DETAILED ACTION
This Office Action is in response to the Reply filed on March 20, 2026.
Claims 1-20 remain pending in the application.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on April 27, 2026 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments, see pages 7-12 of the Reply, with respect to rejection under 35 U.S.C. §103, have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
On pages 7-9 of the Reply, the Applicant argues, in part, that Bednarz is a cloud-based broadband service analysis systems and Bednarz is not directed to WLAN frame structures, control fields, or QoS feedback subfields within wireless communication frames. Accordingly, Bednarz is non-analogous art and cannot properly be relied upon in an obviousness rejection under 35 U.S.C. §103.
The Examiner respectfully disagrees. Li (US Pub. No. 2019/0082443) describes, in at least paragraphs [0003] and [0045], that electronic devices communicate with each other using wireless local area networks (WLANs), such as those based on a communication protocol that is compatible with an IEEE 802.11 standard (which is sometimes referred to as ‘Wi-Fi’). Similarly, Bednarz (US Pub. No. 2016/0006622) describes, in at least paragraphs [0002] and [0048]-[0054], information about the communication device and communication device performance of the local area network (LAN), where the communication device is a wireless LAN device and the information about the communication device includes throughput information of a Wi-Fi link. Both Li and Bednarz are in the field of wireless local area network (WLAN). Thus, the Examiner respectfully submits that Bednarz is analogous art and can be relied upon in an obviousness rejection under 35 U.S.C. §103.
Furthermore, on pages 10 and 11 of the Reply, the Applicant argues the Examiner’s motivation to combine is improper.
The Examiner respectfully disagrees. Li discloses, in paragraph [0090], when control identifier equals ‘7,’ control information may include one or more of an average traffic data rate, a minimum in traffic data rate, a nominal packet size, a nominal packet interval, a latency requirement, and/or a timeout value. Bednarz discloses, in at least paragraph [0054], a computation of a throughput of a Wi-Fi link, where the throughput information includes one or more of the following: instantaneous speed or data rate, average data rate, and/or information on the peak and minimum data rates of a Wi-Fi link. Thus, Bednarz provides teaching, suggestion, or motivation that the throughput information may include one or both of instantaneous data rate and average data rate.
As Li already discloses that the control information may include an average traffic data rate, one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized, based on the teaching of Bednarz, that the resultant combination of the throughput information of Bednarz and the control information of Li would provide a modified control information to include at least one of: instantaneous data rate and average data rate, among other control information disclosed in Li and throughput information disclosed in Bednarz. The motivation for doing so would be to improve the QoS feedback analysis by considering instantaneous values as well as average values for the QoS feedback information.
Thus, in view of the above reasons, the Examiner respectfully submits that the combination of Li, Kim, and Bednarz discloses, teaches, or suggests “the control information field comprising one or more subfields containing the QoS feedback information, and wherein the one or more subfields comprise at least instantaneous values for the QoS feedback information” as recited in independent claim 1 and similarly recited in claims 9 and 13.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-7 and 9-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li et al. (US 2019/0082443, hereinafter “Li,” cited in 05/25/2023 IDS) in view of Kim et al. (US 2019/0246312, hereinafter “Kim”), and further in view of Bednarz et al. (US 2016/0006622).
