DETAILED ACTION
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
In page 4 of the specification in paragraphs 16-22, there is multiple mentions of "electronic enclosure of claim 10" should be replace -- electronic enclosure-. Examiner suggest that claim dependency is not proper in the specification document and should be remove to avoid confusion.
Drawings
Replacement drawings in compliance with 37 CFR 1.84 and 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required. The drawings submitted are not acceptable because: The drawings are objected to because: The present Drawings 1, 2 and 3, are so dark so dark that structural details cannot be clearly understood. The drawings must be reasonably free from erasures and must be free from alterations, overwriting, interlineations, folds, and copy marks. All drawings must be made by a process, which will give them satisfactory reproduction characteristics.
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.84(c) because they fail to show: Identification of drawings consistent with the speciation. Examiner suggest identification of the following elements mention in pages 2-4 the specification, cooled structure, braided shield, barrier, cooled structure, electric motor and engine block component. Said elements are described in the claims limitations but it appears to not have any further representation in the drawings or the specification, appropriate action is required throughout the drawings for clear understanding.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Data et al. (US Patent Application Publication 20190027871 A1) in view of Huart et al. (US Patent 6561336 B1).
As per claim 1, Data teaches an electrical cable 90 support and heat shield (along 42 and 60, see paragraph 35), comprising; a cable clamping device (120 with 128, see paragraph 43) for clamping to a portion (seen in figure 4) of an electrical cable 90; and a rigid tubular sleeve (along 64, shown in figure 6) having a connector end (along 10) and a clamping end (120 with 128, see paragraph 43) and an interior dimension (shown in figure 6) configured to receive the electrical cable 90, wherein the connector end (along 10) is mechanically coupled and the clamping end (120 with 128, see paragraph 43) is configured with the cable clamping device (120 with 128, see paragraph 43).
Data does not teach, wherein the connector end is mechanically coupled to a cooled structure.
Huart teaches, wherein the connector end (along 63) is mechanically coupled (shown in figure 21) to a cooled structure (see column 28, lines 44-57).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify the invention of Data in view of Huart to include the teaching of, wherein the connector end is mechanically coupled to a cooled structure.
As per claim 2, Data teaches an electrical cable 90 support and heat shield (along 42 and 60, see paragraph 35), wherein a first electrical connector 60 affixed to the electrical cable 90 is mechanically coupled to a corresponding electrical connector 10 such that the electrical cable 90 is communicatively coupled to an electronic component (see paragraph 3-4 and 28).
Data does not teach, a corresponding electrical connector within the cooled structure and coupled to an electronic component within the cooled structure.
Huart teaches, a corresponding electrical connector 63 within the cooled structure (see column 28, lines 44-57) and coupled to an electronic component (along 2) within the cooled structure (see column 28, lines 44-57).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify the invention of Data in view of Huart to include the teaching of, a corresponding electrical connector within the cooled structure and coupled to an electronic component within the cooled structure.
The motivation to combine the teachings of Data in view of Huart would have been to have a structure to makes it possible rapidly to remove the heat produced by the operation of the electric machine for example the combustion engine of the vehicle (see column 22, lines 8-16).
As per claim 3, Data teaches an electrical cable 90 support and heat shield (along 42 and 60, see paragraph 35).
Data does not teach, wherein the cooled structure is a metallic electronic enclosure.
Huart teaches, wherein the cooled structure (see column 28, lines 44-57) is a metallic electronic enclosure (along 13).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify the invention of Data in view of Huart to include the teaching of, wherein the cooled structure is a metallic electronic enclosure.
The motivation to combine the teachings of Data in view of Huart would have been to have a structure to makes it possible rapidly to remove the heat produced by the operation of the electric machine for example the combustion engine of the vehicle (see column 22, lines 8-16).
As per claim 4, Data teaches an electrical cable 90 support and heat shield (along 42 and 60, see paragraph 35).
Data does not teach, wherein the cooled structure is a liquid cooled structure.
Huart teaches, wherein the cooled structure (see column 28, lines 44-57) is a liquid cooled structure (see column 28, lines 44-57).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify the invention of Data in view of Huart to include the teaching of, wherein the cooled structure is a liquid cooled structure.
The motivation to combine the teachings of Data in view of Huart would have been to have a structure to makes it possible rapidly to remove the heat produced by the operation of the electric machine for example the combustion engine of the vehicle (see column 22, lines 8-16).
As per claim 5, Data teaches an electrical cable 90 support and heat shield (along 42 and 60, see paragraph 35), wherein the rigid tubular sleeve (along 64, shown in figure 6) includes a flange (along 62) at the connector end (along 10) and wherein the flange (along 62) is mechanically coupled with a plurality of threaded bolts (seen in figure 4) each passing through a hole (along 62) in the flange (along 62) and threaded into a corresponding hole (along 62).
