DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hwang et al. (US 2020/0287144) (hereafter “Hwang”) in view of Lee et al. (US 2013/0334521) (hereafter “Lee”).
Regarding claims 1-20, Hwang teaches an electroluminescent device comprising an anode, a hole transporting layer, a light emitting layer, an electron transporting layer, and a cathode (paragraphs [0417]-[0422]). Hwang teaches that the light emitting layer comprises a host and a dopant, where the amount of the host in the layer is greater than the amount of the dopant, and emits green light (paragraphs [0295] and [0419]) (claims 15-19). Hwang teaches that the dopant is a metal complex and can have the following structure,
,
,
, and
are a few examples (paragraphs [0242] and [0422], Table 2) (claims 1-14). Hwang teaches that the compounds are derived from the following formula for the ligands,
, where Z1 can be a germanium group (paragraphs [0059] and [0087]). Hwang teaches that the electroluminescent device can be used in an apparatus or electronic device (paragraph [0424]) (claim 20).
Lee teaches metal complexes for use in electroluminescent device (paragraphs [0015]-[0017]). Lee teaches that the metal complex are contain iridium as the metal center and 3 bidentate ligands (paragraphs [0030]-[0045])). Lee teaches that one can increase the efficiency of the metal complex by adding a germanium groups, such as
or
, to the ligand (paragraphs [0101]-[0104]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed to modify the metal complexes of Hwang so the complexes contains a germanium group, such as
or
, as taught by Lee. Hwang teaches that the groups can be substituted with germanium groups and Lee teaches motivation to added the germanium group can be to increase the efficiency of the metal complexes.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Hwang et al. (US 2022/0037599) teaches metal complexes that meet the applicant’s claimed invention, but this reference is within one year of the foreign priority document and is owned by the same assignee.
/ANDREW K BOHATY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1759