Li discloses or suggests:
regarding claim 1, an apparatus for wireless communication, comprising:
a memory comprising instructions (see at least paragraphs 94-97, memory subsystem); and
one or more processors configured to execute the instructions and cause the apparatus to (see at least paragraphs 94-100, processing subsystem):
select, from a variable number of control fields, one control field for inclusion in a frame based on a type of control information to be included in the frame, at least one control field comprising a control identifier field and a control information field, the control identifier field comprising an indicator indicating a type of information for communication is Quality of Service (QoS) feedback information, the control information field comprising one or more subfields containing the QoS feedback information (see at least Fig. 8, Fig. 9, paragraphs 83-93, and Table 1, the HE variant HT control field may include one or more fields for inclusion in a frame, each field includes a control identifier and control information, where the control identifier of value ‘7’ indicates that the control information includes one or more of: an average traffic data rate, a minimum in traffic data rate, a nominal packet size, a nominal packet interval, a latency requirement, and a timeout value, where the number of control field is one or more fields);
generate the frame comprising the selected number of control fields (see at least paragraphs 83-93, the electronic device generates and provides the scheduling request to an access point, where the scheduling request is signaled in MAC frame header, such as a HE variant HT control header or included in a data frame, such as in a MAC header); and
wirelessly transmit the frame (see at least paragraphs 83-93, an IEEE802.11ax-compatible electronic device reports its QoS and traffic-characteristic information in a data frame to an access point).
However, Li does not explicitly disclose a sequence of a first number (i.e. a plurality) of control fields in a frame, wherein a quantity of the first number of control fields selected for the frame is based on an amount and a type of control information to be included in the frame.
Kim, from the same or similar fields of endeavor, discloses including a sequence of a first number (i.e. a plurality) of control fields in a frame, wherein a quantity of the first number of control fields selected for the frame is based on an amount and a type of control information to be included in the frame (see at least Fig. 12, paragraphs 129-130, and Table 2, each of a plurality of control fields (i.e., Control 1 – Control N) includes 4 bits of Control ID and a variable length of Control Information). An example of the combination of Li et al. and Kim et al. may involve an aggregation of a plurality of Control Subfields, where Control 1 (as shown in Fig. 12 of Kim et al.) may include UL MU response scheduling (Control ID 0 with 26 bits), Control 2 may include Operating mode (Control ID 1 with 12 bits), Control 3 may include HE link adaptation (Control ID 2 with 16 bits), Control 4 may include Buffer status report (Control ID 3 with 26 bits), Control 5 may include UL power headroom (Control ID 4 with 8 bits), and Control 6 may include QoS feedback information (Control ID 7 of variable length), where N=6.
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to implement the technique as taught by Kim in to the invention of Li in order to include a plurality of control fields conveying various information shown in Table 1 and paragraph 90 of Li. The motivation for doing so would be to allow an IEEE802.11ax-compatible electronic device to report its QoS and traffic characteristic information together with other information, such as, BSR, UPH, and BQR to an access point using a plurality of control fields to enable efficient scheduling.
Furthermore, Li discloses an average traffic data rate among other QoS feedback information (see at least paragraph 90) but Li, as modified by Kim, does not explicitly disclose that the one or more subfields comprise at least instantaneous values for the QoS feedback information.
However, in an analogous art, Bednarz discloses or suggests that the throughput information could include at least one or more of the following: instantaneous speed or data rate, average data rate, and information on the peak and minimum data rates of a connection or a communication link (see at least paragraph 54).
Thu, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include instantaneous speed or data rate, average data rate, and information on the peak and minimum data rates of a connection or a communication link, as taught by Bednarz in to the QoS feedback control information of Li, as modified by Kim, in order to improve the QoS feedback analysis by considering instantaneous values as well as average values for the QoS feedback information.
