DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on May 26, 2023 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "the graphite and silicon-based particles.” There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "the electrode.” There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 2 recites the limitation "the electrode.” There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 3 recites the limitation "the graphite and silicon-based particles.” There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 4 recites the limitation "the graphite and silicon-based particles.” There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 6 recites the limitation "the electrode.” There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 7 recites the limitation "the electrode.” There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 11 recites the limitation "the graphite and silicon-based particles.” There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 13 recites the limitation "the graphite and silicon-based particles.” There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 14 recites the limitation "the graphite and silicon-based particles.” There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 6-7, and 11-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Jung et al. (Published U.S. Patent Application US 20160064731 A1), hereinafter referred to as Jung.
Regarding claim 1, Jung teaches an anode (“a lithium-ion battery component”) for a secondary battery manufactured by applying a carbon-silicon composite (see e.g., Abstract), wherein the secondary battery includes a cathode with a cathode active material capable of absorbing and releasing lithium (see e.g., paragraph [0103]). Jung teaches the anode is manufactured by coating an anode slurry comprising a carbon-silicon composite on an anode current collector (“a pre-cured electrode including a current collector and a slurry thereon”) (see e.g., paragraph [0025]). Jung teaches the carbon-silicon composite comprises a silicon slurry, which includes silicon particles (“silicon-based particles”) (see e.g., paragraph [0037]), carbon particles, which includes at least one selected from the group consisting of natural graphite or artificial graphite (“graphite”) (see e.g., paragraph [0039]), a monomer of polymer, and a cross-linking agent (see e.g., paragraph [0034]). Jung teaches the monomer of polymer (“a chemically cross-linkable monomer configured to, responsive to initiation, chemically crosslink to form a chemically crosslinked binder”) is a starting material for forming a polymer (see e.g., paragraph [0041]), the cross-linking agent services to allow a polymer formed from the monomer of polymer to be cross-linked to each other (see e.g., paragraph [0042]), and an initiator used as the additive may be a radical polymerization initiator (see e.g., paragraph [0043]). Jung teaches the carbon-silicon composite is coated on the current collector (see e.g., paragraph [0094]) and silicon is bound to the carbon particles and uniformly dispersed in the polymer matrix with the network structure, and the polymer matrix with the network structure is appropriate for a material serving as a buffer for silicon and improving dispersibility of silicon (“(i) mechanically binding the graphite and silicon-based particles together resulting in formation of a coating adhered to the current collector”) (see e.g., paragraph [0046]). Jung teaches a volume expansion problem in a charge and discharge process may be alleviated by the carbon-silicon composite to improve lifespan property of the secondary battery while effectively exhibiting properties of high capacity silicon (“(ii) configured to permit volume expansion of the coating during charge of the electrode and facilitate volume contraction of the coating during discharge”) (see e.g., paragraph [0057]).
Regarding claim 2, Jung teaches the instantly claimed invention of claim 1, as previously described.
Jung teaches the secondary battery comprising the carbon-silicon composite manufactured in Example 1 has remarkably high initial charge capacity due to high capacity silicon and graphite and retained the charge capacity retention rate after 10 cycles (see e.g., paragraph [0128]). In Figure 4, Jung teaches the charge capacity of the secondary battery is approximately 700 mAh/g initially and does not lower below 600 mAh/g after 10 cycles (“wherein the chemically crosslinked binder is configured to permit volume expansion of the coating during charge of the electrode and facilitate volume contraction of the coating during discharge of the electrode such that the electrode maintains 80% of initial capacity”) (see e.g., Figure 4).
Regarding claim 6, Jung teaches an anode (“a pre-cured electrode”) for a secondary battery manufactured by applying a carbon-silicon composite (see e.g., Abstract). Jung teaches the anode is manufactured by coating an anode slurry (“a slurry on the current collector and including an active material”) comprising a carbon-silicon composite on an anode current collector (“a current collector”)) (see e.g., paragraph [0025]). Jung teaches the monomer of polymer (“a chemically cross-linkable monomer configured to, upon initiation, chemically crosslink to form a chemically crosslinked binder”) is a starting material for forming a polymer (see e.g., paragraph [0041]), the cross-linking agent services to allow a polymer formed from the monomer of polymer to be cross-linked to each other (see e.g., paragraph [0042]), and an initiator used as the additive may be a radical polymerization initiator (see e.g., paragraph [0043]). Jung teaches the carbon-silicon composite is coated on the current collector (see e.g., paragraph [0094]) and silicon is bound to the carbon particles and uniformly dispersed in the polymer matrix with the network structure, and the polymer matrix with the network structure is appropriate for a material serving as a buffer for silicon and improving dispersibility of silicon (“(i) cohesively binds the active material together, forming a coating adhered to the current collector”) (see e.g., paragraph [0046]). Jung teaches a volume expansion problem in a charge and discharge process may be alleviated by the carbon-silicon composite to improve lifespan property of the secondary battery while effectively exhibiting properties of high capacity silicon (“(ii) enables volume expansion of the coating during charge of the electrode, and (iii) facilitates volume contraction of the coating during discharge”) (see e.g., paragraph [0057]).
