DETAILED ACTION
This action is response to application number 18/324,089, amendment and remarks, dated on 02/03/2026.
Claims 9-16 and 21-32 pending.
Claims 1-8 and 17-20 cancelled.
Applicant’s election without traverse of group II, claims 9-16 in the reply filed on 09/23/2025 is acknowledged.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 9-16 and 21-32 have been considered but are moot in view of new ground of rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 9-16 and 21-32 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chitrakar et al. (US 2023/0049552 A1) in view of Park el. al. (US 2021/0120612 A1) and Huang et. al. (US 2021/0367872 A1).
Claims 9, 21, Chitrakar discloses an apparatus, comprising: a processor configured to cause a non-access point (non-AP) multi-link device (MLD) (receiving/transmitting MLD; Fig. 6, els. 602, 612; non-AP/AP MLD; ¶47; ¶61) to:
transmit to an access point (AP) MLD (AP MLD) (receiving/transmitting MLD; Fig. 6, els. 602, 612; non-AP/AP MLD; ¶47; ¶61), using one or more respective transmission (TX) links (links 1 and 2; Fig. 6), one or more uplink frames (Frames 608 and 610; Fig. 6) that include one or more respective initial addresses corresponding to one or more respective reception (RX) links of the AP MLD (Frames 608 and 610 including the MAC addresses of the RX links of the receiving MLD (RA1 and RA2) and the transmitting MLD (TA1 and TA2); As shown in illustration 600, the transmitting MLD 602 transmits an unprotected MPDU 608 on a Link 1 to receiving MLD 612 i.e. from STA 604 to STA 614. Therefore, the A1, A2, A3 fields of the MPDU 608 are set to the MAC addresses of receiving STA 614 (i.e. RA1) and transmitting STA 604 (i.e. TA1) respectively. As an initial transmission, the Retry subfield in the FC field of the MPDU 608 is set to 0. In an event that the transmission fails, due to various reasons (e.g. temporary failure of Link 1) the MPDU may be retransmitted as unprotected MPDU 610 on a Link 2 i.e. from STA 606 to STA 616. Unprotected MPDUs may be retransmitted on another link by simply setting the Retry subfield in the Frame Control (FC) field of the MPDU to 1 and swapping A1, A2 and A3 in the MAC header. Therefore, the A1 field of the MPDU 610 is set to the MAC address of receiving STA 616 (i.e. RA2) and the A2 field is set to the MAC address of transmitting STA 606 (i.e. TA2). Further, the Reset subfield in the FC field of MPDU 610 is set to 1. In MPDUs in which A3 is set to BSSID (e.g. Data frames with To/From DS=0; or management frames), if the BSSID of Link 2 is different, A3 (which is set to the BSSID in such frames; the BSSID typically being the same as the AP MLD's MAC address on that link) is also changed to MLD-TA (or the BSSID for that link if it is different from MLD-TA) if transmitter is AP MLD and MLD-RA (or the BSSID for that link if it is different from MLD-RA) if transmitter is non-AP MLD. If the per-link MAC addresses are the same, retransmission rules may be the same as single link STAs (i.e. even the A1, A2 and A3 addresses do not need to be changed); ¶61);
Park, in the same field of endeavor, in the same field of endeavor, AP MLD and STA MLD discloses receive, from the AP-MLD, one or more downlink frames (Figs. 2-5 show the non-AP MLD receiving from the AP MLD AID update frames) that include an Address Change Request frame, wherein the Address Change Request frame comprising information corresponding to at least one target over-the-air media access control address change time (TOMAT) and at least one maximum over-the-air media access control address change time (MOMAT) (the AP MLD AID update frames including an address Change Request frame comprising information corresponding to target over-the-air media access control address change times (TOMAT) or at least one maximum over-the-air media access control address change times (MOMAT); This frame can also contain the target time at which the update will take effect. At and after that time, the new AID will be used by the STA MLD (e.g., STA 203) and the old AID will no longer be used; ¶74; ¶39); configure, during a time interval defined by the at least one TOMAT or the at least one MOMAT (the new AID that is to be used by the STA 203 at a particular time frame; ¶74), the one or more respective TX links with the one or more respective new addresses corresponding to the one or more respective RX links of the AP- MLD (Fig. 5 shows the TX links from the non-AP MLD with the respective new addresses corresponding to the respective RX links of the AP- MLD); and transmit, to the AP MLD, one or more additional frames that include the one or more respective new addresses (communication with the STA MLD using the second AID; Fig. 6, el. 610) (setting the MAC address of the STA and the AP according to the AID update; ¶39; In one or more embodiments, the AP 201 may use a specific frame (probably a management frame, like an action frame) that could be called “AID Update” frame 204, which contains a field that comprises the new AID that is to be used by the STA 203 at a particular time frame. This frame can also contain the target time at which the update will take effect. At and after that time, the new AID will be used by the STA MLD (e.g., STA 203) and the old AID will no longer be used. Before that time, the old AID still applies. This frame would be unicasted to the STA and have the RA field set to the MAC address of the STA and the TA field set to the MAC address of the AP; ¶74).