DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The amendments filed on February 24th 2026 have been entered. Claims 1-3,6,8-16,19 and 21-28 are currently pending. Applicants’ amendments to the drawings and claims have overcome the objections set forth in the Non-Final Office Action mailed on December 12th 2025.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2, 8, 11-15, 21, 23-24, and 26-27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Eid et al. (IDS Reference US 20210265732A1) in view of Singh et al. (US 20190103365A1) and Tsai et al. (US 20200343196 A1).
Regarding Claim 1, Eid et al. discloses an antenna module (Antenna unit 192; Paragraph 19 and figure 7 of Eid et al.), comprising:
a substrate extending in a first direction (Package Substrate 150 which extends in a horizontal direction ; Paragraph 19 and figure 1 of Eid et al.);
a die comprising:
a radio-frequency (RF) circuit, the die disposed on the substrate (Radio Frequency Die 180; Paragraph 19 and figure 1 of Eid et al.); and
a sidewall extending in a second direction orthogonal to the first direction (Die 780 comprises a sidewall now labeled as 780-1 extending in a second direction orthogonal to the first direction in annotated figure 7 of Eid et al.);
a first mold layer including the die and adjacent to the substrate in the second direction, the first mold layer having a first surface (Mold material 131 is a first mold layer in a second vertical direction with a first top surface and the die is inside of it; Paragraph 19 and figure 1 of Eid et al.); and
a first antenna comprising:
a first antenna element adjacent to the first surface of the first mold layer in the second direction, (First antenna comprises a first element in the form of Top Patch 194 that is adjacent to the first surface, in a vertical direction, and Top Patch 194 is coupled to the Bottom Patch 193 which is connected to the RF die thus Top Patch 194 is electrically coupled to the RF circuit and can be directly coupled if needed; Paragraph 19 and figure 1 of Eid et al.)
an antenna feed line (Top Patch 194 is connected to bottom Patch 193 which is connected with conductive connectors 197-199 which serve as feed lines to deliver power from the IPD and also connects to the RF circuit 180 and first patch can be directly coupled to the die; Paragraph 19 and figure 1 of Eid et al.)
a first metal shield comprising (EMI Shield 782 created from metal; Paragraph 29 and figure 7 of Eid et al.):
a first metal portion adjacent to a third surface of the first mold layer, extending in the first direction and adjacent to the die in the second direction, and at least coextensive with a fourth surface of the die (Metal Portion 782 is adjacent to a third surface of the mold now labeled 731-1 wherein it extends in the horizontal direction and adjacent to the die in the second direction and at least coextensive with a fourth surface of the die now labeled 780-2 in Annotated Figure 7 of Eid et al.); and
a second metal portion adjacent to the sidewall of the die and extending in a second direction and at least coextensive with the sidewall of the die (Metal Connection portion 785 is adjacent to the sidewall 780-1 of the die and coextensive with it and extends in a second direction; Annotated Figure 7 of Eid et al.).
Eid et al. fails to explicitly disclose the second metal portion extending in the second direction along a vertical periphery of the antenna module and the antenna feed line comprising: a metal post extending in the second direction through the first mold layer and electrically coupling the RF circuit to the first antenna element, an insultation layer surrounding the metal post and extending in a second direction.
However, Singh et al. does disclose a second metal portion extending in the second direction along a vertical periphery of the antenna module (Die 114/116 is placed in a mold layer 122 with a top surface 124 and a side surface 126 wherein a metal shielding layer comprises 2 portions with a first portion extending along the top surface 124 and a second portion that extends in a second direction along the sidewall 126 such that it is along the vertical periphery of the device 200 and grounded by through 110 or ground 108; Paragraph 20-25 and figure 1b of Singh et al.).
Tsai et al. further discloses the antenna feed line comprising: a metal post extending in the second direction through the first mold layer and electrically coupling the RF circuit to the first antenna element, an insultation layer surrounding the metal post and extending in a second direction (Antenna structure 5a comprises a feed line that comprises a metal post 311 that connects to a RFIC like chip 10 through a bonding pad 225 such that it can carry RF signals to an antenna structure 521 which it also connects to wherein said metal post 311 extends in a mold layer 500 in second direction and is has a glue 401 that surrounds the post 311 wherein the glue 401 can be an insulating material like a thermoplastic resin; Paragraph 118-124 and figure 18-19 of Tsai et al.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art modify the antenna as taught by Eid et al. to have a second metal portion extending in the second direction along a vertical periphery of the antenna module as taught by Singh et al. so that the electrical components like the dies can be completely isolated by blocking electromagnetic radiation from the surrounding environment that may degrade performance (Paragraph 20-25 of Singh et al.).