Regarding claim 7, Jung teaches the instantly claimed invention of claim 6, as previously described.
Jung teaches the secondary battery comprising the carbon-silicon composite manufactured in Example 1 has remarkably high initial charge capacity due to high capacity silicon and graphite and retained the charge capacity retention rate after 10 cycles (see e.g., paragraph [0128]). In Figure 4, Jung teaches the charge capacity of the secondary battery is approximately 700 mAh/g initially and does not lower below 600 mAh/g after 10 cycles (“wherein the chemically crosslinked binder is configured to permit volume expansion of the coating during charge of the electrode and facilitate volume contraction of the coating during discharge of the electrode such that the electrode maintains 80% of initial capacity”) (see e.g., Figure 4).
Regarding claim 11, Jung teaches an anode (“a pre-cured electrode”) for a secondary battery manufactured by applying a carbon-silicon composite (see e.g., Abstract). Jung teaches the anode is manufactured by coating an anode slurry (“a slurry on the current collector”) comprising a carbon-silicon composite on an anode current collector (“a current collector”) (see e.g., paragraph [0025]). Jung teaches the carbon-silicon composite comprises a silicon slurry, which includes silicon particles (“silicon-based particles”) (see e.g., paragraph [0037]), carbon particles, which includes at least one selected from the group consisting of natural graphite or artificial graphite (“graphite”) (see e.g., paragraph [0039]), a monomer of polymer, and a cross-linking agent (see e.g., paragraph [0034]). Jung teaches the monomer of polymer (“a chemically cross-linkable monomer having at least two functional groups”) is a starting material for forming a polymer and includes at least one selected from the group consisting of acrylic acid, which has two functional groups, (see e.g., paragraph [0041]), the cross-linking agent services to allow a polymer formed from the monomer of polymer to be cross-linked to each other (see e.g., paragraph [0042]), and an initiator used as the additive may be a radical polymerization initiator (see e.g., paragraph [0043]). Jung teaches the carbon-silicon composite is coated on the current collector (see e.g., paragraph [0094]) and silicon is bound to the carbon particles and uniformly dispersed in the polymer matrix with the network structure, and the polymer matrix with the network structure is appropriate for a material serving as a buffer for silicon and improving dispersibility of silicon (“responsive to curing of the slurry, chemically crosslink to form a chemically crosslinked binder mechanically binding the graphite and silicon-based particles together resulting in formation of an electrode with a coating (i) adhered to the current collector”) (see e.g., paragraph [0046]). Jung teaches a volume expansion problem in a charge and discharge process may be alleviated by the carbon-silicon composite to improve lifespan property of the secondary battery while effectively exhibiting properties of high capacity silicon (“(ii) configured to facilitate contraction of the coating during discharge of the electrode”) (see e.g., paragraph [0057]).
Regarding claim 12, Jung teaches the instantly claimed invention of claim 11, as previously described.
Jung teaches the secondary battery comprising the carbon-silicon composite manufactured in Example 1 has remarkably high initial charge capacity due to high capacity silicon and graphite and retained the charge capacity retention rate after 10 cycles (see e.g., paragraph [0128]). In Figure 4, Jung teaches the charge capacity of the secondary battery is approximately 700 mAh/g initially and does not lower below 600 mAh/g after 10 cycles (“wherein the chemically crosslinked binder is configured to permit volume expansion of the coating during charge of the electrode and facilitate volume contraction of the coating during discharge of the electrode such that the electrode maintains 80% of initial capacity”) (see e.g., Figure 4).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3-5, 8-10, and 13-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jung et al. (Published U.S. Patent Application US 20160064731 A1) in view of Zhu et al. (CN 116606613 A), hereinafter referred to as Zhu.
