DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Objections
Claims 1, 10 and 19 are objected to because of the following informalities:
“the preserve directive instructing the SMF to persist common policy definitions for reuse across multiple sessions and multiple subscriber” should read “the preserve directive instructing the SMF to persist common policy definitions for reuse across multiple sessions and multiple subscribers” (emphasis added)
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3-4, 8-10, 12-13, and 17-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cakulev et al. (US 12,081,405), hereinafter "Cakulev", in view of Muñoz de la Torre Alonso et al. (US 2021/0400146), hereinafter “Alonso”, and further in view of Zhu et al. (US 2025/0119863), hereinafter “Zhu”.
Regarding claims 1, 10, 19, Cakulev teaches:
A method comprising or a non-transitory computer-readable medium comprising instructions, the instructions, when executed by a computing system, cause the computing system (see Cakulev, Fig. 9, col. 15, lines 42-49: Device 900 may perform certain operations relating to one or more processes described above. Device 900 may perform these operations in response to processor 920 executing instructions, such as software instructions, processor-executable instructions, etc. stored in a computer-readable medium, such as memory 930. A computer-readable medium may be defined as a non-transitory memory device) to or a network system comprising:
a session management function (SMF) (see Cakulev, Fig. 6, col. 8, lines 15-21: environment 600 may include UE 101, RAN 610 (which may include one or more Next Generation Node Bs (“gNBs”) 611), RAN 612 (which may include one or more evolved Node Bs (“eNBs”) 613), and various network functions such as AMF 615, MME 616, SGW 617, SMF/PGW-Control plane function (“PGW-C”) 620, PCF/PCRF 625);
a policy control function (PCF) (see Cakulev, Fig. 6, col. 8, lines 15-21: environment 600 may include UE 101, RAN 610 (which may include one or more Next Generation Node Bs (“gNBs”) 611), RAN 612 (which may include one or more evolved Node Bs (“eNBs”) 613), and various network functions such as AMF 615, MME 616, SGW 617, SMF/PGW-Control plane function (“PGW-C”) 620, PCF/PCRF 625);
an interface between the PCF and the SMF (see Cakulev, Fig. 6, col. 8, line 66-col. 9, line 2: environment 600, as shown in FIG. 6, may include an N1 interface, an N2 interface, an N3 interface, an N4 interface, an N5 interface, an N6 interface, an N7 interface); and
one or more processors coupled to the SMF, PCF, and interface, the one or more processors configured to execute instructions to cause the one or more processors (see Cakulev, Fig. 9, col. 15, lines 42-49: Device 900 may perform certain operations relating to one or more processes described above. Device 900 may perform these operations in response to processor 920 executing instructions, such as software instructions, processor-executable instructions, etc. stored in a computer-readable medium, such as memory 930. A computer-readable medium may be defined as a non-transitory memory device) to:
establishing an exchange of preservation between a session management function (SMF) and a policy control function (PCF) via an interface for a first session in a wireless network (see Cakulev, Fig. 2, col. 4, lines 10-18: SMF 201 may output (at 204) a single request to PCF 105 for policy information based on the requested multiple PDU sessions. For example, SMF 201 may communicate with PCF 105 via an N7 interface, an Npcf interface, an Nsmpcf interface (e.g., an enhanced N7 interface, an enhanced Npcf interface, an enhanced Nsmpcf interface, etc. that supports the indication of multiple PDU sessions), and/or some other interface or suitable communication pathway, and see Cakulev, col. 4, lines 45-48: Once PCF 105 obtains (at 206) the information associated with UE 101 and the multiple PDU sessions, PCF 105 may maintain (at 208) UE context information that includes some or all of the obtained information; in this case, an SMF and PCF may communicate over an interface for multiple sessions (i.e. a first session), including communication for maintaining UE context information, corresponding to establishing an exchange of preservation between an SMF and PCF);
receiving, by the SMF from the PCF, the common policy definitions, wherein the common policy definitions are used for a plurality of sessions following the first session by a plurality of subscribers (see Cakulev, col. 4, lines 50-64: For subsequent requests for policy information (e.g., from SMF 201 and/or some other suitable NF, device, or system), PCF 105 may provide some or all of the maintained UE context information without obtaining UE information or other information from UDR 203 or another source. PCF 105 may respond (at 210) to SMF 201 with the requested policy information associated with UE 101 and the multiple PDU sessions, which may include a single Npcf_SMPolicyControl_Create response message. As noted above, the single response (at 210), associated with multiple PDU sessions, may consume fewer network resources than multiple responses that are each associated with a single PDU session. Once SMF 201 receives (at 210) the requested policy information, and see Cakulev, col. 10, lines 46-52: PCF/PCRF 625 may include one or more devices, systems, VNFs, CNFs, etc., that aggregate information to and from the 5G network and/or other sources. PCF/PCRF 625 may receive information regarding policies and/or subscriptions from one or more sources, such as subscriber databases and/or from one or more users (such as, for example, an administrator associated with PCF/PCRF 625); in this case, the response received by the SMF contains sessions which correspond to common policy definitions); and
receiving, by the SMF, references to the policy definitions without including the common policy definitions (see Cakulev, Fig. 4, items 402 and 406, col. 6, lines 16-19: SMF 201 receives (at 402) a first PDU session associated with UE 101. As discussed above, the request may be received from UE 101 and/or some other suitable source, and see Cakulev, col. 6, lines 40-42: SMF 201 may receive (at 406) a subsequent request to remove a second PDU session associated with the same UE 101; in this case, the SMF receives information regarding the sessions, but not new sessions (i.e. references to the data without definitions of the data)).