Li discloses or suggests:
regarding claim 2, the QoS feedback information comprises low latency metrics, timing metrics, buffer metrics, or a combination thereof (see at least paragraphs 83-93, the control identifier of value ‘7’ indicates that the control information includes one or more of: an average traffic data rate, a minimum in traffic data rate, a nominal packet size, a nominal packet interval, a latency requirement, and a timeout value);
regarding claim 3, the low latency metrics comprise a delay, a delay jitter, an end-to-end latency, a packet loss rate, a data rate, or a combination thereof (see at least paragraphs 83-93, the control identifier of value ‘7’ indicates that the control information includes one or more of: an average traffic data rate, a minimum in traffic data rate, a nominal packet size, a nominal packet interval, a latency requirement, and a timeout value);
regarding claim 4, the timing metrics comprise a target transmission time, a target reception time, a periodicity of packet inter-arrival time, or a combination thereof (see at least paragraphs 83-93, the control identifier of value ‘7’ indicates that the control information includes one or more of: an average traffic data rate, a minimum in traffic data rate, a nominal packet size, a nominal packet interval, a latency requirement, and a timeout value);
regarding claim 5, the buffer metrics comprise a buffer unit aging timer, a buffer overflow flag, a buffer increase rate, or a combination thereof (see at least paragraphs 83-93 and Table 1, the control identifier of value ‘8’ indicates that the control information includes one or more of: time interval and one or more queue sizes predicted in this time interval);
regarding claim 6, the one or more subfields comprise instantaneous values for the QoS feedback information, average values over multiple transmit opportunities for the QoS feedback information, average values over multiple beacon intervals for the QoS feedback information, or a combination thereof (see at least paragraphs 83-93, the control identifier of value ‘7’ indicates that the control information includes one or more of: an average traffic data rate, a minimum in traffic data rate, a nominal packet size, a nominal packet interval, a latency requirement, and a timeout value); and
regarding claim 7, the one or more processors are further configured to execute the instructions and cause the apparatus to transmit to or receive from a wireless node, a second frame comprising one or more metric types for inclusion in the one or more subfields containing the QoS feedback information (see at least paragraphs 83-93, a management frame can be used to indicate traffic data-rate information (TDRI) for inclusion in the one or more fields of the HE variant HT control field and, additionally, the scheduling request can be communicated using a MAC frame header of a data frame).
Li discloses or suggests:
regarding claim 9, an apparatus for wireless communication, comprising:
a memory comprising instructions (see at least paragraphs 94-97, memory subsystem); and
one or more processors configured to execute the instructions and cause the apparatus to (see at least paragraphs 94-100, processing subsystem):
wirelessly receive a frame from a first wireless node, the frame comprising one control field based on a type of control information to be included in the frame, at least one control field comprising a control identifier field and a control information field, the control identifier field comprising an indicator indicating the type of the control information for communication is Quality of Service (QoS) feedback information, the control information field comprising one or more subfields containing the QoS feedback information (see at least paragraphs 83-93 and Table 1, an IEEE802.11ax-compatible electronic device reports its QoS and traffic-characteristic information in a data frame including a HE variant HT control field, which is received by an access point, where the HE variant HT control field may include one or more fields for inclusion in a frame, each field includes a control identifier and control information, where the control identifier of value ‘7’ indicates that the control information includes one or more of: an average traffic data rate, a minimum in traffic data rate, a nominal packet size, a nominal packet interval, a latency requirement, and a timeout value, where the number of control field is one or more fields); and
adjust a schedule for transmission based on the QoS feedback information (see at least paragraphs 60, 83, and 84, using the reported QoS or the traffic information, access point can allocate resources to meet the basic data-rate and latency requirements of the electronic device).
However, Li does not explicitly disclose a sequence of a first number (i.e. a plurality) of control fields in a frame, wherein a quantity of the first number of control fields selected for the frame is based on an amount and a type of control information to be included in the frame.
Kim, from the same or similar fields of endeavor, discloses including a sequence of a first number (i.e. a plurality) of control fields in a frame, wherein a quantity of the first number of control fields selected for the frame is based on an amount and a type of control information to be included in the frame (see at least Fig. 12, paragraphs 129-130, and Table 2, each of a plurality of control fields (i.e., Control 1 – Control N) includes 4 bits of Control ID and a variable length of Control Information). An example of the combination of Li et al. and Kim et al. may involve an aggregation of a plurality of Control Subfields, where Control 1 (as shown in Fig. 12 of Kim et al.) may include UL MU response scheduling (Control ID 0 with 26 bits), Control 2 may include Operating mode (Control ID 1 with 12 bits), Control 3 may include HE link adaptation (Control ID 2 with 16 bits), Control 4 may include Buffer status report (Control ID 3 with 26 bits), Control 5 may include UL power headroom (Control ID 4 with 8 bits), and Control 6 may include QoS feedback information (Control ID 7 of variable length), where N=6.
