DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-20 have been considered but are moot due to the new ground of rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Peng et al. (US 2021/0328906 A1) in view of Dong et al. (US 2020/0128445 A1).
Regarding claim 1-2, 9, and 16, Peng discloses a method, comprising: obtaining, by a third network device (first node), a first segment identifier (SID), wherein the first segment identifier comprises a first identifier (paragraph [0020]-[0022]; [0025]; [0027]-[0033]; [0045]-[0051]; [0055]; [0060]-[0061]; [0064]-[0066]; [0069]-[0071]; [0086]-[0087]; [0091]-[0093]; [0112]-[0113]; and so on, illustrating receiving by first node SID comprising such as local and VPN SID and so on); and sending, by the third network device (first node), a route advertisement message comprising the first segment identifier and a first destination route prefix to a second network device (border node) (paragraph [0004]-[0006]; [0025]-[0027]; [0047]-[0050]; [0064]-[0068]; [0079]; [0087]; [0093]; [0101]-[0111]; [0116]-[0126]; [0131]-[0140]; [0142]-[0151]; [0157]-[0163]; and so on, explaining transmitting by the first node to the border node an advertisement comprising a segment identifier and destination prefix), wherein the second network device generates a forwarding entry comprising the first destination route prefix and the first segment identifier, the forwarding entry is used the second network device to send a packet to a first network device (second node) by using the first network slice (paragraph [0020]; [0025]; [0045]-[0051]; [0054]-[0061]; [0064]-[0077]; [0086]-[0096]; [0111]-[0114]; [0116]-[0119]; [0121]-[0129]; and etc., describing the border node creating SID forwarding entry including destination prefix and the received SID, and transmitting a packet to second node therefrom).
Peng doesn’t explicitly disclose a network between a second network device and a first network device is divided into a plurality of network slices, and the first identifier corresponds to a first network slice of the plurality of network slices.
Dong teaches a network between a second network device and a first network device is divided into a plurality of network slices, and the first identifier corresponds to a first network slice of the plurality of network slices (paragraph [0038]; [0084]-[0087]; [0070]-[0078]; and so on).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to use a network between a second network device and a first network device is divided into a plurality of network slices, and the first identifier corresponds to a first network slice of the plurality of network slices as taught by Dong into Peng in order to improve resource allocation and to reduce congestion.
Regarding claim 8 and 15, the claims include features identical to the subject matter mentioned in the rejection to claim 1. The claims are mere reformulation of claim 1 in order to define the corresponding an apparatus and a non-transitory storage medium, and the rejection to claim 1 is applied hereto.
Regarding claim 3, 10, and 17, Peng discloses wherein the first segment identifier comprises a location locator address of the third network device, the first segment identifier is a subnet prefix of the locator address, and the method further comprises: further obtaining, by the third network device, a second segment identifier, wherein the second segment identifier comprises the locator address; and sending, by the third network device, a route advertisement message comprising the second segment identifier and a second destination route prefix to the second network device (paragraph [0099]-[0114]; [0116]-[0127]; [0020]; [0057]-[0060]; [0075]-[0076]; [0090]-[0091]; [0096]; [0131]-[0140]; [0142]-[0151]; [0157]-[0163]; and so on).
Pen doesn’t explicitly disclose the identifier of the first network slice, and a second identifier, and the second identifier corresponds to a second network slice.
Dong teaches the identifier of the first network slice, and a second identifier, and the second identifier corresponds to a second network slice (paragraph [0038]; [0084]-[0087]; [0070]-[0078]; and so on).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to use the identifier of the first network slice, and a second identifier, and the second identifier corresponds to a second network slice as taught by Dong into Peng in order to improve resource allocation and to reduce congestion.
Regarding claim 4, 11, and 18, Peng discloses wherein the method further comprises: sending, by the second network device, a route prefix comprising the locator address to the first network device (paragraph [0121]-[0127]; [0131]-[0140]; [0142]-[0151]; [0157]-[0163]; and so on).
Regarding claim 5, 12, and 19, Peng discloses wherein the first segment identifier comprises a virtual private network segment identifier (VPN SID) (paragraph [0004]-[0006]; [0020]-[0022]; [0025]; [0032]-[0034]; [0038]-[0045]; [0053]-[0055]; [0083]-[0091]; and so on).
Regarding claim 6, 13, and 20, Peng discloses wherein the first segment identifier comprises a function part (paragraph [0025]; [0046]; [0099]; [0103]; [0107]; [0112]-[0114]; [0122]; [0127]; [0141]; [0147]; [0153]; and etc.).
Peng doesn’t explicitly disclose the function part indicates to obtain an identifier of a network slice from the first segment identifier.
Dong teaches the function part indicates to obtain an identifier of a network slice from the first segment identifier (paragraph [0038]; [0084]-[0087]; [0070]-[0078]; and so on).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to use the function part indicates to obtain an identifier of a network slice from the first segment identifier as taught by Dong into Peng in order to improve resource allocation and to reduce congestion.
Regarding claim 7 and 14, Peng discloses wherein the second network device and the third network device are border gateway protocol peers (e.g. figs. 4-7).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/KIBROM T HAILU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2461