It would have been further obvious before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art modify the antenna as taught by Eid et al. and Singh et al. to have the antenna feed line comprise: a metal post extending in the second direction through the first mold layer and electrically coupling the RF circuit to the first antenna element, an insultation layer surrounding the metal post and extending in a second direction as taught by Tsai et al to transmit RF signals between the RF circuit and the antenna element (Paragraph 119 of Tsai et al.) and strengthen the metal post while improving electromagnetic shielding (Paragraph 121 of Tsai et al.).
Regarding Claim 2, Eid et al. further discloses the first antenna further comprises:
a second antenna element coupled to the first antenna element, wherein the second antenna element is adjacent to a second surface of the substrate (Bottom Patch 193 is a second antenna element wherein it is adjacent to the top surface of the substrate 150; Paragraph 19 and figure 1 of Eid et al.).
Regarding Claim 8, Eid et al. further discloses the second metal portion is configured to be coupled to ground (Metal connection portion 785 connects to the ground plane in the substrate; Paragraph 29 of Eid et al.).
Regarding Claim 11, Eid et al. further discloses wherein the first antenna is configured to radiate RF signals (Top Patch 194 is connected to bottom Patch 193 which is connected with conductive connectors 197-199 which serve as feed lines to deliver power from the IPD and also connects to the RF circuit 180 and they can be directly coupled such that the patch can transmit RF waves; Abstract and Paragraph 19 and figure 1 of Eid et al.).
Regarding Claim 12, Eid et al. further discloses the second antenna element is configured to electromagnetically couple RF signals with the first antenna element (Top Patch 194 is coupled with the Bottom patch 193 which radiates RF signals; Paragraph 19 of Eid et al.).
Regarding Claim 13, Eid et al. further discloses the antenna module integrated into a device selected from group consisting of: a set top box; an entertainment unit; a navigation device; a communications device; a fixed location data unit; a mobile location data unit; a global positioning system (GPS) device; a mobile phone; a cellular phone; a smart phone; a session initiation protocol (SIP) phone; a tablet; a phablet; a server; a computer; a portable computer; a mobile computing device; a wearable computing device; a desktop computer; a personal digital assistant (PDA); a monitor; a computer monitor; a television; a tuner; a radio; a satellite radio; a music player; a digital music player; a portable music player; a digital video player; a video player; a digital video disc (DVD) player; a portable digital video player; an automobile; a vehicle component; an avionics systems; a drone; and a multicopter (Antenna Unit can be placed inside a computing device 900; Paragraph 34-35 and figure 8 of Eid et al.).
Regarding Claim 14, Eid et al. further discloses a method of fabricating an antenna module, comprising (Antenna unit 192 has been created and the formation of it and its components is inherent; Paragraph 19 and figure 7 of Eid et al.):
forming a substrate extending in a first direction(Package Substrate 150 is formed and extends in a horizontal direction ; Paragraph 19 and figure 1 of Eid et al.);
coupling a die on the substrate, the die comprising a radio-frequency (RF) circuit and a sidewall extending in a second direction orthogonal to the first direction;
(Radio Frequency Die 180 is coupled to the substrate and Die 780 comprises a sidewall now labeled as 780-1 extending in a second direction orthogonal to the first direction in annotated figure 7; Paragraph 19 and figure 1 of Eid et al.);
applying a first mold layer on the die and the substrate, the first mold layer adjacent to the substrate in the second direction, the first mold layer having a first surface(Mold material 131 is a first mold layer that has been applied in a second vertical direction with a first top surface and the die is inside of it; Paragraph 19 and figure 1 of Eid et al.);
forming a first antenna comprising a first antenna element adjacent to the first surface of the first mold layer in the second direction; electrically coupling the RF circuit to the first antenna (Formed First antenna comprises a first element in the form of Top Patch 194 that is adjacent to the first surface, in a vertical direction, and Top Patch 194 is coupled to the Bottom Patch 193 which is connected to the RF die thus Top Patch 194 is electrically coupled to the RF circuit and can be directly coupled if needed; Paragraph 19 and figure 1 of Eid et al.) and forming a first metal shield comprising (EMI Shield 782 created from metal; Paragraph 29 and figure 7 of Eid et al.):
a first metal portion adjacent to a third surface of the first mold layer, extending in the first direction and adjacent to the die in the second direction, and at least coextensive with a fourth surface of the die (Metal Portion 782 is adjacent to a third surface of the mold now labeled 731-1 wherein it extends in the horizontal direction and adjacent to the die in the second direction and at least coextensive with a fourth surface of the die now labeled 780-2 in Annotated Figure 7 of Eid et al.); and
a second metal portion 144 adjacent to the sidewall of the die and extending in a second direction and at least coextensive with the sidewall of the die (Metal Connection portion 785 is adjacent to the sidewall 780-1 of the die and coextensive with it and extends in a second direction; Annotated Figure 7 of Eid et al.)
