DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 07/28/2025 have been fully considered but they are not fully persuasive. Claim 1,11, and 19 have been amended. Claims 4, 14, and 22 have been cancelled. Claims 1-3, 5-13, and 15-21 are pending.
On page 9 of the Remarks, the Applicant amended the claims with regards to the objections filed from the current office action. The examiner respectfully agrees to the amendments regarding the objections that have been made to the claims. Therefore, the claim objections have been withdrawn.
On pages 9-15 of the Remarks, the Applicant contends the claims 1, 11, and 19 and their dependents under 35 USC 101 are directed to eligible subject matter. The examiner respectfully disagrees.
In response, on pages 10-11 of the Remarks, to the applicant’s arguments that the claims are directed to a particular concrete solution and not directed to an abstract solution to a problem as in Electric Power Group. The claims recite generic data processing steps and conventional computer components (e.g., processors, machine readable media) that do not provide the required “inventive concept” under Alice/Mayo and the USPTO’s 2019 PEG. The examiner maintains that the Electric Power Group is appropriately relied upon here because the claims do no more than collect, analyze, and display information in general terms rather than claim a specific technical improvement. Further, in pages 10-12 of the Remarks, the applicant also contends that the problem of data loss prevention (DLP) system being rendered ineffective by generating hundreds of thousands of DLP incidents for sensitive assets in cloud infrastructures that overwhelm personnel. The examiner still maintains the claim, even with amendments, are directed to abstract idea. In SAP America, Inc. v. InvestPic, LLC, 898 F.3d 1161 (Fed. Cir. 2018) wherein InvestPic’ s patent describes and claims systems and methods for performing statistical analyses of investment information. The court ruled that the complexity and computational intensity of a statistical analysis method did not render it patent-eligible if it was directed to an abstract idea. Applying the Alice Corp. framework, the court found the claims were directed to the abstract idea of performing statistical analysis and lacked an inventive concept beyond the abstract mathematics and generic computer implementation.
In response, in pages 12-15 of the Remarks, the applicant contends that the claims should be found eligible contends when analyzed for eligibility with the USPTO implementation of the Alice/Mayo Two-Part Test. The examiner respectfully disagrees. The examiner acknowledges the claims do fall within one of the four statutory categories of inventions (Step 1 of Subject Matter Eligibility Test)
The applicant contends the claims are not directed to a judicial exception. The applicant also states that Step 2A, Prong One- The Office’s characterization of the claims as directed to an abstract of mental process is incorrect and lacks any supporting analysis. In Step 2A, Prong One, examiners evaluate whether the claim recites a judicial exception i.e., whether law of nature, natural phenomenon, or abstract is set forth or described in the claim. The claim’s core limitations: identifying sensitive assets, determining a data loss risk score for each asset based on multiple risk assessments (user based, cloud infrastructure, system configuration, policy compliance), aggregating/combining scores (including in transit score combining asset and requestor assessments), and surfacing/selecting incidents that meet criteria. These are processes of collecting information, performing calculations or scoring, and making a selection/notification decision. These operations fall squarely within the abstract idea group identified in Alice/Mayo and the PEG: (i) mathematical concepts/algorithms (scoring/combining numerical risk assessments); (ii) mental processes (evaluating risk and deciding which incidents to surface can be conceptualized as human cognitive steps); and (iii) certain types of business/organizational practices (prioritizing/triaging items). The representative’s characterization of the claim as a “particular concrete solution” reads limitations from the specification into the claim. The claim language itself does not recite any unconventional technique for obtaining measurements, a specific novel algorithm described at a technical level, or a particular technical configuration that departs from conventional computing or networking. For example, in Berkheimer v. HP Inc., No. 17-1437 (Fed. Cir. 2018) recites wherein digitally processing and archiving files in digital asset management system that parses files into multiple objects and tags the objects to create relationships between them, and these objects are analyzed and compared, manually or automatically, to archived objects to determine whether variations exist based on predetermined standards and rules (e.g., scoring according to assessments) in order to eliminate redundant storage of common text and graphical elements and improve system operating efficiency, reducing storage costs. The court ruled that the claims were ineligible under 35 USC 101 concluding that parsing and comparing data or collecting, organizing, comparing, and presenting data were directed to an abstract idea .
Applicant contends, Step2A, Prong Two – The claims incorporate any alleged mental process into practical application in the area of data loss prevention. As stated previously, the examiner still maintains the claim, even with amendments, are directed to abstract idea. The claim does not recite any improvement to the underlying computer, network, or cloud infrastructure itself. There is no asserted improvement such as novel data structures, low level protocol, specialized hardware, or a specific technical method of detecting or measuring events in the cloud that materially improves performance, security, scalability, latency, or accuracy in a manner claim specified and beyond conventional design. The specification’s assertion that the solution improves DLP workflows is not reflected in the claim language as a technical improvement to computer functionality; the claims merely use a computer to perform routine information processing tasks. The recited “aggregating” or “generating an in transit data loss risk score” is described at a high level; there is no claim limitation identifying a concrete algorithmic or technical method for scoring or combining that is not a routine mathematical operation. Merely adding that the score is based on multiple “views” of risk does not impose a specific technical implementation or limitation that integrates the abstract idea into a practical application under the PEG. For example in, SAP America, Inc. v. InvestPic, LLC, 898 F.3d 1161 (Fed. Cir. 2018), InvestPic’ s patent describes and claims systems and methods for performing statistical analyses of investment information. The court ruled that the complexity and computational intensity of a statistical analysis method did not render it patent-eligible if it was directed to an abstract idea. Applying the Alice Corp. framework, the court found the claims were directed to the abstract idea of performing statistical analysis and lacked an inventive concept beyond the abstract mathematics and generic computer implementation. Therefore, based at least the above, paragraphs, Examiner respectfully maintains the USC 101 rejection.
On pages 15-17 of the Remarks with regards to 35 USC 112 , Applicant’s arguments with regards to 35 USC 112(a) and 35 USC 112(b) were fully considered and persuasive. Therefore, the rejection have been withdrawn.
On pages 17-21 of the Remarks, Applicant’s arguments and amendments with respect to rejection of independent claims 1, 11, and 19 under 35 USC 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, rejection have been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, new grounds of rejection is made in view of newly found prior art.
The office action has been updated reflecting the claims as currently presented.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-3 and 5-10 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more. The claims recites a method which appears to be a ‘process’, one of the four statutory categories of inventions (Step 1 of Subject Matter Eligibility Test) .
However, the claim as a whole appears to not qualify for a streamlined analysis and thus a full eligibility analysis is necessary (Step 2A and Step 2B of the Subject Matter Eligibility Test).
In Step 2A, Prong One, examiners evaluate whether the claim recites a judicial exception i.e., whether law of nature, natural phenomenon, or abstract is set forth or described in the claim.
The claims recites the steps of:
“… identifying a plurality of sensitive assets…”
“…determining data loss risk score for each plurality of sensitive assets…”
“…determining which of the plurality of sensitive assets have a data loss risk score that satisfies a set of one or more criteria…”
“…surfacing those of the DLP incidents corresponding subset of the plurality of sensitive assets having data loss risk scores that satisfy the set of one or more criteria…”
“…generating in-transit data loss risk score…”
The steps of identifying, determining, and surfacing amount to an abstract idea which falls under a judicial exception (Step 2A Prong 1, of the Subject Matter Eligibility), The abstract idea falls in the category. The abstract idea falls in the category of a mental process, for example, evaluation, judgements, and opinions (see MPEP 2106.06). For example, the courts found that a claims to “collecting information, analyzing it, and displaying certain results of collection and analysis,” where the data analysis steps are recited at high level of generality, could practically be performed in the human mind, Electric Power Group v. Alstom, S.A., 830 F.3d 1350, 1353‐54, 119 USPQ2d 1739, 1741‐42 (Fed. Cir. 2016).
In Step 2A, Prong Two, examiners determine whether the claim as a whole integrates the judicial exception into practical application to disqualify the abstract idea as a judicial exception. However, the judicial exception found in claim 1 is not integrated into a practical application because the generically recited computer elements of an do not add any meaningful limitation to an abstract idea because they amount to simply implementing the abstract idea on a computer. The implementation of identifying, determining, and surfacing amount to enabling human decision making without any meaningful to improve the functioning of a computer or another technology without reference to what is well-understood, routine, and conventional activity. The claim do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount significantly more than the judicial exception because simply appending well-understood, routine, and conventional activities previously known to the industry, as discussed in Alice Corp., 573 U.S. at 225, 110 USPQ2d at 1984.
Thus, the analysis concludes is ineligible under 35 U.S.C. § 101 as it is directed to a judicial exception.
Regarding claims 2-3 and 5-10:
Claims 2-3 and 5-10 do not add apply additional elements than those already disclosed in claim 1, and merely adds further abstract ideas. Furthermore, none of the claims integrate the judicial exception into a practical application.
Claims 11-13 and 15-18 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more. The claims recites a non-transitory readable medium which appears to be a ‘machine’, one of the four statutory categories of inventions (Step 1 of Subject Matter Eligibility Test) .
However, the claim as a whole appears to not qualify for a streamlined analysis and thus a full eligibility analysis is necessary (Step 2A and Step 2B of the Subject Matter Eligibility Test).
In Step 2A, Prong One, examiners evaluate whether the claim recites a judicial exception i.e., whether law of nature, natural phenomenon, or abstract is set forth or described in the claim.
The claims recites the steps of:
“…determine a set of one or more cloud infrastructures hosting sensitive assets…”
“…quantify holistic data loss risk for sensitive assets of an organization…”
“…obtain a risk assessment of the cloud infrastructure…”
“…obtain system configuration risk assessments for sensitive assets…”
“…obtain user-based risk assessments for sensitive assets…”
“…determine a baseline data loss risk score for each sensitive asset…”
“…surface, to a security operation center…”
“…generate an in-transit data loss risk score…”
The steps of determining, quantifying, obtaining, and surfacing amount to an abstract idea which falls under a judicial exception (Step 2A Prong 1, of the Subject Matter Eligibility), The abstract idea falls in the category. The abstract idea falls in the category of a mental process, for example, evaluation, judgements, and opinions (see MPEP 2106.06). For example, the courts found that a claims to “collecting information, analyzing it, and displaying certain results of collection and analysis,” where the data analysis steps are recited at high level of generality, could practically be performed in the human mind, Electric Power Group v. Alstom, S.A., 830 F.3d 1350, 1353‐54, 119 USPQ2d 1739, 1741‐42 (Fed. Cir. 2016).
In Step 2A, Prong Two, examiners determine whether the claim as a whole integrates the judicial exception into practical application to disqualify the abstract idea as a judicial exception. However, the judicial exception found in claim 11 is not integrated into a practical application because the generically recited computer elements of an do not add any meaningful limitation to an abstract idea because they amount to simply implementing the abstract idea on a computer. The implementation of determining, obtaining, and surfacing amount to enabling human decision making without any meaningful to improve the functioning of a computer or another technology without reference to what is well-understood, routine, and conventional activity. The claim do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount significantly more than the judicial exception because simply appending well-understood, routine, and conventional activities previously known to the industry, as discussed in Alice Corp., 573 U.S. at 225, 110 USPQ2d at 1984.
Thus, the analysis concludes is ineligible under 35 U.S.C. § 101 as it is directed to a judicial exception.
Regarding claims 12-13 and 15-18:
Claims 12-13 and 15-18 do not add apply additional elements than those already disclosed in claim 11, and merely adds further abstract ideas. Furthermore, none of the claims integrate the judicial exception into a practical application.
Claims 19-21 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more. The claims recites an apparatus which appears to be a ‘machine’, one of the four statutory categories of inventions (Step 1 of Subject Matter Eligibility Test) .
However, the claim as a whole appears to not qualify for a streamlined analysis and thus a full eligibility analysis is necessary (Step 2A and Step 2B of the Subject Matter Eligibility Test).
In Step 2A, Prong One, examiners evaluate whether the claim recites a judicial exception i.e., whether law of nature, natural phenomenon, or abstract is set forth or described in the claim.