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention was made to receive, from the AP-MLD, one or more downlink frames that include an Address Change Request frame, wherein the Address Change Request frame comprising information corresponding to at least one target over-the-air media access control address change time (TOMAT) and at least one maximum over-the-air media access control address change time (MOMAT) and to configure, during a time interval defined by the at least one TOMAT or the at least one MOMAT, the one or more respective TX links with the one or more respective new addresses corresponding to the one or more respective RX links of the AP- MLD and to transmit, to the AP MLD, one or more additional frames that include the one or more respective new addresses, as taught by Park to modify Chitrakar’ s apparatus, method and system in order the AP MLD to perform an association with a station multi-link device (STA MLD) (abstract).
Furthermore, Huang in the same field of endeavor, AP MLD, STA MLD and to enhanced frame exchange and multi-link device messaging for secure communications (¶2) discloses receive, from the AP-MLD, one or more downlink frames that include an Address Change Request frame, wherein the Address Change Request frame comprising information corresponding to at least one target over-the-air media access control address change time (TOMAT) and at least one maximum over-the-air media access control address change time (MOMAT) and to configure, during a time interval defined by the at least one TOMAT or the at least one MOMAT, the one or more respective TX links with the one or more respective new addresses corresponding to the one or more respective RX links of the AP- MLD and to transmit, to the AP MLD, one or more additional frames that include the one or more respective new addresses (time window to change the MAC address (target over-the-air media access control address change time (TOMAT) and at least one maximum over-the-air media access control address change time (MOMAT)); MAC address of the STA can be changed in a secure way after a connection is established. The change pattern can be agreed upon through a request/response exchange. The change pattern can be agreed upon beforehand based on a fixed pattern across time. Other fields like association identification (AID), sequence number (SN), pseudorandom number (PN), scrambler seed will then also be changed accordingly to make tracking while establishing a connection or after establishing a connection much harder. Specific time can be defined for both sides to understand when to start to use the new STA MAC address and other parameters; ¶34-¶35; In one or more embodiments, in Option 2, a non-AP MLD may change MAC address and parameters based on a pre-agreed or predetermined pattern every pre-agreed predetermined period. The period can be a multiple of delivery traffic indication map (DTIM) intervals or Beacon intervals. The time to change can be determined by indicating a DTIM Beacon target beacon transmission time (TBTT) time and all the following TBTTs separated by the period or TSF0 and all the TBTTs separated by the period; ¶99; In one or more embodiments, an AP MLD can decide the pre-agreed period and time for non-AP MLDs that want to randomize an STA address in order to make it more difficult for an attacker to track. AP MLD and each non-AP MLD agree on a seed for each random number that needs to be generated like MAC address, SN offset, and PN offset. AP MLD and non-AP MLD can then use the seed to generate the same random number independently without exchange parameters during the time that a non-AP MLD has to change MAC address and parameters. The seed can be exchanged through a 4-way handshake or protected management frame. AP MLD and non-AP MLD agrees on AID change in a specific range. AP MLD indicates the range through a protected management frame. AP MLD does not allocate AID in the range to other STAs or non-AP MLDs that do not want to change MAC address. AP MLD can indicate a seed for each non-AP MLD to generate a sequence of AID permutations in the specific range. For example, AID range 100 to 103, and a permutation (3,4,1,2) means AID change like the following 100-->102, 101-->103, 102-->100, 103-->101; ¶100)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention was made to receive, from the AP-MLD, one or more downlink frames that include an Address Change Request frame, wherein the Address Change Request frame comprising information corresponding to at least one target over-the-air media access control address change time (TOMAT) and at least one maximum over-the-air media access control address change time (MOMAT) and to configure, during a time interval defined by the at least one TOMAT or the at least one MOMAT, the one or more respective TX links with the one or more respective new addresses corresponding to the one or more respective RX links of the AP- MLD and to transmit, to the AP MLD, one or more additional frames that include the one or more respective new addresses, as taught by Huang to modify Chitrakar’ s apparatus, method and system in view of Park in order to enhanced frame exchange and multi-link device messaging for secure communications (¶2).