forming an antenna feed line (Top Patch 194 is connected to bottom Patch 193 which is connected with conductive connectors 197-199 which serve as feed lines to deliver power from the IPD and also connects to the RF circuit 180 however patch 194 can be directly connected; Paragraph 19 and figure 1 of Eid et al.).
Eid et al. fails to explicitly disclose the second metal portion extending in the second direction along a vertical periphery of the antenna module as well as forming an antenna feed line comprising: forming a metal post extending in the second direction through the first mold layer; forming an insulation layer surrounding the metal post and extending in the second direction; and electrically coupling the metal post to the RF circuit and the first antenna element.
However, Singh et al. does disclose a second metal portion extending in the second direction along a vertical periphery of the antenna module (Die 114/116 is placed in a mold layer 122 with a top surface 124 and a side surface 126 wherein a metal shielding layer comprises 2 portions with a first portion extending along the top surface 124 and a second portion that extends in a second direction along the sidewall 126 such that it is along the vertical periphery of the device 200 and grounded by through 110 or ground 108; Paragraph 20-25 and figure 1b of Singh et al.).
Tsai et al. further discloses forming an antenna feed line comprising: forming a metal post extending in the second direction through the first mold layer; forming an insulation layer surrounding the metal post and extending in the second direction; and electrically coupling the metal post to the RF circuit and the first antenna element (Antenna structure 5a comprises a feed line that comprises a metal post 311 that connects to a RFIC like chip 10 through a bonding pad 225 such that it can carry RF signals to an antenna structure 521 which it also connects to wherein said metal post 311 extends in a mold layer 500 in second direction and is has a glue 401 that surrounds the post 311 wherein the glue 401 can be an insulating material like a thermoplastic resin wherein a method of making said antenna structure is also taught and implied; Paragraph 118-124 and figure 18-19 of Tsai et al.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art modify the antenna as taught by Eid et al. to have a second metal portion extending in the second direction along a vertical periphery of the antenna module as taught by Singh et al. so that the electrical components like the dies can be completely isolated by blocking electromagnetic radiation from the surrounding environment that may degrade performance (Paragraph 20-25 of Singh et al.). It would have been further obvious before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art modify the antenna as taught by Eid et al. and Singh et al. to have forming an antenna feed line comprise: forming a metal post extending in the second direction through the first mold layer; forming an insulation layer surrounding the metal post and extending in the second direction; and electrically coupling the metal post to the RF circuit and the first antenna element as taught by Tsai et al to transmit RF signals between the RF circuit and the antenna element (Paragraph 119 of Tsai et al.) and strengthen the metal post while improving electromagnetic shielding (Paragraph 121 of Tsai et al.).
Regarding Claim 15, Eid et al. further disclose forming a second antenna element coupled to the first antenna element, wherein the second antenna element is adjacent to a second surface of the substrate (Formed Bottom Patch 193 is a second antenna element wherein it is adjacent to the top surface of the substrate 150; Paragraph 19 and figure 1 of Eid et al.).
Regarding Claim 21, Eid et al. further discloses coupling the second metal portion to ground (Metal connection portion 785 connects to the ground plane in the substrate; Paragraph 29 of Eid et al.).
Regarding Claim 23, Eid et al. further discloses forming the first antenna comprising the first antenna element adjacent to the first surface of the first mold layer in the second direction (First antenna comprises a first element in the form of Top Patch 194 that is adjacent to the first surface, in a vertical direction).
