DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Applicant’s submission filed on 04/29/2026 has been entered. Claims 1-20 are pending.
Claim Objections
Claims 1 objected to because of the following informalities:
in each of claims 1, 10, and 19 “the preserve directive instructing the SMF to persist common policy definitions for reuse across multiple sessions and multiple subscriber” should read “the preserve directive instructing the SMF to persist common policy definitions for reuse across multiple sessions and multiple subscribers” (emphasis added)
claims 2-9 depend either directly or indirectly from independent claim 1 and include all of the limitations of independent claim 1. Therefore, claims 2-9 are objected to for the same reasons as independent claim 1.
claims 11-18 depend either directly or indirectly from independent claim 10 and include all of the limitations of independent claim 10. Therefore, claims 11-18 are objected to for the same reasons as independent claim 10.
claim 20 depends directly from independent claim 19 and includes all of the limitations of independent claim 19. Therefore, claim 20 is objected to for the same reasons as independent claim 19.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. Claims 1, 10, and 19 each recite the limitation “retrieving, by the SMF from the subscriber-independent global repository using the reference identifier, the previously stored common policy definitions for application to the second session”. There is support for the SMF storing definitions of common data and receiving references to the common data in the Applicant’s specification at least in pars. [0061-0065], but there is no indication of the SMF retrieving the previously stored common policy definitions from the subscriber-independent global repository using the reference identifier, as claimed.
Dependent claims 2-9 are rejected based on their dependency on independent claim 1. Dependent claims 11-18 are rejected based on their dependency on independent claim 10. Dependent claim 20 is rejected based on its dependency on independent claim 19.
Claims 4-6 and 13-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 4 and 13 each recite the limitation "the references to the common policy definitions". There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Examiner suggests that the limitation should read “references to the common policy definitions”. For the purposes of examination, the limitation is interpreted as such. Claims 5 and 6 are rejected due to their dependency on claim 4. Claims 14 and 15 are rejected due to their dependency on claim 13.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3-4, 8-10, 12-13, and 17-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cakulev et al. (US 12,081,405), hereinafter "Cakulev", in view of Tang et al. (US 2020/0127968), hereinafter “Tang”, and further in view of Yao et al. (US 2023/0133781), hereinafter “Yao”.
Regarding claims 1, 10, 19, Cakulev teaches:
A method comprising or a non-transitory computer-readable medium comprising instructions, the instructions, when executed by a computing system, cause the computing system (see Cakulev, Fig. 9, col. 15, lines 42-49: Device 900 may perform certain operations relating to one or more processes described above. Device 900 may perform these operations in response to processor 920 executing instructions, such as software instructions, processor-executable instructions, etc. stored in a computer-readable medium, such as memory 930. A computer-readable medium may be defined as a non-transitory memory device) to or a network system comprising:
a session management function (SMF) (see Cakulev, Fig. 6, col. 8, lines 15-21: environment 600 may include UE 101, RAN 610 (which may include one or more Next Generation Node Bs (“gNBs”) 611), RAN 612 (which may include one or more evolved Node Bs (“eNBs”) 613), and various network functions such as AMF 615, MME 616, SGW 617, SMF/PGW-Control plane function (“PGW-C”) 620, PCF/PCRF 625);
a policy control function (PCF) (see Cakulev, Fig. 6, col. 8, lines 15-21: environment 600 may include UE 101, RAN 610 (which may include one or more Next Generation Node Bs (“gNBs”) 611), RAN 612 (which may include one or more evolved Node Bs (“eNBs”) 613), and various network functions such as AMF 615, MME 616, SGW 617, SMF/PGW-Control plane function (“PGW-C”) 620, PCF/PCRF 625);
an interface between the PCF and the SMF (see Cakulev, Fig. 6, col. 8, line 66-col. 9, line 2: environment 600, as shown in FIG. 6, may include an N1 interface, an N2 interface, an N3 interface, an N4 interface, an N5 interface, an N6 interface, an N7 interface); and
one or more processors coupled to the SMF, PCF, and interface, the one or more processors configured to execute instructions to cause the one or more processors (see Cakulev, Fig. 9, col. 15, lines 42-49: Device 900 may perform certain operations relating to one or more processes described above. Device 900 may perform these operations in response to processor 920 executing instructions, such as software instructions, processor-executable instructions, etc. stored in a computer-readable medium, such as memory 930. A computer-readable medium may be defined as a non-transitory memory device) to:
establishing an exchange of preservation between a session management function (SMF) and a policy control function (PCF) via an interface for a first session in a wireless network (see Cakulev, Fig. 2, col. 4, lines 10-18: SMF 201 may output (at 204) a single request to PCF 105 for policy information based on the requested multiple PDU sessions. For example, SMF 201 may communicate with PCF 105 via an N7 interface, an Npcf interface, an Nsmpcf interface (e.g., an enhanced N7 interface, an enhanced Npcf interface, an enhanced Nsmpcf interface, etc. that supports the indication of multiple PDU sessions), and/or some other interface or suitable communication pathway, and see Cakulev, col. 4, lines 45-48: Once PCF 105 obtains (at 206) the information associated with UE 101 and the multiple PDU sessions, PCF 105 may maintain (at 208) UE context information that includes some or all of the obtained information; in this case, an SMF and PCF may communicate over an interface for multiple sessions (i.e. a first session), including communication for maintaining UE context information, corresponding to establishing an exchange of preservation between an SMF and PCF);