Claims 10, 22, 30, Chitrakar in view of Park and Huang discloses wherein the at least one MOMAT or the at least one TOMAT is altered by a re-association procedure or via a protected management frame (Park; altering AID comprising the MOMAT or the TOMAT by the association identification (AID) re-assignment (abstract; ¶1) or the management frame; In one or more embodiments, the AP 201 may use a specific frame (probably a management frame, like an action frame) that could be called “AID Update” frame 204, which contains a field that comprises the new AID that is to be used by the STA 203 at a particular time frame. This frame can also contain the target time at which the update will take effect. At and after that time, the new AID will be used by the STA MLD (e.g., STA 203) and the old AID will no longer be used. Before that time, the old AID still applies. This frame would be unicasted to the STA and have the RA field set to the MAC address of the STA and the TA field set to the MAC address of the AP; ¶74; Huang; ¶97; The agreed time may be indicated in the request frame. The agreed time may be indicated in the response frame; ¶98; In one or more embodiments, in Option 2, a non-AP MLD may change MAC address and parameters based on a pre-agreed or predetermined pattern every pre-agreed predetermined period. The period can be a multiple of delivery traffic indication map (DTIM) intervals or Beacon intervals. The time to change can be determined by indicating a DTIM Beacon target beacon transmission time (TBTT) time and all the following TBTTs separated by the period or TSF0 and all the TBTTs separated by the period; ¶99; In one or more embodiments, an AP MLD can decide the pre-agreed period and time for non-AP MLDs that want to randomize an STA address in order to make it more difficult for an attacker to track. AP MLD and each non-AP MLD agree on a seed for each random number that needs to be generated like MAC address, SN offset, and PN offset. AP MLD and non-AP MLD can then use the seed to generate the same random number independently without exchange parameters during the time that a non-AP MLD has to change MAC address and parameters. The seed can be exchanged through a 4-way handshake or protected management frame. AP MLD and non-AP MLD agrees on AID change in a specific range. AP MLD indicates the range through a protected management frame. AP MLD does not allocate AID in the range to other STAs or non-AP MLDs that do not want to change MAC address. AP MLD can indicate a seed for each non-AP MLD to generate a sequence of AID permutations in the specific range. For example, AID range 100 to 103, and a permutation (3,4,1,2) means AID change like the following 100-->102, 101-->103, 102-->100, 103-->101; ¶100).