Regarding claim 3, Jung teaches the instantly claimed invention of claim 1, as previously described.
Jung does not explicitly teach wherein the chemically cross-linkable monomer is 1-20 wt% relative to the graphite and silicon-based particles.
However, Zhu teaches a thermally crosslinkable polyacrylic acid negative electrode binder for a negative electrode in a lithium-ion battery (see e.g., paragraph [0001]), wherein the negative electrode comprises silicon and graphite (see e.g., paragraph [0032]). Zhu teaches the mass fraction of silicon and graphite is 10-30% of the negative electrode sheet (see e.g., paragraph [0032]). Zhu teaches the thermally crosslinkable polyacrylic acid negative electrode binder has a mass fraction of 3-12% in the negative electrode sheet (see e.g., paragraph [0034]). Therefore, the thermally crosslinkable polyacrylic acid negative electrode binder is present in 0.3% to 40% relative to the silicon and graphite (“wherein the chemically cross-linkable monomer is 1-20 wt% relative to the graphite and silicon-based particles”). Zhu teaches the cross-linked binder inhibits the expansion of the high-silicon system electrode sheet, enabling the high-silicon content lithium battery to have a higher battery capacity retention rate after cycling (see e.g., paragraph [0039]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention that one of ordinary skill would modify the polymer matrix of Jung to be present in 0.3% to 40% relative to the silicon and graphite, as taught by Zhu, in order to inhibit the expansion of the high-silicon system electrode sheet, enabling the high-silicon content lithium battery to have a higher battery capacity retention rate after cycling (see e.g., paragraph [0039]).
It has been held in the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art,” and because the weight percentages of 0.3% to 40% overlap with the recited range, a “prima facie” case of obviousness exists (see MPEP 2144.05(l)).
Regarding claim 4, Jung teaches the instantly claimed invention of claim 3, as previously described.
Jung does not explicitly teach wherein the chemically cross-linkable monomer is 1-10 wt% relative to the graphite and silicon-based particles.
However, Zhu teaches a thermally crosslinkable polyacrylic acid negative electrode binder for a negative electrode in a lithium-ion battery (see e.g., paragraph [0001]), wherein the negative electrode comprises silicon and graphite (see e.g., paragraph [0032]). Zhu teaches the mass fraction of silicon and graphite is 10-30% of the negative electrode sheet (see e.g., paragraph [0032]). Zhu teaches the thermally crosslinkable polyacrylic acid negative electrode binder has a mass fraction of 3-12% in the negative electrode sheet (see e.g., paragraph [0034]). Therefore, the thermally crosslinkable polyacrylic acid negative electrode binder is present in 0.3% to 40% relative to the silicon and graphite (“wherein the chemically cross-linkable monomer is 1-10 wt% relative to the graphite and silicon-based particles”). Zhu teaches the cross-linked binder inhibits the expansion of the high-silicon system electrode sheet, enabling the high-silicon content lithium battery to have a higher battery capacity retention rate after cycling (see e.g., paragraph [0039]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention that one of ordinary skill would modify the polymer matrix of Jung to be present in 0.3% to 40% relative to the silicon and graphite, as taught by Zhu, in order to inhibit the expansion of the high-silicon system electrode sheet, enabling the high-silicon content lithium battery to have a higher battery capacity retention rate after cycling (see e.g., paragraph [0039]).
It has been held in the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art,” and because the weight percentages of 0.3% to 40% overlap with the recited range, a “prima facie” case of obviousness exists (see MPEP 2144.05(l)).
Regarding claim 5, Jung teaches the instantly claimed invention of claim 1, as previously described.
Jung teaches the anode current collector may include stainless steel, nickel, copper, titanium, or alloys thereof, and the like, may be used (see e.g., paragraph [0098]); however, Jung does not explicitly teach the current collector is a foil.
However, Zhu teaches a thermally crosslinkable polyacrylic acid negative electrode binder for a negative electrode in a lithium-ion battery (see e.g., paragraph [0001]). Zhu teaches the negative electrode slurry is coated on the surface of a copper foil (see e.g., paragraph [0052]) and has a higher battery capacity retention rate after cycling (see e.g., paragraph [0039]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention that one of ordinary skill would modify the current collector of Jung to a metal foil, as taught by Zhu, in order to have a higher battery capacity retention rate after cycling (see e.g., paragraph [0039]).
Regarding claim 8, Jung teaches the instantly claimed invention of claim 6, as previously described.
