DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Applicant’s amendments filed June 15, 2026 have been entered. Claims 1-4, 6-7, 11-15 have been amended; support for the amendments can be found at least in at least paragraph [0015] of the Instant Specification. Claims 16-18 are new; support for the new claims can be found at least in paragraph [0020]-[0022] of the Instant Specification. Claims 1-18 remain pending and have been examined on their merits in this office action.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed June 15, 2026 have been fully considered. Applicant has amended independent claims 1, 6, and 11 to recite a “binder material” and a “chemically cross-linkable monomer” configured to chemically crosslink with the binder material to form a chemically crosslinked binder, and Jung does not disclose a chemically cross-linkable monomer configured to chemically crosslink with a binder material to form a chemically crosslinked binder.
Applicant’s argument has been fully considered but are considered moot in view of the new grounds of rejection below in view of Applicant’s amendments to the independent claims 1, 6, and 11.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 5-7, 10-12, and 15-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jung et al. (Published U.S. Patent Application US 20160064731 A1), hereinafter referred to as Jung, in view of Li (CN 115377371 A).
Regarding claim 1, Jung teaches an anode (“a lithium-ion battery component”) for a secondary battery manufactured by applying a carbon-silicon composite (see e.g., Abstract), wherein the secondary battery includes a cathode with a cathode active material capable of absorbing and releasing lithium (see e.g., paragraph [0103]). Jung teaches the anode is manufactured by coating an anode slurry comprising a carbon-silicon composite on an anode current collector (“a pre-cured electrode including a current collector and a slurry thereon”) (see e.g., paragraph [0025]). Jung teaches the carbon-silicon composite comprises a silicon slurry, which includes silicon particles (“silicon-based particles”) (see e.g., paragraph [0037]), carbon particles, which includes at least one selected from the group consisting of natural graphite or artificial graphite (“graphite”) (see e.g., paragraph [0039]), a monomer of polymer (“a chemically cross-linkable monomer”), and a cross-linking agent (see e.g., paragraph [0034]).
Jung does not explicitly teach the carbon-silicon composite comprises a binder material.
However, Li teaches a silicon negative electrode composite material for a lithium ion battery (see e.g., Abstract). Li teaches the silicon negative electrode composite material, wherein the raw materials of the silicon-carbon composite material include graphite, silicon suboxide, styrene-butadiene rubber (“a binder material”), and a crosslinking agent (see e.g., paragraph [0005]) firmly bonded to the surface of a metal foil (see e.g., paragraph [0013]). Li teaches the crosslinked styrene-butadiene rubber (“responsive to initiation, chemically crosslink with the binder material”) has an enhanced elastic modulus, which can better limit the expansion of the silicon-carbon anode material during chagrining and discharging, reduce battery charging and discharging thickness, effectively improving battery space utilization efficiency, facilitate battery module assembly, and improve the volumetric energy density and cycle performance of battery modules (see e.g., paragraph [0010]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention that one of ordinary skill would modify the anode slurry of Jung to include styrene-butadiene rubber (a binder material), as taught by Li, in order to chemically crosslink with the monomer of a polymer of Jung to form a crosslinked styrene-butadiene rubber that has an enhanced elastic modulus, which can better limit the expansion of the silicon-carbon anode material during chagrining and discharging, reduce battery charging and discharging thickness, effectively improving battery space utilization efficiency, facilitate battery module assembly, and improve the volumetric energy density and cycle performance of battery modules (see e.g., Li paragraph [0010]).