Eid et al. fails to explicitly disclose patterning on the first mold layer; sputtering metal on the first mold layer; and grinding excess sputtered metal forming the first antenna.
However, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to pattern on the first mold layer; sputter metal on the first mold layer; and grind excess sputtered metal forming the first antenna, since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to employ/use a known technique to improve similar devices (methods, products) in the same way is obvious. KSR International Co. v Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S._,_, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1395-97 (2007). The motivation stems from the fact that it would be obvious to make or form components using different known techniques to meet production requirements.
Regarding Claim 24, Eid et al. further discloses a metal shield, shielding the die from electromagnetic signals (EMI Shield 782 created from metal protects the die 780; Paragraph 29 and figure 7 of Eid et al.).
Eid et al. fails to explicitly disclose grinding the excess sputtered metal, forming a metal shield.
However, It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to grind the excess sputtered metal, forming a metal shield, since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to employ/use a known technique to improve similar devices (methods, products) in the same way is obvious. KSR International Co. v Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S.,, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1395-97 (2007). The motivation stems from the fact that it would be obvious to make or form components using different known techniques to meet production requirements.
Regarding Claim 26, Eid et al. further discloses forming the first antenna comprising the first antenna element adjacent to the first surface of the first mold layer in the second direction (First antenna comprises a first element in the form of Top Patch 194 that is adjacent to the first surface, in a vertical direction).
Eid et al. fails to explicitly disclose applying a tape mask to the first mold layer, patterning the first mold layer, sputtering metal over the first mold layer, and removing the tape mask from the first mold layer.
However, It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to apply a tape mask on the first mold layer, pattern the first mold layer, sputter metal over the first mold layer, and removing the tape mask from the first mold layer, since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to employ/use a known technique to improve similar devices (methods, products) in the same way is obvious. Application/Control Number: 18/324,114 Art Unit: 2845 Page 13 KSR International Co. v Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S._,_, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1395-97 (2007). The motivation stems from the fact that it would be obvious to make or form components using different known techniques to meet production requirements.
Regarding Claim 27, Eid et al. further discloses forming the first antenna comprising the first antenna element adjacent to the first surface of the first mold layer in the second direction (First antenna comprises a first element in the form of Top Patch 194 that is adjacent to the first surface, in a vertical direction).
Eid et al. fails to explicitly disclose sputtering a metal over the first mold layer and patterning the metal to form the first antenna.
However, It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to sputter metal over the first mold layer and pattern the metal to form the first antenna since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to employ/use a known technique to improve similar devices (methods, products) in the same way is obvious. KSR International Co. v Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S._,_, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1395-97 (2007). The motivation stems from the fact that it would be obvious to make or form components using different known techniques to meet production requirements.
Claim(s) 3, 6, 10, 16, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Eid et al. (IDS Reference US 20210265732A1) in view of Singh et al. (US 20190103365A1), Tsai et al. (US 20200343196 A1), and Wu et al. (US 20230039444 A1).
Regarding Claim 3, Eid et al., Singh et al., and Tsai et al. fails to discloses a second mold layer adjacent to the first antenna element in the second direction,
wherein the first antenna further comprises:
a second antenna element includes adjacent to the second mold layer in the second direction and coupled to the first antenna element.
However, Wu does disclose a second mold layer adjacent to the first antenna element in the second direction (Molding compound 63 is adjacent to radiating elements 620 inside conductive traces 624 in a vertical direction; Paragraph 67-69 and figure 12 of Wu),
wherein the first antenna further comprises:
a second antenna element adjacent to the second mold layer in the second direction and coupled to the first antenna element (Mold compound 63 is adjacent to Radiating elements in the conductive traces 634 which are in a vertical direction and coupled to the first antenna elements in 624 forming an array; Paragraph 67-69 and figure 12 of Wu).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art modify the antenna as taught by Eid et al., Singh et al., and Tsai et al. to include a second mold layer adjacent to the first antenna element in the second direction, wherein the first antenna further comprises: a second antenna element includes adjacent to the second mold layer in the second direction and coupled to the first antenna element as taught by Wu so one can employ antenna elements with different bands (single-band, dual-band, etc.) at different orientations (Bottom can be single band and top can be dual band for example; Paragraph 56 and 78 of Wu).