Claims 11, 23, 31, Chitrakar in view of Park and Huang discloses wherein the one or more respective new addresses are calculated by at least one of the AP MLD or the non-AP MLD using one or more salt (seed) values (calculating the MAC addresses based on the seed values; In one or more embodiments, an AP MLD can decide the pre-agreed period and time for non-AP MLDs that want to randomize an STA address in order to make it more difficult for an attacker to track. AP MLD and each non-AP MLD agree on a seed for each random number that needs to be generated like MAC address, SN offset, and PN offset. AP MLD and non-AP MLD can then use the seed to generate the same random number independently without exchange parameters during the time that a non-AP MLD has to change MAC address and parameters. The seed can be exchanged through a 4-way handshake or protected management frame. AP MLD and non-AP MLD agrees on AID change in a specific range. AP MLD indicates the range through a protected management frame. AP MLD does not allocate AID in the range to other STAs or non-AP MLDs that do not want to change MAC address. AP MLD can indicate a seed for each non-AP MLD to generate a sequence of AID permutations in the specific range. For example, AID range 100 to 103, and a permutation (3,4,1,2) means AID change like the following 100-->102, 101-->103, 102-->100, 103-->101; ¶100).
Claims 12, 24, 32, Chitrakar in view of Park and Huang discloses wherein the one or more salt values (seed value) are usable by at least one of the AP MLD or non-AP MLD to calculate at least one of one or more sequence numbers (SNs), or one or more packet numbers (PNs) (calculating the MAC addresses SNs and PNs offsets based on the seed values; In one or more embodiments, if a time priority management frame is used, it may have an SN space as an originator. If BA is negotiated for a TID, the recipient may have received reordering buffer control record and scoreboard context control record that uses SN. For non-AP MLD, adding or subtract a random offset, to the PN assigned to the existing operation, the next PN to be assigned. If a random offset is added, then the result of each value cannot be higher than the maximum value of the PN space. If a random offset is subtracted, then the result of each value cannot be lower than 0. For AP MLD, update the replay counter based on adding or subtracting the random offset of the non-AP MLD. For AP MLD, adding a random offset, to the PN assigned to an existing operation, the next PN to be assigned. If a random offset is added, then the result of each value shall not be higher than the maximum value of the PN space. If a random offset is added, then the result of each value shall be higher than the maximum value of the PN that is currently used. For non-AP MLD, update the replay counter based on adding or subtracting the random offset of the non-AP MLD. For AP MLD and non-AP MLD, if updating PN is impossible, then initiate a 4-way handshake to update PTK. Each STA shall set the TXVECTOR parameter SCRAMBLER_RESET to RESET_SCRAMBLER on the next transmitted PPDU; ¶95; In one or more embodiments, an AP MLD can decide the pre-agreed period and time for non-AP MLDs that want to randomize an STA address in order to make it more difficult for an attacker to track. AP MLD and each non-AP MLD agree on a seed for each random number that needs to be generated like MAC address, SN offset, and PN offset. AP MLD and non-AP MLD can then use the seed to generate the same random number independently without exchange parameters during the time that a non-AP MLD has to change MAC address and parameters. The seed can be exchanged through a 4-way handshake or protected management frame. AP MLD and non-AP MLD agrees on AID change in a specific range. AP MLD indicates the range through a protected management frame. AP MLD does not allocate AID in the range to other STAs or non-AP MLDs that do not want to change MAC address. AP MLD can indicate a seed for each non-AP MLD to generate a sequence of AID permutations in the specific range. For example, AID range 100 to 103, and a permutation (3,4,1,2) means AID change like the following 100-->102, 101-->103, 102-->100, 103-->101; ¶100).
Claims 13, 25, Chitrakar in view of Park and Huang discloses wherein one or more respective uplink salt values of the one or more salt values correspond to the one or more respective TX links of the non-AP MLD and one or more respective downlink salt values of the one or more salt values correspond to the one or more respective RX links of the AP MLD (calculating the MAC addresses corresponding to respective TX/RX links of the AP/non-AP MLD based on the seed values; In one or more embodiments, an AP MLD can decide the pre-agreed period and time for non-AP MLDs that want to randomize an STA address in order to make it more difficult for an attacker to track. AP MLD and each non-AP MLD agree on a seed for each random number that needs to be generated like MAC address, SN offset, and PN offset. AP MLD and non-AP MLD can then use the seed to generate the same random number independently without exchange parameters during the time that a non-AP MLD has to change MAC address and parameters. The seed can be exchanged through a 4-way handshake or protected management frame. AP MLD and non-AP MLD agrees on AID change in a specific range. AP MLD indicates the range through a protected management frame. AP MLD does not allocate AID in the range to other STAs or non-AP MLDs that do not want to change MAC address. AP MLD can indicate a seed for each non-AP MLD to generate a sequence of AID permutations in the specific range. For example, AID range 100 to 103, and a permutation (3,4,1,2) means AID change like the following 100-->102, 101-->103, 102-->100, 103-->101; ¶100).