However, Cakulev does not teach:
wherein the establishing an exchange of preservation for a first session is by a first subscriber in a wireless network, wherein the exchange comprises a policy control exchange that includes a preserve directive, the preserve directive instructing the SMF to persist common policy definitions for reuse across multiple sessions and multiple subscriber;
receiving, by the SMF from the PCF, the preserve directive, wherein the preserve directive instructs the SMF to store the common policy definitions for reuse across the plurality of sessions for the plurality of subscribers;
storing, by the SMF, the common policy definitions in a global space accessible by the plurality of sessions;
wherein, for a second session by a second subscriber different from the first subscriber, receiving, by the SMF from the PCF, references to the common policy definitions stored in the global space
Alonso, in the same field of endeavor, teaches:
wherein the establishing an exchange of preservation for a first session is by a first subscriber in a wireless network (see Alonso, Fig. 2, par. [0078]: The PCF 6 shall install application rules by means of triggering an Nsmf HTTP POST message 69 to the SMF 9 including, in the present example, AF-ID, App-ID, QoS-Reference and charging Profile. It may be noted that these application rules are different to the existing Policy Charging and Control, PCC, rules as the application rules do not apply to a specific user session, but instead they apply to any existing (and future) user session, and see par. [0089]: In a step 77, the SMF 9 triggers an Npcf_SMPolicyControl_Create Request message to retrieve Session Management, SM, policies for the user PDU session. The PCF 6 triggers 78 Nudr_DM_Query Request message to retrieve the policy data for this user PDU session. The UDR 2 answers 79 with Nudr_DM_Query Response message including the Subscriber Policy Data; in this case, rules may apply to existing and future sessions each with subscribers), wherein the exchange comprises a policy control exchange that includes a preserve directive, the preserve directive instructing the SMF to persist common policy definitions for reuse across multiple sessions and multiple subscriber (see Alonso, Fig. 2, par. [0078]: The PCF 6 shall install application rules by means of triggering an Nsmf HTTP POST message 69 to the SMF 9 including, in the present example, AF-ID, App-ID, QoS-Reference and charging Profile. It may be noted that these application rules are different to the existing Policy Charging and Control, PCC, rules as the application rules do not apply to a specific user session, but instead they apply to any existing (and future) user session; in this case, the signaling of particular rules (i.e. common policy definitions) apply to existing and future sessions, corresponding to the signaling being a preserve directive);
receiving, by the SMF from the PCF, the preserve directive, wherein the preserve directive instructs the SMF to store the common policy definitions for reuse across the plurality of sessions for the plurality of subscribers (see Alonso, Fig. 2, par. [0078]: The PCF 6 shall install application rules by means of triggering an Nsmf HTTP POST message 69 to the SMF 9 including, in the present example, AF-ID, App-ID, QoS-Reference and charging Profile. It may be noted that these application rules are different to the existing Policy Charging and Control, PCC, rules as the application rules do not apply to a specific user session, but instead they apply to any existing (and future) user session, and see par. [0100]: The instruct equipment 105 is arranged for instructing the SMF 9 to execute the at least one service requirement to all present and future user sessions pertaining to the respective application);
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the method or non-transitory computer-readable medium or network system of Cakulev with the preserve directive of Alonso with a reasonable expectation of success. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification for the benefit of flexible servicing of data (see Alonso, par. [0027]).