The chemically crosslinked binder comprising styrene-butadiene rubber and a monomer of a polymer of Jung, as modified by Li, permits the silicon to be bound to the carbon particles and be uniformly dispersed in the polymer matrix with the network structure, and the polymer matrix with the network structure is appropriate for a material serving as a buffer for silicon and improving dispersibility of silicon (see e.g., Jung paragraph [0046]) when coated on a current collector (see e.g., Jung paragraph [0094]). Jung, as modified by Li, teaches the chemically crosslinked binder a volume expansion problem in a charge and discharge process may be alleviated by the carbon-silicon composite to improve lifespan property of the secondary battery while effectively exhibiting properties of high capacity silicon (see e.g., Jung paragraph [0057]) and can better limit the expansion of the silicon-carbon anode material during chagrining and discharging, reduce battery charging and discharging thickness, effectively improving battery space utilization efficiency, facilitate battery module assembly, and improve the volumetric energy density and cycle performance of battery modules (“(ii) configured to permit volume expansion of the coating during charge of the electrode and facilitate volume contraction of the coating during discharge”) (see e.g., Li paragraph [0010]).
Regarding claim 2, Jung, as modified by Li, teaches the instantly claimed invention of claim 1, as previously described.
Jung teaches the secondary battery comprising the carbon-silicon composite manufactured in Example 1 has remarkably high initial charge capacity due to high capacity silicon and graphite and retained the charge capacity retention rate after 10 cycles (see e.g., paragraph [0128]). In Figure 4, Jung teaches the charge capacity of the secondary battery is approximately 700 mAh/g initially and does not lower below 600 mAh/g after 10 cycles (“wherein the chemically crosslinked binder is configured to permit volume expansion of the coating during charge of the electrode and facilitate volume contraction of the coating during discharge of the electrode such that the electrode maintains 80% of initial capacity”) (see e.g., Figure 4).
Regarding claim 5, Jung, as modified by Li, teaches the instantly claimed invention of claim 1, as previously described.
Jung, as modified by Li, teaches the negative electrode sheet comprises a metal foil and a negative electrode active material bonded to at least one surface of the metal foil, wherein the negative electrode active material is the silicon-carbon composite material (see e.g., Li paragraph [0012]).
Regarding claim 6, Jung teaches an anode (“a pre-cured electrode”) for a secondary battery manufactured by applying a carbon-silicon composite (see e.g., Abstract). Jung teaches the anode is manufactured by coating an anode slurry (“a slurry on the current collector and including an active material”) comprising a carbon-silicon composite on an anode current collector (“a current collector”)) (see e.g., paragraph [0025]). Jung teaches the carbon-silicon composite comprises a silicon slurry, which includes silicon particles (see e.g., paragraph [0037]), carbon particles, which includes at least one selected from the group consisting of natural graphite or artificial graphite (see e.g., paragraph [0039]), a monomer of polymer (“a chemically cross-linkable monomer”), and a cross-linking agent (see e.g., paragraph [0034]).
Jung does not explicitly teach the carbon-silicon composite comprises a binder material.
However, Li teaches a silicon negative electrode composite material for a lithium ion battery (see e.g., Abstract). Li teaches the silicon negative electrode composite material, wherein the raw materials of the silicon-carbon composite material include graphite, silicon suboxide, styrene-butadiene rubber (“a binder material”), and a crosslinking agent (see e.g., paragraph [0005]) firmly bonded to the surface of a metal foil (see e.g., paragraph [0013]). Li teaches the crosslinked styrene-butadiene rubber (“responsive to initiation, chemically crosslink with the binder material”) has an enhanced elastic modulus, which can better limit the expansion of the silicon-carbon anode material during chagrining and discharging, reduce battery charging and discharging thickness, effectively improving battery space utilization efficiency, facilitate battery module assembly, and improve the volumetric energy density and cycle performance of battery modules (see e.g., paragraph [0010]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention that one of ordinary skill would modify the anode slurry of Jung to include styrene-butadiene rubber (a binder material), as taught by Li, in order to chemically crosslink with the monomer of a polymer of Jung to form a crosslinked styrene-butadiene rubber that has an enhanced elastic modulus, which can better limit the expansion of the silicon-carbon anode material during chagrining and discharging, reduce battery charging and discharging thickness, effectively improving battery space utilization efficiency, facilitate battery module assembly, and improve the volumetric energy density and cycle performance of battery modules (see e.g., Li paragraph [0010]).