receiving, by the SMF from the PCF, the common policy definitions, wherein the common policy definitions are used for a plurality of sessions following the first session by a plurality of subscribers (see Cakulev, col. 4, lines 50-64: For subsequent requests for policy information (e.g., from SMF 201 and/or some other suitable NF, device, or system), PCF 105 may provide some or all of the maintained UE context information without obtaining UE information or other information from UDR 203 or another source. PCF 105 may respond (at 210) to SMF 201 with the requested policy information associated with UE 101 and the multiple PDU sessions, which may include a single Npcf_SMPolicyControl_Create response message. As noted above, the single response (at 210), associated with multiple PDU sessions, may consume fewer network resources than multiple responses that are each associated with a single PDU session. Once SMF 201 receives (at 210) the requested policy information, and see Cakulev, col. 10, lines 46-52: PCF/PCRF 625 may include one or more devices, systems, VNFs, CNFs, etc., that aggregate information to and from the 5G network and/or other sources. PCF/PCRF 625 may receive information regarding policies and/or subscriptions from one or more sources, such as subscriber databases and/or from one or more users (such as, for example, an administrator associated with PCF/PCRF 625); in this case, the response received by the SMF contains sessions which correspond to common policy definitions);
However, Cakulev does not teach:
wherein the establishing an exchange of preservation for a first session is by a first subscriber in a wireless network, wherein the exchange comprises a policy control exchange that includes a preserve directive, the preserve directive instructing the SMF to persist common policy definitions for reuse across multiple sessions and multiple subscriber;
receiving, by the SMF from the PCF, the preserve directive, wherein the preserve directive instructs the SMF to store the common policy definitions for reuse across the plurality of sessions for the plurality of subscribers;
storing, by the SMF, the common policy definitions in a subscriber-independent global repository of the SMF that is accessible by each of the plurality of sessions, separately from session-specific policy information;
for a second session by a second subscriber different from the first subscriber, receiving, by the SMF from the PCF, a reference identifier for the previously stored common policy definitions without retransmission of the common policy definitions, and retrieving, by the SMF from the subscriber-independent global repository using the reference identifier, the previously stored common policy definitions for application to the second session.
Tang, in the same field of endeavor, teaches:
wherein the establishing an exchange of preservation for a first session is by a first subscriber in a wireless network, wherein the exchange comprises a policy control exchange that includes a preserve directive, the preserve directive instructing the SMF to persist common policy definitions for reuse across multiple sessions (see Tang, par. [0158]: The SMF network element and the PCF network element may establish a PDU-CAN session by exchanging a CCR message and a CCA message, and the CCA message returned by the PCF network element to the SMF network element carries a policy rule, where the policy rule (also referred to as an IP change indication) can be reused after the first IP address changes, and carries a flow identifier (also referred to as a flow ID) allocated by the PCF network element to each flow included in a PDU session corresponding to the first IP address, and see par. [0158]: The SMF network element interacts with the PCF network element to establish the PDU-CAN session. Specifically, the PCF network element associates AF session information with a corresponding policy rule, and the PCF network element indicates, to the SMF network element by using a response message, that the policy rule can be reused after the first IP address changes, and carries the flow ID allocated by the PCF network element to each flow, and see par. [0013]: the meaning that the information about the first application can be reused after the first IP address changes may be expressed in a plurality of manners. For example, the information about the first application is applicable to a plurality of IP addresses, or the first application is insensitive to the IP address, the first application allows change of the IP address, the information about the first application remains valid after the IP address changes, and the information about the first application may be used by the user equipment to access different PDU sessions of a same application; in this case, establishing a session includes an indication for reusing policy rules after IP address changes, corresponding to a preserve directive to persist common policy definitions for reuse across sessions);
receiving, by the SMF from the PCF, the preserve directive, wherein the preserve directive instructs the SMF to store the common policy definitions for reuse across the plurality of sessions (see Tang, par. [0143]: the SMF network element may also reserve the PDU-CAN session or reserve the connection between the SMF network element and the PCF network element. If a same SMF network element is selected in the subsequent reestablishment or modification procedure, the reserved PDU-CAN session or the reserved connection between the SMF network element and the PCF network element can be reused, and see par. [0158]: The SMF network element and the PCF network element may establish a PDU-CAN session by exchanging a CCR message and a CCA message, and the CCA message returned by the PCF network element to the SMF network element carries a policy rule, where the policy rule (also referred to as an IP change indication) can be reused after the first IP address changes, and carries a flow identifier (also referred to as a flow ID) allocated by the PCF network element to each