However, the combination of Cakulev in view of Alonso does not teach:
storing, by the SMF, the common policy definitions in a global space accessible by the plurality of sessions;
wherein, for a second session by a second subscriber different from the first subscriber, receiving, by the SMF from the PCF, references to the common policy definitions stored in the global space
Zhu, in the same field of endeavor, teaches:
storing, by the SMF, the common policy definitions in a global space accessible by the plurality of sessions (see Zhu, Fig. 4, par. [0130]: Step 404: The SMF determines the UPF serving the DNAI and sends an N4 Session Update request to the UPF, to store the LCS rule information (e.g. PCC rule) in the UPF. The LCS rule information in the UPF includes at least one of the traffic description used to indicate the Network Positioning Messages and the routing ID (i.e. LMF address) and LCS Correlation ID which can be used in notification of the Network Positioning Messages towards the L-LMF; in this case, storing in the UPF corresponds to storing in a global space, as it is used for numerous sessions);
wherein, for a second session by a second subscriber different from the first subscriber, receiving, by the SMF from the PCF, references to the common policy definitions stored in the global space (see Zhu, Fig. 4, pars. [0127-0129]: Step 401: The external LCS client (i.e. AF) sends a location request to the L-LMF for the location information (e.g. a location) of a target UE identified by an IP address. Step 402: The L-LMF discovers a PCF by querying a binding service function (BSF) (not shown in FIG. 4) with the IP address identifying the target UE. The BSF returns the address of the PCF serving PDU session(s) identified by the UE IP address. The L-LMF then sends a Npcf_PolicyAuthorization_Create request message to the PCF. If the L-LMF is not in a trusted domain, the L-LMF communicates with the PCF via a network exposure function (NEF) (not shown in FIG. 4). The Npcf_PolicyAuthorization_Create request message may include at least one of a DNAI (Data Network Access Identifier) identifying the local area/Edge Computing area, a traffic description of the Network Positioning Messages, a Routing ID (e.g. LMF address) identifying the LMF and an LMF Correlation ID identifying this location request procedure in the LMF. Step 403: The PCF generates LCS rule information in policy and charging control (PCC) rules of the PDU session. The LCS rule information (e.g. PCC rule) includes at least one of the DNAI, the traffic description of the Network Positioning Messages, the Routing ID and the LMF Correlation ID. The PCF sends a Npcf_SMPolicyControl_UpdateNotify Request to the SMF, to update the PCC rules (i.e. the LCS rule information) stored in the SMF; in this case, receiving an update to the stored PCC rules corresponds to receiving references to the common policy definitions. This is performed for a plurality of sessions, which each have subscribers)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the method or non-transitory computer-readable medium or network system of the combination of Cakulev in view of Alonso with the storing definitions of Zhu with a reasonable expectation of success. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification for the benefit of maintaining security of UE information in a session (see Zhu, par. [0002]).
Regarding claims 3, 12, the combination of Cakulev in view of Alonso, and further in view of Zhu, teaches the method or non-transitory computer-readable medium. Cakulev further teaches:
wherein the interface is an N7 interface (see Cakulev, Fig. 2, col. 4, lines 10-18: SMF 201 may output (at 204) a single request to PCF 105 for policy information based on the requested multiple PDU sessions. For example, SMF 201 may communicate with PCF 105 via an N7 interface, an Npcf interface, an Nsmpcf interface (e.g., an enhanced N7 interface, an enhanced Npcf interface, an enhanced Nsmpcf interface, etc. that supports the indication of multiple PDU sessions), and/or some other interface or suitable communication pathway).
