering engineered T lymphocytes to a subject as taught by WO425, with the injection of engineered cells as taught by US403, because both WO425 and US403 teach the administration of CD19 directed CAR T cells, and US403 teaches that CD19 directed CAR T cells injected into solid tumors is therapeutically effective. This rationale aligns with the principle of simple substitution of one known element for another to obtain predictable results, supporting a conclusion of obviousness (see MPEP § 2141).
Thus, the invention as a whole is prima facie obvious over the references, especially in the absence of evidence to the contrary.
Response to Arguments
Applicant argues:
WO245 focuses on producing ex vivo CAR-T cells for in vivo expansion, cites ¶ 172. As such, the lymphocytes preparation does not require ex vivo expansion or even a large number of cells to begin with as in instant claim 1.
US403 fails to remedy the above deficiency of WO245.
In response to “1” above, WO245 was relied upon to teach all of the active method steps and limitations of the method of instant claim 1 (see 102 rejection above for details). It is noted that Applicant arguments directed to ex vivo vs. in vivo transduced cell expansion are not commensurate with the scope of the instant claims. Specifically, expansion is not a limitation of any of the instant claims, and therefore was not examined and/or addressed in any rejections.
In response to “2” above, WO245 was relied upon to teach all of the active method steps and limitations of instant claim 1, from which claim 60 depends, and US403 was relied upon to teach injection of anti-CD19 CAR T cells into solid tumors (see 102 and 103 rejections above for details). Additionally, as discussed above, expansion is not a limitation of the instant claim set, and therefore was not addressed in the instant rejections.
Applicant arguments have been thoroughly reviewed but are not persuasive. The above rejection(s) of claim(s) 60 are maintained.
Conclusion
No claims are currently allowed.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/AMY M. CHATTIN/Examiner, Art Unit 1643
/GARY B NICKOL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1643