The chemically crosslinked binder comprising styrene-butadiene rubber and a monomer of a polymer of Jung, as modified by Li, permits the silicon to be bound to the carbon particles and be uniformly dispersed in the polymer matrix with the network structure, and the polymer matrix with the network structure is appropriate for a material serving as a buffer for silicon and improving dispersibility of silicon (see e.g., Jung paragraph [0046]) when coated on a current collector (“(i) cohesively binds the active material together, forming a coating adhered to the current collector”) (see e.g., Jung paragraph [0094]). Jung, as modified by Li, teaches the chemically crosslinked binder a volume expansion problem in a charge and discharge process may be alleviated by the carbon-silicon composite to improve lifespan property of the secondary battery while effectively exhibiting properties of high capacity silicon (see e.g., Jung paragraph [0057]) and can better limit the expansion of the silicon-carbon anode material during chagrining and discharging, reduce battery charging and discharging thickness, effectively improving battery space utilization efficiency, facilitate battery module assembly, and improve the volumetric energy density and cycle performance of battery modules (“(ii) enables volume expansion of the coating during charge of the pre-cured electrode and (iii) facilitates volume contraction of the coating during discharge”) (see e.g., Li paragraph [0010]).
Regarding claim 7, Jung, as modified by Li, teaches the instantly claimed invention of claim 6, as previously described.
Jung teaches the secondary battery comprising the carbon-silicon composite manufactured in Example 1 has remarkably high initial charge capacity due to high capacity silicon and graphite and retained the charge capacity retention rate after 10 cycles (see e.g., paragraph [0128]). In Figure 4, Jung teaches the charge capacity of the secondary battery is approximately 700 mAh/g initially and does not lower below 600 mAh/g after 10 cycles (“wherein the chemically crosslinked binder is configured to permit volume expansion of the coating during charge of the electrode and facilitate volume contraction of the coating during discharge of the electrode such that the electrode maintains 80% of initial capacity”) (see e.g., Figure 4).
Regarding claim 10, Jung, as modified by Li, teaches the instantly claimed invention of claim 6, as previously described.
Jung, as modified by Li, teaches the negative electrode sheet comprises a metal foil and a negative electrode active material bonded to at least one surface of the metal foil, wherein the negative electrode active material is the silicon-carbon composite material (see e.g., Li paragraph [0012]).
Regarding claim 11, Jung teaches an anode (“a pre-cured electrode”) for a secondary battery manufactured by applying a carbon-silicon composite (see e.g., Abstract). Jung teaches the anode is manufactured by coating an anode slurry (“a slurry on the current collector”) comprising a carbon-silicon composite on an anode current collector (“a current collector”) (see e.g., paragraph [0025]). Jung teaches the carbon-silicon composite comprises a silicon slurry, which includes silicon particles (“silicon-based particles”) (see e.g., paragraph [0037]), carbon particles, which includes at least one selected from the group consisting of natural graphite or artificial graphite (“graphite”) (see e.g., paragraph [0039]), a monomer of polymer, and a cross-linking agent (see e.g., paragraph [0034]). Jung teaches the monomer of polymer (“a chemically cross-linkable monomer having at least two functional groups”) is a starting material for forming a polymer and includes at least one selected from the group consisting of acrylic acid, which has two functional groups, (see e.g., paragraph [0041]), the cross-linking agent services to allow a polymer formed from the monomer of polymer to be cross-linked to each other (see e.g., paragraph [0042]), and an initiator used as the additive may be a radical polymerization initiator (see e.g., paragraph [0043]).
Jung does not explicitly teach the carbon-silicon composite comprises a binder material.