Regarding claims 4, 13, the combination of Cakulev in view of Alonso, and further in view of Zhu, teaches the method or non-transitory computer-readable medium. Cakulev further teaches:
wherein the instructions, when executed by the computing system, cause the computing system (see Cakulev, Fig. 9, col. 15, lines 42-49: Device 900 may perform certain operations relating to one or more processes described above. Device 900 may perform these operations in response to processor 920 executing instructions, such as software instructions, processor-executable instructions, etc. stored in a computer-readable medium, such as memory 930. A computer-readable medium may be defined as a non-transitory memory device) to:
installing, by the PCF, a first policy and charging control rule (PCC) rule for the first session (see Cakulev, Fig. 1, col. 2, lines 50-60: A policy element of network 103, such as PCF 105, may maintain (at 102) UE context information associated with the multiple PDU sessions. For the sake of brevity, the policy element is described herein in the context of PCF 105. In practice, the policy element may include a PCRF or other suitable network function, device, or system. The UE context information may include information received, obtained, etc. by PCF 105 pursuant to an establishment of the multiple PDU sessions, as discussed below. The context information may include, for example, rules, policies, etc. that are applicable to UE 101 and the multiple PDU sessions; in this case, maintained information includes rules applicable to the UE and multiple sessions corresponds to installing a first PCC rule for the first session), wherein the first PCC rule comprises the common policy definitions and the references to the common policy definitions (see Cakulev, col. 4, lines 50-64: For subsequent requests for policy information (e.g., from SMF 201 and/or some other suitable NF, device, or system), PCF 105 may provide some or all of the maintained UE context information without obtaining UE information or other information from UDR 203 or another source. PCF 105 may respond (at 210) to SMF 201 with the requested policy information associated with UE 101 and the multiple PDU sessions, which may include a single Npcf_SMPolicyControl_Create response message. As noted above, the single response (at 210), associated with multiple PDU sessions, may consume fewer network resources than multiple responses that are each associated with a single PDU session. Once SMF 201 receives (at 210) the requested policy information; in this case, maintained information may contain session information and UE context information (corresponding to definitions of and references to common policy) which is provided to SMF);
communicating to the SMF via the interface, by the PCF, to update an exchange for the first session with the common policy definitions (see Cakulev, col. 4, lines 50-64: For subsequent requests for policy information (e.g., from SMF 201 and/or some other suitable NF, device, or system), PCF 105 may provide some or all of the maintained UE context information without obtaining UE information or other information from UDR 203 or another source. PCF 105 may respond (at 210) to SMF 201 with the requested policy information associated with UE 101 and the multiple PDU sessions, which may include a single Npcf_SMPolicyControl_Create response message. As noted above, the single response (at 210), associated with multiple PDU sessions, may consume fewer network resources than multiple responses that are each associated with a single PDU session. Once SMF 201 receives (at 210) the requested policy information; in this case, upon request, information may be provided over the interface for sessions (corresponding to communicating to update an exchange) including session information (corresponding to common policy definitions));
installing, by the PCF, a second PCC rule for a second session (see Cakulev, Fig. 1, col. 2, lines 50-60: A policy element of network 103, such as PCF 105, may maintain (at 102) UE context information associated with the multiple PDU sessions. For the sake of brevity, the policy element is described herein in the context of PCF 105. In practice, the policy element may include a PCRF or other suitable network function, device, or system. The UE context information may include information received, obtained, etc. by PCF 105 pursuant to an establishment of the multiple PDU sessions, as discussed below. The context information may include, for example, rules, policies, etc. that are applicable to UE 101 and the multiple PDU sessions; in this case, maintaining UE context information including rules applicable to the UE and multiple sessions corresponds to installing a second PCC rule for the second session); and
communicating to the SMF via the interface, by the PCF, to update an exchange for the second session with the references to the common policy definitions without the common policy definitions (see Cakulev, col. 7, lines 27-32: Process 500 may further include outputting (at 504) a policy request to a policy element of network 103, where the policy request includes the identifiers of the multiple communication sessions. For example, as discussed above, the policy request may be sent to PCF 105, a PCRF, and/or other suitable device or system of network 103, and see Cakulev, col. 7, lines 56-59: Process 500 may additionally include receiving (at 506) one or more policies in response to the request. For example, SMF 201 may receive policies, conditions, parameters, etc. associated with the requested PDU sessions; in this case, PCF may send policies regarding sessions to the SMF over the interface (corresponding to communicating to update an exchange with references to but without common policy definitions)).