Data does not teach, wherein the flange is mechanically coupled to the cooled structure and threaded into a corresponding hole in the cooled structure.
Huart teaches, wherein the flange is mechanically coupled (shown in figure 21) to the cooled structure (see column 28, lines 44-57) and threaded (along 25) into a corresponding hole (along 25) in the cooled structure (see column 28, lines 44-57).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify the invention of Data in view of Huart to include the teaching of, wherein the flange is mechanically coupled to the cooled structure and threaded into a corresponding hole in the cooled structure.
The motivation to combine the teachings of Data in view of Huart would have been to have a structure to makes it possible rapidly to remove the heat produced by the operation of the electric machine for example the combustion engine of the vehicle (see column 22, lines 8-16).
As per claim 6, Data teaches an electrical cable 90 support and heat shield (along 42 and 60, see paragraph 35), wherein the cable clamping device (120 with 128, see paragraph 43) is electrically coupled to a braided shield (along 42 and 60, see paragraph 4 and 35) of the electrical cable 90 and the rigid tubular sleeve (along 64, shown in figure 6).
Data does not teach; the rigid tubular sleeve is electrically coupled to the cooled structure.
Huart teaches, the rigid tubular sleeve (12 along X) is electrically coupled to the cooled structure (see column 28, lines 44-57).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify the invention of Data in view of Huart to include the teaching of, the rigid tubular sleeve is electrically coupled to the cooled structure.
The motivation to combine the teachings of Data in view of Huart would have been to have a structure to makes it possible rapidly to remove the heat produced by the operation of the electric machine for example the combustion engine of the vehicle (see column 22, lines 8-16).
As per claim 7, Data teaches an electrical cable 90 support and heat shield (along 42 and 60, see paragraph 35), wherein the rigid tubular sleeve (along 64, shown in figure 6) further includes a plurality of ridges (adjacent to 78) formed on an interior surface (along 70) of the rigid tubular sleeve (along 64, shown in figure 6).
As per claim 8, Data teaches an electrical cable 90 support and heat shield (along 42 and 60, see paragraph 35), wherein the electrical cable 90 conducts an electrical current (see paragraph 28) between the motor controller (see paragraph 3-4 and 28) and an electric motor (see paragraph 2).
Data does not teach, wherein the cooled structure encloses a motor controller.
Huart teaches, wherein the cooled structure (see column 28, lines 44-57) encloses a motor controller 13.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify the invention of Data in view of Huart to include the teaching of, wherein the cooled structure encloses a motor controller.
The motivation to combine the teachings of Data in view of Huart would have been to have a structure to makes it possible rapidly to remove the heat produced by the operation of the electric machine for example the combustion engine of the vehicle (see column 22, lines 8-16).
As per claim 9, Data teaches an electrical cable 90 support and heat shield (along 42 and 60, see paragraph 35), further including an electrically conductive gasket 58 located between the rigid tubular sleeve (along 64, shown in figure 6).
Data does not teach, between the cooled structure and the rigid tubular sleeve.
Huart teaches, an electrically conductive gasket located between the cooled structure (see column 28, lines 44-57) and the rigid tubular sleeve (12 along X).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify the invention of Data in view of Huart to include the teaching of, between the cooled structure and the rigid tubular sleeve.
The motivation to combine the teachings of Data in view of Huart would have been to have a structure to makes it possible rapidly to remove the heat produced by the operation of the electric machine for example the combustion engine of the vehicle (see column 22, lines 8-16).
As per claim 10, Data teaches an environmental management system (along 42 and 60, see paragraph 28, 35) including an electronic enclosure (see paragraph 28), comprising: a printed circuit board (see paragraph 28) having a first electrical connector 60 wherein the first electrical connector 60 aligns with an opening (along M) in the electronic enclosure (see paragraph 28); an electrical cable 90 having a second electrical connector 10 for coupling to the first electrical connector 60; and a tubular cable shield 80 having a flange end (along 62) and a clamping end (120 with 128, see paragraph 43) wherein the second electrical connector 10 is positioned within the flange end (along 62) and wherein the flange end (along 62) is mechanically affixed over the opening (along M) in the electronic enclosure (see paragraph 28) creating an environmental (along 42 and 60, see paragraph 35) and where the clamping end (120 with 128, see paragraph 43) includes a cable clamp assembly (120 with 128, see paragraph 43) for restraining the electrical cable 90.
Data does not teach, thermal barrier around the second electrical connector.
Huart teaches, thermal barrier (see column 14, lines 25-41) around the second electrical connector (connected along 606-608).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify the invention of Data in view of Huart to include the teaching of, thermal barrier around the second electrical connector.
The motivation to combine the teachings of Data in view of Huart would have been to have a structure to makes it possible rapidly to remove the heat produced by the operation of the electric machine for example the combustion engine of the vehicle (see column 22, lines 8-16).