flow included in a PDU session corresponding to the first IP address, and see par. [0158]: The SMF network element interacts with the PCF network element to establish the PDU-CAN session. Specifically, the PCF network element associates AF session information with a corresponding policy rule, and the PCF network element indicates, to the SMF network element by using a response message, that the policy rule can be reused after the first IP address changes, and carries the flow ID allocated by the PCF network element to each flow, and see par. [0013]: the meaning that the information about the first application can be reused after the first IP address changes may be expressed in a plurality of manners. For example, the information about the first application is applicable to a plurality of IP addresses, or the first application is insensitive to the IP address, the first application allows change of the IP address, the information about the first application remains valid after the IP address changes, and the information about the first application may be used by the user equipment to access different PDU sessions of a same application; in this case, establishing a session includes receiving an indication for reusing policy rules after IP address changes, corresponding to a preserve directive to persist common policy definitions for reuse across sessions);
storing, by the SMF, the common policy definitions in a subscriber-independent global repository of the SMF that is accessible by each of the plurality of sessions, separately from session-specific policy information (see Tang, par. [0143]: the SMF network element may also reserve the PDU-CAN session or reserve the connection between the SMF network element and the PCF network element. If a same SMF network element is selected in the subsequent reestablishment or modification procedure, the reserved PDU-CAN session or the reserved connection between the SMF network element and the PCF network element can be reused, and see par. [0158]: The SMF network element and the PCF network element may establish a PDU-CAN session by exchanging a CCR message and a CCA message, and the CCA message returned by the PCF network element to the SMF network element carries a policy rule, where the policy rule (also referred to as an IP change indication) can be reused after the first IP address changes, and carries a flow identifier (also referred to as a flow ID) allocated by the PCF network element to each flow included in a PDU session corresponding to the first IP address, and see par. [0158]: The SMF network element interacts with the PCF network element to establish the PDU-CAN session. Specifically, the PCF network element associates AF session information with a corresponding policy rule, and the PCF network element indicates, to the SMF network element by using a response message, that the policy rule can be reused after the first IP address changes, and carries the flow ID allocated by the PCF network element to each flow, and see par. [0013]: the meaning that the information about the first application can be reused after the first IP address changes may be expressed in a plurality of manners. For example, the information about the first application is applicable to a plurality of IP addresses, or the first application is insensitive to the IP address, the first application allows change of the IP address, the information about the first application remains valid after the IP address changes, and the information about the first application may be used by the user equipment to access different PDU sessions of a same application; in this case, the SMF reserving session information and policy rules corresponds to storing common policy definitions. The information being reused for different sessions corresponds to the information being stored in a subscriber-independent global repository);
for a second session, receiving, by the SMF from the PCF, a reference identifier for the previously stored common policy definitions without retransmission of the common policy definitions, and retrieving, by the SMF from the subscriber-independent global repository using the reference identifier, the previously stored common policy definitions for application to the second session (see Tang, Fig. 11B, par. [0160]: The UE initiates session establishment with a new UPF. In one embodiment, a reestablishment indication may be carried to indicate that the session is a reestablished session. 22-23. The SMF network element interacts with the PCF network element to establish the PDU-CAN session. Specifically, the PCF network element associates AF session information with a corresponding policy rule, and the PCF network element indicates, to the SMF network element by using a response message, that the policy rule can be reused after the first IP address changes, and carries the flow ID 1, where the flow ID 1 is allocated by the SMF network element during initial session establishment, and see par. [0143]: the SMF network element may also reserve the PDU-CAN session or reserve the connection between the SMF network element and the PCF network element. If a same SMF network element is selected in the subsequent reestablishment or modification procedure, the reserved PDU-CAN session or the reserved connection between the SMF network element and the PCF network element can be reused; in this case, receiving policy reuse information during session modification and applying policy rule information corresponds to receiving a reference identifier for the previously stored common policy definitions without retransmission of the common policy definitions, and retrieving, by the SMF from the subscriber-independent global repository using the reference identifier, the previously stored common policy definitions for application to the second session).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the method or non-transitory computer-readable medium or network system of Cakulev with the preserve directive and storing information of Tang with a reasonable expectation of success. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification for the benefit of reducing signaling exchange and a delay of session establishment (see Tang, par. [0011]).