Regarding claims 8, 17, the combination of Cakulev in view of Alonso, and further in view of Zhu, teaches the method or non-transitory computer-readable medium. Cakulev further teaches:
wherein the instructions, when executed by the computing system, cause the computing system to (see Cakulev, Fig. 9, col. 15, lines 42-49: Device 900 may perform certain operations relating to one or more processes described above. Device 900 may perform these operations in response to processor 920 executing instructions, such as software instructions, processor-executable instructions, etc. stored in a computer-readable medium, such as memory 930. A computer-readable medium may be defined as a non-transitory memory device)
The combination of Cakulev in view of Alonso does not teach, but Zhu teaches:
wherein storing the common policy definitions by the SMF comprises storing the common policy definitions by the SMF in a global space to reduce memory footprint of the SMF (see Zhu, Fig. 4, par. [0130]: Step 404: The SMF determines the UPF serving the DNAI and sends an N4 Session Update request to the UPF, to store the LCS rule information (e.g. PCC rule) in the UPF. The LCS rule information in the UPF includes at least one of the traffic description used to indicate the Network Positioning Messages and the routing ID (i.e. LMF address) and LCS Correlation ID which can be used in notification of the Network Positioning Messages towards the L-LMF; in this case, storing in the UPF corresponds to storing in a global space, as it is used for numerous sessions)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the method or non-transitory computer-readable medium or network system of the combination of Cakulev in view of Alonso with the storing definitions of Zhu with a reasonable expectation of success. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification for the benefit of maintaining security of UE information in a session (see Zhu, par. [0002]).
Regarding claims 9, 18, the combination of Cakulev in view of Alonso, and further in view of Zhu, teaches the method or non-transitory computer-readable medium. Cakulev further teaches:
wherein the common policy definitions are stored and shared among the plurality of subscribers (see Cakulev, Fig. 2, col. 4, lines 10-18: SMF 201 may output (at 204) a single request to PCF 105 for policy information based on the requested multiple PDU sessions. For example, SMF 201 may communicate with PCF 105 via an N7 interface, an Npcf interface, an Nsmpcf interface (e.g., an enhanced N7 interface, an enhanced Npcf interface, an enhanced Nsmpcf interface, etc. that supports the indication of multiple PDU sessions), and/or some other interface or suitable communication pathway, and see Cakulev, col. 4, lines 45-48: Once PCF 105 obtains (at 206) the information associated with UE 101 and the multiple PDU sessions, PCF 105 may maintain (at 208) UE context information that includes some or all of the obtained information, and see Cakulev, col. 4, lines 50-64: For subsequent requests for policy information (e.g., from SMF 201 and/or some other suitable NF, device, or system), PCF 105 may provide some or all of the maintained UE context information without obtaining UE information or other information from UDR 203 or another source. PCF 105 may respond (at 210) to SMF 201 with the requested policy information associated with UE 101 and the multiple PDU sessions, which may include a single Npcf_SMPolicyControl_Create response message. As noted above, the single response (at 210), associated with multiple PDU sessions, may consume fewer network resources than multiple responses that are each associated with a single PDU session. Once SMF 201 receives (at 210) the requested policy information, and see Cakulev, col. 10, lines 46-52: PCF/PCRF 625 may include one or more devices, systems, VNFs, CNFs, etc., that aggregate information to and from the 5G network and/or other sources. PCF/PCRF 625 may receive information regarding policies and/or subscriptions from one or more sources, such as subscriber databases and/or from one or more users (such as, for example, an administrator associated with PCF/PCRF 625); in this case, session information is maintained and shared for a plurality of sessions and subscribers).
Claims 2, 11, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cakulev in view of Alonso, and further in view of Zhu, as applied to claims 1, 3-4, 8-10, 12-13, and 17-19 above, and further in view of Steben et al. (US 2023/0397021), hereinafter “Steben”.