The claims recites the steps of:
“…determine a set of one or more cloud infrastructures hosting sensitive assets…”
“…quantify holistic data loss risk for sensitive assets of an organization…”
“…obtain a risk assessment of the cloud infrastructure…”
“…obtain system configuration risk assessments for sensitive assets…”
“…obtain user-based risk assessments for sensitive assets…”
“…determine a baseline data loss risk score for each sensitive asset…”
“…surface, to a security operation center…”
“…generate an in-transit data loss risk score…”
The steps of determining, quantifying, obtaining, and surfacing amount to an abstract idea which falls under a judicial exception (Step 2A Prong 1, of the Subject Matter Eligibility), The abstract idea falls in the category. The abstract idea falls in the category of a mental process, for example, evaluation, judgements, and opinions (see MPEP 2106.06). For example, the courts found that a claims to “collecting information, analyzing it, and displaying certain results of collection and analysis,” where the data analysis steps are recited at high level of generality, could practically be performed in the human mind, Electric Power Group v. Alstom, S.A., 830 F.3d 1350, 1353‐54, 119 USPQ2d 1739, 1741‐42 (Fed. Cir. 2016).
In Step 2A, Prong Two, examiners determine whether the claim as a whole integrates the judicial exception into practical application to disqualify the abstract idea as a judicial exception. However, the judicial exception found in claim 19 is not integrated into a practical application because the generically recited computer elements of an do not add any meaningful limitation to an abstract idea because they amount to simply implementing the abstract idea on a computer. The implementation of determining, obtaining, and surfacing amount to enabling human decision making without any meaningful to improve the functioning of a computer or another technology without reference to what is well-understood, routine, and conventional activity. The claim do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount significantly more than the judicial exception because simply appending well-understood, routine, and conventional activities previously known to the industry, as discussed in Alice Corp., 573 U.S. at 225, 110 USPQ2d at 1984.
Thus, the analysis concludes is ineligible under 35 U.S.C. § 101 as it is directed to a judicial exception.
Regarding claims 20-21:
Claims 20-21 do not add apply additional elements than those already disclosed in claim 19, and merely adds further abstract ideas. Furthermore, none of the claims integrate the judicial exception into a practical application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 5, and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Newman et al. (US PGPub No.20180191771-A1) in view of Crabtree et al. (US PGPub No.20220377093-A1), Liu et al. (US-9807094-B1), and Watson et al. (US PGPub No. 20180248895-A1).
With respect to claim 1, Newman teaches a method comprising: identifying a plurality of sensitive assets corresponding to data loss prevention (DLP) incidents, ( ¶0037: As shown in Figure 4, a system according to embodiment may receive communication and document metadata 402, 404 to correlate stored communications, documents, and non-document content in a multi-stage, correlated storage 442. Further inputs to the system may include audit activities 412, click traces 414, data loss prevention (DLP) hits 416. ¶0016: As used herein, contextual correlation (corresponding) refers to multi-stage evaluation and correlation of data such as communications, documents, and non-document content in light of associated metadata and activities. For example, deletion of documents in a particular location may be assessed for potential threat based on sensitive information contents of the documents, deleting person or entity, location of the deleting person or entity, etc. ).
wherein the plurality of sensitive assets is hosted in a set of one or more cloud infrastructures; (¶0030: As seen in Figure 2A, In some examples, data to be analyzed, categorized, protected, and handled according to policies may come from a variety of sources such as a communications data store 202, a collaboration data store 204, and cloud storage 206.).
determining a data loss risk score for each of the plurality of sensitive assets based, at least partly, on user-based risk assessment, cloud infrastructure risk assessment, system configuration risk assessment, and policy compliance risk assessment; and
determining which of the plurality of sensitive assets have a data loss risk score that satisfies a set of one or more criteria; and
surfacing those of the DLP incidents corresponding to a subset of the plurality of sensitive assets having data loss risk scores that satisfy the set of one or more criteria;
based on detecting an access request for a first of the plurality of sensitive assets, determining a risk assessment of a requestor;
generating an in-transit data loss risk score based, at least in part, on the data loss risk score of the first sensitive asset and the risk assessment of the requestor; and determining whether to surface a notification corresponding to the first sensitive asset based, at least in part, on the in-transit data loss risk score.
Newman does not disclose:
determining a data loss risk score for each of the plurality of sensitive assets based, at least partly, on user-based risk assessment, cloud infrastructure risk assessment, system configuration risk assessment, and policy compliance risk assessment; and
determining which of the plurality of sensitive assets have a data loss risk score that satisfies a set of one or more criteria; and
surfacing those of the DLP incidents corresponding to a subset of the plurality of sensitive assets having data loss risk scores that satisfy the set of one or more criteria.
based on detecting an access request for a first of the plurality of sensitive assets, determining a risk assessment of a requestor;
generating an in-transit data loss risk score based, at least in part, on the data loss risk score of the first sensitive asset and the risk assessment of the requestor; and determining whether to surface a notification corresponding to the first sensitive asset based, at least in part, on the in-transit data loss risk score.
However, Crabtree teaches determining a data loss risk score for each of the plurality of sensitive assets based, at least partly, on user-based risk assessment, cloud infrastructure risk assessment, system configuration risk assessment, and policy compliance risk assessment; and (¶0095: In Figure 18, for comprehensive data loss prevention and compliance management, according to a preferred embodiment. According the embodiment , a risk analysis and scoring engine 1810 may be used to collect and analyze data from a plurality of input engines ,each of which collects data from a variety of sources and processes it to identify anomalies between observed and predicted behavior, indicating possible risk that may then be collated and scored to form an overall security risk analysis. A human activity monitoring engine 1801 may be used to monitor user behavior, a device activity monitoring engine 1803 may be used to monitor device-based behavior, a system activity monitoring engine 1802 may be used to monitor activity in any of a number of software or network systems, and an organization activity monitoring engine 1804 may be used to monitor broader interactions and behaviors within an organization. Each of these monitoring engines may collect data from a variety of device, network, and user behaviors while employing statistical and machine learning algorithms (assessing) to identify anomalies or ongoing changes of interest. ¶0100-0101: Figure 23 is a more detailed illustration of the operation of a risk analysis and scoring engine 1810. Anomalies gathered by monitoring engines 1801-1804 may be received by a risk analyzer 2310, which utilizes a number of analysis components to determine the relative risk level of each identified anomaly)
determining which of the plurality of sensitive assets have a data loss risk score that satisfies a set of one or more criteria; and (¶0101: Analysis results may then be provided to a scoring engine 2320 that assigns risk score values to data points based on number of criteria, for example including but not limited to domain risk, malware alerts (for example, if a particular anomaly is similar to a known malware signature), forged “golden tickets” that may be used for access privileges and circumventing protections, abnormal connections to or from virtual private network (VPN) servers or clients, service accounts being used to access sensitive assets (as may indicate a compromised account or device), group memberships, or access rights for users or groups.)
surfacing those of the DLP incidents corresponding to a subset of the plurality of sensitive assets having data loss risk scores that satisfy the set of one or more criteria. (¶0101: This scoring may then be used to produce graphs, reports, visualizations, or other output for review, or for producing alerts such as if threshold values for individual events, users, devices, groups, or other criteria are met.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention utilize the teachings of Crabtree with regards to the data loss score to the method of Newman in order to identify attacks before data loss occurs (Crabtree ¶0016 - 0018).
Newman in view Crabtree, Liu, and Watson does not disclose:
based on detecting an access request for a first of the plurality of sensitive assets, determining a risk assessment of a requestor;
generating an in-transit data loss risk score based, at least in part, on the data loss risk score of the first sensitive asset and the risk assessment of the requestor; and determining whether to surface a notification corresponding to the first sensitive asset based, at least in part, on the in-transit data loss risk score.
However, Liu teaches based on detecting an access request for a first of the plurality of sensitive assets, determining a risk assessment of a requestor; (¶0004: As will be described in greater detail below, the instant disclosure describes various systems and methods for dynamic access control over shared resources (plurality of sensitive assets as seen in ¶0001-¶0002 these resource can be sensitive). In some examples, a computer-implemented method for dynamic access control over shared resources (1) detecting an attempt by a suer to access a resource via a computing environment (2) identifying a risk level of the user attempting to access the resource via the computing environment…. Further the limitation is exemplifying in ¶0013: In some examples, a system for implementing the above-described method may include (1) an access-detection module, stored in memory, that detects an attempt by a user to access a resource via a computing environment, (2) a risk-assessment module, stored in memory, that (A) identifies a risk level of the user attempting to access the resource via the computing environment ).
generating an in-transit data loss risk score based, (¶0064: As example, the access control system may either generate for the actor and/or the context and a sensitivity score for the resource of identify existing risk and sensitivity scores generated by an external risk profiler. These scores may depend on various factors (such as Data Loss Prevention (DLP) considerations, machine learning techniques, file types, attributes, owner groups, content, metadata, data flow, colocation based on structural similarity etc.). Accordingly these score may be updated regularly and/or dynamically calculated. ) at least in part, on the data loss risk score of the first sensitive asset and the risk assessment of the requestor; and (¶0013: (2) a risk-assessment module, stored in memory, that (A) identifies a risk level of the user attempting to access the resource via the computing environment, (B) identifies a sensitivity level of the resource that the user is attempting to access via the computing environment, (C) identifies a risk level of the computing environment through which the user is attempting to access the resource, and then (D) determines an overall risk level for the attempt by the user to access the resource based at least in part on (I) the risk level of the user, (II) the sensitivity level of the resource, and (III) the risk level of the computing environment, and (3) an access-control module, stored in memory, that determines, based at least in part on the overall risk level for the attempt by the user, whether to grant the user access to the resource via the computing environment, and (4) at least one physical processor configured to execute the access-detection module, the risk-assessment module, and the access-control module.);
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention utilize the teachings of Liu with regards to the access request to the method of Newman in view Crabtree, Liu, and Watson in order to ensuring that all users of an organization have sufficient access to resources while maintaining security such as data theft (Liu ¶0001-0003).
Newman in view Crabtree, Liu, and Watson and Liu does not disclose:
determining whether to surface a notification corresponding to the first sensitive asset based, at least in part, on the in-transit data loss risk score.
Although, the prior art of Liu does disclose in ¶0098 wherein in addition, one or more of the modules described herein may transform data, physical devices, and/or representations of physical devices from one form to another. For example, one or more of the modules recited herein may receive data to be transformed into risk and/or sensitivity scores, transform the data into risk and/or sensitivity scores, output a result of the transformation to determine whether to grant access to a resource, use the result of the transformation to improve dynamic access control over shared resources, and store the result of the transformation for future reference and/or use. Liu does not explicitly disclose surfacing a notification based on the in-transit data risk score. However, Watson teaches determining whether to surface a notification corresponding to the first sensitive asset based, at least in part, on the in-transit data loss risk score. (¶0029: A service such as an activity monitor 204 can monitor the access of the various documents and data by various users (such as first sensitive asset), and store the information to a location such as an activity log 206 or other such repository. A security manager 202 can work with the access manager 208 and/or activity monitor 204 to determine the presence of potentially suspicious behavior, which can then be reported to the customer console 102 or otherwise provided as an alert or notification. ¶0046: As further seen in Figure 6 illustrates an example process 600 for identifying anomalous activity that can be utilized in accordance with various embodiments. In this example, the activity of a user can be monitored 602 with respect to organizational documents, data, and other such objects. If, however, it is determined that the activity is anomalous, then the risk scores for the anomalous access (and other such factors) can be determined 614, which can be compared against various rules, criteria, or thresholds for performing specific actions. If it is determined 616 that the risk scores for the anomalous behavior warrant an alert, such as by the risk score being above a specified threshold, then an alert can be generated for the security team.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention utilize the teachings of Watson with regards to surfacing notification based on risk score to the method of Newman in view Crabtree, Liu, and Watson and Liu in order to prevent data loss for a corpus of documents, and other data objects, stored for an entity and better manage data object maintaining a secure environment such as detecting anomalous behavior(Watson ¶0012 & ¶0021).