Claims 14, 26, Chitrakar in view of Park and Huang discloses wherein the one or more respective TX links are configured concurrently in time with the one or more respective new addresses (Park; concurrently or separately configuring the non-AP MLD TX links according to the AID update; ¶39; In one or more embodiments, the AP 201 may use a specific frame (probably a management frame, like an action frame) that could be called “AID Update” frame 204, which contains a field that comprises the new AID that is to be used by the STA 203 at a particular time frame. This frame can also contain the target time at which the update will take effect. At and after that time, the new AID will be used by the STA MLD (e.g., STA 203) and the old AID will no longer be used. Before that time, the old AID still applies. This frame would be unicasted to the STA and have the RA field set to the MAC address of the STA and the TA field set to the MAC address of the AP; ¶74; Huang; changing MAC address in a specific range; In one or more embodiments, an AP MLD can decide the pre-agreed period and time for non-AP MLDs that want to randomize an STA address in order to make it more difficult for an attacker to track. AP MLD and each non-AP MLD agree on a seed for each random number that needs to be generated like MAC address, SN offset, and PN offset. AP MLD and non-AP MLD can then use the seed to generate the same random number independently without exchange parameters during the time that a non-AP MLD has to change MAC address and parameters. The seed can be exchanged through a 4-way handshake or protected management frame. AP MLD and non-AP MLD agrees on AID change in a specific range. AP MLD indicates the range through a protected management frame. AP MLD does not allocate AID in the range to other STAs or non-AP MLDs that do not want to change MAC address. AP MLD can indicate a seed for each non-AP MLD to generate a sequence of AID permutations in the specific range. For example, AID range 100 to 103, and a permutation (3,4,1,2) means AID change like the following 100-->102, 101-->103, 102-->100, 103-->101; ¶100).
Claims 15, 27, Chitrakar in view of Park and Huang discloses wherein the one or more respective TX links are configured separately in time from the one or more respective new addresses (Park; concurrently or separately configuring the non-AP MLD TX links according to the AID update; ¶39; In one or more embodiments, the AP 201 may use a specific frame (probably a management frame, like an action frame) that could be called “AID Update” frame 204, which contains a field that comprises the new AID that is to be used by the STA 203 at a particular time frame. This frame can also contain the target time at which the update will take effect. At and after that time, the new AID will be used by the STA MLD (e.g., STA 203) and the old AID will no longer be used. Before that time, the old AID still applies. This frame would be unicasted to the STA and have the RA field set to the MAC address of the STA and the TA field set to the MAC address of the AP; ¶74; Huang; changing MAC address in a specific range; In one or more embodiments, an AP MLD can decide the pre-agreed period and time for non-AP MLDs that want to randomize an STA address in order to make it more difficult for an attacker to track. AP MLD and each non-AP MLD agree on a seed for each random number that needs to be generated like MAC address, SN offset, and PN offset. AP MLD and non-AP MLD can then use the seed to generate the same random number independently without exchange parameters during the time that a non-AP MLD has to change MAC address and parameters. The seed can be exchanged through a 4-way handshake or protected management frame. AP MLD and non-AP MLD agrees on AID change in a specific range. AP MLD indicates the range through a protected management frame. AP MLD does not allocate AID in the range to other STAs or non-AP MLDs that do not want to change MAC address. AP MLD can indicate a seed for each non-AP MLD to generate a sequence of AID permutations in the specific range. For example, AID range 100 to 103, and a permutation (3,4,1,2) means AID change like the following 100-->102, 101-->103, 102-->100, 103-->101; ¶100).