However, Li teaches a silicon negative electrode composite material for a lithium ion battery (see e.g., Abstract). Li teaches the silicon negative electrode composite material, wherein the raw materials of the silicon-carbon composite material include graphite, silicon suboxide, styrene-butadiene rubber (“a binder material”), and a crosslinking agent (see e.g., paragraph [0005]) firmly bonded to the surface of a metal foil (see e.g., paragraph [0013]). Li teaches the crosslinked styrene-butadiene rubber (“responsive to initiation, chemically crosslink with the binder material”) has an enhanced elastic modulus, which can better limit the expansion of the silicon-carbon anode material during chagrining and discharging, reduce battery charging and discharging thickness, effectively improving battery space utilization efficiency, facilitate battery module assembly, and improve the volumetric energy density and cycle performance of battery modules (see e.g., paragraph [0010]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention that one of ordinary skill would modify the anode slurry of Jung to include styrene-butadiene rubber (a binder material), as taught by Li, in order to chemically crosslink with the monomer of a polymer of Jung to form a crosslinked styrene-butadiene rubber that has an enhanced elastic modulus, which can better limit the expansion of the silicon-carbon anode material during chagrining and discharging, reduce battery charging and discharging thickness, effectively improving battery space utilization efficiency, facilitate battery module assembly, and improve the volumetric energy density and cycle performance of battery modules (see e.g., Li paragraph [0010]).
The chemically crosslinked binder comprising styrene-butadiene rubber and a monomer of a polymer of Jung, as modified by Li, permits the silicon to be bound to the carbon particles and be uniformly dispersed in the polymer matrix with the network structure, and the polymer matrix with the network structure is appropriate for a material serving as a buffer for silicon and improving dispersibility of silicon (see e.g., Jung paragraph [0046]) when coated on a current collector (“mechanically binding the graphite and the silicon-based particles together resulting in formation of an electrode with a coating (i) adhered to the current collector”) (see e.g., Jung paragraph [0094]). Jung, as modified by Li, teaches the chemically crosslinked binder a volume expansion problem in a charge and discharge process may be alleviated by the carbon-silicon composite to improve lifespan property of the secondary battery while effectively exhibiting properties of high capacity silicon (see e.g., Jung paragraph [0057]) and can better limit the expansion of the silicon-carbon anode material during chagrining and discharging, reduce battery charging and discharging thickness, effectively improving battery space utilization efficiency, facilitate battery module assembly, and improve the volumetric energy density and cycle performance of battery modules (“(ii) configured to facilitate contraction of the coating during discharge of the electrode”) (see e.g., Li paragraph [0010]).
Regarding claim 12, Jung, as modified by Li, teaches the instantly claimed invention of claim 11, as previously described.
Jung teaches the secondary battery comprising the carbon-silicon composite manufactured in Example 1 has remarkably high initial charge capacity due to high capacity silicon and graphite and retained the charge capacity retention rate after 10 cycles (see e.g., paragraph [0128]). In Figure 4, Jung teaches the charge capacity of the secondary battery is approximately 700 mAh/g initially and does not lower below 600 mAh/g after 10 cycles (“wherein the chemically crosslinked binder is configured to permit volume expansion of the coating during charge of the electrode and facilitate volume contraction of the coating during discharge of the electrode such that the electrode maintains 80% of initial capacity”) (see e.g., Figure 4).
Regarding claim 15, Jung, as modified by Li, teaches the instantly claimed invention of claim 11, as previously described.
Jung, as modified by Li, teaches the negative electrode sheet comprises a metal foil and a negative electrode active material bonded to at least one surface of the metal foil, wherein the negative electrode active material is the silicon-carbon composite material (see e.g., Li paragraph [0012]).
Regarding claim 16, Jung, as modified by Li, teaches the instantly claimed invention of claim 1, as previously described.
Jung, as modified by Li, teaches the binder material comprises styrene-butadiene rubber (see e.g., Li paragraph [0005]).
Regarding claim 17, Jung, as modified by Li, teaches the instantly claimed invention of claim 6, as previously described.