With respect to claim 5, the combination of Newman in view Crabtree, Liu, and Watson teaches the method of claim 1 (see rejection of claim 1 above) further comprising tracking access activity of the plurality of sensitive assets and (Crabtree ¶0106-0108: As seen in Figure 28, risk analyzer 2608 and a scoring engine 2704. Anomalies gathered by monitoring engines 1801-1805 (tracking activity of the plurality of sensitive assets) may be received by a risk analyzer 2703, which utilizes a number of analysis components 2311-3214 to determine the relative risk level of each identified anomaly.).
quantifying the tracked access activity by sensitive asset as historical scoring components for the plurality of sensitive assets; (Crabtree ¶0108-0110: The analyzer 2311 (historic scoring component) may be able to view typical category-level connections per session, per day, per month, per year, and compare those to expected values unique to the user, group, office location, and other relevant metrics. Contextualizing individual actions or behaviors may be used to ensure generated alerts or signals are accurate and useful for analysts and incident response personnel. A clustering-based analyzer 2312 (historic component) may be used to assign individual periods of activity into bins for an n-dimensional histogram. This may be used to enable review of many available datasets and models that may forecast individual or aggregate metrics over time on a user- or group-specific basis. A continuous metrics analyzer 2313 (historic component) may be used to implement statistical methods and time series modeling to constant streams of metric data, while a change-over-time analyzer 2314 (historic component) allows the system to compare expected and actual behavioral metrics for variables over time and combine continuous metrics with category-based detection to increase detection capabilities while reducing false positives. Analysis results may then be provided to a scoring engine 2704 that assigns risk score values to data points based on a number of criteria for example including but not limited to abnormal behavior patterns, developing or ongoing risk action pathways … ).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention utilize the teachings of Crabtree with regards to the tracking access activity to the method of Newman in view of Liu and Watson in order to reduce false positives when detecting to threats while ensuring data compliance and protection (Crabtree ¶0105 & 0108).
With respect to claim 8, the combination of Newman in view Crabtree, Liu, and Watson teaches the method of claim 5 (see rejection of claim 5 above) further comprising, for each of the plurality of sensitive assets with tracked access activity, periodically updating the data loss risk score of the sensitive asset with the historical scoring component or maintaining the historical scoring component of the sensitive asset distinct from the data loss risk score of the sensitive asset. (Crabtree ¶0108: A continuous metrics analyzer 2313 may be used to implement statistical methods and time series modeling to constant streams of metric data, while a change-over-time analyzer 2314 allows the system to compare expected and actual behavioral metrics for variables over time and combine continuous metrics with category-based detection to increase detection capabilities while reducing false positives.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention utilize the teachings of Crabtree with regards to the tracking access activity to the method of Newman in view of Liu, and Watson in order to reduce false positives when detecting to threats while ensuring data compliance and protection (Crabtree ¶0105 & 0108).
Claims 2, 11, 15, 17,and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Newman et al. (US PGPub No.20180191771-A1) in view of Crabtree et al. (US PGPub No.20220377093-A1), Liu et al. (US-9807094-B1), Watson et al. (US PGPub No. 20180248895-A1), and Basavapatna et al. (US PGPub No.20130097709-A1).
With respect to claim 2, the combination of Newman in view Crabtree, Liu, and Watson teaches the method of claim 1 (see rejection of claim 1 above) wherein determining the data loss risk score for each of the plurality of sensitive assets comprises: [obtaining the policy compliance risk assessment and] the user-based risk assessment for an organization responsible for the plurality of sensitive assets; (Crabtree ¶0096: In Figure 19, shows the operation of a human activity monitoring engine 1801. A human activity monitoring engine 1801 may collect data from a variety of sources 1901, including (but not limited to) communications via various channels (such as email, web-based chat, text messages, or phone calls), access logs for accounts or services, software installation or utilization statistics, work times or locations, or account login and logout records. These behavior data points may then be analyzed by comparing observed behavioral data 1903 against expected behavior 1902 according to an established behavioral model developed using statistical and machine learning techniques. This model may be based on initial expectations and then refined over time, applying techniques such as curve fitting to improve predictions and more accurately reflect observed “normal” behavior. An anomaly detector 1904 may then be used to identify mismatches between anticipated and actual behavior, which may then be provided as output to risk analysis and scoring engine 1810.)
obtaining the cloud infrastructure risk assessment for each cloud infrastructure; and (Crabtree ¶0097: Figure 22 shows the operation of an organization activity monitoring engine 1804. An organization activity monitoring engine 1804 may collect data from a variety of sources 2201, including (but not limited to) organization charts, titles, interpersonal interactions, intra- or inter-departmental interactions, internal entity interactions (such as interactions between teams within an enterprise), or external entity interactions (such as interactions with clients or service providers) These behavior data points may then be analyzed by comparing observed behavioral data 2203 against expected behavior 2202 according to an established behavioral model developed using statistical and machine learning techniques. This model may be based on initial expectations and then refined over time, applying techniques such as curve fitting to improve predictions and more accurately reflect observed “normal” behavior. An anomaly detector 2204 may then be used to identify mismatches between anticipated and actual behavior, which may then be provided as output to risk analysis and scoring engine 1810. ).
obtaining system configuration risk assessments for the plurality of sensitive assets, (Crabtree ¶0098: Figure 22 shows the operation of a system activity monitoring engine 1802. A system activity monitoring engine 1802 may collect data from a variety of sources 2101, including (but not limited to) system endpoints (for example, such as system monitor “sysmon” data, event logs, or error reports), network data collectors such as various infrastructure servers (for example, email, print or file servers), perimeter security devices such as a firewall or intrusion detection system (IDS), network security monitoring tools such as packet inspection software, or endpoint agents such as (for example, including but not limited to) OSQuery™ or Tanium™ services. These behavior data points may then be analyzed by comparing observed behavioral data 2103 against expected behavior 2102 according to an established behavioral model developed using statistical and machine learning techniques. This model may be based on initial expectations and then refined over time, applying techniques such as curve fitting to improve predictions and more accurately reflect observed “normal” behavior. An anomaly detector 2104 may then be used to identify mismatches between anticipated and actual behavior, which may then be provided as output to risk analysis and scoring engine 1810.).
wherein determining the data loss risk score for each sensitive asset of the plurality of sensitive assets comprises aggregating [the policy compliance risk assessment,] the user-based risk assessment, the cloud infrastructure risk assessment of the cloud infrastructure hosting the sensitive asset, and the system configuration risk assessment for the system configurations of the sensitive asset into the data loss risk score for the sensitive asset. (¶0100-0101: Figure 23 is a more detailed illustration of the operation of a risk analysis and scoring engine 1810. Anomalies gathered (aggregating) by monitoring engines 1801-1804 may be received by a risk analyzer 2310, which utilizes a number of analysis components to determine the relative risk level of each identified anomaly)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective
filing date of the claimed invention utilize the teachings of Crabtree with regards to the data loss score to the method of Newman, Liu, and Watson in order to identify attacks before data loss occurs (Crabtree ¶0016 - 0018).
Newman in view Crabtree, Liu, and Watson does not disclose:
obtaining policy compliance risk assessment
aggregating the policy compliance risk assessment,
However, Basavapatna teaches obtaining policy compliance risk assessment (¶0030: As seen in Figure 2, further, in some examples, a behavioral risk profile for a user can include categorical risk profiles or be based on separate risk profiles that are developed characterizing types or categories of user behavior within the system 240, such as email behavior, network usage, access and use of enterprise-owned resources (such as confidential content or data of the enterprise), internet usage using system-affiliated devices, password protection, policy compliance, among others.
aggregating the policy compliance risk assessment, (¶0041: Further, a user's risk score or reputation can be categorized, with distinct risk scores being generated in each of a variety of categories, from the events detected at the device 230, 235 using behavioral risk agents 215, 220, such as separate scores communicating the user's behavioral reputation in email use, internet use, policy compliance, authentication efforts (e.g., password strength), and so on.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective
filing date of the claimed invention utilize the teachings of Basavapatna with regards to obtaining policy compliance risk assessment to the method of Newman in view Crabtree, Liu, and Watson in order to protect and maintain stable computers and systems by addressing types of weakness and risks within the system (Basavapatna ¶0003).
With respect to claim 11, Newman teaches a non-transitory, machine-readable medium having program code stored thereon, the program code comprising instructions to: (¶0018-0019: Generally, program modules include routines, programs, components, data structures, and other types of structures that perform particular tasks or implement particular abstract data types. Moreover, those skilled in the art will appreciate that embodiments may be practiced with other computer system configurations, including hand-held devices, multiprocessor systems, microprocessor-based or programmable consumer electronics, minicomputers, mainframe computers, and comparable computing devices. In a distributed computing environment, program modules may be located in both local and remote memory storage devices.).
determine a set of one or more cloud infrastructures hosting sensitive assets for an organization; ((¶0015: As briefly described above, embodiments are directed to threat intelligence management in a security and compliance environment. In some examples, a threat explorer module of a security and compliance service may detect, investigate, manage, and provide actionable insights for threats at an organizational level. ¶0030: As seen in Figure 2A, In some examples, data to be analyzed, categorized, protected, and handled according to policies may come from a variety of sources such as a communications data store 202, a collaboration data store 204, and cloud storage 206.).
quantify holistic data loss risk for sensitive assets of the organization hosted in the set of one or more cloud infrastructures, ( ¶0037: As shown in Figure 4, a system according to embodiment may receive communication and document metadata 402, 404 to correlate stored communications, documents, and non-document content in a multi-stage, correlated storage 442. Further inputs to the system may include audit activities 412, click traces 414, data loss prevention (DLP) hits 416. ¶0016: As used herein, contextual correlation (corresponding) refers to multi-stage evaluation and correlation of data such as communications, documents, and non-document content in light of associated metadata and activities. For example, deletion of documents in a particular location may be assessed for potential threat based on sensitive information contents of the documents, deleting person or entity, location of the deleting person or entity, etc. Thus, a more granular approach to threat assessment and management (quantify holistic data loss risk) may be achieved reducing false positives and allowing early detection of actual threats. ).
[wherein the instructions to determine the holistic data loss risk comprise instructions to, for each cloud infrastructure, obtain a risk assessment of the cloud infrastructure;
obtain system configuration risk assessments for the sensitive assets hosted in the cloud infrastructure;
obtain a risk assessment of policy compliance corresponding to the cloud infrastructure and the organization;
obtain user-based risk assessments for the sensitive assets hosted in the cloud infrastructure;
determine a baseline data loss risk score for each sensitive asset hosted in the cloud infrastructure based on a combination of the risk assessments for the sensitive asset; and]
surface, to a security operations center, data loss prevention (DLP) incidents of the sensitive assets based,[ at least in part, on the baseline data loss risk scores;] ( ¶0031-0035: As seen in Figure 2A, User Experiences such as threat intelligence user interface 222 may be provided as part of a security and compliance center (security operations center) 220 to present actionable visualization associated with various aspects of service and receive user/administration input to be provided to various modules. Figure 3, in an example configuration of diagram 300, a threat explorer 304 may receive as input threat feeds 308, which may include internal data, external threat data, and user profiles 326. Analyzing the threat data in light of contextual factors such as user profiles, activities, affected data types, etc., the threat explorer module 304 may generate threat alerts 306, remediation actions 310, and manage a threat intelligence dashboard 302.).
track access activity corresponding to the sensitive assets; based on detection of an access request for one of the sensitive assets, determine a risk assessment of a requestor corresponding to the access request; for the sensitive asset corresponding to the detected access request, generate an in-transit data loss risk score based, at least in part, on the baseline data loss risk score of the sensitive asset and the risk assessment of the requestor; and determine whether to surface a DLP incident corresponding to the access request and the sensitive asset based, at least in part, on the in-transit data loss risk score.
Newman does not disclose:
wherein the instructions to determine the holistic data loss risk comprise instructions to, for each cloud infrastructure, obtain a risk assessment of the cloud infrastructure;
obtain system configuration risk assessments for the sensitive assets hosted in the cloud infrastructure;
obtain a risk assessment of policy compliance corresponding to the cloud infrastructure and the organization;
obtain user-based risk assessments for the sensitive assets hosted in the cloud infrastructure;
determine a baseline data loss risk score for each sensitive asset hosted in the cloud infrastructure based on a combination of the risk assessments for the sensitive asset; and
surface, to a security operations center, data loss prevention (DLP) incidents of the sensitive assets based, at least in part, on the baseline data loss risk scores;
track access activity corresponding to the sensitive assets; based on detection of an access request for one of the sensitive assets, determine a risk assessment of a requestor corresponding to the access request; for the sensitive asset corresponding to the detected access request, generate an in-transit data loss risk score based, at least in part, on the baseline data loss risk score of the sensitive asset and the risk assessment of the requestor; and determine whether to surface a DLP incident corresponding to the access request and the sensitive asset based, at least in part, on the in-transit data loss risk score.