Regarding Claim 6, Eid et al., Singh et al., and Tsai et al. fails to disclose a via in the second mold layer electrically coupled to the first antenna element and the second antenna element.
However, Wu does disclose a via in the second mold layer electrically coupled to the first antenna element and the second antenna element (A via now labeled 612-1 couples the first antenna element in 624 and the second antenna element 634; Paragraph 68 and annotated figure 12 of Wu).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art modify the antenna as taught by Eid et al., Singh et al., and Tsai et al. to include a via in the second mold layer electrically coupled to the first antenna element and the second antenna element as taught by Wu to provide signal transmission between the antenna structures (Paragraph 68 of Wu).
Regarding Claim 10, Eid et al., Singh et al., and Tsai et al. fails to disclose a via in the second mold layer electrically coupled to the first antenna element and the second antenna element.
However, Wu does disclose a via in the second mold layer electrically coupled to the first antenna element and the second antenna element (A via now labeled 612-1 couples the first antenna element in 624 and the second antenna element 634; Paragraph 68 and annotated figure 12 of Wu).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art modify the antenna as taught by Eid et al., Singh et al., and Tsai et al. to include a via in the second mold layer electrically coupled to the first antenna element and the second antenna element as taught by Wu to provide signal transmission between the antenna structures (Paragraph 68 of Wu).
Regarding Claim 16, Eid et al., Singh et al., and Tsai et al. fails to disclose forming a second mold layer adjacent to the first antenna element in the second direction; and forming a second antenna element adjacent to the second mold layer in the second direction and coupled to the first antenna element
However, Wu does disclose forming a second mold layer adjacent to the first antenna element in the second direction(Molding compound 63 is formed adjacent to radiating elements 620 inside conductive traces 624 in a vertical direction; Paragraph 67-69 and figure 12 of Wu); and forming a second antenna element adjacent to the second mold layer in the second direction and coupled to the first antenna element (Mold compound 63 is adjacent to formed Radiating elements in the conductive traces 634 which are in a vertical direction and coupled to the first antenna elements in 624 forming an array; Paragraph 67-69 and figure 12 of Wu).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art modify the antenna as taught by Eid et al., Singh et al., and Tsai et al. to include forming a second mold layer adjacent to the first antenna element in the second direction; and forming a second antenna element adjacent to the second mold layer in the second direction and coupled to the first antenna element so one can employ antenna elements with different bands (single-band, dual-band, etc.) at different orientations (Bottom can be single band and top can be dual band for example; Paragraph 56 and 78 of Wu).
Regarding Claim 19, Eid et al., Singh et al., and Tsai et al. fails to disclose forming a via in the second mold layer; and electrically coupling the first antenna element and the second antenna element through the via.
However, Wu does disclose forming a via in the second mold layer; and electrically coupling the first antenna element and the second antenna element through the via (A via now labeled 612-1 is formed so that it couples the first antenna element in 624 and the second antenna element 634; Paragraph 68 and annotated figure 12 of Wu).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art modify the antenna as taught by Eid et al., Singh et al., and Tsai et al. to include forming a via in the second mold layer; and electrically coupling the first antenna element and the second antenna element through the via as taught by Wu to provide signal transmission between the antenna structures (Paragraph 68 of Wu).
Claim(s) 25 and 28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Eid et al. (IDS Reference US 20210265732A1) in view of Singh et al. (US 20190103365A1) and Cheng et al. (TW 201426960 A).
Regarding Claim 25, Eid et al., Singh et al., Tsai et al., and Cheng et al. disclose applying a second mold layer to the antenna module and forming a second metal shield portion adjacent to the second mold layer in the second direction (Second mold layer 263 is applied to the antenna module and second metal shield portion is formed in a vertical and horizontal direction by Conductive shield layer on 240 and metal pillar 32 such that it is adjacent to the second mold layer; Pg. 6, Paragraph 2 and figure 1 of Cheng);
Eid et al., Singh et al., and Cheng fail to explicitly disclose patterning on the second mold layer; sputtering metal over a second mold layer and grinding excess metal forming a second shield.