However, the combination of Cakulev in view of Tang does not teach:
reuse across multiple subscriber
reuse for the plurality of subscribers
for a second session by a second subscriber different from the first subscriber, receiving, by the SMF from the PCF, a reference identifier for the previously stored common policy definitions without retransmission of the common policy definitions,
Yao, in the same field of endeavor, teaches:
reuse across multiple subscriber (see Yao, par. [0036]: The SMF 136 can be configured to set up and manage various sessions according to network policy. The SMF 136 may thus be responsible for session management and allocation of IP addresses to UEs, and see par. [0054]: The predefined PCC rules are configured into the SMF, and referenced by the PCF, and PCF may activate/deactivate the predefined PCC rules in SMF (see TS 23.501, v.16.5.0). The PCC rule may be predefined or dynamically provisioned at establishment and during the lifetime of a PDU Session; in this case, multiple sessions and multiple UEs (i.e. subscribers) are supported for session management and configuring PCC rules)
reuse for the plurality of subscribers (see Yao, par. [0036]: The SMF 136 can be configured to set up and manage various sessions according to network policy. The SMF 136 may thus be responsible for session management and allocation of IP addresses to UEs, and see par. [0054]: The predefined PCC rules are configured into the SMF, and referenced by the PCF, and PCF may activate/deactivate the predefined PCC rules in SMF (see TS 23.501, v.16.5.0). The PCC rule may be predefined or dynamically provisioned at establishment and during the lifetime of a PDU Session; in this case, multiple sessions and multiple UEs (i.e. subscribers) are supported for session management and configuring PCC rules)
for a second session by a second subscriber different from the first subscriber, receiving, by the SMF from the PCF, a reference identifier for the previously stored common policy definitions without retransmission of the common policy definitions (see Yao, par. [0226]: A predefined PCC rule is configured in the SMF. When a predefined PCC rule is activated/deactivated by the PCF, the SMF decides what information is to be provided to the UPF to enforce the rule based on where the traffic detection filters (i.e. service data flow filter(s) or application detection filter), traffic steering policy information and the policies used for the traffic handling in the UPF are configured and where they are enforced, and see par. [0036]: The SMF 136 can be configured to set up and manage various sessions according to network policy. The SMF 136 may thus be responsible for session management and allocation of IP addresses to UEs, and see par. [0054]: The predefined PCC rules are configured into the SMF, and referenced by the PCF, and PCF may activate/deactivate the predefined PCC rules in SMF (see TS 23.501, v.16.5.0). The PCC rule may be predefined or dynamically provisioned at establishment and during the lifetime of a PDU Session; in this case, multiple sessions and multiple UEs (i.e. subscribers) are supported for session management and configuring PCC rules, including receiving PCC rule information (corresponding to reference identifiers for stored common policy definitions)),
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the reuse of common policy definitions of the combination of Cakulev in view of Tang with the reuse across a plurality of subscribers of Yao with a reasonable expectation of success. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification for the benefit of enabling PCC rule management (see Yao, par. [0057]).
Regarding claims 3, 12, the combination of Cakulev in view of Tang, and further in view of Yao, teaches the method or non-transitory computer-readable medium. Cakulev further teaches:
wherein the interface is an N7 interface (see Cakulev, Fig. 2, col. 4, lines 10-18: SMF 201 may output (at 204) a single request to PCF 105 for policy information based on the requested multiple PDU sessions. For example, SMF 201 may communicate with PCF 105 via an N7 interface, an Npcf interface, an Nsmpcf interface (e.g., an enhanced N7 interface, an enhanced Npcf interface, an enhanced Nsmpcf interface, etc. that supports the indication of multiple PDU sessions), and/or some other interface or suitable communication pathway).
Regarding claims 4, 13, the combination of Cakulev in view of Tang, and further in view of Yao, teaches the method or non-transitory computer-readable medium. Cakulev further teaches:
wherein the instructions, when executed by the computing system, cause the computing system (see Cakulev, Fig. 9, col. 15, lines 42-49: Device 900 may perform certain operations relating to one or more processes described above. Device 900 may perform these operations in response to processor 920 executing instructions, such as software instructions, processor-executable instructions, etc. stored in a computer-readable medium, such as memory 930. A computer-readable medium may be defined as a non-transitory memory device) to:
installing, by the PCF, a first policy and charging control rule (PCC) rule for the first session (see Cakulev, Fig. 1, col. 2, lines 50-60: A policy element of network 103, such as PCF 105, may maintain (at 102) UE context information associated with the multiple PDU sessions. For the sake of brevity, the policy element is described herein in the context of PCF 105. In practice, the policy element may include a PCRF or other suitable network function, device, or system. The UE context information may include information received, obtained, etc. by PCF 105 pursuant to an establishment of the multiple PDU sessions, as discussed below. The context information may include, for example, rules, policies, etc. that are applicable to UE 101 and the multiple PDU sessions; in this case, maintained information includes rules applicable to the UE and multiple sessions corresponds to installing a first PCC rule for the first session), wherein the first PCC rule comprises the common policy definitions and the references to the common policy definitions (see Cakulev, col. 4, lines 50-64: For subsequent requests for policy information (e.g., from SMF 201 and/or some other suitable NF, device, or system), PCF 105 may provide some or all of the maintained UE context information without obtaining UE information or other information from UDR 203 or another source. PCF 105 may respond (at 210) to SMF 201 with the requested policy information associated with UE 101 and the multiple PDU sessions, which may include a single Npcf_SMPolicyControl_Create response message. As noted above, the single response (at 210), associated with multiple PDU sessions, may consume fewer network resources than multiple responses that are each associated with a single PDU session. Once SMF 201 receives (at 210) the requested policy information; in this case, maintained information may contain session information and UE context information (corresponding to definitions of and references to common policy) which is provided to SMF);