However, Crabtree teaches wherein the instructions to determine the holistic data loss risk comprise instructions to, for each cloud infrastructure, obtain a risk assessment of the cloud infrastructure; (¶0097: Figure 22 shows the operation of an organization activity monitoring engine 1804. An organization activity monitoring engine 1804 may collect data from a variety of sources 2201, including (but not limited to) organization charts, titles, interpersonal interactions, intra- or inter-departmental interactions, internal entity interactions (such as interactions between teams within an enterprise), or external entity interactions (such as interactions with clients or service providers) These behavior data points may then be analyzed by comparing observed behavioral data 2203 against expected behavior 2202 according to an established behavioral model developed using statistical and machine learning techniques. This model may be based on initial expectations and then refined over time, applying techniques such as curve fitting to improve predictions and more accurately reflect observed “normal” behavior. An anomaly detector 2204 may then be used to identify mismatches between anticipated and actual behavior, which may then be provided as output to risk analysis and scoring engine 1810. ).
obtain system configuration risk assessments for the sensitive assets hosted in the cloud infrastructure; (¶0098: Figure 22 shows the operation of a system activity monitoring engine 1802. A system activity monitoring engine 1802 may collect data from a variety of sources 2101, including (but not limited to) system endpoints (for example, such as system monitor “sysmon” data, event logs, or error reports), network data collectors such as various infrastructure servers (for example, email, print or file servers), perimeter security devices such as a firewall or intrusion detection system (IDS), network security monitoring tools such as packet inspection software, or endpoint agents such as (for example, including but not limited to) OSQuery™ or Tanium™ services. These behavior data points may then be analyzed by comparing observed behavioral data 2103 against expected behavior 2102 according to an established behavioral model developed using statistical and machine learning techniques. This model may be based on initial expectations and then refined over time, applying techniques such as curve fitting to improve predictions and more accurately reflect observed “normal” behavior. An anomaly detector 2104 may then be used to identify mismatches between anticipated and actual behavior, which may then be provided as output to risk analysis and scoring engine 1810.).
obtain user-based risk assessments for the sensitive assets hosted in the cloud infrastructure; (¶0096: In Figure 19, shows the operation of a human activity monitoring engine 1801. A human activity monitoring engine 1801 may collect data from a variety of sources 1901, including (but not limited to) communications via various channels (such as email, web-based chat, text messages, or phone calls), access logs for accounts or services, software installation or utilization statistics, work times or locations, or account login and logout records. These behavior data points may then be analyzed by comparing observed behavioral data 1903 against expected behavior 1902 according to an established behavioral model developed using statistical and machine learning techniques. This model may be based on initial expectations and then refined over time, applying techniques such as curve fitting to improve predictions and more accurately reflect observed “normal” behavior. An anomaly detector 1904 may then be used to identify mismatches between anticipated and actual behavior, which may then be provided as output to risk analysis and scoring engine 1810.).
determine a baseline data loss risk score for each sensitive asset hosted in the cloud infrastructure based on a combination of the risk assessments for the sensitive asset; and (¶0124: As seen in Figure 12, this information may then 1202 be incorporated into a CPG as described previously in Figure 11, and the combined data of the CPG and the known vulnerabilities may then be analyzed 1203 to identify the relationships between known vulnerabilities and risks exposed by components of the infrastructure. This produces a combined CPG 1204 (producing a baseline vulnerability score) that incorporates both the internal risk level of network resources, user accounts, and devices (combination of risk assessments) as well as the actual risk level based on the analysis of known vulnerabilities and security risks.).
[surface, to a security operations center, data loss prevention (DLP) incidents of the sensitive assets] based, at least in part, on the baseline data loss risk scores; (¶0126-0127: Figure 14, shows for cybersecurity risk management, according to one aspect. When an event (for example, an attempted attack against a vulnerable system or resource) occurs 1403, the event is logged in the time-series data 1404, and compared against the CPG 1405 to determine the impact (baseline data loss scores). This is enhanced with the inclusion of impact assessment information 1406 for any affected resources, and the attack is then checked against a baseline score 1407 to determine the full extent of the impact of the attack and any necessary modifications to the infrastructure or policies.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective
filing date of the claimed invention utilize the teachings of Crabtree with regards to the data loss risk to the method of Newman in order to identify attacks before data loss occurs (Crabtree ¶0016 - 0018).
Newman in view Crabtree, Liu, and Watson does not disclose:
obtain a risk assessment of policy compliance corresponding to the cloud infrastructure and the organization;
track access activity corresponding to the sensitive assets; based on detection of an access request for one of the sensitive assets, determine a risk assessment of a requestor corresponding to the access request; for the sensitive asset corresponding to the detected access request, generate an in-transit data loss risk score based, at least in part, on the baseline data loss risk score of the sensitive asset and the risk assessment of the requestor; and determine whether to surface a DLP incident corresponding to the access request and the sensitive asset based, at least in part, on the in-transit data loss risk score.
However, Basavapatna teaches obtain a risk assessment of policy compliance corresponding to the cloud infrastructure and the organization; (¶0030: As seen in Figure 2, further, in some examples, a behavioral risk profile for a user can include categorical risk profiles or be based on separate risk profiles that are developed characterizing types or categories of user behavior within the system 240, such as email behavior, network usage, access and use of enterprise-owned resources (such as confidential content or data of the enterprise), internet usage using system-affiliated devices, password protection, policy compliance, among others.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention utilize the teachings of Basavapatna with regards to obtaining policy compliance risk assessment to the method of Newman in view Crabtree in order to protect and maintain stable computers and systems by addressing types of weakness and risks within the system (Basavapatna ¶0003).
Newman in view Crabtree, Liu, and Watson, Basavapatna does not disclose:
track access activity corresponding to the sensitive assets; based on detection of an access request for one of the sensitive assets, determine a risk assessment of a requestor corresponding to the access request; for the sensitive asset corresponding to the detected access request, generate an in-transit data loss risk score based, at least in part, on the baseline data loss risk score of the sensitive asset and the risk assessment of the requestor; and determine whether to surface a DLP incident corresponding to the access request and the sensitive asset based, at least in part, on the in-transit data loss risk score.
However, Liu teaches track access activity corresponding to the sensitive assets; (¶0027: The systems described herein may perform step 302 in a variety of ways. In some examples, access-detection module 104 may detect the attempt to access resource 208 by monitoring computing environment 220 and/or resource 208.) based on detection of an access request for one of the sensitive assets, determine a risk assessment of a requestor corresponding to the access request; (¶0004: As will be described in greater detail below, the instant disclosure describes various systems and methods for dynamic access control over shared resources (plurality of sensitive assets as seen in ¶0001-¶0002 these resource can be sensitive). In some examples, a computer-implemented method for dynamic access control over shared resources (1) detecting an attempt by a suer to access a resource via a computing environment (2) identifying a risk level of the user attempting to access the resource via the computing environment…. Further the limitation is exemplifying in ¶0013: In some examples, a system for implementing the above-described method may include (1) an access-detection module, stored in memory, that detects an attempt by a user to access a resource via a computing environment, (2) a risk-assessment module, stored in memory, that (A) identifies a risk level of the user attempting to access the resource via the computing environment ).
for the sensitive asset corresponding to the detected access request, generate an in-transit data loss risk score (¶0064: As example, the access control system may either generate for the actor and/or the context and a sensitivity score for the resource of identify existing risk and sensitivity scores generated by an external risk profiler. These scores may depend on various factors (such as Data Loss Prevention (DLP) considerations, machine learning techniques, file types, attributes, owner groups, content, metadata, data flow, colocation based on structural similarity etc.). Accordingly these score may be updated regularly and/or dynamically calculated. ) based, at least in part, on the baseline data loss risk score of the sensitive asset and the risk assessment of the requestor; and (¶0013: (2) a risk-assessment module, stored in memory, that (A) identifies a risk level of the user attempting to access the resource via the computing environment, (B) identifies a sensitivity level of the resource that the user is attempting to access via the computing environment, (C) identifies a risk level of the computing environment through which the user is attempting to access the resource, and then (D) determines an overall risk level for the attempt by the user to access the resource based at least in part on (I) the risk level of the user, (II) the sensitivity level of the resource, and (III) the risk level of the computing environment, and (3) an access-control module, stored in memory, that determines, based at least in part on the overall risk level for the attempt by the user, whether to grant the user access to the resource via the computing environment, and (4) at least one physical processor configured to execute the access-detection module, the risk-assessment module, and the access-control module.);
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention utilize the teachings of Liu with regards to the access request to the method of Newman in view Crabtree and Basavapatna in order to ensuring that all users of an organization have sufficient access to resources while maintaining security such as data theft (Liu ¶0001-0003).
Newman in view Crabtree, Basavapatna, and Liu does not disclose:
determine whether to surface a DLP incident corresponding to the access request and the sensitive asset based, at least in part, on the in-transit data loss risk score.
Although, the prior art of Liu does disclose in ¶0098 wherein in addition, one or more of the modules described herein may transform data, physical devices, and/or representations of physical devices from one form to another. For example, one or more of the modules recited herein may receive data to be transformed into risk and/or sensitivity scores, transform the data into risk and/or sensitivity scores, output a result of the transformation to determine whether to grant access to a resource, use the result of the transformation to improve dynamic access control over shared resources, and store the result of the transformation for future reference and/or use. Liu does not explicitly disclose determine whether to surface a DLP incident corresponding to the access request and the sensitive asset based, at least in part, on the in-transit data loss risk score. However, Watson teaches determine whether to surface a DLP incident corresponding to the access request and the sensitive asset based, at least in part, on the in-transit data loss risk score. (¶0029: A service such as an activity monitor 204 can monitor the access of the various documents and data by various users (such as first sensitive asset), and store the information to a location such as an activity log 206 or other such repository. A security manager 202 can work with the access manager 208 and/or activity monitor 204 to determine the presence of potentially suspicious behavior, which can then be reported to the customer console 102 or otherwise provided as an alert or notification. ¶0046: As further seen in Figure 6 illustrates an example process 600 for identifying anomalous activity that can be utilized in accordance with various embodiments. In this example, the activity of a user can be monitored 602 with respect to organizational documents, data, and other such objects. If, however, it is determined that the activity is anomalous, then the risk scores for the anomalous access (and other such factors) can be determined 614, which can be compared against various rules, criteria, or thresholds for performing specific actions. If it is determined 616 that the risk scores for the anomalous behavior warrant an alert, such as by the risk score being above a specified threshold, then an alert can be generated for the security team.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention utilize the teachings of Watson with regards to surfacing notification based on risk score to the method of Newman in view Crabtree, Basavapatna, and Liu in order to prevent data loss for a corpus of documents, and other data objects, stored for an entity and better manage data object maintaining a secure environment such as detecting anomalous behavior(Watson ¶0012 & ¶0021).
With respect to claim 15, the combination of Newman in view Crabtree, Basavapatna, Liu, and Watson teaches the non-transitory, machine-readable medium of claim 11 (see the rejection of claim 11 above), wherein the program code further comprises instructions to track access activity of the sensitive assets (Crabtree ¶0106-0108: As seen in Figure 28, risk analyzer 2608 and a scoring engine 2704. Anomalies gathered by monitoring engines 1801-1805 (tracking activity of the plurality of sensitive assets) may be received by a risk analyzer 2703, which utilizes a number of analysis components 2311-3214 to determine the relative risk level of each identified anomaly.). and to quantify the tracked access activity by sensitive asset as historical scoring components for the sensitive assets. (Crabtree ¶0108-0110: The analyzer 2311 (historic scoring component) may be able to view typical category-level connections per session, per day, per month, per year, and compare those to expected values unique to the user, group, office location, and other relevant metrics. Contextualizing individual actions or behaviors may be used to ensure generated alerts or signals are accurate and useful for analysts and incident response personnel. A clustering-based analyzer 2312 (historic component) may be used to assign individual periods of activity into bins for an n-dimensional histogram. This may be used to enable review of many available datasets and models that may forecast individual or aggregate metrics over time on a user- or group-specific basis. A continuous metrics analyzer 2313 (historic component) may be used to implement statistical methods and time series modeling to constant streams of metric data, while a change-over-time analyzer 2314 (historic component) allows the system to compare expected and actual behavioral metrics for variables over time and combine continuous metrics with category-based detection to increase detection capabilities while reducing false positives. Analysis results may then be provided to a scoring engine 2704 that assigns risk score values to data points based on a number of criteria for example including but not limited to abnormal behavior patterns, developing or ongoing risk action pathways … ).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention utilize the teachings of Crabtree with regards to the tracking access activity to the method of Newman in view of Basavapatna, Liu, and Watson in order to reduce false positives when detecting to threats while ensuring data compliance and protection (Crabtree ¶0105 & 0108).