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to implement the technique as taught by Kim in to the invention of Li in order to include a plurality of control fields conveying various information shown in Table 1 and paragraph 90 of Li. The motivation for doing so would be to allow an IEEE802.11ax-compatible electronic device to report its QoS and traffic characteristic information together with other information, such as, BSR, UPH, and BQR to an access point using a plurality of control fields to enable efficient scheduling.
Furthermore, Li discloses an average traffic data rate among other QoS feedback information (see at least paragraph 90) but Li, as modified by Kim, does not explicitly disclose that the one or more subfields comprise at least instantaneous values for the QoS feedback information.
However, in an analogous art, Bednarz discloses or suggests that the throughput information could include at least one or more of the following: instantaneous speed or data rate, average data rate, and information on the peak and minimum data rates of a connection or a communication link (see at least paragraph 54).
Thu, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include instantaneous speed or data rate, average data rate, and information on the peak and minimum data rates of a connection or a communication link, as taught by Bednarz in to the QoS feedback control information of Li, as modified by Kim, in order to improve the QoS feedback analysis by considering instantaneous values as well as average values for the QoS feedback information.
Li discloses or suggests:
regarding claim 10, the one or more processors are further configured to execute the instructions and cause the apparatus to:
obtain a second frame from a second wireless node, the second frame comprising QoS feedback information (see at least paragraphs 54-61 and 83-93, the access point receives the scheduling request included in a frame from a plurality of electronic devices);
compare the QoS feedback information from the first wireless node and the second wireless node (see at least paragraphs 54-61, a schedule-based protocol is implemented in part on the transmission schedule, thereby eliminating contention by the electronic devices for the shared communication medium, where an electronic device is scheduled for the shared communication medium over another electronic device based on the scheduling requests received from the electronic devices); and
adjust the schedule for transmission based on the comparison of the QoS feedback information (see at least paragraphs 54-61, a schedule-based protocol is implemented in part on the transmission schedule, thereby eliminating contention by the electronic devices for the shared communication medium, where an electronic device is scheduled for the shared communication medium over another electronic device based on the scheduling requests received from the electronic devices);
regarding claim 11, the one or more processors are further configured to execute the instructions and cause the apparatus to adjust the schedule for transmission by prioritizing transmission to or reception from the first wireless node over transmission to or reception from the second wireless node (see at least paragraphs 54-61, a schedule-based protocol is implemented in part on the transmission schedule, thereby eliminating contention by the electronic devices for the shared communication medium, where an electronic device is scheduled for the shared communication medium over another electronic device (e.g., first wireless node over second wireless node)); and
regarding claim 12, the one or more processors are further configured to execute the instructions and cause the apparatus to adjust the schedule for transmission by prioritizing transmission to or reception from the second wireless node over transmission to or reception from the first wireless node (see at least paragraphs 54-61, a schedule-based protocol is implemented in part on the transmission schedule, thereby eliminating contention by the electronic devices for the shared communication medium, where an electronic device is scheduled for the shared communication medium over another electronic device (e.g., first wireless node over second wireless node)).
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li et al. (US 2019/0082443, cited in 05/25/2023 IDS) in view of Kim et al. (US 2019/0246312), and further in view of Bednarz et al. (Newly Cited, US 2016/0006622), and further in view of Hadavi et al. (US 2015/0334026, cited in 05/25/2023 IDS).
Regarding claim 8, Li, as modified by Kim and Bednarz, discloses all of the subject matter of the claimed invention except normalizing one or more values of the QoS feedback information for inclusion in the one or more subfields based on a predetermined range.