Jung, as modified by Li, teaches the binder material comprises styrene-butadiene rubber (see e.g., Li paragraph [0005]).
Regarding claim 18, Jung, as modified by Li, teaches the instantly claimed invention of claim 11, as previously described.
Jung, as modified by Li, teaches the binder material comprises styrene-butadiene rubber (see e.g., Li paragraph [0005]).
Claims 3-4, 8-9, and 13-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jung et al. (Published U.S. Patent Application US 20160064731 A1), in view of Li (CN 115377371 A), and further in view of Zhu et al. (CN 116606613 A), hereinafter referred to as Zhu.
Regarding claim 3, Jung, as modified by Li, teaches the instantly claimed invention of claim 1, as previously described.
Jung, as modified by Li, does not explicitly teach wherein the chemically cross-linkable monomer is 1-20 wt% relative to the graphite and silicon-based particles.
However, Zhu teaches a thermally crosslinkable polyacrylic acid negative electrode binder for a negative electrode in a lithium-ion battery (see e.g., paragraph [0001]), wherein the negative electrode comprises silicon and graphite (see e.g., paragraph [0032]). Zhu teaches the mass fraction of silicon and graphite is 10-30% of the negative electrode sheet (see e.g., paragraph [0032]). Zhu teaches the thermally crosslinkable polyacrylic acid negative electrode binder has a mass fraction of 3-12% in the negative electrode sheet (see e.g., paragraph [0034]). Therefore, the thermally crosslinkable polyacrylic acid negative electrode binder is present in 0.3% to 40% relative to the silicon and graphite (“wherein the chemically cross-linkable monomer is 1-20 wt% relative to the graphite and silicon-based particles”). Zhu teaches the cross-linked binder inhibits the expansion of the high-silicon system electrode sheet, enabling the high-silicon content lithium battery to have a higher battery capacity retention rate after cycling (see e.g., paragraph [0039]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention that one of ordinary skill would modify the polymer matrix of Jung, as modified by Li, to be present in 0.3% to 40% relative to the silicon and graphite, as taught by Zhu, in order to inhibit the expansion of the high-silicon system electrode sheet, enabling the high-silicon content lithium battery to have a higher battery capacity retention rate after cycling (see e.g., paragraph [0039]).
It has been held in the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art,” and because the weight percentages of 0.3% to 40% overlap with the recited range, a “prima facie” case of obviousness exists (see MPEP 2144.05(l)).
Regarding claim 4, Jung, as modified by Li and Zhu, teaches the instantly claimed invention of claim 3, as previously described.
Jung, as modified by Li and Zhu, does not explicitly teach wherein the chemically cross-linkable monomer is 1-10 wt% relative to the graphite and silicon-based particles.
However, Zhu teaches a thermally crosslinkable polyacrylic acid negative electrode binder for a negative electrode in a lithium-ion battery (see e.g., paragraph [0001]), wherein the negative electrode comprises silicon and graphite (see e.g., paragraph [0032]). Zhu teaches the mass fraction of silicon and graphite is 10-30% of the negative electrode sheet (see e.g., paragraph [0032]). Zhu teaches the thermally crosslinkable polyacrylic acid negative electrode binder has a mass fraction of 3-12% in the negative electrode sheet (see e.g., paragraph [0034]). Therefore, the thermally crosslinkable polyacrylic acid negative electrode binder is present in 0.3% to 40% relative to the silicon and graphite (“wherein the chemically cross-linkable monomer is 1-10 wt% relative to the graphite and silicon-based particles”). Zhu teaches the cross-linked binder inhibits the expansion of the high-silicon system electrode sheet, enabling the high-silicon content lithium battery to have a higher battery capacity retention rate after cycling (see e.g., paragraph [0039]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention that one of ordinary skill would modify the polymer matrix of Jung, as modified by Li and Zhu, to be present in 0.3% to 40% relative to the silicon and graphite, as taught by Zhu, in order to inhibit the expansion of the high-silicon system electrode sheet, enabling the high-silicon content lithium battery to have a higher battery capacity retention rate after cycling (see e.g., paragraph [0039]).