Regarding claims 2, 11, 20, the combination of Cakulev in view of Alonso, and further in view of Zhu, teaches the method or non-transitory computer-readable medium or network system. Cakulev further teaches:
wherein the instructions, when executed by a computing system, cause the computing system (see Cakulev, Fig. 9, col. 15, lines 42-49: Device 900 may perform certain operations relating to one or more processes described above. Device 900 may perform these operations in response to processor 920 executing instructions, such as software instructions, processor-executable instructions, etc. stored in a computer-readable medium, such as memory 930. A computer-readable medium may be defined as a non-transitory memory device) to:
wherein the one or more processors are configured to execute instructions to cause the processor to (see Cakulev, Fig. 9, col. 15, lines 42-49: Device 900 may perform certain operations relating to one or more processes described above. Device 900 may perform these operations in response to processor 920 executing instructions, such as software instructions, processor-executable instructions, etc. stored in a computer-readable medium, such as memory 930. A computer-readable medium may be defined as a non-transitory memory device):
receiving, by the SMF, the common policy definitions from the PCF (see Cakulev, col. 4, lines 50-64: For subsequent requests for policy information (e.g., from SMF 201 and/or some other suitable NF, device, or system), PCF 105 may provide some or all of the maintained UE context information without obtaining UE information or other information from UDR 203 or another source. PCF 105 may respond (at 210) to SMF 201 with the requested policy information associated with UE 101 and the multiple PDU sessions, which may include a single Npcf_SMPolicyControl_Create response message. As noted above, the single response (at 210), associated with multiple PDU sessions, may consume fewer network resources than multiple responses that are each associated with a single PDU session. Once SMF 201 receives (at 210) the requested policy information; in this case, the response received by the SMF contains sessions which correspond to common policy definitions);
The combination of Cakulev in view of Alonso does not teach, but Zhu teaches:
and
storing, by the SMF, the common policy definitions (see Zhu, Fig. 4, par. [0130]: Step 404: The SMF determines the UPF serving the DNAI and sends an N4 Session Update request to the UPF, to store the LCS rule information (e.g. PCC rule) in the UPF. The LCS rule information in the UPF includes at least one of the traffic description used to indicate the Network Positioning Messages and the routing ID (i.e. LMF address) and LCS Correlation ID which can be used in notification of the Network Positioning Messages towards the L-LMF; in this case, storing in the UPF corresponds to storing in a global space, as it is used for numerous sessions)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the method or non-transitory computer-readable medium or network system of the combination of Cakulev in view of Alonso with the storing definitions of Zhu with a reasonable expectation of success. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification for the benefit of maintaining security of UE information in a session (see Zhu, par. [0002]).
However, the combination of Cakulev in view of Alonso, and further in view of Zhu, does not teach:
sending, by the SMF, a failure message to the PCF;
Steben, in the same field of endeavor, teaches:
sending, by the SMF, a failure message to the PCF (see Steben, Figs. 4A and 4B, par. [0045]: As shown at reference 414 of FIG. 4B, PCF 210-1 may receive a PremRetFlag (e.g., from SMF 205-1). As shown at reference 416, PCF 210-1 may check with UDR 220 to confirm the PremRetFlag for the session and, in response, calculate the subscriber's additional compute footprint 418 (e.g., additional PCF resources required to support the PDU session and the other existing premium sessions) for failovers, and see Steben, par. [0014]: Use of subscriptions with a premium session retention indicator (e.g., referred to herein as a “PremRetFlag”) allows for a differentiation of services with respect to NF failures. Enabling premium session retainability may allow a network operator to deploy different failover domains for differentiated retainability (e.g., with more robust scenarios for premium retainability); in this case, the PremRetFlag corresponds to a failure message);
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the method of the combination of the combination of Cakulev in view of Alonso, and further in view of Zhu, with the sending a failure message of Steben with a reasonable expectation of success. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification for the benefit of maintaining a session during a network function failure with minimal negative effects (see Steben, par. [0010]).
Claims 5-6 and 14-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cakulev in view of Alonso, and further in view of Zhu, as applied to claims 1, 3-4, 8-10, 12-13, and 17-19 above, and further in view of Kaki et al. (US 2021/0234965), hereinafter “Kaki”.
Regarding claim 5, 14, the combination of Cakulev in view of Alonso, and further in view of Zhu, teaches the method or non-transitory computer-readable medium. Cakulev further teaches:
wherein the common policy definitions comprise quality of service (QoS) data (see Cakulev, col. 2, lines 58-65: The context information may include, for example, rules, policies, etc. that are applicable to UE 101 and the multiple PDU sessions, such as conditions under which UE 101 is authorized to communicate via the PDU sessions, permissible QoS parameters (e.g., network slice or other suitable QoS parameters) associated with the PDU sessions, locations at which UE 101 is authorized to communicate via the PDU sessions)
However, the combination of Cakulev in view of Alonso, and further in view of Zhu, does not teach:
wherein the common policy definitions comprise charging data.
Kaki, in the same field of endeavor, teaches:
wherein the common policy definitions comprise charging data (see Kaki, par. [0021]: Using the N7 interface, PCF 104 arms SMF 106 with PCC rules, as further described below. The PCC rules convey “ChargingData.” The ChargingData includes information such as charging method (e.g., online and/or offline), rating group, and/or a service identifier).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the common policy definitions of the combination of Cakulev in view of Alonso, and further in view of Zhu, with the definitions including charging data of Kaki with a reasonable expectation of success. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification for the benefit of avoiding delays in generating offline charging information for sessions (see Kaki, par. [0032]).