With respect to claim 17, the combination of Newman in view Crabtree, Basavapatna, Liu, and Watson teaches the non-transitory, machine-readable medium of claim 15 (see rejection of claim 15 above), wherein the program code further comprises instructions to, for each of the sensitive assets with tracked access activity, (Crabtree (US PGPub No. US 20200412767-A1) ¶0112: The linked network analyzer 2506 continuously monitors and reports the real time pass-through traffic to the auditable compliance platform.)
maintain the historical scoring component of the sensitive asset distinct from the baseline data loss risk score of the sensitive asset, (Crabtree ¶0108: A continuous metrics analyzer 2313 may be used to implement statistical methods and time series modeling to constant streams of metric data, while a change-over-time analyzer 2314 allows the system to compare expected and actual behavioral metrics for variables over time and combine continuous metrics with category-based detection to increase detection capabilities while reducing false positives.).
wherein the instructions to surface, to a security operations center, data loss prevention (DLP) incidents of the sensitive assets based, (¶0031-0035: As seen in Figure 2A, User Experiences such as threat intelligence user interface 222 may be provided as part of a security and compliance center (security operations center) 220 to present actionable visualization associated with various aspects of service and receive user/administration input to be provided to various modules. Figure 3, in an example configuration of diagram 300, a threat explorer 304 may receive as input threat feeds 308, which may include internal data, external threat data, and user profiles 326. Analyzing the threat data in light of contextual factors such as user profiles, activities, affected data types, etc., the threat explorer module 304 may generate threat alerts 306, remediation actions 310, and manage a threat intelligence dashboard 302.). at least in part, on the baseline data loss risk scores (Crabtree ¶0126: As seen in Figure 14, this is enhanced with the inclusion of impact assessment information 1406 for any affected resources, and the attack is then checked against a baseline score 1407 to determine the full extent of the impact of the attack and any necessary modifications to the infrastructure or policies.) comprise the instructions to surface the DLP incidents also based on the historical scoring components. (Crabtree ¶0125: According to the aspect, time-series data (as described above, referring to Figure 10) (historical scoring components) may be collected 1301 for user accounts, credentials, directories, and other user-based privilege and access information. This data may then 1302 be analyzed to identify changes over time that may affect security, such as modifying user access privileges or adding new users. The results of analysis may be checked 1303 against a CPG (as described previously in Figure 11), to compare and correlate user directory changes with the actual infrastructure state.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention utilize the teachings of Crabtree with regards to the tracking access activity and historical components to the method of Newman in view Basavapatna, Liu, and Watson in order to reduce false positives when detecting to threats while ensuring data compliance and protection (Crabtree ¶0105 & 0108).
With respect to claim 19, Newman an apparatus comprising: a processor; and a machine-readable medium having stored thereon instructions executable by the processor to cause the apparatus to, (¶0020: Some embodiments may be implemented as a computer-implemented process (method), a computing system, or as an article of manufacture, such as a computer program product or computer readable media. The computer program product may be a computer storage medium readable by a computer system and encoding a computer program that comprises instructions for causing a computer or computing system to perform example process(es).).
determine a set of one or more cloud infrastructures hosting sensitive assets for an organization; (¶0015: As briefly described above, embodiments are directed to threat intelligence management in a security and compliance environment. In some examples, a threat explorer module of a security and compliance service may detect, investigate, manage, and provide actionable insights for threats at an organizational level. ¶0030: As seen in Figure 2A, In some examples, data to be analyzed, categorized, protected, and handled according to policies may come from a variety of sources such as a communications data store 202, a collaboration data store 204, and cloud storage 206.).
quantify holistic data loss risk for sensitive assets of the organization hosted in the set of one or more cloud infrastructures, ( ¶0037: As shown in Figure 4, a system according to embodiment may receive communication and document metadata 402, 404 to correlate stored communications, documents, and non-document content in a multi-stage, correlated storage 442. Further inputs to the system may include audit activities 412, click traces 414, data loss prevention (DLP) hits 416. ¶0016: As used herein, contextual correlation (corresponding) refers to multi-stage evaluation and correlation of data such as communications, documents, and non-document content in light of associated metadata and activities. For example, deletion of documents in a particular location may be assessed for potential threat based on sensitive information contents of the documents, deleting person or entity, location of the deleting person or entity, etc. Thus, a more granular approach to threat assessment and management (quantify holistic data loss risk) may be achieved reducing false positives and allowing early detection of actual threats. ).
[wherein the instructions to determine the holistic data loss risk comprise instructions to, for each cloud infrastructure,
obtain a risk assessment of the cloud infrastructure; obtain system configuration risk assessments for the sensitive assets hosted in the cloud infrastructure;
obtain a risk assessment of policy compliance corresponding to the cloud infrastructure and the organization;
obtain user-based risk assessments for the sensitive assets hosted in the cloud infrastructure;
determine a baseline data loss risk score for each sensitive asset hosted in the cloud infrastructure based on a combination of the risk assessments for the sensitive asset; and
surface, to a security operations center, data loss prevention (DLP) incidents of the sensitive assets based, at least in part, [on the baseline data loss risk scores;] ( ¶0031-0035: As seen in Figure 2A, User Experiences such as threat intelligence user interface 222 may be provided as part of a security and compliance center (security operations center) 220 to present actionable visualization associated with various aspects of service and receive user/administration input to be provided to various modules. Figure 3, in an example configuration of diagram 300, a threat explorer 304 may receive as input threat feeds 308, which may include internal data, external threat data, and user profiles 326. Analyzing the threat data in light of contextual factors such as user profiles, activities, affected data types, etc., the threat explorer module 304 may generate threat alerts 306, remediation actions 310, and manage a threat intelligence dashboard 302.).
track access activity corresponding to the sensitive assets; based on detection of an access request for one of the sensitive assets, determine a risk assessment of a requestor corresponding to the access request; for the sensitive asset corresponding to the detected access request,
generate an in-transit data loss risk score based, at least in part, on the baseline data loss risk score of the sensitive asset and the risk assessment of the requestor; and determine whether to surface a DLP incident corresponding to the access request and the sensitive asset based, at least in part, on the in-transit data loss risk score.
Newman does not disclose:
wherein the instructions to determine the holistic data loss risk comprise instructions to, for each cloud infrastructure,
obtain a risk assessment of the cloud infrastructure; obtain system configuration risk assessments for the sensitive assets hosted in the cloud infrastructure;
obtain a risk assessment of policy compliance corresponding to the cloud infrastructure and the organization;
obtain user-based risk assessments for the sensitive assets hosted in the cloud infrastructure;
determine a baseline data loss risk score for each sensitive asset hosted in the cloud infrastructure based on a combination of the risk assessments for the sensitive asset; and
surface, to a security operations center, data loss prevention (DLP) incidents of the sensitive assets based, at least in part, on the baseline data loss risk scores;
track access activity corresponding to the sensitive assets; based on detection of an access request for one of the sensitive assets, determine a risk assessment of a requestor corresponding to the access request; for the sensitive asset corresponding to the detected access request,
generate an in-transit data loss risk score based, at least in part, on the baseline data loss risk score of the sensitive asset and the risk assessment of the requestor; and determine whether to surface a DLP incident corresponding to the access request and the sensitive asset based, at least in part, on the in-transit data loss risk score.
However, Crabtree teaches wherein the instructions to determine the holistic data loss risk comprise instructions to, for each cloud infrastructure, obtain a risk assessment of the cloud infrastructure; (¶0097: Figure 22 shows the operation of an organization activity monitoring engine 1804. An organization activity monitoring engine 1804 may collect data from a variety of sources 2201, including (but not limited to) organization charts, titles, interpersonal interactions, intra- or inter-departmental interactions, internal entity interactions (such as interactions between teams within an enterprise), or external entity interactions (such as interactions with clients or service providers) These behavior data points may then be analyzed by comparing observed behavioral data 2203 against expected behavior 2202 according to an established behavioral model developed using statistical and machine learning techniques. This model may be based on initial expectations and then refined over time, applying techniques such as curve fitting to improve predictions and more accurately reflect observed “normal” behavior. An anomaly detector 2204 may then be used to identify mismatches between anticipated and actual behavior, which may then be provided as output to risk analysis and scoring engine 1810. ).
obtain system configuration risk assessments for the sensitive assets hosted in the cloud infrastructure; (¶0098: Figure 22 shows the operation of a system activity monitoring engine 1802. A system activity monitoring engine 1802 may collect data from a variety of sources 2101, including (but not limited to) system endpoints (for example, such as system monitor “sysmon” data, event logs, or error reports), network data collectors such as various infrastructure servers (for example, email, print or file servers), perimeter security devices such as a firewall or intrusion detection system (IDS), network security monitoring tools such as packet inspection software, or endpoint agents such as (for example, including but not limited to) OSQuery™ or Tanium™ services. These behavior data points may then be analyzed by comparing observed behavioral data 2103 against expected behavior 2102 according to an established behavioral model developed using statistical and machine learning techniques. This model may be based on initial expectations and then refined over time, applying techniques such as curve fitting to improve predictions and more accurately reflect observed “normal” behavior. An anomaly detector 2104 may then be used to identify mismatches between anticipated and actual behavior, which may then be provided as output to risk analysis and scoring engine 1810.).
obtain user-based risk assessments for the sensitive assets hosted in the cloud infrastructure; (¶0096: In Figure 19, shows the operation of a human activity monitoring engine 1801. A human activity monitoring engine 1801 may collect data from a variety of sources 1901, including (but not limited to) communications via various channels (such as email, web-based chat, text messages, or phone calls), access logs for accounts or services, software installation or utilization statistics, work times or locations, or account login and logout records. These behavior data points may then be analyzed by comparing observed behavioral data 1903 against expected behavior 1902 according to an established behavioral model developed using statistical and machine learning techniques. This model may be based on initial expectations and then refined over time, applying techniques such as curve fitting to improve predictions and more accurately reflect observed “normal” behavior. An anomaly detector 1904 may then be used to identify mismatches between anticipated and actual behavior, which may then be provided as output to risk analysis and scoring engine 1810.).
determine a baseline data loss risk score for each sensitive asset hosted in the cloud infrastructure based on a combination of the risk assessments for the sensitive asset; and (¶0124: As seen in Figure 12, this information may then 1202 be incorporated into a CPG as described previously in Figure 11, and the combined data of the CPG and the known vulnerabilities may then be analyzed 1203 to identify the relationships between known vulnerabilities and risks exposed by components of the infrastructure. This produces a combined CPG 1204 (producing a baseline vulnerability score) that incorporates both the internal risk level of network resources, user accounts, and devices (combination of risk assessments) as well as the actual risk level based on the analysis of known vulnerabilities and security risks.).
surface, to a security operations center, data loss prevention (DLP) incidents of the sensitive assets based, at least in part, on the baseline data loss risk scores. (¶0126-0127: Figure 14, shows for cybersecurity risk management, according to one aspect. When an event (for example, an attempted attack against a vulnerable system or resource) occurs 1403, the event is logged in the time-series data 1404, and compared against the CPG 1405 to determine the impact (baseline data loss scores). This is enhanced with the inclusion of impact assessment information 1406 for any affected resources, and the attack is then checked against a baseline score 1407 to determine the full extent of the impact of the attack and any necessary modifications to the infrastructure or policies.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective
filing date of the claimed invention utilize the teachings of Crabtree with regards to the data loss risk to the method of Newman in order to identify attacks before data loss occurs (Crabtree ¶0016 - 0018).