It has been held in the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art,” and because the weight percentages of 0.3% to 40% overlap with the recited range, a “prima facie” case of obviousness exists (see MPEP 2144.05(l)).
Regarding claim 8, Jung, as modified by Li, teaches the instantly claimed invention of claim 6, as previously described.
Jung, as modified by Li, does not explicitly teach wherein the chemically cross-linkable monomer is 1-20 wt% relative to the active material.
However, Zhu teaches a thermally crosslinkable polyacrylic acid negative electrode binder for a negative electrode in a lithium-ion battery (see e.g., paragraph [0001]), wherein the negative electrode comprises silicon and graphite (see e.g., paragraph [0032]). Zhu teaches the mass fraction of silicon and graphite is 10-30% of the negative electrode sheet (see e.g., paragraph [0032]). Zhu teaches the thermally crosslinkable polyacrylic acid negative electrode binder has a mass fraction of 3-12% in the negative electrode sheet (see e.g., paragraph [0034]). Therefore, the thermally crosslinkable polyacrylic acid negative electrode binder is present in 0.3% to 40% relative to the silicon and graphite (“wherein the chemically cross-linkable monomer is 1-20 wt% relative to the active material”). Zhu teaches the cross-linked binder inhibits the expansion of the high-silicon system electrode sheet, enabling the high-silicon content lithium battery to have a higher battery capacity retention rate after cycling (see e.g., paragraph [0039]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention that one of ordinary skill would modify the polymer matrix of Jung, as modified by Li, to be present in 0.3% to 40% relative to the silicon and graphite, as taught by Zhu, in order to inhibit the expansion of the high-silicon system electrode sheet, enabling the high-silicon content lithium battery to have a higher battery capacity retention rate after cycling (see e.g., paragraph [0039]).
It has been held in the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art,” and because the weight percentages of 0.3% to 40% overlap with the recited range, a “prima facie” case of obviousness exists (see MPEP 2144.05(l)).
Regarding claim 9, Jung, as modified by Li and Zhu, teaches the instantly claimed invention of claim 8, as previously described.
Jung, as modified by Li and Zhu,does not explicitly teach wherein the chemically cross-linkable monomer is 1-10 wt% relative to the active material.
However, Zhu teaches a thermally crosslinkable polyacrylic acid negative electrode binder for a negative electrode in a lithium-ion battery (see e.g., paragraph [0001]), wherein the negative electrode comprises silicon and graphite (see e.g., paragraph [0032]). Zhu teaches the mass fraction of silicon and graphite is 10-30% of the negative electrode sheet (see e.g., paragraph [0032]). Zhu teaches the thermally crosslinkable polyacrylic acid negative electrode binder has a mass fraction of 3-12% in the negative electrode sheet (see e.g., paragraph [0034]). Therefore, the thermally crosslinkable polyacrylic acid negative electrode binder is present in 0.3% to 40% relative to the silicon and graphite (“wherein the chemically cross-linkable monomer is 1-10 wt% relative to the active material”). Zhu teaches the cross-linked binder inhibits the expansion of the high-silicon system electrode sheet, enabling the high-silicon content lithium battery to have a higher battery capacity retention rate after cycling (see e.g., paragraph [0039]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention that one of ordinary skill would modify the polymer matrix of Jung, as modified by Li and Zhu, to be present in 0.3% to 40% relative to the silicon and graphite, as taught by Zhu, in order to inhibit the expansion of the high-silicon system electrode sheet, enabling the high-silicon content lithium battery to have a higher battery capacity retention rate after cycling (see e.g., paragraph [0039]).