Jung does not explicitly teach wherein the chemically cross-linkable monomer is 1-20 wt% relative to the active material.
However, Zhu teaches a thermally crosslinkable polyacrylic acid negative electrode binder for a negative electrode in a lithium-ion battery (see e.g., paragraph [0001]), wherein the negative electrode comprises silicon and graphite (see e.g., paragraph [0032]). Zhu teaches the mass fraction of silicon and graphite is 10-30% of the negative electrode sheet (see e.g., paragraph [0032]). Zhu teaches the thermally crosslinkable polyacrylic acid negative electrode binder has a mass fraction of 3-12% in the negative electrode sheet (see e.g., paragraph [0034]). Therefore, the thermally crosslinkable polyacrylic acid negative electrode binder is present in 0.3% to 40% relative to the silicon and graphite (“wherein the chemically cross-linkable monomer is 1-20 wt% relative to the active material”). Zhu teaches the cross-linked binder inhibits the expansion of the high-silicon system electrode sheet, enabling the high-silicon content lithium battery to have a higher battery capacity retention rate after cycling (see e.g., paragraph [0039]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention that one of ordinary skill would modify the polymer matrix of Jung to be present in 0.3% to 40% relative to the silicon and graphite, as taught by Zhu, in order to inhibit the expansion of the high-silicon system electrode sheet, enabling the high-silicon content lithium battery to have a higher battery capacity retention rate after cycling (see e.g., paragraph [0039]).
It has been held in the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art,” and because the weight percentages of 0.3% to 40% overlap with the recited range, a “prima facie” case of obviousness exists (see MPEP 2144.05(l)).
Regarding claim 9, Jung teaches the instantly claimed invention of claim 8, as previously described.
Jung does not explicitly teach wherein the chemically cross-linkable monomer is 1-10 wt% relative to the active material.
However, Zhu teaches a thermally crosslinkable polyacrylic acid negative electrode binder for a negative electrode in a lithium-ion battery (see e.g., paragraph [0001]), wherein the negative electrode comprises silicon and graphite (see e.g., paragraph [0032]). Zhu teaches the mass fraction of silicon and graphite is 10-30% of the negative electrode sheet (see e.g., paragraph [0032]). Zhu teaches the thermally crosslinkable polyacrylic acid negative electrode binder has a mass fraction of 3-12% in the negative electrode sheet (see e.g., paragraph [0034]). Therefore, the thermally crosslinkable polyacrylic acid negative electrode binder is present in 0.3% to 40% relative to the silicon and graphite (“wherein the chemically cross-linkable monomer is 1-10 wt% relative to the active material”). Zhu teaches the cross-linked binder inhibits the expansion of the high-silicon system electrode sheet, enabling the high-silicon content lithium battery to have a higher battery capacity retention rate after cycling (see e.g., paragraph [0039]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention that one of ordinary skill would modify the polymer matrix of Jung to be present in 0.3% to 40% relative to the silicon and graphite, as taught by Zhu, in order to inhibit the expansion of the high-silicon system electrode sheet, enabling the high-silicon content lithium battery to have a higher battery capacity retention rate after cycling (see e.g., paragraph [0039]).
It has been held in the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art,” and because the weight percentages of 0.3% to 40% overlap with the recited range, a “prima facie” case of obviousness exists (see MPEP 2144.05(l)).
Regarding claim 10, Jung teaches the instantly claimed invention of claim 6, as previously described.
Jung teaches the anode current collector may include stainless steel, nickel, copper, titanium, or alloys thereof, and the like, may be used (see e.g., paragraph [0098]); however, Jung does not explicitly teach the current collector is a foil.
However, Zhu teaches a thermally crosslinkable polyacrylic acid negative electrode binder for a negative electrode in a lithium-ion battery (see e.g., paragraph [0001]). Zhu teaches the negative electrode slurry is coated on the surface of a copper foil (see e.g., paragraph [0052]) and has a higher battery capacity retention rate after cycling (see e.g., paragraph [0039]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention that one of ordinary skill would modify the current collector of Jung to a metal foil, as taught by Zhu, in order to have a higher battery capacity retention rate after cycling (see e.g., paragraph [0039]).
Regarding claim 13, Jung teaches the instantly claimed invention of claim 11, as previously described.
Jung does not explicitly teach wherein the chemically cross-linkable monomer is 1-20 wt% relative to the graphite and silicon-based particles.