Regarding claim 6, the combination of Cakulev in view of Alonso, and further in view of Zhu, teaches the method. Cakulev further teaches:
wherein the second PCC rule does not include the common policy definitions (see Cakulev, col. 2, lines 58-65: The context information may include, for example, rules, policies, etc. that are applicable to UE 101 and the multiple PDU sessions, such as conditions under which UE 101 is authorized to communicate via the PDU sessions, permissible QoS parameters (e.g., network slice or other suitable QoS parameters) associated with the PDU sessions, locations at which UE 101 is authorized to communicate via the PDU sessions, etc; in this case, maintained rules may include parameters and conditions but not direct session information (i.e. not include common policy definitions)).
However, the combination of Cakulev in view of Alonso, and further in view of Zhu, does not teach:
wherein the second PCC rule is different from the first PCC rule
Kaki, in the same field of endeavor, teaches:
wherein the second PCC rule is different from the first PCC rule (see Kaki, par. [0023]: PCF 104 generates and provides to SMF 106 over the N7 interface PCC rules. The PCC rules include charging parameters (i.e., ChargingData) that govern charging during PDU sessions. The PCC rules can be activated, deactivated, and modified at any time during PDU session lifetimes. Each PCC rule (also referred to as a “charging rule”) includes an identifier (ID) and a group of charging parameters, and see Kaki, par. [0035]: At 306, (post PDU session establishment) PCF 104 configures additional PCC rules and, accordingly, provision one or more additional/new rating groups on SMF 106; in this case, there are existing rules and additional rules (i.e. at least a first rule and second rule which are distinct))
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the PCC rules of the combination of Cakulev in view of Alonso, and further in view of Zhu, with there being at least two distinct PCC rules of Kaki with a reasonable expectation of success. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification for the benefit of avoiding delays in generating offline charging information for sessions (see Kaki, par. [0032]).
Regarding claim 15, the combination of Cakulev in view of Alonso, and further in view of Zhu, teaches the network system. Cakulev further teaches:
wherein the computer-readable medium further comprises instructions that, when executed by the computing system, cause the computing system (see Cakulev, Fig. 9, col. 15, lines 42-49: Device 900 may perform certain operations relating to one or more processes described above. Device 900 may perform these operations in response to processor 920 executing instructions, such as software instructions, processor-executable instructions, etc. stored in a computer-readable medium, such as memory 930. A computer-readable medium may be defined as a non-transitory memory device) to install a second PCC rule for a third session by the PCF by a third subscriber (see Cakulev, Fig. 1, col. 2, lines 50-65: A policy element of network 103, such as PCF 105, may maintain (at 102) UE context information associated with the multiple PDU sessions. For the sake of brevity, the policy element is described herein in the context of PCF 105. In practice, the policy element may include a PCRF or other suitable network function, device, or system. The UE context information may include information received, obtained, etc. by PCF 105 pursuant to an establishment of the multiple PDU sessions, as discussed below. The context information may include, for example, rules, policies, etc. that are applicable to UE 101 and the multiple PDU sessions, and see Cakulev, col. 10, lines 46-52: PCF/PCRF 625 may include one or more devices, systems, VNFs, CNFs, etc., that aggregate information to and from the 5G network and/or other sources. PCF/PCRF 625 may receive information regarding policies and/or subscriptions from one or more sources, such as subscriber databases and/or from one or more users (such as, for example, an administrator associated with PCF/PCRF 625) ; in this case, maintaining UE context information including rules applicable to the UE and multiple sessions corresponds to installing a second PCC rule for a third session by another subscriber), wherein the second PCC rule does not include the common policy definitions (see Cakulev, col. 2, lines 58-65: The context information may include, for example, rules, policies, etc. that are applicable to UE 101 and the multiple PDU sessions, such as conditions under which UE 101 is authorized to communicate via the PDU sessions, permissible QoS parameters (e.g., network slice or other suitable QoS parameters) associated with the PDU sessions, locations at which UE 101 is authorized to communicate via the PDU sessions, etc; in this case, maintained rules may include parameters and conditions but not direct session information (i.e. not include common policy definitions)).