Hadavi, from the same or similar fields of endeavor, discloses or suggests normalizing one or more values of the QoS feedback information for inclusion in the one or more subfields based on a predetermined range (see at least paragraph 20, standardizing QoS values into those understood by each network element such that communication paths may be established having a common QoS across all network elements that handle these communication paths, where these network elements are designed and constructed by different vendors and the queueing and scheduling mechanism implemented in each may differ substantially from one other).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to implement the normalization technique as taught by Hadavi in to the invention of Li, as modified by Kim and Bednarz, in order to allow network elements designed by different vendors to understand and to have a common QoS (see at least paragraph 20 of Hadavi).
Claims 13-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li et al. (US 2019/0082443, cited in 05/25/2023 IDS) in view of Kim et al. (US 2019/0246312), and further in view of Bednarz et al. (US 2016/0006622), and further in view of Ouchi (US 2021/0243792, hereinafter “Ouchi,” cited in 05/25/2023 IDS).
Regarding claim 13, Li discloses or suggests an apparatus for wireless communication, comprising:
a memory comprising instructions (see at least paragraphs 94-97, memory subsystem); and
one or more processors configured to execute the instructions and cause the apparatus to (see at least paragraphs 94-100, processing subsystem):
generate a second frame in response to obtaining the first frame, the second frame comprising a first number of control field comprising a report containing the QoS feedback information, the number of control field is based on a type of control information to be included in the second frame, at least one control field of the first number of control field comprising a control identifier field and a control information field (see at least paragraphs 83-93 and Table 1, generating a HE variant HT control field, where the HE variant HT control field may include one or more fields for inclusion in a frame, each field includes a control identifier and control information, where the control identifier of value ‘7’ indicates that the control information includes one or more of: an average traffic data rate, a minimum in traffic data rate, a nominal packet size, a nominal packet interval, a latency requirement, and a timeout value, where the number of control field is one or more fields); and
wirelessly transmit the second frame (see at least paragraphs 83-93, an IEEE802.11ax-compatible electronic device reports its QoS and traffic-characteristic information in a data frame to an access point).
However, Li does not explicitly disclose a sequence of a first number (i.e. a plurality) of control fields in a frame, wherein a quantity of the first number of control fields selected for the frame is dependent on an amount and a type of control information to be included in the frame.
Kim, from the same or similar fields of endeavor, discloses including a sequence of a first number (i.e. a plurality) of control fields in a frame, wherein a quantity of the first number of control fields selected for the frame is dependent on an amount and a type of control information to be included in the frame (see at least Fig. 12, paragraphs 129-130, and Table 2, each of a plurality of control fields (i.e., Control 1 – Control N) includes 4 bits of Control ID and a variable length of Control Information). An example of the combination of Li et al. and Kim et al. may involve an aggregation of at least two or more Control Subfields, where Control 1 (as shown in Fig. 12 of Kim et al.) may include UL MU response scheduling (Control ID 0 with 26 bits), Control 2 may include Operating mode (Control ID 1 with 12 bits), Control 3 may include HE link adaptation (Control ID 2 with 16 bits), Control 4 may include Buffer status report (Control ID 3 with 26 bits), Control 5 may include UL power headroom (Control ID 4 with 8 bits), and Control 6 may include QoS feedback information (Control ID 7 of variable length), where N=6.
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to implement the technique as taught by Kim in to the invention of Li in order to include a plurality of control fields conveying various information shown in Table 1 and paragraph 90 of Li. The motivation for doing so would be to allow an IEEE802.11ax-compatible electronic device to report its QoS and traffic characteristic information together with other information, such as, BSR, UPH, and BQR to an access point using a plurality of control fields to enable efficient scheduling.
Furthermore, Li discloses an average traffic data rate among other QoS feedback information (see at least paragraph 90) but Li, as modified by Kim, does not explicitly disclose that the one or more subfields comprise at least instantaneous values for the QoS feedback information.
