DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
Regarding claims 1-4, 7, 9-14, 17, and 19-21 the term “gagged” or “gagged region” is not a term of art. As the claim requires the “gagged region” to be “devoid of any louvers,” Examiner takes the position that any region “devoid of any louvers” reads on the term “gagged region.” This interpretation appears consistent with Applicant’s disclosure, which only mentions the “gagged region” in ¶[0036] describing element 406 in Fig. 4.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3, 9-13, 19-21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lim (KR20070069572A) in view of Zhang (CN201589470U), Nakayama (JP3720208B2) and Bi (CN104729342A).
Regarding claim 1/10/20, Lim teaches an HVAC system (see Fig. 2 & Page 1) comprising, an outdoor unit (outdoor unit – Page 1), an air handler (Fig. 2) comprising: a cabinet (10); a V-shaped heat exchanger (90); an axial fan housing (80) disposed within the cabinet and located downstream of the V-shaped round tube plate fin heat exchange.
Lim does not teach a distributor in fluid communication with the refrigerant tubes; and a plurality of feeder tubes extending between the distributor and the refrigerant tubes, each feeder tube configured to allow flow of refrigerant therethrough.
Zhang teaches (see Fig. 2) a distributor (3) in fluid communication with the refrigerant tubes; and a plurality of feeder tubes (2) extending between the distributor and the refrigerant tubes, each feeder tube configured to allow flow of refrigerant therethrough.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Lim to include the distributor of Zhang, in order to improve heat pump efficiency (¶[0013]).
Lim does not teach a plurality of refrigerant tubes, each refrigerant tube having a diameter of 7 mm; a V-shaped round tube plate fin heat exchanger disposed within the cabinet and comprising a plurality of louvered fins, wherein each louvered fin defines a plurality of holes configured to receive the refrigerant tubes, and wherein the plurality of holes defines a linear offset configuration of the louvered fin, at least one gagged region devoid of any louvers.
Nakayama teaches (See Fig. 1 & 7) a plurality of refrigerant tubes (2), each refrigerant tube having a diameter of 7 mm (see range of 3-7 mm - ¶[0013]); a round tube plate fin (1) heat exchanger comprising a plurality of louvered fins (see cut and raised portions 3), wherein each louvered fin defines a plurality of holes configured to receive the refrigerant tubes, and wherein the plurality of holes defines a linear offset configuration of the louvered fin (see offset configuration of tubes and respective holes, annotated Fig. 7 below, hereinafter Fig. C) and at least one gagged region devoid of any louvers (see annotated Fig. 1 below, hereinafter Fig. E).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Lim to include the offset louver fins of Nakayama, in order to improve heat transfer performance (¶[0034-0036]).
Fig. A - Fig. 2 of Lim Fig. B - Fig. 2 of Zhang Fig. C - Fig. 7 of Nakayama
Fig. D – Fig. 8 of Bi Fig. E – Fig. 1 of Nakayama
Lim as modified does not teach each of the plurality of louvered fins defines at least one cropped corner, the at least one gagged region proximal the at least one gagged corner.
Bi teaches each of the plurality of louvered fins defines at least one cropped corner (see annotated Fig. 8 below, hereinafter Fig. D).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Lim to include the cropped corner(s) of Bi, in order to provide improved sealing and/or effective heat exchange (¶[0020]), thereby providing a gagged region proximal a gagged corner, as claimed.
Regarding claims 2-3/11-13, Lim as modified teaches the limitations of claim 1/10, and Nakayama further teaches wherein the linear offset configuration of the plurality of holes comprises: a first set of holes defined along a first axis; a second set of holes defined along a second axis, wherein the second set of holes are offset from the first set of holes along a longitudinal axis of the louvered fin; and a third set of holes defined along a third axis, wherein the third set of holes are offset from the second set of holes along the longitudinal axis of the louvered fin, and wherein a first offset distance (2/3 Dp) defined between the second set of holes and the first set of holes, wherein a second offset distance (1/3 Dp) defined between the third set of holes and the second set of holes, wherein each of the first axis, the second axis, and the third axis extends substantially parallel to the longitudinal axis of the louvered fin, and wherein the second set of holes and the third set of holes define a substantially obtuse trapezoidal matrix, wherein each of two opposite wider angles of the obtuse trapezoidal matrix is in a range of about 95 degrees to about 105 degrees (as the ranges of Lp, Dp, D are known, using trigonometry, the angle claimed can easily be calculated, with Dp = 2D, Lp=3.5D, and D=7mm, the angle claimed is 90 + tan-1 [(1/3)*(2*7) / (3.5*7)] = 90+ tan-1[0.19] = 90 + 10.8 degrees = 100.8 degrees, which falls within the claimed range).
Regarding claim 9/19, Lim as modified teaches the limitations of claim 1/10, and Lim further teaches wherein the axial fan (80) housing is disposed vertically above the V-shaped round tube plate fin heat exchanger (90).
Regarding claim 21, Lim as modified teaches the limitations of claim 1, and Lim as modified further teaches wherein the at least one gagged region is disposed around at least one hole of the plurality of holes proximal to the at least one cropped corner (as modified above).
Claim(s) 4/14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lim (KR20070069572A) in view of Zhang (CN201589470U), Nakayama (JP3720208B2), Bi (CN104729342A) and Beard (US20130087204A1).
Regarding claim 4/14, Lim as modified teaches the limitations of claim 1/10, and Lim as modified does not teach a length of each feeder tube is in a range of 20 inches to 30 inches.
Beard teaches wherein the length of each feeder tube is in a range of 20 inches to 30 inches (see overlapping range of 10-30 in - ¶[0024]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Lim to include the feeder tube in a range of 20-30 inches, as it has been held obvious to try when choosing from a finite number of identified, predictable solutions, with a reasonable expectation of success (see MPEP 2143). Here, Mercer recognizes that the claimed feeder tube length is known as a suitable length for such feeder tubes.
Claim(s) 7/17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lim (KR20070069572A) in view of Zhang (CN201589470U), Nakayama (JP3720208B2), Bi (CN104729342A) and Kraft (US20140299305A1).
Regarding claim 7/17, Lim as modified teaches the limitations of claim 1/10, and Lim as modified does not teach each of the plurality of holes forms an interference fit with an outer surface of the refrigerant tube passing therethrough.
Kraft teaches each of the plurality of holes forms an interference fit with an outer surface of the refrigerant tube passing therethrough (¶[0057]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Lim to include the interference fit of Kraft, as it has been held obvious to provide a simple substitution of one known element for another to obtain predictable results (see MPEP 2143). Here, Kraft recognizes that interference fits are well known in the art as suitable for connecting tubes to fins in such a heat exchanger.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 12/15/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues Nakayama does not teach a gagged region devoid of louvers, or wherein the gagged region is proximal the at least one cropped corner.
Examiner respectfully traverses this argument. Specifically, as seen in claim 1, the fin region adjacent the tubes (as seen in Fig. 1 of Nakayama) are entirely devoid of louvers, and thus constitute a “gagged region” as claimed. Further, Lim as modified, would provide the gagged region to all of the tube holes, and thus would necessarily be present at a region proximal the cropped corner.
For at least the reasons stated above, Applicant’s arguments have been found unpersuasive.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ERIC S RUPPERT/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3763