DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sato US20100159318A1 in view of Asai JP6848174B2 (corresponding to JP2017103030A cited in IDS filed 12 July 2023; using machine English translation provided).
Regarding claim 1, Sato discloses a nonaqueous electrolyte secondary battery laminated separator (Sato, [0089]) having a heat-resistant layer on one surface or both surfaces (Sato, [0101]) of a polyolefin-based base material (Sato, [0091]),
the nonaqueous electrolyte secondary battery laminated separator comprising a particle layer on at least one side of the laminated separator (Sato, [0168], slurry coating).
Sato however does not disclose wherein the particle layer containing particles having an average particle diameter of 3 µm to 10 µm, and the particle layer having a weight per unit area per layer of 0.1 g/m2 to 1.0 g/m2.
In a laminated nonaqueous electrolyte secondary battery Asai teaches comprising a polyolefin-based base material (Asai, [0082]), having a heat-resistant layer on one surface or both surfaces of the polyolefin-based base material (Asai, [0003-0004], functional layer) and separator comprising a particle layer on at least one side of the laminated separator (Asai, [0014], functional layer slurry). Asai further teaches wherein the particle layer containing particles having an average particle diameter of 0.2 µm to 5 µm (Asai, [0020]), significantly overlapping with the claimed range of 3 µm to 10 µm, and the particle layer having a weight per unit area per layer of 0.05 g/m2 to 3.0 g/m2 (Asai, [0014]), encompassing the claimed range of 0.1 g/m2 to 1.0 g/m2, in order to achieve further improvements in the performance of secondary batteries (Asai, [0007]).
Therefore it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the particle layer of Sato with the teaching of Asai wherein the particle layer containing particles having an average particle diameter of 3 µm to 10 µm and the particle layer having a weight per unit area per layer of 0.1 g/m2 to 1.0 g/m2 thereby achieving further improvements in the performance of secondary batteries.
Regarding claim 2, modified Sato also teaches wherein the heat-resistant layer contains an aromatic resin, specifically poly(paraphenylene terephthalamide) (Sato, [0034]), following Instant [0038].
Regarding claim 3, modified Sato additionally teaches wherein the particles contain an acrylic resin (Asai, [0048]).
Regarding claim 4, modified Sato further teaches wherein the particles each has a core-shell structure (Asai, [0046]).
Regarding claim 5, modified Sato also teaches wherein the core-shell structure contains a core particle and a shell particle that are two types of particles (Asai, [0048], [0051]), the examiner notes that the teaching of a core particle and a shell particle satisfies the limitation that are two types of particles as there are no additionally metes and bounds to distinguish the shell from the core particle(s).
Regarding claim 6, modified Sato additionally teaches nonaqueous electrolyte secondary battery member (Sato, [0089]), comprising a positive electrode, a laminated separator recited in claim 1 (see claim 1), in order to achieve further improvements in the performance of secondary batteries (Asai, [0007]), and a negative electrode, which are formed in this order (Sato, [0113]).
Regarding claim 7, modified Sato further teaches a nonaqueous electrolyte secondary battery, including a laminated separator recited in claim 1 (Sato, [0113]) (see claim 1), in order to achieve further improvements in the performance of secondary batteries (Asai, [0007]).
Regarding claim 8, modified Sato also teaches a nonaqueous electrolyte secondary battery, comprising a nonaqueous electrolyte secondary battery member recited in claim 6 (Sato, [0089], [0113]).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 16 March 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that Asai teaches a functional layer comprising multiple layers and the skilled artisan would therefore not be motivated to combine the teaching of Asai in Sato. This is not persuasive and the citation of exemplary properties in the Instant specification are not commensurate in scope with the claim limitations as these properties are not claimed in the independent claim as currently drafted.
As set forth above, Asai teaches a heat-resistant layer on one surface or both surfaces of the polyolefin-based base material (Asai, [0003-0004], functional layer) and separator comprising a particle layer on at least one side of the laminated separator (Asai, [0014], functional layer slurry). Asai further teaches wherein the particle layer containing particles having an average particle diameter of 0.2 µm to 5 µm (Asai, [0020]), significantly overlapping with the claimed range of 3 µm to 10 µm, and the particle layer having a weight per unit area per layer of 0.05 g/m2 to 3.0 g/m2 (Asai, [0014]), encompassing the claimed range of 0.1 g/m2 to 1.0 g/m2, in order to achieve further improvements in the performance of secondary batteries (Asai, [0007]), satisfying the claim limitation as currently drafted.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Kobayashi JP4350953B2 (discloses a separator comprising a heat-resistant layer comprising particles of 10 µm or less in size).
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JARED HANSEN/Examiner, Art Unit 1723 /TIFFANY LEGETTE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1723