It has been held in the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art,” and because the weight percentages of 0.3% to 40% overlap with the recited range, a “prima facie” case of obviousness exists (see MPEP 2144.05(l)).
Regarding claim 13, Jung, as modified by Li, teaches the instantly claimed invention of claim 11, as previously described.
Jung, as modified by Li, does not explicitly teach wherein the chemically cross-linkable monomer is 1-20 wt% relative to the graphite and silicon-based particles.
However, Zhu teaches a thermally crosslinkable polyacrylic acid negative electrode binder for a negative electrode in a lithium-ion battery (see e.g., paragraph [0001]), wherein the negative electrode comprises silicon and graphite (see e.g., paragraph [0032]). Zhu teaches the mass fraction of silicon and graphite is 10-30% of the negative electrode sheet (see e.g., paragraph [0032]). Zhu teaches the thermally crosslinkable polyacrylic acid negative electrode binder has a mass fraction of 3-12% in the negative electrode sheet (see e.g., paragraph [0034]). Therefore, the thermally crosslinkable polyacrylic acid negative electrode binder is present in 0.3% to 40% relative to the silicon and graphite (“wherein the chemically cross-linkable monomer is 1-20 wt% relative to the graphite and silicon-based particles”). Zhu teaches the cross-linked binder inhibits the expansion of the high-silicon system electrode sheet, enabling the high-silicon content lithium battery to have a higher battery capacity retention rate after cycling (see e.g., paragraph [0039]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention that one of ordinary skill would modify the polymer matrix of Jung, as modified by Li, to be present in 0.3% to 40% relative to the silicon and graphite, as taught by Zhu, in order to inhibit the expansion of the high-silicon system electrode sheet, enabling the high-silicon content lithium battery to have a higher battery capacity retention rate after cycling (see e.g., paragraph [0039]).
It has been held in the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art,” and because the weight percentages of 0.3% to 40% overlap with the recited range, a “prima facie” case of obviousness exists (see MPEP 2144.05(l)).
Regarding claim 14, Jung, as modified by Li and Zhu, teaches the instantly claimed invention of claim 13, as previously described.
Jung, as modified by Li and Zhu, does not explicitly teach wherein the chemically cross-linkable monomer is 1-10 wt% relative to the graphite and silicon-based particles.
However, Zhu teaches a thermally crosslinkable polyacrylic acid negative electrode binder for a negative electrode in a lithium-ion battery (see e.g., paragraph [0001]), wherein the negative electrode comprises silicon and graphite (see e.g., paragraph [0032]). Zhu teaches the mass fraction of silicon and graphite is 10-30% of the negative electrode sheet (see e.g., paragraph [0032]). Zhu teaches the thermally crosslinkable polyacrylic acid negative electrode binder has a mass fraction of 3-12% in the negative electrode sheet (see e.g., paragraph [0034]). Therefore, the thermally crosslinkable polyacrylic acid negative electrode binder is present in 0.3% to 40% relative to the silicon and graphite (“wherein the chemically cross-linkable monomer is 1-10 wt% relative to the graphite and silicon-based particles”). Zhu teaches the cross-linked binder inhibits the expansion of the high-silicon system electrode sheet, enabling the high-silicon content lithium battery to have a higher battery capacity retention rate after cycling (see e.g., paragraph [0039]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention that one of ordinary skill would modify the polymer matrix of Jung, as modified by Li and Zhu, to be present in 0.3% to 40% relative to the silicon and graphite, as taught by Zhu, in order to inhibit the expansion of the high-silicon system electrode sheet, enabling the high-silicon content lithium battery to have a higher battery capacity retention rate after cycling (see e.g., paragraph [0039]).
It has been held in the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art,” and because the weight percentages of 0.3% to 40% overlap with the recited range, a “prima facie” case of obviousness exists (see MPEP 2144.05(l)).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/KATHERINE N HIGGINS/Examiner, Art Unit 1728
/MATTHEW T MARTIN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1728