Newman in view of Crabtree does not disclose:
obtain a risk assessment of policy compliance corresponding to the cloud infrastructure and the organization;
track access activity corresponding to the sensitive assets; based on detection of an access request for one of the sensitive assets, determine a risk assessment of a requestor corresponding to the access request; for the sensitive asset corresponding to the detected access request,
generate an in-transit data loss risk score based, at least in part, on the baseline data loss risk score of the sensitive asset and the risk assessment of the requestor; and determine whether to surface a DLP incident corresponding to the access request and the sensitive asset based, at least in part, on the in-transit data loss risk score.
However, Basavapatna teaches obtain a risk assessment of policy compliance corresponding to the cloud infrastructure and the organization; (¶0030: As seen in Figure 2, further, in some examples, a behavioral risk profile for a user can include categorical risk profiles or be based on separate risk profiles that are developed characterizing types or categories of user behavior within the system 240, such as email behavior, network usage, access and use of enterprise-owned resources (such as confidential content or data of the enterprise), internet usage using system-affiliated devices, password protection, policy compliance, among others.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention utilize the teachings of Basavapatna with regards to obtaining policy compliance risk assessment to the method of Newman in view Crabtree in order to protect and maintain stable computers and systems by addressing types of weakness and risks within the system (Basavapatna ¶0003).
Newman in view Crabtree and Basavapatna does not disclose:
track access activity corresponding to the sensitive assets; based on detection of an access request for one of the sensitive assets, determine a risk assessment of a requestor corresponding to the access request; for the sensitive asset corresponding to the detected access request,
generate an in-transit data loss risk score based, at least in part, on the baseline data loss risk score of the sensitive asset and the risk assessment of the requestor; and determine whether to surface a DLP incident corresponding to the access request and the sensitive asset based, at least in part, on the in-transit data loss risk score.
However, Liu teaches track access activity corresponding to the sensitive assets; (¶0027: The systems described herein may perform step 302 in a variety of ways. In some examples, access-detection module 104 may detect the attempt to access resource 208 by monitoring computing environment 220 and/or resource 208.) based on detection of an access request for one of the sensitive assets, determine a risk assessment of a requestor corresponding to the access request; for the sensitive asset corresponding to the detected access request, (¶0004: As will be described in greater detail below, the instant disclosure describes various systems and methods for dynamic access control over shared resources (plurality of sensitive assets as seen in ¶0001-¶0002 these resource can be sensitive). In some examples, a computer-implemented method for dynamic access control over shared resources (1) detecting an attempt by a suer to access a resource via a computing environment (2) identifying a risk level of the user attempting to access the resource via the computing environment…. Further the limitation is exemplifying in ¶0013: In some examples, a system for implementing the above-described method may include (1) an access-detection module, stored in memory, that detects an attempt by a user to access a resource via a computing environment, (2) a risk-assessment module, stored in memory, that (A) identifies a risk level of the user attempting to access the resource via the computing environment ).
generate an in-transit data loss risk score (¶0064: As example, the access control system may either generate for the actor and/or the context and a sensitivity score for the resource of identify existing risk and sensitivity scores generated by an external risk profiler. These scores may depend on various factors (such as Data Loss Prevention (DLP) considerations, machine learning techniques, file types, attributes, owner groups, content, metadata, data flow, colocation based on structural similarity etc.). Accordingly these score may be updated regularly and/or dynamically calculated. ) based, at least in part, on the baseline data loss risk score of the sensitive asset and the risk assessment of the requestor; and(¶0013: (2) a risk-assessment module, stored in memory, that (A) identifies a risk level of the user attempting to access the resource via the computing environment, (B) identifies a sensitivity level of the resource that the user is attempting to access via the computing environment, (C) identifies a risk level of the computing environment through which the user is attempting to access the resource, and then (D) determines an overall risk level for the attempt by the user to access the resource based at least in part on (I) the risk level of the user, (II) the sensitivity level of the resource, and (III) the risk level of the computing environment, and (3) an access-control module, stored in memory, that determines, based at least in part on the overall risk level for the attempt by the user, whether to grant the user access to the resource via the computing environment, and (4) at least one physical processor configured to execute the access-detection module, the risk-assessment module, and the access-control module.);
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention utilize the teachings of Liu with regards to the access request to the method of Newman in view Crabtree and Basavapatna in order to ensuring that all users of an organization have sufficient access to resources while maintaining security such as data theft (Liu ¶0001-0003).
Newman in view Crabtree, Basavapatna, and Liu does not disclose:
determine whether to surface a DLP incident corresponding to the access request and the sensitive asset based, at least in part, on the in-transit data loss risk score.
Although, the prior art of Liu does disclose in ¶0098 wherein in addition, one or more of the modules described herein may transform data, physical devices, and/or representations of physical devices from one form to another. For example, one or more of the modules recited herein may receive data to be transformed into risk and/or sensitivity scores, transform the data into risk and/or sensitivity scores, output a result of the transformation to determine whether to grant access to a resource, use the result of the transformation to improve dynamic access control over shared resources, and store the result of the transformation for future reference and/or use. Liu does not explicitly disclose determine whether to surface a DLP incident corresponding to the access request and the sensitive asset based, at least in part, on the in-transit data loss risk score. However, Watson teaches determine whether to surface a DLP incident corresponding to the access request and the sensitive asset based, at least in part, on the in-transit data loss risk score.(¶0029: A service such as an activity monitor 204 can monitor the access of the various documents and data by various users (such as first sensitive asset), and store the information to a location such as an activity log 206 or other such repository. A security manager 202 can work with the access manager 208 and/or activity monitor 204 to determine the presence of potentially suspicious behavior, which can then be reported to the customer console 102 or otherwise provided as an alert or notification. ¶0046: As further seen in Figure 6 illustrates an example process 600 for identifying anomalous activity that can be utilized in accordance with various embodiments. In this example, the activity of a user can be monitored 602 with respect to organizational documents, data, and other such objects. If, however, it is determined that the activity is anomalous, then the risk scores for the anomalous access (and other such factors) can be determined 614, which can be compared against various rules, criteria, or thresholds for performing specific actions. If it is determined 616 that the risk scores for the anomalous behavior warrant an alert, such as by the risk score being above a specified threshold, then an alert can be generated for the security team.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention utilize the teachings of Watson with regards to surfacing notification based on risk score to the method of Newman in view Crabtree, Basavapatna, and Liu in order to prevent data loss for a corpus of documents, and other data objects, stored for an entity and better manage data object maintaining a secure environment such as detecting anomalous behavior (Watson ¶0012 & ¶0021).
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Newman et al. (US PGPub No.20180191771-A1) in view of Crabtree et al. (US PGPub No.20220377093-A1), Liu et al. (US-9807094-B1), Watson et al. (US PGPub No. 20180248895-A1), Basavapatna et al. (US PGPub No.20130097709-A1), and Modi et al (US PGPub No.20220058266-A1).
With respect to claim 3, the combination of Newman in view Crabtree, Basavapatna, Liu, and Watson teaches the method of claim 2 (see rejection of claim 2 above) wherein obtaining the system configuration risk assessments comprises: (Crabtree: ¶0098: As seen in Figure 21 operation of a system activity monitoring 1802 may collect data from variety sources 2101, including system endpoints (for example, such as system monitor “sysmon” data, event logs, or error reports), network data collectors such as various infrastructure servers (for example, email, print or file servers), perimeter security devices such as a firewall or intrusion detection system (IDS), network security monitoring tools such as packet inspection software, or endpoint agents such as (for example, including but not limited to) OSQuery™ or Tanium™ services.).
obtaining detected system misconfigurations corresponding to the plurality of sensitive assets and severity values for the detected system misconfigurations; and
associating the severity values with the plurality of sensitive assets based on commonality of detected misconfigurations;
wherein the aggregating comprises deriving a representative value for the severity values of detected misconfigurations associated with a sensitive asset and using the representative value in the aggregating.
Newman in view Crabtree, Basavapatna, Liu, and Watson does not disclose:
obtaining detected system misconfigurations corresponding to the plurality of sensitive assets and severity values for the detected system misconfigurations; and
associating the severity values with the plurality of sensitive assets based on commonality of detected misconfigurations;
wherein the aggregating comprises deriving a representative value for the severity values of detected misconfigurations associated with a sensitive asset and using the representative value in the aggregating.
However, Modi teaches obtaining detected system misconfigurations corresponding to the plurality of sensitive assets and severity values for the detected system misconfigurations; and (¶0042-0044: There are various assumptions and key objective for the weakness scoring model. Assumptions and key objectives can include the following weakness score can be able to reflect the risk corresponding to adverse impact to an enterprise that can be created on the exploitation of the weakness in a given asset. Weakness score should consider the severity corresponding to all the instances of weakness. If the weakness is not mitigated within the parameters, set by security level agreement, the weakness score should decrease according to the violation of parameters (detected system misconfigurations)).
associating the severity values with the plurality of sensitive assets based on commonality of detected misconfigurations; (¶0045: Let us assume that the severity score (SWI) for instance of weakness is as measured by CVSS (Common Vulnerability Scoring System), CCSS (Common Configuration Scoring System) , or the Severity scoring systems.).
wherein the aggregating comprises deriving a representative value for the severity values of detected misconfigurations associated with a sensitive asset and using the representative value in the aggregating. (¶0049-0050: A model of a Weakness Penalty System is now discussed. The quality score corresponding to a weakness is calculated using a model which when tuned can assign penalties to the asset according to the severity of a weakness is measured according to severity scores which vary from a lowest level of 0.1 to the most critical at 10.0. The model for the residual of the penalty system (representative value) is as seen in the equation below ¶0049 where b, c, s, and f are the tuning parameters, that can be used to tune the model according to the requirement, which are taking initial values as, for example: 4.0, 1.2, 0.2, and 4.0 respectively and is the severity score as measured by CVSS, CCSS, or NIST 800-30r1's modification, which is converted to multipliers to get the penalties through this transform (aggregation of severity values)).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective
filing date of the claimed invention utilize the teachings of Modi with regards to the severity values to the method of Newman in view Crabtree, Basavapatna, Liu, and Watson in order to reduce the time consumption of the process of analysis of assessment to produce actionable insights by having tuned parameters that should be able to produce results within a small amount of time and are thus able to reflect the effect of changes in real time (Modi: ¶0021-0026).
Claims 6-7 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Newman et al. (US PGPub No.20180191771-A1) in view of Crabtree et al. (US PGPub No.20220377093-A1), Liu et al. (US-9807094-B1), Watson et al. (US PGPub No. 20180248895-A1) and Crabtree et al. (US PGPub No.20200412767-A1).
With respect to claim 6, the combination of Newman in view Crabtree, Liu, and Watson teaches the method of claim 1 (see rejection of claim 1 above) but does not disclose wherein tracking access activity of the plurality of sensitive assets comprises tracking access activity of copies and derivatives of the plurality of sensitive assets as well as the plurality of sensitive assets.
However, Crabtree (US PGPub No. US 20200412767-A1) teaches wherein tracking access activity of the plurality of sensitive assets (¶0111: As seen in Figure 25 In, a request for regulated data is created on an edge computing device, such as a network node in a secure data transport system 2507, in the edge layer 2503. In the cloud layer 2501, an advanced cyber decision platform (ACDP) 100 comprised of a ledger engine 2504 begins the immediate cataloging of all the data request's associated metadata into a ledger data store 2505 (tracking access activity of plurality of sensitive assets) from a multitude of network data sources such as internal reconnaissance data 2110, external reconnaissance data 2120, and linked network analyzers 2506.) comprises tracking access activity of copies and derivatives of the plurality of sensitive assets as well as the plurality of sensitive assets. (¶00111: A data tokenizer 2508 within the fog layer 2502 receives the data packets before further transmission to the cloud layer 2501 and algorithmically generates tokens (copies and derivatives) replacing the sensitive data request.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention utilize the teachings of Crabtree (US PGPub No. US 20200412767-A1) with regards to copies and derivatives of plurality of sensitive assets to the method of Newman in view Crabtree, Liu, and Watson in order to prevent fraud and protect sensitive information (Crabtree (US PGPub No. US 20200412767-A1) ¶0077).