As per claim 11, Data teaches an environmental management system (along 42 and 60, see paragraph 28, 35) including an electronic enclosure (see paragraph 28), further including an electrically conductive gasket 58 located between the flange end (along 62) of the tubular cable shield 80 and the electronic enclosure (see paragraph 28).
As per claim 12, Data teaches an environmental management system (along 42 and 60, see paragraph 28, 35) including an electronic enclosure (see paragraph 28), wherein the electronic enclosure (see paragraph 28) and wherein the tubular cable shield 80 is thermally coupled to the electronic enclosure (see paragraph 28).
Data does not teach, wherein the electronic enclosure is a liquid cooled structure.
Huart teaches, wherein the electronic enclosure is a liquid cooled structure (see column 28, lines 44-57) (see column 28, lines 44-57).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify the invention of Data in view of Huart to include the teaching of, wherein the electronic enclosure is a liquid cooled structure.
The motivation to combine the teachings of Data in view of Huart would have been to have a structure to makes it possible rapidly to remove the heat produced by the operation of the electric machine for example the combustion engine of the vehicle (see column 22, lines 8-16).
As per claim 13, Data teaches an environmental management system (along 42 and 60, see paragraph 28, 35) including an electronic enclosure (see paragraph 28), wherein the cable clamp assembly (120 with 128, see paragraph 43) restrains the electrical cable 90 at least eight centimeters from the second electrical connector 10.
As per claim 14, Data teaches an environmental management system (along 42 and 60, see paragraph 28, 35) including an electronic enclosure (see paragraph 28), wherein the cable clamp assembly (120 with 128, see paragraph 43) and the electronic enclosure (see paragraph 28) are both mechanically affixed to a common rigid support (120 with 128, see paragraph 43).
As per claim 15, Data teaches an environmental management system (along 42 and 60, see paragraph 28, 35) including an electronic enclosure (see paragraph 28), wherein the cable clamp assembly (120 with 128, see paragraph 43) and the electronic enclosure (see paragraph 28) are both mechanically affixed to an engine block component (see paragraph 28).
As per claim 16, Data teaches an environmental management system (along 42 and 60, see paragraph 28, 35) including an electronic enclosure (see paragraph 28), wherein the cable clamp assembly (120 with 128, see paragraph 43) is electrically coupled to an electromagnetic shield (see paragraph 28-30) of the electrical cable 90 and wherein the cable clamp assembly (120 with 128, see paragraph 43) is electrically coupled to the electronic enclosure (see paragraph 28).
As per claim 17, Data teaches an environmental management system (along 42 and 60, see paragraph 28, 35) including an electronic enclosure (see paragraph 28), wherein the tubular cable shield 80 further includes a plurality of protrusions (along 62 and 70) formed on an interior surface (along 70) of the tubular cable shield 80 such that the plurality of protrusions (along 62 and 70) restrict movement of the electrical cable 90.
As per claim 18, Data teaches an environmental management system (along 42 and 60, see paragraph 28, 35) including an electronic enclosure (see paragraph 28), further including an electrically conductive gasket 58 located between the electronic enclosure (see paragraph 28) and the flange end (along 62) of the tubular cable shield 80.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 19-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Data et al. (US Patent Application Publication 20190027871 A1).
As per claim 19, Data teaches a method of providing an electrical cable 90 support and heat shield (along 42 and 60, see paragraph 35), comprising: inserting an electrical cable 90 through a tubular cable shield 80 having a flange end (along 62) and a cable clamping end (120 with 128, see paragraph 43); affixing a first electrical connector 60 onto the electrical cable 90 protruding from the flange end (along 62) of the tubular cable shield 80; coupling the first electrical connector 60 to a second electrical connector 10 positioned in an opening (along M) in an electronics enclosure; mechanically affixing (along 62) the flange end (along 62) of the tubular cable shield 80 over the opening (along M) in the electronics enclosure such that an environmental (along 42 and 60, see paragraph 35) a barrier (along 42 and 60, see paragraph 35) is created around the first electrical connector 60 and the second electrical connector 10; and clamping the electrical cable 90 with a cable clamp assembly (120 with 128, see paragraph 43) affixed to the cable clamping end (120 with 128, see paragraph 43) of the tubular cable shield 80 such that the electrical cable 90 is restrained by the cable clamp assembly (120 with 128, see paragraph 43).
As per claim 20, Data teaches a method of providing an electrical cable 90 support and heat shield (along 42 and 60, see paragraph 35), further including mechanically affixing (along 62) the electronics enclosure and the cable clamp assembly (120 with 128, see paragraph 43) to a rigid structure (seen in figure 4).
Conclusion
/Nelson R. Burgos-Guntin/Examiner, Art Unit 2831
/ABDULLAH A RIYAMI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2831