communicating to the SMF via the interface, by the PCF, to update an exchange for the first session with the common policy definitions (see Cakulev, col. 4, lines 50-64: For subsequent requests for policy information (e.g., from SMF 201 and/or some other suitable NF, device, or system), PCF 105 may provide some or all of the maintained UE context information without obtaining UE information or other information from UDR 203 or another source. PCF 105 may respond (at 210) to SMF 201 with the requested policy information associated with UE 101 and the multiple PDU sessions, which may include a single Npcf_SMPolicyControl_Create response message. As noted above, the single response (at 210), associated with multiple PDU sessions, may consume fewer network resources than multiple responses that are each associated with a single PDU session. Once SMF 201 receives (at 210) the requested policy information; in this case, upon request, information may be provided over the interface for sessions (corresponding to communicating to update an exchange) including session information (corresponding to common policy definitions));
installing, by the PCF, a second PCC rule for a second session (see Cakulev, Fig. 1, col. 2, lines 50-60: A policy element of network 103, such as PCF 105, may maintain (at 102) UE context information associated with the multiple PDU sessions. For the sake of brevity, the policy element is described herein in the context of PCF 105. In practice, the policy element may include a PCRF or other suitable network function, device, or system. The UE context information may include information received, obtained, etc. by PCF 105 pursuant to an establishment of the multiple PDU sessions, as discussed below. The context information may include, for example, rules, policies, etc. that are applicable to UE 101 and the multiple PDU sessions; in this case, maintaining UE context information including rules applicable to the UE and multiple sessions corresponds to installing a second PCC rule for the second session); and
communicating to the SMF via the interface, by the PCF, to update an exchange for the second session with the references to the common policy definitions without the common policy definitions (see Cakulev, col. 7, lines 27-32: Process 500 may further include outputting (at 504) a policy request to a policy element of network 103, where the policy request includes the identifiers of the multiple communication sessions. For example, as discussed above, the policy request may be sent to PCF 105, a PCRF, and/or other suitable device or system of network 103, and see Cakulev, col. 7, lines 56-59: Process 500 may additionally include receiving (at 506) one or more policies in response to the request. For example, SMF 201 may receive policies, conditions, parameters, etc. associated with the requested PDU sessions; in this case, PCF may send policies regarding sessions to the SMF over the interface (corresponding to communicating to update an exchange with references to but without common policy definitions)).
Regarding claims 8, 17, the combination of Cakulev in view of Tang, and further in view of Yao, teaches the method or non-transitory computer-readable medium. Cakulev further teaches:
wherein the instructions, when executed by the computing system, cause the computing system to (see Cakulev, Fig. 9, col. 15, lines 42-49: Device 900 may perform certain operations relating to one or more processes described above. Device 900 may perform these operations in response to processor 920 executing instructions, such as software instructions, processor-executable instructions, etc. stored in a computer-readable medium, such as memory 930. A computer-readable medium may be defined as a non-transitory memory device)
Cakulev does not teach, but Tang teaches:
wherein storing the common policy definitions by the SMF comprises storing the common policy definitions by the SMF in a global space to reduce memory footprint of the SMF (see Tang, par. [0143]: the SMF network element may also reserve the PDU-CAN session or reserve the connection between the SMF network element and the PCF network element. If a same SMF network element is selected in the subsequent reestablishment or modification procedure, the reserved PDU-CAN session or the reserved connection between the SMF network element and the PCF network element can be reused, and see par. [0158]: The SMF network element and the PCF network element may establish a PDU-CAN session by exchanging a CCR message and a CCA message, and the CCA message returned by the PCF network element to the SMF network element carries a policy rule, where the policy rule (also referred to as an IP change indication) can be reused after the first IP address changes, and carries a flow identifier (also referred to as a flow ID) allocated by the PCF network element to each flow included in a PDU session corresponding to the first IP address, and see par. [0158]: The SMF network element interacts with the PCF network element to establish the PDU-CAN session. Specifically, the PCF network element associates AF session information with a corresponding policy rule, and the PCF network element indicates, to the SMF network element by using a response message, that the policy rule can be reused after the first IP address changes, and carries the flow ID allocated by the PCF network element to each flow, and see par. [0013]: the meaning that the information about the first application can be reused after the first IP address changes may be expressed in a plurality of manners. For example, the information about the first application is applicable to a plurality of IP addresses, or the first application is insensitive to the IP address, the first application allows change of the IP address, the information about the first application remains valid after the IP address changes, and the information about the first application may be used by the user equipment to access different PDU sessions of a same application; in this case, the SMF reserving session information and policy rules corresponds to storing common policy definitions. The information being reused for different sessions corresponds to the information being stored in a subscriber-independent global repository)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the method or non-transitory computer-readable medium or network system of Cakulev with the storing information of Tang with a reasonable expectation of success. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification for the benefit of reducing signaling exchange and a delay of session establishment (see Tang, par. [0011]).