However, It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to pattern on the second mold layer and grind excess metal to form a second shield, since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to employ/use a known technique to improve similar devices (methods, products) in the same way is obvious. KSR International Co. v Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S., __, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1395-97 Application/Control Number: 18/324,114 Art Unit: 2845 (2007). The motivation stems from the fact that it would be obvious to make or form components using different known techniques to meet production requirements.
Regarding Claim 28, Eid et al., Singh et al., Tsai et al., and Cheng et al. further disclose forming a metal shield adjacent to the first surface of the first mold layer (EMI Shield 782 created from metal protects the die 780 and is adjacent the first mold layer 131; Paragraph 29 and figure 7 of Eid et al.) and a second metal shield portion adjacent to the second mold layer in the second direction (Second metal shield portion is formed in a vertical and horizontal direction by Conductive shield layer on 240 and metal pillar 32 such that it is adjacent to the second mold layer; Pg. 6, Paragraph 2 and figure 1 of Cheng).
Eid et al., Singh et al., and Cheng fail to disclose sputtering a second metal over the second mold layer and patterning the second metal to form a second metal shield.
However, It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to sputter a second metal over the second mold layer and pattern the second metal to form a second metal shield, since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to employ/use a known technique to improve similar devices (methods, products) in the same way is obvious. KSR International Co. v Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S._,_, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1395-97 (2007). The motivation stems from the fact that it would be obvious to make or form components using different known techniques to meet production requirements.
Additional Comments Regarding the Claim Rejections
Examiner’s note – Regarding claims 8, 11, and 12, the recitation that an element is “configured to” perform a function, it is the position of the office that such limitations are not positive structural limitations, and thus, only require the ability to so perform. In this case the prior art applied herein is construed as at least possessing such ability. When the structure recited in the reference is substantially identical to that of the claims, claimed properties or functions are presumed to be inherent. The Courts have held that it is well settled that where there is a reason to believe that a functional characteristic would be inherent in the prior art, the burden of proof then shifts to the applicant to provide objective evidence to the contrary. See In re Schreiber, 128 F.3d at 1478, 44 USPQ2d at 1478, 44 USPQ2d at 1432 (Fed. Cir. 1997) (see MPEP § 2112.01, I.).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 9 and 22 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter.
Regarding claim 9 and 22, patentability exists, at least in part, with the claimed features of “a second metal shield, comprising: a second first metal portion adjacent to the second mold layer extending in the first direction and coextensive with the first metal portion of the first metal shield; and a second second metal portion extending in the second direction, the second metal portion of the second metal shield coupled to the first metal portion of the second metal shield and the second metal portion of the first metal shield.” as recited in claim 9 and 22.
Eid et al., Singh et al., and Tsai et al. are cited as teaching some of the elements of the claimed invention including an antenna module comprising , a substrate in first direction, a die with a radio frequency circuit and sidewall in a second direction, a first mold layer, a first antenna, an antenna feed line with a metal post surrounded by an insulating layer, and a first metal shield with a first metal portion and second metal portion. Eid et al., Singh et al., and Tsai et al. fail to explicitly disclose a second metal shield with a second first metal portion and a second second metal portion.
However, the prior art, when taken alone, or, in combination, cannot be construed as reasonably teaching or suggesting all of the elements of the claimed invention as arranged, disposed, or provided in the manner as claimed by the Applicant.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1 and 14 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any combination of references applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
WO 2019066997 A1 (EID ET AL. FERAS et al.) relates to a configuration of aa device package with a die inside a substrate and antenna units .
US 20140035097 A1 (Lin; I-Chia et al.) relates to a configuration of a semiconductor package with a die, substrate, and antenna unit.
WO 2018125242 A1 (ALEKSOV ALEKSANDAR et al.) relates to a configuration of a micro-electric device comprising a semiconductor die, mold layers, a substrate, and antenna units.
US 12266618 B2 (Chen; Jenchun et al.) discloses semiconductor patch antenna wherein a die comprises a metal shielding covering a top and side portion.
US 20230187374 A1 (JIAN; Hui-Ping et al.) discloses semiconductor patch antenna wherein a die comprises a metal shielding covering a top and side portion.
TW 201426960 A (CHENG, TSUNG JUNG) discloses an antenna module comprising metal pillars that pass through a molding layer to connect to an antenna element and said pillars are encased in a insulating layer.
/DAMEON E LEVI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2845
/GURBIR SINGH/Examiner, Art Unit 2845