With respect to claim 7, the combination of Newman in view Crabtree, Liu, and Watson, Liu, Watson, and Crabtree (US PGPub No. US 20200412767-A1) teaches the method of claim 6 (see rejection of claim 6 above) wherein quantifying the tracked access activity by sensitive asset comprises quantifying risk assessments of the tracked access activity of a sensitive asset (Crabtree (US PGPub No. US 20200412767-A1) ¶0112: The linked network analyzer 2506 continuously monitors and reports the real time pass-through traffic to the auditable compliance platform.) and risk assessments of the tracked access activity (Crabtree (US PGPub No. US 20200412767-A1) ¶0112: The directed computational graph 1911 in this example may also rely on a separate set of queries and rules to optionally balance record-level or object-level relationships consistent with well-known data access control techniques in the art. A data to rule mapper 1904 is used to retrieve laws, policies, and other rules from an authority database 1903 and compare ledger data received from the ledger engine 2504 and stored in the ledger data storage 2505 against the rules in order to determine whether and to what extent the data received indicates a violation of the rules. Furthermore, the data to rule mapper 1904 in sync with the legality assessment mechanism 2700 is used to provide the directed computational graph (DCG) 1911 with information in order to determine the impact and loss data due to irregular data sets ) of at least one of a derivative of the sensitive asset and a copy of the sensitive asset. (Crabtree (US PGPub No. US 20200412767-A1) ¶0154:As seen in Figure 31, the pseudonymized upstream feed (derivative and copy of sensitive assets) is then ingested and transformed for the read-only access and analysis of IT security operations 3304 (track access activity of sensitive asset and assessment) or, transmit the transformed data back to the on-premise OT cyber-analyzer 3011 for increased and enhanced cybersecurity threat analysis (quantifying track access activity) and mitigation as well as the former optional availability to the IT security operations 3304. ).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention utilize the teachings of Crabtree (US PGPub No. US 20200412767-A1) with regards to copies and derivatives of plurality of sensitive assets to the method of Newman in view Crabtree, Liu, and Watson in order to prevent fraud and protect sensitive information (Crabtree (US PGPub No. US 20200412767-A1) ¶0077).
With respect to claim 9, the combination of Newman in view Crabtree, Liu, and Watson teaches the method of claim 1 (see rejection of claim 1 above) further comprising, for a subset of the plurality of sensitive assets hosted in a first of the cloud infrastructures, building a hierarchical structure representing data organization relationships among the subset of the plurality of sensitive assets and (Crabtree ¶0123: In Figure 11, shows the mapping of a cyber-physical system graph may comprise a visualization of hierarchies and relationships between devices and resources in a security infrastructure, contextualizing security information with physical device relationships that are easily understandable for security personnel and users.).
indicating data loss risk scores of the subset of sensitive assets at leaf nodes of the hierarchical structure and aggregating data loss risk scores by common access paths represented by interior nodes according to the data organization relationships.
Newman in view Crabtree, Liu, and Watson does not disclose:
indicating data loss risk scores of the subset of sensitive assets at leaf nodes of the hierarchical structure and aggregating data loss risk scores by common access paths represented by interior nodes according to the data organization relationships.
However, Crabtree (US PGPub No. US 20200412767-A1) teaches indicating data loss risk scores of the subset of sensitive assets at leaf nodes of the hierarchical structure (¶0142: In a next step 1102, impact assessment scores (as described previously, referring to Figure 9) may be received and incorporated in the CPG information, adding risk assessment context to the behavior information. In a next step 1103, time-series information (as described previously, referring to Figure 10 10) may be received and incorporated, updating CPG information as changes occur and events are logged. This information may then be used to produce 1104 a graph visualization of users, servers, devices, and other resources correlating physical relationships (such as a user's personal computer or smartphone, or physical connections between servers) with logical relationships (such as access privileges or database connections), to produce a meaningful and contextualized visualization of a security infrastructure that reflects the current state of the internal relationships present in the infrastructure.) and aggregating data loss risk scores by common access paths represented by interior nodes according to the data organization relationships. (¶0143-0144: As seen in Figure 22, a cyber-physical graph, in its most basic form, represents the network devices comprising an organization's network infrastructure as nodes (also called vertices) in the graph and the physical or logical connections between them as edges between the nodes. In this example, which is necessarily simplified for clarity, the cyber-physical graph 2200 contains 12 nodes (vertices) comprising: seven computers and devices designated by solid circles 2202, 2203, 2204, 2206, 2207, 2209, 2210, two users designated by dashed-line circles 2201, 2211, and three functional groups designated by dotted-line circles 2205, 2208, and 2212. The edges (lines) between the nodes indicate relationships between the nodes (interior nodes) , and have a direction and relationship indicator such as “AdminTo,” “MemberOf,” etc.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention utilize the teachings of Crabtree (US PGPub No. US 20200412767-A1) with regards to copies and derivatives of plurality of sensitive assets to the method of Newman in view Crabtree, Liu, and Watson in order to evaluate vulnerabilities and avenues of attack (Crabtree (US PGPub No. US 20200412767-A1) ¶0143-0144).
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Newman et al. (US PGPub No.20180191771-A1) in view of Crabtree et al. (US PGPub No.20220377093-A1), Liu et al. (US-9807094-B1), Watson et al. (US PGPub No. 20180248895-A1), and Bhallamudi et al. (US PGPub No. 20230300114-A1).
With respect to claim 10, the combination of Newman in view Crabtree, Liu, and Watson teaches the method of claim 1 (see rejection of claim 1 above) but does not disclose wherein identifying the plurality of sensitive assets comprises scanning assets of an organization in each of the set of cloud infrastructures to identify sensitive and non-sensitive assets and to identify which of the sensitive assets yield DLP incidents while at rest.
However, Bhallamudi teaches wherein identifying the plurality of sensitive assets comprises scanning assets of an organization in each of the set of cloud infrastructures to identify sensitive and non-sensitive assets and to identify which of the sensitive assets yield DLP incidents while at rest. (¶0061: Data Loss Prevention (DLP) includes detection of potential data breaches/data ex-filtration transmissions and prevention by monitoring, detecting, and blocking sensitive data while in use (endpoint actions), in-motion (network traffic), and at rest (data storage). Note, the terms “data loss” and “data leak” may be used interchangeably. In various embodiments, the cloud-based system 100 is configured to perform DLP functionality for a tenant. Data At Rest (DAR) includes the ability to scan file shares, SharePoint, or other cloud services providing file storage, and the like.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention utilize the teachings of Bhallamudi with regards to scanning while at rest to the method of Newman in view Crabtree, Liu, and Watson in order to decrease risk of data loss due either to unintentional or malicious reasons (Bhallamudi ¶0003 &0036-0038).
Claims 12 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Newman et al. (US PGPub No.20180191771-A1) in view of Crabtree et al. (US PGPub No.20220377093-A1), Basavapatna et al. (US PGPub No.20130097709-A1), Liu et al. (US-9807094-B1), Watson et al. (US PGPub No. 20180248895-A1), and Bulut et al. (US PGPub No. 20220129560-A1).
With respect to claim 12, the combination of Newman in view Crabtree, Basavapatna, Liu, and Watson teaches the non-transitory, machine-readable medium of claim 11 (see rejection of claim 11 above), wherein the instructions to obtain system configuration risk assessments for the sensitive assets hosted in each cloud infrastructure comprise instructions (Crabtree: ¶0098: As seen in Figure 21 operation of a system activity monitoring 1802 may collect data from variety sources 2101, including system endpoints (for example, such as system monitor “sysmon” data, event logs, or error reports), network data collectors such as various infrastructure servers (for example, email, print or file servers), perimeter security devices such as a firewall or intrusion detection system (IDS), network security monitoring tools such as packet inspection software, or endpoint agents such as (for example, including but not limited to) OSQuery™ or Tanium™ services.).
to determine severity values of detected security misconfigurations corresponding to those of the sensitive assets hosted in the cloud infrastructure,
determine a representative value for severity values of detected security misconfigurations occurring for groups of the sensitive assets, and to associate the representative values to the sensitive assets by group membership.
Newman in view Crabtree, Liu, and Watson, Basavapatna, Liu, and Watson does not disclose:
to determine severity values of detected security misconfigurations corresponding to those of the sensitive assets hosted in the cloud infrastructure,
determine a representative value for severity values of detected security misconfigurations occurring for groups of the sensitive assets, and
to associate the representative values to the sensitive assets by group membership.
However, Bulut teaches to determine severity values of detected security misconfigurations corresponding to those of the sensitive assets hosted in the cloud infrastructure, (¶0089: As seen in Figure 10, in various embodiments, the adjustment component 124 can adjust the baseline health-check risk score 202 based on the weakness factor 304, the environmental factor 504, the criticality factor 704, and/or the maturity factor 802 (severity values). ).
determine a representative value for severity values of detected security misconfigurations occurring for groups of the sensitive assets, and (¶0089-0090: As explain above, the health-check risk assessment 102 can generate an adjusted health-check risk score (representative value) for each of the plurality of stipulated control 1108 (e.g., can compute a baseline health-check risk score for each stipulated control, a weakness factor for each stipulated control, a criticality factor for each stipulated control, and combine these together via adjust component 124 to compute an adjusted health-check risk score for each stipulated control, thereby yielding a total of N*M*P adjusted health-check risk scores). ARS=(BRS*EF+WF)*CF*MF). where ARS represents the adjusted health-check risk score 902, where BRS represents the baseline health-check risk score 202, where EF represents the environmental factor 504, where WF represents the weakness factor 304, where CF represents the criticality factor 704, and where MF represents the maturity factor 802. )
to associate the representative values to the sensitive assets by group membership. (¶0094-0095: In various embodiments, for each of the plurality of computing groups 1104, the aggregation component 1002 can aggregate together all of the aggregated asset health-check risk scores pertaining to that computing group (e.g., via weighted-averages and/or max-functions) to form an aggregated group health-check risk score for the computing group (e.g., can aggregate the aggregated asset health-check risk scores pertaining to the computing group 1 to generate an aggregated group health-check risk score for the computing group 1, and can aggregate the aggregated asset health-check risk scores pertaining to the computing group N to generate an aggregated group health-check risk score for the computing group N, thereby yielding a total of N aggregated group health-check risk scores).).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention utilize the teachings of Bulut with regards to the severity values to the method of Newman in view Crabtree, Basavapatna, Liu, and Watson in order to minimize vulnerabilities to security breaches and exploitation (Bulut: ¶0002).
With respect to claim 20, the combination of Newman in view Crabtree, Basavapatna, Liu, and Watson teaches the apparatus of claim 19 (see rejection of claim 19 above), wherein the instructions to obtain system configuration risk assessments for the sensitive assets hosted in each cloud infrastructure comprise instructions executable by the processor to cause the apparatus (Crabtree: ¶0098: As seen in Figure 21 operation of a system activity monitoring 1802 may collect data from variety sources 2101, including system endpoints (for example, such as system monitor “sysmon” data, event logs, or error reports), network data collectors such as various infrastructure servers (for example, email, print or file servers), perimeter security devices such as a firewall or intrusion detection system (IDS), network security monitoring tools such as packet inspection software, or endpoint agents such as (for example, including but not limited to) OSQuery™ or Tanium™ services.).
to determine severity values of detected security misconfigurations corresponding to those of the sensitive assets hosted in the cloud infrastructure,
determine a representative value for severity values of detected security misconfigurations occurring for groups of the sensitive assets, and to associate the representative values to the sensitive assets by group membership.
Newman in view Crabtree, Basavapatna, Liu, and Watson does not disclose:
to determine severity values of detected security misconfigurations corresponding to those of the sensitive assets hosted in the cloud infrastructure,
determine a representative value for severity values of detected security misconfigurations occurring for groups of the sensitive assets, and to associate the representative values to the sensitive assets by group membership.