Regarding claims 9, 18, the combination of combination of Cakulev in view of Tang, and further in view of Yao, teaches the method or non-transitory computer-readable medium. Cakulev further teaches:
wherein the common policy definitions are stored and shared among the plurality of subscribers (see Cakulev, Fig. 2, col. 4, lines 10-18: SMF 201 may output (at 204) a single request to PCF 105 for policy information based on the requested multiple PDU sessions. For example, SMF 201 may communicate with PCF 105 via an N7 interface, an Npcf interface, an Nsmpcf interface (e.g., an enhanced N7 interface, an enhanced Npcf interface, an enhanced Nsmpcf interface, etc. that supports the indication of multiple PDU sessions), and/or some other interface or suitable communication pathway, and see Cakulev, col. 4, lines 45-48: Once PCF 105 obtains (at 206) the information associated with UE 101 and the multiple PDU sessions, PCF 105 may maintain (at 208) UE context information that includes some or all of the obtained information, and see Cakulev, col. 4, lines 50-64: For subsequent requests for policy information (e.g., from SMF 201 and/or some other suitable NF, device, or system), PCF 105 may provide some or all of the maintained UE context information without obtaining UE information or other information from UDR 203 or another source. PCF 105 may respond (at 210) to SMF 201 with the requested policy information associated with UE 101 and the multiple PDU sessions, which may include a single Npcf_SMPolicyControl_Create response message. As noted above, the single response (at 210), associated with multiple PDU sessions, may consume fewer network resources than multiple responses that are each associated with a single PDU session. Once SMF 201 receives (at 210) the requested policy information, and see Cakulev, col. 10, lines 46-52: PCF/PCRF 625 may include one or more devices, systems, VNFs, CNFs, etc., that aggregate information to and from the 5G network and/or other sources. PCF/PCRF 625 may receive information regarding policies and/or subscriptions from one or more sources, such as subscriber databases and/or from one or more users (such as, for example, an administrator associated with PCF/PCRF 625); in this case, session information is maintained and shared for a plurality of sessions and subscribers).
Claims 2, 11, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cakulev in view of Tang, and further in view of Yao, as applied to claims 1, 3-4, 8-10, 12-13, and 17-19 above, and further in view of Steben et al. (US 2023/0397021), hereinafter “Steben”.
Regarding claims 2, 11, 20, the combination of Cakulev in view of Tang, and further in view of Yao, teaches the method or non-transitory computer-readable medium or network system. Cakulev further teaches:
wherein the instructions, when executed by a computing system, cause the computing system (see Cakulev, Fig. 9, col. 15, lines 42-49: Device 900 may perform certain operations relating to one or more processes described above. Device 900 may perform these operations in response to processor 920 executing instructions, such as software instructions, processor-executable instructions, etc. stored in a computer-readable medium, such as memory 930. A computer-readable medium may be defined as a non-transitory memory device) to:
wherein the one or more processors are configured to execute instructions to cause the processor to (see Cakulev, Fig. 9, col. 15, lines 42-49: Device 900 may perform certain operations relating to one or more processes described above. Device 900 may perform these operations in response to processor 920 executing instructions, such as software instructions, processor-executable instructions, etc. stored in a computer-readable medium, such as memory 930. A computer-readable medium may be defined as a non-transitory memory device):
receiving, by the SMF, the common policy definitions from the PCF (see Cakulev, col. 4, lines 50-64: For subsequent requests for policy information (e.g., from SMF 201 and/or some other suitable NF, device, or system), PCF 105 may provide some or all of the maintained UE context information without obtaining UE information or other information from UDR 203 or another source. PCF 105 may respond (at 210) to SMF 201 with the requested policy information associated with UE 101 and the multiple PDU sessions, which may include a single Npcf_SMPolicyControl_Create response message. As noted above, the single response (at 210), associated with multiple PDU sessions, may consume fewer network resources than multiple responses that are each associated with a single PDU session. Once SMF 201 receives (at 210) the requested policy information; in this case, the response received by the SMF contains sessions which correspond to common policy definitions);
Cakulev does not teach, but Tang teaches:
and
storing, by the SMF, the common policy definitions (see Tang, Fig. 11B, par. [0160]: The UE initiates session establishment with a new UPF. In one embodiment, a reestablishment indication may be carried to indicate that the session is a reestablished session. 22-23. The SMF network element interacts with the PCF network element to establish the PDU-CAN session. Specifically, the PCF network element associates AF session information with a corresponding policy rule, and the PCF network element indicates, to the SMF network element by using a response message, that the policy rule can be reused after the first IP address changes, and carries the flow ID 1, where the flow ID 1 is allocated by the SMF network element during initial session establishment, and see par. [0143]: the SMF network element may also reserve the PDU-CAN session or reserve the connection between the SMF network element and the PCF network element. If a same SMF network element is selected in the subsequent reestablishment or modification procedure, the reserved PDU-CAN session or the reserved connection between the SMF network element and the PCF network element can be reused; in this case, receiving policy reuse information during session modification and applying policy rule information corresponds to receiving a reference identifier for the previously stored common policy definitions without retransmission of the common policy definitions, and retrieving, by the SMF from the subscriber-independent global repository using the reference identifier, the previously stored common policy definitions for application to the second session)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the method or non-transitory computer-readable medium or network system of Cakulev with the storing information of Tang with a reasonable expectation of success. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification for the benefit of reducing signaling exchange and a delay of session establishment (see Tang, par. [0011]).
However, the combination of Cakulev in view of Tang, and further in view of Yao, does not teach:
sending, by the SMF, a failure message to the PCF;
Steben, in the same field of endeavor, teaches:
sending, by the SMF, a failure message to the PCF (see Steben, Figs. 4A and 4B, par. [0045]: As shown at reference 414 of FIG. 4B, PCF 210-1 may receive a PremRetFlag (e.g., from SMF 205-1). As shown at reference 416, PCF 210-1 may check with UDR 220 to confirm the PremRetFlag for the session and, in response, calculate the subscriber's additional compute footprint 418 (e.g., additional PCF resources required to support the PDU session and the other existing premium sessions) for failovers, and see Steben, par. [0014]: Use of subscriptions with a premium session retention indicator (e.g., referred to herein as a “PremRetFlag”) allows for a differentiation of services with respect to NF failures. Enabling premium session retainability may allow a network operator to deploy different failover domains for differentiated retainability (e.g., with more robust scenarios for premium retainability); in this case, the PremRetFlag corresponds to a failure message);
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the method of the combination of the combination of Cakulev in view of Tang, and further in view of Yao, with the sending a failure message of Steben with a reasonable expectation of success. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification for the benefit of maintaining a session during a network function failure with minimal negative effects (see Steben, par. [0010]).