However, in an analogous art, Bednarz discloses or suggests that the throughput information could include at least one or more of the following: instantaneous speed or data rate, average data rate, and information on the peak and minimum data rates of a connection or a communication link (see at least paragraph 54).
Thu, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include instantaneous speed or data rate, average data rate, and information on the peak and minimum data rates of a connection or a communication link, as taught by Bednarz in to the QoS feedback control information of Li, as modified by Kim, in order to improve the QoS feedback analysis by considering instantaneous values as well as average values for the QoS feedback information.
Furthermore, Li, as modified by Kim and Bednarz, does not explicitly disclose wirelessly receiving a first frame comprising a request for Quality of Service (QoS) feedback information. However, Ouchi, from the same or similar fields of endeavor, discloses or suggests wirelessly receiving a first frame comprising a request for Quality of Service (QoS) feedback information (see at least Figs. 3A and 3B, and paragraphs 8, 9, and 29-43, in accordance with IEEE802.11ax, transmitting a trigger frame indicating an activation timing necessary for a plurality of users to perform frame transmission to the AP simultaneously, wireless channel information using the frame, and the like).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to implement the trigger frame as taught by Ouchi in to the invention of Li, as modified by Kim and Bednarz, in order to allow the access point to indicate an activation timing necessary for QoS feedback information transmission.
Regarding claim 14, Li, as modified by Kim and Bednarz, discloses all of the subject matter of the claimed invention except the first frame comprising a trigger frame, wherein the trigger frame comprises a QoS Feedback Report Poll (QFRP) trigger frame, a Null Data Packet (NDP) Feedback Report Poll (NFRP) trigger frame, or a Buffer Status Report Poll (BFRP) trigger frame.
Ouchi, from the same or similar fields of endeavor, discloses or suggests the first frame comprising a trigger frame, wherein the trigger frame comprises a QoS Feedback Report Poll (QFRP) trigger frame, a Null Data Packet (NDP) Feedback Report Poll (NFRP) trigger frame, or a Buffer Status Report Poll (BFRP) trigger frame (see at least Figs. 3A and 3B, and paragraphs 8, 9, and 29-43, a trigger frame may include a trigger type of BFRP, BSRP, or NFRP).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to implement the trigger frame as taught by Ouchi in to the invention of Li, as modified by Kim and Bednarz, in order to allow the access point to indicate an activation timing necessary for QoS feedback information transmission.
Regarding claim 15, Li, as modified by Kim and Bednarz, discloses all of the subject matter of the claimed invention except the second frame being included in a trigger-based physical layer convergence protocol data unit (TB PPDU) comprising a High Efficiency TB PPDU (HE TB PPDU) or a Null Data Packet TB PPDU (NDP TB PPDU).
Ouchi, from the same or similar fields of endeavor, discloses or suggests the second frame being included in a trigger-based physical layer convergence protocol data unit (TB PPDU) comprising a High Efficiency TB PPDU (HE TB PPDU) or a Null Data Packet TB PPDU (NDP TB PPDU) (see at least Fig. 3B, and paragraphs 38, 50, and 102-108, HE TB PPDU or NDP in response to NFRP).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to implement the trigger frame as taught by Ouchi in to the invention of Li, as modified by Kim and Bednarz, in order to achieve optimal utilization efficiency of resource units, based on the resource units indicated in a trigger frame.
Regarding claim 16, Li discloses the report containing the QoS feedback information comprises parameters indicative of a delay, a schedule, a buffer overflow, a packet loss, or a combination thereof (see at least paragraphs 83-93 and Table 1, the HE variant HT control field may include one or more fields for inclusion in a frame, each field includes a control identifier and control information, where the control identifier of value ‘7’ indicates that the control information includes one or more of: an average traffic data rate, a minimum in traffic data rate, a nominal packet size, a nominal packet interval, a latency requirement, and a timeout value).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 17-20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/PAO SINKANTARAKORN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2409 05/26/2026