However, Zhu teaches a thermally crosslinkable polyacrylic acid negative electrode binder for a negative electrode in a lithium-ion battery (see e.g., paragraph [0001]), wherein the negative electrode comprises silicon and graphite (see e.g., paragraph [0032]). Zhu teaches the mass fraction of silicon and graphite is 10-30% of the negative electrode sheet (see e.g., paragraph [0032]). Zhu teaches the thermally crosslinkable polyacrylic acid negative electrode binder has a mass fraction of 3-12% in the negative electrode sheet (see e.g., paragraph [0034]). Therefore, the thermally crosslinkable polyacrylic acid negative electrode binder is present in 0.3% to 40% relative to the silicon and graphite (“wherein the chemically cross-linkable monomer is 1-20 wt% relative to the graphite and silicon-based particles”). Zhu teaches the cross-linked binder inhibits the expansion of the high-silicon system electrode sheet, enabling the high-silicon content lithium battery to have a higher battery capacity retention rate after cycling (see e.g., paragraph [0039]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention that one of ordinary skill would modify the polymer matrix of Jung to be present in 0.3% to 40% relative to the silicon and graphite, as taught by Zhu, in order to inhibit the expansion of the high-silicon system electrode sheet, enabling the high-silicon content lithium battery to have a higher battery capacity retention rate after cycling (see e.g., paragraph [0039]).
It has been held in the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art,” and because the weight percentages of 0.3% to 40% overlap with the recited range, a “prima facie” case of obviousness exists (see MPEP 2144.05(l)).
Regarding claim 14, Jung teaches the instantly claimed invention of claim 13, as previously described.
Jung does not explicitly teach wherein the chemically cross-linkable monomer is 1-10 wt% relative to the graphite and silicon-based particles.
However, Zhu teaches a thermally crosslinkable polyacrylic acid negative electrode binder for a negative electrode in a lithium-ion battery (see e.g., paragraph [0001]), wherein the negative electrode comprises silicon and graphite (see e.g., paragraph [0032]). Zhu teaches the mass fraction of silicon and graphite is 10-30% of the negative electrode sheet (see e.g., paragraph [0032]). Zhu teaches the thermally crosslinkable polyacrylic acid negative electrode binder has a mass fraction of 3-12% in the negative electrode sheet (see e.g., paragraph [0034]). Therefore, the thermally crosslinkable polyacrylic acid negative electrode binder is present in 0.3% to 40% relative to the silicon and graphite (“wherein the chemically cross-linkable monomer is 1-10 wt% relative to the graphite and silicon-based particles”). Zhu teaches the cross-linked binder inhibits the expansion of the high-silicon system electrode sheet, enabling the high-silicon content lithium battery to have a higher battery capacity retention rate after cycling (see e.g., paragraph [0039]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention that one of ordinary skill would modify the polymer matrix of Jung to be present in 0.3% to 40% relative to the silicon and graphite, as taught by Zhu, in order to inhibit the expansion of the high-silicon system electrode sheet, enabling the high-silicon content lithium battery to have a higher battery capacity retention rate after cycling (see e.g., paragraph [0039]).
It has been held in the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art,” and because the weight percentages of 0.3% to 40% overlap with the recited range, a “prima facie” case of obviousness exists (see MPEP 2144.05(l)).
Regarding claim 15, Jung teaches the instantly claimed invention of claim 11, as previously described.
Jung teaches the anode current collector may include stainless steel, nickel, copper, titanium, or alloys thereof, and the like, may be used (see e.g., paragraph [0098]); however, Jung does not explicitly teach the current collector is a foil.
However, Zhu teaches a thermally crosslinkable polyacrylic acid negative electrode binder for a negative electrode in a lithium-ion battery (see e.g., paragraph [0001]). Zhu teaches the negative electrode slurry is coated on the surface of a copper foil (see e.g., paragraph [0052]) and has a higher battery capacity retention rate after cycling (see e.g., paragraph [0039]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention that one of ordinary skill would modify the current collector of Jung to a metal foil, as taught by Zhu, in order to have a higher battery capacity retention rate after cycling (see e.g., paragraph [0039]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Wu et al. (Published U.S. Patent Application US 20200075934 A1) teaches a negative electrode composition includes a silicon containing material and a crosslinked polymer containing coating surrounding at least a portion of the silicon containing material (see e.g., Abstract).
/KATHERINE N HIGGINS/Examiner, Art Unit 1728
/MATTHEW T MARTIN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1728