However, the combination of Cakulev in view of Alonso, and further in view of Zhu, does not teach:
wherein the second PCC rule is different from the first PCC rule
Kaki, in the same field of endeavor, teaches:
wherein the second PCC rule is different from the first PCC rule (see Kaki, par. [0023]: PCF 104 generates and provides to SMF 106 over the N7 interface PCC rules. The PCC rules include charging parameters (i.e., ChargingData) that govern charging during PDU sessions. The PCC rules can be activated, deactivated, and modified at any time during PDU session lifetimes. Each PCC rule (also referred to as a “charging rule”) includes an identifier (ID) and a group of charging parameters, and see Kaki, par. [0035]: At 306, (post PDU session establishment) PCF 104 configures additional PCC rules and, accordingly, provision one or more additional/new rating groups on SMF 106; in this case, there are existing rules and additional rules (i.e. at least a first rule and second rule which are distinct))
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the PCC rules of the combination of Cakulev in view of Alonso, and further in view of Zhu, with there being at least two distinct PCC rules of Kaki with a reasonable expectation of success. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification for the benefit of avoiding delays in generating offline charging information for sessions (see Kaki, par. [0032]).
Claims 7 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cakulev in view of Alonso, and further in view of Zhu, as applied to claims 1, 3-4, 8-10, 12-13, and 17-19 above, and further in view of Xie et al. (US 2024/0022880), hereinafter “Xie”.
Regarding claims 7, 16, the combination of Cakulev in view of Alonso, and further in view of Zhu, teaches the method or non-transitory computer-readable medium. Cakulev further teaches:
wherein the instructions, when executed by a computing system, cause the computing system to (see Cakulev, Fig. 9, col. 15, lines 42-49: Device 900 may perform certain operations relating to one or more processes described above. Device 900 may perform these operations in response to processor 920 executing instructions, such as software instructions, processor-executable instructions, etc. stored in a computer-readable medium, such as memory 930. A computer-readable medium may be defined as a non-transitory memory device)
However, the combination of Cakulev in view of Alonso, and further in view of Zhu, does not teach:
wherein storing the common policy definitions by the SMF comprises storing the common policy definitions by the SMF during the first session or after the first session is deleted.
Xie, in the same field of endeavor, teaches:
wherein storing the common policy definitions by the SMF comprises storing the common policy definitions by the SMF during the first session or after the first session is deleted (see Xie, pars. [0379-0382]: Before the following steps, an SMF/I-SMF may store SMF/I-SMF information (such as an identifier, an IP address, or an IP address and port number) and at least one of the following information into a core network function: user information, terminal information, a PDU session identifier, and a session management context identifier. The SMF/I-SMF may store the above information into an NEF/MBSF or a UDM, or stores the above information into a UDR through the NEF. Step 1: A content server sends a non-unicast service operation indication to an MB-SMF for a non-unicast service, for example, sending an MB service request, such as a session update request, including member information, so as to request for a member update/create/remove resource, where the request may be sent to the MB-SMF via the NEF or MB SF; in this case, as part of a process for updating sessions, the SMF may store session information (corresponding to storing common policy definitions during the first session)).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the method of the combination of Cakulev in view of Alonso, and further in view of Zhu, with the storing during a session by the SMF of Xie with a reasonable expectation of success. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification for the benefit of enabling triggering a non-unicast service operation in consideration of both shared and unicast transmission mode (see Xie, par. [0084]).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1, 10, and 19 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Dao et al. (US 2018/0199398) teaches a network architecture and methods of managing packet data unit (PDU) sessions in a network.
Tang et al. (US 2020/0127968) teaches a method for signaling exchange between network elements in a communications system and reducing delay of session establishment after an IP address of user equipment changes.
Muñoz De La Torre Alonso et al. (US 2022/0386087) teaches a Policy Control Function, PCF, for use in a 5G core network, is configured to allow a consumer to retrieve from the PCF subscriber session information and Application Detection and Control rules relating to a subscriber session.
Yu (US 2024/0244513) teaches a method including in response to being triggered by a policy decision, performing, by a first control plane network element, an SM policy association modification procedure initiated by the first control plane network element, to notify a second control plane network element of a modification of a policy; and in responding to determining that a data rate for S-NSSAI reaches a threshold, using, by the first control plane network element, a utilized data rate for the policy decision, and downgrading, by the first control plane network element, an Session-AMBR.
/C.J.B./Examiner, Art Unit 2419
/Nishant Divecha/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2419