Claims 5-6 and 14-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cakulev in view of Tang, and further in view of Yao, as applied to claims 1, 3-4, 8-10, 12-13, and 17-19 above, and further in view of Kaki et al. (US 2021/0234965), hereinafter “Kaki”.
Regarding claim 5, 14, the combination of Cakulev in view of Tang, and further in view of Yao, teaches the method or non-transitory computer-readable medium. Cakulev further teaches:
wherein the common policy definitions comprise quality of service (QoS) data (see Cakulev, col. 2, lines 58-65: The context information may include, for example, rules, policies, etc. that are applicable to UE 101 and the multiple PDU sessions, such as conditions under which UE 101 is authorized to communicate via the PDU sessions, permissible QoS parameters (e.g., network slice or other suitable QoS parameters) associated with the PDU sessions, locations at which UE 101 is authorized to communicate via the PDU sessions)
However, the combination of Cakulev in view of Tang, and further in view of Yao, does not teach:
wherein the common policy definitions comprise charging data.
Kaki, in the same field of endeavor, teaches:
wherein the common policy definitions comprise charging data (see Kaki, par. [0021]: Using the N7 interface, PCF 104 arms SMF 106 with PCC rules, as further described below. The PCC rules convey “ChargingData.” The ChargingData includes information such as charging method (e.g., online and/or offline), rating group, and/or a service identifier).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the common policy definitions of the combination of Cakulev in view of Tang, and further in view of Yao, with the definitions including charging data of Kaki with a reasonable expectation of success. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification for the benefit of avoiding delays in generating offline charging information for sessions (see Kaki, par. [0032]).
Regarding claim 6, the combination of Cakulev in view of Tang, and further in view of Yao, teaches the method. Cakulev further teaches:
wherein the second PCC rule does not include the common policy definitions (see Cakulev, col. 2, lines 58-65: The context information may include, for example, rules, policies, etc. that are applicable to UE 101 and the multiple PDU sessions, such as conditions under which UE 101 is authorized to communicate via the PDU sessions, permissible QoS parameters (e.g., network slice or other suitable QoS parameters) associated with the PDU sessions, locations at which UE 101 is authorized to communicate via the PDU sessions, etc; in this case, maintained rules may include parameters and conditions but not direct session information (i.e. not include common policy definitions)).
However, the combination of Cakulev in view of Tang, and further in view of Yao, does not teach:
wherein the second PCC rule is different from the first PCC rule
Kaki, in the same field of endeavor, teaches:
wherein the second PCC rule is different from the first PCC rule (see Kaki, par. [0023]: PCF 104 generates and provides to SMF 106 over the N7 interface PCC rules. The PCC rules include charging parameters (i.e., ChargingData) that govern charging during PDU sessions. The PCC rules can be activated, deactivated, and modified at any time during PDU session lifetimes. Each PCC rule (also referred to as a “charging rule”) includes an identifier (ID) and a group of charging parameters, and see Kaki, par. [0035]: At 306, (post PDU session establishment) PCF 104 configures additional PCC rules and, accordingly, provision one or more additional/new rating groups on SMF 106; in this case, there are existing rules and additional rules (i.e. at least a first rule and second rule which are distinct))
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the PCC rules of the combination of Cakulev in view of Tang, and further in view of Yao, with there being at least two distinct PCC rules of Kaki with a reasonable expectation of success. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification for the benefit of avoiding delays in generating offline charging information for sessions (see Kaki, par. [0032]).
Regarding claim 15, the combination of Cakulev in view of Tang, and further in view of Yao, teaches the network system. Cakulev further teaches:
wherein the computer-readable medium further comprises instructions that, when executed by the computing system, cause the computing system (see Cakulev, Fig. 9, col. 15, lines 42-49: Device 900 may perform certain operations relating to one or more processes described above. Device 900 may perform these operations in response to processor 920 executing instructions, such as software instructions, processor-executable instructions, etc. stored in a computer-readable medium, such as memory 930. A computer-readable medium may be defined as a non-transitory memory device) to install a second PCC rule for a third session by the PCF by a third subscriber (see Cakulev, Fig. 1, col. 2, lines 50-65: A policy element of network 103, such as PCF 105, may maintain (at 102) UE context information associated with the multiple PDU sessions. For the sake of brevity, the policy element is described herein in the context of PCF 105. In practice, the policy element may include a PCRF or other suitable network function, device, or system. The UE context information may include information received, obtained, etc. by PCF 105 pursuant to an establishment of the multiple PDU sessions, as discussed below. The context information may include, for example, rules, policies, etc. that are applicable to UE 101 and the multiple PDU sessions, and see Cakulev, col. 10, lines 46-52: PCF/PCRF 625 may include one or more devices, systems, VNFs, CNFs, etc., that aggregate information to and from the 5G network and/or other sources. PCF/PCRF 625 may receive information regarding policies and/or subscriptions from one or more sources, such as subscriber databases and/or from one or more users (such as, for example, an administrator associated with PCF/PCRF 625) ; in this case, maintaining UE context information including rules applicable to the UE and multiple sessions corresponds to installing a second PCC rule for a third session by another subscriber), wherein the second PCC rule does not include the common policy definitions (see Cakulev, col. 2, lines 58-65: The context information may include, for example, rules, policies, etc. that are applicable to UE 101 and the multiple PDU sessions, such as conditions under which UE 101 is authorized to communicate via the PDU sessions, permissible QoS parameters (e.g., network slice or other suitable QoS parameters) associated with the PDU sessions, locations at which UE 101 is authorized to communicate via the PDU sessions, etc; in this case, maintained rules may include parameters and conditions but not direct session information (i.e. not include common policy definitions)).