Claims 16, 28, Chitrakar in view of Park and Huang discloses wherein the one or more respective TX links are configured with the one or more respective new addresses based on at least one of: one or more transmission directions (Chitrakar; configuring the respective receiving and transmitting MLD links based on the frame communication/transmission direction on the receiving and transmitting MLD links by changing the receiving address (RA) and the transmission address (TA) as shown in Fig. 6; FIG. 6 depicts an illustration of how an unprotected MPDU is retransmitted on a different link in accordance with a first embodiment. Transmitting MLD 602 is configured to operate with a first plurality of affiliated STAs such as STA 604 and STA 606. A MAC address MLD-TA identifies the transmitting MLD 602 and may be used to represent the MLD for communication with the DS (Distribution Service), while the MAC addresses of STA 604 and STA 606 are TA1 and TA2 respectively. Similarly, receiving MLD 612 is configured to operate with a second plurality of affiliated STAs such as STA 614 and STA 616. A MAC address MLD-RA identifies the receiving MLD 612, while the MAC addresses of STA 614 and STA 616 are RA1 and RA2 respectively. For an MLD, the MLD MAC address may be the same as one of its per-link MAC addresses or different. However, it is assumed that the per-link MAC addresses are different from each other (i.e. TA1≠TA2; RA1≠RA2). It will be appreciated that two or more STAs may form the first and second plurality of affiliated STAs, and two or more links may be formed between STAs of the first plurality of affiliated STAs and corresponding STAs of the second plurality of STAs without necessarily requiring each STA to be connected by a link. For example, Link 1 may be setup between STA 604 and STA 614, while Link 2 may be setup between STA 606 and STA 616. The settings described above are also applicable for retransmission of protected or unprotected MPDUs that will be further discussed in various embodiments below. Further, it is assumed, particularly for retransmission of protected MPDUs, that a robust security network association (RSNA) has been set up between the transmitting MLD and the receiving MLD and all the necessary secret keys (e.g. PTK, GTK/IGTK etc.) have been generated/distributed; ¶60; Huang; changing MAC address in a specific range; In one or more embodiments, an AP MLD can decide the pre-agreed period and time for non-AP MLDs that want to randomize an STA address in order to make it more difficult for an attacker to track. AP MLD and each non-AP MLD agree on a seed for each random number that needs to be generated like MAC address, SN offset, and PN offset. AP MLD and non-AP MLD can then use the seed to generate the same random number independently without exchange parameters during the time that a non-AP MLD has to change MAC address and parameters. The seed can be exchanged through a 4-way handshake or protected management frame. AP MLD and non-AP MLD agrees on AID change in a specific range. AP MLD indicates the range through a protected management frame. AP MLD does not allocate AID in the range to other STAs or non-AP MLDs that do not want to change MAC address. AP MLD can indicate a seed for each non-AP MLD to generate a sequence of AID permutations in the specific range. For example, AID range 100 to 103, and a permutation (3,4,1,2) means AID change like the following 100-->102, 101-->103, 102-->100, 103-->101; ¶100).
Claim, 29, the limitation of claim 29 analyzed with respect to claim 9, the further limitation of claim 29 discloses by Chitrakar, a non-access point (non-AP) multi-link device (MLD) (non-AP MLD; ), comprising: a radio (radio transmitter and receiver; Fig. 23, els. 2302 and 2304); and a processor (controller and receive signal processor; Fig. 23, els. 2306 and 2310) operably coupled to the radio (Fig. 6 shows the coupling between the radios and the processor; As shown in FIG. 23, the multi-link device 2300 may include circuitry 2314, at least one radio transmitter 2302, at least one radio receiver 2304 and multiple antennas 2312 (for the sake of simplicity, only one antenna is depicted in FIG. 23 for illustration purposes). The circuitry may include at least one controller 2306 for use in software and hardware aided execution of tasks it is designed to perform, including control of communications with one or more other multi-link devices in a MIMO wireless network; ¶105).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/KOUROUSH MOHEBBI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2471