However, Bulut teaches to determine severity values of detected security misconfigurations corresponding to those of the sensitive assets hosted in the cloud infrastructure, (¶0089: As seen in Figure 10, in various embodiments, the adjustment component 124 can adjust the baseline health-check risk score 202 based on the weakness factor 304, the environmental factor 504, the criticality factor 704, and/or the maturity factor 802 (severity values). ).
determine a representative value for severity values of detected security misconfigurations occurring for groups of the sensitive assets, and (¶0089-0090: As explain above, the health-check risk assessment 102 can generate an adjusted health-check risk score (representative value) for each of the plurality of stipulated control 1108 (e.g., can compute a baseline health-check risk score for each stipulated control, a weakness factor for each stipulated control, a criticality factor for each stipulated control, and combine these together via adjust component 124 to compute an adjusted health-check risk score for each stipulated control, thereby yielding a total of N*M*P adjusted health-check risk scores). ARS=(BRS*EF+WF)*CF*MF). where ARS represents the adjusted health-check risk score 902, where BRS represents the baseline health-check risk score 202, where EF represents the environmental factor 504, where WF represents the weakness factor 304, where CF represents the criticality factor 704, and where MF represents the maturity factor 802. )
to associate the representative values to the sensitive assets by group membership. (¶0094-0095: In various embodiments, for each of the plurality of computing groups 1104, the aggregation component 1002 can aggregate together all of the aggregated asset health-check risk scores pertaining to that computing group (e.g., via weighted-averages and/or max-functions) to form an aggregated group health-check risk score for the computing group (e.g., can aggregate the aggregated asset health-check risk scores pertaining to the computing group 1 to generate an aggregated group health-check risk score for the computing group 1, and can aggregate the aggregated asset health-check risk scores pertaining to the computing group N to generate an aggregated group health-check risk score for the computing group N, thereby yielding a total of N aggregated group health-check risk scores).).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention utilize the teachings of Bulut with regards to the severity values to the method of Newman in view Crabtree, Basavapatna, Liu, and Watson in order to minimize vulnerabilities to security breaches and exploitation (Bulut: ¶0002).
Claims 13, 16, and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Newman et al. (US PGPub No.20180191771-A1) in view of Crabtree et al. (US PGPub No.20220377093-A1), Basavapatna et al. (US PGPub No.20130097709-A1), Liu et al. (US-9807094-B1), Watson et al. (US PGPub No. 20180248895-A1), and Muddu et al. (US PGPub No. -20170063912-A1).
With respect to claim 13, the combination of Newman in view Crabtree, Basavapatna, Liu, and Watson teaches the non-transitory, machine-readable medium of claim 11 (see rejection of claim 11 above), but does not disclose wherein the instructions to determine a baseline data loss risk score for each sensitive asset hosted in the set of one or more cloud infrastructure based on a combination of the risk assessments for the sensitive asset comprise instructions to compute the baseline data loss risk score of a sensitive asset as a weighted average of values of the risk assessments corresponding to the sensitive asset, wherein weights are configurable.
However, Muddu teaches wherein the instructions to determine a baseline data loss risk score for each sensitive asset hosted in the set of one or more cloud infrastructure based on a combination of the risk assessments for the sensitive asset (¶0340-0341: As seen in Figure 22, the real-time event processing engine trains the machine learning models, and in some embodiments, establishes behavioral baselines for various specific entities.) comprise instructions to compute the baseline data loss risk score of a sensitive asset (¶0182-0185: Baseline profiles can be continuously updated (whether in real-time as event data streams in, or in batch according to a predefined schedule) in response to received event data, i.e., they can be updated dynamically and/or adaptively based on event data.) as a weighted average of values of the risk assessments corresponding to the sensitive asset, (¶0527-0528: This histogram essentially records the usual R for a particular user. Specifically, the collecting of the predictions from each profiling window can be repeatedly performed for a period of time (i.e., “sliding through” the period of time). This period of time may be N times the length of the profiling window (i.e., N×|W|). In some examples, N is 10. During the baseline prediction profile establishment (shown in Figure 53), for a period of time after the PST model becomes ready, the R for each profiling window is tracked and stored in a histogram (¶0538: The PST summary, representing a rare sequence, can be used to compare with another sequence, for example, by using a combination of the PST-SIM and the JAC-SIM.) In this manner, a baseline prediction profile for a specific entity can be built.).
wherein weights are configurable. (¶0236: Depending on the model, other criteria for an event to be considered relevant for model training and/or updating purposes may include, for example, when a new event includes a particular machine identifier, a particular user identifier, and/or the recency of the new event. Moreover, some models may assign a different weight to the new event based on what type of event it is. For example, given that the new event is an authentication event, some models assign more weight to a physical login type of authentication event than to any other type of authentication event (e.g., a remote login).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention utilize the teachings of Muddu with regards to baseline data risk loss score to the method of Newman in view Crabtree, Basavapatna, Liu, and Watson in reducing the probabilities of false alarms in normal and common scenarios (Muddu: ¶0525).
With respect to claim 16, the combination of Newman in view Crabtree, Basavapatna, Liu, and Watson the non-transitory, machine-readable medium of claim 15 (see rejection of claim 15 above), but does not disclose wherein the program code further comprises instructions to, for each of the sensitive assets with tracked access activity, update the baseline data loss risk score of the sensitive asset with the historical scoring component of the sensitive asset.
However, Muddu teaches wherein the program code further comprises instructions to, for each of the sensitive assets with tracked access activity, (¶0185: As seen in Figure 3, the security platform 300 can create a behavior baseline for any type of entity (for example, a user, a group of users, a device, a group of devices, an application, and/or a group of applications). In the example of Figure 6, the activities of server 606 are monitored and a baseline profile 616 specific for the server 606 is generated over time, based on event data indicative of network activities of server 606.).
update the baseline data loss risk score of the sensitive asset with the historical scoring component of the sensitive asset. (¶0185: Baseline profiles can be continuously updated (whether in real-time as event data streams in, or in batch according to a predefined schedule (historical)) in response to received event data, i.e., they can be updated dynamically and/or adaptively based on event data.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention utilize the teachings of Muddu with regards to updating the baseline data risk loss score to the method of Newman in view Crabtree, Basavapatna, Liu, and Watson in reducing the probabilities of false alarms in normal and common scenarios and adapt to behavior changes (Muddu: ¶0185 & 0525).
With respect to claim 21, the combination of Newman in view Crabtree, Basavapatna, Liu, and Watson teaches the apparatus of claim 19 (see rejection of claim 19 above), but does not disclose wherein the instructions to determine a baseline data loss risk score for each sensitive asset hosted in the set of one or more cloud infrastructure based on a combination of the risk assessments for the sensitive asset comprise instructions executable by the processor to cause the apparatus to compute the baseline data loss risk score of a sensitive asset as a weighted average of values of the risk assessments corresponding to the sensitive asset, wherein weights are configurable.
However, Muddu teaches wherein the instructions to determine a baseline data loss risk score for each sensitive asset hosted in the set of one or more cloud infrastructure based on a combination of the risk assessments for the sensitive asset (¶0340-0341: As seen in Figure 22, the real-time event processing engine trains the machine learning models, and in some embodiments, establishes behavioral baselines for various specific entities.) comprise instructions executable by the processor to cause the apparatus to compute the baseline data loss risk score of a sensitive asset (¶0182-0185: Baseline profiles can be continuously updated (whether in real-time as event data streams in, or in batch according to a predefined schedule) in response to received event data, i.e., they can be updated dynamically and/or adaptively based on event data.) as a weighted average of values of the risk assessments corresponding to the sensitive asset, (¶0527-0528: This histogram essentially records the usual R for a particular user. Specifically, the collecting of the predictions from each profiling window can be repeatedly performed for a period of time (i.e., “sliding through” the period of time). This period of time may be N times the length of the profiling window (i.e., N×|W|). In some examples, N is 10. During the baseline prediction profile establishment (shown in Figure 53), for a period of time after the PST model becomes ready, the R for each profiling window is tracked and stored in a histogram (¶0538: The PST summary, representing a rare sequence, can be used to compare with another sequence, for example, by using a combination of the PST-SIM and the JAC-SIM.) In this manner, a baseline prediction profile for a specific entity can be built.).
wherein weights are configurable. (¶0236: Depending on the model, other criteria for an event to be considered relevant for model training and/or updating purposes may include, for example, when a new event includes a particular machine identifier, a particular user identifier, and/or the recency of the new event. Moreover, some models may assign a different weight to the new event based on what type of event it is. For example, given that the new event is an authentication event, some models assign more weight to a physical login type of authentication event than to any other type of authentication event (e.g., a remote login).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention utilize the teachings of Muddu with regards to baseline data risk loss score to the method of Newman in view Crabtree, Basavapatna, Liu, and Watson in order to reduce the probabilities of false alarms in normal and common scenarios (Muddu: ¶0525).
Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Newman et al. (US PGPub No.20180191771-A1) in view of Crabtree et al. (US PGPub No.20220377093-A1), Basavapatna et al. (US PGPub No.20130097709-A1), Liu et al. (US-9807094-B1), Watson et al. (US PGPub No. 20180248895-A1), and Crabtree et al. (US PGPub No. 20200412767-A1).
With respect to claim 18, the combination of Newman in view Crabtree, Basavapatna, Liu, and Watson teaches the non-transitory, machine-readable medium of claim 11 (see rejection of claim 11 above), wherein the program code further comprises instructions to, for at least one of the set of cloud infrastructure, build a hierarchical structure representing data organization relationships among a subset of the sensitive assets in the cloud infrastructure and (Crabtree ¶0123: In Figure 11, shows the mapping of a cyber-physical system graph may comprise a visualization of hierarchies and relationships between devices and resources in a security infrastructure, contextualizing security information with physical device relationships that are easily understandable for security personnel and users.).
[indicate baseline data loss risk scores of the subset of sensitive assets at leaf nodes of the hierarchical structure and propagate baseline data loss risk scores towards a root of the hierarchical structure with aggregation of the propagated baseline exposure scores at shared interior nodes according to the data organization relationships.]
Newman in view Crabtree, Basavapatna, Liu, and Watson does not disclose:
indicate baseline data loss risk scores of the subset of sensitive assets at leaf nodes of the hierarchical structure and propagate baseline data loss risk scores towards a root of the hierarchical structure with aggregation of the propagated baseline exposure scores at shared interior nodes according to the data organization relationships.
However, Crabtree (US PGPub No. 20200412767-A1) teaches indicate baseline data loss risk scores of the subset of sensitive assets at leaf nodes of the hierarchical structure and propagate baseline data loss risk scores (¶0142: In a next step 1102, impact assessment scores (as described previously, referring to Figure 9) may be received and incorporated in the CPG information, adding risk assessment context to the behavior information. In a next step 1103, time-series information (as described previously, referring to Figure 10 10) may be received and incorporated, updating CPG information as changes occur and events are logged. This information may then be used to produce 1104 a graph visualization of users, servers, devices, and other resources correlating physical relationships (such as a user's personal computer or smartphone, or physical connections between servers) with logical relationships (such as access privileges or database connections), to produce a meaningful and contextualized visualization of a security infrastructure that reflects the current state of the internal relationships present in the infrastructure.) towards a root of the hierarchical structure with aggregation of the propagated baseline exposure scores at shared interior nodes according to the data organization relationships. (¶0143-0144: As seen in Figure 22, a cyber-physical graph, in its most basic form, represents the network devices comprising an organization's network infrastructure as nodes (also called vertices) in the graph and the physical or logical connections between them as edges between the nodes. In this example, which is necessarily simplified for clarity, the cyber-physical graph 2200 contains 12 nodes (vertices) comprising: seven computers and devices designated by solid circles 2202, 2203, 2204, 2206, 2207, 2209, 2210, two users designated by dashed-line circles 2201, 2211, and three functional groups designated by dotted-line circles 2205, 2208, and 2212. The edges (lines) between the nodes indicate relationships between the nodes (interior nodes) , and have a direction and relationship indicator such as “AdminTo,” “MemberOf,” etc.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention utilize the teachings of Crabtree (US PGPub No. US 20200412767-A1) with regards to copies and derivatives of plurality of sensitive assets to the method of Newman in view Crabtree, Basavapatna, Liu, and Watson in order to evaluate vulnerabilities and avenues of attack (Crabtree (US PGPub No. US 20200412767-A1) ¶0143-0144).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/T.P.V./Examiner, Art Unit 2437
/ALEXANDER LAGOR/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2437