However, the combination of Cakulev in view of Tang, and further in view of Yao, does not teach:
wherein the second PCC rule is different from the first PCC rule
Kaki, in the same field of endeavor, teaches:
wherein the second PCC rule is different from the first PCC rule (see Kaki, par. [0023]: PCF 104 generates and provides to SMF 106 over the N7 interface PCC rules. The PCC rules include charging parameters (i.e., ChargingData) that govern charging during PDU sessions. The PCC rules can be activated, deactivated, and modified at any time during PDU session lifetimes. Each PCC rule (also referred to as a “charging rule”) includes an identifier (ID) and a group of charging parameters, and see Kaki, par. [0035]: At 306, (post PDU session establishment) PCF 104 configures additional PCC rules and, accordingly, provision one or more additional/new rating groups on SMF 106; in this case, there are existing rules and additional rules (i.e. at least a first rule and second rule which are distinct))
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the PCC rules of the combination of Cakulev in view of Tang, and further in view of Yao, with there being at least two distinct PCC rules of Kaki with a reasonable expectation of success. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification for the benefit of avoiding delays in generating offline charging information for sessions (see Kaki, par. [0032]).
Claims 7 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cakulev in view of Tang, and further in view of Yao, as applied to claims 1, 3-4, 8-10, 12-13, and 17-19 above, and further in view of Xie et al. (US 2024/0022880), hereinafter “Xie”.
Regarding claims 7, 16, the combination of Cakulev in view of Tang, and further in view of Yao, teaches the method or non-transitory computer-readable medium. Cakulev further teaches:
wherein the instructions, when executed by a computing system, cause the computing system to (see Cakulev, Fig. 9, col. 15, lines 42-49: Device 900 may perform certain operations relating to one or more processes described above. Device 900 may perform these operations in response to processor 920 executing instructions, such as software instructions, processor-executable instructions, etc. stored in a computer-readable medium, such as memory 930. A computer-readable medium may be defined as a non-transitory memory device)
However, the combination of Cakulev in view of Tang, and further in view of Yao, does not teach:
wherein storing the common policy definitions by the SMF comprises storing the common policy definitions by the SMF during the first session or after the first session is deleted.
Xie, in the same field of endeavor, teaches:
wherein storing the common policy definitions by the SMF comprises storing the common policy definitions by the SMF during the first session or after the first session is deleted (see Xie, pars. [0379-0382]: Before the following steps, an SMF/I-SMF may store SMF/I-SMF information (such as an identifier, an IP address, or an IP address and port number) and at least one of the following information into a core network function: user information, terminal information, a PDU session identifier, and a session management context identifier. The SMF/I-SMF may store the above information into an NEF/MBSF or a UDM, or stores the above information into a UDR through the NEF. Step 1: A content server sends a non-unicast service operation indication to an MB-SMF for a non-unicast service, for example, sending an MB service request, such as a session update request, including member information, so as to request for a member update/create/remove resource, where the request may be sent to the MB-SMF via the NEF or MB SF; in this case, as part of a process for updating sessions, the SMF may store session information (corresponding to storing common policy definitions during the first session)).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the method of the combination of Cakulev in view of Tang, and further in view of Yao, with the storing during a session by the SMF of Xie with a reasonable expectation of success. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification for the benefit of enabling triggering a non-unicast service operation in consideration of both shared and unicast transmission mode (see Xie, par. [0084]).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1, 10, and 19 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Dao et al. (US 2019/0261260) teaches systems and methods for the grouping of UEs, such that UEs can share a UE group context or share a PDU session context or both.
Li et al. (US 2019/0357301) teaches a method for user equipment (UE) internet protocol (IP) address management.
Song et al. (US 2025/0150885) teaches a method performed by a session management function, SMF, in a service based architecture, SBA, network for handling packet filters related to a session of User Equipment, UE, in the SBA network.
Pancorbo Marcos et al. (WO 2023/079075) teaches a method to enable usage monitoring control at SMF relocation by enabling the selection of the same PCF.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/C.J.B./Examiner, Art Unit 2419
/PAO SINKANTARAKORN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2409